Apple AirPods 2 review: even more wireless

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 29, 2019
  • Apple’s AirPods 2 look and sound very familiar to the first-gen version, but the biggest change is the ability to wirelessly charge the case. The wireless charging case uses the Qi standard - just like the iPhone and countless Android phones on the market - so you can use the same charging pad as your phone to charge your AirPods case. Another important change - the new H1 chip that replaces the W1 chip of the first model and enables hands-free Siri access.
    Read more here: bit.ly/2Ugzg2A
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Listen to our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TheXvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 423

  • The Verge
    The Verge  2 months ago +119

    Would you upgrade to the AirPods 2?

    • Sister Alexa
      Sister Alexa 27 days ago

      The Verge I already have

    • maria kara
      maria kara Month ago

      The Verge so it comes with the charging pad right?

    • Grammar Communist
      Grammar Communist Month ago

      The Verge yes

    • Juraj Benak
      Juraj Benak 2 months ago

      Nope. Had the first gen but was useless walking on the street and trying to listen audiobooks - just couldn’t hear anything

    • ZONITIUM
      ZONITIUM 2 months ago

      Sennhieser Momentum are the best ones out there as I just got the AP2 and I feel they are way behind Sennhieser in terms of sound quality and specially base.

  • KittyzPlayz Gacha Life
    KittyzPlayz Gacha Life 12 days ago +1

    Thx, upgrading to airpods 2 so this is helpful

  • Stephanie Wolf
    Stephanie Wolf 22 days ago +1

    I’ve had my AirPods for about a month. I love them and never go anywhere without them. I think they sound great!

  • Benjamin Woodman
    Benjamin Woodman 29 days ago +1

    I’m really glad Hey Siri is a thing. Now I can put skip back/also rewind, and skip track on the other.

  • Chris martin
    Chris martin Month ago

    How bout the range

  • Даниил Кириллов

    The review about AirPods should be like 2 second long,and consist of one frase "no difference".

  • maria kara
    maria kara Month ago

    lmao how ironic that they can be charged by an android...

  • JJtreads mead
    JJtreads mead Month ago +3

    Actually in the new AirPods when you say hey Siri, she usually says uh huh

  • Ashes Of Gravity
    Ashes Of Gravity Month ago

    Big cred for listening to Na Na Na (Na Na Na Na Na Na)

  • Zain Khan
    Zain Khan Month ago

    Who else is watching this video using their new Airpods

  • Yungdenzel
    Yungdenzel Month ago

    Never understood the big deal with wireless charging its only convenient while ur sleeping other than tht what if u wanna use ur phone while it's charging U CAN'T
    Also if ur charging port is messed up

  • Joseph Guy
    Joseph Guy 2 months ago

    any one who already has the 1st gen airpods and buys the new ones are true apple loosers

  • Angel Campoverde
    Angel Campoverde 2 months ago

    Or I can spend $6 in the headphones I am wearing now.

  • pbilk1
    pbilk1 2 months ago

    4:33 Dave 2D?
    Free promotion. 🙂

  • Greedy fox gaming
    Greedy fox gaming 2 months ago

    Innovation shouldn't come with a price raise

  • Pandya Jayawardana
    Pandya Jayawardana 2 months ago

    Can we use mac sierra for airpods 2?

  • RRMS MUSIC
    RRMS MUSIC 2 months ago +1

    Hey, I currently don’t have airpod 1 or 2 should I spend the extra 30 dollars to get the 2s or just get the ones?

    • Eric Liang
      Eric Liang 2 months ago

      RRMS MUSIC you don’t need to spend 30 extra dollars to get the 2s that just covers for the wireless charging case if you don’t need that stuff then just get the 2s with the standard case (same price as 1s) I don’t really think there’s a reason for getting 1s anymore

  • TrollPotatoe
    TrollPotatoe 2 months ago

    earpods fit my ears so perfectly. its like its made for my ears. so yeah airpods will fit me and i would get airpods

  • M Goodman
    M Goodman 2 months ago +1

    Mad respect for telling me whats up only 40 seconds into a 6 minute video.

