The Orville Season 2 Episode 12 Review "Sanctuary"

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 12, 2019
  • The Orville Season 2 Episode 12 Review | Sanctuary
    The Orville is back with another Moclan episode with a morality tale done right. There are some writers (Star Trek Discovery, Doctor Who) who could learn a thing or two from that "frat boy" humor specialist Seth MacFarlane.
    #RenewTheOrville #TheOrville #Sanctuary
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 508

  • Ray Ramos
    Ray Ramos 2 months ago

    WOW THIS EPISODE MADE ME CRY
    THE BEST YET

  • Dylan thomas
    Dylan thomas 4 months ago

    Actually I think they just altered themselves with technology it’s a cultural think not biological

  • Dylan thomas
    Dylan thomas 4 months ago

    The moclin make 90per of the Unince weapons all the other army’s in the union is supled by them

  • Dylan thomas
    Dylan thomas 4 months ago

    They can’t split with out killing each witch they can’t do on the orvil

  • Bruh
    Bruh 7 months ago +1

    Great to see Bortis' character growth since season 1

  • Petr Mazak
    Petr Mazak 7 months ago

    ORVILLE: continually successfully selling feministic (and other socially critical) topics to renown anti-woke SF/series youtube critic and making him love all of its female and diverse characters.
    or, in more contemporary internet slang:
    - ST Discovery, StarWars, Marvel &others: angry evil misogynist fans hate our strong female characters and feminist content! They are just hateful assholes!
    - Seth Macfarlane: Hold my beer.

  • Malik Bux
    Malik Bux 7 months ago

    This episode takes up the issue of feminism to another level, persecuted women seeking refuge from men and living in hiding in another planet. The Union should have Council of Refugees, the Union would be to place the planet under Union protection of Union Council of Refugees till the Moclan resolve the issue.

  • DadisDad
    DadisDad 7 months ago

    The writing was horrible, the acting surprisingly bad and far below par for the show, and the use of 9 to 5 fell dead flat. I thought this was the weakest episode I'd seen yet. I have no problem with the message, Star Trek had allegorical approaches to modern social problems all the time, I just thought this was really, really badly done.

  • Angel A
    Angel A 7 months ago

    Sometimes it seems like all these STDs exists as a pinatas so to provide antiSJWs exuse to watch shows or movies which are more or less masked sjw propaganda. Give me bush to beat and I will praise what you need. Same goes for MCU. Silent agreement to get that useful idiot Brie Larson to shit on so people that are usualy reasonably antisjw continue to financialy support Disney agenda because they can't resist seeing Endgame. God forbid. I already so even some lousy excuse why Kelly is allowed to bash men with that comment of hers. Sory, Orville is SJW propaganda for some time. But hey, give us that std shitfest so Orville looks like a cake with cherry on top.

  • Andrew Weishan
    Andrew Weishan 7 months ago

    The did a great job !! This was a nuanced episode.

  • Ilendir
    Ilendir 7 months ago

    Sanctuary was still one of the worst Orville episodes for me, yes it was better than what STD is doing but that's not really an indicator for quality or how interesting a story is.

  • ThreePhaseHigh
    ThreePhaseHigh 7 months ago

    I can’t believe Seth McFarland even allowed this episode to be made. It pretty well shows how stupid the liberal left really is. Looks like Captain Mercer is finally seeing things President Trump’s way.

  • MW G
    MW G 7 months ago

    I suspect the moclans used “evolve” and “exterminate” interchangeably in their early society

  • MW G
    MW G 7 months ago

    I consider the moclans hermaphroditic; the inability to produce an egg makes one male imo

  • GreenMachine
    GreenMachine 7 months ago

    Just wanted to add, along with playing Wonder Woman and Mockingbird, Palicki also played Powergirl on Smallville. Technically, not the real Powergirl but she was the first Kara who turned out to be a human programmed with Kryptonian powers and memories.

  • NerdGirl
    NerdGirl 7 months ago

    Star Trek writer Joe Menosky wrote this one.

