Apple Watch Series 5 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 18, 2019
  • Go to brilliant.org/vector and get 20% off their annual Premium subscription!
    Apple Watch Series 5 takes the world’s best health and fitness tracker and motivator, connected communications and emergency contact band, and wearable computer platform, and brings it all back full circle - into just what might be the world’s best watch.

    LINKS:
    Written review: www.imore.com/apple-watch-series-5-review
    BUY:
    Buy iPhone 11 Pro from Apple: www.imore.com/e?link=https%3A%2F%2Fapple.sjv.io%2Fc%2F159229%2F554233%2F7613%3FsubId1%3DUUimUdUnU57416YYwYwnfww64tffzrw63i%26subId2%3Ddim%26u%3Dhttps%253A%252F%252Fwww.apple.com%252Fshop%252Fbuy-watch%252Fapple-watch&token=hLX5HHdu
    MORE:
    Merch: standard.tv/vector
    Gear: kit.com/reneritchie
    Web: www.imore.com/vector
    Podcast: applepodcasts.com/vector
    Twitter: reneritchie
    Instagram: reneritchie
    This post may contain affiliate links. See Mobile Nations' disclosure policy for more details: www.mobilenations.com/external-links
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 789

  • Playur
    Playur Day ago

    I use a series 3

  • Jordan Rosser
    Jordan Rosser 2 days ago +2

    I've never had an Apple Watch before, but once I saw that the series 3 had dropped to $199, I picked one up a few weeks ago for my birthday. While I cannot attest to the capabilities of the series 5, I must admit that this series 3 watch is actually a game changer for me. I love having the ability to see my notifications without looking at or getting out my iPhone, I love that I can glance at GPS directions or switch songs while driving, I love that I can stay connected to my family/friend group chats while out on a run, and I love all of the fitness applications/data that these watches have. I used to doubt the utility of these devices, and their high price points did nothing to dissuade me from those doubts. That said, I now firmly believe that these devices are a wonderful addition to anyone's everyday life, and I highly recommend the Apple Watch, the Series 3 especially.
    Quick side note though: The GPS only model does everything I listed above and more, once it's synced up to your iPhone. If you're syncing your watch to your phone, there is essentially no reason to purchase a cellular model.

  • NANANA
    NANANA 4 days ago

    See one of those videos, you have seen them all.

  • Quantum Guardian
    Quantum Guardian 5 days ago

    16:19 Ahh! I see what you did there!

  • Brendan Hoffmann
    Brendan Hoffmann 7 days ago

    I'm still rocking my old 'Pebble time'. I was trying to customise it the other day and I got frustrated with just how limited it has become since they shut down the pebble servers and have been having to use a 3rd party server. So yesterday I ordered my first apple watch. A S5. Looking forward to having a serious smart watch. Though I will miss the 10 day battery life of the pebble.

  • checkpoint209
    checkpoint209 8 days ago

    funny apple hasn’t implemented always on display for an iphone but they put it on a watch while samsung galaxy had it for years on there phones

  • James Garland
    James Garland 8 days ago

    The biggest thing I want to see is an iPhone free Apple Watch. They're putting so much effort into health and fitness that it has surpassed any one specific device/platform. If they could make the watch a standalone or universal platform, and still have it perform just as flawless, there would be no competition. Apple would own the wearable space completely.

  • Jose Figueredo
    Jose Figueredo 8 days ago

    Thanks Rene, patiently waiting for my third Apple Watch, upgrading from a Series 3 with LTE to a Series 5 Space Gray Aluminum, nice review!

  • Barbary Lion
    Barbary Lion 8 days ago

    I want to try the ape watch series 5 but there is no wauw factore. I dont have a smart watch if i get one it wil be this one.
    One question to Rene Ritchie how long lasting is the series 5 stand-by time. Stand alone no wifi, no gps , no bleutooth.

  • Aayush Gupta
    Aayush Gupta 9 days ago

    How is the battery life of series 5 compared to series 4?