  • The Law
    The Law 2 months ago

    Dental floss case. Lol.

  • Isuzu Buyer
    Isuzu Buyer 2 months ago

    Not even a color change for version 2 Not everybody wants to attract attention while wearing them!

  • Zach Risinger
    Zach Risinger 2 months ago +2

    Props for still listening to MCR, my dude.

  • dominicanyor
    dominicanyor 2 months ago +1

    I’ll keep my first gen AirPods..

  • Abdulla Al-Mohannadi
    Abdulla Al-Mohannadi 2 months ago

    The one thing I wish you covered is that if they're also the 'best wireless headphones' for exercising? I'm not really aware if they're sweat proof or if they can stay in ears without falling out during intense exercise. Otherwise, great video as usual

  • FN 2187
    FN 2187 2 months ago +1

    I wish you could swipe the sides to adjust volume like the parrot headphones...apple probably has that tech but decided to save it for AirPods 3...

  • g4meboy13
    g4meboy13 2 months ago

    I still think they look silly BUT I like how they sync

  • ThatsaDistraction
    ThatsaDistraction 2 months ago +1

    Those look like oral b tooth brush heads, I'm sticking to my galaxy buds

  • nycgemini7222
    nycgemini7222 2 months ago

    nice

  • 80sruler
    80sruler 2 months ago

    I might get them just for battery life. I have been on work calls when I get the beep my charge is about out and I’m scrambling to find my backup oair

  • Fatchoi 27
    Fatchoi 27 2 months ago +3

    I Waiting For The 3rd Gen AirPods

    • Георгий Демчук
      Георгий Демчук 6 days ago

      I guess they will absolutely change, because giving people the same product 3 times would be just hilarious. Wait a minute...

  • nyle123nyle
    nyle123nyle 2 months ago +1

    Didn’t watch whole video. Question. Is it water proof?????????

  • ÇHÄØŠ Gaming
    ÇHÄØŠ Gaming 2 months ago

    No body give af about raycons earbuds

  • Quagulin
    Quagulin 2 months ago

    who else saw MCR

  • Majik MP4
    Majik MP4 2 months ago +1

    What I want to know is why did the airpods to get its own review video but the Galaxy buds had to get a comparison video 🤔?

  • Fizzy YT
    Fizzy YT 2 months ago

    These don’t even come out until 2020

  • BeyondSpecs
    BeyondSpecs 2 months ago

    I can’t believe you guys made a video review of the AirPods 2 when it’s practically the same product as the last ones, and not review the Galaxy Watch Active (not saying that’s SUPER different from other galaxy watches but more than AirPods 1 vs 2) and just give it a hands on. I love the Verge but sometimes you make me smh.

  • Tom Xander
    Tom Xander 2 months ago

    Review: Wireless charging and looks the same. Move on people!!! Go somewhere actually interesting.

  • Bardia Tohidi
    Bardia Tohidi 2 months ago +4

    When u buy the airpods a day before the 2nd gen

  • Riley X
    Riley X 2 months ago

    Who the F is this guy where’s dieter and Paul Miller lol

  • Will Yeahbubb
    Will Yeahbubb 2 months ago

    Save money buy the old ones seen them for under 125

  • Corey Gilmore
    Corey Gilmore 2 months ago

    Thumbs up for that price animations dope

  • Ashton Wyss
    Ashton Wyss 2 months ago

    10/10 music taste

  • Eric Decamps
    Eric Decamps 2 months ago

    I would lose them within 2 days after buying them

  • Afaaq Siddiqui
    Afaaq Siddiqui 2 months ago

    Galaxy Buds Vs Airpods 2

  • ChillWolfHusky
    ChillWolfHusky 2 months ago

    3 years later


    Apple airpods 3: taking your credit card money and no new features

  • Jason Lampert
    Jason Lampert 2 months ago

    Watching this wearing them

  • Daniel Reis Erthal
    Daniel Reis Erthal 2 months ago

    @

  • Guilherme Gabriel
    Guilherme Gabriel 2 months ago +3

    look, it's the bastard that reviewed the s10

  • B-_-M
    B-_-M 2 months ago

    Where do I get them? AT&T? Bestbuy?

