Real Doctor reacts to DOCTOR STRANGE | Hospital Movie Scenes Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 8, 2019
  • As a huge geek I thought it time I break down the medical scenes from the Marvel movie Doctor Strange from a real doctor's perspective! I'll explain how accurate it is, a bit more about what's happening on screen and share some of my experiences too!
    I try and bring something different to each video, so if you enjoyed this please check out my other reviews of Medical TV dramas; House MD, Scrubs, The Good Doctor, Grey’s Anatomy, The Resident and ER!
    Here is my latest review of the TV show House that you may enjoy:
    thexvid.com/video/DjBQddVExh0/video.html
    You can connect with me via the following:
    Instagram: instagram.com/drhopesicknotes
    Twitter: twitter.com/drhopesicknotes
    FB: facebook.com/drhopesicknotes
    Clips used under fair use (education and review):
    THANK YOU FOR NOT COPY STRIKING THIS VIDEO SO I CAN CONTINUE TO USE THESE GREAT SHOWS FOR EDUCATION AND REVIEW.
    DOCTOR STRANGE Clips © 2016 - Marvel
    Surgical scrub video:
    thexvid.com/video/MpwMnjQR41Y/video.html
    Thank you to all the artists that make their music available for these videos:
    Song 'Escapists' by The AutoDisko
    Song ‘Finding Me’ by Eveningland
    Music: Cubic Z - Diamond Ortiz
    Support by RFM - NCM: thexvid.com/video/DOSNT7VA2XA/video.html
    #doctorreacts #doctorwatches #doctorstrange
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 12 102

  • Dr Hope's Sick Notes
    Dr Hope's Sick Notes  5 months ago +6181

    So here is my first medical movie reaction! There are some cracking medical scenes in Doctor Strange, and a had loads of requests to give them a look, I do get a bit nerdy explaining things, but hey! that's what I'm here for. Timestamps:
    00:43: Intro scene with Doctor Strange in theatre
    03:06: First case of bullet in brainstem
    08:07: Medical cases talked about in car scene
    10:54: Doctor Strange rehab
    12:20: Doctor Strange cardiac arrest in theatre after being stabbed
    18:47: Ancient One in theatre after head injury

    • Melody Winnie
      Melody Winnie 3 days ago

      This is pretty strange .....

      I understand nothing

      That's why I don't pass science class ....

    • Alan Fike
      Alan Fike 4 days ago

      Do the original movie depiction of M*A*S*H! It's been a while since I've seen it, but I remember some doctor humor among their shenanigans.

    • ShiYan Lu
      ShiYan Lu 6 days ago

      Dr Hope's Sick Notes he probably woke up without being unconscious cuz he is a magician

    • uhavemooface
      uhavemooface 9 days ago

      You calling it a Theater is so confusing.

    • Jonathan All the best
      Jonathan All the best 13 days ago

      I want to ask you is it hard to study medical terms and are there an easy to do so ??

  • Hydrulhu
    Hydrulhu 6 hours ago

    came cus i was bored,
    left with a medical degree

  • Maksim Eckhart
    Maksim Eckhart 6 hours ago

    I hate this the guy talks WAY TO MUCH HES SO ANNOYING

  • legencosmic
    legencosmic 9 hours ago +1

    I guess you can say, he does surgery in a STRANGE way. Hah, get it?



    I’ll leave now...

  • Claire P
    Claire P 11 hours ago

    This guy looks like Dr Strange

  • Master_OP_OG YourLordAndSavior

    Doctor Hope so we’re using our made up names I’m Spider-Man

  • KODIARASU MANIVASAGAM

    I love the way you explain medical stuffs to non medical people...Good work

  • Buzz Buzz•
    Buzz Buzz• Day ago

    Is this like some
    Dr mike knock off or something?

  • Beatri diaz
    Beatri diaz Day ago

    You fuckin talk to much

  • Patrick Burwell
    Patrick Burwell Day ago +1

    Are you sure you're a doctor because you made the stupid comment that the tailbone is actually the remnants of a tail when you know very well that it's used for evacuating your bowels.

