The Outsider Episode 1 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 13, 2020
  • Steve Varley gives his review of The Outsider episode 1 "Fish in a Barrel" *Spoilers*
    When the body of an 11-year-old boy is found in the Georgia woods, detective Ralph Anderson launches an investigation into the gruesome murder.
    Stars: Julianne Nicholson, Ben Mendelsohn, Jason Bateman
    Steve Varley is a Film/Television Commentator. You will not get more honest, genuine and funny TV/Movie reviews anywhere else. Steve also does celebrity interviews with the stars themselves. Subscribe for good fortune.
    Follow on Twitter & Instagram
    @stevevarley1
    #TheOutsider #HBO #TheOutsiderHBO
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 60

  • Subversively Surreal
    Subversively Surreal 3 hours ago +1

    I kept thinking, ‘What’s his motive?’ I am going to catch up...I loved this first episode.
    ps: hi, Steve!💋

  • Xavier Lee
    Xavier Lee 5 hours ago

    Great review mate! X

  • Erin Chassereau
    Erin Chassereau 9 hours ago

    Steve!! I just started watching this show and binged the first 3 eps then came straight to your review!! Great to hear your breakdowns again! 😁❤

  • ethnomusicologist1
    ethnomusicologist1 10 hours ago

    Yay didn't know if other people were watching ! It just popped up on sky tv here in Ireland

  • Mider999
    Mider999 23 hours ago

    Was this more a supernatural thriller or a mystery?

  • Renee Lasswell
    Renee Lasswell Day ago +1

    Great review. I actually didn't love this book, good but not King's best. This may be one of the rare cases where I like the adaptation better than the source material.

  • ABC CINEMA
    ABC CINEMA 4 days ago

    Thank you for not adding the book spoilers , other reviewers are already spoiling the show...

  • Mr.Johnny_Raincloud
    Mr.Johnny_Raincloud 4 days ago

    Lol I forgot about this show. Need to reup my HBO NOW account

  • doug avila
    doug avila 4 days ago

    One word describes the series from 1 and 2......CHILLING!!!!!!

  • Ric Martin
    Ric Martin 5 days ago

    Can someone please help me understand something? The video footage of Jason Batemans character when he purposefully showed his face to the camera and flipped off the camera. This is obviously the shape shifter, but why would the shapeshifter outsider want to taunt the camera and the police?

  • Dan Palm
    Dan Palm 5 days ago

    What’s up with the guy in the hood at terry’s house when they were collecting evidence?

    • Suleman Rana
      Suleman Rana 3 days ago

      That’s the outsider I’m guessing

  • pimpchez
    pimpchez 5 days ago

    Great review brother 👏🏿✊🏿

  • J Gunzler
    J Gunzler 6 days ago

    Plot Hole?!?!
    🕳 The little black girl saw “Terry” at the Park covered in blood where he then hopped into the white van and took off. When the guy and his dog discovered the boys body, the white van was still there. HOW is this possible?

  • Dallas Cowboys Highlights

    I've watched the first two episodes and it's really good so far. I haven't read the book so it's all new to me. Hopefully the show won't go full stupid (see Castle Rock) later in the season.

  • DavesHadeNuFF187
    DavesHadeNuFF187 7 days ago

    Great review man!!! Yeah with something like this show I hate spoilers.I don’t blame you.It’s just way too good to be ruined.I can already tell that this will be up there with one of my new favorite Stephen King tv show.It’s crazy how finally after all these years they are really diving into Stephen King more then they normally do.It’s crazy it took a remake of Stephen Kings It to do that.The man is loaded with such amazing stories to make movies and tv shows with for a good while.His son is great too.Like father,like son is a true statement there lol.

  • MAMA DEE REACTS
    MAMA DEE REACTS 7 days ago

    I’m not a SK reader but like the supernatural aspect! Started reacting to it because the trailer was so intriguing!!

  • Charlie Hustle570
    Charlie Hustle570 8 days ago

    The do we su'em and how joke. That's a three stoogies reference, no?