  • Kams
    Kams 2 months ago

    Although I would buy Airpods at somepoint I am waiting for Apple to release something which is innovative as these just look like the wired AirPods but made wireless.

  • The Enthusiasm Project
    The Enthusiasm Project 2 months ago

    The biggest upgrade would be no Siri 😉

  • Mark G
    Mark G 2 months ago

    Apple is sad....

  • GuruNandan
    GuruNandan 2 months ago +2

    *New airpod user's when old airpod user's try to talk to them*
    "Hey siri! can you translate broke"

  • Dennis Hena
    Dennis Hena 2 months ago +1

    Wait...when did Apple announce these?! I watched the Keynote, no mention of AirPods 2.

  • life newar
    life newar 2 months ago

    don't like apple sounds on iTunes

  • life newar
    life newar 2 months ago

    upgrade ear buds is cool

  • melvin borntowin
    melvin borntowin 2 months ago +1

    I am too lazy fed up with charging devices like smartwatches headphones earbuds speakers etc... 😏

  • Adam Macias
    Adam Macias 2 months ago

    These are NOT "Airpods 2". The tech community is making an assumption and it just shows me how much y'all copy each other. All that happened was they released a wireless charging case. Even on Apple's website it doesn't say Airpods 2, anywhere.

  • curiousCat!320
    curiousCat!320 2 months ago

    So still no luck for people w/ small ears. SMH

  • Martin Tausen
    Martin Tausen 2 months ago

    You don’t have to wait for a response after “Hey Siri”, just keep talking.

  • Starman
    Starman 2 months ago +1

    Feel the hype....lol

  • Stefan Fernandes
    Stefan Fernandes 2 months ago +1

    Product has been out for 2 years
    The verge : feel free to upgrade to AirPods 2 if you’ve been using the old ones for 3 years.

  • Ranganath Sah
    Ranganath Sah 2 months ago

    But the sound quality is actually better on the new one for me.

    • Desmond
      Desmond 2 months ago

      Well, it's not. It's just wireless charging in and improved efefficiency

  • Fernando Magaña
    Fernando Magaña 2 months ago

    More like AirPods S

  • D. Dames
    D. Dames 2 months ago

    If I'm being honest. You guys make crispy great videos but the bias all of the reviewers have on the Verge towards Apple is ridiculous. I just finished watching your review on the Galaxy buds. And it was basically a comparison to the Airpods and other wireless earbuds. Meanwhile in this review, there was not one mention of another competitor when I can name several that has better sound quality and features compared to the Airpods. It's laughable tbh how bias this channel is.

  • Erwin Sahonero
    Erwin Sahonero 2 months ago +2

    Theres too many "if"'s. I think The Verge is forgiving a lot of big details on a 200$ wireless headphones that doesn't even sound good enough.

  • Shounak Debroy
    Shounak Debroy 2 months ago

    Airpods gives cancer

  • Fahad Zafar
    Fahad Zafar 2 months ago

    What is your phone case called?

  • UpDownLeft11
    UpDownLeft11 2 months ago

    The sad quote about pitching $200 earbuds "because they can't hold a charge anymore and they can't be fixed or repaired" is disgusting.

  • The Sly Asian
    The Sly Asian 2 months ago +2

    "Never not hilarious" isn't towards the wireless charging mechanism of the S10, but the fact that Apple doesnt have it and Samsung is actually supporting an apple product

  • FDSeoul
    FDSeoul 2 months ago

    MORE GIMMICK filled CASH GRAB from the people from Apple. I swear Apple users have stockholm syndrome.

  • J
    J 2 months ago

    yay hype never changes

  • Benny95
    Benny95 2 months ago

    Aren’t the whole point of headphones the sound quality?? Why not discuss this since that’s the MAIN point of a headphone.

