Solo: A Star Wars Story - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 15, 2018
  • Han Solo gets an origin story. Here's my review of SOLO: A STAR WARS STORY!

    Follow me on the Stardust app for more movie thoughts: stardust.app.link/Jahns
    See more videos by Jeremy here: thexvid.com/user/JeremyJahns
    Friend Jeremy on Facebook: facebook.com/RealJeremyJahns
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 9 833

  • VOLD GAMER
    VOLD GAMER 16 days ago

    the movie should have been called soylo a soy story

  • Kaio_K!d
    Kaio_K!d 17 days ago

    Am I the only one who heard the Oof sound in a scene early into the movie? 🤣

  • Kimberly Robinson
    Kimberly Robinson 17 days ago

    I finally got so bored that I watched it last night on Netflix. There were moments, in the beginning, where I almost shut the movie off several times, out of boredom. But, it was just compelling enough to make me give it five more minutes and then five more, etc., until it actually started to get pretty good. Overall, I did think it was good but, then, my expectations were extremely low, to begin with. Glover was good and really captured Lando but I thought Emilia Clarke sparkled. This is the third movie I’ve seen her in and I think, despite what many say, that she really is a great actress. If anything, she’s at her most wooden in GoT. Then again, Dany is that kind of character. I still don’t like who they chose for the lead role but he did as well as he could, under the circumstances.

  • Carlos Ortiz
    Carlos Ortiz 19 days ago +1

    Rogue one and solo are actually more interesting than the main story we had right now

    • J. D.
      J. D. 17 days ago

      I agree. Episode 7 and 8 sucked moose balls. They were atrocious and should be erased from the SW universe

  • Chase Stacks
    Chase Stacks 23 days ago

    Maul was the best part even though i thought sidious killed him

  • Bert Lee
    Bert Lee 23 days ago

    News flash. Nothing happens in a Ron Howard movie. It's all setup and decent cinematography. No pay off, no climax

  • Gal Fore
    Gal Fore 27 days ago

    These reviews feel like Disney employees. The movie was not good. Watch on Netflix or something you are already paying for.

  • Dumisani Tsotetsi
    Dumisani Tsotetsi Month ago

    I finally watched the movie. And I'm sorry but nerd reviews are the worst. The movie was very good.

  • Billy Boot
    Billy Boot Month ago

    Yo i respect ppl not liking this but i dug the shit out of this film

  • Keith Springston
    Keith Springston Month ago

    I like this movie but I like rogue one more. Rogue one connects perfectly into a new hope. Solo feels too much like it's own thing and I dont really like that I wish it connected better to the other movies.

  • Tom Harris
    Tom Harris Month ago

    Nearly bought it

  • Im Batman
    Im Batman Month ago

    i thought this movie was great !!! i just wish Anthony Ingruber was Han, thats my only issue

  • Supernova
    Supernova Month ago +1

    I'm at the 1:54 and Ican't stop laughing my ass off because everything he said is exactly how I felt before I stopped the movie (on netflix) about one hour into it. The movie was so predictable that I felt I had already seen it. The characters had so little development that I didn't care about them. Spot on review!!

  • Hugo Fernandes
    Hugo Fernandes Month ago

    actually this movie was good ! i liked it.

  • Johnny W. H. Gillan
    Johnny W. H. Gillan Month ago +1

    This movie was dogshit to me I’d rather watch the phantom menace because at least it had the darth maul fight and pod racing

  • Sealion Studios
    Sealion Studios Month ago +1

    In my not so humble opinion, the anthology series really didn't work. Both Solo and RO were awful.

  • Bobby Fleming
    Bobby Fleming Month ago

    I thought this movie was good. Not amazing but pretty good. Better than the last Jedi in my opinion. About equal to rouge one. I enjoyed it.

