Apple NEEDS to Innovate - Zenbook PRO Duo Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 17, 2019
  • Check out the Drop x Sennheiser HD 6XX Headphones at dro.ps/ltt-6xx-3
    Use code LINUS and get 25% off GlassWire at lmg.gg/glasswire
    The ASUS Zenbook Pro Duo is a high-performance laptop with two screens! That’s right, a secondary display above the keyboard offers more screen real estate than we’ve ever seen on a mobile workstation or gaming laptop.
    Buy ASUS Zenbook Pro Duo:
    On Amazon: geni.us/dSxSne
    On Newegg: lmg.gg/8KVP3
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1105289-apple-needs-to-innovate-zenbook-pro-duo-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: thexvid.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High thexvid.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 4 580

  • Nick_N52
    Nick_N52 Month ago +10243

    8:44
    Linus did you play with Taran's render?

    • Mishkafofer
      Mishkafofer 21 day ago

      who needs this content? apple users dont need this.

    • Gergely Probszt
      Gergely Probszt Month ago

      8:42 Csak én vettem észre hogy lászlót hallgatnak? (You listening to a song called like a hungarian name)

    • matthew2011
      matthew2011 Month ago

      @Linus Tech Tips you didn't fix the facebook version

    • Sigberd
      Sigberd Month ago +2

      can somebody explain? what is the special at 8:44?

    • Sawowner
      Sawowner Month ago +2

      can confirm, am confused, what was the issue originally?

  • Philip Boardman
    Philip Boardman 5 hours ago

    👌

  • Eggy Noggy
    Eggy Noggy 2 days ago

    It looks cool.... but that bottom screen is sitting right over the cpu and the gpu which means it wont last long.

  • RottenProduce
    RottenProduce 2 days ago

    Just to re-emphasize--these designs are stupid; they are basically easily portable desktops. You HAVE to use them on a desk.

  • RottenProduce
    RottenProduce 2 days ago

    Lol. You can't use this on your lap. It's useless. Also, re: your apple snark... my laptop has a touchbar with some functionality, and now my ipad works with it as a second pen display. It's funcationally way, way better than this janky nonsense.

  • Soumitra Saxena
    Soumitra Saxena 4 days ago

    I like the background music at the end. Linus should let the editor make his own videos. He is a great speaker.

  • Naveen Ravi.S
    Naveen Ravi.S 5 days ago

    is linux os (mint) in zenbook pro duo supports touch and second screen....

  • Alex Carrillo
    Alex Carrillo 5 days ago

    Great Wh Cares - Where is that Apology that I am hounding you OK. Back to your Crappy Review Hey Did I said that camera the Fuji camera cost about 10 Grand, is that laptop cost the same price? But you treated with Respect, not the Fuji camera, I wonder what Fuji in Japan will say if I decide to send that video to them? I'm still waiting....

  • GLITCHAWK
    GLITCHAWK 6 days ago

    One like for editor .

  • no one
    no one 6 days ago

    If the second screen can be tilted up a bit, After all, when the monitor is horizontal, the vision is poor.The top of the second screen is just to the bottom of the main screen when it is raised, so the vision will be better, and the lower part can also be made into a heat dissipation area

  • TheSagitis
    TheSagitis 7 days ago

    about the display is it the same xps ininfty edge 4K screen display ?

  • G
    G 7 days ago

    Apple needs to innovate? They are already years behind with price and specs

  • Redmailnet
    Redmailnet 8 days ago

    Prob amazing for fapping and unfapping activities.

  • Redmailnet
    Redmailnet 8 days ago

    I want one!

  • Nyancat703
    Nyancat703 8 days ago

    Uuuh isnt 90°C pretty thermal throlltely ? o.o

    • TheOtioseFanatic
      TheOtioseFanatic 7 days ago

      Nyancat703 not really. Another 10 degrees (where MacBooks tend to hover when doing much of anything) is where you start having real issues.

  • Jimbo Bimbo
    Jimbo Bimbo 8 days ago

    Great laptop in many ways, but the glossy screen is a killer for me. Total no-go.

