Pokémon Legends: Arceus Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 25, 2022
  • Pokémon Legends: Arceus is a significant reimagining of what makes a Pokémon game, with an exciting level of flexibility that's only slightly hampered by a slow early-game grind.
    Game Freak and Nintendo's Pokémon Legends: Arceus will be available on Nintendo Switch on January 28, 2022. You can read the full written Pokémon Legends: Arceus review by Steve Watts on GameSpot: www.gamespot.com/reviews/poke...
  • GamingGaming

Comments • 1 904

  • David Ahmadi
    David Ahmadi 4 months ago +1594

    Hey All! Thank you so much for checking out our video review. I wanted to note a few things:
    You might notice some parts of the frame on certain shots had to be blurred, or that there are a lot of gameplay clips that are repeated. This is due to Nintendo's particularly strict embargo which dictated we could only show certain "approved" Pokemon, areas, quests, or even characters. As the video editor, I would have loved to show you guys so much more of the gameplay I captured so far but this is just the nature of the industry! What I can say is that after launch we will be able to show so much more, so DEFINITELY stay tuned cause we got some great content for Pokemon coming your way!
    I personally have been having a blast playing and I hope you guys do too!

    • RockingChairShotgunner
      RockingChairShotgunner 3 months ago

      @3fkups There's trading, but no battles. And I think if someone dies ("blacks out", sorry) in the wild and drops their stuff, other players can find it in the world and return it to whoever dropped it. So it's effectively a single-player experience, if you mainly want PvP skip this one

    • Taylor Jones
      Taylor Jones 3 months ago

      @Francisco Duenas Nintendo embargoes literally everything

    • Igha Kandow
      Igha Kandow 3 months ago

      At least they didnt embargo the fact that the open word design looks more like post apocalyptic digimon, empty almost dead.

    • Red X
      Red X 3 months ago

      🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣😠 aaahahahaha, The Pokemon Company: You had better not tell on us. People had better not find out that we don't actually know how to make games! Swear to God they had better not find out what a POS this game really is. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

    • mooganify
      mooganify 3 months ago

      Thought that might be the case!

  • Colin Hawks
    Colin Hawks 4 months ago +1714

    The game’s performance struggles shouldn’t be blamed on “hardware limitations”. We should be able to call it what it really is without the sugarcoating. There are other games on this console that are more visually striking while offering much larger open worlds than what is on offer here and yet they run just fine.

    • Tim Endew
      Tim Endew 3 months ago

      @mitchell avontuur it has problems keeping the fps stable in handheld (also heard from a friend) other then that issue the game still looks gorgeous.

    • Richard 7901
      Richard 7901 3 months ago

      the other took 300 percent more time to develop which clearly not pokemon company way

    • Bowlingdoughnuts MD
      Bowlingdoughnuts MD 3 months ago

      If you make a game for a console with limited power then you should scale your game to that console. Console limitations apply when it’s meant for something else but squeezed to a lower powered console.

    • RedCrimson102
      RedCrimson102 3 months ago

      @lito dat BOTW doesn't struggle

    • RedCrimson102
      RedCrimson102 3 months ago

      @Joseph Roy good one lol

  • allan paxton
    allan paxton 4 months ago +1713

    I don’t feel it’s fair to blame the hardware for the look of the game, especially in the same breath as you mention BotW. I feel the look of the game is less a technical issue and more a failing of Game Freak from and artistic perspective.

    • aesir1 ases
      aesir1 ases 3 months ago

      the art looks close the same as botw, this looks like a budget problem more than anything

    • Post Rock Mixes
      Post Rock Mixes 3 months ago

      @tampakc How does this contribute to greed?
      Also RAM is the main bottleneck of the switch. Textures will absolutely take hits before anything else.

    • Trevor Clifford
      Trevor Clifford 3 months ago

      finally someone mentions this - from the first trailer i've been wondering if Arceus would eventually look better...it looks like a basic Unity toolset with BAD lighting

    • Felix S.
      Felix S. 3 months ago

      @Ryan Kelly In parts I agree on the other hand the quality of graphics is not measureable objectively. While we can count certain specs like pixelcount, anti aliasing, definition and framerate it doesn’t necessarily define good graphics which may be what you are referring. Artstyle is Part of the graphics though and while I agree most Switch games which look good do have a good Artstyle I would personally consider games like Super Mario Odyssey being a game
      With overall good graphics even in comparison to games
      From PS5 such as Astros Playroom and Sackboys big adventure.

    • Ryan Kelly
      Ryan Kelly 3 months ago

      @Felix S. People out here confusing graphics with art. While it's true basically every switch game is gonna be weak graphically due to the hardware a properly selected art style will more than make up for that. Just look at Windwaker for the perfect example. It stands up 100x better than 99% of games from that era due to how unique and well-realized the art style is.

  • Evil Pikachu
    Evil Pikachu 4 months ago +1272

    It's nice to see a series so heavily linked to evolution actually evolve. Feels like Pokémon has been holding down the B button for decades. It's getting old. Hopefully this will be big step forward the series has needed since about the 3DS era. Got mine and my daughter's pre-ordered so I guess we'll see on Friday.

    • WESTWARD: Created in Fortnite Creative
      WESTWARD: Created in Fortnite Creative 3 months ago

      @Raccoon Child didn't gen 2 literally have the entire kanto region as a postgame unlock

    • aesir1 ases
      aesir1 ases 3 months ago

      NEVER PRE ORDER, WHEN WILL PEOPLE LEARN THIS??

    • Reformed Doomer
      Reformed Doomer 3 months ago

      @SkullerClawer Bandicoot I see you point. Ultra Sun was an amazing game probably in my top three favorite pokemon games!

    • SkullerClawer Bandicoot
      SkullerClawer Bandicoot 3 months ago

      @Reformed Doomer And Gen 7. They actually felt different from other games, even Gen 5 felt like the same pkmn game as the other games
      Its sad how no one ever gives gen 7 credit smh

    • Pedro Monteiro
      Pedro Monteiro 3 months ago

      @Angeltripper sprites graphics don’t attract young audiences to the game! Go out and look for how many kids play games like Octopath Trv or the indies games who emulates PS1 graphics!
      Just old beard mans can enjoy sprites nowadays. It gives a retro games feeling...