  • Tony Geddes
    Tony Geddes 9 days ago

    Nice review. Just bought my wife a Series 5 for her birthday. I recently upgraded my iPhone to the 11 Pro Max so I may get one too. I’ll see how much I like hers beforehand. Great call from Apple, selling the 3 at 199. I think they’ll fly off the shelves.

  • garybalatennis
    garybalatennis 13 days ago

    Turning off the always-on display. 2 more reasons I might want to turn it off. Stylistic: I think the cold black display looks cool, gives it a space-age appearance, and gives it that distinctive fashionable “Apple” stylish look, much like the AirPods. Safety: If you’re concerned about the safety of the neighborhood your entering, the cold black display “hides” the watchface - making it look less like a “watch”, and almost making it look like a plain wristband or cheap old style LED Casio watch. But thanks mucho for all the nice information on the video!

  • Lisa Lovely LPA
    Lisa Lovely LPA 15 days ago

    Yeah, I need to spend five hundred dollars so I can answer robot calls all day on my wrist.

  • 7duke77
    7duke77 15 days ago +1

    1 + 1 = Cheese Danish??! I've been doing math ALL wrong!!!

  • Jared White
    Jared White 16 days ago

    Need activity buddies:
    JaredEverettWhite@gmail.com

  • wics14
    wics14 16 days ago

    Apple Watch Series 5 (GPS, 40mm) - Space Gray Aluminum Case with Black Sport Band amzn.to/31QHJKg

  • Dovah Bear
    Dovah Bear 16 days ago

    Series 3 for 200 bucks vs a gen 5 fossil that doesn't work near as good for 300... Well played Apple.

  • Jessie Norton
    Jessie Norton 17 days ago

    This was the most informative video I’ve found. Super excited for mine to arrive on Monday- Thanks for the awesome video!

  • Andres Villagomez
    Andres Villagomez 17 days ago

    Do you have wake screen on wrist raise on or off. I have it off since the display is always on and I want to decide when to turn on the watch. Do you have it on or off??

  • Roxanne Mead
    Roxanne Mead 17 days ago

    It's worth money best technology and style

  • Jideofor Obiukwu
    Jideofor Obiukwu 18 days ago

    I really wonder why "always on display" is a big deal?🤷🏾‍♂️ gear S3 has had that feature for over 3 years now so I just don't get the excitement 🤷🏾‍♂️

  • Robert Peters
    Robert Peters 18 days ago

    Great job Rene! I love the way you explain things. Really enjoy you on MBW and iMore.

  • Piyush Shobhane
    Piyush Shobhane 18 days ago +1

    Every person will wear smart watch of this specification after five years from this point of time.....

  • John Himmelberger
    John Himmelberger 19 days ago

    Creepy

  • Janet J.
    Janet J. 19 days ago

    Showy-offy 😆

  • Janet J.
    Janet J. 19 days ago +1

    I finally bit! Got the Series 5 - my first Apple Watch.

    • Janet J.
      Janet J. 16 days ago

      joe c hat is awesome!! I am enjoying the Watch and it made me take the stairs at work, I must close all of my circles every day!

    • joe c
      joe c 16 days ago +1

      Janet J. Me too it just came in the mail. So excited!!

  • SkyeDaMan
    SkyeDaMan 20 days ago

    3:05 *LTPO

  • Ron Clark
    Ron Clark 22 days ago

    .....a week of battery life? that would be something close to miraculous. However, one should be able to take off on the weekend (Thursday or Friday) without having to pack-drag around a charger, and still be able to tell time on Monday.....without having to pick up your phone or looking on the walls for a clock indoors. God forbid! having to motion to someone......Time?

  • Leslie Curtis
    Leslie Curtis 22 days ago

    Love my Apple Watch series 5 aluminum traded in my series 4 to get it and got a great deal $250 turn in value

  • Mrponcho
    Mrponcho 22 days ago

    I have a series 1 and I’m upgrading

  • Cyrus Nada
    Cyrus Nada 22 days ago

    Never had an Apple Watch not until yesterday and I am so enjoying it!

