Tesla Model S Plaid review - what will it do 0-60mph?

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 13, 2022
  • Need help buying your next car? Click the following link and my team and I will help you choose your ideal car at a fair price - from Mat Watson! bit.ly/-Help-Me-carwow
    .............................................................

    The time has come for Mat to review the Tesla Model S Plaid!

    It’s the all-new version of Tesla’s world-famous saloon, and Mat’s about to find out just how much it’s changed compared to the previous edition.

    Starting with the design… Well, it’s not all that different! Chrome accents from the previous edition have been swapped with black, while a boot lip spoiler has been added to the back and the looks up front have been made sleeker.

    Once you step inside, the biggest change is the introduction of the yoke steering wheel. The infotainment screen has also switched from portrait to landscape, and plush quality materials can be found throughout - no surprise given the price starts at £96,000!

    However, the biggest change compared to the old model is the performance! With one motor up front and two at the back, the new Model S Plaid can deliver 1,020hp & 1,400Nm!!

    So… Is it worth it? There’s only one way to find out - stick with Mat for his latest in-depth review!

    Chapters
    00:00 Intro
    00:42 Exterior Design
    02:14 Interior
    04:28 Back Seats
    05:54 Boot
    07:00 Annoying Things
    08:21 Cool Things
    09:30 Performance
    09:47 Town Driving
    11:27 Motorway Driving
    13:27 Twisty Road Driving
    15:50 0-60mph
    17:05 Verdict

    EV with a better turning circle - bit.ly/Better-Turning-Circle

    EV with more back-seat space - bit.ly/More-Back-Seat-Space

    Mat orders a Model S Plaid - bit.ly/Mat-Buys-A-Model-S-Plaid

    .............................................................
    Instagram - carwow

    Tiktok - www.tiktok.com/@carwow

    Facebook - carwowuk

    Twitter - carwowuk

    Sign Up to our Newsletter - bit.ly/carwow-Newsletter

    Awkward haggling is a thing of the past with carwow. Choose your perfect car with our configurator tool and let the country’s best dealers compete over you. Compare the five best offers by price, location and dealer ratings and choose the one that’s right for you - no hassle, no haggling, just a great deal.

    Oder auch in Deutschland Geld beim Autokauf sparen - bit.ly/carwow-DE

    Visita nuestra página web para saber cuánto te puedes ahorrar en tu nuevo coche - bit.ly/carwow-ES
  • Autos & VehiclesAutos & Vehicles

Comments • 5 134

  • carwow
    carwow  6 days ago +903

    So, are you a fan of the yoke steering wheel? VOTE below!

  • Scorp Seven
    Scorp Seven 6 days ago +4146

    Let's be honest here. We have a good grasp of the Plaid from other channels. But we're still excited to see that title from Matt and Carwow. And the upcoming Plaid drag races...esp a potential Plaid vs Rimac drag race.

    • Ameh Abraham
      Ameh Abraham 22 hours ago

      @Paul Stevens well that might be true consider the fact that Tesla said the top speed for the plaid is 200mph while it's 175mph with the new update. But am very confident that Tesla won't disappoint on the roadster

    • Freedom
      Freedom Day ago

      Plaid vs Rimac drag race at drag times channel thexvid.com/video/GUB1z5wr5p8/video.html

    • Paul Stevens
      Paul Stevens Day ago

      @Kristof V You are getting much more car with the rimac, a car actually designed to go very high speeds, a lot more R&D. Same reason bugattis and konniseggs ect cost so much.
      With the plaid they have just stuck a big motor in a saloon car

    • Paul Stevens
      Paul Stevens Day ago

      @Ameh Abraham I bet the roadster won't be much faster than the plaid, they'll just change the body for a slightly lighter 2 seater

    • Paul Stevens
      Paul Stevens Day ago

      @chris the doc It might be classed as a family car but its their flagship car...the fastest car they make, so is comparable

  • y j
    y j 5 days ago +83

    Not to worry about the yoke. The amazon sellers will soon make an extension that you put on the wheel to make it like a traditional one.

    • hofahome
      hofahome 5 hours ago

      @*_-dem-_* so do all of the other car makers steering wheels and those can be swapped most times. People put R8 steering wheels into other Audis all the time.

    • D Momcilovic
      D Momcilovic 15 hours ago

      Already done.

    • Exotic Cars
      Exotic Cars Day ago

      None of you even have a Plaid with a Yoke lol. Round wheels are for boomers. Yoke is superior

    • *_-dem-_*
      *_-dem-_* Day ago

      @hofahome but it has electrical stuff on it

    • y j
      y j 2 days ago

      Maybe

  • James Mccormack
    James Mccormack 6 days ago +9

    Love how this looks and in the metal the model S is stunning, Tesla have undoubtedly created the EV market, nice specs and tech too for the money. Sadly however I feel its way to fiddly to use in daily driving with all that touch screen functions and gear/direction selections. Sometimes design for designs sake isn't worth it.

    • Dima Lgo FUN
      Dima Lgo FUN 5 days ago +3

      @MICHGO1 its looks old like from 2013, even no matrix lights for that price... piece of battery...

    • MICHGO1
      MICHGO1 5 days ago +1

      @Dima Lgo FUN THE NEW CAR MAY LOOK THE SAME BUT IT'S COMPLETELY NEW.

    • Dima Lgo FUN
      Dima Lgo FUN 6 days ago +5

      will wait a little and big companies will smash this tesla with cars with normal buttons and steering wheel...etc... its just a joke.... what we will add to new tesla s - cause the body wil be the same, oh i know lets add joke, and lets rotate screen a nd speeddddd.... just piece of crap like iphones...

    • James Mccormack
      James Mccormack 6 days ago +3

      @skierpage If the voice controls work every time thats great, however not everyone wants to be driving about talking to their car?
      I imagine it is a great driving car, very relaxed and very smooth. As the model 3 I drove was too. The reason I can be so confident about the infotainment and lack of actual controls buttons and the need to be using sub menus to access most things (if voice command doesn't work) is because like I said in my comment for me, in my preference. I sometimes just like a simple button, one touch and it does what I want it to do. That's all.

    • skierpage
      skierpage 6 days ago +6

      I rented a Tesla Model 3 for a long trip. It's not fiddly at all to drive, it's relaxing and fun. The car generally does what you want, it has voice controls for most functions, and the screen interface is very intuitive.