  • Duncan Clark
    Duncan Clark 8 days ago

    Love this review and I love Frankie Peterson, btw, I’m frankie

  • Will
    Will 8 days ago +4

    I'm glad I didn't read the book so I can enjoy the series more. The 1st 2 episode hooked me. This show so far is Goddamn amazing.

    • Angelina Buendia
      Angelina Buendia 6 days ago +1

      Roller Girl yeah so far it is pretty close to the book. I hope this means Bateman will direct more episodes. He did a great job with these two.

    • Roller Girl
      Roller Girl 6 days ago +1

      Me too. I’m HOOKED. I’m just upset (spoiler alert for episode two......)
      Jason Bateman (Terry Maitland) is killed off 🙁

    • Will
      Will 7 days ago +2

      @Angelina Buendia I intend to :)

    • Angelina Buendia
      Angelina Buendia 7 days ago +2

      Will read the book after. Don’t want to interfere with your enjoyment of the series but the book is soo good too.

  • Richard Butler
    Richard Butler 8 days ago

    This show feels like what I wanted at the end of TDS1, and maybe the type of story TDS2 should have gone for although I think I appreciate what TDS2 was trying to do (walk in the footsteps of Chinatown).

  • Joy Gill
    Joy Gill 8 days ago +4

    When Jack, bouncer for the strip joint, is being interrogated, notice he scratches his wrist, he also is scene at around the 14:00 min mark in EPISODE 1, looking at his hand in surveillance footage, right after "Terry" shakes his hand.

    • Anonymous Poster
      Anonymous Poster 6 days ago

      My other thought is when he’s making the pancakes, at the beginning of episode 1, and they’re discussing the dye combinations for the color pancake they want, he says he ran out of BLUE dye, so he had to make green pancakes, but the wife says “ I’ll never understand how BLUE and yellow dye make green”; eg how did he make green pancakes if he was out of blue dye?..... and so, because the opening credits show what looks like dye or ink swirling around, I thought maybe it could be connected to the overall story!

    • Anonymous Poster
      Anonymous Poster 6 days ago +1

      Well it’s a good catch... I remember thinking it was weird that he shook his hand for the bathroom info... but I didn’t make the connection to the story about the nurse cutting him till I watched again... I think the bar manager is prob gonna be the next “killer”

    • Roller Girl
      Roller Girl 6 days ago +1

      I will say this yes, I did notice the wrist scratch at the beginning of the interrogation but when he looked at his hand in the surveillance video I thought it was because he shook his hand and his hand got blood on it from Terry

    • Joy Gill
      Joy Gill 6 days ago

      @Roller Girl its so obvious

    • Joy Gill
      Joy Gill 6 days ago

      @Roller Girl Because he is the other "terry"

  • tjw5083
    tjw5083 8 days ago +2

    Really solid recap. Appreciate you making all the connections to how folks involved in The Outsider were also involved in other hbo shows like The Night Of and TD. 👍🏻

  • Donte H
    Donte H 8 days ago +4

    Reading the book and then watching a show or movie will always be different. You can’t put everything into a one hour show and there are details and visuals that won’t be shown. It was a good first episode. It’s dark, dreary and very well paced. The music set up tension in scenes very well. I was surprised they showed the body and the scenes of the family dying one by one was rough to watch. The acting is great or course and I’ll be watching to see how they portray the rest of the story. Beware the man in the hoodie

    • Tosh Omni
      Tosh Omni 7 days ago +1

      I don't think I've ever liked a film or tv adaption of a Steven King work better than the book or story itself and this is no exception. Still a good show though.

  • SK Wilde
    SK Wilde 8 days ago +1

    Editing. Music ... "Praise be!" XD ... so great to hear you appreciate these two essential storytelling devices. Another great video, Steve. THANKS ^u^

  • RoxiRoxi Me
    RoxiRoxi Me 8 days ago

    I have the book, so I can’t watch it until I read it, but thanks to your review that will be my next one! 😊

  • Sauga Verse
    Sauga Verse 8 days ago +4

    First of all, I am intreaged with the show.
    I wanna keep watching to see what eventually evolves.
    However, the story so far does have a few flaws.
    Based on the contradictory evidence, the first thing the cops should have asked is, "Does he have a twin brother?"
    I'm sure the show is going to go off in a weird direction, but based on episode #1, the logical deduction the cops should have made was to ask about a twin.
    Identical twins not only look the same, but they also have the exact same DNA.

