Solo: A Star Wars Story - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 10 277

  • MrWeareone777
    MrWeareone777 17 hours ago

    Dude your on your own. I personally loved this movie along with many others. Watching it again on DVD.

  • Chris Browning
    Chris Browning 2 days ago

    Y'all need to relax this was his opinion on the movie I get some of y'all enjoyed and im gonna be watching it tonight I know I'm late to the party lol but point being is that he reviews movies based of the knowledge he seen in the movies and add it in there and then he gives his opinion of the movie

  • Alexander Mayes
    Alexander Mayes 2 days ago

    Pmsl, so many people getting triggered.
    Yep, Jeremy was pretty much spot on here, about most things.
    The movie was pointless and redundant from the get go.
    The firing of Lord and Miller only exacerbated that fact.
    Plus, every single thing - every . . . . Single. . . . . Thing . . . we know about such an iconic character is shoehorned into one
    Short timeframe, in this one film.
    Casino Royale is how you examine the prequel backstory of a character.
    Solo really, really isn't.
    It's sadly bland, and irrelevant.

  • Zulzon80
    Zulzon80 4 days ago

    I think this is the first time I completely disagree with everything Jeremy thought about a movie. These new Star Wars movies are creating such a schism between fans, it's annoying as fuck.

  • koolR.J.
    koolR.J. 5 days ago

    Jeremy I unsubscribed

  • AllowIllaoi
    AllowIllaoi 5 days ago

    i really, really enjoyed this movie.

  • xiomara guzman
    xiomara guzman 7 days ago

    Jeremy I respect you man I do, but come on Solo is way better than Rogue one.

  • No name
    No name 8 days ago

    I thought it was pretty good (kind of boring) but just didn’t feel like a Star Wars movie...

  • HELL'S HITMAN
    HELL'S HITMAN 8 days ago

    It's a film that didn't deserve the hate it got. It was ok but could it of been better and did we need it?
    When it was first announced people were hyped up for it but they were over it before it came out. Unfortunately Last Jedi put most off and this just wasn't good enough to get people in for it.
    The only backstory that could work now would be for Yoda, the rest aren't worth doing but I bet Disney still made money off Solo.

  • Oliver Wise
    Oliver Wise 8 days ago

    Bro I typically agree with you but I think you’re way off this time. You should rewatch it and dismiss your previous biases, change Han Solos name in your head and you might like it more

  • Craxin01
    Craxin01 9 days ago

    You know, I think your review made me enjoy the film more. I was expecting it to be pathetic, but I really enjoyed it. Tp be fair, I think a lot of critics over-watch films. Looking at the pacing, character development, framing, and they are important parts, but they aren't the movie. They're ingredients in a cake. Maybe it's not going to be the best cake, but it's still a decent cake if a few parts aren't there or aren't the highest quality.

  • Benjamin Perez
    Benjamin Perez 12 days ago

    Expectations were bad... 2 different directors, chaos in the production, but that was a pretty good movie for me. I enjoyed it.

  • Cameron Brown
    Cameron Brown 12 days ago

    I just finished watching this film and as soon as the credits rolled i was like to myself "welp Attack of the clones isnt my least favourite anymore"

  • OStarzFilmz
    OStarzFilmz 14 days ago +1

    I'm gonna have to disagree with you there Jeremy Jahns, after seeing this movie in blu-ray. I gotta say that I enjoy this movie & I cannot wait for other standalone Star Wars movies. Although, The Last Jedi is what destroyed Solo: A Star Wars Story by box office numbers. This movie felt a lot like Rouge One, a mixer to it. I really enjoy watching Solo, I thought it was gonna be pretty bad despite we didn't want Solo movie, but it was really good. My overall rating with it is 8/10, it had some Star Wars vibe to it. It was trying to be different & I enjoy that, as much I hate The Last Jedi. I hope Star Wars will have a chance to be revived what it use to be.

    • MG3
      MG3 12 days ago

      rogue not rouge

  • Hector Arredondo
    Hector Arredondo 14 days ago

    I didn't like the droid she was unbearable for some reason the idea of drones beong slaves came out of now where

  • Eddie Costa
    Eddie Costa 16 days ago +2

    Just saw it and it’s not bad it’s more like filler… An origin story which was cool....plus it was great to see Han shoots first lol

  • NickBigsmoke
    NickBigsmoke 16 days ago

    The first act was definitely slow and meanders a lot. Although the rest of the movie was great and I was thoroughly entertained. I personally think this is the best star wars movie of the new 4 that have been made

  • Lee Smith
    Lee Smith 17 days ago

    I loved Solo. Hated last Jedi

  • JohnnyCabrera26
    JohnnyCabrera26 17 days ago +1

    Sorry JJ got to disagree with you on this one. I found it entertaining and that scene when Solo and Chew meets and the friendship that they develop it’s a great. You understand Chewbaca’s scream when Kylo kills Solo.