  • RichardM8422
    RichardM8422 7 months ago

    How they got 9 to 5 in this episode and made it actually mean something was very VERY clever!

  • Aikurisu
    Aikurisu 7 months ago

    I'm really digging how all this is unfolding between the Moclans. Is it cringey? Yeah. Can't deny some of those really lame feminist lines, (usually delivered by Kelly), but they don't cause me to hate the episode. They can be overlooked.
    Bortus really needs to ditch Klyden for a hot female Moclan at any rate. He should take a vacation with the amazons.

  • TheUniversal mind
    TheUniversal mind 7 months ago

    The dude who plays Lamar, his acting seems way to forced and out of place when he's talking smart etc... He was way cooler as the co-pilot before he got all smart

  • Wolf Lord Bradley
    Wolf Lord Bradley 7 months ago

    I gotta be honest, the show is starting to bug me. Idk if it's Mcfarlane's liberal views sinking in or what. I just know I'll be enjoying an episode, then later it'll start bugging me. Any thoughts?

  • Joe Kolakowski
    Joe Kolakowski 7 months ago

    Anyone notice that there was no Earth ambassador on the council, at least none that spoke ? Humans in uniform did a lot of talking.

  • Triadne Jessica
    Triadne Jessica 7 months ago

    I'm so happy I found your channel. You're lauding the good stuff and tearing apart the bad stuff. You're saying all the same stuff I've been talking about with my friends and family

  • Chet Jonstun
    Chet Jonstun 7 months ago

    All these yanks so insecure in their sexuality. Weird.

  • Austin Arellano
    Austin Arellano 7 months ago +1

    It's very weird that you don't hold The Orville to the same standard that you old Discovery . Plenty of questionable writing that leaves huge plot holes Topaz's age for example . Do Moclan age faster ? did that much time pass? or was it just bad writing? It's open to perception, but Orville does a lot of things like this. And almost every single Orville's episode is a direct rip-off of a Star Trek episodes. You're page is based on hypocrisy and hate . Another bias, non objective review from Nerdrotic, who woulda guessed ?

  • Angel Mcfadden
    Angel Mcfadden 7 months ago

    Just loved it.Would say;”Now,this is Star Trek!” No,this is the Orville!

  • Ronald Sprowal
    Ronald Sprowal 7 months ago

    Why this episode was from Demand ???

  • MegaSherlockian
    MegaSherlockian 7 months ago

    I wanna give a shout out to the actor who played Bortus. The facial expressions he pulls every time is heart breaking. Full of regret.

  • White Centaur
    White Centaur 7 months ago

    If the Orville gets cancelled I'll never have faith in another series again, ever. I'm almost to the point of waiting for series to actually get completed before watching them as there's no reason to invest in them as a viewer if they are never finished. Of course this show is special and every episode is amazing! I want seven seasons, five movies, and an MMO minimum!
    Keep up the great work! Love your reviews. 👏

  • Metallion69
    Metallion69 7 months ago

    The Orville is clearly, by far is the best show on tv right now.

  • The Last FanFiction
    The Last FanFiction 7 months ago

    What didn’t make sense to me was their argument that it’s child trafficking, which would assert that they’re victims, while then saying they’d throw them in jail makes little sense. Small oversight, good episode overall. 9-5 made me lmao.

  • Brett Caton
    Brett Caton 7 months ago

    I think that group of admirals is about the only time i have seen a group of reasonable authority figures, with differing points of view, in science fiction. Maybe Stargate might have had an episode like that??

  • Yurii Konovaliuk
    Yurii Konovaliuk 7 months ago

    I really like humor in this one. So subtle and well placed. Awesome.

  • Jonathan Frost
    Jonathan Frost 7 months ago +1

    I have to state that is is the Orville’s version of “agenda episode”. Putting Talla in charge of the bridge is a woke move. Making the female Mocklans badasses is a woke move. I was very disappointed in this episode

  • jason arce
    jason arce 7 months ago

    Seth MacFarlane is becoming a little bit like Stan lee. He takes social and political current events and instead of forcing down your throat in one direction. He explores it in a entertaining way. When he writes. I think he is going to be only rising up power in Hollywood. As a producer / writer. Disney as probably the new owners and bosses to him should do whatever it takes not to lose him. Their streaming platform Disney plus needs him badly. For new content.

