How SSD Technology Keeps Getting WORSE! - Intel 660p Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 12, 2018
  • Visit www.squarespace.com/LTT and use offer code LTT for 10% off
    Pick up PC Building Simulator for only $15 USD TODAY ONLY at www.chrono.gg/ltt
    Get great deals on PC Games at www.chrono.gg/ltt
    Buy Samsung 860 EVO 1TB on Amazon: geni.us/AY94p
    Buy Intel 660p 1TB on Amazon: geni.us/Mdfzw
    Buy Intel 760p 1TB on Amazon: geni.us/xPqbanR
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/994024-ssds-keep-getting-worse/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: thexvid.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High thexvid.com/user/approachingnirvana
    Sound effects provided by www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 3 469

  • Bjoern Schumacher

    i habe a HP 250 G6 2UC38ES and want to upgrade my M.2 from 256GB to 2TB and im torn between the intel 660p and the samsung evo 860. would love to render sometimes videos - should i spend the extra around 80 bucks?

  • Somiran Malakar
    Somiran Malakar 2 days ago

    Stop this bla bla. The visible truth is that SSDs are way better than a SATA drive for 99% users.

    • Number Six
      Number Six 2 days ago

      Your assertion makes no sense. SSD is a solid state storage technology; SATA is a bus interface. The majority of consumer level SSD's sold today are SATA devices.

  • NotOrdinaryInGames
    NotOrdinaryInGames 3 days ago

    Spinning hard drive 4ever.
    Or something.

  • Fewyouknewme be for
    Fewyouknewme be for 6 days ago

    29euros for 128g ... im gettin one

  • Morpheas
    Morpheas 7 days ago

    I'm pretty happy to find out my sweet little 850 EVO still holds strong.

  • Anthony Malin
    Anthony Malin 9 days ago

    What? What? Intel is not known for their aggressive pricing. I am peeing my pants. Hahahahahahahahahahahaha. Linus, you are very entertaining but Canadian should not lie. Intel is the biggest rip off. You really should stop being Intel's whore.

    • Number Six
      Number Six 2 days ago

      +Anthony Malin
      --- Because you've REPEATEDLY established that you have problems with reading comprehension, I strongly recommend that you spend more time doing homework, less time playing computer games.
      --- You'll go far, Anthony! Hmmmgh!

    • Anthony Malin
      Anthony Malin 2 days ago

      +Number Six thanks for clearing that up because no one knows what your saying. Intel fanboy

    • Number Six
      Number Six 2 days ago

      +Anthony Malin
      --- You didn't understand what Linus was saying; I am not surprised that you were oblivious to what I was saying.
      --- Have a good 2019.

    • Anthony Malin
      Anthony Malin 2 days ago

      +Number Six notice the quotation marks. Not my words sir.

    • Number Six
      Number Six 2 days ago

      Anthony Malin
      What you infer from "is not known for their aggressive pricing" diverges from that of the rest of the English speaking world.

  • Bullets Forteeth FULL AUTO

    I'll stick with mechanical drives, thanks.

    • Number Six
      Number Six 2 days ago

      I'll stick with both SSD and spinning rust, thanks.

  • yangtse55
    yangtse55 12 days ago

    What a coincidence:
    I recently learned that Colossus at Bletchley park used 5 levels in its tube logic - which was considered the maximum reliable number of channels. Luckily baudot teleprinter code is 5 bits :)
    This was called BI-Quinary.

  • Latus Linux
    Latus Linux 15 days ago

    This should have been on techquickie

  • William Osterkamp
    William Osterkamp 16 days ago

    Are you german? The way you gestured the number three got my attention.

  • Johan Krüger-Haglert
    Johan Krüger-Haglert 16 days ago

    04:43-04:45 what happened to the sync of audio and video?

  • Kate Phizackerley
    Kate Phizackerley 16 days ago

    Good videos but the sponsor segments push from like to dislike. Horrid

  • Emily Clayton
    Emily Clayton 16 days ago

    where are benchmarks????

