Intel Could Take YEARS to Catch Up… - Ryzen 9 3950X Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 14, 2019
  • Visit www.squarespace.com/LTT and use offer code LTT for 10% off
    Check out Teamgroup's Thanksmas sale at lmg.gg/8KVjV
    Buy the Teamgroup T-Force Delta MAX SSD
    On Amazon (Paid Link): geni.us/SnJxFA
    On Newegg (Paid Link): lmg.gg/8KVj1
    AMD is bringing 16 cores to the masses with the Ryzen 9 3950X - Does it live up to its Threadripper predecessors? In a word… Yes.
    Buy a Ryzen 9 3950X:
    On Amazon: TBD
    On Newegg: lmg.gg/8KVTJ
    Buy a Ryzen 9 3900X:
    On Amazon: geni.us/VhZIc7
    On Newegg: lmg.gg/8KVj9
    Buy an Intel Core i9 9900K:
    On Amazon: geni.us/r5YG
    On Newegg: lmg.gg/8KVj6
    *Purchases made through some store links may provide some compensation to Linus Media Group.*
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1123580-intel-could-take-years-to-catch-up%E2%80%A6-ryzen-9-3950x-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: lmg.gg/sponsors
    Get a Displate Metal Print at lmg.gg/displateltt
    Get a 30-day free trial of Amazon Prime at lmg.gg/8KV1v
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: thexvid.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High thexvid.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 8 556

  • Roger Arteaga
    Roger Arteaga 4 hours ago

    Yes yes....more reason for me to now get a 2950x. Sure as hell not switching my threadripper mobo for a 3950x

  • Morpheus Druidic
    Morpheus Druidic 6 hours ago

    I wonder how many 32+ core systems have been built for apps that only scale to less then 8...usually 2-4...btw Intel abandoned HT, AMD markets HT as extra cpu's...pfft hahaha. Go edit a video, with your dual channel memory, since we all know VM is not important....(sarcasm). Intel doesnt even need to sell "Intel" to rake in revenue, what if I told you, with the purchase of every AMD core...Intel gets a cut?!?! Oh shit mind blown...Damn console peasents with Hardware they cant even utilize, its like watching some1 pick up a $1200 iPhone, just to run the same apps..at the same speed...of a $200 droid. I HAVE 64 CORES!!!! Anyone building 32+ core systems to "game", is an idiot. Oh and BTW, those extra cores dont future proof your PC. 1,2,3,4,5,6,7th generation....whats a "machine code"...hmmmm. Bottom line, wasting resources (aka$$$) on specs you dont need is not a intelligent use of assets (although im sure alot of 64 core youtubers would love to disagree)

  • ebinom
    ebinom 6 hours ago

    Please, I am looking to buy a new laptop. What AMD specs should I be considering? I was thinking of Intel iCore 7 until I saw your video.

  • I AM BAYTOR
    I AM BAYTOR 7 hours ago

    Why does this shit happen when I bite the bullet and buy a 9900k?

  • Leslie Grayson
    Leslie Grayson 12 hours ago

    I heard that Team Red sacrificed Linus's Grammar skills to get the watts down and speed up. But I could be Penny Wong.

  • Peachy's RC and Games
    Peachy's RC and Games 12 hours ago

    You need to look closelier at 6:55 - 6:58 lmao

  • HardCoreSnowBall
    HardCoreSnowBall 14 hours ago

    imagine being a naive enough fool to buy the i9 CPU after knowing AMD researched the 7nm technology... now imagine being an even bigger naive fool to buy the 10980XE.

  • Egonieser Locman
    Egonieser Locman 15 hours ago

    When you have no competition and have to compare against your own products...
    At least they play fair and compare apples to apples unlike Intel's "Performance Strategy" which tries every dirty and misleading trick in the book and again goes against FTC guidelines to stay relevant.. How low the mighty have fallen when you have to get in a "performance" strategist, someone who is an expert of deception and public misleading.

  • Rory Bjorkman
    Rory Bjorkman 17 hours ago

    Dear Santa....

  • Bishal Adhikary
    Bishal Adhikary 18 hours ago

    Lol at 99999$ anyone can get a 200ghz processor 400 threads lol

  • Andynonymous
    Andynonymous 23 hours ago

    Well you convinced me Linus. ill get one when they're readily available.
    Also, who here thinks I could get away with a 120mm aio for a 3950x?

  • CDXX
    CDXX Day ago

    AMD rules.
    Intel drools.

  • nu
    nu Day ago +1

    A good amount of ryzen users used to shit talk amd

  • Dawn Moon
    Dawn Moon Day ago

    I owned an i7 4970 with a Vega 64. Not really needed a new PC, but decided to upgrade to Ryzen 7 now, just out of appreciation for AMD. How they fight Nvidia AND Intel, with their "limited" resources. This deserves the Nobel price for personal computers :) Next year hopefully complete the upgrade with a Navi2 GPU, fingers crossed.