      It's funny how TheXvid commenters are so confident that they know more about designing a good driving experience than paid engineers.

  • Simon G
    Simon G 3 days ago +36

    Surprised by the Buy verdict from Mat. I was sure he had an issue with the Yoke. Honestly it is the fastest car you can buy which is also a great family car. A lot of people won’t like it but Tesla don’t need them to fill their orders

    • Martin Mucklow
      Martin Mucklow 2 days ago +1

      Quickest but not fastest by a long way. Even the 2003 Jaguar S Type R has a higher top speed with well under half the power. Even purely in terms of acceleration, it launches very fast but there are quite a number of cars which beat it accelerating from 30mph including the 2007 BMW M5.
      It has the imoressive 0-60 figure but that's it really. It just launches very, very fast and unless you like spending on tyres you'll rarely use that anyway.

    • Adrenaline Junkie
      Adrenaline Junkie 2 days ago +2

      It's not the fastest family car, it's the fastest *accelerating* family car.

      A 2012 Brabus Rocket 800 Mercedes CLS 4dr (also a family car) can do 230mph.

    • KINDLY HELP ME REACH TO 100K SUB
      KINDLY HELP ME REACH TO 100K SUB 3 days ago

      WOWW YOU DON'T READ MY PROFILE PICTURE

  • Raydel Fernandez

    Nice Review as usual and you should race this Plaid edition against the more expensive Porsche Taycan Turbo S. The center console top cover is lockable underneath the wireless charger area as well as the other little one beneath that top one. Owner has to deal with Tesla dealer to fix it.

  • A K
    A K 6 days ago +533

    7:04 You can actually disable the auto lock and unlock function when you’re at home in your garage or driveway. The car will remember your home location automatically. It will still unlock when you touch the door handles and lock using the key.

    • Carlo Ferraris Alexander
      Carlo Ferraris Alexander 3 days ago

      Nogsteeds kut auto

    • A K
      A K 4 days ago

      @Mooshimoca 1when travelling 1 foot, speed is already 6mph, making it 6-60, not 0-60

    • Mackan70
      Mackan70 4 days ago

      @Joshua Vas but other manufacturers of regular cars do not present the roll out time as their 0-60 on the customer web page.

    • Mooshimoca
      Mooshimoca 4 days ago +2

      @A K its because with a foot of rollout it can do 1.99 in perfect conditions. Them amount of variables that slowed him down and he still hit a 2.4 (probs a 2.3) is great. He said he received it at 60% so it was likely at quite a bit less than that when he got to the acceleration test, then the road surface, the heat of the day, the possible incline and other shit would easily drop it down to the low 2's

    • Christopher
      Christopher 4 days ago

      Lqq

  • Mark Ramsay
    Mark Ramsay 6 days ago +2

    Great review - amazing car. As a RS6 owner, performance wise this car would blow it off the road. I have been on a race track with an older P100D and it made me sick (LOL) - in a straight line. But I still find the passion a little difficult to follow. I guess the sound of a V8 / V12 and exhaust will one day be a thing of the past..... but for me I find that a pity. I love starting my car on a cold morning. Love the change down splutter. I will need time to get used to this. ...

    • ZesPak
      ZesPak 6 hours ago

      @Pyriold they've been doing it for years through the speakers

    • Pyriold
      Pyriold 3 days ago +2

      Sound is pretty easy to add. Just saying...

    • Mark Ramsay
      Mark Ramsay 5 days ago

      @ZesPak oh the day will come for sure.

    • ZesPak
      ZesPak 5 days ago +3

      You might like it, but does your neighbor?
      We're getting a lot in return though, no more terrible automatic gearboxes (yes, I'm looking at you Audi), much reduced running cost, incredible torque vectoring and much more. Losing noise is a small price to pay imho.

    • What's +❶ (❽⓿❸) ❻❼⓿‑⓿❺❻❶
      What's +❶ (❽⓿❸) ❻❼⓿‑⓿❺❻❶ 6 days ago

      Send a message 👆👆 to claim your prize you have been selected as one of our lucky winners.
      Thanks for been an esteem subscriber. Carwow Cares....

  • Joop Tablet
    Joop Tablet 6 days ago +66

    Matt's the only car reviewer I can genuinely expect an unbiased review from. And he's pretty knowledgeable about how EVs work, too. I'm really interested to see how he feels about the yoke and the performance after owning the car for a couple of months. Another interesting thing: the range was never mentioned, because for 95% of driving scenarios out there, range anxiety just doesn't exist anymore.

    • sledgehammer
      sledgehammer 2 days ago

      @Anthony Bariek tesla has atrocious build quality. We're talking about a muskmobile here, not a s class.

    • alanngli
      alanngli 3 days ago

      @Joop Tablet Auto Traders now has Rory Reid as the presenter. I don’t know who they had before but it is really good now.

    • Anthony Bariek
      Anthony Bariek 5 days ago +2

      Unbiased? Did you not see how he glossed over the legendary Tesla build quality and the fact that Tesla (once again) have been a little economically with the truth regarding the 0-62mph time.

    • Mb One
      Mb One 5 days ago +1

      ps.he gets payed for saying good things about bad things and other way around.lol

    • Mb One
      Mb One 5 days ago +2

      bullshit..he is the most biased reviewer on youtube..lmao you should watch hes videos about cheaper cars and listen how much he hates them even when everybody else think different..lol he once told that hyundai copied a single line from mercedes...the most stupid thing i ever seen on internet...lmao...

  • Simon Banks
    Simon Banks 5 days ago +6

    Everyone who reviews one of these allows the car to do the battery conditioning routine before launch, I wonder what the launch time is without that, like you would on a whim if you were able to? (I'm sure it's still damn fast!)

    Also Mat, you know a Parsec is a measure of *distance*, right? :P

    • JK
      JK Day ago

      checkout dragtimes he did a few launches without preconditioning

    • KINDLY HELP ME REACH TO 100K SUB
      KINDLY HELP ME REACH TO 100K SUB 3 days ago

      WOWW YOU DON'T READ MY PROFILE PICTURE

    • Simon Banks
      Simon Banks 4 days ago +1

      @Nick Farrington Indeed! :)

    • Nick Farrington
      Nick Farrington 4 days ago +2

      You're right about the parsec - shame George Lucas wasn't as bright!