  • Christopher Ho
    Christopher Ho 17 days ago

    Excellent job explaining!!

  • deminybs
    deminybs 17 days ago

    lol i'm not even on an nvme ssd yet. still using a Samsung evo 850 . still got a 8.2\9.9 on win10 performance index and its 3 or 4 years old. still though I do plan on upgrading since it is 1.1+ points below the rest of my system xDD

  • Kuri
    Kuri 17 days ago

    Weird thing I noticed and I'm not sure if it's a coincidence or not, around 4:51 when Linus says three he holds up his pointer, middle and thumb. Most of the time when someone uses those fingers to indicate the number three they are deaf, hard of hearing or someone who knows ASL. most people hold up the ring finger instead of the thumb for this but you can't do that in ASL because that could be confused with "W". Point being has he ever mentioned or done anything with sign in his videos or am I just looking waaaaaay to into this

  • Roger Nevez
    Roger Nevez 20 days ago

    lifespan?

  • MiniMinion
    MiniMinion 20 days ago

    My WD 120GB SSD completely fail 3 times since I was purchased 6 months ago , can't reliable on this shit.

  • SeanFromPVD
    SeanFromPVD 23 days ago

    I use SSDs for system drives and commonly used software and I backup up important content daily. If the drives die, I don't even give a shit - I replace them and move on. I also have enough computers that I don't even have to stop doing anything while I'm recovering from a dead drive. I use multiple layers of hard drive options for backup(s) (multiple is better to reduce a single point of failure issue), so that I don't have to deal with data loss. I also cloud store a lot of the content I have, so that if everything died in a house fire, I'm still not losing a lot.
    No matter how high tech something is, never trust it completely. Everything fails. Everything will let you down. And that's me being optimistic! LMAO :-)

  • Tom Walter
    Tom Walter 24 days ago

    16 voltage levels per 4 bit cell? Why is that?
    I can understand On/Off per bit ~ 8. Why the other 8?
    100ms delay for QLC is unacceptable. I can understand the density and money saving building memory cells 4 in 1, but increasing the read rate on something designed to increase speed is totally unacceptable!
    Like the test proved. Slower than a HDD!!! Wtf. Why.. Why make this product.
    The only way to improve this would be to read feom multiple chips at the same time for sustained read speed, but you would still have 100ms random file access time.
    Also, not being able to fill your SSD for speed, longevity and speed reasons.. AND you buy a 512GB drive and only get 420 something because it's measured in bits not bytes.. cheapskates

    • Number Six
      Number Six 2 days ago

      Tom Walter "16 voltage levels per 4 bit cell?"
      --- Four bit can represent a maximum of 16 unique integer values. (0-15 or 1-16) Consequentially, to store 4 bits of information using trapped electrons requires an ability to discriminate 16 unique voltage levels.
      "Like the test proved. Slower than a HDD!!!"
      --- ONLY in cases where one is sequentially reading, without pause, multiple GB of data - a relatively rare usage case. In most cases a well designed QLC based SSD processes data many times faster than does a hard drive - as was stated in the video.

  • JMUDoc
    JMUDoc 25 days ago +1

    I've just done exactly what Linus did in the video: cloned a 750 GB program drive from a 1TB 600p to a 2TB 660p. After a few minutes the bitrate absolutely TANKED to ~100 MB/s. Still, the clone finished in less than 2 hrs and I get 1800/1800 in Crystal.
    I'm not an edge case, just a gamer/video watcher with a large collection. I think I'll be fine :).

  • connor dalton
    connor dalton 28 days ago

    I recently had to copy my steam folder as a part of trying to transfer steam off of one drive to another. Unfortunately, I still run everything off a hard drive, rather then an SSD.
    407GB, and a little over an hour later, and it was done.