  • pochy099
    pochy099 2 months ago

    I knew it was not much the difference

  • herohunter81
    herohunter81 2 months ago

    I notice the speed difference. My gen 1’s were like implants. I had them in all day everyday since launch. Too bad about AirPower though.

  • Hardware Software
    Hardware Software 2 months ago

    Switching connections doesn’t require opening settings

  • Lomar Yearwood
    Lomar Yearwood 2 months ago

    I just a negative vibe from this review and also Linus reviews

  • asnaeb1452
    asnaeb1452 2 months ago

    199???? F that!

  • Dan Caracciolo
    Dan Caracciolo 2 months ago

    Nice MCR throwback 🤘🏼

  • mairin
    mairin 2 months ago

    did y’all hear sum? i dont speak rich 💆🏽‍♀️😔

  • Jay Polo
    Jay Polo 2 months ago

    Blah 🙄🙄🙄

  • Greg OfCanada
    Greg OfCanada 2 months ago

    Anker Soundcore Liberty Air. They're awesome wireless ear buds.

  • Dr_That_Guy
    Dr_That_Guy 2 months ago +5

    Wireless charging is not worth $40 extra.

  • Edisson P.
    Edisson P. 2 months ago

    connecting faster is bs. apple just needed something to else to add to the list

  • Hey It’s Eva
    Hey It’s Eva 2 months ago +1

    Ppl with AirPods can’t afford the wire

  • Nicholas Spencer
    Nicholas Spencer 2 months ago +2

    Who else noticed MCR.

  • Edisson P.
    Edisson P. 2 months ago +2

    I still use my wired earphones that i dont need to charge :)

  • Freddy Eduardo Alcazar Barrientos

    WTF title. Just that. Wrong. Say they are a disapointment.

  • Oliver Bose
    Oliver Bose 2 months ago

    Why should Apple change anything else? The first generation was sold many times. Wireless charging makes no sense to me because it takes too long.

    • Nishith Joshi
      Nishith Joshi 2 months ago +1

      Agreed, and apple also cancelled airpower. Buying this doesn't make any sense

  • Vlad TMS
    Vlad TMS 2 months ago

    Best earbuds????....no

  • spiddyman007
    spiddyman007 2 months ago

    Wtf. You have to use Siri to turn the volume up and down that is so weak

  • Manuel Carranza
    Manuel Carranza 2 months ago

    Ayyy. MCR!

  • RAZI RØX
    RAZI RØX 2 months ago +1

    Customers: we need new colours
    Apple: Sure......




    ..we’ll make the white less brighter 😂😂

  • Dendle
    Dendle 2 months ago

    Just got my pair!

  • American Paisa
    American Paisa 2 months ago

    So what’s the difference?

  • Zeeshan Nasir
    Zeeshan Nasir 2 months ago

    Absolutely not buying.

  • Robert Prejs
    Robert Prejs 2 months ago

    I like my AirPods 1 not for the sound quality but as other mentioned for convenience, but having them since release date over two years it is sad to know the very short life of those. I have been using mine for about 2-3 hours every day and now the battery lasts only about 1,5 hour. I will get the new ones when it goes down under one hour but sad that it is a disposable expensive product.

  • Saiteja kodela
    Saiteja kodela 2 months ago +5

    It's good to see you reviewing apple products, stick to them bro. Leave Android alone. Considering how much your last S10 review backfired...

  • nukedkaltak
    nukedkaltak 2 months ago +7

    The toothfairy app is a useless cash grab to essentially reduce a 2-click process by one click.

  • Olger
    Olger 2 months ago

    This is way to expensive.. This is old technology the price isn’t logical for something that isn’t new. Why do people buy this stuff? I have headphones that are 30 years old and work extremely good. This new stuff will probably be old and crappy after a few weeks of using it. The riches company in the world doesn’t even care anymore to make something revolutionary.. Man Steve Jobs is turning in his grave.