Penn Jillette (Penn & Teller) Reviews Magic Tricks in The Prestige, Arrested Development and More

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jul 18, 2019
  • Legendary magician Penn Jillette reviews some of the most iconic magic tricks in cinema, from the dramatic illusions in The Prestige and The Illusionist to the comedic tricks in Ant-Man and The Wasp and Arrested Development. Learn how realistic some of the most famous cinematic magic really is.

    Penn & Teller’s MasterClass can be found at MasterClass.com/pt. Users can access this course and more than 60 MasterClass courses by subscribing to the All-Access Pass for $180 per year.
    Still haven’t subscribed to Vanity Fair on TheXvid? ►► bit.ly/2z6Ya9M

    ABOUT VANITY FAIR
    Arts and entertainment, business and media, politics, and world affairs-Vanity Fair’s features and exclusive videos capture the people, places, and ideas that define modern culture.
    Penn Jillette (Penn & Teller) Reviews Magic Tricks in The Prestige, Arrested Development and More
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 2 251

  • Tokin
    Tokin 8 hours ago

    They didn't show the part in burt wonderstone where there was a different assistant and this girl was pretty much forced on stage in her wig lol so that was her first time doing that under that pressure being on stage for her first time like that.

  • Keith Patrick
    Keith Patrick 9 hours ago

    I'm with Teller on the Orange Tree. I even love the actual version, but I *do* think a version like I the movie could be done (even the oranges, with some balloons that mimic orange peel and some sleight of hand to bring in a real orange)

  • unbroken1010
    unbroken1010 2 days ago

    Wait a minute he says Ricky Jay was.. man I didn't know Ricky Jay passed away. I think I was just watching it's called 52 magical assistance something like that. He had such an amazing command of language and terminology Penny used it in such a beautiful and dry satirical way. I think I still have a first edition of his first book that book is really hard to find that guy was a true gem actually good actor too I believe it was the Italian job but I really love them I could be wrong I know it was the robbery movie yeah that great seeing where he dumps the entire twine's up books and Records into the garbage can ☺☺

  • Mychael Darklighter
    Mychael Darklighter 2 days ago

    I was meant to see Penn and Teller last night but Teller had to have emergency back surgery so they cancelled... 😔

  • null
    null 2 days ago +1

    0:54 I love how happy he is about Teller being bit

  • Will4May
    Will4May 2 days ago

    Imagine if Teller turned up for this video instead, 11mins of facial expressions to clips :D

  • Justin Yoho
    Justin Yoho 3 days ago

    Penn.. Teller.. I just wanna thank y'all for what yall put your bodies through... ITS STILL REAL TO ME DAMMIT!!

  • my self
    my self 3 days ago

    i have watched this video before but i only just realized... why does he have 1 red fingernail? 5:19
    sometimes you see it sometimes it just disappear, is... was he... doing a magic trick while they filmed this...

  • Erik Anderson
    Erik Anderson 4 days ago

    Technically.... they did do instant stooging in that SNL bit. The studio audience were the complicit stooges.

  • N. V. Sav
    N. V. Sav 4 days ago

    Anybody know what watch he's wearing

  • TnT FoX
    TnT FoX 5 days ago

    Why didn't Teller discuss the tricks?! He has a great voice.

  • Matii Stiles
    Matii Stiles 5 days ago

    i love penn! used to watch fool us when i was younger

  • Race10 ftw
    Race10 ftw 6 days ago +2

    ‘Too perfect’ more like ‘Dude perfect’

  • Manuel Ruen
    Manuel Ruen 8 days ago

    "Remember I lie." So I'm guessing he lied about everything in this video lmao ;)

  • DemstarAus
    DemstarAus 8 days ago

    If Penn had watched the Prestige he would understand what that trick was showing us.

  • Andrew Kovalchek
    Andrew Kovalchek 8 days ago

    When they said Ant-Man(2015) but it was actually Ant-Man and the Wasp(2018) 😐😐😐

  • TheAlfsterino
    TheAlfsterino 8 days ago

    Isla Fisher says she nearly drowned doing that scene - although she did have a quick release switch near her - supposedly she was panicking under water for about 3minutes.

  • Andrew Finkner
    Andrew Finkner 9 days ago

    Lol throwin so much shade at teller. “Yeah this is a teller trick. I would never do this.”