  • Mike H
    Mike H 6 days ago +1

    While piloting my Tie fighter its fantastic 🤩 but even though i like the look, in real world driving too impractical for me, especially as my car has a pretty large turning circle.

  • As_i_c_it
    As_i_c_it 6 days ago +194

    Your rear seat comfort assessments are very detailed. More reviewers should take those points into consideration as you just did. 👏👏👏👏👏

  • Techno Dino
    Techno Dino 3 days ago

    Awesome Review! And love the humor.
    I think the reason you got a 2.4 second 0-60 could have something to do with the road conditions. That road appeared to have a lot of sand and dirt on top of a pretty old surface so traction probably was far from ideal! You should try launching it again on a newer road surface, that isnt covered in sand!

    • Svein Hanssen
      Svein Hanssen 2 days ago

      Battery was only half SOC.

    • Marc Coté
      Marc Coté 2 days ago

      ... or going uphill and through a (very) small curve as these launches seemed to be doing.

  • Raymond Warren
    Raymond Warren 6 days ago +7

    Great review, I’ve been looking forward to this for months! Now let us see the Plaid taking on some quick gas-guzzler.

    • Pyriold
      Pyriold 3 days ago

      @John Dc2 That's just wrong. There are a lot of calculations out there how battery cars in their life time (and even beyond that) are much better for the environment. And the impact is getting better every year as things like cobalt are phased out.

    • John Dc2
      John Dc2 5 days ago +1

      @Mark Plott ALL CAPS 😂 Good for you my man too bad the production of your battery harmed the environment more than 10x gas cars over their life!

    • Mark Plott
      Mark Plott 5 days ago +1

      I SMOKED a Hellcat in my PLAID , last Weekend at the TRACK.

    • What's +❶ (❽⓿❸) ❻❼⓿‑⓿❺❻❶
      What's +❶ (❽⓿❸) ❻❼⓿‑⓿❺❻❶ 6 days ago

      Send a message 👆👆 to claim your prize you have been selected as one of our lucky winners.
      Thanks for been an esteem subscriber. Carwow Cares...

  • Rob Metselaar
    Rob Metselaar 6 days ago +1

    Hey Mat, could you do a range test with all devices in use? If I would take my kids with me for holiday they would certainly use all available sockets, wireless chargers and both screens to keep themselves entertained.
    I wonder what the difference in range would be, could it be that you have to make an extra stop to get to your destination?

    • Matt Curlew
      Matt Curlew 5 days ago +1

      When I was a kid we entertained ourself in the back of a car by looking outside (especially on a holiday!), search for certain license plates, learn which car was which, play who has the best view or just play other games using what is outside or around you...

    • E F
      E F 5 days ago

      You'll never notice. These devices draw a couple of watts of power. Those motors can pull 800,000 watts! Your family trip is 100% safe - zero chance of an extra stop.

    • What's +❶ (❽⓿❸) ❻❼⓿‑⓿❺❻❶
      What's +❶ (❽⓿❸) ❻❼⓿‑⓿❺❻❶ 6 days ago

      Send a message 👆👆 to claim your prize you have been selected as one of our lucky winners.
      Thanks for been an esteem subscriber. Carwow Cares.

  • Wojciech Muras
    Wojciech Muras 5 days ago +13

    The highest honour a reviewer can bestow upon a car is purchasing it. This is one truly breathtaking car.

  • Mackie
    Mackie 6 days ago +169

    Most entertaining car reviews. Unmatched humor.
    And Matt facing a grumpy US police officer would be an awesome addition to this review.

  • Danielius Rimkus
    Danielius Rimkus 5 days ago +2

    I’ve got a theory, as to why they chose to go with the yoke. As the car has alot of power and if you just full throttle, you can easily lose control of the car if you’re not careful, and alot of people drive with one hand on the top of the steering wheel, so the yoke prevents you from full-throttle’ing the car with one hand, which can be more safe and prevent crashes and lawsuits etc.

  • monkey portions
    monkey portions 4 days ago

    Would be good to see this put against more than one car for the drag race tests and a greater comparison range

  • Matt French
    Matt French 4 days ago +6

    Alway Love to watch Matt. I love my plaid and the yoke normalizes pretty quick.Only the first 25 had that badge. So wow that’s a rare care. All the others just say Plaid real small.

  • Willem de zwijger van Oranje

    After have experienced a lot of vehicles (from 5cylinder Volvos and 6cylindrt Benzes to tuned hot hatches)the Tesla is a great car. Yeah it’s not the best (but not one car is the best because there are a lot nice cars). After a long ride in the backseat of a Tesla I can tell you that it’s really comfy and quick. Also the software is really good, and the supercharging thing is also the best.

  • Fauciouchie
    Fauciouchie 6 days ago +644

    That steering wheel only works in racing cars which have super quick steering racks that go from lock to lock in 3/4 turns, and they don't need to do parkings, 3 point turns or slow speed maneuvers.

    • mybro727
      mybro727 7 hours ago

      @Br n Oh yeah, Mazda is the only manufacturer in the world that’s not making every button in their interiors touch sensitive panels/displays. I wonder what made them opt out of the trends that everyone else is doing. That’s sarcasm. Mazda is not the only company that doesn’t do this, but I do agree with majority of what you’ve said here.

    • mf2yu
      mf2yu 3 days ago +1

      @MADHAV J be smarter than that, dude. Don't just follow his idea without thinking the cons

    • mf2yu
      mf2yu 3 days ago +1

      @Amin Fozdar Yeah i just saw that video. You think resting palm of your hand on the yoke is better than having the actual grip on steering wheel? His idea is just a lazy way to justify the yoke. And he tries so hard to be different than other reviewers. The palm of your hand could accidentally get slipped out of the yoke and in panic situation, your old habit of holding a steering wheel could come back again

    • Thomas
      Thomas 3 days ago

      I've talked to four people randomly in public and asked them what they thought about it and they all loved it

    • J T
      J T 4 days ago

      Nah, just have to get used to it. I bought an aftermarket one, designed the same way. Took some getting used to, but I like it and have no issues doing tight turns or anything else. It should be an option vs only available that way, IMO.

