Alienware Area-51m review: an upgradeable behemoth

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 4, 2019
  • Alienware’s Area-51m isn’t just a high-end gaming laptop with lots of power, although it definitely is that. It’s a laptop that can be upgraded like a desktop, including both its CPU and GPU. The new Area-51m starts at around $1,950 and can be configured well north of $5,000. It is a behemoth that calls back to the time when all gaming laptops were thick, heavy computers that never left the comfort of a sturdy desk.
    Read more here: bit.ly/2uMpOW4
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Listen to our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TheXvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 233

  • The Verge
    The Verge  5 months ago +40

    How do you like the size of the Area-51m?

    • ikutake
      ikutake 3 months ago

      @Allan Sh What game are you playing ? ofc is you want to use a 2080ti it will not be powerful enough, and you can't have portable as a laptop and powerful as a desktop at the time...

    • ikutake
      ikutake 3 months ago

      @Parzival Par your desktop is thinner ?

    • Parzival Par
      Parzival Par 5 months ago

      No, too big for the convenience of upgrading CPU and GPU in the future. Plus, CPU upgrade path is also dicey as Intel change sockets/chipset every year.

  • Hopeful Interpretation

    4:55 Scary background noise on right speaker. I thought there was a bee next to my ear.
    Edit: nevermind, it's the music, and does it every few seconds.

  • Kimovich Кимович

    I am planning to get the cheapest option of the area 51m because its fully upgradable? if it is, I won't get the highest option and upgrade the cheapest option when time comes. Which one do you recommend?

  • Amanullah
    Amanullah 9 days ago +1

    that can bring the area-51m to it's knees
    *Minecraft shaders have joined the chat*

  • Amanullah
    Amanullah 9 days ago

    " dell developed a modular graphics card " tf? there is already mxm cards .

  • Amanullah
    Amanullah 9 days ago +1

    any guide on building laptop on *desk* ?

  • Paolo Vega
    Paolo Vega 26 days ago

    Hey dude, do you consider this display good enough for editing photos professionally?

  • Oguzhan Kaygisiz
    Oguzhan Kaygisiz Month ago

    So I can put legit desktop parts in this laptop? No watered down versions etc?

  • Dragos D
    Dragos D Month ago

    There is one game that kills all GPU’s; it’s Metro Exodus on Extreme Settings and RTX Global Illumination enabled

  • VinayKanthRao Kodipelly

    Here is my experience with this laptop and Dell customer service.

    Update: I posted the same review on Dell's website and I received an email that my review is against their guidelines. So they cannot publish my review on their website. I did not use any vulgar language or gave any inaccurate information. Tactically, they sent me the email to which I cannot reply. I am going to call them up and ask which part of my review is against their guidelines. They simply don't want us to put negativity be reviews. If they moderating what reviews we are supposed to put, what's the point in having such an option? No wonder they only have positive reviews for this laptop on the Dell's website.

    My model: i7-9700k, RTX 2070, 16GB RAM

    If you are planning to do some serious work on your laptop. I would suggest stay away with this Area 51m. It is still in the first generation and I can see there are too many defects with this model. I am a doctoral candidate in mathematics education and bought this laptop a month ago thinking it will be perfect to render my video lectures, animation, and also might as well finish writing my thesis on it. I don't play a lot of games. The laptop was faulty from the day I received it. I had to reinstall Windows 10 to make it work. Now a week ago there are artifacts appearing on the laptop screen. I thought it is a driver's issue and updated it. It didn't help. I cannot even get into the windows desktop as all I can see a black screen and weird artificats after login. I bought premium support from Alienware and contacted them via email. I told them how important this laptop for my academics but they didn't reply promptly. Their responses are days apart. They gave a set of tests to run to make sure it's not a big issue. They are just waiting time as after all those tests, it is apparent that I had a faulty GPU. I gave up and called the customer care and told them the issue and updated with run tests. Then they created a job order where I had to send the laptop to their repair center. They promised me that end to end service time will be less than 5 business days. After four days, I received an email saying that there are some failed parts in the laptop and they don't have stocks of those parts right now, those parts MAY arrive in five business days. They have no idea how it is affecting my academics. I relied on this thinking it is a powerful computer. They are ignoring customers suffering because they will have to answer for packing defective parts. I searched Reddit and other forums only to be surprised that I am not the only victim here.

    The bottom line is : buy this laptop at your own risk and don't rely on this for serious works. If you badly thinking to buy this laptop, I would wait for the next generation of this model so that they will have some time to understand customers sufferings and ensures not to pack defective parts.