  • PrixtronT
    PrixtronT Day ago

    I dont see G (-et help) anywhere between A and E... ^^

  • KIRO CLAN
    KIRO CLAN 2 days ago

    The spine breaking is a iron man reference because hammer industries tried and failed to make a iron man suit hence broken spine

  • time out kids
    time out kids 2 days ago

    i absolutely love this channel

  • ItzYaBoyMark _____
    ItzYaBoyMark _____ 2 days ago

    At 8:19 he is talking about some sort of accident where a man cracks his back in experimental armour and in Iron Man 2 it shows a video from Hammer Tech where a guy gets his spine cracked in Hammer Iron Man armour and them Justin Hammer says that that pilot lived! That may be the pilot form Iron Man 2. I only just now understood that reference

  • Jonah Kalter
    Jonah Kalter 2 days ago

    you're not gonna break down the magic?

  • David Ambrozi
    David Ambrozi 2 days ago +1

    Me before watching:1 IQ

    After watching:*IQ 100*

  • JJ
    JJ 2 days ago

    wow who knew I would learn more things from a 22-minute youtube react video on a movie than 2 months of school

  • Exgecko
    Exgecko 2 days ago

    Now thats some insight right there haha

  • Friquido
    Friquido 2 days ago

    Seriosly I ain't even a doctor or anything but how retarded do you have to be to not know all those medical terms? As this guy stated here, they can be broken down simply, it doesn't require 7 years of medical school but a good functioning brain. Insane how retarded people are.. but what can you expect, I mean most of americans think that europe is a country lol fucking idiots

  • M C
    M C 2 days ago

    nothing... NOT A THING ABOUT HER HAIR BEING OUT OF HER SCRUB CAP IN THE OPERATING ROOM?! this detail drove me so crazy during the movie.

  • Marquita
    Marquita 3 days ago

    This was pretty awesome. It's nice to see an informative react video. ❤

  • Melody Winnie
    Melody Winnie 3 days ago

    The only question I have how does Strange perform an operations in just like 5 minutes ...

  • John Rom
    John Rom 3 days ago

    Omg dr.strange react to dr.strange

  • Ricardo Rocha
    Ricardo Rocha 3 days ago

    Nice channel... But your accent is terrible!

  • Potato Chip Gaming
    Potato Chip Gaming 3 days ago

    Are you sure your name isn't Stephen Strange?

  • Tomi Krcsmarik
    Tomi Krcsmarik 3 days ago

    You like a bit like benedict cumberbach

  • Yay Lee
    Yay Lee 4 days ago

    Now i realy want to rewatch doctor stange even if i scisters (musles spasimes) cant watch it that much .but i take meds know. Realy cool how you took the time to tell others the medical part to the movie i unstood some of this stuff,but you realy lighting my mind ☺thank so much.

  • Jers R
    Jers R 4 days ago

    when you want to watch ytube but your mom tells you to watch something educational

  • Alan Fike
    Alan Fike 4 days ago

    Incredibly informative!

  • TheGamingNova
    TheGamingNova 5 days ago

    Anyone else here never heard the abbreviation for gunshot wound

  • Bros at The Round Table

    Real grape reacts to Thanos

  • John Martinez
    John Martinez 5 days ago

    This is awesome! I was kinda skeptical about the whole video, but this was amazing!

  • Jae B
    Jae B 5 days ago

    you're so smart and charming I'm absolutely subbing yeet

  • Jae B
    Jae B 5 days ago +4

    I love the consistent "this isn't very realistic, _but_ he's Doctor Strange, so...."

  • Amit Kala
    Amit Kala 5 days ago

    That one was really helpful & informative. Thnx doc.

  • Isaiah Simmons
    Isaiah Simmons 6 days ago

    He looks like doctor strange and the good doctor combined

  • CeeJay1282
    CeeJay1282 6 days ago

    Why did I not realize this whole time that at 8:14 they were talking about Col Rhodes in Civil War...

  • Umair Usman
    Umair Usman 6 days ago

    Dr strange used the time stone to become younger and is now trolling us

  • Darren Payne
    Darren Payne 6 days ago

    Dude this is awesome man! Thanks! Very interesting and informative!!

