Ryzen 3950X Review & Benchmarks: 16-Core Dominance!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 14, 2019
  • Ryzen 3950X Review & Benchmarks: 16-Core Dominance!
    Here's my review of the AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 16-core CPU vs the AMD 3900X and 3700X, as well as the Intel 9900K, 9900KS and 9980XE.
    ► LINKS TO PARTS SHOWN
    AMD Ryzen 9 3950X - amzn.to/2NO3uWp (Amazon, currently unavailable)
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X - amzn.to/2Xbv6b4
    AMD Ryzen 7 3700X - amzn.to/2KluMS2
    Intel Core i9 9900K - amzn.to/2NK4cnM
    Intel Core i9 9900KS - amzn.to/2QeMGtr
    Intel Core i9 9980XE 18-core CPU - amzn.to/2q0kxf3
    G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 3866Mhz CL18 Quad Channel Kit (4x8GB) - amzn.to/2zVWlww
    EKWB ASUS ROG R6E RGB Monoblock - Nickel - www.ekwb.com/shop/ek-fb-asus-rog-r6e-monoblock-nickel
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme R6E X299 LGA 2066 Motherboard - amzn.to/2BZwZz3
    PrimoChill Praxis Wetbench - amzn.to/2yeMKib
    Thanks to AMD for sending the 3950X CPU for review.
    Please note that links above may be affiliate links -- clicking them earns me a small commission if you make a purchase and helps support my TheXvid channel. Thank you!
    ▷ MY STORE - shirts, mugs, pint glasses & hoodies
    paulshardware.net
    ▷ SOCIAL
    Twitter: @paulhardware
    paulhardware
    Facebook:
    pages/Pauls-Hardware/195425877329550
    Instagram:
    paulhardware

    :::Send Me Stuff:::
    Paul's Hardware
    P.O. Box 4325
    Diamond Bar, CA 91765

    ► Edited by Joe Aguilar - ShaostylePostProductions
    joe_editing

    Audio file(s) provided by Epidemic Sound
    www.epidemicsound.com/
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 821

  • Zachary Spence
    Zachary Spence 20 hours ago

    Come on Adobe optimize your software for multi-core chips!

  • Chikara Yoshida
    Chikara Yoshida Day ago

    What's the laptop version equivalent?

  • freak777power
    freak777power 2 days ago

    Nowhere to buy and when you find one it cost $1000, too bad.

  • Uptown NYC
    Uptown NYC 2 days ago

    Nice to see Newegg get in on the 3950X price gouging... guess they were jealous of all the scalpers on ebay and decided, WHY NOT US?: @t?
    $900 now and slowly rising.... PATHETIC!

  • Luciphell
    Luciphell 2 days ago

    I'm confused. So the 3950x is better for everything but gaming? Was hoping to put it in a gaming rig, but now...

  • denvera1g1
    denvera1g1 3 days ago

    I'm looking forward to Ryzen 2+ or Ryzen 3, where the IO dye is on 7nm, and theres enough room to have an 8GB HBM2 dye on the chip
    I'd also like to see a 'threadripper" based "NUC" with 2x8 core ryzen 2 dyes, 2x8GB HBM2 dyes on one side of the IO dye, and then another 2xHBM2 and 2xNAVI, or just 2xNAVI-XL

  • Herbert Brown
    Herbert Brown 6 days ago

    Can't wait for this build hope you do it soon

  • FerrumBellator
    FerrumBellator 8 days ago

    Oh I found one Paul and it is my precious now.

  • Sam Locke
    Sam Locke 8 days ago

    My next custom build will probably have this Ryzen beast! 8 core to 16 core will be a massive upgrade!

  • Aaron Dylan
    Aaron Dylan 9 days ago

    ANOTHER DEADLY AMD REVIEW. I SWEAR SEE IT thexvid.com/video/VhkvMSc9YS8/video.html

  • Lothar Scholz
    Lothar Scholz 9 days ago

    Problem is the 3950x is $500 to expensive. Cut the price in half and many would buy it even if they don't really need it. Just selling to the persons who need 16 cores will not be a large market. I wait how this turns out in 2 years time.

  • Asianiscool1
    Asianiscool1 10 days ago

    Thank goodness AMD is punching back, otherwise intel would continuously anal us with 4 cores like a horse racing at a kentucky derby with a glue stick up his ass.

  • S. D. H.
    S. D. H. 11 days ago

    AMD is making some great CPU's but the various motherboard drivers & BIOS that is driving them is immature & buggy as hell. Seems to be a problem for AMD. I love my 3700X processor but there is no excuse for a retail product having issues & incompatibilities with such basic Window features like Fast Boot, etc. Pumping out new hardware products doesn't fix the underlying firmware/driver/software problems that seems to constantly plague this brand. On the bright side, at least I turned over $10K+ profit from AMD stock these past few months.

