Frozen II - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 19, 2019
  • Despite the FTC's idiotic belief that animation is strictly for kids, this review of Frozen II is not. Move along COPPA.
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Frozen II, starring Idina Menzel, Kristen Bell, Jonathan Groff, Josh Gad. Directed by Jennifer Lee, Chris Buck.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 4 427

  • Alyssa Bennett
    Alyssa Bennett 2 hours ago

    I just went to see this movie with no expectations, and I loved it. I won’t say the story is great or flawless, but I will say I enjoyed every minute of the film. There were great messages in it, and certain scenes actually made me tear up (“Show Yourself” especially). It’s a good film if you’re looking for just Disney magic and feel-goodness.

  • Samantha Erwin
    Samantha Erwin 19 hours ago

    I am completely on you on the whole end choice. It really disappointed me as well. (As much as I want to talk about it too, I won't). Going to Kristoff, I wonder why they even added the idea that he was trying to propose the whole movie if they never built anything off of it. While I think it was meant to demonstrate the independence of Anna and her relationship with Elsa, it also makes him into a pushover character. I understand that not all women are interested or ready for marriage, and should deny it if they're not ready, but what does this truly add to the story? Nothing? They could have achieved the same thing if Kristoff never brought up marriage and continued to serve as a supporting character, then the whole idea of focus on Anna and Elsa would have still been there.
    I will leave at that because I could go on that point for a while.

  • saibotacinom
    saibotacinom Day ago

    I've seen the movie now, you can talk to me about it!

  • David Ardo
    David Ardo Day ago

    That Rurouni Kenshin shirt hit me with the feels 😢

  • David Ardo
    David Ardo Day ago

    That Rurouni Kenshin shirt hit me with the feels 😢

  • Daniel Critchley
    Daniel Critchley 2 days ago

    Agreed with everything you said except the songs. I thought they was poor. I can't remember a single track (dispite them being sung fantastic) but I could tell you numerous songs from frozen 1

  • john cameron
    john cameron 2 days ago +1

    Your review is 1000% spot on!!!!! I just wanted Elsa and Anna staying together. The ending was awful. Loved your video!!!! Would you want a Frozen 3?

    • RuinousJeff Peptalk
      RuinousJeff Peptalk Day ago

      Frozen III would be awful, they're given chance to handle bigger story and they blew it. Imagine Frozen III with even more unnecessary plot (will happen)

  • john cameron
    john cameron 2 days ago +6

    I hated this movie. That ending sucked. Elsa/Anna separation no way. Bring Elsa back home to Anna.

  • VERGUCO
    VERGUCO 2 days ago +1

    the only good thing this movie have is the animation, everything else is shit and you can like it but still is shit. and the ending makes absolutley no sense

  • J*ker
    J*ker 2 days ago

    Olaf is the star of the show

  • foxy hunter
    foxy hunter 2 days ago

    Anna I know

  • Msmeliss ox
    Msmeliss ox 2 days ago

    Oh... he's talking about Anna... yeah

  • Nonya Business
    Nonya Business 3 days ago

    Too bad. The ending was the best part for me.

  • Andrew Guilmain
    Andrew Guilmain 3 days ago

    oh come one, Kristoff had the best song in the entire movie. hands down, it parodied everything that was so cliche about boy bands and power ballads. It was funny, and fit his character, because he's not a very seious character and neither was the song or anything he really sang about. I was laughing through the entire song and enjoyed it really well. But to each their own

  • Megan Grimison
    Megan Grimison 3 days ago

    please follow up

  • Ixerarim Voldemort
    Ixerarim Voldemort 3 days ago

    I have seen it!!!

  • annie c
    annie c 3 days ago

    not worth seeing in the theater, shoulda been a straight to video, very disappointing film imo

  • EtchedInStone
    EtchedInStone 3 days ago +1

    I only saw this because my girlfriend forced me to. As it turned out, this film put me to sleep.

  • Tae Tae
    Tae Tae 3 days ago +1

    I think they focused on olaf beacause

    Spoiler:


    Because he dies later on in the movie.

    -
    Also I think the point was Anna saves Elsa this time.
    Visually the movie was very good the story was all about spirits and magic which kinda was reaching.
    The movie was more mature I liked this one more because it had great songs and visuals.
    Elsa has to kinda prove herself to be the fifth spirit through different challenges. I was bummed to see Anna and Elsa went their separate ways but overall I give it 7.5, would definitely watch it again.