  • 1Chasg
    1Chasg 3 months ago +53

    Imagine this but with amazing graphics and dense, detailed locations

    • TheRealtalk617
      TheRealtalk617 2 days ago

      They have mods that make everything you said come true.

    • DAVIS
      DAVIS 3 months ago +1

      @Ryan Blickfeldt in this comparison, I'm paying gourmet big money for this fast food

    • 1Chasg
      1Chasg 3 months ago +4

      @Ryan Blickfeldt I'm talking about the potential not this game specifically.

    • Ryan Blickfeldt
      Ryan Blickfeldt 3 months ago +11

      Imagine walking into McDonalds and expecting real beef

  • Tradeka420
    Tradeka420 4 months ago +757

    The dodging and real time action, so long as it’s good, is a huge gamer changer for me. I always thought Pokémon was dying to have real time action in it. If you were actually in a world where Pokémon existed, you probably would get attacked by big scary aggressive wild Pokémon as you explored, and you would have to dodge and roll and run away, or battle them. This feels much more like the anime or the manga, and that’s what I’ve been waiting for with Pokémon. The graphics don’t look amazing, but I also think they are better than people are giving them credit for. I really just wish they would stop the yearly Pokémon games, this could look like 10 times better if they’d had another year to polish stuff. I don’t usually buy Pokémon games when they come out, but I think I’m gonna pick up this one. Even if it’s not the most beautiful visually, I think the gameplay is gonna set this Pokémon game apart from the rest. Let’s hope this is the new direction that will save Pokémon (well it always sells well so it doesn’t need to be “saved” but the last 4? 5? 6? games have been terrible

    • Jordan
      Jordan 2 months ago

      If I was in a world where they existed, Id bring my shotgun. Night night Pikachu this is what buckshot taste like

    • Jonathan schellinger
      Jonathan schellinger 2 months ago

      @Old Man Jenkins I told yall

    • Jonathan schellinger
      Jonathan schellinger 2 months ago

      @John Mitchell I toldddd you g

    • SkullerClawer Bandicoot
      SkullerClawer Bandicoot 3 months ago

      @bootyhed That's stinkin TPC.
      And u do realize they tried to offer something different with gen 5 (in terms of story at least)
      and guess what?
      Nobody gave it credit and crapped on it so much that SwSh went back to the basic formula.
      Now Legends is a completely different game but alot of its mechanics were from Gen 7 and were expanded upon (Nobles/Alphas being Totem mons, Wardens being Trial Captains, Photo mode, upgraded Trials, etc.)

    • SkullerClawer Bandicoot
      SkullerClawer Bandicoot 3 months ago

      @Scott Zhou 🤦 Gen 7 were really hard games. As for the handholding, thats honestly an issue with alot of rpgs, Persona 5 had a cutscene at EVERY step (guess considering I think of it as a minor annoyance), cuz theyre trying to introduce the characters (honestly they could've added a cutscene skip option)

  • Doctor Boots
    Doctor Boots 4 months ago +237

    Glad to hear the new mechanics are largely well implemented. One of the more frustrating conversations I see cropping up is the complaint that Pokemon never makes substantial formula changes, while simultaneously arguing that changing the core loop is a "betrayal" of Pokemon's base concept.
    For what it's worth it looks like these new mechanics are going to be a lot of fun to play around with and I like the idea of the dodge/deploy/counterattack style "boss" fights. Feels like it might play out like a simplified Monster Hunter.

    • gbdeck200
      gbdeck200 3 months ago +3

      One can grow a design without losing It, people complain cause they havent done that, constant short cutting design and babyfying all elements ruins core while changing encounter system and pc system

    • Ashli Rabid
      Ashli Rabid 4 months ago

      @SkullerClawer Bandicoot Personally I enjoyed Sun and Moon the most after a long in between after Emerald and HeartGold/SoulSilver.
      I liked the Switch up and I liked the combination of the Z-moves and Mega Evolution features, made online battles very interesting.
      But people like to complain over the smallest things these days.

    • SkullerClawer Bandicoot
      SkullerClawer Bandicoot 4 months ago +2

      @Ashli Rabid Pkmn fans: its the same thing
      GF: changes with SM/Ultra
      Fans: its the worst thing ever, we'll never give it credit where its due (until its considered old)
      Gen 7 in a nutshell
      I agree tho

    • mulamoes
      mulamoes 4 months ago +2

      @Ashli Rabid i just dont bother playing them anymore, just the art direction of arceus legends makes me not want to play it 💔

    • Ashli Rabid
      Ashli Rabid 4 months ago +15

      Pokemon fans: Pokemon doesn't change.
      Pokemon company: Changes something small.
      Pokemon fans: Ugh! I don't like it when Pokemon changes.
      Pokemon fans for the past 7 years in a nutshell.

  • An. tes
    An. tes 3 months ago +8

    Played through it all weekend and I have to say this definitely is a 9/10 bc it was a lot of fun. This game just needed better graphics, multi-player interaction, and needs to bring back more complex battling for those that want it. Hopefully the next Switch and Game Freak can give us a better game.

    • Anisa Garcia
      Anisa Garcia Month ago

      @chay facts

    • chay
      chay 2 months ago +1

      10/10 compare to the last 5 pokemon games

  • Bryan Bjorlin
    Bryan Bjorlin 3 months ago +32

    The addition of side quests along with the other new mechanics is a nice refreshing feeling. It took a risk being different than running around fighting endless NPCs. I’m 25 hours in since release and I find I just love exploring and filling my Pokédex over the story sometimes.

    • Joltar
      Joltar 3 months ago +1

      I totally agree. Ive barely noticed the lack of trainer battles cause i tend to lose myself trying to research certain pokemon to then boost my shiny chances later :3 its pretty awesome but we definitely need gym battles in the next game

  • Desasterific
    Desasterific 4 months ago +616

    As a long time Pokemon player, the fact that you can move around during battle blows my mind lol

    • We're Just Gaming!
      We're Just Gaming! 3 months ago

      @grandi it's only January. So you are probably right

    • grandi
      grandi 3 months ago

      It could never win becuase how unfinished it is

    • Raf Soto
      Raf Soto 3 months ago

      I tried to tank a bulldoze move cause I thought I can be ash and shield my Pokémon haha that didn’t work out

    • We're Just Gaming!
      We're Just Gaming! 3 months ago

      @kingragnork yeah they also had better development times from the contracting Franchise. Pokémon Company force games out every year for merchandise money they get from the new mon. Games make very little money.

