iPad mini 2019 review: the best small tablet

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 21, 2019
  • The iPad mini is the best small tablet around. With the fifth-gen iPad mini, you basically get the entire feature set of the new iPad Air, in a smaller package with better tablet app support than anything else on the market. The Apple Pencil works just like the first-gen Pencil on any other iPad. After using the new iPad mini, we’re reminded why people like it so much and if you want a powerful small tablet, the new iPad mini is the best choice, full stop.
    Read more here: bit.ly/2uhOAgE
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Listen to our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TheXvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 510

  • The Verge
    The Verge  2 months ago +782

    Do you like the Mini’s size?

    • Scrumptious
      Scrumptious Day ago

      I want a iPad just for saving photo's and some stories. Wich iPad do you (or you subscribers) advise me to buy? The (NEW) iPad Mini? Or the (older) "normal" iPad? -> But that one is already a long time available .... This will be a present for my niece when she is older... (I want to stock memories for her... ) ... xxxx Oh, i can also buy the iPad Air... -> but that will only be for the design ... ect. Just know my niece just just a little one now.. She will use this iPad not sooner then 5 years..(or even longer) so....please help me. Its very important for me!!

    • Umasankar Devineni
      Umasankar Devineni Month ago

      I don’t know which one I am but I know it’s your iPad mini. DOES

    • SixOThree
      SixOThree 2 months ago

      I have an iPad Mini 4 and it is pretty much my primary computing device. It goes with me to meetings at work and to the park on weekends. I have cellular so I am never doing the hotspot thing. It has iMessage so I can leave my phone at home. It's softback cover book size which very much changes the "rudeness" factor.

    • Abm farhan
      Abm farhan 2 months ago

      @Luke Fitzgerald then just trade in that and get the new one

    • Abm farhan
      Abm farhan 2 months ago

      Yep

  • intergalactic beastie Boy

    Bro I'm still using the first gen iPad mini in fact, that's where I'm watching this video from

  • Ashwin Nair
    Ashwin Nair Day ago

    Apple will charge for the logo in future and device will be sold separately and sheeps will still buy em'

  • abhishek rana
    abhishek rana 3 days ago +2

    This will be getting the new iPad OS right? That will make this a beast.

    • VanMan 23
      VanMan 23 Day ago

      abhishek rana it is getting iPad OS and it’s getting all of it. Multitasking is going to be interesting with an 8 in screen. It’d be interesting to see people trying to use the iPad mini as their primary computer lol.

  • prakash rout
    prakash rout 5 days ago

    Does it supports otg ?

  • zuleika mari
    zuleika mari 6 days ago

    My mom still has the 1st generation iPad mini and she’s thinking of finally upgrading to this

  • Karlovia
    Karlovia 8 days ago +1

    I have an iPad Pro 11” and no way this thing can replace it, but somehow the idea of a powerful mini just appeals to me so much. The size of the mini is probably the best for note taking, reading and mobile gaming. Having pencil support and A12 means A LOT to the mini line.
    If they ever release an 8 or 9” iPad Pro I will most likely get one. With the iPad mini form factor they can probably make a 9” one.

  • 9 year old epic gamer soldier

    It's weird hearing an Apple product having a headphone jack.

  • Vipin Santhosh
    Vipin Santhosh 10 days ago

    I'm so so so happy it has a headphone jack

  • Soggun nuggos
    Soggun nuggos 10 days ago

    Its the iPhone se of the iPads

  • X3DN
    X3DN 13 days ago +1

    Guys u have any recommendations what to do with this tablet?

  • Daryl Cheshire
    Daryl Cheshire 13 days ago

    I have the Apple mini 2 and compared it to the mini 5 and cannot tell them apart, not enough to pay $600 for it...

  • bsfatboy
    bsfatboy 13 days ago

    Is that how you put it together?

  • kyro
    kyro 17 days ago

    64gb or 256? Rarely play on ipad. Will use this as a phone mainly.

  • Spazza42
    Spazza42 20 days ago

    C’mon Apple, gimme that 9” Pro option. People buy the Mini for its size, not because it’s cheap. I’d pay the premium over the Mini for Pro features in its size. Heck, limit storage to 512GB if you want to reserve something for the big boys.