  • Maude Dillin
    Maude Dillin 2 months ago

    I feel like the Lord & Miller cut was probably way better. At the very least the jokes would have been more clever and landed better. In the final cut everything is just....awkward

  • JacksonsChannel Johannsen

    5 min video on a movie.. minimal effort and loud is a quality video (sarcasm).. moving on..

  • Laura Robles
    Laura Robles 2 months ago

    I thought the beginning was boring. I didn’t get to see it in the theater so I saw it at home and I started browsing on eBay because that train part was so uninteresting.
    I guess it was ok. It wasn’t terrible.
    I agreed with your review.

  • The Iranian Liberal
    The Iranian Liberal 2 months ago

    Just saw it. Probably the best out of the Disney Star Wars movies. I think most of its hate and apathy comes from backlash from Episode 8 but Solo is MUCH better than The Last Jedi.

  • Fraser Ayton
    Fraser Ayton 2 months ago

    Agree with everything you said man 👌🏻

  • rodwoo17
    rodwoo17 2 months ago

    I had low expectations, so I liked it, young Han was better than young Lando! I loved Han and Chewie's rapport. I enjoyed Paul Bettany and Emilia Clarke's characters. Loved when Han and Chewie pilot the Falcon! Did not like SJW robot and infes nest was a little forced. Hated how Han's last name is chosen and Han's blaster creation was odd. Would love to see how the original cut would be.

  • Andrew Hershberger
    Andrew Hershberger 2 months ago

    I loved how dark the Imperial war scene was, it made sense! And then they just kept the scenes way too dark, AngryJoe mentions his buddy asking "Is the projector broken?"

  • Ben McDonald
    Ben McDonald 2 months ago

    Jeremy loves Star Wars but here’s how you know he’s not a fanboy, he’s willing to say he disliked something Star Wars related

  • rJUSTINr1995
    rJUSTINr1995 2 months ago

    WHAT A PETTY BITCH. FUCK THIS CHANNEL

  • rJUSTINr1995
    rJUSTINr1995 2 months ago

    Trying so hard to hate on this movie. What a fucking loser. Pacing was fine and it was not boring. Retarded as fuck.

  • Dallas Bell
    Dallas Bell 2 months ago

    I think it was a fun good movie I liked it, people

  • Jake Short
    Jake Short 3 months ago

    FUCK LANDOS ROBOT

  • Bobby_Peru
    Bobby_Peru 3 months ago

    Shite review. Solo was decent, above decent TBH. TLJ was awful, but Jahns sucks on it's tit.

  • Timothy James
    Timothy James 3 months ago

    This review doesnt determine for the movie. It is not the best but it was entartaining.

  • Stock Brazen
    Stock Brazen 3 months ago

    Not gonna lie you literally didnt tell me anything to support what your saying like i mean your saying that the pacing of action sequence was bad but your not saying what sequence that was your making points but not saying what those points are like for example “donald glover was the best actor in the movie” okay what made him stand out... what made han so bad what moments broke the immersion same thing goes for woody Harrison. This is a review but you barely cover any moments from the movie its self and what made it so bad for you, now all be it you could be avoiding spoilers but you dont say this... anywhere

  • 3choBlast3r
    3choBlast3r 3 months ago

    I DON'T GET IT.
    As thought most of the new sequel movies were crap, some of them were mediocre at best. I expected to hate this movie. I just watched it and I'm fucking blown away. Why is this getting so much hate and bad reviews? The movie is fucking incredible. This dude just called it boring?! It's anything but boring. There are some problematic things for sure, but other than that it's a incredible action adventure sci fi movie, a bit more grown up then the previous movies. With incredible acting, great humor, great fan service and a good love story (could have been developed a little more)
    My only issue was the teenage girl that apparently jumpstarts the rebellion with solo's heist money.. she was so fucking out of place and dumb. But you know "it's a movie with a male lead and it also has another big fan favorite male (lando)" It felt like they made her a teenage girl just to make it more PC which was dumb. She should have at least been an ADULT. She looked 14 or so at first I really thought she was the "lost daughter" of beck and val.
    But no she is a early rebel super warrior that kickstarts the rebellion.