  • pnp072000
    pnp072000 12 days ago

    Why don't AMD measure their TDP the same way as Intel? It makes it look like the Intel is more efficient even though AMD is much more efficient even with 16 cores.

  • Kekropian
    Kekropian 12 days ago

    Even if the 9980XE isn't for gaming it should have been on the chart. Technically 3900x and 3950x aren't either ( you almost get no difference from the 3700x). Was it so bad you didn't want to show it? Also I am wandering how much the cooling solution on the intel machine made a difference.

  • Onesimo Castillo
    Onesimo Castillo 12 days ago

    How is the power draw of the 3950x compared to 1700x or 1800x for example for people like me who is thinking about upgrading using an x370 motherboard?
    I use vray so i need it to be stable for several hours of rendering.

  • Alittle Looney
    Alittle Looney 13 days ago

    Great review! So my conclusion is that if you run the 9900k/ks under water @ 1080p with the fastest graphics card you can buy they are better gaming CPU's than the 3900x or 3950x, other than that AMD has a solid product. It is a great review but I wish folks would relate that the statement that the Intel CPU's are "better for gaming" is only under specific circumstances that almost nobody uses. The percentage of users who use a graphics card that costs $1,000 or more to game at 1080p is in the low single digits. I know it's the only real way to differentiate CPU's in gaming benchmarks, but that's kinda my point.

  • 4KGamer
    4KGamer 14 days ago

    Can the 3950x play 8K 60fps youtube videos without dropping frames?

  • Builder
    Builder 14 days ago +1

    Well done benchmark and well represented! Subscribed!
    I'm looking for a passive cooler to build a necessarily silent DAW system. What's the most humongous, passive 3950 cooler with the most heat pipes money can buy??
    - suggestions appreciated -

  • te0nani
    te0nani 15 days ago +1

    The new Mac Pro looks so bad right now. Cost as much as a Car and gets it's ass whopped by every 2000$ AMD-PC.

  • 101m4n
    101m4n 15 days ago

    From these results, I reckon the differences are mostly the result of higher memory latency on AMD's parts, thanks to the chiplets. All the compute intensive stuff seems to scale pretty well, it's just games, and other pointer-chasey cache-miss heavy stuff too I imagine, where it lags behind a bit.
    That being said, many-core _is_ the future, no doubt about that!
    Next machine is going to be AMD for sure, if not for the performance, then out of spite towards intel!

  • Designer veerji
    Designer veerji 15 days ago

    can we use any air cooler with AMD RYZEN 3950X....?

    • cwli1
      cwli1 7 days ago

      @designer veerji, yes.
      thexvid.com/video/_7PkZwY9PWM/video.html shows the best x570 motherboards to get.
      A new Ryzen user wrote: “make sure windows 10 allocates enough space for virtual memory because my computer was stuttering for a while”. (I think they mean the page file/swap file. It really means they didn't do so with their old processor.)
      “My ONLY point of frustration came from some instability I experienced that took me a while to troubleshoot, first thinking it was probably some sort of memory incompatibility. It ended up being an incompatibility with the Windows 10 Ryzen power plan that was installed. Switched to the regular "Performance" plan and its been rock solid ever since.”
      If the processor idles at a high temperature: disable all 3 bios options for Precision Boost Overdrive (PBO). Set Windows Power Plan (not AMD's one) for "Balanced".
      Ryzen only installs on Windows 10. For help community.amd.com/community/support-forums/general-discussion
      www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/e14xps/list_your_5_tips_for_new_ryzen_users/

    • JayzBeerz
      JayzBeerz 14 days ago

      @Designer veerji yes try it and see how it performs.

    • Designer veerji
      Designer veerji 14 days ago

      @JayzBeerz Can i use be quiet dark rock pro 4

    • JayzBeerz
      JayzBeerz 14 days ago

      Yes I'm using a Scythe Mugen 5. Rev. B.

  • Jan Girke
    Jan Girke 15 days ago

    Maybe use a better cooler and retry some tests.

  • Varinder Bains
    Varinder Bains 15 days ago

    Good balanced review and the 3950X is a stonking CPU for production workloads...for gaming Intel still holds the lead...AMD have come right back and are now bringing much needed competition to the CPU space...

  • Dante Vega
    Dante Vega 15 days ago

    would you say this processor is dramatically better than my Ryzen 5 Vega? Keep in mind This one only has one more Core than mine and is only .9 GHz higher than my current processor. Also, I feel inclined to state my setup including motherboard, Tower, Power supply, Processor, and 32GB Ram only cost me $775 total. I think I got a better bang for the buck but I am still interested in what you think.

