Solo: A Star Wars Story - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 10 296

  • Jake Short
    Jake Short Day ago

    FUCK LANDOS ROBOT

  • Bobby_Peru
    Bobby_Peru 7 days ago

    Shite review. Solo was decent, above decent TBH. TLJ was awful, but Jahns sucks on it's tit.

  • Timothy James
    Timothy James 7 days ago

    This review doesnt determine for the movie. It is not the best but it was entartaining.

  • Stock Brazen
    Stock Brazen 7 days ago

    Not gonna lie you literally didnt tell me anything to support what your saying like i mean your saying that the pacing of action sequence was bad but your not saying what sequence that was your making points but not saying what those points are like for example “donald glover was the best actor in the movie” okay what made him stand out... what made han so bad what moments broke the immersion same thing goes for woody Harrison. This is a review but you barely cover any moments from the movie its self and what made it so bad for you, now all be it you could be avoiding spoilers but you dont say this... anywhere

  • 3choBlast3r
    3choBlast3r 7 days ago

    I DON'T GET IT.
    As thought most of the new sequel movies were crap, some of them were mediocre at best. I expected to hate this movie. I just watched it and I'm fucking blown away. Why is this getting so much hate and bad reviews? The movie is fucking incredible. This dude just called it boring?! It's anything but boring. There are some problematic things for sure, but other than that it's a incredible action adventure sci fi movie, a bit more grown up then the previous movies. With incredible acting, great humor, great fan service and a good love story (could have been developed a little more)
    My only issue was the teenage girl that apparently jumpstarts the rebellion with solo's heist money.. she was so fucking out of place and dumb. But you know "it's a movie with a male lead and it also has another big fan favorite male (lando)" It felt like they made her a teenage girl just to make it more PC which was dumb. She should have at least been an ADULT. She looked 14 or so at first I really thought she was the "lost daughter" of beck and val.
    But no she is a early rebel super warrior that kickstarts the rebellion.

  • Mr. Beane's brickz
    Mr. Beane's brickz 10 days ago

    The worst part is how Han reunited with Q’ira so early in the story. Yeah, she was a pretty interesting character, but the movie lost its emotional weight. Instead of going on the mission because he wanted to reunite with Q’ira, he just goes because the plot tells him to.

  • Ignacio Hernandez
    Ignacio Hernandez 11 days ago

    It was aight

  • Aerociviz Nicholas
    Aerociviz Nicholas 14 days ago

    This is one of the first reviews I mostly didn't agree with from you, I actually enjoyed the difference in not there just being a main villain and etc... it felt like an episode in an adventure series for me like Indianna Jones.

  • Aerociviz Nicholas
    Aerociviz Nicholas 14 days ago

    The pacing didn't feel bad at all for me. It didn't even feel that boring.

  • Legendary Myth
    Legendary Myth 15 days ago

    I think this movie had a lot of story behind it showing you how the actual series came to be and not just Solo’s character. I also think the movie showed how Solo became and developed into the series. Just my opinion.

  • Gringo Stingo
    Gringo Stingo 15 days ago

    You're entitled to your opinion, but I personally thought this was the best Star Wars movie Disney has made.
    Just for reference, I think that Force Awakens and Last Jedi are shit. I remember liking Rogue One, but really the only things that were memorable enough to stick with me until now is that Darth Vader scene and the fate of all the main characters.
    I will agree that the pacing of this movie was off, but I still enjoyed myself the entire time.

  • Axel Foley
    Axel Foley 15 days ago

    Best line from the movie..
    "Han I'm telling you, it's too tight!"
    "Watch this"

  • Axel Foley
    Axel Foley 15 days ago

    They never give credit where credit is due....The Millenium Falcon. The real star of the series.

  • Ernie Vc
    Ernie Vc 16 days ago

    Donald Glover stands out, because he is the only one allowed to play the original character. The new Han Solo actor is not even bad, I even liked him, but he is just not allowed to be Han Solo, because of Kennedy's own agenda. He didn't even get to save the girl in his own freaking movie!

  • dodopoopinpoop
    dodopoopinpoop 16 days ago

    I just saw it on Netflix and shockingly I really like it. I get why people didn't see it but not the hate for this movie itself, it was a good movie.
    Bad:
    -The Actor 😪 Just fine but was bland. They could have easily gotten someone better.
    -Redoing plotlines 🙄 Han owes someone money, Han gets cockblocked on the falcon and Lando betrays him.
    -Han being a good guy at the end, like really? He does a 180 for a person who tried to kill him and for a rebellion we never saw? Yea, no.
    -Maul??? And stop trying to me those damn dice a thing!
    Good:
    -The script
    -Lando and Chewie
    -The built up to Han and Chewie being in the cockpit
    -The heist, the castle run and the train
    -Everytime Han bs's his way through a situation.
    Dude it was good. It felt like star wars and made me excited. Made sense more then TLJ and TFW and more entertaining then Episode 1&2. Just saying.