  • No-one Important
    No-one Important 9 days ago

    You do know Chris Pratt actually knows magic right?

  • El Chino
    El Chino 9 days ago

    I thought he was gonna show Magic Mike

  • hawk james
    hawk james 10 days ago

    I would have liked him to review the mentalist aspect of now you see me

  • Kevin Creech
    Kevin Creech 11 days ago

    I once saw a guy cut open a kiwi with $20 bill that was signed by a guy at the beginning of the show. Blew my mind.

  • rampagetv
    rampagetv 13 days ago

    Oh man I didn't even realize Ricky was no longer with us. Rest in peace my man.

  • Hunter Webster
    Hunter Webster 13 days ago

    I remember going to see a magic show and the magician asked for audience participants for a dissapearing trick. I held on to my mom so she wouldn't disappear. I think I was around 5(?).

  • futurestoryteller
    futurestoryteller 14 days ago +1

    It is _so disappointing_ to me that this was not solely about how "Now You See Me" is the dumbest movie ever.

    • FloraWest
      FloraWest 11 days ago

      @shoesncheese Ha! Or perhaps, that there was a sequel at all.

    • shoesncheese
      shoesncheese 11 days ago

      The dumbest thing is that the sequel wasn't called "Now You Don't".

    • FloraWest
      FloraWest 12 days ago

      I just watched it recently and I'm usually a person who cuts heist movies some slack but oh my was it not good. Way too many plot points were too obvious, magicians are just magicians and the reveal at the end--sometimes my eyes do not roll far enough back in my head.

  • manic mechanic
    manic mechanic 14 days ago

    It was never about the cards.

  • UNKNOWN UNKNOWN
    UNKNOWN UNKNOWN 14 days ago

    Where is the other half ?

  • Chris Willis
    Chris Willis 14 days ago

    I think he just described how Donald Trump Instant Stooges things.

  • MissBunny850
    MissBunny850 14 days ago

    I find it funny that he is trying to let you in on the tricks but at the same time he built his career on teller telling him the people want to be fooled!!!

  • Let the James Begin
    Let the James Begin 14 days ago +9

    Magician: "Would you like to pick a card?"
    Partygoer: "Sure!" (takes a card and disappears back into crowd)

  • MystiCalBEING89
    MystiCalBEING89 14 days ago

    why isn't teller doing this aswel?

  • William Blackburn
    William Blackburn 15 days ago

    He’s got to watch Burt Wonderstone, the trick can’t be rehearsed because part of the plot is that she got randomly pulled off the stage crew...

  • Nut Anon
    Nut Anon 15 days ago

    If you too only clicked for GOB 8:17

  • Theaddekalk
    Theaddekalk 15 days ago

    actually thats probably chris pratts hands doing the cardistry,he have showed on different videos he can do simple cardtricks and shuffles, so it could easily been him

  • Matt Riddell
    Matt Riddell 15 days ago +1

    How does no one address the drape of that jacket before filming?

  • Andrew T
    Andrew T 16 days ago

    Are we live?!?

  • Mohammad Zafar
    Mohammad Zafar 16 days ago +6

    Who else noticed Penn's fresh LeBrons?

  • Shalz
    Shalz 16 days ago +2

    *Has two guns pointed at him*
    Penn: Now he's performing under a lot of pressure! .... *proceeds to talk about performing on SNL*

  • Prod. SlapHappy
    Prod. SlapHappy 17 days ago +1

    0:54 I never thought in a million years I would hear Penn laugh like that

  • Heilsing Gaming
    Heilsing Gaming 17 days ago

    I wonder if he knew that the panic in the first clip was real. The film set went well but still not according to plan

  • Sin Dirección
    Sin Dirección 17 days ago

    I love he liked the Ant-Man trick :3

  • Dan Bridge
    Dan Bridge 18 days ago +1

    Isla Fisher nearly died filming the water escape. When you see the chain get stuck in the grate on the floor of the tank, that wasn't just thrown in for a bit of drama, the chain really got stuck and she really did nearly drown.

  • Alexander Supertramp
    Alexander Supertramp 18 days ago +2

    We really need a part 2-100 of this, and include Teller.