    • kingragnork
      kingragnork 3 months ago

      Digimon World 1 did this on Ps1

  • Taylor Allred
    Taylor Allred 4 months ago +145

    I’ve been so nervous for this game. I’ve wanted it to be good and bring back the magic of Pokémon so badly. If anything, I hope this is the beginning of a new series of games so they can polish over the new formula. Red and Green were pretty rough when they came out but they did something novel. I hope this is something similar.

    • CantDestroyHer
      CantDestroyHer 3 months ago

      It’s not perfect but it’s a step in the right direction

    • Mike Workman
      Mike Workman 3 months ago

      @Andres Hernandez haha!

    • Andres Hernandez
      Andres Hernandez 3 months ago +1

      @Mike Workman Red and Green is what the weebs say.

    • James
      James 3 months ago

      So tru

    • West Taiwan
      West Taiwan 3 months ago +1

      @LillRice Red and Green are the same, Blue version was an upgraded version of Red and Green with additions like new sprite work, bugfixes, and reworking of some areas.
      Japanese Blue eventually became the international release of Red and Blue, the Red and Blue we played in the West was not the original version.

  • Dusk194
    Dusk194 3 months ago +12

    I love where they've taken it.
    I've been very disinterested by many of the recent titles. As one of the many who first picked up Pokémon in 1998, the "modern" games felt to removed from the core Pokémon experience.
    But, I like the blend of old school mechanics combined with the Zelda style open-world in Arceus.
    I not only intend to buy and play it, I'm genuinely excited to try it. I can't say that about any other Pokémon title in the last 10 years.

    • Joltar
      Joltar 3 months ago

      @Tim Endew hahaha yeah i agree. im 62 hours in and im in the same boat xD its way too much fun

    • Tim Endew
      Tim Endew 3 months ago

      @Joltar as much as you are right about less trainer battles and more exploration, i do miss the occasional WILD trainer battle -other then story driven/forced trainer battles-
      This is why (imo) the entire world feels semi-empty.
      however, 60 hours in the game already and i can't put my switch down😂 sooo.....

    • Eric Widder
      Eric Widder 3 months ago

      I've felt the same way. I was born in 1987 so Red, Blue, and Yellow were games I was playing constantly from 11 on. But I'm 34 now, I've been craving something that blends the old with the new, and nothing has made me want to buy anything. Have you tried it out yet? I feel like our experiences are similar so I'd be interested in your take on it.

    • Joltar
      Joltar 3 months ago +4

      Oh you are going to love it! Ive been into pokemon since the first generation and i havent had more fun since I picked this one up. The game looks and plays perfectly undocked, i have no idea what people are blabbing on about unless they have only ever played it while docked. The game is perfect if youre okay with less trainer battles and more exploration. Tbh its a change i didnt know i needed

  • Maxwell Ware
    Maxwell Ware 4 months ago +27

    Great review! I feel like this gave me the look into this game that I needed to really understand what this entry to the series is all about.

  • StaticFox64
    StaticFox64 3 months ago +170

    hardware isn't to blame, it's optimization and art direction, something Pokemon has struggled with since it's debut into 3D.

    • aesir1 ases
      aesir1 ases 3 months ago

      the game art is almost botw, it looks fine enough, the optimization though .... low budget game it seems.

    • Thine own mother
      Thine own mother 3 months ago

      @Tim Endew Yeah i noticed that too, the characters are unintentionally outlined in some cses.

    • Tim Endew
      Tim Endew 3 months ago

      @Thine own mother and what about the constant lack of anti aliasing..? 70% of the time im trying to enjoy the world i notice white pixel between hard texture changes. the pixels almost form a line between the 2 textures.. on top of that, this is only visible in the overworld and doesn't even happen when say a move is used by a pkmn in battle...

    • Tsukasa
      Tsukasa 3 months ago +2

      well try running ghost runner on the switch vs any other platform

    • Joao M
      Joao M 3 months ago

      @StaticFox64 But talking about Arceus the graphics could and should be better, but the game is genuinely cool.
      They really get it right in other respects, they brought very positive changes to the game and the game is really cool. It's a very fun game and if you like Pokémon it's worth playing, as well as being a very important step forward for the franchise.

  • Zenix Kiryu
    Zenix Kiryu 4 months ago +2

    Looking pretty good and like a huge step for the series. Hopefully it holds true to that belief it's given me.

  • Edward
    Edward 4 months ago +82

    I mean tbh, empty worlds in video games can work but it depends on gameplay and enemy variety. Having worlds with tons of things to do can get overwhelming, tedious and just feel like a chore. This Pokémon game doesn’t look as bad as it was introduced. I’ll consider picking this one up

    • mattyoos123
      mattyoos123 3 months ago

      empty worlds are amazing when it looks good

    • Thine own mother
      Thine own mother 3 months ago

      @Creid and to sneak you also have to be crouched. and anyway the slopes are annoying even on wyrdeer

    • Thine own mother
      Thine own mother 3 months ago

      @Creid yuh but before that most slopes you can't just roll over. some of them you can but most you can't

    • Creid
      Creid 3 months ago

      @Thine own mother if you dive roll on the slopes you should be able to get up it's worked for me but if you have a ride pokemon you dont really need to worry about slopes as you can just jump over them

    • Thine own mother
      Thine own mother 3 months ago

      @STNMN I forward what you said about Shadow of the colossus and that it CAN work its just that from my experience so far it hasn't really and somehow they managed to make tiny slopes your biggest enemy.