    • 3choBlast3r
      3choBlast3r Month ago

      +S M I expected shit and got a good star wars action edventure. Yes I was happy with it.. I don't care if you didn't like it and preferred last jedi or some shit fest

    • S M
      S M Month ago

      its boring if this is the type of movie that 'blows you away' you're either lying or having seen any movies to even be making a statement as such

  • Mr. Beane's brickz
    Mr. Beane's brickz 3 months ago

    The worst part is how Han reunited with Q’ira so early in the story. Yeah, she was a pretty interesting character, but the movie lost its emotional weight. Instead of going on the mission because he wanted to reunite with Q’ira, he just goes because the plot tells him to.

  • Ignacio Hernandez
    Ignacio Hernandez 3 months ago

    It was aight

  • Aerociviz Nicholas
    Aerociviz Nicholas 3 months ago

    This is one of the first reviews I mostly didn't agree with from you, I actually enjoyed the difference in not there just being a main villain and etc... it felt like an episode in an adventure series for me like Indianna Jones.

  • Aerociviz Nicholas
    Aerociviz Nicholas 3 months ago

    The pacing didn't feel bad at all for me. It didn't even feel that boring.

  • Echo_Plz
    Echo_Plz 3 months ago

    I think this movie had a lot of story behind it showing you how the actual series came to be and not just Solo’s character. I also think the movie showed how Solo became and developed into the series. Just my opinion.

  • Gringo Stingo
    Gringo Stingo 3 months ago

    You're entitled to your opinion, but I personally thought this was the best Star Wars movie Disney has made.
    Just for reference, I think that Force Awakens and Last Jedi are shit. I remember liking Rogue One, but really the only things that were memorable enough to stick with me until now is that Darth Vader scene and the fate of all the main characters.
    I will agree that the pacing of this movie was off, but I still enjoyed myself the entire time.

  • Axel Foley
    Axel Foley 3 months ago +11

    Best line from the movie..
    "Han I'm telling you, it's too tight!"
    "Watch this"

  • Axel Foley
    Axel Foley 3 months ago

    They never give credit where credit is due....The Millenium Falcon. The real star of the series.

  • Ernie Vc
    Ernie Vc 3 months ago

    Donald Glover stands out, because he is the only one allowed to play the original character. The new Han Solo actor is not even bad, I even liked him, but he is just not allowed to be Han Solo, because of Kennedy's own agenda. He didn't even get to save the girl in his own freaking movie!

  • dodopoopinpoop
    dodopoopinpoop 3 months ago

    I just saw it on Netflix and shockingly I really like it. I get why people didn't see it but not the hate for this movie itself, it was a good movie.
    Bad:
    -The Actor 😪 Just fine but was bland. They could have easily gotten someone better.
    -Redoing plotlines 🙄 Han owes someone money, Han gets cockblocked on the falcon and Lando betrays him.
    -Han being a good guy at the end, like really? He does a 180 for a person who tried to kill him and for a rebellion we never saw? Yea, no.
    -Maul??? And stop trying to me those damn dice a thing!
    Good:
    -The script
    -Lando and Chewie
    -The built up to Han and Chewie being in the cockpit
    -The heist, the castle run and the train
    -Everytime Han bs's his way through a situation.
    Dude it was good. It felt like star wars and made me excited. Made sense more then TLJ and TFW and more entertaining then Episode 1&2. Just saying.

  • Nico Reveco
    Nico Reveco 3 months ago

    Never seen the original Star Wars, but if this is what's waiting. Then I'm good

  • masman04
    masman04 3 months ago

    Solo was ok rouge one was better, and I don't even acknowledge the new trilogy. To me star wars is an intense sci-fy drama with little to no comedy, but this new crap is tons of corny comedy which most of isn't even funny.