    Another update: I received an email saying that they may get a hold of new parts in another 4 days and if the laptop still has an issue after replacement, they are going to extend the repair time to another 10 business days. I spent more than three thousand dollars on this laptop thinking it will help with my doctoral projects. I had to spend more time in the repairing than actually work on my academics.

  • Billy Panagidis
    Billy Panagidis 2 months ago

    People that live on tour 95% of the year would also benefit from this.

  • Chris Fortney
    Chris Fortney 2 months ago

    Ordering laptops for work, I can get whatever I want for our VR laptop and I think I'm going for this :O

  • The_Real_Big_Boss
    The_Real_Big_Boss 2 months ago

    Which part of this laptop is upgradable?

  • Scientific_Mind
    Scientific_Mind 2 months ago

    I'm an international student in the US and I have to move often. I might move again for PhD and internships in between. Always used a desktop before. I have a portable laptop but now need a desktop that I can easily travel with after a few months from place to place. Guess what I'm gonna buy!

  • MisaelDoesAnimation
    MisaelDoesAnimation 2 months ago

    45 hundred?

  • ikutake
    ikutake 3 months ago

    For the cost issue you just buy the base version and you upgrade
    People who want to have transportable desktop will buy it
    The thing that could be cool is a way to use watercooling, so less noise.

  • Brandon
    Brandon 3 months ago +1

    If it doesn't have a CPU applicator, I don't want it.

  • Raymie Deans
    Raymie Deans 4 months ago +1

    just bought one,waiting impatiently!!
    keeping my moody m17xr3,its got hdmi input so dual screen fun,sooooon

  • NOGODPLEASENO
    NOGODPLEASENO 4 months ago

    Can you do a lot of 3d modeling and gaming at the same time?

  • scooter800m
    scooter800m 4 months ago +1

    even the base version is faster than any desktop/laptop that i have used to date. i feel a little sad now.

    • scooter800m
      scooter800m 2 months ago

      @I have to wait 90 days to change my name nah, i've found that even though i have the horsepower for well into the triple digits, i just don't mind running at 60 frames. I do know that 120 and 144 are smoother, but for me i don't feel like spending more on a piece of tech that i don't really need. especially since i am not a hardcore gamer. just a casual gamer and i like to see what new computer builds come out of these companies.

    • I have to wait 90 days to change my name
      I have to wait 90 days to change my name 2 months ago

      scooter800m well if it’s for gaming, your not gonna get tear free gameplay if you don’t get more than 120 try to change he 60 option to 144 it’s worth it

    • scooter800m
      scooter800m 2 months ago

      @I have to wait 90 days to change my name I don't care though. I rarely wish for more than 60.

    • I have to wait 90 days to change my name
      I have to wait 90 days to change my name 2 months ago

      scooter800m only 60hz tho

  • Sizar Raza
    Sizar Raza 4 months ago

    Ordered over a month ago from dell UK .. My estimate delivery date being pushed back three times so far all I am getting from dell sorry we have shortage of parts in factory but estimate shipping time on the site and when I spoke to the sale guy was4 working days.. It's a joke..

  • commander duck
    commander duck 4 months ago +2

    Ok , if you think that it being heavy is a problem then you aren't a gamer. If you are a true gamer then you only care about performance

    • Myst
      Myst 4 months ago

      Jay Da Rose ikr, I’m tired of all these laptops being skinny and stuff. It’s pointless.

  • T baz
    T baz 4 months ago +3

    I'm still using my Alienware 18 monster... I love it!

  • piby 180
    piby 180 5 months ago

    white or black?

  • Junaid Yasin
    Junaid Yasin 5 months ago

    This guy is worthless. Cannot review properly!

  • arjun saini
    arjun saini 5 months ago

    hey guys anybody owns this laptop? like a daily user or something? planning to buy and heard lots of complain about Quality issues........ motherboard burn due to high temps?

  • ubbgn
    ubbgn 5 months ago

    Has an ex IT these upgradable laptops are stupid, after 2 years what cpu are u going to upgrade?
    And the gpus mxm are expensive asf!
    All this depending on dell also and we know how that goes!

  • ALPHA mythic
    ALPHA mythic 5 months ago +20

    Does it include a swiss knife with hopefully w skrew driver?

    • Halo Inthechat
      Halo Inthechat 8 days ago

      It opens Any alcohol beverage effortlessly. There's literally a button activation for it. A R2d2 robotic arm comes out with a bottle opener.

  • Randall Rash
    Randall Rash 5 months ago +1

    I bought mine for kinda portable mixing and mastering . Then to game on occasion. lol

  • BaboonLoveMonkey
    BaboonLoveMonkey 5 months ago

    Will I need an Allen wrench?

