Chefs vs Normals: Reviewing Plastic Alternative Food Products

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 17, 2019
  • Today it’s about digging into the topic of single-use plastics in the food industry! Ben has a few samples up his sleeves for the gang to review and put to the test. Are they any good? Or not?
    COMMENT BELOW!
    What are your opinions on single use plastic products?
    Which of these products should we be prioritising the elimination of?
    What will, or won't you be willing to compromise on?
    Do you even care?
    We talk more about single use plastic products on our podcast, get all the info here - sorted.club/podcasts-2/
    WANT TO SUPPORT SORTED?? Here's how to get involved...
    Join our food journey each week by SUBSCRIBING to the channel. Press the bell button to get notifications every time we post: goo.gl/pqaw14
    Become a member of the Sorted club and access the AMAZING tools that have been designed for you to live your best life through food: goo.gl/otD6NF
    Grab a copy of our LATEST cookbook Hero Veg: sorted.club/buy-the-veg-heroes-book/
    Learn more about the world of Sorted here: sorted.club/about-us/
  • Howto & StyleHowto & Style

Comments • 2 216

  • Milosz Bednarski
    Milosz Bednarski 40 minutes ago

    1345 I'm so AGREE!!!!

  • Artie Carden
    Artie Carden Hour ago

    a lot of things i have never heard of before so thats nice to know! just too bad a lot of things ar kind of expensive

  • Bianca Malan
    Bianca Malan 3 hours ago

    6:42 Mike......lol

  • stuart earthrowl
    stuart earthrowl 8 hours ago

    "Give the video a like if you enjoyed watching us testes products" hahahaha!

  • jentzi23
    jentzi23 Day ago

    The straws would be horrible for anyone with allergies or chemical sensitivities tbh. That goes for that wrapthing too.

  • starman
    starman 2 days ago

    mike is so articulate. i think most of the sorted guys are....except barry, maybe.

  • Gonietube NYC
    Gonietube NYC 2 days ago

    CLIMATE RELIGION IS NOT A WESTERN PROBLEM ITS OTHER COUNTRIES THAT ARE THE PROBLEM BC THE WESTERN NATIONS INNOVATE AND ARE CLEAN AND GET MORE AND MORE CLEAN AS THE DAYS PASS DUE TO INNOVATION

  • Gonietube NYC
    Gonietube NYC 2 days ago

    All 10 RIVERS THAT POLLUTE THE OCEANS WORLD WIDE ARE NOT IN WESTERN COUNTRIES!! THE POLLUTERS ARE INDIA CHINA AND AFRICA AND IRAN 9 of the 10 RIVERS THAT DUMP ALL PLASTIC THAT HIT THE OCEAN IS IN CHINA AND THE OTHER ONE IS IN AFRICA AND THE MAJOR OIL POLLUTER IS AFRICA WHERE PEOPLE BREAK OIL PIPES TO STEAL OIL TO SELL IS ALSO IN AFRICA !!

  • Gonietube NYC
    Gonietube NYC 2 days ago

    YOU DONT FORCE PEOPLE !!! YOU INNOVATE AND MAKE IT AT COMPETITIVE PRICES MAKING OTHER NONGREEN PRODUCTS OBSOLETE!!!. FREEDOM IS KEY AND POLICIES ONLY HURT THE POOR ITS EASY TO SAY YOUR WILLING TO COMPROMISE TO DROP A HUNDRED ON ONE THING BUT SOMEONE ELSE CANT AFFORD IT !! So innovation and the FREE MARKET MAKES THINGS BETTER CHEAPER AND ABLE TO BE IN EVERY HOUSE HOLD ..

  • Kassandra Rahman
    Kassandra Rahman 2 days ago

    Here is my question, wouldn’t industrial industries and restaurants use more single use plastic than what is used by everyday individuals?

  • xBenedictumx
    xBenedictumx 2 days ago

    40% of plastic waste is single use packaging from manufacturers. Clam shells, boxes, etc. Straws make up only 4% of plastic waste. People need to go after manufacturers not stupid shit like straws and cutlery and cling film. But going after a giant corporation is hard, swapping plastic straws for paper is easy and makes them feel good, while doing jack all nothing to actually reduce the massive amount of plastic waste. But sure keep your nose pressed right up against the micro so you can ignore the macro. That will solve the issues.

