iMac Pro Review - a PC Guy’s Perspective

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 30, 2018
  • Apple's new iMac Pro is both like and UNlike any iMac we've seen before... But is it a positive step in the right direction, or is it a mixed blessing?
    For your unrestricted 30 days free trial, go to www.freshbooks.com/techtips and enter in “Linus Tech Tips” in the how you heard about us section.
    Check out our merch store: www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Buy an iMac Pro on Amazon: geni.us/QVlX1
    Or buy an iMac Pro from Apple: geni.us/cs4x
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/891334-imac-pro-review-%E2%80%93-a-pc-guy%E2%80%99s-perspective/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: thexvid.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High thexvid.com/user/approachingnirvana
    Sound effects provided by www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 3 963

  • The IceKing Gamer
    The IceKing Gamer Month ago

    Wait... did you just say that the iMac Pro has a USB port?
    *A USB port?*
    Did I just go into a parallel universe?
    Oh and at 4:43 the window lagged a tad *:O*

  • Prakash NB
    Prakash NB 2 months ago

    haha i wonder what happened to this computer. Spoiler: it dies until louis rossman saved its ass

  • Greg I
    Greg I 2 months ago

    The mouse fully charges in literally seconds!!! Having the port on the bottom makes perfect sense because of this. Why ruin the design when its never going to be necessary to charge and work?

  • Wvovano
    Wvovano 3 months ago

    you're welcome (cryptocurrency miners)

  • BenelliMr
    BenelliMr 3 months ago +1

    can you see 4K on a 27 inch screen? I got a 32 inch 4K screen in order not to stress my eyes. Was I wrong to buy that large? ??? Or turn the question around: for so much money, shouldn't we expect a 32 inch screen? That would also ease the cooling

    • Alex Young
      Alex Young 3 months ago

      you cant see the pixels on the 5k 27" display, it's all about PPI (pixels per inch). On the 27" 5k displays you have space for a full res 4k image or video in the middle while still having 500px each side for your toolbars. Apple have there retina "sweet spot" of around 300 ppi or so. in terms of not stressing your eyes as much, higher resolutions on larger screens are better as you can sit further away however I would have gone for a 27 inch matte monitor like this: www.dell.com/en-uk/shop/dell-ultrasharp-27-4k-monitor-u2718q/apd/210-amsg/monitors-monitor-accessories

  • Mkhwlani
    Mkhwlani 3 months ago

    Come ooooon Steve Jobs didn’t do anything rip Steve Jobs

  • Andrew Shirley
    Andrew Shirley 3 months ago +1

    There a lot of but hurt apple snowflakes in here

  • puki nikka
    puki nikka 3 months ago

    Yo no rgb or 8k res and no titans 4/10

  • Dark Gangsta
    Dark Gangsta 3 months ago

    How much Apple paid u??

  • Day Late Dollar Short
    Day Late Dollar Short 3 months ago

    Just get to it. Long introduction for a TheXvid video, meh!!!!!

  • Shashank Sastry
    Shashank Sastry 3 months ago

    Show us how to use bootcamp, and give us some of your opinions on some of its thermal management issues?

  • turtlelore 2
    turtlelore 2 3 months ago +2

    Personally, I don't care much for a monitor as long as it's big enough, accurate enough, and sharp enough. $1700 for a 27" monitor is absolutely insane to me. You could literally build a whole nother mid to high end pc for that cost. With the rate of tech development, this computer would be considered out of date in roughly 5 years, less if you are one of those "professionals" that require the absolute best hardware. Literally the whole $5k is down the drain with nearly zero options for reusing components (unless you want to continue using the atrocious included mouse and keyboard).

  • Ninjapro09578
    Ninjapro09578 4 months ago

    I Wanted The Surface Studio 2 But The iMac Cached My Eye

  • JANOXD
    JANOXD 4 months ago

    cooling is just crap in this machin

  • Preston Griffin
    Preston Griffin 4 months ago

    whats the song 0:00 to 0:38

  • NAZROL _10
    NAZROL _10 4 months ago +1

    I want you imac plesea..but i want youtube channel

  • Rarrrrrr
    Rarrrrrr 4 months ago

    WAIT UNTIL THEY REDESIGN IT AND GET RID OF THE DISGUSTING BEZELS AND GROSS JAY LENO CHIN

  • Johannes Lakarz
    Johannes Lakarz 5 months ago

    I have no interest in this max but all your Videos are just so great that I simply need to watch them

  • Jack Snyder
    Jack Snyder 5 months ago

    But can it run minesweeper?

  • Calle
    Calle 5 months ago

    I think when you talk about problems in Blender and GPU rendering, I think you need to address the elephant in the room, the fact that Mojave doesn't support Cuda, and has discontinued OpenCL on their platform, replacing it with metal. Blender doesn't support metal for rendering in any respect... And it kinda depends on whether or not someone is willing to spend the time to implement that. Sucks for Blender Mac users... For sure. Only CPU-rendering for now in other words.

  • Ow2
    Ow2 5 months ago

    I use a 2013 macbook air for school, it has a headphone jack, mag safe and ACCUAL USB PORTS!!1!1!!!

  • FAPPY DISK
    FAPPY DISK 5 months ago

    6:24 WTF?! Windows on mac?

  • Susan Pratt
    Susan Pratt 5 months ago

    I did like this. Well done.

  • Image-I-Nation Photography

    Why no backlit keyboard?