  • Danny G
    Danny G 22 days ago

    My Apple Watch 5 has really bad battery drain issue going to Apple tomorrow to see why

  • Your Mishra Sir YMS
    Your Mishra Sir YMS 23 days ago

    Hello! Rene sir.. I watch each one of your videos as they pack plenty of info..and much more.. N I do trust Rene Ritchie!!!.

  • Jeffry R
    Jeffry R 23 days ago

    Apple Watch 3 review please. Should anybody go for it in the midst of S5 era?

    • Promise •
      Promise • 20 days ago

      People are just going to get it because its cheap, imo just get the s5 its worth it with all the new features and technicalities

  • James Wilkinson
    James Wilkinson 25 days ago

    I’m getting pretty tired of how Apple just thinks it can add the tiniest of changes to their products and then expect us all to go running to the store to upgrade. Nah, sorry Apple you need to offer us a considerable amount more than this, especially given the insanely high price tag of these things!

    • James Wilkinson
      James Wilkinson 25 days ago

      Yup, I’m struggling to see the difference between many incarnations of watches, phones and tablets. More importantly though is their software, it gets more and more bells and whistles (many of which are utterly pointless) but with it, LOADS more bugs! Jobs would be crying. Apple are not the company they used to be, and not in a good way. I know, my first Mac was a IIci.

    • Rene Ritchie
      Rene Ritchie  25 days ago

      They don’t. They expect people to upgrade every 2-4 years, depending on their needs. For Watch, most people still don’t have one, never mind upgrading.

  • teammm
    teammm 25 days ago +2

    This is my first Apple Watch and this is probably going to be perfection for me! It's coming tomorrow!

  • legitmontrellthigpen
    legitmontrellthigpen 25 days ago

    Wait the Apple Watch gets 18hrs of battery life?

    • Willi Kampmann
      Willi Kampmann 20 days ago

      legitmontrellthigpen I understand that advantage, that’s why I also like the Withings watches which run for months. It’s a matter of priorities of what you want in a watch. 🙂

    • legitmontrellthigpen
      legitmontrellthigpen 20 days ago

      @Willi Kampmann I understand. Guess everyone is different. I like not having to think about charging my watch (since regular watches never need to charge) but if it's dying I just charge it on my phone for 10mins and that's another day of battery life

    • Willi Kampmann
      Willi Kampmann 20 days ago

      legitmontrellthigpen the 48/24hrs I mentioned for the Active 2 was from battery tests in actual reviews. Sure it’s a bit longer overall (though this might flip with the always-on display) but Samsung made other trade-off. But again, the AW is rated at 18hrs and meant for nightly charging but in practice it lasts far longer than that. Depending on use, you can push it to two days. But yes, it’s designed for nightly charging and I think that’s not a bad concept. Had a Pebble once that had a 6-day battery life and that was far more difficult to fit into a schedule.

    • legitmontrellthigpen
      legitmontrellthigpen 21 day ago

      @Willi Kampmann most of the people I know with the Galaxy active 1 are getting 2.5 days. With the increased battery size for the 2 I hope they push a solid 3days on the active. Obviously apple maked amazing smartwatches. But for the rest of us who want better options it would be nice if apple won't let Samsung bring real Galaxy watch support to the iPhone or if they brought real apple watch support to android.

    • Willi Kampmann
      Willi Kampmann 21 day ago

      legitmontrellthigpen in my experience, the Apple Watch S4 runs for between 24 and 42 hours on a single charge depending on use (with a median of about 30hrs). The Gear S3 has a longer battery life but is also substantially bigger and heavier. The Galaxy Active 2, in contrast, is much smaller than the Gear S3 and comes in at about 48hrs, or 24hrs with always-on display. The Fitbit Versa has a battery life of about 4 days but is much more simplistic. The AW has the most advanced SoC in terms of performance per watts but otherwise, it’s all a matter of priorities. Apple thinks a smaller, lighter and faster watch with nightly charging is more desirable than the alternatives, and I at least wholeheartedly agree. Samsung seems to finally agree, too, if the Active 2 is any indication.