    • Sauga Verse
      Sauga Verse 8 days ago +2

      @SaintDomingo1 That is true, which may point the cops in the directon of > clones.

    • SaintDomingo1
      SaintDomingo1 8 days ago

      Identical twins do not have the same finger prints though.

  • GiveMeShelter
    GiveMeShelter 9 days ago +1

    Great review. Wonder of the stranger is a shape shifter?

  • Logan Jarrard
    Logan Jarrard 9 days ago +17

    Great review. Loved this show. The music was insane. I can’t remember when I’ve heard better. At times I literally turned the volume down because it just made it too intense.

    • Steve Varley
      Steve Varley  Day ago

      thanks logan, appreciate your kind words

    • Roller Girl
      Roller Girl 6 days ago

      “Watchmen” had great 👍🏻 music too

    • Jerry Obrien
      Jerry Obrien 8 days ago

      Great review Steve. I would add the black goo. they turned half the book into 2 episodes. which is a great idea since first half of book is slooow
      Holley Gibney comes on the screen (played in Mr Mercedes ) next i can not wait. From Rose the Hat to Greg Stillson Stephen King creates
      the best characters and never bores his audience.

  • Ean
    Ean 9 days ago +6

    Loved the vibe and ambiance of episode one as well as two. I’ve just downloaded the book and I plan to finish it before episode 3. 🙌🏾😂

  • Lydia Quinn
    Lydia Quinn 9 days ago +11

    Wow....How did you do this so fast! I thought it was great! The way they jumped time lines and the way it was shot.. the acting... everything. Ben Mendelsohn is one of the best actors around. His character Danny in Bloodline was a masterpiece and you’re right, he’s a scene stealer here too.

    • Roller Girl
      Roller Girl 6 days ago +1

      nash sanadiki slow?!!! People are such idiots. They are probably the same people that think the WORST shows are great.

    • nash sanadiki
      nash sanadiki 9 days ago

      Some joker on IMDb said the episode was slow xD people who aren't used to Stephen King's Style of Story telling aren't gonna fall in love with this show

  • roomsonfire 80
    roomsonfire 80 9 days ago

    Why do you think they changed it from Samuels to Hayes?

  • Rosalita Boyd
    Rosalita Boyd 9 days ago +3

    It wasn't that good. The story takes place in the mid west. Not the south. They change a lot of the characters for no real reason, they change the order of things that happened in the story for no real reason. And they make it like more of a horror story that king did. All in all it's really just a crime story, and a very good one at that. when king starts to add the horror points to the story they don't overwhelm the crime story that's at the heart of the whole thing. People keep forgetting that the best thing about a Steven king story is not the horror but how he captures everyday life, then put something truly unreal into people's lives and shows how they deal or refuse to deal with it. Hopefully this show will get better, but it's not starting off very well.

    • SK Wilde
      SK Wilde 8 days ago +1

      Great analysis of Stephen King's basic approach. "The Dark Half" is one of my most enthralling, scary reads - taking the mundane and pushing it waaaay beyond comfortable. I'm not familiar with the source content of "The Outsider", but from the trailer it has a few things in common. I hope the series delivers.

    • rob calico
      rob calico 9 days ago +2

      Typical Hollywood for you!
      They get inspired by the source material then take "creative license" during the adaptation process to butcher the source material. It's just creatively lazy. I 100% agree with your post

  • DutchFresh
    DutchFresh 9 days ago +2

    Thanks for the fast review. Really enjoyed this show and don't know anything about the book.

  • Hochspitz Leonbergers
    Hochspitz Leonbergers 9 days ago +2

    Ok, so I shall come back to your review once I have watched this -:))