  • Hammas Haukka
    Hammas Haukka 3 days ago

    Something made with bee's wax isn't vegan. But eh, still good for the niche use it has. Though it's probably not worth it (for the price) and there's likely better alternatives.
    *Edit* oh and also, do *not* throw away bio-degradable plastics with your other organic waste. In general, their degradation time is too slow to be suitable for composting.

  • Megara024
    Megara024 3 days ago

    I appreciate the pause lol

  • DovahTarkus
    DovahTarkus 3 days ago

    My mom has a similar product to the cling-film replacement (hers actually is beeswax, funnily enough). She uses them to wrap her sandwiches for work every day. Saves a lot in plastic waste over time.

  • Does this also name your email ?

    Disabled people need access to single use plastic straws to live. They're only 0.025% of ocean plastic, it's a useless crusade to make you feel better. 40% of ocean plastic is discarded fishing nets, go after those.

  • Lisl G M
    Lisl G M 3 days ago

    Love this. Would totally watch more of these. would love to see themed plastic free episodes (Valentines plastic free, desserts plastic free etc.)

  • singa shivaram gupta

    In India the coconut fiber is used as a scrubber a long long ago , but modernization brought to use plastic ones , now again we are seeing the coconut fibers for cleaning . But but but......, they have redesigned it into a cool looking product

  • Taylor314T5
    Taylor314T5 4 days ago

    Love it! “We have to do something” - Mike

  • Trine Nordentoft
    Trine Nordentoft 4 days ago

    We've switched out a number of plastic products at our household. I sew cotton bags for our bread which keeps it nice and fresh and are reusable. I use GOTS certified fabric leftovers from when I sew bedding for the kids. Also use wax wraps for our food and it works so good - though seems to be a bit cheaper here (Denmark) only around 10-11 quid for a xl, 2 l or 3 m size. We use bamboo toothbrushes. The coconut washer upper is nice, had heard of it but haven't found it yet - will definitely be on the lookout for that 👌

  • MrRyuofblades
    MrRyuofblades 4 days ago

    I could not agree less because this video was heavy tilted one way. each product should have been compared to is plastic counterpart in price. We should save the world btw buy bioplastic will not change the views on law makers voting does.

  • FabulousKilljoy917
    FabulousKilljoy917 5 days ago

    “The tail of a beaver”😂

  • inzagwa
    inzagwa 5 days ago

    I liked the bioplastic forks, straws and the scrub bush, but the waxy cloth and gloves are questionable to me. But I do wonder how long the forks take to decompose, I hear some of the bioplastics still take hundreds of years too.
    To replace plastic film something need to be just as versatile as it, and that's not the wax cloth. If the wax melt enough to be sticky by the warmth of your hand, then simply by carrying something by its bottom, the wax will melt into the food. I don't know if i want that. And the wax will fade overtime, especially in the more used areas. So will it last long enough to equal close to the price of plastic film? Is it as steiral? Wax has a lot of micro texture for stuff to hide in. Reusability is great but only if the replacement fills the same niche.

  • KLanD Tine
    KLanD Tine 5 days ago

    So here's the million-dollar question; if compostable plastic exists.. why TF are there paper starws?
    Fuck paper and metal straws.

  • MuddleEarth
    MuddleEarth 5 days ago

    Plastic bottle and bags

  • Jac B
    Jac B 5 days ago

    I'd love to see more of these plastic/ Enviro friendly/began alternative episodes 👍👍

  • Jennifer Caldwell
    Jennifer Caldwell 5 days ago

    If you have compost/green waste pick up locally to you, please check that they accept 'compostable/biodegradable' plastics. Many facilities are not able to process these items. They just don't get hot enough.
    It is also questionable if the resources used to make these alternatives are any better than plastics anyhow. We do all need to do our best with what we have available to us and within our means. Doesn't matter how small of a change it may be or how many of these changes we make. Every bit helps. Every grain of sand that falls in the hour glass still amounts to something. No one grain is more important than the other.

