Solo: A Star Wars Story - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 507

  • Faceless Man
    Faceless Man Hour ago

    The most expensive Star Wars movie, and made the least amount of money.

  • BrrZrrKrr
    BrrZrrKrr 23 hours ago

    It was a $250,000,000 cosplay.

  • Majenrok
    Majenrok Day ago

    The prequel trilogy was better than any of the new Star Wars films.

  • Jeremy
    Jeremy Day ago

    Fuck every critic. I loved the Solo movie.

  • Gary Oldman
    Gary Oldman Day ago

    Do you own that cinema?

  • Ageto Oni
    Ageto Oni 2 days ago

    Another Rambo film would be called John: Rambo part II right?

  • Michael Garcia
    Michael Garcia 2 days ago

    Come on James. You know that we really want the Nerd to review this movie.

  • Brinstar Media
    Brinstar Media 2 days ago

    I definitely looked for the chin scar too! Lol

  • Sawako chan
    Sawako chan 3 days ago

    why does Solo says Jedis were ancient myth when he must've been in hes teens when Jedis did the clone wars? continuity issue

  • BullyScholarshipWii
    BullyScholarshipWii 3 days ago

    This movie was better than I expected, and I also enjoyed it more than Rogue One. The characters were more fun and memorable.

  • Metallizombie
    Metallizombie 3 days ago

    It isn’t the most expensive Star Wars movie

  • Tommy Eldred
    Tommy Eldred 3 days ago

    Relax... Teras Kasi is mentioned in the EU before this film...

  • AnythingGoes
    AnythingGoes 3 days ago +1

    Ron Howard Produces Arrested Development

  • Ed ebrock
    Ed ebrock 3 days ago

    i wanna see the Bea Arthur star wars story

  • AriSafari293
    AriSafari293 4 days ago

    and i love these kinda discussion videos with all of you, keep up the phenomenal work guys! wish you all the best! cheers

  • AriSafari293
    AriSafari293 4 days ago

    one of my biggest complaints was the pointless addition of having his real name not be Han Solo........like why even bother to go through with that? And in the movie he even mentions his father and how they repaired ships and what not so why wouldnt he have a full name? According to this movie when Luke was born his name shoulda been Luke Solo lmao geeez

  • Samuel Rodríguez
    Samuel Rodríguez 4 days ago

    I think every Star Wars movies made after the original 6, are not so good like they used to. The new canon is a total garbage. I've read most of the SW books but the new canon doesn't make sense. George Lucas has to take the director chair once again and re-buy the franchise from Disney, which is destroying it.

  • iHelloway
    iHelloway 4 days ago

    talking about physical de aging .. actually ... i love it , I LOVE IT ! so realistic and so fitting ... can`t get why people complain.. but again, people complain about everything ... tho I am cgi hater most of the item , atmosphere cgi or practical in any case must be believable , thats why transformers are shit and Jurrasic Park is legendary in such department

  • Vatsala काली Jhaveri

    Alden Ein-Reich-Ein-Volk-Ein-Fuhrer

  • Tumpeh Soosses
    Tumpeh Soosses 4 days ago

    Teräskäsi = Terska sai

  • David Jrcashlovecats
    David Jrcashlovecats 5 days ago +1

    I didn't mind L3
    I think if R2 spoke english he'd come across a lot similar. As I understand it, droids are used as slave labour and spies (which is why they're not allowed in the cantina.) If they don't have consistent memory wipes then their artificial intelligence develops a personality.
    A Westworld type situation is probably always a possibility in the Star Wars universe.
    I for one am excited they're finally exploring this in Star Wars (droid rebellion on Kessel was the best!)

  • nazi frog
    nazi frog 5 days ago +1

    Solo was the best of all the new star wars movies.

  • James Scott
    James Scott 5 days ago

    My summary of their analysis of the characterization, "I didn't like that the characters weren't how they were in the trilogy." "Yeah, the only thing I disliked more was that they just like they were in the trilogy. ". Can't be pleased.

  • James Scott
    James Scott 5 days ago

    They talk like they don't even like Star Wars. Stop going if you don't like Star Wars.

  • James Scott
    James Scott 5 days ago

    Star Wars fanboys are the worst. You're not eight anymore so it doesn't feel the same.

  • Old Cyril The Gaming Grandpa

    "Nobody looks like Harrison Ford" - I guess y'all ain't heard of Anthony Ingruber? Looks and acts just like him!

