Google may have cut too many corners... - Pixel 4 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 21, 2019
  • Check out the Dbrand Grip at dbrand.com/LinusDropTips
    Sign up for Private Internet Access VPN at lmg.gg/pialinus1
    With the Pixel 4 and Pixel 4 XL, Google has managed to innovate with the camera yet again, delivering an experience that's more accurate and creative than the Apple iPhone 11 Pro.
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1115941-apple-should-be-embarrassed-pixel-4-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: lmg.gg/sponsors
    Get a VPN today with PIA at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Get a Displate Metal Print at lmg.gg/displateltt
    Get a 30-day free trial of Amazon Prime at lmg.gg/8KV1v
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: thexvid.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High thexvid.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 7 204

  • Android Robot
    Android Robot 13 hours ago

    And trust me... the Pixel 5 lineup is going to be GREAT. It's kind of like the Sonic movie trailer, where Google fixes their mistakes in fear of the media

  • Bryce Chapman
    Bryce Chapman 22 hours ago

    Video looked grainy and the camera didn’t pick up the rain/snow very well. So Linus in my honest opinion (since you asked for it) no it’s not very good for video.

  • whiteandnerdytuba
    whiteandnerdytuba 23 hours ago

    Still a good camera on a shit phone

  • Mike Nichols
    Mike Nichols Day ago

    Just wanted to add something i haven't seen in a vid posting or in written reviews. They all mention the radar gesture system used in the device. What they don't mention is that it didn't come from Google but rather Motorola.

    The "Motion Sense" radar gesture system came about due to patented technology acquired elsewhere. Google purchased Motorola several years ago (then sold it later) and had access to all of Motorola's patents. Ironically many wrote after Google sold Motorola that there would only be minimum benefit from Motorola's patent catalog. As said one of those patents being the radar technology which goes all the way back to the Moto X 1st gen 2013.

    So the technology isn’t so new and innovative as Google makes it sound with the Pixel 4. They may have made improvements on the tech but they weren’t the originating source. As said they did later sell Motorola to Lenovo however the benefits seem to keep on coming from Motorola's patents.

    Just trivia more than anything else.

  • Matthew Fonseca
    Matthew Fonseca Day ago

    This review was definitely biased. Linus barely talked about the battery life which has to be the worst thing about it. Didn’t mention the lack of a fingerprint sensor. And why not include the Note 10+ in the comparisons, another flagship? I get it, he hates Apple but damn this lesbian needs to make it more subtle.

  • Fernando S
    Fernando S 2 days ago +3

    I take forehead over notch over "full screen" content anyday

  • Jay Zee
    Jay Zee 2 days ago

    As someone sits on one in their back pocket and it bends at the antenna joins on the frame (bendy Iphone 6/6s flashback lol) - good phone but bad mechanical design of the frame this time around... Waiting for the Pixel 5...

  • SHADOWS GAMING CHANEL

    100gbs? That's wrong. Right?

  • chillgreeko
    chillgreeko 5 days ago

    Delete your channel please!

  • Nathan St.Marie
    Nathan St.Marie 6 days ago

    Google might not be pushing phones with the most available storage since they benefit most from your use of their cloud products.

  • grassguy!!!!
    grassguy!!!! 6 days ago +5

    More like didn't cut enough corners with that forty head of a bezel at the top

  • Farhan Yuda putra
    Farhan Yuda putra 7 days ago

    6:02 Linus makes a rasengan

  • Mayravixx
    Mayravixx 7 days ago

    It's pretty sad that my Moto G7 Optimo that I bought for 100 dollars has a feature that a top tier phone should have; expandable storage, and the G7 Optimo isn't even that old either.

  • Alexander Cross
    Alexander Cross 7 days ago

    I REALLY don't like that people are removing fingerprint readers. Pixel 2 finger print reader on the back is SO great, especially for Google Pay, which is use ALL the time.