  • JakovPeace
    JakovPeace 6 days ago

    im willing to compromise on all of it i personally try to not use plastic anything. i use wood chopsticks, metal spoons and forks, and metal straws. I personally dont drink anything outside besides water and soda and usually i get can soda instead of the plastic bottles. I would love to make the house run on solar and win energy, I live in boston, close to the beach so the houses around get tons of sunlight. and when its windy its windy here. but not many companies or people are putting into that effort to make it possible

  • Erin Wagg
    Erin Wagg 7 days ago

    1. You need to have access to a local composting facility that can break down those compostable items because they need more intense heat than a backyard pile. My community compost has said no to these. But I still love that work is being done in this direction.
    2. Good People unintentionally pollute our local compost with these items that can’t compost at the rate needed.
    3. I rarely use cling wrap but I have recently started to use the bees wax cloth things for my lunch sandwich and it’s very nice.
    4 The coconut coir brush: i would try that but how should it be disposed of when its ‘done’?
    5. Using a straw in a restaurant feels more hygienic than putting my mouth on a glass that many other people have had in their mouth as well. Restaurants can accidentally be not as clean as we hope.
    Good episode! Thanks for raising my awareness of these products!

  • Katrena
    Katrena 7 days ago

    Love this episode being from oz I have the coconut brush and it works brilliantly. I think household cleaning plastics brushes ect needs to be looked at more

  • Mick Brady
    Mick Brady 7 days ago

    You can eat avocado stones, you just peel them and grate them up, good on salads

  • Tsuki Amano
    Tsuki Amano 7 days ago

    This is one video that reminds me how much I love Sorted. You guys listen to feedback from your community and incorporate it.

  • Bex T
    Bex T 7 days ago

    It would be cool if you guys did a how to on making your own beeswax wraps!

  • BettyJean Turner
    BettyJean Turner 8 days ago

    Absolutely one of my favorite episodes!!! Thank you for helping raise awareness of this.

  • v5red
    v5red 8 days ago

    Bioplastics are mostly a marketing trick that are not demonstrably better than regular plastics. “If PLA [bioplastic] does leak out, it also will not biodegrade in the ocean...It's really not any different from those industrial polymers. It can be composted in an industrial facility, but if the town doesn't have one, then it's not any different.”
    www.nationalgeographic.com/environment/2018/11/are-bioplastics-made-from-plants-better-for-environment-ocean-plastic/

  • FIESTA FLANDERS
    FIESTA FLANDERS 8 days ago

    I mostly just use straws to preserve my lipstick when I'm at work or out with friends. You can't running to the bathroom to check your makeup after every drink. (I work with people) and bathroom lines are very long at bars and clubs and the main floor is too dark to use my compact mirror.

  • Cody .Ramer
    Cody .Ramer 8 days ago

    Fun fact paper straws take more energy to make and are less recyclable than plastic straws....

  • Kurt Gentil
    Kurt Gentil 8 days ago

    I think im gonna get that dish brush. thats quite smart

  • hollwoods
    hollwoods 9 days ago

    This episode honestly made me think of all the plastic I use everyday in my house, but that I keep paper straws in my car for drinks on the go.

  • Eli Tepp-a
    Eli Tepp-a 9 days ago

    One of the most effortless contributions is also not buying plastic bags. Literally takes no effort to have bag with you when you go out (I have one that you can roll up super small, that I keep in my jacket so I have it with me even when I don't necessarily plan to get groceries), or use the fruit/veggie nets instead of multiple plastic bags.
    Stop buying plastic bottled drinks when there is a good alternative. Buy juice in cartons. Drink tap water (if it's drinkable in your region), and if you want it carbonized buy a soda stream. These small things can already help.
    One of my biggest personal issue however is shampoo/shower gel. I am allergic to a few organic components (organic "parfume" especially) that are in most plastic-free alternatives. Also allergic to chemical alcohol, so there is only a small niche of items I can buy there.

  • Pie Dude
    Pie Dude 9 days ago

    Mike is annoying, he gets mad that they have opinions. They both didn’t say they weren’t good steps forward but like paper straws they were not the best alternatives. Personally I don’t care about the conversion. I live in Texas and plastic bags and straws are still used where I am. I would change what I use if there was a better alternative. There have been a bunch of bio-friendly startups that don’t make it. Usually because the products are horrible. Both James and jaimy would use the products but point out that someone like me wouldn’t. I don’t care how much you cry about it, make a better product or I won’t buy it.

  • S
    S 9 days ago

    there's a few diy videos about making reusable cling wrap at home

  • Shaundra Jackson
    Shaundra Jackson 10 days ago

    Plastic straws apparently contribute to .02% of the waste in the oceans, most of this coming from countries with insufficient waste disposal systems. The countries that are banning plastic straws make up 3% of that .02% of ocean waste. Meanwhile, nothing is being done about the biggest contributor to waste in the oceans - the fishing industry.