  • Nico Reveco
    Nico Reveco 20 days ago

    Never seen the original Star Wars, but if this is what's waiting. Then I'm good

  • masman04
    masman04 21 day ago

    Solo was ok rouge one was better, and I don't even acknowledge the new trilogy. To me star wars is an intense sci-fy drama with little to no comedy, but this new crap is tons of corny comedy which most of isn't even funny.

  • TanakinSkywalker
    TanakinSkywalker 22 days ago

    First five minutes and I already hate it. And he’s a horrible Han Solo. The stupid rock seen and he looks like he’s struggling in the action scenes too. And looking at those dice every 30 seconds was irritating

  • Peter Miller
    Peter Miller 24 days ago

    There are 3 good star wars movies. The fan boy piss is nauseating. Solo is a fun movie that fills in some blanks. For the love of God, keep global warming down and shut the fuck up.

  • joe lewis
    joe lewis 24 days ago +1

    My baby is getting hair on his balls

  • Sky Gerspacher
    Sky Gerspacher 24 days ago

    Finally saw it. Waited until it was on NetFlix.....must say.....i didnt hate it. All my hate is still reserved for The Last Jedi. THis one didnt ruin Star Wars for me....it was just.....there. Take it or leave it.

  • It's Wednesday, Screw Ironing

    Put off watching it but I loved it. Thought pacing was fine.

  • Crispy K
    Crispy K 27 days ago

    I wish that Donald Glover put on the smooth accent of Lando for this movie

  • kriqtic
    kriqtic 28 days ago

    I liked it... that is all

  • BLUE SNAGGLETOOTH
    BLUE SNAGGLETOOTH 28 days ago

    Jeremy, I agree with most of your opinions but not on this one. Solo is one of the better Disney SW films. A great, fun, exciting movie. I loved the call backs to the OT.

  • CheeksDaFreak 305
    CheeksDaFreak 305 29 days ago

    Just saw this on Netflix last night. And this movie was fun from beginning to end. Really enjoyed it. It wasn't a bad movie the way some people made it out to be.

  • KaptainDadde
    KaptainDadde Month ago

    I just saw it. Personally liked it, not the best not the worst.

  • geostillo78
    geostillo78 Month ago

    Just watched it on Netflix last night. Dude, youre trippin. It was a good Star Wars movie.

  • Fly Hacks
    Fly Hacks Month ago

    I don’t agree with your opinion because in my opinion, I actually liked the movie. I don’t see how this was a boring movie at all. It had action, good character moments and why would you say you forgot that Woody Harrelson was in the movie, the dude was on screen almost all the time.

  • Asian Import
    Asian Import Month ago

    I recently went back and watched Solo again, and I’m gonna say it: ITS A GOOD MOVIE. The pacing was good, the acting was good, and the action was great. Plus, side characters like L3 and Rio were pleasant surprises. I feel like people hated on this movie just for the sake of it.
    Unless you read the books (which most people don’t), these spinoff films are the only thing letting people experience stories outside of the mainline plot, and I for one am looking forward to them all.

  • brandon h
    brandon h Month ago

    I Enjoyed the movie. It was funny and action packed. Love the origin story.

  • Alex Helmin
    Alex Helmin Month ago

    Ya know, just watched it on Netflix. I think it's pretty good, there story was solid, the character dynamics we're actually great. I laughed at fembot wat... It was rocky but solid, not a brick but a nice boulder.

  • Jason Hauser
    Jason Hauser Month ago

    I usually agree with Jeremy, but I thought the pacing of Solo was damn good, and it's the best Star Wars movie since the original trilogy. It's better than all the crappy Prequels, Force Awakens, Last Jedi and Rogue One.

  • Ellipsis10
    Ellipsis10 Month ago

    Truth!!

  • Chris Hansen
    Chris Hansen Month ago

    This movie actually kept me entertained from beginning to end unlike The Last Jedi that had me dozing off and just waiting for the movie to end. I really hope they make a part 2

  • Xanider
    Xanider Month ago

    I Legit enjoyed the shit out of this movie. there were a few things that made me roll my eyes but other than that, it was fun.