  • NinPC
    NinPC 4 months ago +10

    I feel like this game is going to be a bit rough, but still a breath of fresh air

  • We're Just Gaming!
    We're Just Gaming! 4 months ago +67

    To me Pokédex was a secondary task to the main story. Though I haven't beat the last Noble yet. I progressed to Star rank 4 or 5 in the first area and from there as long as you catch a bunch of every new Mon you should rank up along with the story

    • We're Just Gaming!
      We're Just Gaming! 3 months ago

      @Post Rock Mixes not it's not
      The story missions and noble fights are. I was never once hindered by the Pokédex. I never once had to solely focus on the Dex to progress forward. Dex built itself as I completed the story missions, side requests, and explored the areas

    • Post Rock Mixes
      Post Rock Mixes 3 months ago

      Its the main progression of the game lol

    • georgeta troncos
      georgeta troncos 3 months ago

      @Emiliano .Rusconi Glory to God Jesus Christ in heaven and earth forever and always, pray nonstop and repent now and read the Bible, John 3:16,Psalms 23,grandma

    • Emiliano .Rusconi
      Emiliano .Rusconi 3 months ago

      "as long as you catch a bunch of every new Mon" i mean isnt that just completing the pokedex?

    • georgeta troncos
      georgeta troncos 4 months ago

      We love positive story for the kids.. Grandma

  • Matt Babineau
    Matt Babineau 4 months ago +99

    Not a spin-off though. This is a mainline Pokémon game, that is TPC’s official stance on the matter. Which honestly makes these gameplay changes and iterations even more exciting.

    • Dan
      Dan 3 months ago

      @Ryan Agnew This game was definitely an experiment. What easier way to test these new mechanics by creating an entire game focused around them? That seems to have been the entire goal of the game. I do think it's lacking a lot of complexities that would beef up the gameplay, but I'm happy to hear it's not a flop. Also though I'm not going to call it a good game, I'm glad it's succeding for the fact that these new mechanics can become a staple for future games at a minimum since it's doing well.

    • randy naudts
      randy naudts 3 months ago

      Was gonna say the same thing its NOT
      a spin-off

    • René Murillo
      René Murillo 3 months ago

      @kb I agree my dude, sadly that's how this works, game is still selling like crazy so why should they do better? They're getting all the money still, I wouldn't be surprised to see PvP added in as paid DLC in the future xD

    • kb
      kb 3 months ago +2

      @René Murillo I predict they didn't include much because they wanted to play it safe. The japanese boomers who direct the production of the game are too used to the status quo so to them this is a huge risk and they don't want to waste too much money developing all the features. Now that they see that this is a success maybe they'll actually put in the work for once... or they'll take it as the consumers are satisfied with this level of quality and keep it like this for 20 years.

    • ItsameAlex
      ItsameAlex 3 months ago

      Yeah, I noticed many r**arded ''off'' things said, by this reviewer.

  • LynnStrifeTsubame
    LynnStrifeTsubame 4 months ago +16

    Great review! I'm very curious about this game. I haven't preordered it yet for Friday, but I'm definitely picking up this game later this year. Maybe during my summer holiday :D

  • Kerry Gligorovic
    Kerry Gligorovic 3 months ago +1

    Pokémon Legends: Arceus is very different from the other past Pokemon games because sometime a trainer need to dodge a wild Pokemon's attack instead the usual Pokemon battle to weaken a wild Pokemon before catching it. Watch some of the video on TheXvid of how to dodge even the legendary Pokemon like Palkia, Dialga, Giratina and Arceus is really hard as it reminds me one of Nintendo sitch games like Zelda and Mario.

  • Hell5 Fire
    Hell5 Fire 4 months ago +39

    Nice to see you guys made it through the tutorial.

  • Reich Paprika
    Reich Paprika 4 months ago +276

    Its not hardware limitation from the Switch its GameFreaks inability to optimize their games. Its been the same with the 3DS when X & Y came out youd have massive frame drops with certain battles

    • AeliusDawn
      AeliusDawn 3 months ago

      @Paul Robertson the Switch has ports of Crysis Remastered, Doom, and Witcher 3. It can run much prettier games than Legends Arceus

    • Vanderbam
      Vanderbam 3 months ago

      @Josh Allen the GOAT mine never did. Only time I had fr drops playing botw was in the korok forest. 🤷‍♀️

    • SpXek
      SpXek 3 months ago

      @The man behind you. Those games look OK. People act like BoTW looks incredible. It really doesnt when you compare it to other games at the same price in the market.

    • SkullerClawer Bandicoot
      SkullerClawer Bandicoot 4 months ago

      @The Rollie Show U do realize its cuz the higher ups at WB Games gave them the actual time and money to do it with NRS having experience with consoles right?
      Even then, it was at the cost of graphics looking not as good as the other versions

    • The Rollie Show
      The Rollie Show 4 months ago +3

      Mortal Kombat 11 runs 60 FPS, there’s no reason Pokémon should run into any issue

  • Tdull1993
    Tdull1993 4 months ago +5

    That’s a nice score for a game that’s at least trying to be innovative in its core concept while still being what we love about the Pokémon series. I still hope to have it on my Switch after I get Rune Factory 5 for my birthday in March. This year’s gaming is going to be interesting to say the least.

    • fjoolololol
      fjoolololol 3 months ago

      Playing catch-up to other games isn't innovative.

  • JXC98
    JXC98 3 months ago +3

    I'm excited for this change. A lot of these bad reviews are kind of harsh, I'm sure it's not perfect but it's also the first of its kind in the series. I'm sure the next in this new series will be improved upon but I like the direction they are moving

  • The Boi
    The Boi 4 months ago +203

    This isn’t a matter of “If this game will be good or bad”.
    This is a matter of “This game NEEDS to be good.”

    • Calvin Long
      Calvin Long 3 months ago

      Yea it’s alright I mean it’s new Pokémon feel to it so that might be driving my opinion but I still feel like it could been more like a stamina bar upgrades you can do for you character and the not being able to swim is dumb in my opinion

    • The Boi
      The Boi 3 months ago

      @Oona Nicholson what

    • The Boi
      The Boi 3 months ago

      @SkullerClawer Bandicoot I agree, BDSP not being made by Gamefreak definitely shows and is disappointing, but this means that they got even more time to work on Legends Arceus and make it even better, rather than juggling both at the same time and both ending up being mediocre and unpolished.