  • Amanda King
    Amanda King 6 days ago

    What about the scene with the bullet patient? At first they aren't wearing any masks, then after a few seconds when Strange is going in manually to remove the bullet suddenly they have masks on. I thought that was a big no-no to not have masks on for the first part of that scene. As for the first scene you see Dr. Strange scrubbing up and putting the mask on LAST, I agree with you, but I guess the editors wanted to "introduce us" to the character.
    You ever saw "Hook"? The scene when you first see Captain Hook, the crew is chanting his name, and when the captain steps out onto the ship, it's focused on his hand/hook waving in tune like he's conducting an orchestra, and as the camera pans up during the turn while the captain walks past we now see his back and when he speaks his line he slowly turns around, "How I despise them..." and THEN you finally see his face. I guess for Doctor Strange they showed the hands washing and putting scrubs on first and wanted to save the face being masked for last just to make it look better. Imagine that part backwards for a moment: He puts the mask on first (you see his face, briefly), then you see the hands being washed and then the rest going on him and he holds up his hands and he's ready for the operation. Doesn't QUITE feel the same, medically accurate yes but from the story telling point of view you have to see the face last. It's weird I know... or maybe I should say it's strange I know, but that's the movies for you.
    BTW, I once designed a t-shirt for Clinical Lab Tech students in college (I was in graphic design) and when they printed their shirts I was given one for free. On the back it has medical terms and their definitions. I didn't come up with this, they did, I just arranged it on the shirt and made the file for printing. Anyway, when you said something about how do you remember medical terms? I thought you'd get a kick out of this, this is what's on the back of the shirt:
    1: Anti-Body - against everyone
    2: Bacteria - back door to the cafeteria
    3: Genes - blue denim slacks
    4: Nitrate - cheaper than the day rate
    5: Pathological - a reasonable way to go
    6: Protein - in favor of young people (pro-teen)
    7: Red Blood Count - Dracula
    8: Secretion - hiding something
    9: Varicose - nearby (very close)
    10: Urine - opposite of "Your out"
    And who said this would be hard?

  • Neighborhood High Voltage Box

    Real Captain reacts to Captain America
    Captain: ok.....so....Where's the boat??

  • Neighborhood High Voltage Box

    Up next: Real spider reacts to the Spiderman trilogy and Homecoming

  • SHEEP GAMER T
    SHEEP GAMER T 7 days ago

    Subscribe pewdiepie
    Unsubscribe. Tseries
    Hotel. Trivago

  • JayLeo
    JayLeo 7 days ago

    Like the Colonel Rhodes/War Machine reference

  • Scott Lowell
    Scott Lowell 7 days ago

    The crushed vertebra is a reference to the injuries sustained by Colonel Rhoads (war machine) in Capt. America/Civil war.

  • randomstuff101rmd
    randomstuff101rmd 7 days ago

    Can’t believe I missed the fact that the first patient mentioned on the phone was Rhodes after Civil War

  • Spyflugan123
    Spyflugan123 7 days ago

    Speaking of nitpicking, "-otomy" does not mean make a hole, it's just "-tomy". The o is just an infix to connect the two words ;)

  • Jason Pie
    Jason Pie 8 days ago

    6:02 "wizards" the preferred term is master of the mystic arts

  • Kids Jones
    Kids Jones 8 days ago

    00:01(hi my name is get with the video!!)

  • FunnyCatVideos2118
    FunnyCatVideos2118 8 days ago

    that handwashing explanation blew my mind

  • Its JGod
    Its JGod 8 days ago

    Do a video of the Deadpool movie

  • Brendan Foran
    Brendan Foran 9 days ago

    real youtuber reacts to youtube videos is essentially what this video is

  • Its JGod
    Its JGod 9 days ago

    A 5 minute part of the movie turned into a 22 minute video

  • Jcknight7996
    Jcknight7996 9 days ago

    4:37 *Domie bits, most scientific*

  • Galane Rose
    Galane Rose 9 days ago

    This was amazing! I learned something from this video. Thank you😊

  • Battle Beast
    Battle Beast 9 days ago

    Hi can you explain what happend to miguel in cobra Kai season 2 finale

  • Henry Hong
    Henry Hong 9 days ago

    U actually look like doctor strange

  • I DON'T HAVE A NAME
    I DON'T HAVE A NAME 10 days ago

    Real Iron reacts to Iron Man

  • Peter jr
    Peter jr 10 days ago

    I whould really consider reacting to the show Good Doctor.