  • Julian Halsen
    Julian Halsen 28 days ago

    sooooo, linus, what kind of SSD do we use for HDD caching? inb4 RAM IS SUPERIOR, its not an option due to potential loss of data if there ever was a powersurge.

    • Number Six
      Number Six 2 days ago

      RAID 0, NVMe, SLC. But bring your wallet.

  • TheBoksera631
    TheBoksera631 29 days ago

    So if I install this on my laptop as a Windows drive + maybe some programs and games it'd be totally fine?Cause the 500gb 660p is about the same price as an Evo 860 250 gb drive where I am.

  • Christopher Gettins

    So, would you recommend the 660p or not?

    • Number Six
      Number Six 2 days ago

      Recommendations are almost always based on intended usage. Linus more or less answers your question in the last several minutes of his video.

  • Jonathan Simpson
    Jonathan Simpson Month ago

    So SSDs aren't worth investing in.

  • EDG
    EDG Month ago +4

    Keep scrolling


    *Read more*

  • Allrj
    Allrj Month ago

    Ugh, this video made me finally bite the bullet and get an SSD, I've been considering it for years but I just haven't justified it because of the rumors I've heard about them breaking down, but I'm tired of running a wd black as my main drive so I went ahead and got a 120gb drive for booting and initial video edits

  • 3pan1
    3pan1 Month ago

    Anyone can say what NAND type is best for SATA SSD RAID 0 in terms of endurance please; TLC, MLC, SLC ?

  • Holzkohlen
    Holzkohlen Month ago

    Meh, I can live with a boot SSD and HDD storage. SSD only for laptops only, I say.

  • kerdum
    kerdum Month ago

    So is this a good drive or garbage? im new to this shit

  • Siken Dongol
    Siken Dongol Month ago

    4:37 SLC MLC TLC QLC

  • flox Klhohnv
    flox Klhohnv Month ago

    intel ssds are overpriced imo
    get samsung or western digital

  • HellomynameisRyanfirstoutindeedgooglelikesmesomuchtheybotheredmeuntilmynamewasthislong

    SSD: I wanna be fas...
    HDD: *I'm already Tracer*
    SSD: *Pikachu Shocked face*

  • get a gig now
    get a gig now Month ago +1

    get rid of the earrings

    • Sonny Williams
      Sonny Williams 21 day ago +2

      I must ask a question... What makes an internet show help you feel like you can be so rude to someone. If you got a haircut that 1 person didn't like, and they walked up to you while you were just getting a drink at a store and said "get a new haircut", but NOBODY else had an issue with your haircut; do you feel as if you'd run out and have to find a new haircut right away?
      If you had a favorite pair of shoes? If you had a favorite hat? He looks the way he wants to look. Don't shame him because you don't like it.

  • Kristijan Cerovski
    Kristijan Cerovski Month ago

    Can't they just build a drive that is all cash, so there wouldn't be problems like that? :D

  • Kristijan Cerovski
    Kristijan Cerovski Month ago

    b/c of the WAN show, now I understand why he's joking about OCZ stock plummeting. 7:23
    He had shares in that company before it got down. Nice one Linux

  • omar ahmed
    omar ahmed Month ago

    are these the ones they use in 2015 macbooks? i know some people from china that are in the U.S that sell these cheap ssds

  • Jonathon Wisnoski
    Jonathon Wisnoski Month ago

    You say that the quad state NAND has significantly reduced lifespan, but it seems like the drive is also completely capable of treating any and all cells as mono state NAND. So wouldn't the usable size just decrease with age, while getting progressively faster until the drive is super fast but 1/4 the size?

  • B Adventures Travel Vlogs

    Good education. I think slightly cheaper product lines like this are for computer manufacturers. Save a few bucks whenever possible. For average consumers who buy a new computer and don't mess with it. Enthusiasts will check the specs and go for a better grade.