    • SkullerClawer Bandicoot
      SkullerClawer Bandicoot 3 months ago +2

      @crazyape515 Lets hope ppl actually supports them for more games like this

    • SkullerClawer Bandicoot
      SkullerClawer Bandicoot 3 months ago +2

      @MrStGeorgeIllawarra U do realize GF didnt even work on bdsp right? TPC outsourced it so GF can get more time from Legends (and it shows), too bad GF didnt make it cuz it wouldve been really special like oras (the best remake)

  • Daniel Forgesson
    Daniel Forgesson 4 months ago +1

    Really excited for this game seen so many good reviews

  • Ryan Percival
    Ryan Percival 4 months ago

    This looks like a pokemon game I have wanted for a long time. This is from the perspective of someone who was uninterested in any Pokemon game after Ultra Sun/Moon. This seems like a great shakeup. The action order and movement reminds me more of traditional RPGs, but its very different for Pokemon.

  • Frankie Ambrosio
    Frankie Ambrosio 4 months ago +19

    Never been a fan of Pokemon games but this is the one I've been waiting for years to get me to jump in to the series. So excited

  • Monica
    Monica 4 months ago +32

    About time it got some real progress. In another 20 years they’ll finally add voices to characters 😆

    • Jay Barry
      Jay Barry 3 months ago +2

      Even Zelda has voice acting. I was hoping that this was where Pokemon would finally add it to the games.

    • Corey Collins
      Corey Collins 3 months ago +5

      Haha and the ANOTHER 20 years for actual battle animations

  • Joao M
    Joao M 3 months ago +6

    I really liked it, it may not be a graphic masterpiece but it's a lot of fun, the changes are positive, and because they are positive, they tend to stay and be improved in the future. Do not take seriously the opinion of those who have not played and simply say that it is not worth it because of the graphics (you can be sure that if someone said that the game is not good because of the graphics that person did not play). Go play and see how fun the game is.
    It's an important step for franchising. They've been trying to evolve a 25 year series and they're on the right track, thinking so Pokemon Legends Arceus can almost be called a successful draft. I highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of the franchise, who doesn't play pokemon and doesn't have the weight of nostalgia probably won't be enchanted by the game.

  • Matt Noce
    Matt Noce 3 months ago +3

    Say what you will about the environment graphics, but this is the most fun I’ve had playing a Pokémon game since heartgold came out

  • Level With Us
    Level With Us 3 months ago +3

    To me this was the shake up the series absolutely needed - though I wish they went even further with it. We just posted our thoughts as well!

  • L Vee
    L Vee 3 months ago +2

    I'm very interested in the new direction they're taking the games. But the performance and graphics are pretty poor for an expensive game and massive franchise. Other games with far less have done far better.

  • sreddi83
    sreddi83 3 months ago

    I'm glad pokemon are innovating (it's been a long time coming), only wish this game had been made sooner, can u imagine before a generation playing this and all new pokemon were introduced in this game

  • ENTERTAINING GAME CHANNEL
    ENTERTAINING GAME CHANNEL 4 months ago +65

    Wow... You can move around during battle

    • Matthewbraith 0
      Matthewbraith 0 3 months ago

      And?

    • Thine own mother
      Thine own mother 3 months ago

      Yeah it exists but unfortunately nothing rlly happens, you can get hit but it doesn't deal dmg to you for some reason. and the bars on the screen make it really annoying to see what is going on.

    • Zaanse_Mayo
      Zaanse_Mayo 3 months ago

      I was surprised to see this as well, in the trailers and gameplay showcases the battle camera looked super static, but if you can actually move around, that's pretty dope

  • Kedz
    Kedz 4 months ago +4

    I understand the critism and the doubt on this game (not those who straight up bashing it in every corner), but still cant wait to play this game. Im sure the pre-order bonus "hand fan" will be useful when things gets spicy 😅

  • Claira-𝐹**СК МЕ - СНЕ𝒞𝒦 𝑀𝒴 Р𝑅𝟢𝐹𝐼𝐿Е

    It's nice to see a series so heavily linked to evolution actually evolve. Feels like Pokémon has been holding down the B button for decades. It's getting old. Hopefully this will be big step forward the series has needed since about the 3DS era. Got mine and my daughter's pre-ordered so I guess we'll see on Friday.

  • Jeremy Hutton
    Jeremy Hutton 4 months ago +1

    Super happy that their starting to push the innovation of the games. Would have been super cool to have real pokemon battles, gyms, rivals, and Elite 4 in this but might be better waiting for better hardware for that next step!

    • wood10
      wood10 4 months ago +2

      But it does have real pokemon battles and rivals.

    • Chardan
      Chardan 4 months ago +1

      Hardware has nothing to do with that though...

  • Kyle
    Kyle 4 months ago +4

    Thanks for the quality content as always GameSpot team!

  • SketchTheParadigm York
    SketchTheParadigm York 3 months ago +6

    4:00 this honestly wasn’t an issue for me… I leveled up just exploring as you said previously, I didnt need to grind at all for my first two stars

    • Kryptical
      Kryptical 3 months ago

      I haven't felt a need to grind any levels and I'm almost done with the story

  • Dreggy 9
    Dreggy 9 4 months ago

    Sound like it’ll be cool if they went a step further. Maybe incorporate moves where the player has to dodge or maybe making position part of the battle system

  • Flik
    Flik 3 months ago

    I've been crushing a good amount of hours over the past 24. It's a breath of fresh air, and if you're not rushing it, there's much to be enjoyed.
    Where i am right now, however, it feels like the inciting incident is still to happen. I guess one could argue these games never adhere to a 3-act story, but it would be nice if something would break the status quo after a while.

  • Zemb Leton
    Zemb Leton 3 months ago +2

    Im a long time fan and I happen to really like the new art style and game play!

  • Sirmel11
    Sirmel11 4 months ago +1

    Great review! I really enjoyed it!

  • Dustin Nuttall
    Dustin Nuttall 4 months ago +3

    I can't wait to play! Already downloaded onto my Switch. Hopefully tomorrow night at 9pm I'll be able to play like previous games. Haven't been this excited in years.

  • Dr. Halayqeh
    Dr. Halayqeh 3 months ago

    a fair enough review with a slight push for the end score.
    I'm looking forward to test the game before purchasing it to see if I would enjoy it or not.