  • After Glow
    After Glow 6 months ago

    mouse, motherboard, cooling, keyboard, psu were very equivalent for this video !!! PC $1000 less it shoulda been

  • benedict cumberbatch
    benedict cumberbatch 6 months ago

    apple tax 69 69 69
    rofl

  • Ramesh Sanghar
    Ramesh Sanghar 6 months ago +1

    Ok you don't like Apple we get it

  • Cicero 219
    Cicero 219 6 months ago

    Now do a comparison now. Since gpu prices have fallen

  • RevolutionaryGaming
    RevolutionaryGaming 6 months ago

    and im here with a 4k display, ryzen 7 oc, 32gb of ram, and a titan x i got for less then $2000

  • Magnitude715
    Magnitude715 6 months ago

    If the stock CPU already throttles, do they intend end-users to DIY a CPU cooling solution if they plan on upgrading? Apple's default one doesn't even use heatpipes. Lame. Sorry, but for that kind of money, they could at least have engineered something with heatpipes or a closed liquid loop.

  • Russian Tanker
    Russian Tanker 6 months ago

    when Steve Jobs lived people: wow apple good nowadays: Apple bleh it's sad how such a company made such mistakes all when Steve died

  • shinya2104
    shinya2104 6 months ago

    whats up with your nails bro

  • CLAVIN ZKL
    CLAVIN ZKL 6 months ago

    5K just on components lel

  • ARCHIT KOTHARI
    ARCHIT KOTHARI 6 months ago

    Today’s video is brought to you by us👏🤣

  • Manish solanki
    Manish solanki 6 months ago

    Indian price

  • Big Banana
    Big Banana 6 months ago +1

    When you get no sponser!

  • Big Banana
    Big Banana 6 months ago

    When you get no sponser!

  • Elliot Nordström
    Elliot Nordström 7 months ago

    Why not just buy a i9 9900k, 2080 ti and more for cheaper?

  • Aj Madrigal
    Aj Madrigal 7 months ago

    Anyone can build a computer that is way faster than an iMac Pro with a lot less of a price tag

  • expired can of tomato soup

    Whydja include a high level mouse and keyboard in the shopping list?

  • testing games lol
    testing games lol 7 months ago +6

    i'd rather to get a New car.

  • lasarousi
    lasarousi 7 months ago

    An actual sole product valued at it's real profitable price? Oh my goodnesssssssssssssss

  • MayPolBeats
    MayPolBeats 7 months ago

    In all seriousness, watching these comments have given me a good conclusion to who (or whom, words are weird) this computer is for. Basically, it has a niche for gaming (niche, not the same as MADE FOR), it has enough power for creative professionals in video editing and more, but if you want to save some money by getting a similarly powered computer (not similarly specified, FYI), you can also do that. You can drop the 5k display for a 4k one with a bit higher refresh rate and HDR (5k still looks good tho), get a similar xeon or overclocked i7 or i9 (take your pick, it's for your enjoyment), any full sized DIMM ram (ECC is also a niche in this case), pick your SATA RAID SSD storage or NVME SSD for fast performance (Apple's is quite fast tho, but upgrading is expensive), take your pick of graphics card (AMD or NVIDIA, but obviously AMD has to step up their game) and your choice of I/O and peripherals (Thunderbolt 3 and 10gb ethernet is great, but for some, it can be an after thought). Basically, Apple's pro computer isn't bad (it's the best they've got), but if you have other needs and this computer doesn't live up to those expectations, look somewhere else. But, one can't deny that this computer IS an option, it's not for everyone but it is an option.

  • Good Girl
    Good Girl 7 months ago

    I didn't want to watch it but since it's you ...

  • JP V
    JP V 7 months ago

    lmao I loved that intro. well done

  • Rayyan
    Rayyan 7 months ago

    no one wants a 5k 2k $ screen ill do fine with 4k 800 dollar monitor and most ppl will agree apple could make it cheap by this

  • darknessviking
    darknessviking 7 months ago

    who is that how girl half way in

  • Caden Churchill
    Caden Churchill 7 months ago +3

    I'm not the only one who thinks the Mac Pro looks like an expensive trashcan! :D

  • Nikola Nikolov
    Nikola Nikolov 7 months ago

    *Includes 3.5mm jack!*

  • fjalar andersson
    fjalar andersson 8 months ago

    But theres no RGB

  • Ryan Dela Cruz
    Ryan Dela Cruz 8 months ago

    Hey great video... what specs would you recommend for video editing 4k maybe 8k footage , 30min documentary films or 5 min videos. base model imac pro... or what configuration for imac 27inch non pro

  • Lucian Ilea
    Lucian Ilea 8 months ago

    also you cannot use Macs for anything else than creative production

  • Lucian Ilea
    Lucian Ilea 8 months ago

    Macs cannot be upgraded-your video card is dead=dead computer,another 20000 dollars down the drain

  • Ian 64
    Ian 64 8 months ago +1

    they need to redesign the imac, its been 12 fuckin years cmon

  • 00100000
    00100000 8 months ago

    This disregard for Apple's philosophy disgusts me

  • Rick Sanchez C137
    Rick Sanchez C137 8 months ago

    My portal gun runs on a Qualcomm chip i salvaged from an old galaxy s4.

  • harry smyth
    harry smyth 8 months ago

    Could I buy a car for Mac Pro!

  • Daniel Black
    Daniel Black 8 months ago

    What happened to the intro? You skipped ahead!

  • _ Broody
    _ Broody 8 months ago

    When's the merch store up? ... 'Soon' now seems to reach it's 12th month since this video was upped :)

  • Jody Bruchon
    Jody Bruchon 8 months ago +1

    "It has 10GBe!" Meanwhile, I'm getting Mellanox ConnectX-2 PCIe x8 10GBe SFP+ cards for $21 each on eBay and using $8 SFP+ Direct Attach twinax cables to get a direct 10GBe link between machines for $50 total per link. Not to mention the iMac Pro's 10GBe is 10GBe Ethernet which is notorious for using excessive amounts of power compared to other 10GBe link options.