  • E F
    E F 5 days ago +15

    I bought one as well. Mat's assessment is spot on. It's far from perfect, but its hella fun! A lot of my favorite cars over the years have been like that - some were HORRIBLE cars in the conventional sense, but I loved them to bits nonetheless.

    And Mat didn't get a chance to try out the newly release Track Mode, which is a nice update in several ways - from stiffer suspension that you get in Sport mode to much stronger regen braking (which helps, but doesn't cure, the weak braking performance).

    The automatic lock/unlock behavior is configurable so you can make it behave like you want. There is a tradeoff between how quickly it locks behind you and such and how twitchy it is. That's 100% adjustable.

    And the horn also has a secret - you don't have to hit the button perfectly. You can just cover that entire section of the wheel with your palm and that, too, activates the horn - its much easier if you need a kind of a panic honk.

    Regarding the 0-60 performance: Mat was on smooth blacktop roads with some obvious sand or dirt - yeah, 2.40 seconds at 50% charge is about right. But put the car on concrete like the highway he was on, with 70% charge or more and you'll get 2.1, sometimes even 2.0x seconds without subtracting rollout. Yep - on concrete roads I can get 2.08 seconds of TRUE, honest, no rollout games 0-60 time.

    But the best part of acceleration is ABOVE 60mph/100kph - this car's acceleration doesn't fall off after 60 like the Taycan does when it shifts into 2nd gear. Nope - the Plaid pulls and pulls and pulls and pulls. You don't really notice the relentless acceleration falling off until 110, maybe 120mph. And even then its only just. It will outrun just about anything all the way to the now improved 175mph limit.

    Once the carbon ceramic brakes are available this will have several benefits. First and most obvious, it will cure the braking issues 100%. The new rotors are 420mm which is on par with the Taycan Turbo S (which is several hundred pounds heavier). But it will also reduce unsprung mass - improving handling. Last - it will lower the rotational inertia of the wheels, which will slightly further improve acceleration.

    Last thoughts: The charging performance of Plaid beats everything out there, hands down. It may not be the peak KW best, but in terms of range added per unit time, its tits. And the overall range of Plaid at 350-400 miles (even though we ALL know Tesla overstates this), is still far better than you'll get in many EVs. Yes the Lucid Air is better - but its heavier, less sporty, and almost none exist right now. Plus there are far fewer places to charge it. The EQS is also super nice with its 108kwhr pack - I just don't like the look of it and its not nearly as sporty.

    Personally I think once the new brakes are out this will round out this car and make it super nice.

    • Nirbhaya Tiwari
      Nirbhaya Tiwari Day ago

      @Teamgeist Please explain ..

    • Nirbhaya Tiwari
      Nirbhaya Tiwari Day ago

      @Stian Tveit No brother ...
      I meant Tesla Car owners ..
      Not Tesla Stock owners ..

    • Stian Tveit
      Stian Tveit Day ago

      @Nirbhaya Tiwari Tesla owners 😂 You mean stock owners.

    • Teamgeist
      Teamgeist Day ago +1

      @Nirbhaya Tiwari have a guess what purpose reliability surveys have...

    • Nirbhaya Tiwari
      Nirbhaya Tiwari Day ago

      @Teamgeist I respect your opinion ...

      But the owners of Model S describe their car as best and most reliable car they have ever owned ...

  • Andrew Woulfe
    Andrew Woulfe 2 days ago +2

    This review reminds me of infomercial trying to make simple things look difficult. Nothing complained about was a real chore, but you really made it look hard. Anyone else notice the fob in the right hand while demonstrating the car "randomly locking and unlocking.
    I don't disagree the Tesla has some problems but this guy reviews British cars. I have a late model Lotus. If I were to make a fit and finish video on it or any other British car i think it would be pretty entertaining.

  • P M
    P M 3 days ago

    It‘s nice that they finally built a car of acceptable quality on the inside as well. They are slowly becoming a proper car manufacturer, instead of just luring in fanboys with false acceleration numbers

  • Sai Kiran
    Sai Kiran 5 days ago +2

    Waiting for a drag race video with this beast🔥

    • Whatsapp me➕ ➀②⓪②⑦⓪③①①⑥⑤
      Whatsapp me➕ ➀②⓪②⑦⓪③①①⑥⑤ 5 days ago

      👆 wow that’s really great

      I really appreciate you and all of my subscribers for the love you guys have shown to me and for that I’ve decided to randomly select few of you to give you insight and make you *financially buoyant* as well☺️

  • Anthony Elges
    Anthony Elges 6 days ago +102

    Great video as always! Mats genuine excitement is always fun to watch. I will likely never own a Tesla but darn it I enjoy watching every minute 😂😂

  • Chris Twining
    Chris Twining 3 days ago

    I can tell you from experience (Tesla, not plaid) that it's the greatest car I've ever driven, has made all other cars obsolete, and I cannot see myself ever driving anything else, ever. Cyber Truck on order to pull my travel trailer around the North American continent in retirement. My 3 will go to my daughter, currently 14 years old. The amount I save each year on gas equals 6-7 of my 12 monthly payments. I've calculated my net cost (gas, maintenance, finance payments, etc.) to be around $200-$225 per month with nothing down since all the rebates covered my down payment.

  • Tue Wettergreen-Paltorp

    Looks a lot like the launches were done on a slight uphill. Other testers have come a lot closer to the claimed 1.99 and I'm fairly certain that the 1 foot rollout wouldn't mean a .5 sec advantage
    Nice review, nice car. The Plaid is sure to replace my current model S when the Plaid gets to Europe

  • Akash Kakoty
    Akash Kakoty 5 days ago

    loved the review , more on the positive spectrum for the yoke steering

  • george fourtinas

    I got excited for mat ordering a tesla more than the review itself 🤣

  • steven zhang
    steven zhang 6 days ago

    OMG!this is what I have been waiting for all this long!!! you never disappoint!!!

  • Brandon
    Brandon 6 days ago +7

    Unfortunate that the Z Flip3 won't wirelessly charge in the center console since Tesla didn't bother to put extra coils

  • Kersa
    Kersa 5 days ago +1

    14:01 The only exciting part of this Tesla review😇as always great video!

