2 Chefs Review French Classic Cookbook from 1914!!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jul 21, 2019
  • Two chefs, one French cookbook from 1914. It's the ultimate bible to classic French cooking, so how are they going to get on?
    You can find out more about the book we've reviewed in the link below. Just so you know, this is likely to be an affiliate link, which means if you buy something from the store after clicking on them, the store will pay us a percentage of your basket... This doesn't cost or change anything else for you!
    The cookbook can be bought here: amzn.to/2k0hK2u
    WANT TO SUPPORT SORTED?? Here's how to get involved...
    Join our food journey each week by SUBSCRIBING to the channel. Press the bell button to get notifications every time we post: goo.gl/pqaw14
    Become a member of the Sorted club and access the AMAZING tools that have been designed for you to live your best life through food: goo.gl/otD6NF
    Grab a copy of our LATEST cookbook Hero Veg: sorted.club/buy-the-veg-heroes-book/
    Learn more about the world of Sorted here: sorted.club/about-us/
  • Howto & StyleHowto & Style

Comments • 2 348

  • Noneofyour Business
    Noneofyour Business 7 days ago

    pretentious or not ? ... well its french x)

  • Jigatree
    Jigatree 16 days ago

    I decorate those steelite plates

  • kieran biddulph
    kieran biddulph 16 days ago

    just to stir the pot did anyone notice the hair at 9:16 XD ace vid tho

  • Brassy Lizarrd
    Brassy Lizarrd 18 days ago

    What pan set are they using in this video?

  • Lady Berd
    Lady Berd 18 days ago

    Back here after the Omelette Reforme!

  • Jeanette Jacobs
    Jeanette Jacobs 23 days ago +3

    "the least qualified person available"
    Lol. I enjoyed that one.

  • Jeanette Jacobs
    Jeanette Jacobs 23 days ago +1

    Ben is not easy to work with is he😂

  • FabulousKilljoy917
    FabulousKilljoy917 24 days ago

    Imagine what Ramsey would do with this book🤭OOO I’d watch the shit outta that

  • Peaches Jackofski
    Peaches Jackofski Month ago

    It’s 1.35am on Christmas Day and I’m now staving!!

  • Endy Mallorn
    Endy Mallorn Month ago

    I love it, and honestly, this is definitely meant to be a book that isn't about technique, but rather about combining ingredients properly. That way, each chef, each cook, can make their own interpretation on classic dishes. It forms a base repertory from which you can easily build.

  • Miss Diverse
    Miss Diverse Month ago

    Game of Thrones cookbook!! Please xD

  • Victoria Elizabeth
    Victoria Elizabeth Month ago

    Use the Disney Family cookbook

  • MsCherade9
    MsCherade9 Month ago

    How can you both be chefs and not know what noisette potatoes are?!

  • Els Verwilgen
    Els Verwilgen Month ago

    Yup, loved them working with this book.
    Make it a chef's battle. Same recipe, each delivers their own interpretation.

  • Llewella Mini
    Llewella Mini Month ago

    I'm late watching this, and it was great fun, but I'm really surprised at the seemingly general ignorance of what "pommes noisettes" are in England.

  • NotContinuum
    NotContinuum Month ago

    I hate how they pronounce "filet". It drives me nuts.

  • Devin Villa
    Devin Villa Month ago

    Next one, a recipe from one of your own cook books but they only get the name

  • Dylan DiGuistini
    Dylan DiGuistini Month ago

    you should cook from Robert Kemp"s The Family save all

  • Shannon Walls
    Shannon Walls Month ago

    My husband is a chef & he still has his Le Repertoire De La Cuisine from school. This video filled him with evil glee, but he was also on your side & thought you did a solid job of interpreting.

  • TigroTasia
    TigroTasia Month ago

    You should review Julia Childs cookbook! :)

  • Amanda Mayoli Alayon

    A Tudor cook book

  • JaySay63
    JaySay63 Month ago

    4:36 Thank you to whomever edited this. That little snippet was golden!

  • LinzBelle
    LinzBelle Month ago

    Next book - Milk Street: Tuesday Nights by Christopher Kimball. It won the James Beard Award for best General Cookbook this year.

  • glow in the dark star stickers

    According to google, bens potatoes were actually the right ones.

  • Øyvind Tonheim
    Øyvind Tonheim 2 months ago

    F. T. Marinette The futurist cookbook

  • Tivaala1
    Tivaala1 2 months ago

    I've had that book from my early cheffing days and honestly all i actually do with it is make sure it's always discreetly obviously displayed in my recipe grab books without ever being grabbed.


