iMac Pro Review - a PC Guy’s Perspective

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 30, 2018
  • Apple's new iMac Pro is both like and UNlike any iMac we've seen before... But is it a positive step in the right direction, or is it a mixed blessing?
    For your unrestricted 30 days free trial, go to www.freshbooks.com/techtips and enter in “Linus Tech Tips” in the how you heard about us section.
    Check out our merch store: www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Buy an iMac Pro on Amazon: geni.us/QVlX1
    Or buy an iMac Pro from Apple: geni.us/cs4x
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/891334-imac-pro-review-%E2%80%93-a-pc-guy%E2%80%99s-perspective/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: thexvid.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High thexvid.com/user/approachingnirvana
    Sound effects provided by www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 3 977

  • Wvovano
    Wvovano 2 days ago

    you're welcome (cryptocurrency miners)

  • BenelliMr
    BenelliMr 19 days ago +1

    can you see 4K on a 27 inch screen? I got a 32 inch 4K screen in order not to stress my eyes. Was I wrong to buy that large? ??? Or turn the question around: for so much money, shouldn't we expect a 32 inch screen? That would also ease the cooling

    • Alex Young
      Alex Young 11 days ago

      you cant see the pixels on the 5k 27" display, it's all about PPI (pixels per inch). On the 27" 5k displays you have space for a full res 4k image or video in the middle while still having 500px each side for your toolbars. Apple have there retina "sweet spot" of around 300 ppi or so. in terms of not stressing your eyes as much, higher resolutions on larger screens are better as you can sit further away however I would have gone for a 27 inch matte monitor like this: www.dell.com/en-uk/shop/dell-ultrasharp-27-4k-monitor-u2718q/apd/210-amsg/monitors-monitor-accessories

  • Mkhwlani
    Mkhwlani 19 days ago

    Come ooooon Steve Jobs didn’t do anything rip Steve Jobs

  • Andrew Shirley
    Andrew Shirley 19 days ago

    There a lot of but hurt apple snowflakes in here

  • puki nikka
    puki nikka 19 days ago

    Yo no rgb or 8k res and no titans 4/10

  • Dark Gangsta
    Dark Gangsta 20 days ago

    How much Apple paid u??

  • Day Late Dollar Short
    Day Late Dollar Short 20 days ago

    Just get to it. Long introduction for a TheXvid video, meh!!!!!

  • Shashank Sastry
    Shashank Sastry 22 days ago

    Show us how to use bootcamp, and give us some of your opinions on some of its thermal management issues?

  • turtlelore 2
    turtlelore 2 24 days ago +1

    Personally, I don't care much for a monitor as long as it's big enough, accurate enough, and sharp enough. $1700 for a 27" monitor is absolutely insane to me. You could literally build a whole nother mid to high end pc for that cost. With the rate of tech development, this computer would be considered out of date in roughly 5 years, less if you are one of those "professionals" that require the absolute best hardware. Literally the whole $5k is down the drain with nearly zero options for reusing components (unless you want to continue using the atrocious included mouse and keyboard).

  • Ninjapro09578 Roblox

    I Wanted The Surface Studio 2 But The iMac Cached My Eye

  • JANOXD
    JANOXD Month ago

    cooling is just crap in this machin

  • Preston Griffin
    Preston Griffin Month ago

    whats the song 0:00 to 0:38

  • NAZROL _10
    NAZROL _10 Month ago +1

    I want you imac plesea..but i want youtube channel

  • Bo Chaban
    Bo Chaban Month ago

    What is with the fruity fingernails?

  • Rarrrrrr
    Rarrrrrr Month ago

    WAIT UNTIL THEY REDESIGN IT AND GET RID OF THE DISGUSTING BEZELS AND GROSS JAY LENO CHIN

  • Johannes Laukart
    Johannes Laukart Month ago

    I have no interest in this max but all your Videos are just so great that I simply need to watch them

  • Jack Snyder
    Jack Snyder 2 months ago

    But can it run minesweeper?

  • Calle
    Calle 2 months ago

    I think when you talk about problems in Blender and GPU rendering, I think you need to address the elephant in the room, the fact that Mojave doesn't support Cuda, and has discontinued OpenCL on their platform, replacing it with metal. Blender doesn't support metal for rendering in any respect... And it kinda depends on whether or not someone is willing to spend the time to implement that. Sucks for Blender Mac users... For sure. Only CPU-rendering for now in other words.

  • Ow2 :P
    Ow2 :P 2 months ago

    I use a 2013 macbook air for school, it has a headphone jack, mag safe and ACCUAL USB PORTS!!1!1!!!

  • FAPPY DISK
    FAPPY DISK 2 months ago

    6:24 WTF?! Windows on mac?