  • Clinton Artran
    Clinton Artran 5 days ago +14

    The 0-60 measurement on Little Tujunga Canyon road (my old stomping ground) is noticeably uphill. Looks like he had some fun in the Santa Monica Mountains, too.

  • Lifestyle4Dividends
    Lifestyle4Dividends 6 days ago +159

    HEY MAT!! The horn can also be activated by just placing your hand over all the buttons on the right! It will prioritize the HORN! It feels like slamming on a na ctuall horn! Just to let you know ✌🏽

    • David Moore
      David Moore 6 days ago

      @Dominik could have* 👍

    • Matthew Wiemken
      Matthew Wiemken 6 days ago +6

      @Friendly Neighbourhood Spidey The middle of the steering wheel is great place to have your hand if the air bag deploys:)

    • tmcg225
      tmcg225 6 days ago

      @chancy319 ok

    • chancy319
      chancy319 6 days ago +1

      @tmcg225 Keep reporting them. Google will notice. I'm reporting too.

    • tmcg225
      tmcg225 6 days ago +3

      @chancy319 if there was a report log for comments, I'd show you how many times I've reported them

  • Tom's Turbo Garage
    Tom's Turbo Garage 6 days ago +178

    Been waiting for this one!! Thank you for the awesome review, 6 months in and I love my Plaid so much! Best split-personality family car ever! 😍👍🏻

  • Ronald Quan
    Ronald Quan 6 days ago +6

    love the yoke because I actually drive the plaid every day, don't know it till you try it

  • John ‘Juice’ Shipper
    John ‘Juice’ Shipper 5 days ago +14

    ‘Relatively tight turning circle at 11.2 meters’

    That’s awful. My old behemoth of a Volvo 240 has a turning circle of under 10 meters.

  • ZYXT
    ZYXT 6 days ago +1

    You don't need to find the horn button, you can just cover the entire right portion of the sterling wheel to make high frequency horn sound. It's pretty good in an emergency as you don't need to smashing the horn as the car will do it for you😅

    • What's +❶ (❽⓿❸) ❻❼⓿‑⓿❺❻❶
      What's +❶ (❽⓿❸) ❻❼⓿‑⓿❺❻❶ 6 days ago

      Send a message 👆👆 to claim your prize you have been selected as one of our lucky winners.
      Thanks for been an esteem subscriber. Carwow Cares...

    • Dima Lgo FUN
      Dima Lgo FUN 6 days ago +2

      why not to put horn as it exist on all vehicles, if it still hase big round thing in the middle almost all cars has airbag in the steering wheel and at the same time horm... stupid idea...

  • Okith De Silva
    Okith De Silva 5 days ago +1

    Mat is my favourite journalist forever and I trust carwow reviews

  • Reality Studio LLC
    Reality Studio LLC 5 days ago +1

    I can't stress enough how you have to use the yoke for a while before you can form an opinion on it. It's no different than having someone drive a manual car where the gear pattern is different, or buying a new car and the controls are all changed, you have to drive it for a while to get used to it. Also, more than any other car I've ever driven I find the position of the yoke really matters, I have mine as low as it will go and closer to me. At first I wasn't sure about the yoke when I got my S Plaid but now I prefer it to the wheel and would not go back. Yes it's not as good in 5% of use cases but it's still for me perfectly fine to use in those cases, and 95% of the time it's better than a wheel for me. If you just have the car for a day and do a review then you likely will not like it. Personally after driving one for over a month now I will not go back to a normal wheel.

  • Jay Dub
    Jay Dub 5 days ago +3

    Since I love in Alaska, , where half of the year is winter, and our entire state's population is right around 800,000 people, I don't think we'll ever have the infrastructure to make electric vehicles a truly viable option. Oh well, I will keep running my VTEC Honder's with a huge smile on my face

  • Siam Paragon
    Siam Paragon 3 days ago

    Love that tech in that car.. Seems pretty much less weighty than the EQS and the Lucid.. By far! And also not as expensive as those cars.

    • Pyriold
      Pyriold 3 days ago

      The lucid is a luxury car and the EQS even more so. Tesla S always looks pretty minimalistic to me. And the car is quite a bit smaller than the EQS (don't know about the lucid).

  • z
    z 6 days ago +39

    Would love to see a plaid vs rimac drag race!

    • Зона 51
      Зона 51 Day ago

      @Terrel MAz in the first, tesla is technology

    • Terrel MAz
      Terrel MAz 2 days ago

      Rimac, is gonna go against the tesla roadstar, not the plaid...the plaid aim is to be the fastest SEDAN....🙄...its like comparing a dodger charger to a bugatti chiron...like are you guys smart actually??

    • Зона 51
      Зона 51 2 days ago

      @Het Peer family production car vs hypercar

    • Rrolf
      Rrolf 2 days ago

      DragTimes already did one, look it up. Rimac won easily, as expected...

    • Зона 51
      Зона 51 4 days ago

      have no sense, but what about another one like a fastest porsche/bmw/merc/audi vs plaid

  • gureno19
    gureno19 5 days ago

    I love how the rear taillights still dont line up 🙃

  • Davide Lancellotti
    Davide Lancellotti 6 days ago +1

    you should review the new polo gti (facelift), it's a little beast and perfect as a good powerful hatchback and for daily driving

  • marnix provoost
    marnix provoost 6 days ago +4

    It might have been the camera angle, but the 0-60 looked like it was uphill. Also, the road difnt look all that grippy.

  • Mike translator
    Mike translator 5 days ago +1

    Finally, we see the plaid clearly.

  • 1Tanker
    1Tanker 6 days ago +99

    You're going to get tons of content from the Plaid. You will want to race any and every "quick" or "fast" car that you have, including the tuners, FI cars, Rally, and fast bikes. I can't wait to see them!

    • just some random car guy
      just some random car guy 5 days ago +1

      @carholic1336 yeah because other cars can do that. Its just the american way of selling a fast car. And that 2.1 seconds is done on a dragstrip. On normal roads it does 2.2 or 2.3 seconds

    • carholic1336
      carholic1336 6 days ago

      @just some random car guy 2.1 isn’t that impressive tbh.

    • just some random car guy
      just some random car guy 6 days ago +2

      @carholic1336 it does 1.99 seconds with 1 foot roll out which is just 6-60 mph for marketing. It actually does 0-60 in 2.1 seconds

    • carholic1336
      carholic1336 6 days ago

      @Dry Snitch how am I wrong!? Can the Tesla plaid do 0-60 in 1.99s with 1/4 battery!? Lol…..