  • iali00
    iali00 21 day ago

    This is by far my favorite tablet and I have an iPad Pro from work. Wish I could just get the mini so I wouldn’t have to lug this around.

  • Johnny English
    Johnny English 24 days ago

    If a folding phone is cheaper, there will be no one using iPad mini🙈

  • Joshua Schubert
    Joshua Schubert 27 days ago +1

    I’m looking for an upgrade from the mini 4, do you think I should upgrade? 😁

  • Aidid Rashed Efat
    Aidid Rashed Efat Month ago +1

    I have got an iPad mini, and it has blown up my mind.
    Apple is the best.

  • TechCare Bilisim
    TechCare Bilisim Month ago

    No thin bezels, that's fine, no design changes, that is fine too but no USB - C ???

  • Fabulous Studios
    Fabulous Studios Month ago +1

    i still don’t see a reason to upgrade from my mini 4😂

    • Aine G
      Aine G Month ago

      Only reason i would is bc of the apple pencil support but they seemed to have been hella lazy with that :/

  • GLR
    GLR Month ago

    6:10 COMPLAINING ABOUT HAVING OPTIONS/????? THESE PEOPLE ARE UNGRATEFUL ABOUT EVERYTHING .. .COMPLAINING COMPLAINING COMPLAINING... .

  • MAMIDALA Sunitha
    MAMIDALA Sunitha Month ago

    Is ipad mini waterproof

  • Atashi Chakravorty
    Atashi Chakravorty Month ago

    Why there's no camera flash?

  • alukardFE
    alukardFE Month ago

    I would just wish they changed the design, Damn it

  • Min You
    Min You Month ago +1

    It would be me dream to see a mini size iPad pro

  • Pieter Groot
    Pieter Groot Month ago

    In the Aviation community we almost all use the Ipad mini. It’s not too big so we can use it for our navigation and flight planning in a small cockpit. I’m very pleased that they refreshed the ipad mini.

  • Jean Sandra
    Jean Sandra Month ago

    you are right !! apple should provide the pencil with the box if its dead necessary.

  • Asit Deva
    Asit Deva Month ago

    I am done with iPad... Quiting the only apple device I used

  • kokeshiseagull
    kokeshiseagull Month ago

    The first pen looks bad compared to the second but it works so well and even if the charging method looks weird, it's so fast! I"ll sell my ipad air to buy this one :)

  • Mathias Emil Kuntz
    Mathias Emil Kuntz Month ago

    Pilots love the mini aswell

  • MitsosAEK21
    MitsosAEK21 Month ago

    how many RAM his has????

  • Jonathan Chen
    Jonathan Chen Month ago

    I think the mini is the perfect tablet. Yes it's small with bezels and has touch ID, but I like the old style...

  • Christine Roy
    Christine Roy Month ago

    I like the Mini. I’m on my 2nd. A mini 5 LTE replaced an original mini. I love to read on it, it’s easy to hold b/c bezels and it’s small and light, but it’s a noticeably bigger screen than a phone. This time I got Space Grey makes the bezels less noticeable but they don’t bother me. I have an essentially bezel-less phone an S10 and it looks cool but comes with its own compromises. A mini is just pick up and use it simple.

  • BJC T
    BJC T Month ago

    USBC is a pro feature for now but later apple might slowly bring out USBC to the other devices and make the switch to USBC overall

  • Monkeypixels
    Monkeypixels Month ago

    Great video. What’s the wrist band for your Apple Watch? Love the camouflage

  • JABI'Z KITCHEN pleasure

    Howe many ruppes

  • short step
    short step Month ago

    Apple and their service are almost gone from this home,was a fan for a few years,till the phone cracked and after paying a monthly bill for damage insurance,they still wanted over 200 to fix the screen,and NO loner FukAmatterFerYerself

  • ガチャ•• Sakura
    ガチャ•• Sakura 2 months ago

    i see it
    i like it
    i want it
    my mom told me to get a job ;D

  • Rajarshi Karmakar
    Rajarshi Karmakar 2 months ago

    Does it have a 3.5 mm Jack like iPad Air?

