Google Pixel 3A review: a $399 phone with a great camera

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 7, 2019
  • Google’s Pixel 3A or Pixel 3A XL is the best phone under $500, and it’s actually competitive with more expensive phones in one very important way. The Pixel 3A has a great camera. While it has many of the same compromises you usually make when you buy a cheap phone, the photos it takes are nearly indistinguishable from what comes out of a Pixel 3.
    Learn more: bit.ly/2YbzYfB
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    The Vergecast Podcast: pod.link/430333725
    Why'd You Push That Button Podcast: pod.link/1295289748
    More about our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TheXvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 2 270

  • The Verge
    The Verge  4 months ago +793

    Do you think the Pixel 3A is right for you?

  • RandomTechS@#T
    RandomTechS@#T 4 days ago

    That 2009 bezel though...

  • JAy singh
    JAy singh 4 days ago

    Awsome review

  • xGen720
    xGen720 16 days ago

    Polycarbonate is plastic

  • Deshmukh Ganesh
    Deshmukh Ganesh 26 days ago

    Nice video sir, liked your channel,
    but I would go for Poco F1, and flash Google Pixel 3XL rom, which is for only 270 USD, in India.

  • argenis espinoza
    argenis espinoza Month ago +1

    Moto g7 plus still wins and is better !!! 😌😌😌🙋‍♂️

  • CRAZY Birdie21
    CRAZY Birdie21 Month ago

    This is brilliant... but A70 be brilliant too

  • Rob
    Rob Month ago

    Hey, just bought this great phone and was wanting to use nova launcher. Is there a way to get gesture navigation working with Nova or is there a launcher that is fully compatible with Pixel 3a xl that allows me to hide apps and also create folders within the app drawer? Cheers, great video

  • trivikram.r Rajendra prabhu

    Thanks for the review verge, can I please get a link to the wallpaper? I am unable to find the red hysteresis wallpaper, thanks

    • Lukas Wall
      Lukas Wall Month ago

      I'm trying to find it to 😢

  • Martín Romano
    Martín Romano Month ago

    FYI, for anyone worried about performance, my Pixel 3a opened Spotify just as fast as the Pixel 3XL on this video. Thats is almost double as fast as the 3aXL they showed here... And mine isn't factory restored and there were other apps running in the background.

  • Ronald King
    Ronald King Month ago +1

    Nyc affordable and up to date

  • Marion Dela Cruz
    Marion Dela Cruz Month ago

    The pixel 3A is a good phone for people who doesn't mind not getting the best specs. It gives you the best features from a premium phone without breaking your budget. It's not as slow like some reviewers are telling.

  • Darren Ung
    Darren Ung Month ago

    Hold on, that high quality thing with the Pixel 3a isn’t a problem. The file size is going to be compressed a little bit, but considering that the camera is 12.2 megapixels-far under the 16 megapixel Google Photos limit-there should be virtually no difference between the photos in Google’s servers and the photos on local storage even if you’re a pixel peeper. In fact, only people who use DSLRs or serious cameras are the ones going to be concerned about “original quality” and at that point why should they expect so much from a $400 phone? Just something to think about when reviewers talk about drawbacks...Google removed or changed features of the 3a for a reason.

  • Joseph Upton
    Joseph Upton Month ago

    Just bought a Google Pixel (from 2016) for $75. Fantastic camera. Only 32gb of storage but unlimited backup.

  • Gavin Lee
    Gavin Lee Month ago

    Just got my pixel 3a yesterday at Best buy -100 for Sprint activation and $80 of gift cards... That was given too me... So I got this phone for only $245 so at this price.... It's definitely worth it hahaha

  • 君愷范
    君愷范 Month ago

    the color tone is still a bit different between the two cameras as seen on the sample shots...basically different SoC means different ISP...and the better processor still kicks out better pictures even if the other hardwares and algorithms are the same...

  • Samantha Shelley
    Samantha Shelley 2 months ago

    I have a Nexus 5 and the Pixel 3a appeals to me. So makes total sense lol

  • Haikel G
    Haikel G 2 months ago

    This is a great phone! Enough of iPhone.

  • Nate W Thibodeau
    Nate W Thibodeau 2 months ago

    The OLED panel on the 3a has terrible color shift and is quite warm(yellow)...just as bad as the Pixel 2 was well known for. It also is blurry, compared to the super sharp and crisp panel Pixel 3.

