The Ultimate Compact PC (2019) - Streacom DA2 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 26, 2019
  • Thanks to Seasonic for sponsoring this video!
    Buy Seasonic PSUs on Amazon: lmg.gg/8KV6P
    Buy Seasonic PSUs on Newegg: lmg.gg/8KV61
    We check out the Streacom DA2, by building both a regular high end machine and the ULTIMATE Compact PC, inside of it.
    Buy PC Hardware and Modding Supplies from Performance PCs: www.performance-pcs.com/
    Buy the Streacom DA2:
    At QuietPCUSA: lmg.gg/8KVRT
    Other Retailers: lmg.gg/8KVRN
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1067232-the-ultimate-compact-pc-2019-streacom-da2-review-fixed/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: thexvid.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High thexvid.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 486

  • Victoria
    Victoria 3 days ago

    Hey Linus, could you please review the Beelink G7 Windows 10 Intel Kaby Lake G i7-8709G? I am quite interested in it but there is not a lot of trusted reviews around, I would really appreciate it

  • MisterFuturtastic
    MisterFuturtastic 4 days ago

    Does anyone know of any large cases that use this modular rail system?

  • Junkman2000
    Junkman2000 13 days ago

    I'm kinda like that Texas farmer. I want my rig BIG AND MASSIVE. That cutesy small stuff might be okay for you millennials but this OLD guy wants a gas guzzling, air polluting, energy hogging tree killer.

  • Falafel Masham
    Falafel Masham 15 days ago

    *A Q U A M A N D R O W N S I N E N D G A M E*

  • GamePlay Entertainment

    F@#kin Dogg Sh!t. that thing is Sick Dude and you Even Liquid Cooled It Man Yo That Thing Would Look Nice In My APT Room.

  • GamePlay Entertainment

    i truly think this build is straight sick.

  • rubab gunner
    rubab gunner 21 day ago

    I like noisy pc. Its like driving a v12 lamborghini. Full of power.

  • DRISTIPRAKASH SAHOO
    DRISTIPRAKASH SAHOO 22 days ago

    Is it possible to build a 3900x (or 3950x later in September) and a 2080ti into this case without sacrificing performance? If so, it would be quite interesting to see a more practical "extreme" build!

    P.S.- Great videos Linus media group, keep up the good work!

  • Hypnotikk
    Hypnotikk 25 days ago

    Imagine an Evolv shift + this rail mounting system

  • Didi Graal
    Didi Graal 27 days ago

    Still,Didnt fit my pocket

  • DAVE_UK_01
    DAVE_UK_01 Month ago +2

    Thanks Linus and Crew , not everyone wants a massive RGB powerhouse.

  • cong lam
    cong lam Month ago

    210 $ haha no

  • Thomas Chen
    Thomas Chen Month ago

    Rose Gold needed, or let's get it next gen.

  • Shinychicken1000
    Shinychicken1000 Month ago

    7:27 what the fuck is that finger nail

  • OldSkool
    OldSkool Month ago

    Of course it's over $200... Why are all the decent looking, small form factor cases so damn expensive? I'd really like to build a small powerful, inexpensive PC in the near future, but don't want to spend 10-15% of my budget on the case alone.

  • budi isnadi
    budi isnadi Month ago

    The kinda case i need, but not the kinda case i can afford.

  • Dirtys CrapLab
    Dirtys CrapLab Month ago +1

    got a thermaltake p1 itx running with a hardtubed 9900k and a 2080 ti... i love tiny powerhouses

  • Magnus Nilsson
    Magnus Nilsson Month ago

    Why don't bigger cases have this kind of modularity?

  • Philson
    Philson Month ago +1

    Still prefer the LOUQE GHOST S1

  • arton haziri
    arton haziri Month ago +1

    How pathetic one HAS to use overpriced intel cpu and 160$+ cpu cooler just to keep it in check, when one can simply get Ryzen 3700x and its box cooler for much less, and get more performance, not to mention power consumption...