  • CatsMeowPaw
    CatsMeowPaw Month ago

    My Silicon Power A55 SSD based on mostly TLC flash started to fail at only 3Tb of data written, and fell off a cliff with bad blocks at just 5Tb. There were so many pending remapped blocks that some refused to be read at all. I managed to revive the drive by wiping it and reformatting, which now makes the drive appear 'all good' albeit with 18 remapped blocks, but honestly I just don't trust it anymore.

  • Shawn Elliott
    Shawn Elliott Month ago

    It sounds to me like this product is too optimized for a specific range of use-cases. I'm sure the few bucks of per-unit cost savings makes a lot of sense for large-volume PC builders and the people who buy computers from them. However, if you're building your own computer -- _of ANY quality,_ it doesn't have to be a high-end gamer rig -- I wouldn't bother considering this SSD, because the performance penalty for operating this SSD outside of its intended usage envelope is too severe and would be too frustrating if you happen push your computer harder than normal from time to time.

  • John Doe
    John Doe Month ago

    when we will get ssds that last forever and don't wear off anymore?

  • Mic_Glow
    Mic_Glow Month ago

    Slow write/ read speed for large files is manageable (how often do you copy a Steam library), but the reduced life span is a big turn-off. SSD's are used as system drives, you want this to be as reliable as possible.
    Also system drive can get hit hard with write/ read (downloads, cache when out of ram, frequent updating thousands of small files etc.)

  • inzanozulu
    inzanozulu Month ago

    Really good video with some actual nuanced opinion.
    Thanks!

  • Doc Holliday
    Doc Holliday Month ago

    Its slower then other nvme and it dies faster. On the other hand it's still 3-4 times faster then an average sata ssd and I got 1tb of it for 20 bucks more then a sata. Perfectly happy with my purchase my uses will never involve massive 150gb+ file transfers. I definitely would not recommend it to anyone with those needs.

  • au jack
    au jack Month ago

    Good as secondary drives

  • TheKarolans
    TheKarolans Month ago

    One more question - how does it change from SLC to QLC? Isn't the number of layers fixed? No idea how to understand that part, any hints are welcome :)

  • TheKarolans
    TheKarolans Month ago

    What is better about the QLC, why is it used? I understand it is slower than the previous ones and probably dies sooner. Is it just about more capacity for same/less money? Anyway amazing video, my brain just got stuck on this and need some saving :D.

    • TheKarolans
      TheKarolans Month ago

      In other words, is there any reason not to buy a bunch of older smaller quicker and less expensive SSDs instead of one big 660p (other than the fact they will fill up more slots)?

  • yoppindia
    yoppindia Month ago

    All hype, finally a dud video😕, just like Intel qlc ssd.

  • Beacon of Wierd
    Beacon of Wierd Month ago

    I'm confused, how can the number of sifts (4:16) go up exponentially with the number of layers, but the read time only increase linearly with the number of layers (4:33) ? :S

  • Repairman Jared
    Repairman Jared Month ago

    More bits are more better, Linus

  • Mystic Books
    Mystic Books Month ago

    I think everything about intel is wrong these days

  • Phuoc Tong
    Phuoc Tong Month ago

    so is this going to be a thing across the board for all makers of SSDs or just the intel 660p?

  • Rob Truckle
    Rob Truckle Month ago

    The other day I was helping my buddy build his first PC. I told him he should get the 960 instead of the 860 but the dude at the store tried to tell me that the 960 is older and worse technology than the 960. The 960 was on sale for almost the same price

  • Johann Coetzee
    Johann Coetzee Month ago

    love to know why people dislike this

  • Bonno460xvr
    Bonno460xvr Month ago

    Darn it Linus. I watched this video expecting to hate this product. I guess it isn’t bad. Seriously tho, like your channel.

  • antipodesman
    antipodesman Month ago

    Linus continues to be the best presenter ever.