  • AmbitiousJapan
    AmbitiousJapan 25 days ago

    Just ordered the series 5. My first time buying an Apple Watch, not sure if i like it since I'm used to analog watch

  • Bernard Richardson
    Bernard Richardson 25 days ago +1

    Montreal Canada Represent :) Love this channel

  • Locate Close with and Destroy

    Aesthetically, watch 5 looks exactly like watch 4. And we all know it takes a simple update to enable watch 4 to have an all time running watch face but instead, reserve it for watch 5 to give people a reason to buy it. After enough people have bought watch five, they will probably roll out an update for Watch 4 with always on watch face option.

  • carlos moya
    carlos moya 26 days ago

    When does the Nike Apple Watch come out

  • oldkid6
    oldkid6 26 days ago

    great review, best I have seen on the YT, thanks!

  • barking madman
    barking madman 26 days ago

    I hope the end game for Apple Watch is to completely and utterly replace my phone. Not as an add on to my cell plan, where my phone is the boss and Watch costs $10 extra, but as the ONLY device I have on my cell plan. Imagine no phone lump in my pocket. Just a comfortable watch to keep me in communication.

  • Mr Tech Gamer
    Mr Tech Gamer 26 days ago

    less face more watch please

  • Kronos
    Kronos 26 days ago

    There is a watch with always on with a weeks worth of battery life and AMOLED display. It's called the Garmin Venu. It also has a round screen and looks like a watch.

  • Damone Gipson
    Damone Gipson 26 days ago

    I will get the series 5

  • Eastman Webb
    Eastman Webb 26 days ago +2

    A note about the always-on display: it only works while it’s on your wrist, not while sitting on a table.

  • anders pettersson
    anders pettersson 26 days ago

    My survival watch work everywhere

  • anders pettersson
    anders pettersson 26 days ago

    Apple Watch work only in the country you bought it.

  • Keeping it real 56
    Keeping it real 56 27 days ago

    Always on is dumb. Just turn your wrist!!! Series 4 sucks and Apple devalued it credit wise, especially stainless steel so I’ll stick with the garbage on my wrist until I want to run it over with my car

  • EdTimTV Live
    EdTimTV Live 27 days ago

    Got one. My birthday. Amazing watch. Love it.

  • Kevin Kaplan
    Kevin Kaplan 27 days ago

    I need 3+ days of battery, not always on display or afib detection... plz

  • Real Ramirez
    Real Ramirez 27 days ago

    Battery life is terrible sad to say. My series 3 held a better battery life.

  • J M
    J M 27 days ago

    Would totally upgrade my series 4 for the 5. But the main reason I want AOD is the second hand. Since that disappears with AOD it’s still useless and might as well be off. Hopefully series 6 corrects this mishap as I think anyone in medical, or even consumer just measuring the most important piece of time keeping seconds would want. We know what hour it is we can see minutes at a glance now. But seconds is more important than minutes. To me S5 is still meh

  • JK Grooms
    JK Grooms 27 days ago

    Great review!!!

  • zebonaut smith
    zebonaut smith 27 days ago +2

    Ordered one. Should wait a year; for blood pressure monitoring; but who the hell can wait an entire year. 😊

  • liam plqys
    liam plqys 27 days ago

    if you are going to turn off always on, might as well just buy the series 4 for cheaper, it has the same cpu as the series 5 so it’s not any slower. You get everything except always on.

  • ckwilli
    ckwilli 28 days ago +1

    I just ordered a series 5 yesterday with money made over the summer. I don’t have an Apple Watch right now so I thought I might as well just purchase the newest one. I’m excited to see how it affects my day to day life.

  • Tyan Weak
    Tyan Weak 28 days ago

    apple watch SERIES 3 in 2019 PLEASE.

  • Jeremy Dean
    Jeremy Dean 28 days ago

    I have been using Apple Watch 5. But I do fine WatchOS6 is a little buggy.