Nintendo Labo VR review: what virtual reality should be

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 11, 2019
  • Nintendo Labo VR is a fresh take on virtual reality gaming. VR can be isolating, but Labo VR is centered around quick, shareable games designed to be played with friends. You can fly like a bird with the wind blowing in your face, paint with an elephant’s trunk, and take photos of underwater fish. There’s also Toy-Con Garage VR, which lets you code and play your own VR games. Labo VR will work with Nintendo Switch games like Mario Odyssey and The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, which makes Nintendo’s belated foray into VR well worth the wait.
    Read more here: bit.ly/2v0INfQ
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Listen to our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TheXvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 335

  • The Verge
    The Verge  2 months ago +102

    What Switch games would you want to play in VR?

    • Kohl0606
      Kohl0606 2 months ago

      Mario kart

    • Ultrawing Gaming
      Ultrawing Gaming 2 months ago

      Splatoon. I would totally come back to splatoon of they added VR support for it. but prime 4 would also be great with the blaster one too.

    • Brendan 2
      Brendan 2 2 months ago

      Fort it’s lol... but it would give an advantage or disadvantage

    • Basim Khokhar
      Basim Khokhar 2 months ago

      Mario kart 8 deluxe. Hands down without a question

  • Ero-Usagi-Sama
    Ero-Usagi-Sama 29 days ago

    She's beautiful

  • Admiral Snackbar
    Admiral Snackbar Month ago +1

    The labor vr has so much potential with 3rd party games, I really hope Nintendo goes that route

  • Rashadow
    Rashadow Month ago +1

    "What VR should be"? I want my hands be free for interactions in games. I want to play the same time as my co players. So what is it all about this? Shouldn't this video be tagged as payd or advertising?

  • Jonathan P
    Jonathan P Month ago

    like this chick

  • Suvajeet Datta
    Suvajeet Datta Month ago +1

    MATPAT PREDICTED THAT AGES AGO!

  • Mindblow
    Mindblow Month ago

    1:30 holding it up all the time?
    that's not how VR should be... it's not how it is anyway ...

  • Mindblow
    Mindblow Month ago

    ... at 790p ....
    the headaches ...

  • James Burns
    James Burns Month ago

    Awesome video. I feel like you’ve really understood what Nintendo is doing here. This is a unique experience that blends physical and digital. Very cool.

  • Angel Valdez
    Angel Valdez Month ago

    OK, but seriously, real talk, am I the only one who started swearing profusely and cursing the heavens when she said that you could not play Pokémon snap with the camera?
    However if I think about this, Pokémon go has a photography AR experience. if Pokémon let’s go got some DLC, they could make a VR experience with the camera by adding a photography feature to the games that already exist and will exist in the future on this platform

  • slosher
    slosher Month ago

    Great review

  • Maxton Lindstrom
    Maxton Lindstrom Month ago

    I’m almost done the goggles not blaster oof

  • yusepbcn
    yusepbcn Month ago

    So VR must be mimicky? I am pretty happy with my vive and beat saber + elite dangerous. This is not proper VR.
    I own a switch and I am pretty happy with it without VR.

  • Wthie Ribabt
    Wthie Ribabt Month ago

    So, it's basically VR for children, women, and soyboys. I think I'll pass.

  • CapijuanHarlock99
    CapijuanHarlock99 Month ago +1

    Labo VR insults and hurts the VR industry. Please try another VR device and dont let this be your idea of VR...

  • Rob Nijlaan
    Rob Nijlaan Month ago

    cardboard nonsense.

  • William Hetherington

    Dami is HAWT

  • Raid_Arsenal
    Raid_Arsenal 2 months ago +3

    a cardboard and rubberband vr headset. guess nintendo had losses with their last console

  • Nazraq S
    Nazraq S 2 months ago

    "What virtual reality should be"
    Fragile. Disposable. Low resolution. No position tracking. Requires you to hold it to your face. No full length games. Less powerful than a cell phone.
    It sounds like The Verge thinks that virtual reality "should" be worse. I hope they enjoy playing Zelda one handed.

  • World Builder
    World Builder 2 months ago

    Bwaaaahahahaha only Switch users would consider this VR!

    • Adam L.
      Adam L. 2 months ago

      What’s your issue? These kits are incredibly well engineered, unique, and fun. Sure this VR is different than most, but it’s not trying to be like the others. It’s trying to be different. I think it succeeds at that.