  • specimon
    specimon Month ago

    Great video! Thanks. But please don't use Squarespace to build websites. Worse CMS ever. (I understand you need to survive and a sponsor is a sponsor...) Thumbs up

  • fuckfannyfiddlefart

    Everyone I see Linus I see class privilege and white male elitism, I bet he is cis too!
    Something tells me he is a capitalist exploiter.

  • wozzlepop
    wozzlepop Month ago

    Answer is simple: consumers wanted greater capacity not greater performance. HDD's had the same trend as mfgs added more and more heads and platters and bigger and bigger caches..

  • Richard Kurbis
    Richard Kurbis Month ago

    I dont use SSD anymore, when they fail, its roasted, no recovery. At least a HDD starts hitting bumps and you have time to recover at least some files.

  • ShadowPBPBC
    ShadowPBPBC Month ago

    3:50 1200/2600/3200/4800/5400/6800/7200/10,000 . 10k being western digital raptor HDD! i still have a running working 300mb 1200rpm drive that's almost 1.5x older than linus

  • theysaidyes?
    theysaidyes? Month ago

    9:50 PFFFFFFFFFFT

  • Nate B
    Nate B Month ago

    // , This is a good summary, Linus. Thanks

  • EmissaryGW2
    EmissaryGW2 Month ago

    This sounds a lot like the Fusion drives or w/e apple called it, where they had an SSD cache in front of a HDD.

  • Dayta
    Dayta Month ago

    my 2 cents on the topic ... i missed the ramdrive since i finaly moved away from amiga back in the days (it was about the time when pcs went up to 300 mhz at which time my amiga still had more ram then any pc available at that time .. but thats beside the point ... now ive never touched any ssd since they are too damn slow to by any use to me at all. what i store is on usualy harddrives which are not that much slower to begin with and stuff i work with even playing stupid stuff like world of warcraft the whole game is installed in a ramdisk as well as every other program im using .. .so this is my personal "fuck you ssd" but i guess for some people ssd does just what it does .. for me it is not.

  • licksore stockpile
    licksore stockpile Month ago

    how can i block your channel so i stop seeing the retarded faces you make on my video feed. Im not even subscribed to you.

  • Brian Berthold
    Brian Berthold Month ago

    Wile i know everyone will say get as big as you can but for those on a budget what is the smallest you can go for windows 10 as an OS drive - i have about 1-2 GB of installed programs after windows - would that be a 256 GB cuz somewhere i heard you want double what you need

  • velkoon
    velkoon Month ago

    Ah, okay. Could you please wrap up the video by saying which SSD is the best, in your opinion? I mean, that's mostly what we all care about, right?

  • Fox House
    Fox House Month ago

    Honestly i user the 660p for about 1,5 years now and in my eyes, this thing is truly good bang for your Buck. Low cost for a bit of cheap trickery do that it has no large speeddrops as long as you user it as intenser. Perfect. no problemen, no stress no hate to Intel creating This beauty

  • greenguy4u
    greenguy4u Month ago

    This kind of opinion comes with EVERY new technology. For MANY YEARS the "experts" said fuel injection cars just weren't reliable and carburetors were the way to go. Floppy drives were to way to go over hdd's. Even a couple years ago the experts were upset that plasma TV's were going away because "they were the best".

  • Thomas Sturges-Allard

    I don't get the appeal of large SSDs. The biggest benefit of a SSD is as a boot drive for a faster boot and more responsive operating system. There is no reason the average person should be putting thier downloads, documents, pictures, videos etc on an SSD - and I personally wouldn't trust an SSD with important files. A Windows installation is only about 40GB with updates and some programs. That happily fits on a 120GB SSD.
    Sure it's nice to have faster game load times but a bog standard SATA SSD is just fine for that. The difference between a slow SSD and a fast SSD will be 1 second or less. Worthwhile for an OS but not for a given game.
    To me theaffordable ideal that people should be aiming for is: Fast NvME PCIx4 128/250GB SSD for OS, 512 crappy SATA SSD for games and a HDD for files and more games.