  • New Mateo
    New Mateo 9 days ago +2

    Best thing I ever bought. Love it.

  • Jamar Martin
    Jamar Martin 10 days ago

    I want this. I guess I have to save up lol. I would have gotten a MacBook if not for that horrible keyboard

  • sara bisht
    sara bisht 10 days ago

    Apple creates a 1000$ innovation i.e Apple stand
    Lol

  • Jeremy Nguyen
    Jeremy Nguyen 12 days ago

    I can't stop looking at his teeths

  • Snack3rS7
    Snack3rS7 12 days ago

    Lol...just take off fucking Apple from the scene...this is annoying. Always comparison to shapple...where is the original point of view? Where is the creative point? I hate Apple well. Really? Is there only one computer company in the world? This drives me crazy. Whats wrong with world? Why we have only comparison to Apple products. This isnt funny...

  • Tapiwa Muza
    Tapiwa Muza 12 days ago

    🔥🔥🔥

  • Eamonn Beatts
    Eamonn Beatts 12 days ago

    Hey, I just wanted to see if you have a verdict on the smaller 14 inch zenbook, I was looking for a good portable laptop, thanks :)

  • Chandra Pratap
    Chandra Pratap 13 days ago

    Finally something for them Minecraft tutorials.

  • Jacob Powers
    Jacob Powers 13 days ago

    I'm gonna be real here: I'm tired of all your advertisements and shameless self promotion. this used to be one of my favorite channels. unsubscribing and suggesting everyone else does so too.

  • Kytetiger
    Kytetiger 13 days ago

    Taran will be happy with the surface neo, or the duo ?

  • Kakashi Hatake
    Kakashi Hatake 13 days ago

    shit will get called gimmicky until Apple does it and calls it courageous..

  • Bigg X
    Bigg X 13 days ago

    Im not much of a laptop person but this feature is definitely making me consider buying one.

  • toamaori
    toamaori 13 days ago

    nah can't see apple taking risks anymore.... taken over by bean counters who will only spend development money on a sure investment for maximum profit.... good bye innovation... good bye edgy design... goodbye game changing potential at least Jobs got it all to a stage where things work they way they do.

  • Alkhemist 95
    Alkhemist 95 14 days ago

    I love Tarren's bed head

  • Jaigh
    Jaigh 14 days ago

    What happen if you are left handed? 🤔

  • elric maina
    elric maina 15 days ago

    Y do every TheXvidR do consider apple as the mother of IT.....always comparing other products to Apple

  • iwokeuplikethis
    iwokeuplikethis 16 days ago +1

    why dont they just have a slide up screen behind the original that locks into place when its fully extended above the main display

  • Ty Miller
    Ty Miller 16 days ago

    Your "drop.com" require you to sign-up. They are full a sh.t. That's not fair to you man.

  • daniel degg
    daniel degg 16 days ago

    Linus: your move intel "white power".... hahaahaha ooook

  • Batman The dark knight

    Windows 10: uh new toy
    Laptop: hey Windows
    Windows 10: new update comes out
    Laptop: 🤯🤯😵😵🤪🥵😷

    • Russ H
      Russ H 15 days ago

      Agree, but that's what happens when you have literally thousands of hardware setups usuing your software compared to what....5 that Apple have? Seeing as the main cause of dramas are driver updates...

  • Ajay Lopez
    Ajay Lopez 16 days ago

    So Benedict Cumberbatch works for Linus!

  • Jr Padilla
    Jr Padilla 16 days ago

    I don’t think any other manufacturer will be able to beat asus duo screen laptop. They have got it down perfectly.

  • Jr Padilla
    Jr Padilla 16 days ago

    Just ordered mine. Should be getting here in a few days. Will see if I like it enough to keep it or return back.

    • Jr Padilla
      Jr Padilla 12 days ago

      The best laptop I have ever owned. I love it .

    • Angie Maldonado Ramirez
      Angie Maldonado Ramirez 12 days ago

      Que tal es la laptop? Estaría bien para realizar trabajos? Es bueno oara estudiante?