  • TanakinSkywalker
    TanakinSkywalker 3 months ago

    First five minutes and I already hate it. And he’s a horrible Han Solo. The stupid rock seen and he looks like he’s struggling in the action scenes too. And looking at those dice every 30 seconds was irritating

  • Peter Miller
    Peter Miller 3 months ago

    There are 3 good star wars movies. The fan boy piss is nauseating. Solo is a fun movie that fills in some blanks. For the love of God, keep global warming down and shut the fuck up.

  • joe lewis
    joe lewis 3 months ago +1

    My baby is getting hair on his balls

  • Sky Gerspacher
    Sky Gerspacher 3 months ago

    Finally saw it. Waited until it was on NetFlix.....must say.....i didnt hate it. All my hate is still reserved for The Last Jedi. THis one didnt ruin Star Wars for me....it was just.....there. Take it or leave it.

  • It's Wednesday, Screw Ironing

    Put off watching it but I loved it. Thought pacing was fine.

  • Crispy K
    Crispy K 3 months ago

    I wish that Donald Glover put on the smooth accent of Lando for this movie

  • kriqtic
    kriqtic 3 months ago

    I liked it... that is all

  • BLUE SNAGGLETOOTH
    BLUE SNAGGLETOOTH 3 months ago

    Jeremy, I agree with most of your opinions but not on this one. Solo is one of the better Disney SW films. A great, fun, exciting movie. I loved the call backs to the OT.

  • CheeksDaFreak 305
    CheeksDaFreak 305 4 months ago

    Just saw this on Netflix last night. And this movie was fun from beginning to end. Really enjoyed it. It wasn't a bad movie the way some people made it out to be.

  • NiceNick
    NiceNick 4 months ago

    I just saw it. Personally liked it, not the best not the worst.

  • geostillo78
    geostillo78 4 months ago

    Just watched it on Netflix last night. Dude, youre trippin. It was a good Star Wars movie.

  • Fly Hacks
    Fly Hacks 4 months ago

    I don’t agree with your opinion because in my opinion, I actually liked the movie. I don’t see how this was a boring movie at all. It had action, good character moments and why would you say you forgot that Woody Harrelson was in the movie, the dude was on screen almost all the time.

    • Fly Hacks
      Fly Hacks Month ago

      S M just voicing my opinion that’s all not insulting him in any way, you brought a good point about characters being forgettable which is fine but it’s just the different type of taste. No need to bring up numbers which is irrelevant when speaking about movies.

    • S M
      S M Month ago

      Yea if a character is always on the screen and is forgettable....that speaks for itself rofl that's why he is the movie critic with 1.5 million subs and you are.....

  • Asian Import
    Asian Import 4 months ago

    I recently went back and watched Solo again, and I’m gonna say it: ITS A GOOD MOVIE. The pacing was good, the acting was good, and the action was great. Plus, side characters like L3 and Rio were pleasant surprises. I feel like people hated on this movie just for the sake of it.
    Unless you read the books (which most people don’t), these spinoff films are the only thing letting people experience stories outside of the mainline plot, and I for one am looking forward to them all.

  • brandon h
    brandon h 4 months ago

    I Enjoyed the movie. It was funny and action packed. Love the origin story.

  • Alex Helmin
    Alex Helmin 4 months ago

    Ya know, just watched it on Netflix. I think it's pretty good, there story was solid, the character dynamics we're actually great. I laughed at fembot wat... It was rocky but solid, not a brick but a nice boulder.

  • Jason Hauser
    Jason Hauser 4 months ago

    I usually agree with Jeremy, but I thought the pacing of Solo was damn good, and it's the best Star Wars movie since the original trilogy. It's better than all the crappy Prequels, Force Awakens, Last Jedi and Rogue One.

  • Ellipsis10
    Ellipsis10 4 months ago

    Truth!!

