2 Chefs Review French Classic Cookbook from 1914!!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jul 21, 2019
  • Two chefs, one French cookbook from 1914. It's the ultimate bible to classic French cooking, so how are they going to get on?
    You can find out more about the book we've reviewed in the link below. Just so you know, this is likely to be an affiliate link, which means if you buy something from the store after clicking on them, the store will pay us a percentage of your basket... This doesn't cost or change anything else for you!
    The cookbook can be bought here: amzn.to/2k0hK2u
    WANT TO SUPPORT SORTED?? Here's how to get involved...
    Join our food journey each week by SUBSCRIBING to the channel. Press the bell button to get notifications every time we post: goo.gl/pqaw14
    Become a member of the Sorted club and access the AMAZING tools that have been designed for you to live your best life through food: goo.gl/otD6NF
    Grab a copy of our LATEST cookbook Hero Veg: sorted.club/buy-the-veg-heroes-book/
    Learn more about the world of Sorted here: sorted.club/about-us/
  • Howto & StyleHowto & Style

Comments • 2 228

  • rockabybaby
    rockabybaby 2 hours ago

    Next cookbook: outlander kitchen

  • Our Mutual Friend
    Our Mutual Friend 3 hours ago

    Next cookbook: Hot Sour Salty Sweet

  • Jenn V.S.O.P
    Jenn V.S.O.P 2 days ago

    I really enjoy these cookbook episodes.
    But I also really liked seeing the chefs being chefy and I'd like MORE OF THIS PLEASE.

  • VeretenoVids
    VeretenoVids 2 days ago

    Cook from a copy of Elena Molokhovets' A Gift to Young Housewives (first published 1861).

  • Alex Hernandez
    Alex Hernandez 2 days ago

    Their next cookbook should be
    "The Art of the Deal"
    By President Donald Trump

  • nrok113
    nrok113 3 days ago

    This is my favorite of all of your videos that I've seen.

  • Chelsea Curcio
    Chelsea Curcio 5 days ago

    MORE PLEASE!!! Would love to see two normals interpretation vs Ben and James!

  • lyucky1
    lyucky1 5 days ago

    I like it when the chefs cook together!!!

  • Anthony Englezou
    Anthony Englezou 6 days ago

    The World of Warcraft Cook Book, it has some great recipes ranging from crab cakes to roast turkey to white chocolate cake. I got it myself (since I'm a massive nerd) after watching your videos made me really want to start cooking new things.

  • Jennifer Diggs
    Jennifer Diggs 7 days ago

    is my tv broken or are those potatoes green?

  • 19billdong96
    19billdong96 7 days ago

    4:30 Jamie getting schooled is awesome to watch xD

  • Shauna XX
    Shauna XX 8 days ago

    Rosanna pansinos cook book

  • bcgrote
    bcgrote 9 days ago

    Chrissy Tiegen's book!

  • Mark Gaudry
    Mark Gaudry 10 days ago

    Try one of the cook books from the 18th century in re-print at Townsends (a living history supply company with a you tube channel). They seem to use minimalistic directions as well so it could get very interesting.

  • Yuki Hiou
    Yuki Hiou 10 days ago

    I wonder is the recipes from anime is a choice? Like from the anime 'Food Wars'

  • greenmoneyfairy
    greenmoneyfairy 10 days ago

    There is a Roman cooking book. I would be amazing if they understanded it.

  • Nicolai Fassel
    Nicolai Fassel 10 days ago

    God mad let at lave. A Danish cookbook with classic Danish comfort food

  • Thecla Shubert
    Thecla Shubert 10 days ago

    I second the motion to have a battle based on this book.

  • Callum Hinwood
    Callum Hinwood 11 days ago

    More of thissss

  • MtnNerd
    MtnNerd 11 days ago +1

    Please do one of Alton Brown's. He's the reason I have interest in cooking at all.

  • Josh Ingrey
    Josh Ingrey 11 days ago

    Heston Blumenthal expert cooking book

  • Ayushi Kothari
    Ayushi Kothari 12 days ago

    They should do a battle where they have to use the same brief from this book

  • Mr. Peapoo
    Mr. Peapoo 12 days ago

    would love to see y'all attempt a mrs. beeton recipe

  • Sarah Bryan
    Sarah Bryan 12 days ago +2

    Thug kitchen! Or My Drunk Kitchen!