  • Mikael Ekström
    Mikael Ekström 2 months ago

    Is it to small for Watching movies and series comfortly or is it fine?

  • Tom Rongname
    Tom Rongname 2 months ago

    Gee. Another Apple suckup gives a "review" and does nothing but dump on Android. Yah you wouldn't want an Android tablet. They don't have apps or software. Nada. None. Only Apple was smart enough to give you that. Golly Gee. So what do you Apple fans out there think? I wonder if you'll have an opinion....yawn.

  • Michael Coley
    Michael Coley 2 months ago

    They are not “giant” bezels!!

  • Dennis Tetrault
    Dennis Tetrault 2 months ago

    I love the new mini I don’t care about bezels at all I love Apple Pencil and don’t care or expect the second pencil because it was made for the Pro and a completely re designed mini would make the cost much higher. This is a really powerful little tablet and its design is still beautiful

  • Rejaul Bari
    Rejaul Bari 2 months ago

    I will be Buying it
    In 2020 In Sha Allah 😎

  • Jam Salonga
    Jam Salonga 2 months ago

    I would still go for ipad 2018 for the price

  • C2 Soul
    C2 Soul 2 months ago

    I think the best for mobile gaming

  • lol awn
    lol awn 2 months ago

    0:56 the home button disturbs me

  • Debanjan Das
    Debanjan Das 2 months ago

    Apple be like 100$ for headphone as an additional feature or live the dongle life.

  • Al Mol
    Al Mol 2 months ago +1

    This is useless stuff u dont need.... ever.... trust me, now go on with your lives....

  • Gabriel Pãtroi
    Gabriel Pãtroi 2 months ago

    surface go!

  • nat a
    nat a 2 months ago

    Excellent reveiw👍

  • Hiro's Arts and Music
    Hiro's Arts and Music 2 months ago +1

    If it can work with apple pencil ill buy



    It does..... time to collect money!!!

  • Mr. bonus
    Mr. bonus 2 months ago

    If it just looked more modern with thinner bezels it would of been an instant buy..

  • Sue g
    Sue g 2 months ago

    I've been looking for a tablet this size that has pen compatibility for a LONGGG time since all the tablets out there with s pen is almost always 10inch. If it had thinner bezels, making the screen ratio a bit bigger, I would've been sold 100%. I'm going to wait until something like that comes out in the market but until then, I'm going to stick it out with my Samsung tab s3

  • miko
    miko 2 months ago

    New iPad mini just proves apple’s arrogance.

  • Eevee Playz
    Eevee Playz 2 months ago

    Ipad mini 5 or ipad air 3
    please help me

  • Roy Giesbrecht
    Roy Giesbrecht 2 months ago +1

    Idk why but I like Touch ID, i use iPhone XS but an iPad , that many will use like family or friends, I want it secure so Touch ID can handle multiple fingerprints, but Face ID , only one.

  • mama potatoz_Roblox
    mama potatoz_Roblox 2 months ago

    I’m using an iPad mini 4 I thought a case and I’ve dropped it a lot. It hasn’t cracked and I’ve had it for about 5 years so I highly recommended it

  • hitthemoney
    hitthemoney 2 months ago +11

    Guys the mini is better than the iPad Pro 2018


    No Headphone Jack

  • kanehi
    kanehi 2 months ago

    You might like the new faster processor but your brain remains the same which is much slower in doing tasks. I'll keep my Mini 4 for now with it's 128gb and it's still fast enough for my needs. All I use it for is reading the news, watch TheXvid, Netflix and FB.

  • Poliarinis
    Poliarinis 2 months ago

    I would rather get an mi pad 4. Better value for money

  • Mango
    Mango 2 months ago

    Apple is also all about money. pencil in the box is a android people idea only!

  • Ed Towel
    Ed Towel 2 months ago +1

    Every time I see one of these videos, I'm saddened. Apple couldve done so many cool things with the mini form factor.