  • Jeb Hack
    Jeb Hack 5 months ago

    You can get these things for up to 25% off. I got mine (9700k, 2080) for about $2,900. Still pricey, but really a great value for the performance in a laptop form factor. Anybody buying these things at retail price aren't doing their homework.

    I really feel like reviewers completely overlook how big the discounts are and how often they are available on these kinds of laptops. Alienware's website has had 17% discounts on these things almost every other week and that's on top of any other discounts you can find.

    • iPhoneAppReviewer
      iPhoneAppReviewer 2 months ago

      $2900 with how much ram, which display and what hdd arrangement?

  • kofi junior
    kofi junior 5 months ago

    which fools invest in this

  • sir1junior
    sir1junior 5 months ago

    1080p because of the already ridiculous power draw.

  • barnzstorm2036
    barnzstorm2036 5 months ago +1

    Crysis?

  • Parzival Par
    Parzival Par 5 months ago

    Not sure how the thermals from desktop components will standup to a years worth of dust accumulation.

  • xspager
    xspager 5 months ago

    What is a "pound"?

  • Michael Sha
    Michael Sha 5 months ago

    Hmm... an i9 9900K...
    BUT CAN IT RUN MINECRAFT

  • Vytautas Vaicys
    Vytautas Vaicys 5 months ago

    Can it run Crysis?

  • 林白Vinu
    林白Vinu 5 months ago +1

    And then came STADIA.....

  • The Cake Glutton
    The Cake Glutton 5 months ago

    Totally NOT worth it.

    • Lesbi Bitch
      Lesbi Bitch 4 months ago

      The Cake Glutton what’s worth my friend? What’s worth to buy.....in general? What makes you happy? What would you recommend me to buy? Lifetime supply of pasta for like three fiddy? Is that what is worth?

  • shyam
    shyam 5 months ago

    no its not

  • Issa Aron
    Issa Aron 5 months ago

    What games was he playing?🤣

  • BExT
    BExT 5 months ago +2

    Why does any one not make these review videos in 60 or 120fps?

  • Sunil Prajapati
    Sunil Prajapati 5 months ago

    No idea how much 8.5 pound is

  • Chad Day
    Chad Day 5 months ago

    How is the fan noise compared to a desktop with equivalent specs?

    • Darkn3ss F4lls
      Darkn3ss F4lls 4 months ago

      Chad Day not even gonna come close with the bequiet etc style fans out there that you can place in big cases.

  • Tunan Guo
    Tunan Guo 5 months ago +3

    Besides everything else, it is really pretty though.

  • RySec Newton
    RySec Newton 5 months ago +2

    What's wrong with the quality on this video? The image quality is awful an unfocused.

  • Someone Something
    Someone Something 5 months ago

    On the bright side, you wouldn't have to pay for a gym membership once you buy this... should I even call it a laptop ? XD

  • Asian PuP
    Asian PuP 5 months ago +2

    Did it come with a CPU installing tool?

  • Nitin Stark
    Nitin Stark 5 months ago

    Nice

  • Shaun Scott
    Shaun Scott 5 months ago +3

    It's great if you move often, not constantly but often. the armed forces would love something like this.

  • zKMotion
    zKMotion 5 months ago +3

    Owned an Alienware r17 before and definitely worth every penny. Not sure why there's so much hate for the Alienware products

    • zKMotion
      zKMotion 5 months ago +1

      @Michael Sha nah, they are ranged very well and good support. If you think it's pricey, just get others

    • Michael Sha
      Michael Sha 5 months ago

      Because their overpriced

  • Lewis Kelly
    Lewis Kelly 5 months ago

    Not enough ports for the price

  • The Davis & Dennis Show

    I’m not too sure how many content creators would enjoy using a 1080p display in 2019

  • Tobi Olusola
    Tobi Olusola 5 months ago

    Nice set.

  • Valentin Radu
    Valentin Radu 5 months ago

    Where the f do you find that disassembly video? Is it that hard to put a useful link in the description or as an info card? All these video effects and you can't get the basics right.

  • GamersName
    GamersName 5 months ago +5

    I'll buy Kia sportage instead

  • McGinnis 34
    McGinnis 34 5 months ago

    Is this the same channel that had that black guy molest that poor computer?

  • James Bond
    James Bond 5 months ago

    That’s a gargantuas Laptop. Still looks cool . I will consider buying one ☝️ but
    Next year after initial price settle down . Right now , it is more likely to burn a
    Hole in my pocket.Finally , the fans sound like a vacuum cleaner. I guess majority
    Will carry this beast to flaunt their wealth . Alien 👽 man . Lol

  • Juraj Benak
    Juraj Benak 5 months ago

    But does it run Crysis?