Apple AirPods 2 review: even more wireless

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 29, 2019
  • Apple’s AirPods 2 look and sound very familiar to the first-gen version, but the biggest change is the ability to wirelessly charge the case. The wireless charging case uses the Qi standard - just like the iPhone and countless Android phones on the market - so you can use the same charging pad as your phone to charge your AirPods case. Another important change - the new H1 chip that replaces the W1 chip of the first model and enables hands-free Siri access.
    Read more here: bit.ly/2Ugzg2A
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Listen to our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TheXvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 444

  • The Verge
    The Verge  5 months ago +143

    Would you upgrade to the AirPods 2?

    • Jayley Wells
      Jayley Wells 28 days ago

      probably not if I already had Airpods 1 but since I don’t I’m going for the airpods to with wireless charging case 😊

    • job3ztah
      job3ztah 2 months ago

      if its bluetooth 5.0

    • Rashid Muhammed
      Rashid Muhammed 2 months ago

      ∂ι∂ αℓяєα∂у

    • Sister Alexa
      Sister Alexa 3 months ago

      The Verge I already have

    • maria kara
      maria kara 4 months ago

      The Verge so it comes with the charging pad right?

  • Jelina Snyder
    Jelina Snyder 22 hours ago

    you forgot to add the charging case

  • js
    js 15 days ago

    Another protip: non-sealing headphones are gentler on your ears compared to the type that prevents air circulation in the ear canal. So a little worse sound quality means longer ear lifespan :)

  • Adam Nailen
    Adam Nailen 22 days ago

    Great vid

  • Derek Jones
    Derek Jones 24 days ago +1

    Checkout the knock off ones 50 and 75.00 bucks

  • Derek Jones
    Derek Jones 24 days ago

    Don’t buy them at Apple, buy them from Costco or Best Buy or Amazon

  • WillWillDoIt
    WillWillDoIt Month ago +1

    if i dont have airpods and im gonna buy em should i buy the gen 2 or gen 1

    • Indian_Guy NA
      Indian_Guy NA 29 days ago +1

      Gen 2 because they’re the same price? Just don’t buy the overpriced wireless charging case for 200$ it’s 144$ at Walmart and Best Buy

  • Jordan Escalante
    Jordan Escalante Month ago +1

    AirPods 3: "Blocks out all broke sounds(people who aren't wearing AirPods, Gucci, Gold Rolex watch, etc.)

  • MrDominic
    MrDominic Month ago

    I’m going to get some so I can use them for Music, Videos and Sports. Please tell me, how good is the sound quality? I’m looking for good Bass, good lows and Mediums. I’m not too worried about highs.

  • Noah Paquin
    Noah Paquin Month ago

    1:05 where

  • Budgies
    Budgies 2 months ago

    I want airpods but my parents say no -.-

  • Kansas life
    Kansas life 2 months ago +4

    I got AirPods 2 without wireless charging

  • NAT Huynh
    NAT Huynh 2 months ago

    I considering about connecting the AirPod and Apple Watch to phone in same time. Is it still worked? I bought a Bluetooth aux adapter for my car, Camry 2010 and it’s worked very well but when I wear Apple Watch and connect in same time to my phone, it not work.

  • Lazy Bum
    Lazy Bum 2 months ago

    When he said hey Siri my Siri went on.😂

  • marcelo zacarias
    marcelo zacarias 3 months ago

    Are they cancer free?

  • KittyzPlayz Gacha Life
    KittyzPlayz Gacha Life 3 months ago +1

    Thx, upgrading to airpods 2 so this is helpful

  • Stephanie Wolf
    Stephanie Wolf 3 months ago +3

    I’ve had my AirPods for about a month. I love them and never go anywhere without them. I think they sound great!

  • Benjamin Woodman
    Benjamin Woodman 3 months ago +1

    I’m really glad Hey Siri is a thing. Now I can put skip back/also rewind, and skip track on the other.

  • Chris martin
    Chris martin 4 months ago

    How bout the range

  • Даниил Кириллов

    The review about AirPods should be like 2 second long,and consist of one frase "no difference".

  • maria kara
    maria kara 4 months ago

    lmao how ironic that they can be charged by an android...

  • JJtreads
    JJtreads 4 months ago +3

    Actually in the new AirPods when you say hey Siri, she usually says uh huh

  • Ashes Of Gravity
    Ashes Of Gravity 4 months ago

    Big cred for listening to Na Na Na (Na Na Na Na Na Na)

  • Zain Khan
    Zain Khan 4 months ago

    Who else is watching this video using their new Airpods

  • Yungdenzel
    Yungdenzel 4 months ago +1

    Never understood the big deal with wireless charging its only convenient while ur sleeping other than tht what if u wanna use ur phone while it's charging U CAN'T
    Also if ur charging port is messed up

  • Joseph Guy
    Joseph Guy 5 months ago

    any one who already has the 1st gen airpods and buys the new ones are true apple loosers

  • Angel Campoverde
    Angel Campoverde 5 months ago

    Or I can spend $6 in the headphones I am wearing now.

