EOS R review: Canon joins the mirrorless race, for real

Share
Embed
  • Published on Feb 8, 2019
  • The Canon EOS R is the company’s first with a full frame, 30-megapixel CMOS sensor, and a brand-new RF lens mount to go with it. These lenses have a control ring that can be customized to settings such as ISO, shutter speed, aperture, and more. But instead of having image stabilization integrated into the camera, like Sony, Canon builds stabilization into the lenses themselves. We had two Verge video directors put the EOS R to the test.
    Read more here: bit.ly/2UPRRix
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Listen to our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TheXvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 386

  • The Verge
    The Verge  4 months ago +222

    We’re trying a new review format. Let us know what you think in the comments below.

    • Roshan Jayakody
      Roshan Jayakody 4 months ago

      That as a super cool way to do a review. I'm fed up of these reviews which people do in front of the camera all the time.

  • Lex Villain
    Lex Villain 3 months ago

    Nice 👌🏾

  • Peepers 47
    Peepers 47 3 months ago

    All your criticisms are valid but in summary, get a Sony for video. I missed the information about how good the stills look and the new lens are tack sharp. You video format is/was enjoyable. For me, softer background music is desirable.

  • Derek McCoy
    Derek McCoy 3 months ago

    What a terrible video

  • films el paraiso
    films el paraiso 4 months ago

    Why would anyoneone watch the verge for a camera review lolol

  • sirmerlin860
    sirmerlin860 4 months ago

    this is just an add with adds in it.

  • Dixon Cider
    Dixon Cider 4 months ago

    Worst... advertisement... ever

  • AuToDidAct
    AuToDidAct 4 months ago

    I loved this style, great video editing, planning etc. I personally would like to see more of this in the future.

  • Ajay Satpalkar
    Ajay Satpalkar 4 months ago

    We don't care where you live.. You are on verge..

  • Seb Hazel
    Seb Hazel 4 months ago +1

    Canon EOS R bad

  • joefx69
    joefx69 4 months ago

    SC channel

  • DunkZ Z
    DunkZ Z 4 months ago

    FroKnowsPhoto would have a field day

  • Sean Mitchell
    Sean Mitchell 4 months ago

    Extremely helpful, especially on the video review side! Thank you!!!

  • Ima Mfon
    Ima Mfon 4 months ago

    it would be great to do a "current state of the camera world" review for people looking to jump in and get a new camera now. I'm about to upgrade from the Nikon D610 and have no idea whats on the market or what i should be looking at.

  • BendaFPV
    BendaFPV 4 months ago

    Cheesy

  • drguffey
    drguffey 4 months ago

    What is the flash sync ?

  • Bread Bear
    Bread Bear 4 months ago +1

    There is a disturbing lack of livestrong bracelets. Disliked.

  • Elit3Blaze
    Elit3Blaze 4 months ago +3

    Dedicated cameras for general use in 2019
    LOL

  • Andrey Kolodochkin
    Andrey Kolodochkin 4 months ago +3

    what are those two guys talk about? they did not say anything usefull! What image depth is (10,12,14bit)??? Amount of focus dots? etc.etc.etc. very very poor review. I could make the same level without even having camera.

    • Gautam Diwan
      Gautam Diwan 4 months ago

      Also when they mention mirrorless camera brands they forgot about Panasonic

  • phynx2006
    phynx2006 4 months ago

    Now you don't have to buy the first production model, the EOS RP will soon be available and if your not too crazy about the EOS R video wait till you see the great offerings of the RP hahahaha

  • Randomdriving
    Randomdriving 4 months ago +9

    So bad review!

  • Noob Gamer
    Noob Gamer 4 months ago +27

    This has got to be the worst Camera review video. here's a tip: Leave reviewing cameras to actual professional photographers.

  • 95mjl
    95mjl 4 months ago +312

    Do I need a Swiss Army knife to enjoy this?

  • TripleJGames
    TripleJGames 4 months ago +72

    I see the internet hasnt bit yet........

  • Melvin Garcia
    Melvin Garcia 4 months ago

    Loved the video, keep it up!

  • adarsh bhatnagar
    adarsh bhatnagar 4 months ago

    Can you guys make a review about the canon 80d ?

  • Douglas Guerra
    Douglas Guerra 4 months ago

    Gotta hand it to you guys, great job putting the review together in terms of style and direction. I think it's a bit overscripted, and you could have hit on more of the finer details of the actual images/video. Please tell whoever color grades your videos to stop using the black level slider in Lumetri Color. The blotchy shadows in almost all the shots are a dead giveaway for Lumetri.

  • Charles Gaster
    Charles Gaster 4 months ago +5

    More substance please!

  • RK LMBD
    RK LMBD 4 months ago +19

    Really? Were you sleeping? An EOS R intro vid 6 months after everybody else already made one?

  • Tom Ryan-Elliott
    Tom Ryan-Elliott 4 months ago

    Great video and I'm in exactly the same position as you. Obviously, at some point I'll get a Mirrorless body but at the moment, I'll stick to my D500 📷

  • Dennis 1990
    Dennis 1990 4 months ago

    This was great, esspecially giving eachother assignments.