  • Susan Pratt
    Susan Pratt 2 months ago

    I did like this. Well done.

  • Image-I-Nation Photography

    Why no backlit keyboard?

  • After Glow
    After Glow 3 months ago

    mouse, motherboard, cooling, keyboard, psu were very equivalent for this video !!! PC $1000 less it shoulda been

  • benedict cumberbatch
    benedict cumberbatch 3 months ago

    apple tax 69 69 69
    rofl

  • Ramesh Sanghar
    Ramesh Sanghar 3 months ago +1

    Ok you don't like Apple we get it

  • Cicero 219
    Cicero 219 3 months ago

    Now do a comparison now. Since gpu prices have fallen

  • RevolutionaryGaming
    RevolutionaryGaming 3 months ago

    and im here with a 4k display, ryzen 7 oc, 32gb of ram, and a titan x i got for less then $2000

  • Magnitude715
    Magnitude715 3 months ago

    If the stock CPU already throttles, do they intend end-users to DIY a CPU cooling solution if they plan on upgrading? Apple's default one doesn't even use heatpipes. Lame. Sorry, but for that kind of money, they could at least have engineered something with heatpipes or a closed liquid loop.

  • Panzer Boy
    Panzer Boy 3 months ago

    when Steve Jobs lived people: wow apple good nowadays: Apple bleh it's sad how such a company made such mistakes all when Steve died

  • shinya2104
    shinya2104 3 months ago

    whats up with your nails bro

  • CLAVIN ZKL
    CLAVIN ZKL 3 months ago

    5K just on components lel

  • ARCHIT KOTHARI
    ARCHIT KOTHARI 3 months ago

    Today’s video is brought to you by us👏🤣

  • Manish solanki
    Manish solanki 3 months ago

    Indian price

  • Saif Iqbal
    Saif Iqbal 3 months ago +1

    When you get no sponser!

  • Saif Iqbal
    Saif Iqbal 3 months ago

    When you get no sponser!

  • Elliot Nordström
    Elliot Nordström 4 months ago

    Why not just buy a i9 9900k, 2080 ti and more for cheaper?

  • Aj Madrigal
    Aj Madrigal 4 months ago

    Anyone can build a computer that is way faster than an iMac Pro with a lot less of a price tag

  • expired can of tomato soup

    Whydja include a high level mouse and keyboard in the shopping list?

  • testing games lol
    testing games lol 4 months ago +6

    i'd rather to get a New car.

  • lasarousi
    lasarousi 4 months ago

    An actual sole product valued at it's real profitable price? Oh my goodnesssssssssssssss

  • MayPolBeats
    MayPolBeats 4 months ago

    In all seriousness, watching these comments have given me a good conclusion to who (or whom, words are weird) this computer is for. Basically, it has a niche for gaming (niche, not the same as MADE FOR), it has enough power for creative professionals in video editing and more, but if you want to save some money by getting a similarly powered computer (not similarly specified, FYI), you can also do that. You can drop the 5k display for a 4k one with a bit higher refresh rate and HDR (5k still looks good tho), get a similar xeon or overclocked i7 or i9 (take your pick, it's for your enjoyment), any full sized DIMM ram (ECC is also a niche in this case), pick your SATA RAID SSD storage or NVME SSD for fast performance (Apple's is quite fast tho, but upgrading is expensive), take your pick of graphics card (AMD or NVIDIA, but obviously AMD has to step up their game) and your choice of I/O and peripherals (Thunderbolt 3 and 10gb ethernet is great, but for some, it can be an after thought). Basically, Apple's pro computer isn't bad (it's the best they've got), but if you have other needs and this computer doesn't live up to those expectations, look somewhere else. But, one can't deny that this computer IS an option, it's not for everyone but it is an option.

  • Good Girl
    Good Girl 4 months ago

    I didn't want to watch it but since it's you ...

  • JP V
    JP V 4 months ago

    lmao I loved that intro. well done

  • Rayyan
    Rayyan 4 months ago

    no one wants a 5k 2k $ screen ill do fine with 4k 800 dollar monitor and most ppl will agree apple could make it cheap by this

  • darknessviking
    darknessviking 4 months ago

    who is that how girl half way in

  • Caden Churchill
    Caden Churchill 4 months ago +1

    I'm not the only one who thinks the Mac Pro looks like an expensive trashcan! :D

  • Nikola Nikolov
    Nikola Nikolov 4 months ago

    *Includes 3.5mm jack!*

  • fjalar andersson
    fjalar andersson 5 months ago

    But theres no RGB

  • Ryan Dela Cruz
    Ryan Dela Cruz 5 months ago

    Hey great video... what specs would you recommend for video editing 4k maybe 8k footage , 30min documentary films or 5 min videos. base model imac pro... or what configuration for imac 27inch non pro