  • Gutsu
    Gutsu Day ago +4

    AMD: The only who can beat me is me.

  • philbertmill2
    philbertmill2 Day ago

    I don't understand anything, but Ima gonna get one!

  • cassius969
    cassius969 2 days ago

    The advantage of AMD is their smaller market share. They can easily put more cores on one CPU. Intel would have to expand significantly to achieve the same at their current sales levels.

  • Maciej Lech Paczkowski

    amd gj ;-]

  • Xaltar
    Xaltar 2 days ago

    I have to hand it to AMD, the 3950x fills a niche previously only addressed by HEDT grade CPUs. For a small business dealing with heavily threaded workloads but not large and well funded enough to go the true workstation/server route this thing is absolutely hitting the nail right on the head. HEDT was always a soul/wallet crushing option and sadly for many, just out of reach. Where people would once buy a core i7 XXXXk, overclock it and try to pack it with as much RAM as they could afford we now have a true contender that falls right between enthusiast consumer grade and HEDT.

    Now if only they would get their launches and AGESA smoothed out so it isn't like dancing with a dominatrix on broken glass when you adopt early 😂

  • Jnshox
    Jnshox 2 days ago

    I'm rocking a i5-9600k...wanting to upgrade again. In the early 2000's I was AMD all the way until I switched to intel back in 2010 and never looked back. I think it's time to upgrade to the AMD Ryzen 3900X. Geez the cores/threads...wow.....

  • Matthew Smith
    Matthew Smith 3 days ago +1

    Love the graphs, but can we order them best-worst? Makes for easier analysis. Yes we Canada!!

  • Jonathan Bartles
    Jonathan Bartles 3 days ago +1

    AMD is still years behind Intel overall.... This is a great individual product but being an AMD fanboy doesn't eliminate the overall dominance that Intel currently has.

  • Michael M
    Michael M 3 days ago

    So um.... amd making the next gen console cpus no doubt huh? 😂 maybe our consoles won’t cost $600 on release

  • David Roberts
    David Roberts 3 days ago +1

    Why did the 9960 suddenly disappear from the gaming benchmarks? Didn't it significantly out perform the 3950?

  • Seer King
    Seer King 3 days ago

    Linus can I buy an i9 9900ks from you! Because I cant find a reasonable price anywhere online. They are all going for $800+ by resellers on amazon. ;( somebody pls help lol. No but seriously;(

  • Erskine
    Erskine 4 days ago +1

    So Intel got more FPS in game than Amd, isn't the only thing we whant to know?

  • SHONUFF
    SHONUFF 4 days ago

    Or if you are into multi raid card set ups. Those use a lotta pcie lanes as well. I'm so sick of all these high end cases and CPU reviews not considering people who use 8 to 16 drive raid arrays.

  • Sunny Banks
    Sunny Banks 4 days ago +1

    Ummm... I don't get it. The tone of Linus' voice makes me believe that AMD has completely blown away Intel. But then he shows the graphs, and in many of them, the Intel 9900K/S is actually performing better.

    • Capt’n Crims
      Capt’n Crims 2 days ago

      Sunny Banks ya I was seeing the same thing yet Linus and the AMD fanboys here are going on like the intel processors are worthless

  • Mitch
    Mitch 4 days ago +2

    Within in two years AMD has changed the scope of the PC market.

  • Amin Momtaheni
    Amin Momtaheni 5 days ago

    can you compare FX9590 to 3950x? why no one compares old tech to new tech to see how far we improved in CPU. I want to see fx9590 with 5700xt or 2080ti vs 3950x with the same graphic cards and same amount of ram. if the rams are ddr3 vs ddr4 due to 2006 technology of fx9590 its ok. do some modern and old gaming comparisons. I want to see just how far a graphic upgrade could get me and others with old systems would take us today.

  • GTRdeamon
    GTRdeamon 5 days ago

    Just got my Ryzen 9 3950X today. This shut be a good replacement for my old I7 980X.

  • Voy2378
    Voy2378 5 days ago

    I wonder why there is no mention of OC...

    Oh because AMD is so greedy that you can not bump their clock by 100 MHz...

  • JK
    JK 5 days ago

    *ornamental plastic vegetation not included*

  • herbetron o
    herbetron o 6 days ago

    bought this cp for 1,270 aussie bucks and it turned up 2 days ago YIPPEEE,checked newegg and it was on for 1600 before tax and postage!!WOW what a bad black friday from them!updated my motherboard yesterday (had to do 3 times)then set xmp profile and it fucked my hard drive,always have a back up so alls good,end of story i havent even put the bloody thing in yet ha ha

  • QUANTUMquest The billionaire salesman cowboy

    Thanksmas sale what??????

  • High Rise
    High Rise 6 days ago

    Finally was able to get to Amazon fast enough to order my 3950X today. Now the wait begins...