  • Lydia Salem
    Lydia Salem 18 days ago +23

    i was "instant stooged" at disney once. i still have no idea what the trick actually was as i didnt see it, but he just quickly whispered to me "stand here, stay still, the panel will open in front of you" so i stood there, my head in a dark box, while he talked to the audience and opened i guess other panels, then a few mins pass and a paneled opened where everyone could see my face. he took it off said thank you and tht was that. did he make my head disappear? did he "change" it into something? i will never know lmao.

  • Emrah Ekinci
    Emrah Ekinci 18 days ago

    11:22 Hopefully a deck of cards :D

  • Emrah Ekinci
    Emrah Ekinci 18 days ago

    3:00 but if you watch the movie till the end ... then you realize how that one stupid little trick and others like that are so important ...

  • Isaac Woolley
    Isaac Woolley 18 days ago +1

    Penn Jillette is starting to look like teddy roosevelt

  • RCJH2019
    RCJH2019 19 days ago +5

    8:45 Copperfield does this. My roommate and her sister went on stage in Vegas as volinteers. At one point he popped out of a trap door with two Autograph pictures and said "Can i count on you to keep the magic alive?" Boo.

    • Pat Flanagan
      Pat Flanagan 17 days ago

      My brother got brought up on stage for the "flying in a giant box" trick. He was pegged for the bit by a scout before the show, as we could see Copperfield counting the rows as he walked towards us, passed us, then came back to grab my brother. He was a bigger guy and was pulled up for a gag with the names, as the other person was a plant that introduced herself as "Maryanne." Copperfield says "Let me guess, you're Gilligan..." pause a beat, then "or more like Skipper." He has them check out the top of the box for any holes or gaps and tells them to push on it, hit it, whatever. Stagehand just off stage whispers to my brother "kick it" so he kicks it right in time for Copperfield to say "but don't kick it." No autographed pictures for him though. He did tell us that when Copperfield showed a video on the history of flying, they switched out the lid they checked out with a different one with holes.

  • JustRay
    JustRay 19 days ago

    For next upcoming magic review , please review Deception (2018 tv show , which is underrated), Now You See Me.

  • digital subliminal messages

    S T O P. R A P E I N G. B A B I E S
    Comm, what is this movie/// the effect made it exciting/ but that the point/// ahhh ,it's forced perspective/they did// I bet /// / now the perception is in part / on your take on the world/ your personal moral compass /// but I'll explain later// //

  • The 25th Baam
    The 25th Baam 20 days ago

    Wow he spent the entirety of the video talking about how superior he is to all of those fictional magic tricks.
    Also the point of The Prestige "teleport" is exactly the fact that everyone knows what's the trick

  • Wiseytt
    Wiseytt 21 day ago +5

    I have a feeling VF didn’t expect Penn to just say “movie magic isn’t real”

  • theblackgeno 18
    theblackgeno 18 22 days ago +3

    Penn was wrong about one thing chris pratt actually learned how to do card tricks

    • Rick Reason
      Rick Reason 18 days ago

      Exactly, poor guy didn't get his credit. He's some some decent sleight of hand tricks on a few talk shows before.

  • GOW vMatchstick
    GOW vMatchstick 22 days ago

    I LOVE YOU DOG

  • MoBro
    MoBro 25 days ago

    0:55

  • KingJKickz Haley
    KingJKickz Haley 25 days ago

    Ok I see you with the LeBrons on

  • caramelcarton
    caramelcarton 26 days ago

    3:30 penn is whipped for paul rudd

  • Red Hood
    Red Hood 27 days ago

    oh yikes im just realizing how clearly u can see the hairline of the actress under her wig in that first shot of the incredible burt wonderstone

  • BlackSH0veldeath
    BlackSH0veldeath 28 days ago

    With the swords thru a box trick the only thing I don't get, is when I saw a show at the fox he put a girl in a very similar box only not a high school locker. Just a smooth silver box and he called on me and 3 others to examine the box and we could even rub our hands against the sides, and I felt no trap holes or any marks or anything. I'm sure there is something simple to explain. But I couldn't figur it out.

  • Michael John
    Michael John Month ago +1

    Penn & Teller on SNL
    thexvid.com/video/D87DSLe4Eqw/video.html