  • Naruto Uzumaki
    Naruto Uzumaki 3 months ago

    This game could actually be the best one yet if it had met the expectations of what a Switch Game should look. The story is good, the concept is great, and the characters are interesting. This game was dragged down by the graphics. Solid game tho, and I hope they make more

  • Holy Badger
    Holy Badger 4 months ago +14

    Colosseum and Gale of Darkness for me where the start to something new. Love to see this and hope they do something with Colosseum and GOD in the future

  • HAPPYMYSTIK
    HAPPYMYSTIK 4 months ago

    This sounds like a magical adventure my souls been waiting for!

  • AndreRavone
    AndreRavone 3 months ago

    This the most fair review that I have seen so far and I agree with it.

  • nomercy
    nomercy 3 months ago +12

    the gameboy versions and all those memories of being a kid. and laying outside in the early morning in the sun playing them will forever be my favorite

  • supercool cakes
    supercool cakes 4 months ago +56

    I just rewatched the original trailer for arceus and the jewel of life (which is free via TheXvid movies) and they actually said arc-e-uhs, even though I swear at some point a trailer, movie or tv show character said ar-cee-uhs. In any case, watch the movie if you havent, as the entire thing is arceus battling with dialga, palkia and giratina.

    • Yoshi
      Yoshi 4 months ago +1

      @Jescee Skylar yes but English is a language in which spelling doesn’t matter so it’s Ar-kee-us since that’s how the anime and Pokémon company pronounce it.

    • Luca94
      Luca94 4 months ago +1

      @Taylor Allred yeah you're right but the official pronunciation in english is Ar kee us.

    • Daniel Vișan
      Daniel Vișan 4 months ago +1

      Taking from Silvally's RKS System ability (which is a nod to Arceus, as they basically tried to clone it) it would be Ar-kay-us. At most Ar-key-us, but not Ar-sea-us.

    • Doukz
      Doukz 4 months ago +2

      It's probably my second favorite movie, right behind Zoroark Master of illusions. I've been inconsistently calling Arceus Ar-See-Us and Ark-ee-us for years now.

    • Alex Greifenkamp
      Alex Greifenkamp 4 months ago +6

      @Jescee Skylar Ar-kee-us is the English pronunciation currently used by the Pokemon company.

  • Ragnarok
    Ragnarok 3 months ago +2

    This game looks amazing breath of fresh air in the pokemon series, I'd like them to do this in the johto region/story can't wait until that day comes!

  • itsjustmonty
    itsjustmonty 3 months ago +1

    Pokémon Evolutions Were Chosen Based On Shine Form…
    So recently I was scrolling through Serebii looking at the new Pokémon and their shines and I realized something.
    These of the colors of their shine forms
    Stantler- Lime Green Scizor- Lime Green Ursaring- Lime Green Basculin- Lime Green
    Then it changes
    Sneasel- Pink Qwilfish- Pink
    Finally Enamorus’s shine is the same color as Sneasel and Qwilfish!
    I’m thinking this could confirm the colors for Gen 9 Legendaries Green and Pink
    Or
    Could confirm Zygarde return in an open world game based on the war we heard about in Pokémon X & Y
    Along with Enamorus confirming Black & White remakes?

  • Shawn K The King
    Shawn K The King 4 months ago +45

    I’m definitely copping this game 🔥

    • IDK anymore
      IDK anymore 3 months ago +1

      @Shawn K The King Yeah right, with what? your food stamps?!

    • IDK anymore
      IDK anymore 3 months ago +1

      @Phil Lemon Yes and its okay to be

    • Phil Lemon
      Phil Lemon 3 months ago +3

      @IDK anymore racism moment

    • Shawn K The King
      Shawn K The King 4 months ago +7

      @IDK anymore no I can buy it tf lol

    • IDK anymore
      IDK anymore 4 months ago +1

      This dude gonna steal a copy judgin from his pfp

  • Braden Barnes
    Braden Barnes 3 months ago +1

    They finally made a pokemon game I've been searching for but it's to late because I sold my switch... They are definitely on the right track thou! An actual open world pokemon game when they design the battling better and not make it super japanese like I'll buy a switch back

  • Baniknik
    Baniknik 3 months ago +3

    This game with the combination of Pokemon Snap graphics would be the bomb. The different mechanics of the game honestly got me to pre-order the game, even if the graphics are... meh. I saw in a comment that a pokemon can learn 4 moves, but new moves aren't forgotten and you can switch the moves equipped for each pokemon. Haven't fact checked that yet, but if it's true, I find this game a breath of fresh air from all the previous games, even if the graphics aren't the best.

  • e13kid
    e13kid 4 months ago +95

    I skipped the new remakes, wasn’t really interested in playing the same game for the 10th time. I wasn’t sure about this one either but it actually looks pretty dope. I’m going to preorder it based on this review.

    • Blobfish
      Blobfish 3 months ago

      @gbdeck200 to YOU it’s mid

    • gbdeck200
      gbdeck200 3 months ago +1

      Don't it's mid

    • Blobfish
      Blobfish 4 months ago +1

      @Josh Allen the GOAT That's what I say whenever I start a new game. You gotta give it time for the genuine reviews to come in. It is a great start tho, since when I game is terrible, the reviews are negative from the start

    • Mario Walker 904
      Mario Walker 904 4 months ago

      I didn't mind the remakes, but I get why people were upset. I thought bdsp brought back classic pokemon, and the game actually got hard.

    • Josh Allen the GOAT
      Josh Allen the GOAT 4 months ago +4

      A lot of the people who have been playing it early have been saying PLA is one of their favorite Pokémon games in the entire series, so that's a good sign.

  • Spike Bebop
    Spike Bebop 4 months ago +1

    This is gonna be an awesome experience

  • pc_t
    pc_t 3 months ago +1

    So what I’m hearing, I can play it like a traditional Pokémon game in open world, sold. They’re little nitpicks i wish were apart of it, but I’m very happy for this to be the first entry in what I hope to be a new branch of games for them.

  • Johnny Le
    Johnny Le 4 months ago +1

    Cant wait for this game it looks so fun

  • nijuo joing
    nijuo joing 3 months ago

    Great review! I feel like this gave me the look into this game that I needed to really understand what this entry to the series is all about.