  • ethan burnside
    ethan burnside Month ago

    Did you really expect anything else? it's Disney filling out lore. It was filler. You expected this as a pure film?

  • Jack Kenny
    Jack Kenny Month ago

    better than the last jedi tbh

  • TheThedot
    TheThedot Month ago

    This movie sucked. They care so much about forcing kids to consume massive properganda on race and brain washing little gilrs to view blacks a parnter. So gross to her a white woman ogel over a black boi. Death to race mix properganda.

  • Luis King
    Luis King Month ago

    Why do you have to be vulgar?

  • Overlay Production
    Overlay Production Month ago

    I think this movie was great and well thought out, but I respect your opnion. Still disappointed in THE LAST JEDI

  • BE Unlimited
    BE Unlimited Month ago

    Pacing was fine to me. Loved the movie.

  • Mottahead
    Mottahead Month ago

    This movie is great.
    That Rogue and Last Jedi crap were boring as hell.
    Not this one.

  • Jamison Montgomery
    Jamison Montgomery Month ago

    Dude your fucking wrong it’s an origin story do you know what that means right how Han Solo got to be where he’s at & his story it’s a better movie than tlj & the forces awakens

  • badtemper88
    badtemper88 Month ago

    Watched it on Netflix January 2019 and it was better thanI thought it would be.

  • gibsoneb3
    gibsoneb3 Month ago

    It was - not horrible, like TLJ. But not in the same space as Empire or Return - I wanted to like the characters more than I did. And although I enjoy the actor who voiced the feminist robot I thought the character was annoying.

  • Aces
    Aces Month ago

    Just saw it. I liked it. It was better than I thought

  • David Anderson
    David Anderson Month ago

    Promised I would never spend another dime on a Star Wars movie after The Last Jedi so I finally watched it on Netflix ............. Better than The Last Jedi.

  • The Vision And The Voice

    You're plain wrong. Good movie.

  • Colt Johnson
    Colt Johnson Month ago

    Han solo was casted way wrong. He had none of the mannerisms of Han..like zero! Other than that the movie was good.

  • joseph dupuis
    joseph dupuis Month ago +1

    It is true, the movie is too talky, the pace is too slow, it becomes boring and there is a problem with the ending the last action scene of the movie is at 30 minutes before the end of the movie. BORING SOLO

  • GODZILLA EARTH
    GODZILLA EARTH Month ago +1

    This was a good movie wtf is wrong with everyone are they stupid or just insane

  • Abel Mantor
    Abel Mantor Month ago

    "You all look great today" you too , Jeremy.

  • Oscar P
    Oscar P Month ago +1

    millenials are creaming themselves over these new star wars movies lol sad

  • Max Nyström
    Max Nyström Month ago

    I thought it was ok

  • Beeby8 Reviews
    Beeby8 Reviews Month ago

    I hate it when people say “Nobody asked for it.” I’m sorry but that is just not true. When somebody says that, it really means “You didn’t ask for it.”

  • Michael Hovsomething

    You’re a great reviewer of movies and respect you observations but gotta disagree. I was shocked how good a movie was Solo. It looked like a bomb from the first trailer. Firing the directors is a panic move based on test audiences. Rumor was Erhenreicht couldn’t act and needed an acting coach against all odds it was a fun watch. Even with the prequelover explanation of every aspect of the Solo backstory. And the injection of flavor of the month actors Vision guy and Game of Thrones girl. The movie was entertaining

  • Pedro Rosario
    Pedro Rosario Month ago +1

    So I'm a little late. Just put the movie on at 10p last night. After running all around all day I expected to fall asleep watching this movie. I didn't. This movie was interesting and fun to watch. Young Han was so cool. Meeting Chewbacca was awesome. Lando was great. The Millennium Falcon intro was great. Ok so now I think there is something wrong with me. I loved this movie. 10x better then the Last Jedi.

  • Daniel Aptekar
    Daniel Aptekar 2 months ago

    Your review sucks. I think This movie was very good. I feel that Alden Ehrenreich as Solo did a great Job.
    The story was on point as well directed.

  • Jeffrey Golladay
    Jeffrey Golladay 2 months ago +1

    I actually really liked this movie. It felt like Star Wars.