  • John Roby
    John Roby 17 days ago +1

    I finally watched the movie and I gotta say apart from how he got his name and the “villain” of the movie....it’s really not a bad movie...I don’t personally see why the people who hate it hate it....like you had some big expectations for Han Solos past or something....the guy who plays Han had no easy task according to some people but he made the role his own instead of doing a Harrison Ford Impersonation...Donald Glover was entertaining as Lando....The Kessel heist was interesting...the kessel run was the best part of the movie to me...it’s like a 6.5 out of 10

  • George Paxson
    George Paxson 18 days ago

    Did not read any reviews and waited for red box. Was a heist movie. Was boring with the bonus SJW character punishment. Then the children from Mad Max Thunder Dome show up at the end.

  • Robert Couchman
    Robert Couchman 18 days ago

    Finally got to watch this... didnt hate it tbh. But it could be the origin references

  • erasmussen14
    erasmussen14 18 days ago

    Movie was streaming hot trash. Watched the review and saw a ton of comments defending the movie. Glad you liked it.
    To each their own, but for me, it was a waste of time.

  • James Hubball
    James Hubball 19 days ago

    Baffling that this gets a lower rating than the last jedi... even though solo, is by farrrr a much better movie

  • DavZ NoT HerE
    DavZ NoT HerE 19 days ago

    I'd love to see the movie you were hoping to see.. But I don't think you were going to get that with Han Solo.. as a character he's really not interesting enough to pull off more than what this movie did.

  • Connor Williams
    Connor Williams 20 days ago

    This was a fantastic movie that looked at an otherwise one sided universe in a different way giving it dimension

  • Kevin Schmevin
    Kevin Schmevin 21 day ago

    I didn't think the pacing was the problem, for me it was all the stupid and illogical decisions they made. All the sjw stuff seriously made me want to puke.

  • The Last Starfighter

    For you, it was boring. like for me suicide squad was a piece of shit...

  • Derek Sutton
    Derek Sutton 23 days ago

    This dude thinks he's a lot funnier than he actually is

  • dj monkey
    dj monkey 23 days ago

    Thanks for the comment, but I liked the movie

  • Kush kingOnyx
    Kush kingOnyx 23 days ago

    The movie wasnt bad...its better then the last jedi I can say that

  • Sammy D'Onofrio
    Sammy D'Onofrio 23 days ago

    I just saw SOLO for the first time last night. On the DVD. Took me this long because of all the haters that are so-called Star Wars fans. And I wish I never listen to anybody on the internet, on TheXvid, or word of mouth I LIKED IT. AND I ALSO REALLY LIKED ROGUE ONE. I mean how stupid do you have to be to be so narrow-minded, to think that every story has to involve the Skywalkers. Take the movie for what it is, and it's a fun Western /movie Heist. And I thought there was really good chemistry between all the actors.

  • cas grafx
    cas grafx 24 days ago +1

    It was better than I thought

  • King's
    King's 24 days ago

    This was good movie...u r uptight..7.5% dislikes..hmmm

  • Gingrnut
    Gingrnut 25 days ago

    I actually really liked it. I went into it with low expectations, but I really really liked it!

  • Bubba Booey
    Bubba Booey 25 days ago

    I wasn't bored at all...Like it wasn't great but wasn't bad at all....Put it this way we didnt gain anything from solo but we didnt get anything ruined and nothing was lost so it was a Push

  • Captain Raz
    Captain Raz 25 days ago

    Harrison was great in it

  • Captain Raz
    Captain Raz 25 days ago

    This movie is not that bad. Starts fine, the ending sucks.

  • Lawrence Yang
    Lawrence Yang 26 days ago

    Well I like the pacing of Solo; it is better than Rogue One. I like the story in Rogue One, but I almost fell asleep in the theatre. I was kind of surprised that people can complain about the flaws in Solo even after watching The Last Jedi, that one was...disgusting. I don't care about the critics out there; I think Solo was not too bad, and I liked prequels.