  • pbilk1
    pbilk1 5 months ago

    4:33 Dave 2D?
    Free promotion. 🙂

  • Greedy fox gaming
    Greedy fox gaming 5 months ago

    Innovation shouldn't come with a price raise

  • Pandya Jayawardana
    Pandya Jayawardana 5 months ago

    Can we use mac sierra for airpods 2?

  • RRMS MUSIC
    RRMS MUSIC 5 months ago +1

    Hey, I currently don’t have airpod 1 or 2 should I spend the extra 30 dollars to get the 2s or just get the ones?

    • Eric Liang
      Eric Liang 5 months ago

      RRMS MUSIC you don’t need to spend 30 extra dollars to get the 2s that just covers for the wireless charging case if you don’t need that stuff then just get the 2s with the standard case (same price as 1s) I don’t really think there’s a reason for getting 1s anymore

  • TrollPotatoe
    TrollPotatoe 5 months ago

    earpods fit my ears so perfectly. its like its made for my ears. so yeah airpods will fit me and i would get airpods

  • M Goodman
    M Goodman 5 months ago +1

    Mad respect for telling me whats up only 40 seconds into a 6 minute video.

  • The Law
    The Law 5 months ago

    Dental floss case. Lol.

  • Isuzu Buyer
    Isuzu Buyer 5 months ago

    Not even a color change for version 2 Not everybody wants to attract attention while wearing them!

  • Zach Risinger
    Zach Risinger 5 months ago +9

    Props for still listening to MCR, my dude.

  • dominicanyor
    dominicanyor 5 months ago +1

    I’ll keep my first gen AirPods..

  • Abdulla Al-Mohannadi
    Abdulla Al-Mohannadi 5 months ago +1

    The one thing I wish you covered is that if they're also the 'best wireless headphones' for exercising? I'm not really aware if they're sweat proof or if they can stay in ears without falling out during intense exercise. Otherwise, great video as usual

  • FN 2187
    FN 2187 5 months ago +1

    I wish you could swipe the sides to adjust volume like the parrot headphones...apple probably has that tech but decided to save it for AirPods 3...

  • g4meboy13
    g4meboy13 5 months ago

    I still think they look silly BUT I like how they sync

  • ThatsaDistraction
    ThatsaDistraction 5 months ago +1

    Those look like oral b tooth brush heads, I'm sticking to my galaxy buds

  • nycgemini7222
    nycgemini7222 5 months ago

    nice

  • 80sruler
    80sruler 5 months ago

    I might get them just for battery life. I have been on work calls when I get the beep my charge is about out and I’m scrambling to find my backup oair

  • Fatchoi 27
    Fatchoi 27 5 months ago +3

    I Waiting For The 3rd Gen AirPods

    • Георгий Демчук
      Георгий Демчук 3 months ago +1

      I guess they will absolutely change, because giving people the same product 3 times would be just hilarious. Wait a minute...

  • nyle123nyle
    nyle123nyle 5 months ago +1

    Didn’t watch whole video. Question. Is it water proof?????????

  • ÇHÄØŠ Gaming
    ÇHÄØŠ Gaming 5 months ago

    No body give af about raycons earbuds

  • Xombiq
    Xombiq 5 months ago +1

    who else saw MCR

  • Majik MP4
    Majik MP4 5 months ago +1

    What I want to know is why did the airpods to get its own review video but the Galaxy buds had to get a comparison video 🤔?

  • Fizzy -Brawl Stars
    Fizzy -Brawl Stars 5 months ago

    These don’t even come out until 2020

  • BeyondSpecs
    BeyondSpecs 5 months ago

    I can’t believe you guys made a video review of the AirPods 2 when it’s practically the same product as the last ones, and not review the Galaxy Watch Active (not saying that’s SUPER different from other galaxy watches but more than AirPods 1 vs 2) and just give it a hands on. I love the Verge but sometimes you make me smh.

  • Tom Xander
    Tom Xander 5 months ago +1

    Review: Wireless charging and looks the same. Move on people!!! Go somewhere actually interesting.

  • Bardia Tohidi
    Bardia Tohidi 5 months ago +4

    When u buy the airpods a day before the 2nd gen

  • Riley X
    Riley X 5 months ago

    Who the F is this guy where’s dieter and Paul Miller lol

  • Will Yeahbubb
    Will Yeahbubb 5 months ago

    Save money buy the old ones seen them for under 125

  • Corey Gilmore
    Corey Gilmore 5 months ago

    Thumbs up for that price animations dope

  • Ashton Wyss
    Ashton Wyss 5 months ago

    10/10 music taste

  • Eric Decamps
    Eric Decamps 5 months ago

    I would lose them within 2 days after buying them

  • Afaaq Siddiqui
    Afaaq Siddiqui 5 months ago

    Galaxy Buds Vs Airpods 2

  • ChillWolfHusky
    ChillWolfHusky 5 months ago

    3 years later


    Apple airpods 3: taking your credit card money and no new features

  • Jason Lampert
    Jason Lampert 5 months ago

    Watching this wearing them