  • Empress Lithia
    Empress Lithia 17 days ago

    I do wish 4:3 screen ratios made a comeback in laptops. You get a bigger screen without increasing the size of the laptop in any realistically noticeable way. At the very least, make 3:2 the new standard. These taller screens are ideal for anyone who deals with verticality... programmers, writers, spreadsheet experts... and the only 'downside' is that you get black bars at the top and bottom of videos, which you get with cinematic videos anyway, and it doesn't seem to bother anyone.

  • Arturo Vilchez
    Arturo Vilchez 17 days ago

    Can we stop comparing everything with apple....

  • Raylight
    Raylight 17 days ago +9

    Why apple tend to call their laptops "Pro", since of "Pro" they have nothing?
    (Maybe pro-garbage...)

  • Jan m j
    Jan m j 17 days ago

    Apple product 2 years behind technology but there 2 years advance taking people money and profit

  • Luke E
    Luke E 18 days ago

    Apple's gonna innovate by removing all I/O on the laptop and make you buy a new one every time the battery dies

  • Lightspeed Retro
    Lightspeed Retro 18 days ago

    I'm looking forward to apple's next 1500$ camera that can make calls. iPhone 12

  • Lightspeed Retro
    Lightspeed Retro 18 days ago +1

    Why does the intro music sound like someone just cured cancer

  • Redford Reviews
    Redford Reviews 18 days ago +1

    Hey there guys, seriously thinking of buying this laptop! Which link helps you better, Amazon or Newegg?

    • Redford Reviews
      Redford Reviews 14 days ago

      @Russ H just waiting on next shipment from ASUS!!! 🤟

    • Russ H
      Russ H 15 days ago

      You won't regret it. Love mine.

  • Harry Wexler Jr. MBA
    Harry Wexler Jr. MBA 18 days ago

    Love it

  • tristancrawford
    tristancrawford 18 days ago

    I own this laptop. Something people should know, and which doesn't seem to get mentioned in reviews, is that the Screenpad+, the thing that you're paying all the extra money for, disconnects every time you close the lid of your laptop, or it otherwise goes into sleep mode. This results in all open windows and application panels being shuffled back to your main display, erasing any panel layouts for Adobe CS products or other software. You have to rearrange your displays *every time you re-open the lid of your laptop*. ASUS engineers have informed me that this is expected behavior and there is no plan to fix it. I wish I had known this before purchasing mine.

  • Lloyd Share
    Lloyd Share 18 days ago

    I want better displays not more of them

  • Pious AR
    Pious AR 18 days ago

    Apple needs to forget about macs

  • Wildfire
    Wildfire 19 days ago

    Yea theres no chance "the market is going in this direction" because a second screen is such a massive gimmick for the average user, im sure a few might make a novelty one for the upper end graphics pros... but for normal users? no chance they're buying that.

    • Funny Videos
      Funny Videos 18 days ago

      Microsoft have just announced something like this and it's no gimmick

  • Hendrik Blw
    Hendrik Blw 19 days ago +1

    Id love to see a review of the new Zenbook flip 15, which doesnt have a lot of Review in youtube :)

  • Clement Siby
    Clement Siby 19 days ago

    The Title of the Zenbook Pro duo review includes surprise surprise Apple. Linus is an apple fanboy even though he pretends he is not.

  • David Xu
    David Xu 20 days ago +4

    Come back when surface released neo and duo

    • Dr. Robert D. White
      Dr. Robert D. White 13 days ago

      This device destroys surface neo and duo. Though I respect Microsoft's design, there's no comparison. This is in a class of its own.

  • spider7ven
    spider7ven 20 days ago

    Apple are going to fill up the chewed off fruit logo. That's innovative.

  • Solo Dlamini
    Solo Dlamini 20 days ago

    Best review so far thanks guys

  • Kevin V.
    Kevin V. 20 days ago +6

    your editor has a great on screen personality and presentation skills

  • Spazman613
    Spazman613 20 days ago

    Yea sure, they need to step up their game, but Mac books don’t cost $2500...

  • Jeremie Lariviere
    Jeremie Lariviere 21 day ago

    This ASUS ZenBook Pro Duo or the ASUS ROG Mothership?