    • Dry Snitch
      Dry Snitch 6 days ago +2

      @carholic1336 no, 2021 is correct. Plaid never needed a full battery to perform consistently, and it came out in 2021.

      Cute try to deflect from the fact that you’re wrong though.

  • Historieboken
    Historieboken 2 days ago

    At this point we're here to see Matt, no matter what car he reviews. But the foot race between him and Yanni would be legendary

  • chris ashwin
    chris ashwin 3 days ago

    I'm guessing the yoke was introduced to get us used to seeing a smaller wheel, will help transition to no steering wheel and autonomous driving

  • Jay Dub
    Jay Dub 5 days ago +2

    3point turns look potentially difficult at a proper speed when you engage your drive modes via touchscreen

  • Baha Mir
    Baha Mir 6 days ago +17

    0-60 woulda been quicker if u didnt launch it uphill 😀

  • Hi-Line
    Hi-Line 6 days ago +14

    you know its a great review when you feel indifferent about the car itself and still are super entertained

  • soiung toiue
    soiung toiue 2 days ago

    cover multiple touch areas there with your palm it will also sound the horn. - Very enjoyable review, looking forward to more Plaid content from the channel.

  • Chris Mccann
    Chris Mccann 2 days ago

    Teslas always seemed designed by tech heads without any real world user experience. Lots of annoying things about them that anyone who’s travelled much in cars would understand but lots of great things. I still wouldn’t be buying one though… but maybe the mainstream manufacturers will start to offer better electric models. Volvo electric XC90 will be interesting when it happens

  • mariolondyn50
    mariolondyn50 3 days ago

    It is a very modern car, probably the first production car in the world with a tiller instead of a steering wheel, a nice design inside ... but still with ordinary mirrors instead of small displays, it is a big inappropriateness. I can't believe Elon made such a mistake.
    Is it possible to enlarge the letters on the monitor for people with visual impairment? For how many seconds do I have to move my eyes from the road to the monitor to set the temperature in the interior or set the type of wipers operation?

  • Jegan A
    Jegan A 3 days ago

    Don't know why I'm seeing this review, but it feels real good!!!

  • Tamberlox
    Tamberlox 6 days ago +43

    We've been waiting for this review for months and it did not disappoint! Love the Plaid!
    The amount of drag race content you will get out of it will be so much fun to watch!

  • chillout1109
    chillout1109 5 days ago +118

    2.4 seconds to 60 on a dirty, sandy, and slightly uphill canyon road! Let's not kid ourselves. That is mighty impressive for a 2.2 tonne car. Even though I'm not a Tesla fan, I still think this is one hell of a car. Well done Elon. Well done Matt.

    • TrumpCorp.
      TrumpCorp. 2 days ago

      Well done America.

    • chillout1109
      chillout1109 2 days ago

      @Allen Toyokawa It's like European football teams. When the team wins, the manager gets the glory. When the team loses, the manager gets sacked. Elon is the boss. He gets the glory.

    • Allen Toyokawa
      Allen Toyokawa  2 days ago +1

      Elon and his engineers and the Japanese for making the batts... don't give him all the credit !

    • Allen Toyokawa
      Allen Toyokawa  2 days ago +1

      ton**

    • Lowe Löf
      Lowe Löf 5 days ago +3

      @Rexinus1 i mean like porsche are saying 2,6 seconds 0-100 but they are doing like 2,4 every time

  • Leonard Mills
    Leonard Mills 5 days ago +1

    Great review, Mat. 👍 Great car. Would I buy one? Yes, if I had the money and it actually had steering wheel.

  • Gary Sykes
    Gary Sykes 5 days ago +1

    The upgraded wheels are more than I'd pay for a car😂😂

  • ManuLOL
    ManuLOL 3 days ago

    Matt could you guys do the new revised Jaguars sometime they’ve changed them up quite a bit especially the interior

  • TheTargetlockon
    TheTargetlockon 3 days ago

    Seen the Plaid before in other videos but wanted to see Mat and the Plaid on Carwow :)

  • The Patient One
    The Patient One 5 days ago +2

    Looks like matt was clicking the keys secretly to make the car lock and unlock lol

  • KAL vdS
    KAL vdS 3 days ago

    Still dont want a Tesla but great video as always Matt!

  • Bob Cortez
    Bob Cortez 3 days ago

    I think the intention of the yoke is to condition the public for full autonomous driving. In 10 years it will likely fold away altogether into the dash. We need to see the cues in the car to see the future intentions.

  • heisenberg
    heisenberg 6 days ago +216

    Really keeping my fingers crossed for Tesla to build a version with full steering wheel and stock buttons for frequently used functions while driving so that I don't have to take my eyes off the road and fuff around the touch surface.

    • Jim Dandy
      Jim Dandy Day ago

      @M67v That’s the reason they cut it though.

    • M67v
      M67v 2 days ago

      @Jim Dandy they didn’t have to do this. Just look at 2021+ Model S’s with modified steering wheels. You can see the gauges just fine.

    • Jim Dandy
      Jim Dandy 2 days ago

      @M67v The wheel had to be cut because it blocked the screen. Poor design.

    • Robert
      Robert 3 days ago

      Yeah or at least offer it as an option even if you unfortunately have to pay more.

    • J T
      J T 4 days ago

      A fair number of car functions can be done via voice, which changes things a bit.
      For all the peeps crying about the wheel, I stuck an aftermarket one in my car. Wanted to form an opinion based on using it, not just reactionary. Took some getting used to, especially tight turns, u-turns, etc ... however I rather quickly grew to like it, have no issues driving/parking, etc with it and will be keeping it on there.

  • William Grose
    William Grose 5 days ago +1

    A bit disappointed by the number of errors in this video. Only the first 25 Plaids got the (ugly) Plaid badge, so this one is aftermarket. The rest of the Plaids just say PLAID on the back. Also, with the later software updates all the haptic buttons require a force press to enable and can’t be brushed or touched by mistake.
    Lastly, pretty much nobody uses the key fob when your phone is the key. The key card is a backup, and the fob is for people who haven’t moved into the 21st Century. 😂
    A shame this video came out before Track Mode was on this car. It’s transformative.