  • Mutombo Says
    Mutombo Says 10 days ago

    *Cumberbatch Benedict reacts to Benedict Cumberbatch*

  • Roel Taga
    Roel Taga 10 days ago

    You know you look like Doctor Strange, right?

  • barmyb
    barmyb 11 days ago

    Doctor Strange Fan and NHS worker here. You just earned yourself a new subscriber 😁

  • B
    B 11 days ago

    Real Elon Musk reacts to iron man

  • Eric Sawtelle
    Eric Sawtelle 11 days ago

    8:15 are they talking about war machine

  • Death Llamaa
    Death Llamaa 11 days ago

    This guy looks like dr strange himself lmao

  • Amalgathor Deibos Neman Menace

    Personally, I'd be listening to death metal the whole procedure. Is that good practice? Or would it just make it seem like Saw and freak everyone out?

  • Rikus Engelbrecht
    Rikus Engelbrecht 11 days ago

    What I find interesting about doctor's, especially surgeons is their calm and chilled way of explaining extremely complicated terms and make it sound sooo easy. But just try and re explain it to someone and you can't even remember what the term is called.

  • Han  Nguyen
    Han Nguyen 11 days ago

    13:23 - 13:50.
    No one:
    Me: The more you know~~

  • Doctor Stephen Strange
    Doctor Stephen Strange 11 days ago +1

    How come you didnt put "Dormmamu ive come to bargain"

  • Mit suki
    Mit suki 11 days ago

    Someone speak english? - Cap -

  • Ki Muhammad Naufal Fawwaz

    Dr. Hope = Real Doctor Strange in our reality earth 101

  • Stella Threadgold
    Stella Threadgold 12 days ago

    1:45
    It's tricky? Boi ive been doing that since I had to protect my wrists from the snow in 1st grade.

  • L FBR
    L FBR 12 days ago

    I've found my new favorite TheXvid channel

  • The Entire State of Missouri

    In 2007 my grandmother passed of a cardiac arrest because they tried to use the defibrillator, so I really appreciate the speaking.

  • Sasha Blouse
    Sasha Blouse 12 days ago

    Real Strange reacts to Doctor Strange

  • Etienne Bider
    Etienne Bider 12 days ago

    5:07 I'd like to point out to people that are interested in understanding medical terms that "otomy" isn't a word. Rather "-tomy" comes from a greek word that means to cut. The "o" in front of that is just here to make the connection with "cran-".
    Thanks for your explanations though, definitely was interesting to see how medicine is depicted on screen :)

  • Vignesh Raman
    Vignesh Raman 12 days ago +4

    For the record, the airforce colonel mentioned at 8:18 is War Machine 👍😄

  • Shahad Alkithiri
    Shahad Alkithiri 12 days ago

    WOW you are amazing 😅👏🏻😭

  • reaper gundran
    reaper gundran 12 days ago

    Sir im sorry but its marvel movie and we love how the movie made

  • reaper gundran
    reaper gundran 12 days ago

    Its just a movie

  • bmwilso brayden
    bmwilso brayden 12 days ago

    i remember when i fell of a a diving board i nearly broke my spine but luckily i’m a kid and my bones aren’t strong enough yet

  • Edwin josue Juarez Utrilla

    Doctor vic eres tú?

  • Nice Gangster
    Nice Gangster 13 days ago

    Your talkn about cardiac arrest made me uncomfortable as if Ohh my heart, Ohh I don't feel good😓..No
    I'm all okkk..! Cool🙄

  • Ian Lee
    Ian Lee 13 days ago

    Why are the three Palmer's I know all doctors (or at least referred to as)? There is Doctor Ray Palmer, aka. The Atom, whom is not a medical doctor, but is referred to as due to his PhD in physics and physical engineering (technical/mechanical engineering by CW). There is Doctor Jimmy Palmer from NCIS who is a pathologist in training. Then there is Doctor Christine Palmer.

  • kaydian lobos
    kaydian lobos 13 days ago

    man. this sucks. you just made me realize im going to die and its the end.