  • Galen Thurber
    Galen Thurber Month ago

    any tools for linux besides gsmartctl?

  • Intel & Nvidia SUXXZZZ!!!

    Intel being Intel. Is such a fucked up company. That SSD is an utter garbage!

  • Cue Zephyr
    Cue Zephyr Month ago

    When it was still 2917 I bought an MLC SSD. It has a 10-year warranty.

  • xlioilx
    xlioilx Month ago

    Would this be ok to store homemade fat girl porn on?

  • Charles Hines
    Charles Hines Month ago

    SLC flash is the stuff to buy if you can afford it. The one and ONLY problem with SLC is that it is often very expensive in comparison to the stuff you typically see in most stores. I will never allow the other makers to fool me with MLC and TLC or 3D nand (seems like a stacked MLC to me). I would still use them but I would just remember there is better stuff I might otherwise have bought if I had more cash sitting around. The one and only reason you don't see SLC flash devices in places such as Bestbuy is because they are trying to sell items most people can afford or are more likely to purchase because of a lower price. I have a 16 GB pseudo SLC memory card and while it is not true SLC memory it still has good speed and is also supposed to last longer than other memory cards (aside from the SLC memory). The one I got is a Swissbit from a site online which sells various electronic parts. I think it was Digikey, they sometimes have a good price. Those sorts of sites also list what type the memory is even for memory cards. That is very different from buying a Sandisk or Lexar card and not being able to find any clue as to what the memory is, it seems like they don't really want you to know what you are getting. Those two are not terrible brands but of course I seldomly buy them just because they are often somewhat over priced for what they are.

  • Tom Smith
    Tom Smith Month ago

    Never buying an Intel drive again. I had one die and getting a warranty replacement was a horror compared to any other drive like WD or Seagate.

  • CptEddyPrice
    CptEddyPrice Month ago

    can you do a video on WIndows 10 high Ram / CPU usage?

  • Factual Fox
    Factual Fox Month ago

    Samsung would really be one of the only manufacturers i'd go for, for a SSD, and this is the reason why:

    Not all components in a SSD are made by the same manufacturer. For example, the NAND flash might be made by one company, and the controller made by another etc. Drive manufacturers need to ensure that all components used run efficiently together. While drive manufacturers do produce drives where all the components from various companies work together, they will never been 100% truly efficient.

    However, this is where Samsung are different. Samsung are one of the FEW manufacturers who make ALL of the SSD components in house! Samsung make their own NAND Flash AND their own controllers and so on... so everything inside their drives work truly efficiently! This is why I would always go for a Samsung drive if i can afford it, as all their components in their SSDs are proprietary!

  • Jay Bojorquez
    Jay Bojorquez Month ago

    Wth is optane?

  • Jay Bojorquez
    Jay Bojorquez Month ago

    Lol

  • Stefan Reich
    Stefan Reich Month ago +1

    So basically, this drive is totally fine for every normal purpose... and also really cheap, as commenters have pointed out. What is Linus complaining about again?

    • Stefan Reich
      Stefan Reich Month ago

      +Juozas Domarkas OK I get that. But it's a practical decision that works well right now.

    • Juozas Domarkas
      Juozas Domarkas Month ago +1

      Inherent issues with the tech it's using. It's slower, it's less reliable, but it's cheaper. The issue he has is with the direction the industry is moving, towards this cheap tech.

  • 117Haseo
    117Haseo Month ago +1

    I know its bordering on conspiracy, but its almost like Intel designed it to degrade overtime.

  • Sonny Fellers
    Sonny Fellers Month ago

    I'm a Samsung fanboy for ssd. Evo is best bang for buck.

  • First Last
    First Last Month ago

    I can watch Netflix 4k but lately I haven't been able to watch a single video from start to end without the video freezing on me while the sound plays on.
    Luckily videos like these doesn't necessarily need the picture, sound is sufficient.. but seriously TheXvid, wtf?