  • Thanos
    Thanos 4 months ago

    This movie actually kept me entertained from beginning to end unlike The Last Jedi that had me dozing off and just waiting for the movie to end. I really hope they make a part 2

  • Xanider
    Xanider 4 months ago

    I Legit enjoyed the shit out of this movie. there were a few things that made me roll my eyes but other than that, it was fun.

  • ethan burnside
    ethan burnside 4 months ago

    Did you really expect anything else? it's Disney filling out lore. It was filler. You expected this as a pure film?

  • Jack K
    Jack K 4 months ago

    better than the last jedi tbh

  • TheThedot
    TheThedot 4 months ago

    This movie sucked. They care so much about forcing kids to consume massive properganda on race and brain washing little gilrs to view blacks a parnter. So gross to her a white woman ogel over a black boi. Death to race mix properganda.

  • Luis King
    Luis King 4 months ago

    Why do you have to be vulgar?

  • Trevor Mention
    Trevor Mention 4 months ago

    I think this movie was great and well thought out, but I respect your opnion. Still disappointed in THE LAST JEDI

  • BE Unlimited
    BE Unlimited 4 months ago

    Pacing was fine to me. Loved the movie.

  • Mottahead
    Mottahead 4 months ago

    This movie is great.
    That Rogue and Last Jedi crap were boring as hell.
    Not this one.

  • Jamison Montgomery
    Jamison Montgomery 4 months ago

    Dude your fucking wrong it’s an origin story do you know what that means right how Han Solo got to be where he’s at & his story it’s a better movie than tlj & the forces awakens

  • badtemper88
    badtemper88 4 months ago

    Watched it on Netflix January 2019 and it was better thanI thought it would be.

  • gibsoneb3
    gibsoneb3 4 months ago

    It was - not horrible, like TLJ. But not in the same space as Empire or Return - I wanted to like the characters more than I did. And although I enjoy the actor who voiced the feminist robot I thought the character was annoying.

  • Aces
    Aces 4 months ago

    Just saw it. I liked it. It was better than I thought

  • David Anderson
    David Anderson 4 months ago

    Promised I would never spend another dime on a Star Wars movie after The Last Jedi so I finally watched it on Netflix ............. Better than The Last Jedi.

  • The Vision And The Voice

    You're plain wrong. Good movie.

  • Colt Johnson
    Colt Johnson 4 months ago

    Han solo was casted way wrong. He had none of the mannerisms of Han..like zero! Other than that the movie was good.

  • joseph dupuis
    joseph dupuis 4 months ago +2

    It is true, the movie is too talky, the pace is too slow, it becomes boring and there is a problem with the ending the last action scene of the movie is at 30 minutes before the end of the movie. BORING SOLO

  • Alfredo Sawyer
    Alfredo Sawyer 4 months ago +1

    This was a good movie wtf is wrong with everyone are they stupid or just insane

    • S M
      S M Month ago

      The movie sucks and it's you who are basically alone in liking the movie so it's YOU who is insane.

  • Abel Mantor
    Abel Mantor 4 months ago

    "You all look great today" you too , Jeremy.

  • Oscar P
    Oscar P 4 months ago +2

    millenials are creaming themselves over these new star wars movies lol sad

    • S M
      S M Month ago

      Just a few....movie did shit and got everyone fired so....no more like them will be coming out.

  • melvin shermen
    melvin shermen 4 months ago

    I thought it was ok

  • Beeby8 Reviews
    Beeby8 Reviews 4 months ago

    I hate it when people say “Nobody asked for it.” I’m sorry but that is just not true. When somebody says that, it really means “You didn’t ask for it.”