  • Robert Friel
    Robert Friel 7 months ago +1

    What you call a "morality tale" is political.
    The 90's Star Trek WERE POLITICAL.

  • Marcus Jones
    Marcus Jones 7 months ago

    Damn, Marina Sirtis got third from last billing.

  • Nola Beveridge
    Nola Beveridge 7 months ago

    So the guys have an egg - can the girls have babies???

  • Gandof79
    Gandof79 7 months ago

    I had Axanar flashbacks with Tony Todd standing up in front of a union of planets. I don't believe in coincidences :)

  • Will Stikken
    Will Stikken 7 months ago

    In a world where Seth McFarland handles sensitive subjects more subtly than Star Trek....

  • Garth Dawson
    Garth Dawson 7 months ago

    Rena Owen from Once Were Warriors. She doesn’t make eggs anymore. Quite a suitable choice of actors.

  • Kiki Lang
    Kiki Lang 7 months ago

    I thought Orville was okay, but that last one blew it out of the water.

  • SuperSuperdude88
    SuperSuperdude88 7 months ago

    San Fransisco - home of the poop app. so much shit on the street you needed an app for it

  • Jean Phillippes
    Jean Phillippes 7 months ago +1

    S02E012 - far too soppy.
    And the male Moclan fighters that descended onto the Planet were a COMPLETE pushover.
    Getting beaten up by a bunch of girls......... again? Cmon....this stuff is EVERYWHERE!
    Did they train those Moclan "Unsullied" in the European Army?

  • Man Of Martin
    Man Of Martin 7 months ago

    I like to think of it as a good story with a point rather than a bible tract that beats you over the head.

  • DBO PHX
    DBO PHX 7 months ago

    I thought it was egg at first :)

  • rppdfire
    rppdfire 7 months ago

    They have to be extremely cautious using Isaac, his mere presence would be a politicall bomb between races.

  • JaCobian Putz
    JaCobian Putz 7 months ago +1

    So many moclan episodes, come on there are other aliens out there.

  • Alan bishop
    Alan bishop 7 months ago +1

    Ah, Gary, I have to disagree. Let us not excuse our last bastion of hope in Orville, at expense of denial.
    Orville still good, but be honest.... bit scary to use SJW siding going on.
    "Morality tale...", or "SJW inoculation" story telling?
    We would criticize other shows for much less agenda exposed. let alone the one liners against men.
    And yup, they were flung around.
    No excuse. "Orville" still our haven. But no excuse...call particular episode as it is.
    Scared me a bit seeing this, yes.
    And, we do want to be aware and stay off any tide coming down the tube, Right?
    Believing and then sold out... nah, that never happen to us before, right?

    • chris marraro
      chris marraro 7 months ago

      Alan Bishop. It seems to me you might be confusing "SJW" with something else. I don't think a liitle "agenda" is necessarily a bad thing, as long as it's done right. Good Sci Fi has always had an undercurrent of "agenda" and using the future & alien races as an allegory for our current society. Star Trek in particular has always injected politics, race, gender issues. It is a good thing for us to (re)examine our perspectives now and again.
      I think Gary got it spot on by saying the key is to do it in the context of good story telling, and not as a blunt instrument to beat us over the heads with. I don't want to be preached at (a la 'SJW's), I want to be invited to think about these issues in a different light. And above all... to be entertained.

  • Albert Calis
    Albert Calis 7 months ago +1

    I love the idea of an Orville "Mirror Universe" episode that's dark & edgy with lens flares that parodies STD or JJ Star Trek.

  • frognik79
    frognik79 7 months ago

    Is this a review or a retelling?

  • Thoreau
    Thoreau 7 months ago +1

    Nahhh..... the whole show was feminist propaganda.

