Galaxy Buds review: everything but the basics

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 28, 2019
  • Samsung’s Galaxy wireless buds were our shiny gleam of hope for cutting the headphone cord. The Galaxy Buds feel like feathers, they’re easy to sit in your ears, and they seem to get Samsung’s claimed six hours of battery life on a charge (with seven more in the case). The small form factor allows the case to easily fit in my pocket, but the problems set in when you begin to use them.
    Read more here: bit.ly/2U0fOHU
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Listen to our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TheXvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 852

  • The Verge
    The Verge  5 months ago +369

    What wireless headphones are you using? What do you want to be using?

    • Antonio Claudio Michael
      Antonio Claudio Michael 6 days ago

      I'm still rocking the Motorola rokr s9 s10 and s11 headsets for music I think the jabra sounded better when you were doing the talking demonstration better then both the air pods and galaxy buds

    • Dc_wallets
      Dc_wallets 12 days ago

      I use the galaxy buds they're my favourite so far. Although one of them broke so im trying to get new ones. I also tried the airpods but I couldn't stand them. They didn't fit inside my ear well and they look really weird. The noise cancelation was not great as well in my experience.

    • Chip Tallent III
      Chip Tallent III 14 days ago

      Apple airpods /samsung Galaxy Buds / samsung Gear iconx 2018(These you can use ambient mode on on the iphone! it is baked into the earbuds so works with all phones)

  • Mike Culp
    Mike Culp 20 hours ago

    I have the buds and I have to say, for wearing them at work listening to podcasts and some music, they're really comfortable and practical. I like that they pause my music when I take them out. I assumed call quality would be bad, but I'm not planning on using them much for that

  • Caitlyn Stepanov

    The galaxy buds sounded better

  • Jeffery Ikechukwu Nwabueze

    Listening with the buds

  • Danny Moonie
    Danny Moonie 3 days ago

    This is literally the opposite of the official introduction

  • Angélica
    Angélica 3 days ago

    This video was all over the place. I don't know man.

  • Calwin Titus
    Calwin Titus 3 days ago

    Jeez ! What they say about verge is true it seems

  • byron346
    byron346 5 days ago

    Awesome idea using the audio recorder. Pretty useful for me! Now, I read there has been some software updates, telling your opinion a out those would be nice

  • endless nameless
    endless nameless 5 days ago

    I have an iPhone XR and I use the galaxy buds. I actually absolutely love these and the software is FAR superior to AirPods, not to mention that they actually stay in your ears. I’ve literally never had a problem with latency or dropping.

  • Antonio Claudio Michael

    I'm still rocking the Motorola rokr s9 s10 and s11 headsets for music I think the jabra sounded better when you were doing the talking demonstration better then both the air pods and galaxy buds

  • Antonio Claudio Michael

    I agree with all your opinions the ambient sound settings I cant tell that it even works

  • victor fuentes
    victor fuentes 6 days ago

    Try sincing the media sound it's a huge help trust me!

  • Rampi Sarmiento
    Rampi Sarmiento 7 days ago

    This review is isn't fair. I had zero issues. And completely blow everything else. Out of the water. How can you be disappointed with these for $130. It's more than justified that price.
    Only thing I agree on is the swipe VS tap. Zero Bluetooth issue. Calls were clear. There's something wrong with your set up.

  • OBVIOUSLY IMRIGHT
    OBVIOUSLY IMRIGHT 8 days ago

    Why can't I add music to my Galaxy buds? It's not even an option in the wearable app
    There are not settings in the app

    • Lucas Oanta
      Lucas Oanta 7 days ago +1

      There's no internal storage like on the gear iconx 2018

  • Abu Panja
    Abu Panja 8 days ago +4

    The opening of this review wants me to close the video immediately!