  • Andrew Baldwin
    Andrew Baldwin 2 months ago

    I’ve got a first gen iPad mini, but I’m finding the older IOS limitations and the aged battery means I use it a lot less than I used to. Would you recommend the upgrade ? Especially as it’s got the pencil usage and in line specs with the new iPad Air ?

  • Michał G
    Michał G 2 months ago +1

    Same giant bezel ... Are you the only reviewer on entire TheXvid to point that out?

  • Hong A
    Hong A 2 months ago

    Anyone noticed the speakers of mini 5 is much worse than mini 4.. I heard some people say the hi fi chip is much cut. Air is good still

  • Churros McChurros
    Churros McChurros 2 months ago

    I assume they're going to USB-C on all products eventually? I think USB-C on these iPads would have been a perfect place to begin the phase in because people are going to go crazy if/when/probably it eventually goes to the iPhones.

  • Mashter Alexarius
    Mashter Alexarius 2 months ago

    I rather wait, Maybe they will Realise a new iPad mini 5 with more function. I wait about 6 months after they Realise.

  • Raimundo Castro
    Raimundo Castro 2 months ago

    I like Nilay's reviews, in one way he's quite critic when rating products, but in the end, I think that its the best way for being honest.
    I'm really considering but the Mini for its portability (I have an old iPad 2...), so it seems really practical in general terms. =)
    Good review!

  • Spherecomm
    Spherecomm 2 months ago

    Omg I want to upgrade so bad I hate this old A8

  • alliejr
    alliejr 2 months ago

    One aspect ignored by all of these consumer-oriented review sites is the commercial (including educational) market. They buy these by the ton. Those buyers don't like change. They need to be able to keep the same cases, brackets, connectors, software, support procedures, etc., etc., etc. Bumping the speed of the internals is exactly what they'd want. I know fanboys (and haters) don't want to hear it, but Apple does listen to its customers; just that sometimes that customer is not _YOU_ .

  • TankQ
    TankQ 2 months ago

    I like my mini

  • mcomeslast
    mcomeslast 2 months ago

    If they don’t update the previous minis,I’m not buying. I can’t use this as the apps won’t work on it. I’m not getting ghosted twice.

  • Kobe Bean Bryant
    Kobe Bean Bryant 2 months ago

    Apple thinks usb c is just for a Pro Feature when an ordinary smartphone has onw

  • JR White
    JR White 2 months ago

    It’s jus the design that bothers me tbh

  • DM620 Ie
    DM620 Ie 2 months ago

    Horrible narrator

  • Anand Kumar
    Anand Kumar 2 months ago

    So iPad mini Costs ~$500 here in India. Is it still a better option??

    • Anand Kumar
      Anand Kumar 2 months ago

      @Shubham Gupta And what about the cellular version? it costs 10k more...

    • Shubham Gupta
      Shubham Gupta 2 months ago +1

      Yes, it is a better option. At Rs. 35K, It is very value for money.

  • Der Eskapist
    Der Eskapist 2 months ago +12

    If they included USB C, then you won't be able to charge the Apple Pencil, and they for sure won't be implementing the new Apple Pencil 2

  • Oxi Clean
    Oxi Clean 2 months ago +2

    They couldve at least put quad speakers. It looks so outdated for a device that hasnt been updated in so long. But then again, they're apple.

  • Kjetil Korsveien
    Kjetil Korsveien 2 months ago +8

    All you reviewers with no children never mentions that a lot of children has the iPad Mini. With the pen they can also draw on it. It’s perfect.

    • alliejr
      alliejr 2 months ago +1

      Truth! And also the low-end iPad. The kids do _NOT_ care about "screen not laminated". It plays video content and games, it looks great and the battery lasts forever for just over $200.