  • Devin Clark
    Devin Clark 5 days ago

    tell newt to bring back underbelly pls

    • Newton Wallen
      Newton Wallen 2 days ago

      hahaha tell the other guys. i would love to

  • ezcompane
    ezcompane 5 days ago

    I'd sit down to watch a Yoda origins story. Why not?

  • Guy_Incognito
    Guy_Incognito 5 days ago

    Ryan was a mistake.

  • IntyMichael
    IntyMichael 5 days ago

    The actor of Chewbacca is a finnish guy. Maybe he reminded the crew that Treräs Käsi (btw. it means Steel hand) is a nice joke. But I like the idea better that the guys would watch your videos for inspiration. ;)

  • Violet Illustrator
    Violet Illustrator 5 days ago

    "The movie is called Solo, you only watch it once."

  • captcorajus
    captcorajus 6 days ago

    Solo ROCKED!

  • Sir Piken
    Sir Piken 6 days ago

    Soylo.......... no thanks. I'm gonna file this under crystal skull and pretend that it never happened.

  • Ben Malsky
    Ben Malsky 6 days ago

    I loved The Last Jedi! I thought it it was really good.

  • jeff wolf
    jeff wolf 6 days ago

    Very good movie! It’s gonna be underrated for a long time.

  • Noah Shepherd
    Noah Shepherd 6 days ago

    Chris Pratt for solo, thumbs up if you agree

  • jason shapiro
    jason shapiro 6 days ago

    the unwatchable glare struggle is real I feel that I can barely watch most movies in the daytime

  • WolfmanKenpo
    WolfmanKenpo 7 days ago

    Ehrenreich was OK, would have much rather preferred Anthony Ingruber as Solo.

  • PatriotsFan2099 fan2099

    Bring back avgn!!!!!!!!!

  • Ray Kehr
    Ray Kehr 7 days ago

    Thanks. I’ll get it out of red box now lol

  • Triadisch
    Triadisch 7 days ago

    thats a hilarious thought that Indiana Jones doesn't even need to be in the movie for what happens to happen.

  • Laser Pictures
    Laser Pictures 7 days ago

    Now that I think about it, I wouldn’t mind a reboot of Teras Kasai, if they got Netherrealm to do it. Imagine if they included a Mortal Kombat/Injustice story mode.

  • MT Rich
    MT Rich 8 days ago

    I can't explain why every body was clapping when the movie was over including myself. I guess it was because we liked it and we had fun.

  • D Bonds
    D Bonds 8 days ago

    If ‘it was okay’ meant ‘its bad’ then id agree. Dont think this origins story did Any Justice to the character, solo in this film felt the same from start to finish - no transformation. Pretty lackluster of an origins story.
    The Actor doesnt have Any vibe of han whatsoever, if i didnt know this movie, the only way ill know hes han is coz hes standing next to chewie. Unconvincing han solo.

  • LyovMyshkin
    LyovMyshkin 8 days ago

    In the PC game Tie Fighter the class of ship Hans flys is called a Corellian Freighter so it was nice to seem them dig deep into the lore and pull that one out.

  • Benjamin Hansen
    Benjamin Hansen 8 days ago

    It could have been good. But it's shit. And everything they keep churning out is also shit.

  • leow193
    leow193 8 days ago

    For the Imperial March being in universe, they already did that in star wars rebels

  • Chris
    Chris 8 days ago

    Damn it. I'm more than a little stoned right now and your discussion on parsecs is blowing my mind.

  • JB_Calgary
    JB_Calgary 8 days ago +1

    Disagree for once. SOLO was epic!
    They both played Han and Lando PERFECTLY

  • Teamcardgames
    Teamcardgames 8 days ago

    To be perfectly honest, I hate Star Wars rebels for how terrible it is to the actual franchise and the only reason why it’s good is because it has clone wars characters that got more character development than the actual main characters in the and the writers of rebels is just telling you to go watch clone wars on Netflix and I feel that the ending of rebels is not good that’s just my opinion and I hope everyone understands that.

  • frozenaorta
    frozenaorta 9 days ago

    Just watch Mike's face during Ryan's whole speech on parsecs.

  • Timic83tc
    Timic83tc 9 days ago

    When did Cinemassacre become RedLetterMedia? Not that I mind.

  • m3x1c4n
    m3x1c4n 9 days ago

    Teras Kasi is actually the martial art style that maul uses, so it's supposed to connect the two characters

  • The One Who Eats Lemons

    Qi'ra's fighting skill didn't amount to nothing. She took down Han easily and she actually fought Vos and killed him.