  • Alexandre Lima
    Alexandre Lima 8 days ago

    I still want to use the galaxy buds haha

  • Toxic Word
    Toxic Word 10 days ago

    I own a pair off galaxy buds and i can say the mic quality is not good. But the audio quality is very good in my opinion. I use it with my Galaxy note 8 and it sounds better than the AKG earphones i got in the box.

  • John Krain
    John Krain 11 days ago

    I can tell.. she hates because it's samsung, not apple.. just like how I hate apple because it's not samsung. :)

  • Ashrith B
    Ashrith B 12 days ago +1

    possibly the worst review I have ever seen on youtube

  • Rashad Hammond
    Rashad Hammond 12 days ago

    I have them and I like them a lot

  • Evan Wang
    Evan Wang 13 days ago

    Listening on galaxy buds

  • Chip Tallent III
    Chip Tallent III 14 days ago

    Have Dieter do an updated review!

  • Dean Hayden
    Dean Hayden 14 days ago

    I've been using the Galaxy buds for a while and I haven't experienced these issues the sound is great and the bluetooth connection is strong i will say the call quality isn't the best but it isn't the worst when on the phone I never get any complaints there comfy and light and easy to use when it comes to it these a perfect earbud out there for everybody just have to find the right one

  • Justin Burgess
    Justin Burgess 14 days ago

    I just got mine yest and I have the Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus and all I can say is these are amazing! I go almost 24/7 with headphones on and too not even realize their in your ears and you can forget about them is huge and you wouldnt think they would put out the sound quality compared to other similar types of headphones cause of how small they are but I was shocked and I have a pair of dre beats solo and couldnt believe how close to being of the same quality they were when you fig their around $150 cheaper! I highly recommend these even if your not using them on a samsung product they are still great and you cant really tell the difference.

  • Roshawn Stothart
    Roshawn Stothart 15 days ago +3

    Idk what she's talking about, they are 🔥

  • Immortal So Far
    Immortal So Far 15 days ago +1

    Ok, someone help me out, that that a guy or gurl?

  • Tadhg Brady
    Tadhg Brady 15 days ago

    Are the galaxy buds water proof?

  • WestCoast Michael
    WestCoast Michael 15 days ago

    Another puff piece for Apple. Hey, I like Apple and Samsung, they are both superb companiesand I float between the two as I get bored with their respective systems. But I tire of the Verge bashing all that is not Apple. And judging from the 1/3 down votes, I would seem to be not alone.

  • edrian vincent marte
    edrian vincent marte 16 days ago +7

    Im using galaxy buds while watching this awesome video ❤

  • arshad khan
    arshad khan 17 days ago +1

    6:36 You have called yourself, who you are "what's up-ing"?

  • Yutae Gil
    Yutae Gil 17 days ago +1

    Jaybird all the way. No compromises.

  • Brittany Rose
    Brittany Rose 18 days ago +32

    My boyfriend got his free with his Note10+ and he loves them 🤷‍♀️

    • vindicatorx
      vindicatorx 8 days ago +2

      I got them in the same promotion and I have to say they are great compared to most wireless earbuds I have tried. This reviewer is so far off it's laughable.

    • madadi saikethan
      madadi saikethan 16 days ago

      Hello

  • Y. MN
    Y. MN 20 days ago

    I don't know why all the hates, to me this is one of the best accurate reviews.
    Thanks for the great job.

  • Amee Divine
    Amee Divine 20 days ago

    I may be a little late coming into this discussion but here's my view. So far I've used the Airpods and as much as I love my iPhone, the airpods didn't really cut for me. I don't like the design of it to be honest, I guess my impulsiveness got in the way and so I bought it. I also did not like that it's not a bud. They always, always tend to slip or fall off my ear especially when I'm chewing or moving too much.. so instead, I bought tips and ear anchors thingy just to make sure they don't fall off but the hassle of removing them after each use is ridiculous. I love the fact that the buds come with interchangeable tips (kudos!) As for the sound quality, it's almost the same between Airpods and the Buds and honestly when she tested it on the video earlier, it was not that bad. But hey, in this day an age, people text way more than calling. Oh, I'm using these buds with my Oppo Reno Z because I hate Samsung phones. Sure, they are nice to look at and stuff but after prolonged use, the lag issue ALWAYS comes back.. no matter what Samsung model it is. I don't know why, but that happened. I'm gonna test this with my iPhone too because, why not. As long as I get to hear my music while I work, I'm good. I think if someone is looking for a more superior sound quality, wired earphones will give you that.

