iPhone 11 Pro review: the BEST camera on a phone

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 17, 2019
  • Apple’s iPhone 11 Pro and 11 Pro Max have the best cameras on a phone; a huge improvement in battery life; bright, beautiful displays; and they come in midnight green. These are some of the most well-balanced, most capable phones Apple - or anyone - has ever made. But starting at $999, they’ll cost you. Here's the review of our midnight green unit.
    Check out the full review here: bit.ly/2miGPpX
    How to preorder: bit.ly/2kFfpub
    How to choose which phone to buy: bit.ly/2klgQO2
    The 3 best and worst features: bit.ly/2lXyGr2
    Apple Watch Series 5 review: bit.ly/2kQfH1e
    iPhone 11 review: bit.ly/2mmwBoN
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Why'd You Push That Button Podcast: pod.link/1295289748
    The Vergecast Podcast: pod.link/430333725
    More about our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TheXvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 5 072

  • The Verge
    The Verge  28 days ago +1304

    Would you spend more for a better phone camera?

    • Wired tomprose
      Wired tomprose 4 days ago

      No

    • biggs949597 s
      biggs949597 s 5 days ago

      You actually had the nerve to say that iPhone puts out displays that no one else can match LOL every Android Flagship makes a better display than any iPhone my LG G8 and I also own the S10 plus by the way so I know what great displays are but my G8 and my S10 plus are better than any iPhone by about 10 miles you quadroon negro

    • Cass Stich
      Cass Stich 6 days ago

      I would. Pretty much only thing I’m interested in is the cameras. Wondering if it’s better that huawei p30 pro

  • Fenc Rohas
    Fenc Rohas 11 hours ago

    It's an absolute beast of a phone and the camera is the best I've ever seen.

  • ORTHODOX ISLAM
    ORTHODOX ISLAM Day ago

    Which one would u say I should buy

  • Ashley Aldred
    Ashley Aldred Day ago

    Yes

  • Peach Purple
    Peach Purple 3 days ago

    Best intro 00:53

  • Mitchell Mckenzie
    Mitchell Mckenzie 3 days ago +1

    Read a lot of complaints the screen scratches easily that is disturbing have you read that

  • Fahad S
    Fahad S 4 days ago

    Despite not liking the reviewer, the review itself was good

  • allemander
    allemander 4 days ago

    Why the 5K+ thumbs down votes on this fantastically produced, concise & informative video is beyond me.
    Wtf, people?

  • Jagger Screeton
    Jagger Screeton 4 days ago

    Pizza time

  • J Gambler
    J Gambler 4 days ago +1

    Slightly better than the pixel in some places, which is a year old..

  • Aminul Islam
    Aminul Islam 4 days ago

    Hi

  • shumail khan
    shumail khan 5 days ago

    Its hideous tbh

  • pshyeah1128
    pshyeah1128 5 days ago

    Nice pound of make up on her face 👍🏻

  • Cass Stich
    Cass Stich 6 days ago

    Better camera than the huawei. P 30 pro?

  • herohunter81
    herohunter81 6 days ago

    Don’t go by the 4-5 hour battery increase their apple described. Those phones were doing specific things and at 50% brightness. Everyones use will differ and so will the results. The battery seems better to me but not drastic. I watch videos ally at full brightness so my phone is getting heavily used.

  • Martin Stigemalm
    Martin Stigemalm 7 days ago

    Just gbfbdbdbf

  • Ray Gibson
    Ray Gibson 8 days ago

    Great review, and I'm going with the 11 Pro Max, 256GB. Tired of crappy videos, and I'm a content creator who doesn't want to buy expensive equipment yet, nor deal with Android features.

  • ADHIN
    ADHIN 8 days ago +2

    0:54 to 1:01, i am watching this video 16th time just for that dramatic shot!

  • Steve Mano
    Steve Mano 9 days ago

    Why is there always so much buzz around the iphone?

    • YK Brandz
      YK Brandz 5 days ago

      Steve Mano it’s an IPhone thing

  • Akshay Kalson
    Akshay Kalson 9 days ago

    The thing is , it’s not just the hardware , it’s the software too , it has enabled to not carry a lot of gear in the bag like gimbal or mirrorless camera just to get those stable videos

  • Mitchell Mckenzie
    Mitchell Mckenzie 9 days ago

    Is the pro or max phone with tele lens worth getting over the iPhone 11

  • smokingvibes
    smokingvibes 9 days ago

    Would spend more on compatibility. Apple must converge.

  • Tumelo Thebeng
    Tumelo Thebeng 9 days ago

    Note 10 is better then the rest.

  • Ely Joel Tangan
    Ely Joel Tangan 10 days ago

    I was waiting to come the new iPhone to buy it, but I feel so disappointed when I saw its looks the time it release. I have trypophobia so I will definitely don't buy it

  • Hazim Salim
    Hazim Salim 10 days ago

    remove the dust bro

  • Blue Sky
    Blue Sky 10 days ago

    Absolutely still inferior camera to Pixel cameras.

  • Madhusudhan
    Madhusudhan 10 days ago

    5:30 I think Note 10 photo looks better than rest , seeing from my iPad 😊

  • Lucas Rocha
    Lucas Rocha 11 days ago

    Have you noticed the light glare when you take photos/videos at night? Wondering if anyone is looking further into this.