  • AWF
    AWF 26 days ago

    Most boring star wars film yet, I agree with you Jeremy. Disney killed Star Wars. Didn't see the Last Jedi though because I heard it was terrible and that Luke's character was destroyed (literally in every way).

  • Andrew Catallo
    Andrew Catallo 26 days ago

    Ya I waited till today to buy it and watch it happy to have it happy I watched it but idk it’s not bad but its off maybe they should of made it grittier or something idk

  • Ron Wylie
    Ron Wylie 27 days ago

    I didnt want to like it but I have to say, after bottling up pure HATE since the bloody awful The Last Jedi, this was really quite good, it had some great moments.
    See it yourself and make your own mind up {I didnt pay to see it, I wont see another one in a cinema either, I didnt appreciate being called a fanboy}

  • Fotze Gaming and Media

    This is the biggest pussified copout I think I've seen yet from a reviewer. Oh, I'm not talking about THIS video in particular, but the one you did prior with the links giving different opinions depending on what the VIEWER WANTED to hear

  • Anthony Marcus
    Anthony Marcus 28 days ago

    He is reaching this movie wasn't bad. It wasn't great but damn.

  • upgon
    upgon 28 days ago

    i always trusted jeremy's opinions and reviews, hence i came here directly after watching the movie, to my surprise it wasnt the review i expected, im really glad i watched it before this review. i think starwars fans have been spoiled a lot lately. word of advice for every movie fan, dont watch trailers, dont watch movie review before seing the movie, you'll be doing yourself a big favor.

  • Emil Aaltonen
    Emil Aaltonen 29 days ago

    The thing that pissed me off about the whole thing were all the unnecessary political statements inserted everywhere

  • Sean
    Sean 29 days ago

    This movie is hung so low

  • Okoye Henry
    Okoye Henry 29 days ago

    Solo is actually a fun and entertaining movie. Rogue One is still better but it's miles better than TFA and TLJ.

  • Dr.Pepper
    Dr.Pepper Month ago +1

    what the hell are you talking about ??? were you watching a different movie or something O.o ??? the pacing was fine and the movie was great !, why do people hate it so much i dont understand o.O

  • JonnyCashh
    JonnyCashh Month ago

    Ya I just finished watched it ...it was dope .....and I think TRUST was the real story behind it ....it was really good and btw fuck that betch watta cunt at the end huh

  • Todd Garver
    Todd Garver Month ago

    Rogue One was boring

  • batshineman
    batshineman Month ago

    Personally I though the movie was good it wasn’t ground breaking but it didn’t need to be. I think we got a pretty good Star Wars movie that sadly came way too soon.

  • Mark Caramat
    Mark Caramat Month ago

    Movie was great. I really don't see how you thought it was boring.

  • EmmetSparks
    EmmetSparks Month ago

    I loved it honestly

  • Josh S5
    Josh S5 Month ago +1

    I guess it tried to have heart. But Rogue One was much better sorry. In terms of spinoffs R1 had better music, more emotion, more epicness, better scenery, etc.

  • Bryce Ferguson
    Bryce Ferguson Month ago

    Agreed. 1000%. Boring. It was like the fruit cake of movies. Everything thrown in and a lot of hope it was good in the end, but alas, only disappointment. Disney ruins everything. Marvel and star wars are lost relics in the terrible world of the house of mouse.

  • Juanpi Jimenez
    Juanpi Jimenez Month ago

    so i have just seen this movie and i liked it a lot! i didnt go to the cinema because i wasnt interested and i thought it was boring the setting (im tired of the empire era). but i loved it a lot. han was played really good (even though the actor doesnt look like him but i didnt mind that) and i loved the criminal world in this film. lets hope they make more of them (which i dont think so based on how it underperformed on the box office)

  • cam wade
    cam wade Month ago

    I just watched this film for the first time and i actually really enjoyed it, miles better then Last Jedi

  • vedomedo
    vedomedo Month ago

    Agree, movie was boring as hell and all the "oh this is how that happened" moments were sooo heavy handed. The way he got his name was fucking stupid as well. Had to watch the movie in two sittings simply because i couldn't be bothered.

  • BatPierrot
    BatPierrot Month ago

    Suprisingly, this was actually a decent movie with an interresting story.