  • Ariette Hung
    Ariette Hung 3 days ago

    I loved it! :)

  • diki k
    diki k 3 days ago +1

    Nothing's perfect yet there's frozen.. yes i totally agree with you disappointed with the ending.. i can ignore all the flaws in storyline, songs, olaf all but the ending was jist so unnecessary..

  • Laurel Welch
    Laurel Welch 3 days ago

    So, are we going to get that commentary about the ending (or a spoiler review) now that the movie's been out for a few weeks?

  • Christophe P.
    Christophe P. 3 days ago

    I came back just out of curiosity (I left after you ask for money to make short film) ...well I am glad I left

  • markatkinson167
    markatkinson167 4 days ago +1

    Must be honest I thought this was a pretty poor follow up. Your left thinking surely after several years there must have been a meatier plot than this. It made little sense. It just was not entertaining enough. Sadly disappointed.

  • Janko M.
    Janko M. 4 days ago

    There is a villain. Villain are all the people combined, and their stupidity. Because they are stupid, they want to start a war with one another. Main character, who is so powerful, that he cannot deal with only one villain, has to tell them, that their reasons for conflict are stupid. The same type of main protagonist and story as Elsa and Frozen II are Hiccup and How to train your dragon, Carol Denvers and Captain Marvel and probably Kylo Ren and Star Wars sequel trilogy.

  • Milstead on Movies
    Milstead on Movies 4 days ago

    I preferred the story in this one, but then again, I really didn't like the first movie

    • Milstead on Movies
      Milstead on Movies 16 hours ago

      Nintendozilla17 Yeah, that's fine. To be honest, I only went into this film because I have a limitless card and I was waiting for traffic to die down. I wasn't expecting to enjoy it at all & I ended up pleasantly surprised

    • Nintendozilla17
      Nintendozilla17 2 days ago

      The first one actually made me care for the characters when i first saw it. The 2nd one doesn't make me care about the characters. its not because they're boring, its because its uninteresting. The film trys to be so funny, but it turns out the film was kinda annoying. Plot was not interesting or shocking. C+ for frozen 2.

  • eggnoG
    eggnoG 4 days ago +3

    Why is no one talking about pocahontas and frozen being connected through gale? I thought that was super obvious

  • Ibidefredi
    Ibidefredi 5 days ago

    Is elsa now a lesbian

  • jared garden
    jared garden 5 days ago

    Water doesn't have memory.
    This is bad to teach kids, they will go out and spend hundreds of dollars on water.

  • 4leafclover
    4leafclover 5 days ago

    "Let is go Chris...let it go...." LOL

  • Saiyan 2775
    Saiyan 2775 5 days ago

    Spoiler review! Spoiled review!

  • Killer Bee
    Killer Bee 5 days ago +10

    I honestly love Olaf BECAUSE he’s annoying lol

    • Benjamin Dunne
      Benjamin Dunne 4 days ago +1

      I found him a lot less annoying in this film actually

  • Sara Sam
    Sara Sam 5 days ago

    I love it I’m 28y 😁

  • Melissa Mermaid
    Melissa Mermaid 5 days ago

    I wanna hear you talk about the spoilers now!

  • MissZoey007
    MissZoey007 5 days ago +3

    End racism against White people
    Disney is dead

  • Juan Jose Pineda
    Juan Jose Pineda 6 days ago

    Huh the wrongs made by the grandfather was the villain and they had to correct the wrongs of the past. Dislike this critic review what makes a great Disney musical? Let’s hear it out :)

  • c0mpu73rguy
    c0mpu73rguy 6 days ago

    I actually hated the forced villain in the first film, so there being no villain here is an improvement. Actually, I enjoyed Frozen II while I hated Frozen with a passion, so it must be doing something right even if I can't put my finger on it (because it's too cold and and could get stuck).

  • Kelly Pagano
    Kelly Pagano 6 days ago +1

    I agree with you on the Olaf thing. The movie was visually fantastic. I didn’t mind the story choices as much as you. The two Elsa songs are amazing. The song with the dude made me laugh because they did it like a Brian Adams or Peter Satera video from the late 80’s early 90’s. I thought it was fun. Lol. I liked the story a lot more than you now that I think about it. I know the choice you’re talking about. I actually liked that choice. Anyway... good times as always Chris. I gave it an A. I get where you’re coming from thiugh

  • Gabriel Anderson
    Gabriel Anderson 6 days ago

    Please review Klaus!

  • Astaria Naira
    Astaria Naira 6 days ago

    Please post a spoiler review sometime. I was confused and disappointed by the movie and really want to hear you vent.