  • ExplicitBrainJuice
    ExplicitBrainJuice 13 days ago +2

    Honestly, I would love to see them tackle another recipe from this book. Mainly because I'm enjoying them talking chefy.

  • Mimi Messelles
    Mimi Messelles 14 days ago

    Interpretated

  • Britton Harrison-Diller

    Hey guys... I would like to see a series on real life cooking. What I mean is start to finish a week's menu at the lowest cost but the best food... I.e. I prep my lunch for less than $10 USD a week.
    I have managed to cut my grocery Bill by 1/2. I would going it fascinating to discuss this with you.

  • UsernamesForDummies
    UsernamesForDummies 15 days ago

    Hungry again! Thanks 😣.

  • Emily Herscher
    Emily Herscher 16 days ago

    More classic cookbooks!

  • Lucie Rochard
    Lucie Rochard 16 days ago

    Try reviewing the British Museum's Classical Cookbook, with recipes from Ancient Greece and Rome!

  • Tae Baker
    Tae Baker 16 days ago

    How about the “Outlander Cookbook”? Lots of dress up opys and James can add his own honest take given his roots.

  • ABBADON666
    ABBADON666 17 days ago

    Review Binging with Babish's Cookbook

  • Karius7
    Karius7 17 days ago +6

    Yeah. This is the most enjoyable video you've made in ages! No fuckbuttery, just skills and yum

    • Lauryn Slade
      Lauryn Slade 13 days ago +1

      I think 'fuckbuttery' us my new favourite word

  • ShariSez1
    ShariSez1 17 days ago

    Yours looks the best by far.

  • Peter Cadieux
    Peter Cadieux 17 days ago

    I think it would be awesome to see you guys do some recipes from Julia Child's original cookbook.

  • Maha Alrajhi
    Maha Alrajhi 17 days ago

    Also more recipes from the books you already have

  • Nathan S Murrant
    Nathan S Murrant 17 days ago

    2:18 interpretated. haha

  • Victoria P. Kirk
    Victoria P. Kirk 17 days ago

    I would love to see the chefs try more recipes out of this classical one. It's fascinating to see them flexing/remembering their actual training!

  • MaidenVoyagee
    MaidenVoyagee 18 days ago +7

    The way Jamie said "court bouillon" is like that episode of Friends where Joey tries to speak French

  • Jesus Inarejos
    Jesus Inarejos 18 days ago

    Next book: El Bulli Catalogue.

  • Nadia Ravndal Højsting

    You could try the Danish cookbook "God mad, let at lave" - no translations!
    Do "ovndampet pighvar" and place the needed ingredients in front of the chefs!

  • 63 Hours of Freedom
    63 Hours of Freedom 19 days ago

    Jamie has a tattoo?

  • Sylas Grayson
    Sylas Grayson 19 days ago

    Review one of Marco Pierre White's cookbooks. White Heat or Marco Made Easy, maybe?

  • fashiongal727
    fashiongal727 19 days ago

    I'd love to see a pass the plate of different cuisines! Indian, Chinese, French, etc.

  • Oda Rygh
    Oda Rygh 20 days ago

    Les diner de Gala, the surrealist Salvador dali cookbook

  • Daniel Fabrey
    Daniel Fabrey 20 days ago

    Chopped cookbook or Alton browns Cook book.

  • Korina Patchet
    Korina Patchet 21 day ago

    I want another from that book!

  • ozz
    ozz 22 days ago

    Y'all seem like you're trying to include more vegan or special diet type recipes lately, so do one of the thug kitchen cookbooks. Despite the gimmick presentation, they have some really good vegan recipes in there. I've liked every one I've made and I'm not even vegetarian.

  • Doctor Doubt
    Doctor Doubt 22 days ago

    Next cookbook:

    -The Martha Stewart Cookbook: Collected Recipes for Every Day
    -Mastering the art of French Cooking by Julia Child

  • Rakchit Yonzan
    Rakchit Yonzan 22 days ago

    Is it julia child or sth from the movie Julie and julie she wrote a book right make from that book

  • fri5kas
    fri5kas 22 days ago

    more of this, please! xD

  • Carole Menard
    Carole Menard 22 days ago

    Ben speaking french made my day!