  • TheSpiral01
    TheSpiral01 10 days ago

    hey James, were all you four guys childhood friends, its seems that way? Most of my friends from childhood moved away or have since passed away. i think it's cool if it's either way for ya''ll but was just wondering. Thanks.

  • jonathan alvarez
    jonathan alvarez 10 days ago

    Maybe it bombed because now disney is just sucking the soul out of the star wars franchise by making a movie almost every year.

  • Ryan Martin
    Ryan Martin 10 days ago +2

    Has anyone else read the Han Solo Trilogy books that came out like 20 years ago?
    Those where good books. I would have prefered those stories as base for the Solo movie.

  • olafpayne
    olafpayne 10 days ago

    Star Wars was real form me. Han Solo is Harrison Ford so this has to be a young Harrison ford not a character playing Solo but not Ford. I feel like I'm going though a break up.

  • AnAsianbr0skii21
    AnAsianbr0skii21 10 days ago

    I really want to know what you thought about hereditary. You can keep it in mind for october i guess lol

    • Newton Wallen
      Newton Wallen 8 days ago

      DUDE it was awesome wasn't it. super fucked up and unsettling

  • AnAsianbr0skii21
    AnAsianbr0skii21 10 days ago

    Can you review hereditary?

  • Alex Tigre
    Alex Tigre 10 days ago

    Guys, you know we're talking about "fictional characters" (than gesticulates with the hands) "fictional characters"
    Ben Affleck (Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back)

  • The !st Winner
    The !st Winner 10 days ago

    I guess now we wait for Episode XXIV - HAN: A Prequel to SOLO
    LMAO

  • The !st Winner
    The !st Winner 11 days ago

    What do you call long distance intercourse?...


    ...Parsex :D

  • The !st Winner
    The !st Winner 11 days ago

    YOLO
    A Star Wars Motto

  • Daralantan
    Daralantan 11 days ago +1

    With them talking about the multiple directors, I'm surprised they didn't reference the fact that apparently Han's actor was so awful that he needed an acting coach with him on every single scene.

  • Castor McCree
    Castor McCree 11 days ago

    hey Disney, Lobot origins movie please

  • andywagoner
    andywagoner 11 days ago

    where'd you film this review at?

  • Eagleeye Jones
    Eagleeye Jones 11 days ago

    Hmm... I guess I'm 1 of those 7 who actually cares what a parsec is

  • Ghostlight X
    Ghostlight X 11 days ago +1

    I just assumed Darth Maul's appearance was either a plot hole, or another being of Darth Maul's race who was not actually Darth Maul but for some reason has a double bladed light saber. The person who was with me assumed it was Darth Maul's son or grandson or something.

    • MisfitKitten
      MisfitKitten 10 days ago

      Yeah, because Maul was killed (initially) when Anakin was a kid, and Han is supposedly 10 or so years older than Anakin's CHILDREN. I know Yoda made it to 900, so it might be feasible, but...note that nobody actually called him Darth Maul.

  • GamerWho
    GamerWho 11 days ago

    Teras Kasi is only shitty in retrospect. If you were playing it in 1997 or whenever it was like "Cool! Star Wars Tekken"

  • LelandHasGames
    LelandHasGames 11 days ago

    This film was just awesome. I honestly felt like it was a genuine starwars film and I thought it was one of the better starwars films made recently.

  • 723
    723 11 days ago

    I love all you dudes ........

  • Josue Adame
    Josue Adame 11 days ago

    I wonder I any of the other 3 were thinking fucking nerd when Ryan was explaining the parsec lol just wondering love Ryan btw

  • raider762
    raider762 11 days ago

    Better than the Last Jedi.

  • Team Shaolin Star
    Team Shaolin Star 12 days ago

    I would like a new Matrix trilogy because I feel like that movie didn't get that much attention after the early 2000s and I think the Matrix is awesome because it's a good movie and I brought a lot to the table in the action genre as well :).

  • bargh70
    bargh70 12 days ago

    I loved it. I don’t agree with any of the criticism at all.

  • osp80
    osp80 12 days ago

    they tried to base a franchise on 2.5 good movies.

  • Connor Willis
    Connor Willis 12 days ago

    I’ve just seen the movie, and oh man! The ending confused me.