  • Maxi Mus
    Maxi Mus 6 days ago +2

    Love my plaid ! Also please launch it on 90% or more battery to really enjoy the 0-60

    Anyways great fun toy to have

  • RedSjo
    RedSjo 5 days ago +2

    There are new LED's front lights already spotted in shanghai showrooms and a different charge port and an visual update on the trunk. edit: TIL Tesla is known for around 23 changes per model per week. Toyota does around 20 changes per year.

    • Mark Plott
      Mark Plott 5 days ago +2

      PLAID just got Updated w/ 175 mph Top Speed, Drift mode and Track mode , all for FREE.

  • Jacob
    Jacob 19 hours ago

    I mean a dusty road isn’t the best for traction, but 2.4 in those conditions is insane

  • Brian W
    Brian W 6 days ago +25

    I’ve been really looking forward to hearing your thoughts on the Plaid. Looking forward to more great content.

    • SO SEXY I'M SEXY
      SO SEXY I'M SEXY 6 days ago +1

      Only for fans over 18 years old PERFECTBODYGIRLSS.WEBSITE 👈

      tricks I do not know
      Megan: "Hotter"
      Hopi: "Sweeter"
      Joonie: "Cooler"
      Yoongi: "Butter

      So with toy and his tricks, do not read it to him that he writes well mamon there are only to laugh for a while and not be sad and stressed because of the hard life that is lived today.
      Köz karaş: '' Taŋ kaldım ''
      Erinder: '' Sezimdüü ''
      Jılmayuu: '' Tattuuraak ''
      Dene: '' Muzdak ''
      Jizn, kak krasivaya melodiya, tolko pesni pereputalis.
      Aç köz arstan
      Bul ukmuştuuday ısık kün bolçu, jana arstan abdan açka bolgon.

      Uyunan çıgıp, tigi jer-jerdi izdedi. Al kiçinekey koyondu wins taba algan. Al bir az oylonboy koyondu karmadı. '' Bul koyon menin kursagımdı toyguza albayt '' dep oylodu arstan.
      Arstan koyondu öltüröyün dep jatkanda, bir kiyik tigi tarapka çurkadı. Arstan aç köz bolup kaldı. Kiçine koyondu emes, çoŋ kiyikti jegen jakşı dep oylodu. # 垃圾

      They are one of the best concerts, you can not go but just seeing them from the screen, I know it was surprising

      💗❤️💌💘

  • AllWheelDrive
    AllWheelDrive 5 days ago +1

    A high watermark in automotive history. Still, nothing quite like it. And those "gremlins" are no different than what we've had to get used to with cell phones. The tradeoffs are well worth the small behavioral changes. Also, it's easy to configure some of the system's responses to stay mute or adjust down/up. After you live with your Plaid for about 90 days (great move on the buy!), it would be very informative to hear what you've discovered along the way. We're almost a year into our Model 3 and it just gets better.

  • Soritaaa
    Soritaaa 5 days ago

    I keep on waiting for the new 2022 x4 m40i review! just got one and was curious as to what you thought of it

  • Daniel Zussman
    Daniel Zussman 3 days ago

    I want one! Gotta keep hustling!

  • nigel sayah
    nigel sayah 4 days ago

    The sf90 did it in 2.0 or 1.9 on car and driver or motortrend cant remember. But after that the plaid kills it in the quarter!

  • HesteBremse
    HesteBremse 6 days ago +30

    The updated front design is super well sorted, looks really great.

    • jds54
      jds54 Day ago

      @Stian Tveit Wrong, the fog light area was changed. Made a big difference as the fog light design was looking quite dated.

    • Stian Tveit
      Stian Tveit Day ago

      Nothing new on the front design, this design came in 2017.

    • jds54
      jds54 5 days ago

      @Hassan Ger The front definitely not. The rear yes.

    • Hassan Ger
      Hassan Ger 5 days ago +1

      still looks outdated

    • jds54
      jds54 6 days ago +4

      @Bellissima2k I mean completely new taillights, like a light bar of some sort.

  • Twist
    Twist 5 days ago

    This gonna depreciate so hard, it performs well and at the same time it feels cheap lol

  • 2nd3rd1st
    2nd3rd1st 2 days ago

    Carwow, nice of you to join the rest of us, welcome to Summer 2021!
    Now you can complain about the yoke and 0-60 claims like everyone else did almost a year ago 👏👏👏
    Hey, when's your Taycan review out???

  • SDA Dan Cars
    SDA Dan Cars 6 days ago +12

    Can't wait to test it 🙂

  • Arjun Omanakuttan
    Arjun Omanakuttan 5 days ago

    Waiting for this almost a year now, finally its here

  • TheHayabusa09
    TheHayabusa09 6 days ago +59

    Can't possibly imagine what you'll compete with this when you finally test it back in the UK..Yanni must be seriously frightened!!

    • Thordur Hognason
      Thordur Hognason 3 days ago

      @Roger Starkey taycan seems like bargain

    • Roger Starkey
      Roger Starkey 3 days ago

      @Thordur Hognason
      Taycan.... Loser.
      Rimac.... 10x the price

    • daguzify
      daguzify 6 days ago

      @Praz except price, range, availability and seating. Rimac is a one trick pony

    • Thordur Hognason
      Thordur Hognason 6 days ago +4

      @Lucas I doubt you ever need to rebuild the electric motor in the Taycan secondary the repetition of Porsche is outstanding

    • Lucas
      Lucas 6 days ago +2

      @Thordur Hognason Why would you want an unreliable porsche when you can get the whole complete package like the plaid. A friend is racing in Porsche cup here in Finland and the engines only lasts a few races between rebuilds. The local machine shop also said the engines are built like crap. It is like the rest of the vag group.

  • D
    D 6 days ago +4

    Wow that's a beautiful interior!

  • Mathias B.
    Mathias B. 6 days ago

    I would love to own a plaid when they arrive in Europe at some point, but it's crazy expensive here in Denmark because of fees and taxes😳

  • Shawn
    Shawn 5 days ago +1

    That steering "wheel" is a huge failure, not sure how it passed any safety checks

  • J M
    J M 5 days ago +1

    FINALLY!! Edit: Now please race it against everything! Pretty please! At a higher charge than 60% maybe :D But heck even low charge! What ever! Race against that guys Lambo that really didn't wanna loose last time, lol

  • Dilight
    Dilight 6 days ago +25

    I really like cars. But out of the thousands of TheXvid car channels, I like the carwow channel, because of how interesting the way of presenting any car by Mat. I love it and I'm addicted to it. Love from Sri Lanka...