  • avi shalom
    avi shalom 20 days ago

    u ar very good rely

  • Joseph Guy
    Joseph Guy 21 day ago

    Better then air pods this man hates all things not apple

  • ToeNailBreaker
    ToeNailBreaker 22 days ago

    I was debating what to but with my $150 Samsung credit for preordering the Note10+ . Thanks to this video I went with the Gear Watch 46mm LTE, nough said.

  • Lovish Middha
    Lovish Middha 23 days ago

    Samsung phones can record calls, you don't need an external fancy recorder

  • OwO warrior owo
    OwO warrior owo 23 days ago

    I do have a problem with the video lag though, I'm using a huawei mate 20 pro, is there anyway I can fix that?

  • NoImpulse_ Ctrl
    NoImpulse_ Ctrl 24 days ago

    Glad to see your hairstylist has a sense of humor!

    • IceHot 900
      IceHot 900 22 days ago

      😂😂😂😂😂🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣😂😂😂😂😂😂😂🤣🤣😂😂🤣😂😂🤣😂😂🤣🤣😂🤣🤣🤣😂😂😂🤣🤣😂🤣 I am WHEEZiNG

  • Savrior
    Savrior 24 days ago

    go watch Pocketnow's video. this review is heavily misleading

  • Foxy
    Foxy 24 days ago

    Get a call recorder app

  • I love Lasagna
    I love Lasagna 24 days ago

    I have no idea why you have such distain for these headphones

  • aswarmer
    aswarmer 24 days ago

    I got told the mic was going to be great, and it's the feature I NEED...
    ... I'm already a bother to repeat myself, and first time accuracy is very important to what I do.
    I'm probably going to return them, but don't know what to replace them with. I guess I could wait for Gen 2?

    • ThatLatinGuy
      ThatLatinGuy 22 days ago

      aswarmer uravgconsumer did a mic test of this, airpods, and beats pro. IMO, the beats pro sounded the best. But they’re also the most expensive. So, there’s that.

  • Kwan Kwan
    Kwan Kwan 25 days ago

    Galaxy buds, is that soft touch or real push in button ?

  • Kwan Kwan
    Kwan Kwan 25 days ago

    You should try the Sony ear duo or the Sony SBH82D ~ especially for the comfortness n good quality sound , the mic really good.

  • Rafal Iwanczuk
    Rafal Iwanczuk 25 days ago +1

    I actually had a very different experience with the Buds. I haven't tried a ton of similar products, since I'm mostly used to bigger headphones. However, I also needed a more practical and discreet option for when I'm not at home.

    A friend of mine had purchased the AirPods, so I took the opportunity to try them out. My curiosity quickly faded out, as I discovered they weren't much more than wireless EarPods, for me personally. The sound quality is good, better than the Galaxy Buds, but actually less enjoyable because of the amount of ambient noise they let inside. Also, the fact they don't fit my ears properly is stressful; it's not like they fall off all the time, but the're not secure enough to make me forget about them.

    And that's really what I was looking for. I needed something small and lightweight, which sounded good and made the world quieter. You see, I have been using the AKG-tuned earphones included with my S9+ for the past year. I've been mostly okay with them, but I had two major complaints: the cable, and the fit. The cable is obvious; however, their fit is the biggest issue: I found those earphones to be hard to fit correctly and create a perfect seal. Even then, if they happen to move ever so slightly, it's not easy to lose this seal - which makes all bass disappear entirely.