  • Caerigna
    Caerigna 10 days ago

    As someone who can't make cling film cling, to save her life, I'll take just about any alternative, but that's a speedy not as usable alternative.

  • Ryan Moulder
    Ryan Moulder 10 days ago +1

    "we elect them into power, if we start making a fuss they'll have to change"
    Idk what fairy tail you have over in the UK but that's not even close to how it works in the US

  • Ilene Kramer
    Ilene Kramer 11 days ago

    Just a procedural note, guys. Please itemize the specific items you review and include links to where you might purchase them. This is certainly a big conversation, but if you, as proponents of a bioplastic movement, enable easier access to these products, you’d certainly make a big difference. Otherwise, people like me are going to look at your video, say “That’s nice. “ and forget about it. Just saying.

  • cheskydivision
    cheskydivision 11 days ago

    I don't see why ppl can't go back to doing things the way before plastic were invented.

  • Mari Anna
    Mari Anna 11 days ago

    I live in a town where they're doing more and more zero waste initiatives, there are no more plastic straws in bars and restaurants, some are replaced with metal ones which is cool, some with paper which I hate to be honest. Paper straws get soggy too quickly. During festivals and other events there are biodegradable plates and cutlery made of wood. I like that they don't allow the use of plastic anymore but I just hate eating with wooden cutlery, they're not slick enough, they stuck to your mouth, if that makes any sense 😅

  • Helena RCI
    Helena RCI 11 days ago

    @SORTEDfood, PLA isn't biodegradable because the enzymes that hydrolyze PLA are rarely found in the environment...You can't just put them on the compost heap and expect them to break down.

  • ella
    ella 12 days ago

    I think big companies need to be doing more and stop relying on people to.

  • Vixey Teh
    Vixey Teh 12 days ago

    Oi! What's wrong with Australia?

  • royalnoob96
    royalnoob96 12 days ago

    No,no no people dont wash their hands less when they wear gloves that is the whole point of gloves if you have ever seen a surgeon or doctor they replace their glove whenever they can because you want to keep the work area sanitary. i can believe that some peope are disgusting but chefs and kitchen hands should be wearing the right gloves

  • onequartercanadian
    onequartercanadian 12 days ago

    13:50 that’s a very optimistic view, Mike. I have a very nihilistic/pessimistic view on this.

  • onequartercanadian
    onequartercanadian 12 days ago +1

    Eco-friendly plastic replacements nerd to 1.) somehow become more mainstream. 2.) be lazy person proof. 3.) somehow cheaper than the original plastic product.

  • J Paterson
    J Paterson 12 days ago +3

    I’m allergic to avocado. Wonder if I’d react to those straws. The wrap is ultimately unhygienic because it’s too difficult to clean.

  • ViviB
    ViviB 13 days ago

    I use glass for containers , straws and reusable coffee cup. Reusable is the best in long term anyways . Glass is better alternative to plastic

  • Marijke Teunissen
    Marijke Teunissen 13 days ago

    I'm so happy that hou show people they can make their own small changes, it does not have to be much but it is what a person can do in their own environment. It's something you have an influence on and for example the food wrap (cheaper if it is made with beeswax and not vegan) is reusable and therefore cheaper on the long run. I would love to see more of these video's and to know where you buy this, it helps even if its just a little.

  • Thecla Shubert
    Thecla Shubert 13 days ago

    I know someone who makes the reusable wraps. Hers use beeswax though.

  • Purple Dreamer
    Purple Dreamer 13 days ago

    Ohhh i am loving this video
    If they can make fake plastic gloves and cutlery surely they can do the same with bags
    I try my best to be more aware and recycle as much as I can
    BUT there are still a lot of plastic that can't be recycled
    In this day and age it's about time that the companies start to get on board
    I don't like paper straws but I do reuse the plastic ones I have as I wash them out
    I have not had to buy anymore for about 12 years baring in mind the box did hold 100
    Keep up the good work boys
    I love watching your videos
    Entertaining practical and very helpful
    I follow another channel that creates meals in mug in a microwave perhaps you could do some videos using a microwave as not every one has a cooker

  • Janell Kendall
    Janell Kendall 13 days ago

    We need another 3 way battle!

  • Sadie C
    Sadie C 14 days ago

    That’s very idealistic mike, it’s a very simplified way of looking at a very complex problem. Which is not a bad thing, and I hope it’s a step in the right direction.