    • V i o n a💝
      V i o n a💝 6 days ago

      Only for fans over 18 years old LOCALDATE.MONSTER/TATSUHISHA

      tricks I do not know
      Megan: "Hotter"
      Hopi: "Sweeter"
      Joonie: "Cooler"
      Yoongi: "Butter

      So with toy and his tricks, do not read it to him that he writes well mamon there are only to laugh for a while and not be sad and stressed because of the hard life that is lived today.
      Köz karaş: '' Taŋ kaldım ''
      Erinder: '' Sezimdüü ''
      Jılmayuu: '' Tattuuraak ''
      Dene: '' Muzdak ''
      Jizn, kak krasivaya melodiya, tolko pesni pereputalis.
      Aç köz arstan
      Bul ukmuştuuday ısık kün bolçu, jana arstan abdan açka bolgon.

      Uyunan çıgıp, tigi jer-jerdi izdedi. Al kiçinekey koyondu wins taba algan. Al bir az oylonboy koyondu karmadı. '' Bul koyon menin kursagımdı toyguza albayt '' dep oylodu arstan.
      Arstan koyondu öltüröyün dep jatkanda, bir kiyik tigi tarapka çurkadı. Arstan aç köz bolup kaldı. Kiçine koyondu emes, çoŋ kiyikti jegen jakşı dep oylodu. # 垃圾

      They are one of the best concerts, you can not go but just seeing them from the screen, I know it was surprising

      💗❤️💌💘

  • Isaac Eckers
    Isaac Eckers 6 days ago +2

    All you need to know, Matt Watson has one of these on order. Drive what drivers drive. Eat where chefs eat. Use what the professionals use.

    • Isaac Eckers
      Isaac Eckers 6 days ago

      @Visionist I’ve ridden in an F-18, and my Plaid gives me the same thrill. Some people don’t want something so gaudy and flashy. My friends with flashier cars have a serious change of heart in the S.

    • Visionist
      Visionist 6 days ago

      @Isaac Eckers or to use a coaster analogy: everyone is eager to ride Top Thrill Dragster, but almost nobody ultimately prefers it to Maverick, Steel Vengeance or Millennium Force.

      Speed alone is but one facet of enjoyment.

    • Visionist
      Visionist 6 days ago

      @Isaac Eckers it won't thrill you like a McLaren or Ferrari. It's too frumpy looking, too nerdy, and too practical. It has almost no sound to inspire you. It doesn't even have something as esoteric as a rich smell of fine leather when you open the door. You have to pay extra for a non boring colour.

      It's emotionless.

      It has its place, but that place is before the local supermarket, not the casino at Monte Carlo.

    • Isaac Eckers
      Isaac Eckers 6 days ago

      @Visionist alternatively, an argument could be made for what you are saying. Chefs don’t go for flair or pizzazz when eating themselves. They go for ease and substance. The Model S Plaid doesn’t look like a McLaren or a Ferrari, but it will thrill you like one for 1/3 the price.

    • Isaac Eckers
      Isaac Eckers 6 days ago

      @Visionist therefore Matt Watson should drive a Ford Fiesta. I believe the saying here would be, missing the forest, for the tree.

  • Imran Mehdi
    Imran Mehdi 5 days ago +1

    It’s a beautiful car!!

  • Thao Nguyen
    Thao Nguyen 3 days ago

    I made the right choice ! Love this car

  • CED99
    CED99 5 days ago +1

    It doesn't come with the Plaid badge, just the "Plaid" wording, the badge was limited edition for first few deliveries

  • Jamie 2785
    Jamie 2785 2 days ago

    I’ve watched a few reviews of various Teslas, and as of yet there’s nothing that’s convinced me to part with cash for one. Poor quality, useless features, an absolute pain to do simple tasks. EVs from more mainstream manufacturers just seem better.

  • That mobile pro 24
    That mobile pro 24 4 days ago

    16:17 God finally the speed testing

  • Charlie S
    Charlie S 5 days ago

    You can't dispute the performance but it's the size of a house! If you can get the same performance in the Model -3 then that would be epic! Anyway, what happened to the Tesla Roadster?

  • V M
    V M 5 days ago

    As an owner... I can tell you EVERY SINGLE REVIEWER is basically wrong about the yoke. I got used to it in a 5 minute driving session around the Tesla delivery lot. What does take some time are the turn signals. Those are now second nature to me after two months, but it took a while. The yoke is easy if you have good driving technique; if you don't, and you're lazy in how you hand-over-hand, it's difficult. Git gud bruh. Personally, I love mine, I went for the long range because... it has longer range and still 750hp with supercar performance. I think it maximizes your bang for buck. I wish the Plaid were cheaper, say $100k instead of $130k, then I would have paid the extra for the crazy drivetrain and some CF trim.

  • Muhammad Ibraheem
    Muhammad Ibraheem 6 days ago +7

    I dont like the angle of the rear seats but overall the Plaid is amazing

  • Lavonte A
    Lavonte A 4 days ago

    I’m surprised that nobody misses the functioning Sunroof in the Model S, if I was a owner I’d ask for that to come back.

    • ak2pacalypse
      ak2pacalypse 4 days ago

      it's a trade off as you won't be able to have the full panel glass roof. I can count on one hand how many times I've actually used the sunroof on my other cars. The sunroof usually just annoys the passengers because of how loud it gets when driving. I'm out here in LA and most cars nowadays have sunroofs and I see very few people actually opening them.

  • Tolga Tanriverdi
    Tolga Tanriverdi 5 days ago +2

    The only issue i have with tesla is that everything you want to change must be done on the screen. If i want to have a warm seat it would be good to have buttons on the door like the ones on Mercedes, Audi etc.

    • gbr528 2h
      gbr528 2h 4 days ago

      @Linus ohlsson not really in Model 3

    • Linus ohlsson
      Linus ohlsson 5 days ago

      Voice control works fantastic in teslas. No need to use the screen