  • BadBrad23
    BadBrad23 Month ago

    You are comparing yourself video redendering thousands of data a day. To a normal person This would last alot longer. I am not going to argue with you, But I don't think the application is specific to you.

  • Patri0t
    Patri0t Month ago

    SUBSCRIBE! HELP ME REACH 50 thexvid.com/video/OfynmW_y4zo/video.html

  • Yair Eylon
    Yair Eylon Month ago

    Man I usually like your videos but this time you were not on the money.
    1.If you prefer speed, get Xpoint or any other SSD not designed for..... size...
    2.No SSD has a CPU on it, they have discrete micro controllers.

  • Kisai Yuki
    Kisai Yuki Month ago

    A way to summarize this would be the Intel 660p is used in the same way you'd use a 5400RPM drive. You'd move stuff to it, and then only read from it most of the time. In context, you could dump your steam folder onto it, once, and unless you have a GigE internet connection you'll likely never even touch that 90MB (700Mbit+)/sec poor write speed. For reference the highest you can get in BC is 300Mbit symmetric from Telus.
    That said, I'd probably recommend against buying the 660p if you can get a better NVMe SSD since motherboard space is at a premium and sticking them on U.2 SFF-8639 would be an additional cost, and if you don't have that on the MB, there goes a PCIe slot.

  • stratogustav
    stratogustav Month ago

    My questions for people here:
    Are HDD longer lasting than SDDs in general?
    What storage do you recommend to storage family videos and photos long term?
    Do people need SSDs in their PCs? Can people live just fine using HDDs?
    Why are SSDs more expensive than HDDs?
    When a computer has both, SSD, and HDD? What do people uses each for? Since the SSD is usually smaller I assume people use that for the operating system, and the HDD to store their photos and videos.

    • stratogustav
      stratogustav Month ago

      +FRISH OK, thanks, it makes sense.

    • FRISH
      FRISH Month ago

      Basically, yes. Anything that you want to perform quicker.

    • stratogustav
      stratogustav Month ago

      +FRISH thanks for the reply, so I guess SDD is for software, and HDD is for storage.

    • FRISH
      FRISH Month ago +1

      1) Can't say which is longer lasting, they both have different flaws. Maybe others can fill in with more informed info. I did have an SSD screw up on me, but I did reinstall the OS a few times due to another issue I've been facing which may have somewhat affected its lifespan, plus it was only 120GB.
      2) I recommend Media on a HDD, generally to load videos and pictures isn't going to take much time, so taking up space unnecessarily can be avoided unless you can afford to. Nonetheless, you will still want to back up the important stuff. Some people put their favourite games on SSDs or use them on their console, but their file sizes can be huge so it's a tradeoff on endurance and performance in that case.
      3) No, it does make a difference for loading times of programs and the OS, but I found that after my SSD screwed up, I lived just fine with booting up, doing something else and then come back to my PC a couple of mins later. Though windows updates can be a pain.
      4) SSDs are newer technology than HDDs. Whether they need to be the price they are i don't know, but they're more affordable than they used to be.

  • Chad Johnson
    Chad Johnson Month ago

    It's good enough for who it's for.

  • Bob Riemersma
    Bob Riemersma Month ago

    SSD marketing: "Sure these are crap designed to fail, but most basement dwellers don't use their computer enough for them to degrade to dust before the warranty is up or we've suckered them into buying another larger one. All hail Mom's credit card!"

  • Dalle Smalhals
    Dalle Smalhals Month ago

    ..can I keep my 840 pro?


    ;-P

  • John Ward
    John Ward Month ago

    This Linus guy takes it in da butt just like Alex Turner

  • YYZpresto
    YYZpresto Month ago

    Intel is a diversity dumping ground. That why they shit out crappy products.

  • Patrick Wright
    Patrick Wright Month ago +1

    I have the 600p as my OS and main game drive, and I have to admit I'm 100% satisfied with the performance.