  • qwerty poiuyt
    qwerty poiuyt 13 days ago

    Real spider reacts to spider-man

  • Disney Mom
    Disney Mom 13 days ago

    I only requested a particular song be played just as they'd actually reached my daughter and she was about to be pulled out into the world:
    "Isn't She Lovely" - perfect song for the birth of a baby girl!
    Unfortunately my epidural didn't work and I felt the entire freaking cesarean, from seconds after the first incision (as there was a slight pain response delay) right up until her cord had been clamped and then I was put under. I barely got to see her before the next thing I know I'm waking up in recovery and not even my LDR room. 2½ weeks in the hospital, 2½ years of PT. Freaking waiver. Fortunately my student loans were forgiven, but I certainly can't handle being a doctor now unless I went for pathology and I'm not entirely interested in reading paps all day. 🤨 20½ years later, I spend my days taking care of my father-in-law with Parkinson's Dementia, Stage 7 Alzheimer's and he lost his vision about 16 months ago. Not complaining, he's the only DAD I've had. I love him and I will continue to give him the best care that I'm capable of! Sorry for the long comment!

  • Wilson Sitkiewicz
    Wilson Sitkiewicz 13 days ago

    Really cool video

  • Bey R
    Bey R 13 days ago

    Suddenly I need to see a doctor. U must be the doctor

  • Stephanie Louise
    Stephanie Louise 13 days ago +1

    They’ve gotten the order and filming wrong at the beginning. If you watch, he scrubs and puts his gloves on, then loses his gloves to put his mask on, then he’s putting his gloves on again. Mistake in editing, not his technique. 🤷‍♀️

  • Haikal Jendol
    Haikal Jendol 13 days ago

    Doctor.. pls do it spine surgery..😎

  • not a channel it really is not

    You look like doctor strange 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

  • Apples Bananas
    Apples Bananas 14 days ago +1

    GSW O that’s what it means Gunshot wound I thot that meant Golden State Warriors

  • Call out The Dylan
    Call out The Dylan 14 days ago

    So when will you bargain with Dormammu

  • Random Stuff
    Random Stuff 14 days ago

    As a fellow doc I don't see this man being a doctor because of his natural looks and hatred toward doctard stanger personaly I fell that doctor stagest is the best and worst cook/doctarios. - Aden

  • Tim Vu
    Tim Vu 14 days ago

    Real life Dr Strange reacts to Avenger's Dr Strange.

  • 🤪😜The MORON ADJUSTMENT DIVISION😜🤪

    Yeeeeaaaa.... family member that was incredibly stupid decided to do cocaine, pot, and drink to the pint he was more than twice the legal limit ran his motorcycle into concrete barrier and ended up more than 50 feet from his motorcycle not wearing a helmet at what was gauged at 95mph.
    His head filled with so much blood from the swelling they had to remove half of the top of his skull to avoid brain death from the pressure pushing his brain down and out towards the medulla direction.
    After surviving the initial emergency surgeries to stabilize his bodies other organs from apparent crush syndrome and after a 5 month coma, he’s deaf, and only has 50% of his vision remaining. Crush syndrome ruined his lungs, and he has a life expectancy of 55-60 years old. His jaw atrophied shut. And tendons required lancing due to severe atrophy to return some of his mobility during his decade of physical therapy. That was interesting.
    Don’t drink and drive.
    Wear a helmet.
    And don’t do drugs.
    It’s all on you and nobody else people.

  • Simon Long
    Simon Long 14 days ago

    Anyone else think it was David Platt on the thumbnail?

  • Lauren Cottey
    Lauren Cottey 14 days ago +1

    I don’t even care I’m just gonna say it, the scenes at the start of dr strange aren’t just to introduce the audience into the medical environment they’re also to show how much he respected and relied on his hands as they are soon taken away from him. So yah looking from a medical perspective okay fine but there’s a reason the film industry decided to start by looking at his hands at the beginning of the film. 😉

  • Anbu Black Ops
    Anbu Black Ops 14 days ago

    Phase 4 Doctor Strange
    Doctor Hope Vs Doctor Strange
    This is a movie I want to see for phase 4. Doctor Hope WANTS to be like Doctor Strange and thinks he's the good guy. But he ain't ...