  • Fodwocket
    Fodwocket 6 days ago

    I'd love to see a spoiler video when it's okay to do so 😁

  • Tim Willson
    Tim Willson 6 days ago

    Chris, I normally vibe with your opinions, but I felt like you were way off on this one. It's a very insightful story about identity, and I for one found it to be compelling and deeply satisfying. Just wanted to respectfully disagree! I love your reviews!

  • Misty Rose
    Misty Rose 6 days ago

    I absolutely loved it because that was the intent....it was just so out of place that it was hilarious, and as much as I love it, that is something I just cannot overlook. As soon as those guitar riffs started I knew I was in for something weird, and had a great experience, just not something I expected in a Disney movie at all 😂😂 Totally something you could just play anywhere else and no one would guess it’s a Disney song.

  • eggnoG
    eggnoG 6 days ago

    SPOILER REVIEW!

  • Musfirat Hasan
    Musfirat Hasan 7 days ago +4

    THANK YOU for saying this! The whole movie was sooooooo good! but the end didn't make sense (to me). It really made me sad! I mean that seriously was not a happy ending man! (maybe it isn't a proper reason not to be satisfied with the ending BUT IT IS!) Me and my little sister relate so much with Elsa and Anna as we practically grew apart but are really close now. I am having a slight bit of anxiety cuz of the ending as I literally feel Elsa so much.

    what? can there not be two queens? that's why she has to go to exile? -_- Narnia had 2!

  • uno23sleep
    uno23sleep 7 days ago

    I just watched this recently. The animation is so damn amazing, but I get your point about the flaw with the story. But you can't deny the setup on the lore for the opening hymn!

  • SHY SHY
    SHY SHY 7 days ago +1

    Thank you for acknowledging the character and plot flaws! Most people are just raving about how amazing it is and I’m not sure I loved it that much.

  • Bilbo Bagins
    Bilbo Bagins 7 days ago

    I completely disagree with this score. I saw this movie tonight and I'd give it a solid 7/10 and the story was 100x better than the first movie. I've been watching Chris's reviews for over 3 years now and this is one of the first reviews that I 100% disagree with. This movie is pretty damn good.

  • Panda
    Panda 7 days ago +1

    I was very excited for this film. I enjoyed it but I do agree that it does have its problems. Some of the story choices I did not like at all. Especially the thing that happens at the end! Ugh! Why?

  • • VirusS •
    • VirusS • 7 days ago +1

    That intro killed me 🤣🤣


    By the way fuck coppa

  • laurie M haysom
    laurie M haysom 7 days ago

    Frozen is the highest grossing animation of all time so of course it gets a sequel and Disney can sell all the frozen toys that didn't sell the first time just put new packaging on them

  • Katherine Black
    Katherine Black 7 days ago

    Ooo ouch C+. Seems you enjoyed Weathering with You more since gave it a B

  • l3emh
    l3emh 7 days ago +4

    I was hoping the stone trolls and Kristoff have more important roles :(

  • Daakkuu YRS
    Daakkuu YRS 7 days ago +1

    Frozen 2 had a bad story, full of cliches and none of the characters did something usefull. However, when I think about what I liked in the original, and that's was the sisters' bond, Frozen 2 took it to the extreme in a good way. It was just a sugar cube one by one. So overall I'm satisfied with the movie, but I still can't think it as a proper sequel. It was like two hours of children books of Frozen that Anna, Elsa, and Kristoff have fun. But that's what I wanted to be honest.

  • Jeremy Ray
    Jeremy Ray 7 days ago

    That’s not her name John Travolta.

  • Jeremy Ray
    Jeremy Ray 7 days ago

    They are never going to live that down. Adele Dazeem.

  • curated bits
    curated bits 7 days ago

    UGHHH I WANT A SPOILER REVIEW!!!

  • Archie Utai
    Archie Utai 7 days ago +1

    What decision did you not like?? *SPOILER* Was it saving Arendelle?? Or the sisters separating??

    • Lazarus Tennessee
      Lazarus Tennessee 6 days ago

      Spoilers
      Probably talking about when Anna wanted to destroy the dam and possibly destroy the town of Arrendale.

  • jeremy 94
    jeremy 94 7 days ago

    Am I the only one who thought the movie was about race and classism??....The wall, the two different groups, when Elsa quotes that fear blinds you, and that doing the right thing will not take away from you, "Arendelle(America) didn't fall"...that's what I got. (Making this comment before watching the video)

  • octagonproplex
    octagonproplex 8 days ago

    It's a bad movie. Beautifully animated. But bad.