  • themurdo21
    themurdo21 Month ago

    I just watched this movie and enjoyed it. In short, it was good; quit your bitching, bitch. ;)

  • Yaxez
    Yaxez Month ago

    Thank god, im not the only one ..

  • HybridBoss
    HybridBoss Month ago

    another shouting youtuber with jerky cut edits.

  • Alex Hero
    Alex Hero Month ago

    Normally agree with your reviews but tbh I think good time no alcohol required for me

  • Travis Silcox
    Travis Silcox Month ago

    This was literally the worst movie I've ever seen in my life. The script made no sense. The empire doesn't do backround checks, nor does it have a military justice system, or apparently any understanding of how rank structure actually works (could you imagine how quickly your soldiers would revolt if some captain had the authority to have one of his troops torn apart by a wookie with no justification or second opinion?), and even though apparently a captain can have a wookie tear apart a soldier based on opinion, the empire clerk was still willing to take a bribe?
    Oh and the whole "Lets do a Jesse James Train heist" was so sad in it's unoriginality, and they didn't even originally have enough members to pull off the heist so why would they reject Solo's help? You'll also notice that no one cared about the two member of the crew's death after their scenes. Their original plan was so dangerous and stupid that they could never be considered professional Han Solo wasn't even an anti-hero in this movie, he did nothing wrong. They literally took the template for the new Captain Kirk and just framed it on young Solo without any care or concern to the Lore. Every scene was predictable from the beginning "Oh I bet he's going to crash his car after he makes an overconfident statement... oh... wow... Oh... the engine didn't 'punch it' when he wanted it too.... wow..." they might as well just have put "Laugh Now" signs up. In my theatre, no one laughed. Not a single person and the theatre was approx 70% full. It was literally, the worst storytelling, I've ever seen. Oh, and remember when Woody Allen said "i'm not with you on this one" after basically only knowing the guy for a year (acting as if they spent their childhood together), and then he dramatically walks off into... Where? WHERE DOES HE WALK OFF TOO? because it's a small outpost. HE WALKED OFF INTO THE MIDDLE OF THE DESERT. Oh but he made his over dramatized point.
    The only interesting thing about it was seeing the actors struggle to do what they could with the crap that they got.

    • Travis Silcox
      Travis Silcox Month ago

      Depression Cherry Remember when Chewbacca solved that problem in the millennium falcon because he’s 300 years old or whatever? How would being 300 years old mean that he would know the electrical / circuit board system of a unique ship like the millennium falcon? These writers have absolutely no critical thinking at all.

    • Depression Cherry
      Depression Cherry Month ago

      "This is literally the worst movie I've ever seen in my life". I can only guess you haven't seen many movies.

  • Voytek Pavlik
    Voytek Pavlik Month ago

    Haven't seen it, and will never do.

  • Sauron Merciful
    Sauron Merciful Month ago

    I liked this movie the first half was really good, got a bit boring in the second half but picks up in the end. Not sure what Jeremy is talking about here, the first 30 minutes was really fast paced

  • Samus Aran
    Samus Aran Month ago

    6.5/10

  • Richard Hawley
    Richard Hawley Month ago

    As a casual Star Wars fan, I really didn't think this movie was too bad. I was expecting a lot worse from the panning it got but I was generally entertained throughout. I think saying it was boring was a bit harsh. Watched it with my wife, who has never seen a Star Wars movie and generally doesn't like science fiction - she enjoyed it too! Granted it's not the greatest movie ever but it's still better than episode 1 to 3 combined. My only criticism was I thought the colour grade was a bit dark and if I was to be picky, the story was fairly linear. But over all, I'd give it a 6.5.

  • Beerus
    Beerus Month ago

    Teras Kasi

  • Ayman Khan
    Ayman Khan Month ago

    Now lets wait for Boba Fett movie which can be better that this Solo movie?

  • bigbabysld
    bigbabysld Month ago

    This movie was awesome...and where exactly was it boring?

  • Chenny Boy
    Chenny Boy Month ago

    A lot people who say they enjoyed it needed to go back and watch ep5, their standards have been lowered to much by the last jedi

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 Month ago

    Please Disney no more of these origin stories you are ruining fans Childhood memories of the original Star Wars films

  • Ebun321
    Ebun321 Month ago

    Jeremy must be getting paid he has been of about a lot of reviews recently

  • TheTrippychixie
    TheTrippychixie Month ago

    is this movie worth renting?