  • Solidius T
    Solidius T 2 months ago

    I would love to play some Labo with Dami & Allegra.

  • conrad eli
    conrad eli 2 months ago +1

    Over priced piece of carbord

  • Aji Setiawan
    Aji Setiawan 2 months ago

    More Dami Lee is better!

  • JoveroIV
    JoveroIV 2 months ago

    Resolution isn’t great and the screen is a little blurry....? That seems a bit redundant but were you speaking to the art design of the games or using layman speak so people might understand what the not great resolution translates to?

  • The Enthusiasm Project
    The Enthusiasm Project 2 months ago +1

    “They’re turn-based games meant to be played with a friend.”
    I’ll see myself out.

  • Kyle Ernst
    Kyle Ernst 2 months ago

    Nintendo VR is so much fun! Everyone should try this!

  • Fruitarian
    Fruitarian 2 months ago +2

    This is way much better then any htc or oculus vr

  • Strumento
    Strumento 2 months ago

    Every fold has a purpose, but not for some phones.

  • Gianni
    Gianni 2 months ago +1

    This is what vr should be... HAHAHAHA HAHAHAHA. OK queen

  • Shabaab Kamal
    Shabaab Kamal 2 months ago

    ALLEGRA!

  • Nick Bu
    Nick Bu 2 months ago +1

    Came from the Galaxy Fold video. Just to see Dami

  • DR. Gonzo
    DR. Gonzo 2 months ago

    😑 herro

  • Rodier Ratafakus
    Rodier Ratafakus 2 months ago

    Really?

  • J2 digital
    J2 digital 2 months ago +1

    I never got to play Pokemon Snap growing up! POKEMON SNAP FOR LABO VR! plz & thx.

  • uhmpr0
    uhmpr0 2 months ago +2

    thank you Verge-Chan AYAYA

  • Richard Cermele
    Richard Cermele 2 months ago

    And how long do those constructions actually last?

  • Illusionist_Chrome
    Illusionist_Chrome 2 months ago

    What VR should be=First Person
    What VR “should” be=Third Person

  • Holzkohlen
    Holzkohlen 2 months ago

    I would probably enjoy building that stuff more than actually playing with it.

  • Marc Ivan
    Marc Ivan 2 months ago

    How nudely

  • Nganthoi Tongbram
    Nganthoi Tongbram 2 months ago

    More Dami Lee please

  • Jungaii Cumla
    Jungaii Cumla 2 months ago

    The egg lady?

  • Alex Chipman
    Alex Chipman 2 months ago +3

    Sony: PS5!
    Me: Meh
    Nintendo: Foldable cardboard VR goggles
    Me: YESSSlewkrlkjfsd

  • James Healey
    James Healey 2 months ago +1

    It doesn't have a strap? So you'll have to hold it to play Breath of the Wild? That's a bit disappointing.

  • Ryan
    Ryan 2 months ago

    Woof!

  • Arrowinaknee 277
    Arrowinaknee 277 2 months ago

    Vr should be holding a 720p screen up to your face to play short mini games with no replay value. Eh sounds fun but I think I’ll keep my vive

  • eggs
    eggs 2 months ago

    She's a qt 3.14

  • The Deviant Developer
    The Deviant Developer 2 months ago

    What VR should be.... if you want to do it for 3 minutes till your arms get tired. Ridiculous.

  • Kang Han
    Kang Han 2 months ago

    Is this video recorded in HDR? Black looks weird on my non-HDR screen.

  • Marcus Anderson
    Marcus Anderson 2 months ago +1

    Dami has zero personality outside of presenting. She seem to take the haunted drawing very seriously.

  • The Bad Elf
    The Bad Elf 2 months ago +1

    I had to give the video a thumbs down when she said "and I'm here for it".

  • Paulo Dominguez
    Paulo Dominguez 2 months ago

    It’s funny how people are buying paperboard.

  • Jack McInnis
    Jack McInnis 2 months ago +2

    They didn’t add a strap because they could lower the age rating because if the child didn’t feel good they could pull the headset away.

  • Aries73
    Aries73 2 months ago

    I can think of quite a few 3rd parties looking to create headgear compatible with Labo VR.

  • TurboPikachuX
    TurboPikachuX 2 months ago

    3:58 Pokemon snap isn't the only missed opportunity. I also REALLY want Virtual Boy games to be made available as DLC for Labo VR from the eShop.
    That said, I really like Labo VR, and 720p despite it's low resolution is actually not as blurry as I feared, very comparable to seeing a 3DS XL's 3D screen from a comfortable distance.