  • Son Rukiri
    Son Rukiri 12 days ago +1

    It was utter crap...people left the theaters and demanded a refund, it was that bad!

  • raphithegreat
    raphithegreat 12 days ago

    There's also battle for endor and another movie from around that time..

  • P Ferreira
    P Ferreira 12 days ago

    Disney and Kathleen Kennedy strikes again and I doubt Rebels is any good.

  • Flarecrow
    Flarecrow 12 days ago +1

    Lando: I hate you
    Han Solo: I know.
    I chuckled.

  • British Ball
    British Ball 12 days ago +1

    "Jar Jar but this time he's *REALLY BAAAAAAD* "

  • H.F Collectibles
    H.F Collectibles 12 days ago

    I think the point of him being good is that (this was a planned trilogy) that later on in the series something happens to him that makes him less of a good man but deep down he is

  • Major Mayhem
    Major Mayhem 12 days ago

    James, when are you going to review Hereditary?

  • Adam Walcott
    Adam Walcott 12 days ago

    The parsec bit is funny, although you have it backwards: in science, "light years" are irrelevant whereas the "parsec" is the proper scientific unit of measurement for distance. Yes - most, if not all astronomers care what a parsec is. Either way, a parsec is defined using Earth's orbit around the Sun so the argument is mute considering all of this takes place a long time ago, in a galaxy far away from here. A parallax arc second would have a different definition in the star wars universe.

  • BlueFox284
    BlueFox284 12 days ago

    10th Star Wars movie? Try 12th. . .You forgot the 2 Ewok movies. . .

    • BlueFox284
      BlueFox284 12 days ago

      Oh shit. . .lol

    • NickJarno
      NickJarno 12 days ago +1

      Try 14th, forgot the Holiday Special and the Clone Wars movie.

  • The Two Two Late Show
    The Two Two Late Show 12 days ago

    those planks of would all die in rogue one... would it be better if a bunch of likable people die?? if you hated them so much you should be glad they die at the end

  • Adrian Loera
    Adrian Loera 13 days ago

    Rouge One waaaay better!

  • ComicWriter 2020
    ComicWriter 2020 13 days ago

    Your allowed to record in the movie theater like this?

  • Mrbananies
    Mrbananies 13 days ago

    Am I the only one that really liked this

  • Someone Else
    Someone Else 13 days ago

    as a fan of Star Wars since 1977 when I sat on my dad's lap to watch the original I thought this movie was fantastic. it's the movie I've been waiting for for 40 years. and you have to assume that Chuy's mother was the Wookie that he rescued because that's Cannon.

  • roamer45
    roamer45 13 days ago

    This movie is worse than ET: the game.

  • Drizzyr Auvryar
    Drizzyr Auvryar 13 days ago

    I think James(AVGN) had everything to do with the teras kasi reference. I wouldn't see it any other way.

  • Thomas Crown
    Thomas Crown 13 days ago

    ROSE TICO ORIGIN STORY MOVIE!!!

  • 206 Cinema Productions

    I liked it lol wasnt a masterpiece at all but it was good entertainment and I'm a sucker for Darth Maul!! I also loved The Last Jedi!! If anything rogue one is the only one so far thats been forgettable for me.

  • BigFrakkinOgre
    BigFrakkinOgre 13 days ago

    Chewie is not a "deadbeat dad". He's still wearing the same bandolier, but his fam has VR gear and a nice home, so I'm guessing he sends every credit back home.

  • michael rame
    michael rame 13 days ago

    I thought this movie would be about how he was in trouble with jaba

  • Laurence Clifford
    Laurence Clifford 14 days ago

    I would have preferred Spaceballs -a Hand Solo movie. The greyness and murkiness in colour tone was to invoke an oppressive atmosphere -fantasies of ww1 (EA’s battlefield 1) -hey we’re in the trenches guys. I thought L3-37 was amusing but since y’all a buncha white ManBoys and feel threatened by strong female robots i get your passive aggression. Alden is a solid actor and i would be interested in the next two movies. There’s room for Solo to transform into the Solo you guys obviously had a boy crush on. Da seeds have been set i.e, ’his type’ tells him he’s the good guy then betrays him for doing a noble act, hard lesion learned, Solo is heart broken -end of act/movie one. The timeline is weird Aiden is too old to play young Han, but the original concept was more of a space romp not a wow fan boys another SW movie to get hard on about, the SW fans base is a little toxic right now.

  • Mr Kite
    Mr Kite 14 days ago

    Who invited Droopy??