  • Scott Swarbrick
    Scott Swarbrick 2 months ago +1

    Hey guys. Get £40 to spend in the Google store when you buy the new pixel 3a or 3a-XL with this new code : B-OTON68NMPFMQHSSYSIV7U2P

  • xtension xward
    xtension xward 2 months ago

    Wow what a long commercial !

  • David Martrano
    David Martrano 2 months ago

    Well, the Nexus 6p & 5x had a set of twins the 3a & 3aXL, yikes. For 399.00 best in class camera plus Google Software processing. There are no mid-rangers with this excellent camera. Will they sell boatloads, absolutely!

  • Sar Me
    Sar Me 2 months ago

    Does this phone work fine without a sim card ?

  • ice cream
    ice cream 2 months ago

    Almost 500 euro here in belgium

  • Philip Presley
    Philip Presley 2 months ago

    How's the camera though?

  • Mahmudul Hasan
    Mahmudul Hasan 2 months ago

    This phone is over priced

  • HellaHellaHella HEY
    HellaHellaHella HEY 2 months ago

    for a $399 phone i could buy a nintendo switch for $379.99

  • Muqri Musa
    Muqri Musa 2 months ago

    Cant find this version of hysteresis wallpaper from the verges website somebody helpp

  • Daniel Frade
    Daniel Frade 2 months ago

    hey the wallpaper that appears on this video isn't in the link of the description

  • Keyboard Warrior
    Keyboard Warrior 2 months ago +2

    I bought an unused OG Pixel XL from Argos (its discontinued now which is a bummer) for £200. its a great phone with a great camera, what can I say

  • Laura Rodriguez
    Laura Rodriguez 2 months ago

    I have the XR, but the 3a looks GREAT👍🏻

  • Kapil Mehta
    Kapil Mehta 2 months ago

    In India, It's more expensive than the higher model of One Plus 7.
    Daaa ?

  • Kapil Mehta
    Kapil Mehta 2 months ago

    watching this on my Nexus 5.
    XD

  • MicahNY
    MicahNY 2 months ago

    Just got a 3A in purple and absolutely love it 😍

  • Nhi ONLY
    Nhi ONLY 3 months ago

    Love the prices

  • WANDERLUST *
    WANDERLUST * 3 months ago

    can OIS be disabled?

  • Naman shah
    Naman shah 3 months ago

    I can't find this wallpaper

  • Greg Terzian
    Greg Terzian 3 months ago

    No mention whatsoever of the video capabilities of the phone, which is such an important consideration for a smartphone now. You made the point several times about how great the camera is, but no report on its video. Even more importantly, the fact that this phone cannot be set to shoot at 60 FPS in ANY resolution, which is a very serious issue for many users. He “auto FPS” feature is atrociously indicative of dumbing-down gone excessive. Otherwise, great reporting.

  • Tek Minion
    Tek Minion 3 months ago

    I have been using mine for 2
    Days and am pretty impressed. The phone for me is fast enough for what I need to do like take pictures, listen to music, android auto, and reply to text messages and email. It's a phone that does a great job at being a phone. Games, and more intense work I leave to my iPad pro 11inch.
    The thing about this phone is, you cant treat it as something it's not, a specd out flagship, but like Dieter says, the experience is actually really good 😎

  • Jacky Heng
    Jacky Heng 3 months ago

    It's been a month, possible for the verge to upload this wallpaper to your site? Thanks!

  • MüsliManTV
    MüsliManTV 3 months ago +7

    I like how a lot of people see the none existing wireless charging as problem, because I really don't get it. I never had wireless charging, but is it really that hard to just plug in a phone? I don't think so

    • MüsliManTV
      MüsliManTV 2 months ago

      @Jenny Yeah, I have the 3a now, so nod wireless charging for me

    • Jenny
      Jenny 2 months ago

      Ha I totally agree - I've never had wireless charging, never even considered it a thing but now I'm looking for a new phone and some phones have it, my brain wonders if I can ever live without it smh

    • Danielle Voiculescu
      Danielle Voiculescu 2 months ago

      I had a Samsung S8 for 2 years. Never bought a wireless charger. Now I have Pixel 3a XL.