  • Alexander Cross
    Alexander Cross 7 days ago

    But... No LTT intro? Dafuq? I'm scared. 😕

  • Neo Theone
    Neo Theone 7 days ago

    False Review Just False.. BIASED Bitch

  • Steven Daws
    Steven Daws 7 days ago

    There is no doubt that the Pixel 4 is lacking some build quality

  • clockcycle
    clockcycle 7 days ago

    careful you'll get at nose bleed..

  • CZARNYEU
    CZARNYEU 7 days ago

    Pixel 4 ???? No THX :-(
    Regards from Europe from my channel

  • Ruel Lindsay II
    Ruel Lindsay II 7 days ago +2

    The lack of front facing speakers is a horrendous offense to me

    • SegwayDweeb
      SegwayDweeb 5 days ago

      With those huge bezels, it's the biggest waste of potential

  • Stanislaus Landeis
    Stanislaus Landeis 7 days ago +2

    Not cutting any corners with that intro... that's for sure!

  • Cheese
    Cheese 7 days ago

    I want one

  • Albarnie
    Albarnie 8 days ago

    I like the idea that linus does ad rolls in his head

  • Hamlock Maneuver
    Hamlock Maneuver 8 days ago

    I love how you desperately try to love the camera. :D

  • Fred McIntyre
    Fred McIntyre 8 days ago

    😃👍🏻👊🏻

  • klccomputers
    klccomputers 8 days ago

    bookmarked for future meme-ification

  • Shreyans Anchaliya
    Shreyans Anchaliya 8 days ago

    Why didn't you talk about lack of 60fps video recording at 4k resolution?

  • Hambo
    Hambo 8 days ago

    considering how samsung's flagship STARTS at 256GB, a 128GB max isn't laughable, it's irritating

  • Ryan O’Connor
    Ryan O’Connor 8 days ago +14

    I fear no man
    But that thing
    *ad 1 out of 3*
    It scares me

  • Ancient Mac
    Ancient Mac 8 days ago

    whats the name of the music?

  • A.W. R-C
    A.W. R-C 8 days ago

    “Apple I hope you’re taking notes, because this is how you refresh a product every year without losing track of your unique design language”
    What? Google have basically copied the IPhone design with that camera bump and then put a massive forehead on it. It looks awful and has nothing to do with their “design language”.

  • Steve Morale
    Steve Morale 8 days ago +6

    And nobody talks about unlocking pixel 4 even with closed eyes.

  • BlueForce
    BlueForce 9 days ago +1

    Pixel Experience ROM,


    Im coming

  • Amirul Roslan
    Amirul Roslan 9 days ago

    Im not a fans of instant unlock. I just want to see the message. Please take note. People still complain about swipe up to unlock which I prefer to. Even my dad wish android could implement the same method.
    We don’t want to UNLOCK! we just want to see the fking MESSAGE!

  • Marc G
    Marc G 9 days ago

    why all the hype about a 4 pixel phone? my phone is 8 Mega Pixel and it's pretty normal

  • Sergiu M.
    Sergiu M. 9 days ago

    How does the battery of the Pixel 4 perform?

  • Miles Axelberd
    Miles Axelberd 9 days ago

    the consumer units now have tutorials + it worked great when i tested it

  • Toy Barreiros
    Toy Barreiros 9 days ago

    I would buy the pixel 3 over this
    bezels- too thick
    motion control- useless
    wide selfie - gone
    video dynamic range- sucks
    performance- worse than the iPhone 8
    storage- too small
    Battery- horrible
    Design- Disgusting it's like failing a test even though you copied everything from your nerdy friend

  • Toy Barreiros
    Toy Barreiros 9 days ago

    9:12 try that when it's sunny. O. the pixel it will be cloudy

  • Making Tech Friendly

    I didn't know the google assistant was 100GiGs
    @09:48

  • Albert Ellison
    Albert Ellison 9 days ago

    That laugh at the beginnning REALLY sounded like the Joker.....

  • Maybe Peppa
    Maybe Peppa 9 days ago +5

    Most the points in his video are the opposite of what everyone else said
    iS hE gEtTiNg pAiD bY gOoGle

    • Neo Theone
      Neo Theone 7 days ago

      YUP Definitely Biased Review.