  • eatcheesekobe
    eatcheesekobe 2 months ago +1

    definitely not worth 400+100 dollars for an outdated machine design, especially when there's a cheaper option that's even bigger

    • Noet Games
      Noet Games 2 months ago

      eatcheesekobe actually for the power it can deliver is pretty good priced

  • Alpha Delta X
    Alpha Delta X 2 months ago +1

    No other company in the world screws its as much as Apple. Forces USB-C on Macbooks but never includes it in ipads and iphones. 🤣

  • Kash Ismail
    Kash Ismail 2 months ago

    Really just wanted to see a new ~8" iPad mini with small bezels so I could watch full HD or better Netflix on a device that doesn't look like it's from 2012. I guess I'll just stick with my Mi Pad 8 setting this sad excuse of an update Apple just put out

  • Jan Bertumen
    Jan Bertumen 2 months ago

    if the pencil isn’t overpriced, i would buy it

    • Jan Bertumen
      Jan Bertumen 2 months ago

      Shubham Gupta English nah i got a ipad pro 9.7 it isn’t compatible

    • Shubham Gupta
      Shubham Gupta 2 months ago

      Buy Logitech Pencil

  • Omer Bila
    Omer Bila 2 months ago +9

    I just binged watched every ipad mini 5 unboxing/review on TheXvid. Congrats, this is the best one hands down. Its the first review that went past the spec sheet, showed some multitasking features, compared the whole lineup, explained why Apple stuck with some old 'parts bin' parts, and basically went further than every other review i've seen so far... it was excellent. Great content.

  • Scott Sparque
    Scott Sparque 2 months ago

    Bot a DJI Mavic 2 Pro - need a screen to drive it, so the choice is a Note 4 (too small and slow), dji solution (expensive and limited utility). I'll go w/a MiniPad5.

  • Stuntman707
    Stuntman707 2 months ago

    I like this a lot.

  • Călin H
    Călin H 2 months ago

    As an iphone and macbook user, what apple is doing is BS! If you’ll rip people off just make a good AND up to date product. Give it some storage, remove the bezels, what’s nect? Recycled iphone 5 phones for a thousand bucks each?

  • Ivan Lipatov
    Ivan Lipatov 2 months ago

    Great review, wish you did the iPad Air 10.5 review instead of Dieter

  • 8 Gamer
    8 Gamer 2 months ago

    Only excited for processing power with perfect display for gaming.

  • Manu Sudan
    Manu Sudan 2 months ago

    I am using LENOVO TAB 4 8 PLAS... Its one of the best tablet. Go and use it.

  • Nelson Gomes
    Nelson Gomes 2 months ago

    why has no one reviewed the new air yet? there is literally no videos uploaded on youtube on that product :/

  • Yonatan Idan
    Yonatan Idan 2 months ago

    A really good video!
    I would be happy to help, debating whether to buy an ipad 6th 9.7 or another type of tablet the use would be mainly for studies (with the pen of course)
    When I got to the store to buy the familiar ipad, he stopped me and told me that Apple always tried to make the system slow down and that it would be a problem after six months - a year
    To this day I have always used Android

  • Best Thing
    Best Thing 2 months ago +51

    i don't care about bezels
    i ll buy only for a12 bionic chip

    • Silver Soul
      Silver Soul 2 days ago

      Android is for fashiom , ios is for function
      Didnt like android for their slow performance

    • Jade Kilgallon
      Jade Kilgallon Month ago +1

      @Tera Baap not really some people who like Apple can't afford 999 or 1,030 for the a12 in the phones so 399 for the a12 is amazing

    • Billy Batson
      Billy Batson 2 months ago +2

      Same here.
      No matter how messed their phones are you cant beat apple when it comes to processors

    • Kanishk Mehra
      Kanishk Mehra 2 months ago +5

      Mee too

    • Tera Baap
      Tera Baap 2 months ago +1

      Or how can one knows that isheeps still exist???

  • Baconface McGee
    Baconface McGee 2 months ago +1

    I need the upgrade.

  • D GamerTv
    D GamerTv 2 months ago

    Is it good for gamers?

  • tommy lee
    tommy lee 2 months ago

    Why not OLED yet? Still LCD

  • CristDhaBoss Games
    CristDhaBoss Games 2 months ago +2

    I’m pretty sure the main reason for apple to keep the lighting cable was to allow for the first gen Apple Pencil support, like the other iPads. (With the exception of the new iPad pros)

  • bsfatboy
    bsfatboy 2 months ago

    Ugh, it’s this guy/lawyer