  • NjK
    NjK 7 months ago

    Ha I think I just bought the same type of blue light blocking glasses the Cyxus brand

  • bob cat
    bob cat 7 months ago

    totally agree

  • Red X
    Red X 7 months ago

    Hate to be that guy, but it's Kylden

  • Paul Hardy
    Paul Hardy 7 months ago +2

    I find the orville to be a very mixed bag. I enjoy the episodes (mostly) but I never feel moved to rewatch them as I did with ST:NG and ST:TOS. If I had to describe the series on the whole I would probably say that it's OK, or not bad. I wouldn't say it was great, or even particularly "good". It's alright. The philosophy of the show isn't particularly deep or insightful and the sci fi aspect isn't particularly inspiring either. It's pretty generic tbh. It's very "Seth McFarlane" in that the idea's are there, but the execution is too simplistic and falls flat. It's like those episode of Family Guy or American Dad where Stan/Peter finish the episode out with "Oh my god Lois/Francine, you're right!", followed by their incredibly obvious "revelation" that they've been behaving badly and realise the error of their ways.
    It's 2nd grade philosophy with movie quality production values. It's alright. It could be much better.

  • Thomas Preston
    Thomas Preston 7 months ago

    AVIS is a Dolly Parton fan, Hail AVIS

  • Jimminey FingCricket
    Jimminey FingCricket 7 months ago +1

    As a buddy put it the Orville leaves him feeling like he has not been beat about the head and shoulders with "progressive" ideas.

  • David Broughall
    David Broughall 7 months ago +1

    After all the talk on this channel as to how superior The Orville is to STD, I decided to watch it. Here's the review I wrote for another site.
    "This series appears to be intended as a spoof of, and maybe an homage to the Star Trek TV series, and the highly under-rated 1999 movie, Galaxy Quest. It had great potential. Unfortunately, once it got around to being serious, the messages it tried to convey were blunted by a heavy-handed, clumsy delivery and a pervasive broad, crude comedy, with one of the four episodes I could manage peppered with dick jokes. What we're left with is humorless, derivative, preachy, poorly acted, and cheaply produced. Seriously, the sets look like IKEA displays. Oh, and one more thing: a spiral staircase in a starship? Really?"
    I decided to not to waste any more of my time on either series. Will stick with The Expanse.

    • David Broughall
      David Broughall 7 months ago +1

      @Pickett's Charge You damn The Orville with faint praise. I'm not interested in waiting for it to get better. Shows like that have to hit the ground running.

    • Pickett's Charge
      Pickett's Charge 7 months ago

      I don't know which episodes exactly you've watched, but if you've started from the very beginning - it gets much better in time, in my opinion. At least in bad jokes compartment. But I must admit - the show still feels rather fragmented and superficial, it's unable to set some broader and deeper themes to explore, and at times it is very heavy-handed in dealing with "issues of the day". Keep in mind The Orville is quite theatrical in nature, just like Star Trek shows of old days, so you shouldn't expect Expanse type of narration - it's completely different style of television. It's not a great show by any means, but considering that ST:Discovery is simply an abomination and betrayal of everything ST stood for, and it's not like we have hundreds of new sci-fi shows set in outer space coming out soon, I'm personally very happy we have at least The Orville.

  • Foxtrop13
    Foxtrop13 7 months ago

    it feels so good to see oppresion, conflict and resolution that is not a forced analogy to modern politics

  • Pickett's Charge
    Pickett's Charge 7 months ago +1

    Personally I find this episode seriously lacking both in tonality and timing. Their attempts at humor were simply cringe worthy. This kind of story needs longer treatment, they tried very hard to compress it into a single episode and it shows. Almost every scene felt incredibly rushed. That's the general problem with The Orville. It somewhat lacks substance and therefore is unable to properly explore more serious issues. That's the reason it will never be the next Star Trek. It might show some similarities, but mostly superficial ones. For me, it definitely wasn't 'sex discrimination' topic done right. Far from it. That being said, I still like the show.