  • ctaylor960
    ctaylor960 15 days ago

    basically stick with my OC 8700k 4.8ghz...thx this thing is a real winner for the price.

  • Jon Does
    Jon Does 15 days ago

    I know why you didn't include 9980XE for gaming benchmarks, it totally SUCKS.

  • Jon Does
    Jon Does 15 days ago +1

    I know why you didn't include 9980XE for gaming benchmarks, it totally SUCKS.

  • Benjamin Bavel
    Benjamin Bavel 16 days ago

    9980XE, please, noone buy that! :-D

  • cableaddict
    cableaddict 16 days ago

    I'm pretty stoked to try one of these with the new ASROCK X570 CREATOR mobo. (Native Thunderbolt!) I'd love to see a Paul review on that combo, in the future.

  • cableaddict
    cableaddict 16 days ago

    Excellent review, Paul. But a request:
    In the future, please consider testing all CPU's for how much they will boost or OC, on all cores at once. Not the average with stock parameters, but the max when fully tweaked. This spec is absolutely CRITICAL for DAW (audio) users, as single core speed affects how low the HD buffer / latency can be set, yet all cores must be the same. This info is near impossible to find, although what you present here is still way better than in most reviews.
    - Thanks.

  • dosduros
    dosduros 16 days ago

    Every time some youtuber says "I hope you guys can forgive me" I feel an incredible amount of power in my hands.
    I can, in fact, abuse that power and not forgive the youtuber their transgression, forever holding them accountable.
    But then, I am reminded of these words: "with great power, comes great responsibility".

    And because we should all treat each other how we would like to be treated, I have decided that you shall be forgiven.
    No need to thank me, I know I am a shinning example of morality.

    If you have read this far, and your head hurts, Imagine how much my head hurtled while I was coming up with this.

  • Jim's Retro-Gaming
    Jim's Retro-Gaming 16 days ago

    AMD with another "hold my beer" moments.

  • Andrew Cox
    Andrew Cox 17 days ago

    Delid it

  • djdrwatson
    djdrwatson 17 days ago +1

    The Intel fanboys right now -> 'Homer disappears into bushes' meme: thexvid.com/video/_lPJ9J-6vDw/video.html

  • PowWowChicken
    PowWowChicken 17 days ago +1

    Hint: i5 overclocked still beats any AMD CPU for gaming... That's enough for me👌

  • PowWowChicken
    PowWowChicken 17 days ago

    Enough of this Intel is so lame bs when in fact they still outsell AMD and outperform in gaming. AMD finally fixed their launch bios issues and made a good server CPU. It only took them over a decade 🙄. I'm not pretending to run a business or server farm so give me Intel all day for my gaming needs👌

    • Baron von Limbourgh
      Baron von Limbourgh 13 days ago

      The 3700x is by far the gaming cpu to have atm dude. Intel has nothing that even comes close to compette.

  • Mike Douglas
    Mike Douglas 17 days ago

    Seem to have gotten more free added performance with the latest bios with the 3800x compared to 3700x, its worth the extra cost now imo.

  • Zangetsu
    Zangetsu 17 days ago

    8:35 benchmarks start

  • jeff smith
    jeff smith 17 days ago +1

    Imagine spending thousands on a pc just to game at 1080p.

    • Baron von Limbourgh
      Baron von Limbourgh 5 days ago

      @Rommie Samboski most gamers are. High fps gamers are a small subset of gamers and the ones willing and able to spend thousands to do that are a small percentage of that.
      They do exist, but are rare.

    • Rommie Samboski
      Rommie Samboski 5 days ago

      @Baron von Limbourgh I see. Yeah makes sense to me. I am more into ultra graphics and not high fps, which is why I am still with my old i7 3770 paired with gtx 1080.

    • Baron von Limbourgh
      Baron von Limbourgh 5 days ago

      @Rommie Samboski most csgo players just play at lower details with mid level hardware. That would give you 200fps easy.
      Only streamers and pro players who make money from their play will spend that kind of money for just csgo at 1080p.
      We are really talking about a couple of 100 people worldwide.
      Most people buying ti cards buy them to play high resolution on quality monitors.

    • Rommie Samboski
      Rommie Samboski 5 days ago

      Many csgo and pubg nerds do that. Some of them are also yt streamers.

    • Baron von Limbourgh
      Baron von Limbourgh 13 days ago

      Lol. Tn panel also..

  • gary proffitt
    gary proffitt 17 days ago

    16 cores for Blazing Saddles ~ $750 is a pricey mother relapsed ☝😂

  • Timothy Reed
    Timothy Reed 18 days ago

    You should include the motherboard in price ratio

  • himynameistim
    himynameistim 18 days ago

    Adobe Premiere is the biggest POS. I can't believe people use it professionally.