  • Lucian Ilea
    Lucian Ilea 5 months ago

    also you cannot use Macs for anything else than creative production

  • Lucian Ilea
    Lucian Ilea 5 months ago

    Macs cannot be upgraded-your video card is dead=dead computer,another 20000 dollars down the drain

  • Ian 64
    Ian 64 5 months ago +1

    they need to redesign the imac, its been 12 fuckin years cmon

  • 00100000
    00100000 5 months ago

    This disregard for Apple's philosophy disgusts me

  • Rick Sanchez C137
    Rick Sanchez C137 5 months ago

    My portal gun runs on a Qualcomm chip i salvaged from an old galaxy s4.

  • harry smyth
    harry smyth 5 months ago

    Could I buy a car for Mac Pro!

  • Daniel Black
    Daniel Black 5 months ago

    What happened to the intro? You skipped ahead!

  • _ Broody
    _ Broody 5 months ago

    When's the merch store up? ... 'Soon' now seems to reach it's 12th month since this video was upped :)

  • Jody Bruchon
    Jody Bruchon 5 months ago +1

    "It has 10GBe!" Meanwhile, I'm getting Mellanox ConnectX-2 PCIe x8 10GBe SFP+ cards for $21 each on eBay and using $8 SFP+ Direct Attach twinax cables to get a direct 10GBe link between machines for $50 total per link. Not to mention the iMac Pro's 10GBe is 10GBe Ethernet which is notorious for using excessive amounts of power compared to other 10GBe link options.

  • Velo Dan
    Velo Dan 5 months ago

    Hot air rises as it exit the rear, not back down into the lower vent.

  • Golden Life Gaming
    Golden Life Gaming 5 months ago

    a i mac setup looks so sexy and clean

  • Pro Gamer
    Pro Gamer 5 months ago

    Try connecting an external GPU

  • Hydrogen Films
    Hydrogen Films 5 months ago

    finally, an apple product that linus won't nitpick the shit out of.

  • Gustavo Domínguez
    Gustavo Domínguez 5 months ago

    When Apple users talk about "the experience" they don't mean their senses, they mean, we mean... well... meant, the OS. It's extremely fluid getting around even after Apple has killed some of this to macOS more like iOS. That's when things like the capacitive surface on the Magic Mouse that lots of people hate--make sense. Hot corners, window management, dragging places in dialog windows to navigate to the dragged item's destination, modifier keys that actually make sense, are things very hard to leave behind. if they don't kick the F out this moron, peacemaker, mountainrange-fkr CEO, this is going to be over very soon. macOS looks like it's a rigid non-customizabke OS but it is completely the opposite, where it matters, for instance you can set a keyboard shortcut for any menu item without hunting for third-party tools to do so. Gestures can be further fine-tuned or expanded with modifier keys, it fluid and you don't have to keep lifting your arm. This is why most users don't care for touchscreens, you can already do the same faster, with less effort and assorted aerobics.

  • Evan Rhiel
    Evan Rhiel 6 months ago

    Apple should use a qi style charger for the magic mouse in future products, logitech has a qi charging mousepad so apple can make something similar

  • Roboprogs
    Roboprogs 6 months ago

    I hate Apple's prices. I don't much like their keyboards, either. (but...)
    I hate Microsoft's software. We need a benchmark of "average reboots per week" or something to compare *MY* "thermal stress" :-)
    So, Linux or OSX it is.

  • Grim Reaper
    Grim Reaper 6 months ago

    Apple sucks more dick than you did in high school..

  • Duyntje3
    Duyntje3 6 months ago

    A I Mac for professionals !

  • Lopez Mejia
    Lopez Mejia 6 months ago

    Hello guys, somebody could help me please. I got iMac 2017 27inches. which has 3.4 GHz Intel Core i5, do you think its going work with i9-9900K 8 Cores / 16 Threads 3.60 GHz up to 5.00 GHz / 16 MB Cache. Do you think could be work form my iMac? I'll waiting and reading your comments, thanks.

  • christine
    christine 6 months ago

    Hi how do you install youtube, fb, netflix in imac, it is not in app store, and my boyfriend bough a book in his iphone, but we cannot seem to find in his new imac.

  • Pete is never wrong
    Pete is never wrong 6 months ago

    Sodder? You're Canadian, speak English. Solder.

  • Aditya Addanki
    Aditya Addanki 6 months ago

    Today's video is brought to you by us🤣🤣🤣

  • STATMAGNET
    STATMAGNET 6 months ago

    But can it run fortnite?

  • Theodore Roosevelt
    Theodore Roosevelt 6 months ago

    6:40
    Warm air rises, guys. Lmfao.