    None of these things happened with the Galaxy Buds. Super easy to put in my ears, the seal is flawless and they just stay there. Their sound quality isn't remarkable, but it's better than I expected from a product this small and relatively inexpensive. Then, all features just add up to the experience; they have more than enough battery life for may daily usage, and I can charge them wirelessly. The case is small enough to fit in that small right pocket in all my jeans, no tangled wires at all, instant pairing. Microphones are bad, but I'd confidently say that phone calls aren't among the most used features on my phone, so I wouldn't really have noticed - and G Assistant still understands me.

    I my day to day life, I do really forget they're even there. I mean, I know I can get better sounding wired earphones, or even full size headphones for the same price. However, I don't know of any other product that gives me this level of versatility.

    • Eric Whiteside
      Eric Whiteside 18 days ago +1

      @Rafal Iwanczuk thank you! That's what i needed to know!

    • Rafal Iwanczuk
      Rafal Iwanczuk 18 days ago +1

      ​@Eric Whiteside They're fairly comparable in terms of sound quality, and the wired AKG earphones aren't bad at all under this aspect. However, the Buds sound richer, with more emphasis on the low end - exactly where I had found the AKG earphones to be quite a bit underwhelming. They're much better than I expected for their price and size

    • Eric Whiteside
      Eric Whiteside 19 days ago

      How do you rate the sound quality in comparison to the stock wired AKG headphones? I have a pair on the way that should be here next week so I'm curious.

  • Lisa Ann
    Lisa Ann 25 days ago

    Samsung airbud excellent

  • Emily Gessner
    Emily Gessner 25 days ago

    I had the have a and then changed it to the buds. It was a great desicion, I think the jabra is too expensive for what it's worth.

  • Andrew Cisneros
    Andrew Cisneros 26 days ago

    I have some Google pixel buds and people have told me my audio quality on calls is pretty good. I'd like to hear them compared to Galaxy's mic.

  • Clay Cool
    Clay Cool 26 days ago +2

    Am I the only that hear no real difference on on the phone calling quality??? 🤷🏾‍♂️🤷🏾‍♂️

  • grass fadri
    grass fadri 28 days ago

    What can i do if i want to talk in a game, but my friends can't hear me so well? Is there somewhere in the settings a controll to manage that?

  • Joshua Lucas
    Joshua Lucas 28 days ago

    This emphasizes the importance of crowd-sourcing opinions. It's wrong, but it's still an opinion. Respect her perspective y'all.

  • Oshri Maidanik
    Oshri Maidanik 29 days ago

    HORRIBLE PRODUCT! The galaxy buds, it has a major Bluetooth connection issue, choppy sound at the moment u put it in the pocket. The Samsung galaxy buds is an inferior product compared to 3 years ago Bluetooth headphones. It has major connectivity issues! I try it with Samsung s9, redmi note7, oneplus6. and with 3 different in-store Samsung galaxy buds. DO NOT BUY!

  • Jeromeo 1
    Jeromeo 1 29 days ago +1

    Are you 12? Why am I listening to you?

  • Aishwarya Jain
    Aishwarya Jain Month ago +1

    Nice review..I liked your style. 👍🏻

  • Danny's Vlogs
    Danny's Vlogs Month ago

    For Samsung users there's a Dolby Atmos sound thing that can enhance the audio on these bad boys. The mic is fine as long as there's no wind blowing at you. Everyone can hear me fine and other than that the battery life is pretty long.

  • Sudden Revelations
    Sudden Revelations Month ago +1

    If you want a real review check out Floss.

  • *HeLLsFirE* SIVA
    *HeLLsFirE* SIVA Month ago

    Watch on 1.25x

  • Crypto Jihadi
    Crypto Jihadi Month ago

    LOVE the buds BUT the mic was useless for phone calls. It wasn't until the last upgrade where they are FINALLY usable to make a call, but still not great. Too bad. They are perfect otherwise.