  • idonotmakevidsyet
    idonotmakevidsyet 2 months ago +1

    "Keep in mind that we adults are dumber than kids"

  • steve sutton
    steve sutton 2 months ago

    You ladies want a real VR experience? 100% serious.

  • IronRangr
    IronRangr 2 months ago

    Is she a cartoonist too?

  • SuperBarry
    SuperBarry 2 months ago

    give us rec room on switch! we need good graphics on mobile vr

    • Kirascendant Avatar
      Kirascendant Avatar 2 months ago

      yeah, not a chance. Not enough FPS, Framerate, processing power, or sensor hardware.

  • Dustin
    Dustin 2 months ago

    I didn’t know it was so geared for multiplayer. 😞

  • ContraZombie4
    ContraZombie4 2 months ago

    People keep raving about Pokemon Snap, but it doesn't seem ANYWHERE near as engaging as people say.
    If Pokemon Snap came out today, it'd be more so a "Wii Play" than a "Wii Sports", so to speak.
    Wii Play was popular at the time, but ultimately quickly abandoned after the novelty wears off.
    Whereas Wii Sports is a simple, engaging game that people both remember fondly, and can go back to ANYTIME.

  • Vlican
    Vlican 2 months ago

    Release Pokemon Snap with that Camera Labo, and yes, you can shut up and take my money.

  • HEHEHE I AM A SUPAHSTAR CHIMERA

    Ok but it's so hand to find gameplay vids with the bird

  • Adam Eason
    Adam Eason 2 months ago

    out of curiosity, how did you get the footage as you played the game?

  • Zwenk Wiel
    Zwenk Wiel 2 months ago +1

    The correct term for the type of game where you pass the controller isn't "turn based" it's called "hot seat"

  • AlexikFTW
    AlexikFTW 2 months ago +6

    "What VR should be" Ahhh I hope not.

  • Jesua Jovan
    Jesua Jovan 2 months ago +1

    I need more content with dami lee ❤️

  • andyscout
    andyscout 2 months ago +13

    “Changes the idea of what VR should be”
    Ehhh, idk about that....

    • Wolf Lykaios
      Wolf Lykaios 2 months ago +1

      "Could be"
      Now that's a statement I can get behind.

  • Cesar Perez
    Cesar Perez 2 months ago

    Great video, horrible title.

  • Grape with a Face
    Grape with a Face 2 months ago +2

    Labo vr it’s cool but not what vr should be

    • Ur2ez4me81
      Ur2ez4me81 2 months ago

      Grape with a Face So you built this and played? I think it does VR some justice, it’s not terrible...

  • Holo
    Holo 2 months ago +8

    I'm just gonna sit here and wait for a 3rd party plastic headset that straps to your head because that would make BotW VR much more comfortable

  • New Bleppmore
    New Bleppmore 2 months ago

    labo is aimed at kids? but kids cant use VR

  • Illustrious Guest
    Illustrious Guest 2 months ago +5

    How is this what vr should be? Sounds like something someone would say if they don't have much experience with vr. Or something Nintendo fanboys would say.

    • James Stubblefield
      James Stubblefield 2 months ago +1

      Illustrious Guest maybe she meant for kids? Not too sure, IMO immersive computer VR is the best

    • Adam Zielinski
      Adam Zielinski 2 months ago +4

      I think she meant something that's
      Fun first.
      Impressive second.

  • AdversaryOne
    AdversaryOne 2 months ago

    4:34 She tried to zoom in with two fingers. Hilarious. Can the Switch even do that?

  • Psysium
    Psysium 2 months ago

    Allegra is such a heartbreaker lmao

  • Thomas Limqueco
    Thomas Limqueco 2 months ago

    I just want to know..What camera did the Verge used to shoot this video?

  • Thomas Limqueco
    Thomas Limqueco 2 months ago

    LABO means blurry in tagalog or filipino language 😁

  • olim22
    olim22 2 months ago

    This is all good, but how can Nintendo not enable sharing of toy con garage creations? This would be a game changer and easy to implement. So not doing this really seems extremely odd. Just add it Nintendo!

  • Cristopher Cza.
    Cristopher Cza. 2 months ago +2

    I’m too young to understand the obsession with Pokémon snap

  • Whole Food Plant-Based Man

    Nah, I'll just wait until Super Mario Maker 2.