  • beau jacobs
    beau jacobs 2 months ago +1

    I love that Jeremy is clearly not a shill.
    He’s got loads more subscribers then schmoes and campea(who suck Disney’s dick) but he’s real. It’s rare that I disagree with him

  • Maycifer
    Maycifer 2 months ago

    i can't believe i totally forgot about this movie! A movie about HAN SOLO whom i love and i was so uninterested i forgot it existed

  • Ian Workman
    Ian Workman 2 months ago

    Said it exactly right. Turned it off after an hour and felt like playing the originals to get the bad taste out of my mouth. Quite simply,no bad guy,no motivation,no revenge,no story.

  • GoddessOfWhim2003
    GoddessOfWhim2003 2 months ago

    yeah, i waited a long time to see it. wasn't impressed at all. so glad i didn't spend money on it

  • Alex
    Alex 2 months ago

    Im surprised to read in the comments that you actually liked it. The movie was a complete cringe-show with the worst dialogues ive seen in my life. On a very good day its an average movie and on a bad day its garbage. They could have done so many things in this movie and yet they delivered this.
    I was never planning to watch it after i saw last jedi and the first reviews that came in but after reading comments around like in this video i said meh lets give it a shot. And imagine i had very low expectations and it still dissappointed me.
    The only way i could enjoy the movie is if i was 13 years old. Thats it i will never trust the reviews in comment sections.

  • João Carriço
    João Carriço 2 months ago

    Something about the duality of men sir

  • Pretentious Username
    Pretentious Username 2 months ago

    I feel Alden was the second best part of thr movie. First, Paul Betany

  • deathshere4u
    deathshere4u 2 months ago

    hey u described what captain phasma did in the force awakens

  • It's all good man!
    It's all good man! 2 months ago

    Love your jacket...oh and I'm tired of the dilution, and milking of the Stars Wars galaxy. I was late to the Star Wars party, born in '81 but I've grown to love the 1st trilogy and now I'm not caring anymore...saddened and depressed by it all. JJ's jacket though...Awesometacular!!

  • minners71
    minners71 2 months ago

    What an awful reviewer talk about pacing try pacing your voice.

  • Drunken Busker
    Drunken Busker 2 months ago

    Poor movie by Star Wars standards. I think people have got used to watching bad movies and feel positive about anything remotely better than the last Jedi.

  • Spence Mundorf
    Spence Mundorf 2 months ago

    Honestly I liked it. It certainly wasn't a great movie but it's was good for sure. The main cast was pretty fun, there was an unclear villain thing going on although it came off as if it was done on purpose. Now that's not to say that it worked perfectly but it was certainly made to be that way. I liked the scenes with the Empire but we didn't get much of that. Mostly small crime organizations. They were alright but none was shown in a way that made them super badass. Even the most badass characters weren't all the way there. They were just pretty good at what they do. I liked the jokes and Lando was a wonderful time. When it comes down to it, I actually place it at #2 best Disney star wars movie

  • IFM
    IFM 2 months ago

    I enjoyed this movie

  • Mike French
    Mike French 3 months ago

    I finally got around to seeing Solo. Gradually got better. 1st act was slow, 2nd act got better, 3rd act was great. Hope they make the trilogy like they were intending

  • Stacy Stableton
    Stacy Stableton 3 months ago +1

    Great movie. At least Darth Vader was not crying again & butch lesbians bashing all the guys up. Glover was not very good. Get serious.

  • Libby Smith-Hughes and Man-Made Unicorn Man

    You mention that no one asked for this movie. Well nobody asked for Star Wars back in 77'. So there is something the two films have in common.
    Also both surprisingly good. Two for two.
    Also I liked the fact that the villain isn't in your face. Enigmatic right?
    You are going to remember this movie cause it's Star Wars.

  • Joe Snaffer
    Joe Snaffer 3 months ago

    I actually liked the movie, but I can understand why some people found it boring

  • Cow Poke
    Cow Poke 3 months ago +1

    it is boring i got baked to watch it and still couldn't i gave up in the beginning of the movie

  • Rae_of_Fashion
    Rae_of_Fashion 3 months ago +1

    Literally until I watched this review I had completely forgotten I saw it. 🤕 Hans is one of my fave characters and this movie was too sprinkled with great actors😍 carrying un-great characters🙄 giving the best performances they could with the material they had. 🤦🏾‍♀️💔

  • enishi4ty5
    enishi4ty5 3 months ago

    Idk, i finally got convinced to watch it and honestly its imo a good movie. Granted, i only watched the first of the original SW, and i grew up on the prequels, my only real knowledge of Han was lore knowledge, and tfa.. for anyone who’s first starwars movie was tfa, the solo movie made Hans death even more impactful. Also they pretty much shut up the who shot first problem. Hand wouldve because its how he was raised to survive. Rogue one did somethings better but the cast was super forgettable. Vader scene alone upstaged every aspect of that movie. I thought this one stood well by itself. Decent amount of issues tho