  • Thomas Edwards
    Thomas Edwards 22 days ago

    I think that dish looks amazing.

  • Charlotte
    Charlotte 22 days ago

    anyone remember when ben used to be the bullied one?

  • Jonathan Dill
    Jonathan Dill 23 days ago

    I bet Ben and James' version was the most authentic to time the book was written rather than a modern reinterpretation. Collab with Townsend's could be interesting.

  • girlscout26
    girlscout26 23 days ago

    Suggestions: Outlander cookbook, Hannah Hart/MDK cookbook, foreign language cookbooks

  • lex lux
    lex lux 23 days ago

    "Pommes noisettes" are basically like choux but you use mashed potatoes instead of flour/milk/water in your choux pastry dough. Oh, and you fry them.

  • Paolo Bosi
    Paolo Bosi 23 days ago

    Next you should do the Italian counterpart "La scienza in cucina e l'arte di mangiar bene" by Pellegrino Artusi. The guy was so mad with French cousine he traveled across Italy just so he could write his own cookbook.

  • Little Prairie Library

    I love watching Ben and James be amazingly chefy - please do more of these videos!

  • IrishSparrow
    IrishSparrow 23 days ago

    Next Book: Wookiee Cookies: A Star Wars Cookbook
    www.amazon.ca/dp/0811821846?slotNum=95&ascsubtag=4673494%2C37%2C39%2Cd%2C0%2C0%2Cbf-btm-fd%2C0%3A0&linkCode=g12&imprToken=xvQLIUfJtmmpurSMdWp1Rw&creativeASIN=0811821846&tag=buzcan-20

  • Meve76
    Meve76 23 days ago

    Pommes noisettes are like little Balls of mashed potatoes which are fried.😉

  • rahayu suryaningtyas
    rahayu suryaningtyas 23 days ago

    Cook from thug kitchen cookbook

  • naerial
    naerial 23 days ago

    Can you do more of these, but actually bring in the lecturer? So we can get more discussion?

  • supermuffin901
    supermuffin901 23 days ago

    Next cookbook should be the "Ramen Joy Cookbook"

  • Dominus Ghaul
    Dominus Ghaul 24 days ago

    Do you want some truly disgusting and compelling content? Find some cookbooks printed in the 50s, 60s, and 70s. Especially 50s and 60s. There was some really weird shit going on then. Like mayonnaise gelatin molds. Even just typing that almost makes me throw up. Google it, the image alone is enough to make you sick.

  • Alchemist Dreams
    Alchemist Dreams 24 days ago

    How about the best selling cookbook of the C18th? www.bl.uk/learning/langlit/texts/cook/1700s2/arttitlehome/arttitle.html

  • yee eet
    yee eet 24 days ago

    more ancient recipe please!! :)

  • Jordyn Ivie
    Jordyn Ivie 24 days ago

    Have Ben & James cook from Julia Child’s cookbook, dressed AS Julia Child herself!😂

  • 6sheds
    6sheds 24 days ago

    THE GOOD HOUSEKEEPING COOKERY BOOK was a standard wedding present in the 50s & 60s. Economy rice pudding to quails & ortolans. Recipes for everyone. Even vegetarians if memory serves me right.

  • Cabitonic
    Cabitonic 24 days ago

    Discworld Cookbook :D

  • Jessica Byrd
    Jessica Byrd 24 days ago

    There was one element I can not wrap my head around. Why take the time to cut the carrots in cubes and plate them with some frozen peas that have been boiled? It looked like a bag of frozen peas and carrots. But in reality the carrots were cut buy hand.

  • carlamgraca
    carlamgraca 24 days ago

    Nanny Ogg cookbook (Terry Pratchett)

  • Nancy Lloyd
    Nancy Lloyd 24 days ago

    Heston Blumenthal Fantastical Feasts would be amazing!

  • Lyndel H
    Lyndel H 24 days ago

    Give Action Bronson's cookbook F*ck that's delicious or Stoned Beyond Belief a whirl!!

  • Dani Blackburn
    Dani Blackburn 24 days ago +1

    I would love to see more from this cookbook! Love how different food turns out without every ingredient and steps listed out.
    Also, ready for a new pretentious ingredients 😁