    I mean i have read it, it's just not useful for much except when you can't remember the super fancy name for something. Mostly my kitchen terminology is more " oh just...mnh...* flappy spider finger gesture*" (note: this only works with chefs you know well or for freaking out the commis)

  • Mary Ma
    Mary Ma 2 months ago

    I’m thinking Harry Potter cook book from Binging with banish

  • Siti Rosli
    Siti Rosli 2 months ago

    binging with babish cookbook

  • Alyssa T
    Alyssa T 2 months ago

    Try an Alton Brown cookbook!!!!!

  • Canine Gaming
    Canine Gaming 2 months ago

    Chef battle only using recipes from the spam cookbook.

  • Ana Sancho
    Ana Sancho 2 months ago

    Make them do the really weird julia child recipes!

  • Charlie O
    Charlie O 2 months ago

    does it really count as mise en place cauliflower if you've done no prep and are not prepping

  • SyntaxTerr0r
    SyntaxTerr0r 2 months ago

    "Pommes noisettes" are actually mashed potatoes mixed with eggs and potato starch, fried in a pan in little balls.
    "Fleurons" are baked.

  • Derion Anderun
    Derion Anderun 3 months ago

    More of French Classics!! Love it

  • seriomarkj
    seriomarkj 3 months ago

    More of the chefs doing this book!!

  • Jazz Taylor
    Jazz Taylor 3 months ago

    Do mastering the art of french cooking by julia child.

  • Jake Marsden
    Jake Marsden 3 months ago

    This is a great idea. I would love to see more dishes made from this book. Perhaps a head to head battle rather than a combined effort would be a cool twist.

  • Irma
    Irma 3 months ago +1

    I actually think Ben is right about the nut shaped potatoes. He said it in a weird way but they are like mini potatoes. In Dutch we call them 'kriel'. I bet there is a British name too. Isnt it like baby potato or new potato?

  • Melody Lee
    Melody Lee 3 months ago

    "This is a co-op dish but I'm still winning!" - James, probably.

  • Apple GFX
    Apple GFX 3 months ago +1

    Idea: Get two people to memorize a similar recipe but with very different instructions. Tell them they were given the same recipe and have to work together to create it.

  • cartouche
    cartouche 3 months ago +3

    Funny how many "cheffy" french words they say and yet they pronounce every single one of them completely wrong.

  • Rebecca Woodward
    Rebecca Woodward 3 months ago

    Ben speaking French is so attractive.

  • Peter Smafield
    Peter Smafield 3 months ago

    I think you should find some recipes from the famous English 18th Century cookbook by Eliza Smith "The Complete Housewife" First published around 1730 and is still published today.

  • ghostbirdofprey
    ghostbirdofprey 3 months ago

    dear god, not tounees. I'm having nightmares now.

  • Danielle Spangler
    Danielle Spangler 3 months ago

    The Harry Potter cookbook! I have it and it's got some good recipes.

  • Natalee Torres
    Natalee Torres 3 months ago

    Mean girls cookbook

  • Eve Cleroux
    Eve Cleroux 3 months ago

    Do page 191
    Line 4
    (1914 the year of the book)

  • CrazyJumpingBean
    CrazyJumpingBean 3 months ago

    I would really love a whole series of ben v james with this book. Just to see their different interpretations of each recipe. YEARS OF ENTERTAINMENT

  • Wizborg
    Wizborg 3 months ago

    Interpretated yeah? lol

  • Mykl Carlton
    Mykl Carlton 3 months ago

    Really late to the party. The Momofuku cookbook by David Chang.

  • Chris Bryant
    Chris Bryant 3 months ago

    You should really make a regular segment out of teaming up to cook a recipe from this book.

  • gerynar
    gerynar 3 months ago

    I think it would be interesting if they used a Kids' Cookbook (maybe even bring children in to cook with them.

  • Bradley Bailey
    Bradley Bailey 3 months ago

    Now I'd like to see the same video with the three normals

  • Kasai Arashi
    Kasai Arashi 3 months ago

    Do a gluten free week plz

  • Sarah Shae
    Sarah Shae 3 months ago

    I need MORE OF THESE PLEASE!!!! There are so many bizarre cook book authors DONT BE AFRAID
    TO THROW SOME SHADE 😂👏

  • Angie Gomez
    Angie Gomez 3 months ago

    Please try recipes from the Tim Burton cookbook, Vincent Price’s cookbook(s), Salvador Dali’s cookbook, the HP Lovecraft cookbook& the Hannibal cookbook!

  • Ellie Marie
    Ellie Marie 3 months ago

    tell me this wouldnt be a great battle series

  • Marine Chatelanat
    Marine Chatelanat 3 months ago

    Ben, you were right about the potatoes!Pommes noisettes designate small potato balls fried in butter or oil. Great looking dish as always boys !

  • Herby Bored
    Herby Bored 4 months ago +1

    James was so proud. Never seen him smile like that before 🤣

  • Adam Pullar
    Adam Pullar 4 months ago

    Eat what you watch cook book!