  • DADventureTV
    DADventureTV 3 months ago

    Haha. Spot on

  • LIGER ZERO
    LIGER ZERO 3 months ago +1

    I fell asleep TWICE during the movie, meaning had to watch it over several sessions. Movie was boring and the guy who plays han is literally nothing like him and more like the whiny kid luke skywalker.
    Not against the guy in the star wars verse...but not as Han solo
    Anthony ingruber would have been so much better

  • cornedbeefz ok
    cornedbeefz ok 3 months ago

    fuk your annoying

  • Commander Wolffe
    Commander Wolffe 3 months ago +1

    I heard that it totally bombed in the box office.

  • Nefff
    Nefff 3 months ago

    First of all, this movie sucks. The SJW shit is back again and it's bad. The movie doesn't tell anything about about Han Solo and his past. And the is boring.

  • Libby Smith-Hughes and Man-Made Unicorn Man

    You are fast talking for sure. But right about this movie you are not. For me personally, didn't like it much at the cinema but in repeat viewings on bl u ray, it's actually a really good star wars movie. Better than the prequels, better than SWLJ and as good as Force Awakens.

  • M.T.S The Shark Movie Reviews

    Really enjoyed this one

  • sheek1982
    sheek1982 3 months ago

    Definitely not a Star Wars fan, and went in expecting it to be pretty bland, but i must say i actually enjoyed this film, and may even get into the series after this.

  • MrWeareone777
    MrWeareone777 3 months ago

    Dude your on your own. I personally loved this movie along with many others. Watching it again on DVD.

  • Chris Browning
    Chris Browning 4 months ago +1

    Y'all need to relax this was his opinion on the movie I get some of y'all enjoyed and im gonna be watching it tonight I know I'm late to the party lol but point being is that he reviews movies based of the knowledge he seen in the movies and add it in there and then he gives his opinion of the movie

  • Alexander Mayes
    Alexander Mayes 4 months ago

    Pmsl, so many people getting triggered.
    Yep, Jeremy was pretty much spot on here, about most things.
    The movie was pointless and redundant from the get go.
    The firing of Lord and Miller only exacerbated that fact.
    Plus, every single thing - every . . . . Single. . . . . Thing . . . we know about such an iconic character is shoehorned into one
    Short timeframe, in this one film.
    Casino Royale is how you examine the prequel backstory of a character.
    Solo really, really isn't.
    It's sadly bland, and irrelevant.

  • Zulzon80
    Zulzon80 4 months ago

    I think this is the first time I completely disagree with everything Jeremy thought about a movie. These new Star Wars movies are creating such a schism between fans, it's annoying as fuck.

  • koolR.J.
    koolR.J. 4 months ago

    Jeremy I unsubscribed

  • AllowIllaoi
    AllowIllaoi 4 months ago

    i really, really enjoyed this movie.

  • xiomara guzman
    xiomara guzman 4 months ago +1

    Jeremy I respect you man I do, but come on Solo is way better than Rogue one.

  • No name
    No name 4 months ago

    I thought it was pretty good (kind of boring) but just didn’t feel like a Star Wars movie...

  • HELL'S HITMAN
    HELL'S HITMAN 4 months ago

    It's a film that didn't deserve the hate it got. It was ok but could it of been better and did we need it?
    When it was first announced people were hyped up for it but they were over it before it came out. Unfortunately Last Jedi put most off and this just wasn't good enough to get people in for it.
    The only backstory that could work now would be for Yoda, the rest aren't worth doing but I bet Disney still made money off Solo.

  • Oliver Wise
    Oliver Wise 4 months ago

    Bro I typically agree with you but I think you’re way off this time. You should rewatch it and dismiss your previous biases, change Han Solos name in your head and you might like it more

  • Craxin01
    Craxin01 4 months ago

    You know, I think your review made me enjoy the film more. I was expecting it to be pathetic, but I really enjoyed it. Tp be fair, I think a lot of critics over-watch films. Looking at the pacing, character development, framing, and they are important parts, but they aren't the movie. They're ingredients in a cake. Maybe it's not going to be the best cake, but it's still a decent cake if a few parts aren't there or aren't the highest quality.

  • Benjamin Perez
    Benjamin Perez 4 months ago

    Expectations were bad... 2 different directors, chaos in the production, but that was a pretty good movie for me. I enjoyed it.