    • nijuo joing
      nijuo joing 3 months ago

      Plot twist : no plot twist today :)

  • dcoog anml
    dcoog anml 3 months ago

    Great review! I'm very curious about this game. I haven't preordered it yet for Friday, but I'm definitely picking up this game later this year. Maybe during my summer holiday :D

  • Donald Wolfe
    Donald Wolfe 4 months ago +52

    Good review! One correction though, the game is not a spin off. It has been confirmed main series.

    • ItsameAlex
      ItsameAlex 3 months ago

      Yeah, I noticed many r**arded things said by this reviewer. Many of the things he said were ''off''.

    • RaLLaDinHoX
      RaLLaDinHoX 3 months ago

      It is a prequel 🤔

    • Donald Wolfe
      Donald Wolfe 4 months ago +18

      @louis.sidwell
      Not a new Gen, but a game doesn't need to be a fresh Gen to be Main series. The Pokemon Company and GameFreak have both officially referred to PLA as a main series addition which is all I was pointing out since they claim its a spin off in their review.

    • louis.sidwell
      louis.sidwell 4 months ago +7

      I mean, it's clearly not a new main series Gen entry

  • J
    J 4 months ago +86

    For people who think the score should be higher than 8- Number based scoring systems don’t work well for games that are both brilliant and substantially flawed. This is a case where the game can’t be reduced to a score out of 10, but the reviewer was required to do that.

    • georgeta troncos
      georgeta troncos 3 months ago +1

      @David John 3:16,Psalms 1,23,91, God Jesus Christ is Love, peace, health, anointing, wisdom, etc, pray nonstop and repent now and read the Bible, grandma

    • David
      David 3 months ago +1

      @georgeta troncos Thanks be to God. It is right to give thanks and praise. 🕯️🙏

    • georgeta troncos
      georgeta troncos 3 months ago

      @SkullerClawer Bandicoot Yes, Glory to God Jesus Christ in heaven and earth forever and always, pray nonstop, thank you, grandma

    • georgeta troncos
      georgeta troncos 3 months ago +1

      @David you 2,God's glory and love is everywhere, praise him always and forever pray nonstop and, and thank you Lord Jesus Christ for everything grandma

    • SkullerClawer Bandicoot
      SkullerClawer Bandicoot 3 months ago +2

      @georgeta troncos Amen!

  • Azteck9
    Azteck9 4 months ago +1

    I've been waiting on a game like this for ages. Only thing is, it Should have been a complete action rpg where you can switch between the pokemon to battle and back to the trainer to catch. Similar to FF7 Remake. The stealth catching is cool, and battling the bosses is interesting, but the moment it goes into traditional style battles seems to slow down the action. Still pretty fun. Just gets a little tedious after a while.

  • nijuo joing
    nijuo joing 3 months ago +2

    Great review! I feel like this gave me the look into this game that I needed to really understand what this entry to the series is all about.

    • nijuo joing
      nijuo joing 3 months ago

      about etc). I hope they will develop the future game like this one, but with cities.

  • Corbin Sullins
    Corbin Sullins 3 months ago

    I really hope the mainline games take the good from this title. The way you catch Pokémon is so interesting and fun and the way your character can internet with them is cool too! But holy cow are the graphics awful, the textures are gross, the colors seem off, just everything about the look isn’t what it should be by now. I’d be all about if it weren’t for this.
    Is it as bad as I think or am I being over optimistic?

  • Edman
    Edman 4 months ago +6

    Wow this actually sounds kinda cool. Think I’ll pick it up.

  • Arden
    Arden 4 months ago +1

    Had my doubts earlier on about this game, with how poor the quality of animations and texture quality is. After seeing the game further in depth and seeing that most of my initial complaints or worries seemed to have been addressed might even pick this up day 1. Fresh new exciting pokemon game with a spin on the core game without losing its identity? sign me up!

  • TheGrizzlyBear
    TheGrizzlyBear 3 months ago +11

    This is the Pokémon role play progress we need in the long term. Imagine the Pokémon games we can get in the future!

    • Decinco
      Decinco 3 months ago +1

      @Nigel Uno Man, i'm just telling you his point was about the gameplay, ik the graphics are mediocre at best, but that's not related at all to what he was referring to

    • Decinco
      Decinco 3 months ago +1

      @Nigel Uno He's not talking about the graphics at all

  • Honest Mike
    Honest Mike 4 months ago +5

    This is the most excited I've been for a pokemon game since Ruby/Saphire. I've played every major entry but have grown bored recently, not even finishing D/P.
    But my two favourite modern entries have been the let's go games, and sun/moon, both really stand out because they were departures from the usual formula, so I really hope Arceus is the culmination of the ideas these two games introduced.

  • mauriciosalas
    mauriciosalas 4 months ago +14

    This is the pokemon game that will be revolutionary. A definite step in the right direction. If gen 9 follows suit . . . it could be an incredible pokemon game

  • SimsForever
    SimsForever 4 months ago +1

    I’m excited play it this weekend. I preordered on Amazon and it arrived Saturday

  • Annoyson
    Annoyson 4 months ago

    The game is definitely one of the best games gamefreak has ever pumped out.

    • Rant Radio
      Rant Radio 4 months ago +1

      *looks at my copies of Black 2, Emerald and Soul Silver*

  • the great lumberjack King

    Definitely a huge game changer

  • TheGrimOutlaw
    TheGrimOutlaw 4 months ago +1

    Can't wait!!! Good review!

  • Nathan Gordon
    Nathan Gordon 4 months ago +2

    Imagine if they make a new gen of Pokémon but in this game style. Fight gym leaders, grind, fight the Elite 4. It would be sick.

  • Alex Mendez
    Alex Mendez 4 months ago +2

    You had me at pokemon breath of the wild. Cant wait to play the game.

  • Bluestylite
    Bluestylite 4 months ago +54

    Pokemon should have been at this level by the GameCube Era already.

    • Resean
      Resean 4 months ago +2

      @jeff n Think they meant in terms of innovation and gameplay.

    • jeff n
      jeff n 4 months ago

      Bruh if you think this looks like a GameCube game, you're either tripping or blind

    • IDK anymore
      IDK anymore 4 months ago

      @Rant Radio N

    • Quique Márquez
      Quique Márquez 4 months ago +2

      @heddecatamer If only they did a remaster of those two Jewels,they should learn from them lots.