  • ESVignettes
    ESVignettes 4 months ago

    Joining the mirrorless race doesn’t mean successfully doing so... because the R is definitely an F for failure.

  • belegmin
    belegmin 4 months ago

    The information was fine, but the format was awkward and stilted. Have people talk face to face, not via Skype (or worse, dancing to Apple music) when they clearly work in the same office.

  • Julio Vizcaino
    Julio Vizcaino 4 months ago

    Can you guys please make a review with all Mirrorless Cameras Sony's A7R , Nikon's Z7 and Canon's EOS R! would love to hear your insights and comparison!

  • Jay Bugatti
    Jay Bugatti 4 months ago

    This is dope. They work good together. Definitely want to see more of them. As a learning photographer, this definitely was useful.

  • Ilia Temelkov
    Ilia Temelkov 4 months ago

    Becca, V, that was a great video, thanks :). Hope you do more of this in the future.

  • Alfi Aflahal Muflih
    Alfi Aflahal Muflih 4 months ago

    Love it

  • racoonzattack
    racoonzattack 4 months ago

    Yaaaaaassss!!! More camera reviews please!!!! Review some RED cameras!

  • Darshan Bandari
    Darshan Bandari 4 months ago

    Sony A 6400 2019

  • Reinoud Hummel
    Reinoud Hummel 4 months ago

    Canon please stop to pay people to lie for you.

  • Matt Gardner
    Matt Gardner 4 months ago

    This was an excellent review, loved it

  • ChristopherOgletonFIVE
    ChristopherOgletonFIVE 4 months ago

    But is it a Sony thought ? haha

  • Piotr Makuch
    Piotr Makuch 4 months ago

    Liked it, despite me not knowing anything about photography

  • CrazyWeeMonkey
    CrazyWeeMonkey 4 months ago

    weird format but okay

  • PocariPocari
    PocariPocari 4 months ago +1

    I super enjoyed this! Love the conversational format but y'all didn't skimp on the technical details that serious camera people love to talk about. Keep it up! I want more!!

  • PerfectSoundRS
    PerfectSoundRS 4 months ago

    Body IS is terrible for image quality. That's why the first Sony A7S is the good one.

  • Ben Aqua
    Ben Aqua 4 months ago

    No IBIS 😭😭😭😭😭😭

  • Yoan Mitov
    Yoan Mitov 4 months ago

    Here's a tip: don't close your other eye when shooting through the viewfinder. This helps you keep track of your surroundings with your peripheral vision.

  • Benjamin Bowman
    Benjamin Bowman 4 months ago

    Not a very honest review in several regards. You waited all this time to release a review, but just a few days before a ton of new lens are released. Leaked photos and specs of many new RF lenses have leaked, yet you say the EOS R is limited with only 4 lenses. That is hardly honest. Knowing there are 5-8 more lenses being released in just a couple days.

  • vbzrv vgtrk
    vbzrv vgtrk 4 months ago

    Why is this extremely uninteresting couple speaking like there are bunch of slow kids out here?

  • Rodrick HD
    Rodrick HD 4 months ago

    nice review, my 5dii is still going after 370k shutter acts, maybe wait for the new eos R?

  • Manuel Baez
    Manuel Baez 4 months ago

    I really enjoyed this video, and really helpful.

  • Edward Montgomery
    Edward Montgomery 4 months ago

    What about the Nikon Z series?

  • Deny Christian
    Deny Christian 4 months ago

    Creative!

  • Phil Jones65
    Phil Jones65 4 months ago

    Lots of style little content is this the way big channels do "reviews"? Slow pan shots and no actual testing or feedback on the product? Shameful I've seen channels with 2K subs put out better content

  • Anirudh Sharma
    Anirudh Sharma 4 months ago

    Make a video on nikon z7 too. You won't regret it.

  • Dennis Von Dutch
    Dennis Von Dutch 4 months ago

    I have the EOSR and I really like it! Just as this review style! Keep it up!

  • aniket k
    aniket k 4 months ago

    There are bunch of lenses coming for EOS R like 70-200 F 2.8 & many more soon

  • aniket k
    aniket k 4 months ago

    Camera reviews ❤

  • mavfan1
    mavfan1 4 months ago

    Add IBIS., remove the ridiculous 4 K crop Canon purposely crippled the EOS R with and improve the focus and then it’ll be a serious mirrorless camera.

  • Jeeyong Song
    Jeeyong Song 4 months ago

    Nah, Canon better should improve their sensor to be even compared with other mirrorless cameras. Come on, same sensor technology for over a decade!

  • DoObs
    DoObs 4 months ago

    Welcome to the party.....just a couple months late though

  • anuvind sarreay
    anuvind sarreay 4 months ago

    Well i have a surprise to tell you. There is another camera manufacturer called Nikon in existence. And they also launched a couple of mirror less bodys. Surprise surprise

  • Joel
    Joel 4 months ago

    Hey, what skatepark is this?! I'm from NYC and am always looking for a new scene.