  • Michael Hovsomething
    Michael Hovsomething 4 months ago

    You’re a great reviewer of movies and respect you observations but gotta disagree. I was shocked how good a movie was Solo. It looked like a bomb from the first trailer. Firing the directors is a panic move based on test audiences. Rumor was Erhenreicht couldn’t act and needed an acting coach against all odds it was a fun watch. Even with the prequelover explanation of every aspect of the Solo backstory. And the injection of flavor of the month actors Vision guy and Game of Thrones girl. The movie was entertaining

  • Pedro Rosario
    Pedro Rosario 5 months ago +1

    So I'm a little late. Just put the movie on at 10p last night. After running all around all day I expected to fall asleep watching this movie. I didn't. This movie was interesting and fun to watch. Young Han was so cool. Meeting Chewbacca was awesome. Lando was great. The Millennium Falcon intro was great. Ok so now I think there is something wrong with me. I loved this movie. 10x better then the Last Jedi.

    • S M
      S M Month ago

      being 10X better than the last jedi still puts you at 0.

  • Daniel Aptekar
    Daniel Aptekar 5 months ago

    Your review sucks. I think This movie was very good. I feel that Alden Ehrenreich as Solo did a great Job.
    The story was on point as well directed.

  • Jeffrey Golladay
    Jeffrey Golladay 5 months ago +1

    I actually really liked this movie. It felt like Star Wars.

  • beau jacobs
    beau jacobs 5 months ago +1

    I love that Jeremy is clearly not a shill.
    He’s got loads more subscribers then schmoes and campea(who suck Disney’s dick) but he’s real. It’s rare that I disagree with him

  • Maycifer
    Maycifer 5 months ago

    i can't believe i totally forgot about this movie! A movie about HAN SOLO whom i love and i was so uninterested i forgot it existed

  • Ian Workman
    Ian Workman 5 months ago

    Said it exactly right. Turned it off after an hour and felt like playing the originals to get the bad taste out of my mouth. Quite simply,no bad guy,no motivation,no revenge,no story.

  • GoddessOfWhim2003
    GoddessOfWhim2003 5 months ago

    yeah, i waited a long time to see it. wasn't impressed at all. so glad i didn't spend money on it

  • Alex
    Alex 5 months ago

    Im surprised to read in the comments that you actually liked it. The movie was a complete cringe-show with the worst dialogues ive seen in my life. On a very good day its an average movie and on a bad day its garbage. They could have done so many things in this movie and yet they delivered this.
    I was never planning to watch it after i saw last jedi and the first reviews that came in but after reading comments around like in this video i said meh lets give it a shot. And imagine i had very low expectations and it still dissappointed me.
    The only way i could enjoy the movie is if i was 13 years old. Thats it i will never trust the reviews in comment sections.

  • João Carriço
    João Carriço 5 months ago

    Something about the duality of men sir

  • Pretentious Username
    Pretentious Username 5 months ago

    I feel Alden was the second best part of thr movie. First, Paul Betany

  • deathshere4u
    deathshere4u 5 months ago

    hey u described what captain phasma did in the force awakens

  • It's all good man!
    It's all good man! 5 months ago

    Love your jacket...oh and I'm tired of the dilution, and milking of the Stars Wars galaxy. I was late to the Star Wars party, born in '81 but I've grown to love the 1st trilogy and now I'm not caring anymore...saddened and depressed by it all. JJ's jacket though...Awesometacular!!

  • minners71
    minners71 5 months ago

    What an awful reviewer talk about pacing try pacing your voice.

  • Drunken Busker
    Drunken Busker 5 months ago

    Poor movie by Star Wars standards. I think people have got used to watching bad movies and feel positive about anything remotely better than the last Jedi.

  • Spence Mundorf
    Spence Mundorf 5 months ago

    Honestly I liked it. It certainly wasn't a great movie but it's was good for sure. The main cast was pretty fun, there was an unclear villain thing going on although it came off as if it was done on purpose. Now that's not to say that it worked perfectly but it was certainly made to be that way. I liked the scenes with the Empire but we didn't get much of that. Mostly small crime organizations. They were alright but none was shown in a way that made them super badass. Even the most badass characters weren't all the way there. They were just pretty good at what they do. I liked the jokes and Lando was a wonderful time. When it comes down to it, I actually place it at #2 best Disney star wars movie