  • Calvin Ku
    Calvin Ku 3 months ago +1

    I got myself a Pixel 3A XL after watching this video and I really regret it. It's got a really good screen and a really good rear camera just as said in the video. But there's one big problem about this phone is that it's way too slow when you run lots of apps on a daily basis. I don't play video games on the phone and I'm not like a super heavy user. But I use roughly 10 to 20 apps everyday, for chatting, for accessing my bank account, for web, for Instagram, for messaging so on and so forth and it get's incredibly slow the longer you use this phone. I'll probably give this phone to my dad as he doesn't use as many apps as I do but seriously for any heavy user this phone is not right for you.

  • One B
    One B 3 months ago

    You may have lots of sensors and triple camera but the real camera beast is Google pixel camera algorithm 🔥

  • Fransini A.
    Fransini A. 3 months ago

    Could you elaborate more on how the RAM and snapdragon capacity impacted your daily use of the 3A with all the regular apps you tend to use? ALSO, could you elaborate on the networking WiFi/LTE part? does that mean the phone will spend a long time trying to connect to any network, and the LTE part it will have issues picking up reception?

    Thanks in advance

  • J Biggs
    J Biggs 3 months ago +1

    Perfect review! Clear, concise, funny and thorough - with the perfect level of detail. Told me everything I needed to know in a reasonable amount of time. Carrier support point was key. Oh, and great production. Music was thankfully not too distracting. Nice job! I actually think the 3a will do very well.

  • Mark Cocio
    Mark Cocio 3 months ago

    I'm sold! Thanks for the review

  • Johnny Huang
    Johnny Huang 3 months ago

    Got mine. And I love it.

  • Donby Piso
    Donby Piso 3 months ago

    How does it perform taking pictures of sport scenes? Which one is even better for that?

  • iiEll ie
    iiEll ie 3 months ago +3

    I just got my pixel 3A yesterday for my first phone and I'm in love with audio and camera quality I honestly think that the pixel is better than any iPhone!!!

    • iiEll ie
      iiEll ie 2 months ago

      @Fikri Aziz I don't have insta but I can tell you that after a few weeks of having it it's a really great camera the battery last for about 6 hours a day if you have it charged at 100 but yeah it's a really great phone!

    • Fikri Aziz
      Fikri Aziz 2 months ago

      hey can u tell me the quality og the instagram story? especially a video, let me know your thought, thanks!

  • SWEGWAY SAM
    SWEGWAY SAM 3 months ago

    i want to breed my phone

  • Salman Ijaz Bhatti
    Salman Ijaz Bhatti 3 months ago

    I am leaving Samsung and moving to pixel line up. They don't care about their customers after they sell the phone. Horrendous software update track record by Samsung. I will vote with my wallet on this.

  • Rick Park
    Rick Park 3 months ago

    Google is evil.

  • Sunnny Singh
    Sunnny Singh 3 months ago

    Guys in India pixle 3a cost $642 and one plus 7pro costs $700.. I am confused what I shall go for ..pls suggest

  • maximilian robson
    maximilian robson 3 months ago

    What are the wallpaper these phone's?

  • LORI FISHER
    LORI FISHER 3 months ago +1

    I been wanting a great camera for my wedding and honeymoon and I have it right here I am in love with my Google pixel 3a

  • James L Manley Jr
    James L Manley Jr 3 months ago

    I would of never thought I would really enjoy using the Google Pixel 3a XL. I'm really tired of spending 1,000 plus dollars on a smartphones, and the camera on the $400 Google Pixel 3a Blows and the door off your $1449 iPhone XS Max. In the social media world today, the camera is the most important feature on a smartphone! I have a iPhone XS Max, Huawei P20 Pro, OnePlus 6T, OnePlus 7 Pro, and I just got the Google Pixel 3a XL; and I Love it!

  • Μłκε ŠøLø
    Μłκε ŠøLø 3 months ago

    I prefer a motorola

  • Bima Putra
    Bima Putra 3 months ago

    When u look at the front, its look like asus zenfone maxpro M1 with android pie

  • Tankado
    Tankado 3 months ago

    Idk, seems like the Samsung a50 offers more for less money

  • Eijianthony
    Eijianthony 3 months ago

    Just picked a 3a about an hour ago. Ty for the information!