  • TreeMobile.
    TreeMobile. 4 months ago

    but I like dslrs

  • Shane Farns
    Shane Farns 4 months ago

    Great review! I liked going between NY and SF, but the FaceTime section was weird. It felt less engaging because they weren’t speaking to the audience. Kind of made me feel like a third wheel.
    Content and production quality were top notch!

  • Avo Guedekelian
    Avo Guedekelian 4 months ago

    Lol we used to have group projects like this, where we'd explain to each other. Not sure if I like it.

  • Raoul Enoiu
    Raoul Enoiu 4 months ago

    Liked the review. I agree it feels like a v1.0 but I like where this is going. Currently shooting canon and hoping the next one is even better.

  • Drew Freeman
    Drew Freeman 4 months ago

    CONCEPT is great, he can’t speak tho - like sounds like stuff is in his mouth... that pulls me out of the review each time.

  • Boris Dessimond
    Boris Dessimond 4 months ago

    External recorder or not, it’s cropped.

  • Louis Luzuka
    Louis Luzuka 4 months ago

    Very interesting review format

  • Jesse Chang
    Jesse Chang 4 months ago

    Dig this format. It presents different use cases and perspectives on both people that one reviewer may not realize on their own. I'd definitely love to see more camera reviews in this format.

  • Oi Alx
    Oi Alx 4 months ago

    10/10 video, 10/10 format 👍

  • Tinny
    Tinny 4 months ago

    Amazing as always, Verge!

  • John Konnakkottu
    John Konnakkottu 4 months ago

    Loved this format!

  • pimeto
    pimeto 4 months ago

    Arent you late to the party, Verge ? THis camera died last year... like, Canon admited its a fail. They removed those touch buttons already in the new upcoming models

  • tabolins
    tabolins 4 months ago

    It is good format, because more than one opinion is better.
    Maybe you can review the new black magic design pocket cinema 4K?

  • Jake Hartman
    Jake Hartman 4 months ago

    This review is like months late and doesn't provide any new information. What's the point?

  • invisible me
    invisible me 4 months ago

    I really love to see a Sony a7iii review from you guys, hope you guys make one..😀

  • Isaac Alonzo
    Isaac Alonzo 4 months ago

    Hard pass. No ibis?

  • Andrew Williams
    Andrew Williams 4 months ago

    Guess who late to reviewing the eos r . The verge.

  • Muhammad Omer Khan
    Muhammad Omer Khan 4 months ago

    Do the nikon z6 dudes. Great video

  • Saiful Islam
    Saiful Islam 4 months ago

    I would love to see more camera reviews in the future, thanks!

  • Michael-Vincent D'Anella-Mercanti

    DO NIKON Z 6 NEXT

  • Vivek Rai
    Vivek Rai 4 months ago

    This is such a well made video 👌🔥

  • Billy Wood
    Billy Wood 4 months ago

    I'm a big fan of this definitely keep it up!!! 🙌

  • Tech Pirate
    Tech Pirate 4 months ago

    Talking about 4k video quality on this camera, when is the verge switching to 4k videos? It's 2019, switch to 4k already!

  • David Perry
    David Perry 4 months ago

    omg I like her!!! her style and personality are just A1

  • nimbus4dm
    nimbus4dm 4 months ago

    Cool format, but let's see some Fuji Medium Format versus Full Frame action!

  • Jared Mohansingh
    Jared Mohansingh 4 months ago

    I would like it to be known that hasselblad released a mirrorless medium format camera before canon released a mirrorless full frame camera

  • Rizki Pratama
    Rizki Pratama 4 months ago

    I hope the second generation is better especially the video capability at least their lens line up are looking solid.

  • Mike Phang
    Mike Phang 4 months ago +1

    Great Job. Love the back and forth. IMO more details on the features and stuff would be awesome. Example the control ring or the adjustments mentioned due to the differences btw the R and Canon mirror camera's. Thanks for the work. New format is fun.

  • nani chary
    nani chary 4 months ago

    is she , she?

  • Joshua Segraves
    Joshua Segraves 4 months ago

    I like the format of getting both a video perspective and a stills perspective from two different viewpoints, but I am NOT a fan of the two locations and butting back and forth in a conversation. It is disorienting and cheesy.

  • Mz Feng
    Mz Feng 4 months ago

    You guys are the only people who say they love the multi-function slide. Are you saying whatever Canon is paying you to say or you are different from everyone else?

  • Shantanu Singh dhiman
    Shantanu Singh dhiman 4 months ago +2

    More camera reviews and comparisons please 🤘🤘

  • Joseph Allen
    Joseph Allen 4 months ago

    Too little, too late. I left Canon for Sony, DJI, and Blackmagic. Better tools speak for themselves.

  • Velmurugan Rathnam
    Velmurugan Rathnam 4 months ago

    boston

  • Tariq Lacy
    Tariq Lacy 4 months ago

    “firmiliar”

  • Sai Mani Ritish
    Sai Mani Ritish 4 months ago

    The Best Camera Review on Internet !!!