  • K4g4m1
    K4g4m1 Month ago

    12:45 weak

  • notoriousbig3k
    notoriousbig3k Month ago

    i think he dropped it that why he cant hear it anymore

  • Norman Uittenbogaart

    That case is REALLY expansive in NL

  • jordan secrist
    jordan secrist Month ago +1

    This is one of the most beautiful computers they have made. If you replaced that titan with a Radeon vii you’d have one awesome mini Mac Pro.

  • Reezy Jeezy
    Reezy Jeezy Month ago

    400-500 watts my ass!

  • oceanminded024
    oceanminded024 Month ago

    why is there an asus mouse on the logitech power play charging pad???

  • Knife Kitty
    Knife Kitty Month ago

    12:04 dat mouse lag lol

  • prozacRules
    prozacRules 2 months ago

    Corsair did it better

  • SolidSonicTH
    SolidSonicTH 2 months ago

    You didn’t liquid metal the CPU?

  • Mike Wallace
    Mike Wallace 2 months ago +3

    The Inside Out Mini Watercooler
    Just an idea that I hope someone will do.

    I've seen a lot of mini-ITX builds lately in these shoe box cases. And regardless of how plain and black these things all are, the case builds are often described as "refreshing" due to the lack of RGB. But the truth is, they are just small black boxes that completely get lost in whatever room they are in.

    What I want to see is a build where you use one of these little black shoe boxes, but do a custom water cooled build where the tubes of the loop go outside of the case. Add lights where appropriate.

    Usually, these small cases don't have enough room for custom loops anyway, so break through the walls and build your loop outside. You'd probably want to choose a case where each side of the box mounts independently on a frame so some of the sides can have tubes through them and some are for access to the internals.

    To describe this idea a little more. Picture a small black box with water cooling tubes extending out of the sides of the case. Drill your own holes through the case and route the water loop as you need to up, out, over and around the outside of the case. Same thing with custom RGB lighting either using strips or placing lights near where the water tubes exit/enter the case.

    In this way, the small black shoebox becomes a plain base for what could be a dramatic water and light show.

    What do you think?

  • SCUBA Steve
    SCUBA Steve 2 months ago

    linus is such a fag with his clickbait facial expressions on his thumbnails , here I am fag what do you have today fag did you get some new shoes fag?

  • Devon Strzelewicz
    Devon Strzelewicz 2 months ago

    anyone know what pump that is?

  • Clay Kuppinger
    Clay Kuppinger 2 months ago

    Just bought this guy. Anyone have any thoughts on running a blower style 5700xt? Ive read that blowers are better for itx cases but have no experience building one.

  • Matt Szebelledy
    Matt Szebelledy 2 months ago

    ACTIVATE WINDOWS

  • Grey Fox
    Grey Fox 2 months ago

    the case is prob pulling off the heat. Nice rig Linus

  • DAVID GREGORY KERR
    DAVID GREGORY KERR 2 months ago

    What about a Micro-ITX running an A10-7800k and 64GB of DDR3 RAM and no need for a graphics card plus 100TB Data Center SSD and 1KW PSU and finally installing Windows 10

    • DAVID GREGORY KERR
      DAVID GREGORY KERR 2 months ago

      @James That is what I am running at the minute in a DAA78L Motherboard with 16GB of DDR3 RAM with Builtin Bluetooth/WIFI and also has a Light-on DVD/RW drive that is normally used in a laptop the whole package is called the ACER TC-220 computer.

    • James
      James 2 months ago

      DAVID GREGORY KERR the a10 7800 apu line has been discontinued and succeeded by ryzen vega graphics. Your build would work fine but changing the a10 out for a 2200g would be better

  • aa311
    aa311 2 months ago

    how about using Bykski Mini DDC Pump Reservoir Combo instead?

  • CrazyMetal
    CrazyMetal 2 months ago

    minimalistic, yet masculine

  • SunSir
    SunSir 2 months ago

    The only thing missing here is ... a rose gold color option. ))))) LIKE!