  • Tim Box
    Tim Box 18 days ago

    CPU and GPU market for PC's is getting out of control, the 3700x was only launched 07/07/2019 (gotta feel sorry for anyone that built a new pc second half of this year), now its at the bottom of the pile... I can now see why console gaming is so popular... every two years or so, get the latest and greatest console for $500.00, plays all the AAA games at 1080p or even 4k if you spend a bit more, but still way less then this bullshit.... Sorry Paul for the moan, but after years of watching your videos (and others) and so wanting to pull the trigger on a new build, I just feel that after 6 months my bang for buck will be gone... I'll stick with my X58 Gigabyte running a Xeon X5680 (6 cores, 12 threads) overclocked to 4ghz, A gigabyte GTX 1050ti 4gb OC WF, 24gb DDR3 @ XMP 1600, plays all the games I need (includes Black Ops 4) at 60 - 90 FPS @ 1080p....

  • Patrick Bateman
    Patrick Bateman 18 days ago

    AMD restoring balance to the force. Also engaging in the comment section to trigger the algorithm and help Paul ;)

  • castiel vargas
    castiel vargas 18 days ago +4

    I am happy for amd. I was allways a amd guy, even when they have been their lowest.

  • George Dicu
    George Dicu 18 days ago

    nice video!

  • NavySturmGewehr
    NavySturmGewehr 18 days ago

    So intel's clockspeed advantage is the only thing giving them a lead right now.

    • Dennis19901
      Dennis19901 17 days ago

      Yes, which is good for gaming.
      And pretty much only that.

  • Michael Scaffidi
    Michael Scaffidi 18 days ago

    Could Quick Sync account for the faster Premiere Pro render time with the 9900K? - Though if that was the case I am not sure how the 3900 scored higher.

  • blink3100
    blink3100 18 days ago

    Curious what your reasons are for not posting 9980XE gaming results. Sure, nobody is hunting that CPU down specifically for gaming, but neither would they be for the 3950x. You compared everything else they do, so why exclude gaming? It would be telling for a content producer that games on the side which would give the best of both worlds.

  • Kyuro-. 、、
    Kyuro-. 、、 18 days ago

    4:04 woah that is some fast 1st gen DDR whered u get em 🤣🤣

  • Henry Thoreau
    Henry Thoreau 18 days ago

    They should just call this cpu 'Bust-A-Nut'. That's all it does all fucking day long.

  • Anthony Wahl
    Anthony Wahl 19 days ago

    Using this guide at check out asking cashier to waAit 1 SEc!!!! while I watch this review to decide if I want to buy this 9980XE specifically for gaming purposes. Now I'm fucked.

  • Glen Horta
    Glen Horta 19 days ago

    Hard to believe that photoshop didn't work on those particular AMD chip. For motherboards. Every other of you has it. The question is why?

  • Jeremy
    Jeremy 19 days ago

    amd's killin it

  • Chris Bullock
    Chris Bullock 19 days ago

    Come on us grown working professionals know this is a working mans cpu. Anyone who does 3D/Programming in the gaming industry or GIS/CAD work or contract CG/3D work would be the people buying this. Not some 15-21 year old for a "Gaming PC"

  • deminybs
    deminybs 19 days ago

    I installed a beta BIOS for my ASRock x470 fatal1ty k4 MOBO and randomly get crashes, waiting for official one to eventually drop lol

  • Ishan Belgarath Adjani

    AMD rules now...

  • Charles Mallory
    Charles Mallory 19 days ago

    If you are gaming competitively at 1080p with 144hz+ refresh rates then this is not the CPU for you unless you turn your in-game effects down (which most pros do) You can also save $250 or more getting the 3900x with very little performance lost. Overall, as soon as you run 1440p with effects on it becomes a moot point and you'll appreciate the boost in multitasking and rendering.

  • Just Pelé
    Just Pelé 19 days ago +1

    I would buy AMD chips if it weren't for the fact that I oftentimes feel like a beta tester while running them (as Der8auer pointed out in his assessment). Sure, they get that kind of stuff ironed out over the life of the CPU, but for the first 12-18 months their stability just isn't in the same league as Intel, no matter how many RAM and mobo combinations I've tried. I wish this wasn't the case, but the fact of the matter is you are paying a price, even if that cost isn't necessarily in $$, and it comes down to spending more time chasing down bugs and issues with reliability/stability. Case in point, Premier still randomly crashes on my brother's 3900X machine, though it does it a bit less after the latest update, and he has random connection issues with USB devices, even after swapping out his Asrock mobo for an Asus and reinstalling Windows 4-5x. I know many of the AMD faithful get mad when I point this out, that Intel platforms are still a more "refined" experience, they don't want to hear it, but it needs to be said.