  • Jon Ausherman
    Jon Ausherman 9 days ago

    I had the screen burn issue as well, on my Pixel 3 XL. Randomly happened when I was selecting text. Had to reboot to remove as well. Maybe something more android central going on here?

  • TechNotesStuff
    TechNotesStuff 9 days ago +1

    What happened to that Intro? Would like to see it more.

  • John Juan
    John Juan 9 days ago

    Not adding a headphone jack while having a lower battery great google now Bluetooth adds drainage to your low battery at the same time if I have my dongle connected I can't charge while listening. Adding a draining features while having low battery like 90 hrz display or motion sense when you are not even gonna use it because you are saving a battery same goes for the storage. Flagships drain fast because it has powerful processor but why buy or add stuff if you are not going to use it because you are always cautious about your battery. Like having a QHD but setting up your phone to full HD because of battery issues you have 4k video but only use 1080p or powerful processor but don't download too much games to use that powerful processor because of storage issues at the same time quality games adds more drainage to your battery. If your can't use the features why buy it? Its like having that feature for display only. It is like buying a expensive gaming laptop only for browsing net, facebook, and streaming videos only.

  • agung putu yudistira

    Apple: ...

  • hauntofroulettedares
    hauntofroulettedares 10 days ago

    I think I could only sell myself on getting an XL. That 2800mAh battery is just too low for me on the base model. I think my 3 year old phone has a 3300mAh. I know the Pixel could be better at managing power drain but, eh, just need something more. The Galaxy S10 Lite is supposed to have 4,370 mAh and still has the 855 + 8GB RAM. Just blows the Pixel away in terms of battery capacity.
    The storage doesn't bother me too much. I usually dump my files onto my PC/NAS when the phone starts to fill up or I just delete stuff but no SD card is also meh. I really wish it had a 3.5mm jack though. My car doesn't have Bluetooth, I don't want to buy another adapter or dongle, and I don't use Bluetooth headphones. Hell, my current phone can be connected to my bedroom speakers via Bluetooth and sit right beside them and still skip or stutter. Might just wait it out and see what comes next.

  • Note10Plus IsBoss
    Note10Plus IsBoss 10 days ago +1

    Battery life is so pathetic and useless it's comical.

  • Blue Skies Flyer
    Blue Skies Flyer 10 days ago

    Wave to change a song? just type the damn screen... look where's the Kinect at...

  • Lewis Johnson
    Lewis Johnson 10 days ago

    iPhones don’t run Android, so 3gb is enough...

  • Tyler Sigler
    Tyler Sigler 10 days ago

    Love you guys were watching RuPaul's Drag Race!

  • AKLADY87
    AKLADY87 10 days ago +10

    Ugh. Google really missed the mark this time. Last year was rough too.

  • Minewrecker
    Minewrecker 10 days ago +20

    In Jerryrigeverything's video, it actually cut *AT* the corners.

  • godofwar786
    godofwar786 10 days ago

    Im addicted to internet por errrm i mean front facing speakers

  • Toma Nicodin
    Toma Nicodin 10 days ago

    Wait... Where is the trash talk about the battery life? One of the most important features of phones this days (and where the pixel FAILS catastrophically big)

  • Poop_Blower
    Poop_Blower 10 days ago +23

    This is a downgrade sadly and they are making Apple look more advance

    • Lars Bertje
      Lars Bertje 3 days ago +3

      They did do a great job with this years lineup.

    • Poop_Blower
      Poop_Blower 7 days ago

      @LastKing The time when iPhone 10 was released it was barely a game changer

    • LastKing
      LastKing 7 days ago +3

      Apple has always been more advanced

  • whatisdylar
    whatisdylar 11 days ago

    What do regular people store on their phones that they need more storage than 128gb?! I just don't get it, at all.

  • James L
    James L 11 days ago

    How about the rear facing audio while taking video? The Pixel 3 was terrible... how's this one?

  • Leyo Fernando
    Leyo Fernando 11 days ago

    The bezels are a bit too thick for a 2019 Google flagship.

  • FNKYMNKY003
    FNKYMNKY003 11 days ago +2

    Just read the specs when it was available to the public, knew it was trash.