  • nick bould
    nick bould 2 months ago

    perfect for a HTPC.

  • Takumi
    Takumi 2 months ago

    I still prefer the Phanteks Evolv Shift over this case.

  • free thinker
    free thinker 2 months ago

    You could have put McGrath’s fan ( high flow 200 rpm)

  • free thinker
    free thinker 2 months ago

    Wow I love this case

  • HangGlideTube
    HangGlideTube 3 months ago

    2:12 - Is that the Schiit Magni Amp - Nice !

  • Marian Pelmus
    Marian Pelmus 3 months ago

    let's not exaggerate,
    NFC dude has the ultimate compact case

  • Bob Harrison
    Bob Harrison 3 months ago

    so they make all these system and then put them on the self to collect dust when their done?

  • Kym
    Kym 3 months ago

    If you are going to build an ITX small form factor desktop. I would highly recommend a blower style GPU to exhaust all hot air out the back of the case. I am running a 2080 Turbo in a NZXT H200i. I get 144fps on a ultra wide screen at 1080p. My GPU temp stays around 73C at 70% fan speed. I also have a AIO to cool my Ryzen 2700 cpu. I have not seen the CPU exceed temps of 40C. The PC is very quite unless I’m gaming, but i would have headphones on so i cant hear the fan noise anyway.

  • SheLovesItWhenYouPullOutThatPhenomenalDissertation

    when in 2019 they say 1440p is pushing a top end thousand dollar card hard... ffs

  • M K
    M K 3 months ago +1

    The mini builds are my favourite. Thanks for going all out in that little thing!

  • Tyler
    Tyler 3 months ago

    For $219.00, Streacom can eat a dick. A.BIG.HARD.DICK.

  • CzechGop
    CzechGop 3 months ago

    It would be nice, if they made something bigger, but as modular as this one

  • emilik82
    emilik82 3 months ago

    Naa. SST SG10 is still the best compact enthusiast case out there.

  • kgonepostl
    kgonepostl 3 months ago

    $230!? GEEEEEET FUUUUUUUUCKED.

  • Andrew Frink
    Andrew Frink 3 months ago

    "Small" form factor with a 18L sized case. I'd really like to see LTT do a sub 10L build. Also it would be amazing if Streacom had something sizewise between the DA2 and FC2.

  • ivymike83
    ivymike83 3 months ago +4

    You guys have gotta get your hands on a thermal camera... I'd LOVE to see the hotspots on the case, and then the internals with that Metro Exodus + Stress test...

  • Valen Neptune
    Valen Neptune 3 months ago

    I don't like the little plate under the power button and the usbc port.

  • State of Aporia
    State of Aporia 3 months ago

    $200 for a flippin ITX case... I don't think so.

  • Tom Hsia
    Tom Hsia 3 months ago

    Did Apple take some design cues from this for their Mac Pro? This and a cheese grater.

  • The Illuminati
    The Illuminati 3 months ago

    I don't hate RGB, i personally would use only white LEDs.

  • Elmo Allén
    Elmo Allén 3 months ago

    It's a really good case (yet not owning one, but I will), _but_ there's one real downside: the GPU clearance allows only 50mm high cards. E.g. Asus has no RTX 2080 card that'd fit. Gigabyte and MSI have only two that may fit, barely. So basically it's only the Nvidia FEs or then just 2070s. Maybe with the bottom grille removed some larger cards could fit, I'm not sure. I believe it would really help with the GPU temps if there was room for cards with thicker heatsinks. It'd only require to make the case 10 to 20 mm higher to allow basically any card to fit.
    Oh, and you don't have to be a Mac fanboi to want that minimalistic design. But as an owner of a Dell laptop and a Cambridge Audio amplifier, this is basically the only option to get a good-looking stylistically similar PC case that'd fit bigger CPU coolers. (Ncase M1, nah. Not on the same level in visual design.)