    • heddecatamer
      heddecatamer 4 months ago +6

      They were, it was called Pokémon Colosseum and Gale Of Darkness
      They've only just moved to home consoles because the Switch is a hybrid

  • freejvaK11
    freejvaK11 3 months ago +3

    I don’t feel it’s fair to blame the hardware for the look of the game, especially in the same breath as you mention BotW. I feel the look of the game is less a technical issue and more a failing of Game Freak from and artistic perspective.

  • HydraFN_YT
    HydraFN_YT 3 months ago

    Thank you this review I can’t wait to get it

  • 6cmh3
    6cmh3 4 months ago +11

    I love how the bidoof sees his buddy being caught, jumps in horror and runs off

    • Maja
      Maja 3 months ago

      Yes! Details like that makes the world and pokemon seem more alive!

  • Fennix Pro
    Fennix Pro 4 months ago +2

    I’m so excited, it comes out in two days!

  • Krissywissy
    Krissywissy 4 months ago

    I know people are disappointed but I think it's a good beginning for something new

  • Xavier Block
    Xavier Block 3 months ago +3

    “Gotta catch em all” I think it’s a great idea they made the Pokédex important

  • Mr.supersonicultra
    Mr.supersonicultra 3 months ago +1

    Can’t wait! One more day and I’ll be able to get it as of Thursday January 27

  • Lo-Fi Gaming
    Lo-Fi Gaming 4 months ago

    It's actually pretty okay. Lots of potential moving forward!
    What I actually want on their next release is the feeling of adventuring and freedom than just like going around linear hisui.

  • Evan Franey
    Evan Franey 4 months ago +4

    Judging from the review, I would have thought this was a 9 all day long. Great review though. Definitely got me more excited for the game, and the evolution of the series as a whole.

    • Broon Squad
      Broon Squad 4 months ago +3

      You have to consider how putrid the game looks, 8 is probably as high as it should deserve.

  • Dom-o Ram-o
    Dom-o Ram-o 3 months ago +1

    god it’s so refreshing that for once the only bad thing people can say about a Pokémon game is how it runs, and for the most part it runs pretty well!

  • Jonathan Drewes
    Jonathan Drewes 4 months ago +48

    I'm actually excited for this game! Love that gamefeeak broke the mold here

    • SkullerClawer Bandicoot
      SkullerClawer Bandicoot 3 months ago

      And it was Gen 7 that actually did something different.

    • SkullerClawer Bandicoot
      SkullerClawer Bandicoot 3 months ago

      @Shenanigans Thats a lie. Thats TPC

    • Shenanigans
      Shenanigans 4 months ago

      Gamefreak are an incredibly lazy team.

    • Galohide
      Galohide 4 months ago

      @A S They'll sit there and complain but buy the game day 1 anyway

    • SkullerClawer Bandicoot
      SkullerClawer Bandicoot 4 months ago +1

      @PigzWigz What? Salty cuz someones really excited for a Pkmn game, cuz thats a lie

  • 롱오일라이자
    롱오일라이자 3 months ago +23

    The next game will be where its at, as long as it builds on this it could be the best in the series.

    • Nicolas Cage
      Nicolas Cage 3 months ago

      @Kroeckinator I think his point is that this seems to excel when it comes to taking a new approach to the franchise, but the polish is lacking. In a sequel, the developers could probably reuse a lot of the things for this game and put more work into polishing the technical aspects, which should make for a more complete experience. I wouldn't be shocked if the mainline series stays as stale as it's been for years.

    • Kroeckinator
      Kroeckinator 3 months ago +1

      Hasn't this been being said since X and Y?

  • TimeBucks
    TimeBucks 3 months ago +206

    You can move around during battle

    • Kalyan Sobha
      Kalyan Sobha 3 months ago +1

      Pokemon

    • Jack Lancaster
      Jack Lancaster 3 months ago

      In the old days
      FIGHT POKEMON
      BAG RUN
      All you need.....

    • Thine own mother
      Thine own mother 3 months ago +1

      @Jazneo Gaming They can hit you but it doesn't actually do damage to you like it does everywhere else in the game.

    • jeanine g
      jeanine g 3 months ago

      @Jazneo Gaming That's a very misleading statement. You make it seem like the Poekmon youre fighting/focused can attack you during the rpg battle. That's not true. They only ever attack the pokemon you send out once the battle starts.
      Maybe a completely unrelated pokemon or environmental effect may hurt the player while in battle, but that would require the player to purposely set themselves up in a bad position and is never a part of the actual mechanics required to play the game normally.

    • Jazneo Gaming
      Jazneo Gaming 3 months ago

      pokemon can attack human in battle so need avoid there attack

  • Landry Saathoff
    Landry Saathoff 4 months ago +84

    I'm excited for Breath of the Wurmple. Even if it's not perfect, it is still a HUGE step forward for Pokemon, and I am here for it. I'm picking up Monster Hunter: Raichu on release day for sure.

    • Yimiki
      Yimiki 3 months ago +3

      Breath of the Wurmple 😂🤣🤣🤣 ah, that made my day. Thank you 😆

    • Oona Nicholson
      Oona Nicholson 3 months ago +7

      @NemoDemigodofStuff im waiting for either Legends: Bidoof
      or Legends: Magikarp

    • NemoDemigodofStuff
      NemoDemigodofStuff 4 months ago +6

      I'm waiting for Legends: Celebi

  • Lycoris
    Lycoris 3 months ago +1

    finally we can be more than just a trainer that fights gym battles, really hope gamefreak will try to add more switch games like this where we be something else . loving this and can't wait to play it when it arrived

  • Tundra
    Tundra 3 months ago

    Game gets repetitive pretty quickly for me but overall it’s a solid game

  • mitchell avontuur
    mitchell avontuur 4 months ago +2

    I need it, I already spoiled a few things for myself, I am just so hyped 😩

  • SOLID GAMING
    SOLID GAMING 4 months ago

    I'm so hyped for this game it's nuts. It's about time. It's about time.

  • Luís Sampaio
    Luís Sampaio 4 months ago +1

    Great review man!