  • Mazin Alzadjali
    Mazin Alzadjali 2 months ago +3

    I don't care about labo I'm just here for dami

  • jason van der loew
    jason van der loew 2 months ago

    I see Dami,i click it faster to watch it

  • Zach Fox 狐智
    Zach Fox 狐智 2 months ago

    that's very smart Nintendo

  • Poever
    Poever 2 months ago

    We 💗 you Dami~!

  • umpireswe
    umpireswe 2 months ago +14

    "what vr Should be"...? Sounds like the author don't think much of VR.

    • Justin Catalano
      Justin Catalano 2 months ago

      Gulorful what are you talking about? There are tons of games in the Steam VR ecosystem which are completely immersive environments and playspaces which encourage full interactivity.
      The labo is exactly what you described - a screen in someone’s face with motion controls.

    • Gulorful
      Gulorful 2 months ago +1

      umpireswe She’s kind of right. The majority of VR games are standard first person games but with a screen on your face and motion control. It’s rare to see a VR game take full advantage of being in a 360 degree environment. Now this is from a consumer point of view and there are definitely games that take full advantage of that but the majority of people don’t see that. Especially when tons of kits are very expensive.

  • SevenDeMagnus
    SevenDeMagnus 2 months ago

    Hi. Thanks. Not sure the Switch has the power to do a Breath of the Wild nor Mario Oddysey VR, unless the VR has an extra GPU.
    But VR is the most experience, even if the graphics aren't photorealistic, the depth makes up for that.
    God bless, Proverbs 31

    • aWildTomAppeared
      aWildTomAppeared 2 months ago +1

      in hand held the switch is only 720p 30fps for botw, so not only would vr on botw be very low res, but even if you can get past that, because rendering 2 screens is much harder than 1, the fps would likely average below 30, which is basically unplayable by default, but on vr, low frame rates are sickening, this is why vr headers tend to have a max refresh rate well above 60.

  • IAM THATIAM
    IAM THATIAM 2 months ago

    I mean, i read a BOOK then use my brains vr..
    And what happend to MECCHANO SETS for building?

  • Jimmy Suwangsa
    Jimmy Suwangsa 2 months ago

    only here for dami lol

  • DESCONECTE RETROMAN
    DESCONECTE RETROMAN 2 months ago

    NINTENDO LABO VR AMAZINGGGGG FOR "KIDS".......

  • kabie bebe
    kabie bebe 2 months ago

    Anybody wanna garrage sale Nintendo Vr from sweaty nerd hehe

  • Grabakr Fen
    Grabakr Fen 2 months ago +1

    I love her comic

  • Joshua Ng
    Joshua Ng 2 months ago +33

    1. Put God of War on switch.
    2. Have cardboard Leviathan Axe with bonus cardboard "Boy"...
    3. Profit...

    • Mindblow
      Mindblow Month ago

      @ElSAVALDORfunes repeat it to yourself until you believe it

    • ElSAVALDORfunes
      ElSAVALDORfunes 2 months ago

      God of bore isn't that great

  • RCmies
    RCmies 2 months ago +1

    She's so pretty COME ON!

  • Allen Mathew
    Allen Mathew 2 months ago

    You can't be serious... This is where gaming is heading?

    • Quentin Els
      Quentin Els 2 months ago

      Please gaming in it's current creative state is pathetic, everything is braindead design, go stere at a pretty picture or something

  • Luke
    Luke 2 months ago

    "what virtual reality should be"

    Low resolution with low framerates? God this publication is insufferable

    And I think this labo kit is intensely cool, but you can shove that video title up your rear

  • frank kosidowski
    frank kosidowski 2 months ago

    Do they all come in one box?

  • Smith Martin
    Smith Martin 2 months ago +3

    "Imagine what that could have done for me if I was a child, I would be so smart now."Yeah, that's true🤣🤣🤣

  • Darshan Makaveli Stay Thuggish

    Daimn dami you just make the video more interesting!

  • AreYouStillAlive
    AreYouStillAlive 2 months ago

    This kind of "VR" is so stupid. What kind of people will want to buy this shits?

    • Aries73
      Aries73 2 months ago

      AreYouStillAlive Oh, I don’t know. People who aren’t tech nerds? People who value fun experiences over graphics?

  • ronomgenuff
    ronomgenuff 2 months ago +4

    You said pokemon snap, I click like- I'm a simple guy.

  • Jay Color
    Jay Color 2 months ago +4

    Labo is not what VR should be... have you used head tracking VR? Labo is just 360 3D.