  • Miljörör för Språkpartiet

    9900 is Faster than 3950 in games. Amd need more firepower and less cawz to Catch up

  • Zul Izwan
    Zul Izwan 6 days ago

    no0o0o0o0o0o i just build ryzen 7 3700, dont makes me upgrade... again

  • hippity hoppity i'm taking the property

    It’s so good but
    1. I don’t have the money
    2. It’s out of stock everywhere
    and I already have the ryzen 7 3700x

  • TYBO
    TYBO 6 days ago

    Not my proudest fap.... actually you know what.... yes it is.

  • Clint Hightower
    Clint Hightower 6 days ago

    Real competition is the only way to go.

  • Duane Putnam
    Duane Putnam 7 days ago

    Set this up in the LD PC-V10

  • Dillon the gamer
    Dillon the gamer 7 days ago

    6:57 when we look a little closelyer

  • Religion LOL
    Religion LOL 7 days ago

    I love how the AMD fanboys are so smug forgetting that AMD has been absolute shit for years. Intel is still far superior. The 9960x is the CPU I have and it won't give me issues for years to come.

  • RyanGamingXbox - Gaming and more

    Intel & AMD in a CS:GO match.

    Intel: "13 : 2", we are winning!
    AMD: Let's comeback boi.
    *A lot of matches later*
    AMD: "13: 13", we can make it.
    Intel: We won again. Yes. We can win this game.
    AMD: "14: 15", We have took back the round.

  • K K
    K K 7 days ago

    I thought intel i9 is the most powerful PROCESSOR!? And the best brand ?

  • Mike R
    Mike R 7 days ago

    I thought we were going to see it in action..........WTF......

  • Mal Long
    Mal Long 7 days ago

    Wish I could afford one, I’m still gaming on a quad core amd. Never mind the graphics card and motherboard and memory, I could afford a new case just.😭😭😭🕊🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿❤️

  • guts dragonslayer
    guts dragonslayer 7 days ago

    900$
    This hurt my wallet

  • Andy H
    Andy H 7 days ago

    Bummed my 3900x only hits 4.2Ghz

  • Supreme Lucks
    Supreme Lucks 7 days ago +2

    Y’all a bunch of nerds😂

  • C O
    C O 8 days ago +1

    I sold my 3900x for this, but no stock!

  • Reinier Garcia Ramos
    Reinier Garcia Ramos 8 days ago +1

    Dude, your voice is soo annoying!

  • kjell martin olsen
    kjell martin olsen 8 days ago

    intel are more stable on running heavy stuff games programs. amd drivers are so bugged on asus www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/21686897 MB. had to turn off hardware stuff in chrome. put al hdd to quickremove. install latest amd chipsed gpu raid drivers. IT is bugged. run all MB in pcie 3.0 but keep the speed on pcie 4.0 ssd nve disk. games read by 2000-4990mb read write.so the going from pcie 1.0 - 2.0 was bugged like pcie 3.0 too pcie 4.0. if intel gets pcie 5.0 and we can use pcie 4.0 gpu hdd ssd on it and not loosing any speed ill wait for pcie 5.0 speed. oh bugged pcie 4.0 i almost gave y(o)eah UP. as a warrning x570 series are bugged. RUN in PCIE 3.0 or lover. (w) sign DUAL fingers V V

  • The Wonder Craft
    The Wonder Craft 8 days ago

    Yes it'll take Intel years to catch up but it'll take years for AMD to supply the demand for this processer

  • Einheit-101
    Einheit-101 8 days ago

    Why not buy a i7 9700k, OC it to the max and then have the best gaming performance at half the price of these monsters?

  • Kouteiba
    Kouteiba 8 days ago

    But i9 9900k is still more powerful in terms of gaming

  • Darren Shepherd
    Darren Shepherd 8 days ago

    What if I wanted to put this in a mineral oil submerged PC?

    (It's a joke.but not really)

  • Pawan Gupta
    Pawan Gupta 8 days ago

    Let it be Amd or intel, user will always use windows.

  • EVOLICIOUS
    EVOLICIOUS 8 days ago

    Meh, still can't beat Intel when it comes to gaming. Wake me up when AMD gets better single-core performance. Otherwise, AMD is still just for media content creators, which are a dime a dozen in the first place. AMD continually fails over the course of a decade to bring anything actually exciting for gaming, which is why they are abandoning gaming and going for the commercial sector. That presentation was all just BS.

    • hurricane
      hurricane 8 days ago

      lmao, the single digit % difference is still swaying you towards Intel? AMD is wiping the floor with Intels CPU's in all use cases (except for slightly lagging behind in games, but they've closed that gap significantly in the last few years and there will be more IPC improvements with the next gen), and offers a much better price/performance ratio.
      Also, with core counts finally increasing, games will utilize more and more threads soon.