  • Douglas Wong
    Douglas Wong 6 months ago

    Something most ‘PC’ fanboy always forget that apple products comes with something called Mac OS, which will cost money. Even LTT doesn’t include that for some reason but fare enough, iMac Pro is not perfect, and is not for everyone, not to those stupid PC gamers always shits about apple doing something that are ‘unseen’ on PC

  • Alex Sasikaran
    Alex Sasikaran 6 months ago

    you know its good when linus talks OK about a apple computer

  • Andre Mendes
    Andre Mendes 6 months ago

    "Profashional"

  • No2
    No2 6 months ago

    à good

  • Tom S
    Tom S 6 months ago

    Hater typical PC guy

  • osx holunman
    osx holunman 6 months ago

    Most mac the logicboard will die within 1-2 year, they will telll you it is water damage and refuse to repair, i have mac g5 mac pro all the logic board die like that

  • 紫雨老师谈吸引力法则

    2018-12-7

  • imgtsmnlom
    imgtsmnlom 6 months ago +1

    How does hot air flow downward?

    • you're*
      you're* 6 months ago +1

      It's being blown downward by the fans. Hot air will only rise if it's not being pushed downwards.

  • dmiluh
    dmiluh 6 months ago

    cancer

  • Jerry Yawning
    Jerry Yawning 6 months ago +1

    iMac: how to waste for money to look "diffefent" and "professional" lol

  • NOMEDIA
    NOMEDIA 6 months ago +1

    “Who saw that one coming” got me good.

  • mercedesbenzformula1
    mercedesbenzformula1 6 months ago

    Best intro ever! The conviction to solder everything down. This is gold right here!!!

  • shane riordan
    shane riordan 6 months ago

    nice vent animation, heat rises dumbass

  • stoneheart
    stoneheart 6 months ago

    Apple doesn’t seem as greedy as they once was, next time they should let u change the gpu too. A bit overpriced but it is an Mac that you can upgrade.

  • Download Ram
    Download Ram 6 months ago

    Load more virtual memory, I tried it, it's great, have you tried it, I downloaded more ram for the computer at:@t

  • Leo Fitch
    Leo Fitch 7 months ago +1

    2:20 I told u about ur nails man why lol 😂

  • el cabrón
    el cabrón 7 months ago

    Ger ar r here with this trash

  • TheMoonchild1969
    TheMoonchild1969 7 months ago

    When you mix cockiness with alleged knowledge of a subject as difficult as computer engineering, well I usually instinctively raise my eyebrows suspiciously intrigued. This alleged expert as any other polluting the Net with their most of the time, I have to admit, funny recounts yet punny analysis, fail miserably in one aspect; the intricacies of real science behind all these technological wonders. Their knowledge, if any, revolves around their item of attention like moths do around fire. Vastly superficial, bording the kingdom of Boredom.This particular one sounds more like lacking any depth on the matter. Our society demands full time educators, no these partime lobbyists of purported wisdom.

  • Joseph Upton
    Joseph Upton 7 months ago

    For $5000 I could get a "Maingear" PC that has far more flexibility and would blow Apple out of the water.

  • Zissou Moonshot
    Zissou Moonshot 7 months ago

    I really want the old Apple back, where I could open up my case and upgrade and/or repair my machines with ease and speed. In a production facility you are employing techs specifically so that you can repair and replace a machine as quickly as possible. Pro gear should always be modular and always have a case you can pop open. Apple Pro gear lost the plot when they walked away from the simple but brilliant design of the Mac Pro tower, before the trash can debacle. Very well made case that you could easily pop open. I wish they had just upgraded that to be lighter, quieter, better graphics, and given us an option to buy it in a rack mountable case.

  • A h
    A h 7 months ago

    THOSE DAMN MINERS!

  • Honkai Rose
    Honkai Rose 7 months ago +1

    Wow. I’m surprised. I’m genuinely happy this machine was built well and the price is justified. But it will take years before I’ll ever buy Apple again. My ass still hurts from all the buttfucking over these past few years. Allow my asshole to tighten and I may start buying Apple products again.

  • Steve James
    Steve James 7 months ago

    i was watching this and thought "wow must be nice" when he said about the speed then i remembered i have an 18 core Hackinstosh

  • Collin Heidrich
    Collin Heidrich 7 months ago

    But can it game

  • Henry Ogunyode
    Henry Ogunyode 7 months ago

    iRemove it and make you pay more. Available now at every Apple store for only 9999.99

  • XueGuang Lu
    XueGuang Lu 7 months ago

    where is the promised gaming performance?

  • Daniel Filippus
    Daniel Filippus 7 months ago

    8:38 this is now my new favorite desktop background.