  • Time-wont-give-me-time

    I'll just keep watching Rogue One over and over again until another good Star Wars movie comes out! Rogue One is amazing😘

  • Martyn Phillips
    Martyn Phillips Month ago

    Solo was great. It’s a shame it was shadowed by the last Jedi’s failure

  • The android with sick coin tricks

    I don't necessarily like Han Solo so I didn't really care about this even coming out. But it's still was a movie no one asked for like it's irrelevant.

  • El El
    El El Month ago

    An origin story no one wanted.

  • JediKeyblade
    JediKeyblade 2 months ago +1

    At least it's not as bad as The Last Jedi it's totally accurate, but Idk about how Han really got his full name I don't think George Lucas wrote it as he got his last name from a recruiter I mean that part I thought was pretty stupid.

  • JediKeyblade
    JediKeyblade 2 months ago

    Yeah I slightly agree it was ok.

  • M.T.S The Shark Movie Reviews

    Well Solo was great so screw you

    • El El
      El El Month ago

      M.T.S The Shark Movie Reviews - it sucked. Take your head out of your ass.

  • Tristian Swift
    Tristian Swift 2 months ago

    Great review , saw the movie 389 times , I completely agree with your summary .

  • SKYRULE-49
    SKYRULE-49 2 months ago

    The actor of Solo would play a great Drake from Uncharted!

  • krustomer
    krustomer 2 months ago

    I liked it enough. Pacing was so weird sometimes, but I accepted it and moved on. I really enjoyed seeing how Han formed his hard shell.

  • red Cobra X
    red Cobra X 3 months ago +1

    Bullshit movie tho

  • Roy Simmons
    Roy Simmons 3 months ago

    The real question would be... Is han solo a star wars story BETTER than attack of the clones? I think so.

  • Tonraq Korr
    Tonraq Korr 3 months ago +1

    SjW:Soylo.

  • TheCalucita
    TheCalucita 3 months ago

    Oh, my! Thank you! I do look great today 💜
    Also I enjoyed Solo, but I see yout point. I just expected the worst and was rewarded for it.

  • travis illerbrun
    travis illerbrun 3 months ago +1

    Haven’t seen it yet. Read the spoilers, doesn’t seem like a bad film. However I’m not seeing it in theatres because I’m not given kathleen kennedy money until she starts to respect the fans and not call them racist mysoginists because we don’t like a film. If your not gonna respect the people who are the reason for the success of a franchise, you don’t deserve our support.

  • Armidas
    Armidas 3 months ago

    Wait! You remebered your score for Attack of the Clones, so that means you remember the movie. So either you watched it just yesterday, or you haven't forgotten it in T- 1 Day. EXPOSED! xD

  • Hanging on Edges
    Hanging on Edges 3 months ago +1

    Why do I have the feeling that Jeremy is gonna dogshit a Star Wars movie one year?

    *Looks at the Rian Johnson trilogy.*

  • Communist Bear
    Communist Bear 3 months ago

    The main threat of this movie is the fucking Galactic Empire you dolt

  • Canaan's Photography
    Canaan's Photography 3 months ago

    Loved it. Great film, good acting and quite a well made film. I really enjoyed it.

  • Tinker Sbg
    Tinker Sbg 3 months ago

    I liked Solo. I don't know how anyone could dislike this star wars movie more then the Last Jedi. The Last Jedi was garbage. Solo was a lot more fun to watch.

  • bkaa18
    bkaa18 3 months ago

    I enjoyed the film. Much more than I thought I would. But I 100% agree that it wasn't a movie we needed at all. They should have just made a book.

  • deerjerkydave
    deerjerkydave 3 months ago +1

    Finally saw it. Went in with low expectations. Good thing. I'd give it a C. The Star Wars universe lately seems to be struggling like the DCEU. People love these characters but the stories being created around them seem thrown together and not well developed. Disney and Lucasfilm need to spend twice as long in the writing and development phase which should produce better cohesive stories and fewer retakes. This is not a franchise and brand they should be skimping on!

  • The Boost Cave
    The Boost Cave 3 months ago

    According to Donald “dipshit” Glover, if America is so racist, how come they didn’t just cast a white guy in blackface to play lando?

  • Mighty Martin
    Mighty Martin 3 months ago

    I respect your opinion but I thought it was good and it answered some questions like: what happened to Han before a new hope, what happened to Darth maul. By the way you successfully pissed off most of The Star Wars nerds!