  • Miro Mannino
    Miro Mannino 11 days ago

    Thank you for confirming that Pixel 3 still looks the best despite whatever you had to say in words 😅 Plus the P30 is still miles ahead... And that has been carefully removed from review 😅

  • Curtis Wallen
    Curtis Wallen 11 days ago +3

    I never thought I’d say it, but I’ll miss 3D Touch...

  • Adam Davis
    Adam Davis 11 days ago

    The camera on my pixel 3 was better then the one on my 11 pro max

  • GentleSands
    GentleSands 11 days ago

    SOLID review that was actually enjoyable to watch

  • Doraemon .25
    Doraemon .25 12 days ago +3

    1:11
    Me: The battery is so low lmao
    Him: It hAs A GoOd BaTTEry LiFe

    • Motars 109
      Motars 109 12 days ago +1

      Doraemon .25 just because its low doesn’t mean it doesn’t have good battery life

  • Limaa008
    Limaa008 12 days ago

    Design in California, Assembled in USA, Made In China

  • Wilberforce Wilpower
    Wilberforce Wilpower 13 days ago

    The potrait mode though ....forgotten

  • Dhruvil Patel
    Dhruvil Patel 13 days ago

    Waiting for pixel 4 .❣️💯

  • Melody Lane
    Melody Lane 13 days ago

    What about the microphone? What I hate about my X is when recording someone standing in front of me and talking to them, I am loud and they are quiet. I need mic on both sides.

    • von7
      von7 12 days ago +1

      It already has a mic on both sides. There’s one in the bottom to the right of the charging port, and one to the right earpiece-speaker.

  • J SLiM
    J SLiM 14 days ago

    What does punchier mean here?

  • Louisa Muniz
    Louisa Muniz 14 days ago

    Cc

  • Extraterritorial Us
    Extraterritorial Us 14 days ago

    WOW

  • 唐世力
    唐世力 14 days ago

    Didn’t you notice the obvious FLARE problem in night mode edpecially?

  • Me Nature
    Me Nature 14 days ago

    Nahh... i would like to see a no notch iphone completely all screen with 90 or 120ghz refresh rate

  • Michal Hrubčo
    Michal Hrubčo 14 days ago

    hi, would you buy an iphone 11 for max or note 10+?

  • Michal Hrubčo
    Michal Hrubčo 14 days ago

    hi, would you buy an iphone 11 for max or note 10+?

  • Bishal Sapkota
    Bishal Sapkota 15 days ago

    Nobody🤧
    Pro like me ; Do you want to buy my kidney?

  • TheTinyTimmyTimTim
    TheTinyTimmyTimTim 15 days ago

    Naming definitely matters. Nobody is doing any type of pro work on a smart phone, whereas their other pro offerings like the ipad pro and macbook pro absolutely do fill that role.

  • Scott Klein
    Scott Klein 15 days ago

    Rent is so cheap and phones are very affordable. I think I’ll ask my friends and family to buy this product and make more money for visa, inc. Then I think I will blame the system for the next 10 years and ask for free college. Why wouldn’t I if i have the latest iPhone.

  • Wall Street
    Wall Street 16 days ago +3

    No Snake? Not gonna upgrade my Nokia 3210 this year either... 😦

  • Faeiz Vanderago
    Faeiz Vanderago 16 days ago +2

    is this a phone with camera or is it camera with phone? im confused...

    • Chris D
      Chris D 11 days ago

      Faeiz Vanderago both! it’s the worlds fastest phone, with the best smartphone camera. I’ve seen some deep fusion images, and it’s a huge step up again from these images. Video is even more impressive imo!

  • Manish Bhatia
    Manish Bhatia 16 days ago

    Hi, I have a question - Do you suggest to put screen protector on iPhone 11 Pro Max? Does it really make sense to put one or it will ruin the experience of touch?

  • A Najjar
    A Najjar 16 days ago

    Nokia did the same camera quality 10 years ago. And if Apple actually doing alterations and digital enhancements on the image by combining other images or adding filters. This means its NOT a professional camera. cause professional photographers wont use a pre-altered image.

  • Melissaj Vaaganay
    Melissaj Vaaganay 16 days ago

    iPhones are really great to play with. Thanks lots for sharing. :D

  • libia majora
    libia majora 16 days ago

    thanks for the info but i’ll buy iPhone 15 because at that time it wil be totally “pro”

  • chessdude67
    chessdude67 16 days ago

    Great reviews! I'm going with the iPhone 11 Pro 256. I use the camera much more than for talking & texting. 

  • Language Of Desire
    Language Of Desire 16 days ago +2

    Is it really the best camera. Must be compared with others. Well any how, i will stick with Apple, my way to go

  • Chaulk Top
    Chaulk Top 16 days ago

    at night the max takes time to take photo but. . . . .when it does great shot clear etc. . but it takes awhile to take the shot
    my 2 cents

  • KartiK KaushiK
    KartiK KaushiK 16 days ago

    such a detailed and awesome review

  • BadBoo
    BadBoo 17 days ago

    What next? Iphone 13 pro?

  • Smaeyl
    Smaeyl 17 days ago

    Amazing review! I switched from the XR to the11 Pro because of the cameras. I love street photography and for me this phone is maybe the best camera for taking great street shots.

  • Arjun Prakash
    Arjun Prakash 18 days ago

    Anyone having issues with Wi-Fi on iPhone 11 Pro?