How SSD Technology Keeps Getting WORSE! - Intel 660p Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 12, 2018
  • Visit www.squarespace.com/LTT and use offer code LTT for 10% off
    Pick up PC Building Simulator for only $15 USD TODAY ONLY at www.chrono.gg/ltt
    Get great deals on PC Games at www.chrono.gg/ltt
    Buy Samsung 860 EVO 1TB on Amazon: geni.us/AY94p
    Buy Intel 660p 1TB on Amazon: geni.us/Mdfzw
    Buy Intel 760p 1TB on Amazon: geni.us/xPqbanR
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/994024-ssds-keep-getting-worse/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: thexvid.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High thexvid.com/user/approachingnirvana
    Sound effects provided by www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 3 728

  • Renzo Nunez
    Renzo Nunez Day ago

    Tricky question: Can this be installed on an Xbox One X? ... Is there any adapter that could do this?

  • ubbgn
    ubbgn Day ago

    Thats why 660p is cheap and I was thinking about it but I guess nope!

  • ziljin
    ziljin 2 days ago +1

    Well I just bought the crucial p1 500gb nvme drive. Mostly I just don't want to deal with cabling. Hopefully it turns super fast.

  • kalomandastra
    kalomandastra 3 days ago

    Got the 2tb version of this ssd for my "slow" storage for my laptop to complement my mlc 500gb corsair. This drive is perfect as a replacement for a 2tb large capacity drive I had before to store less-played games, documents, pictures, etc. I doubt I'd want to use it as primary drive in anything, but as secondary I don't see how there is anything that would beat it in terms of price per capacity and speed.

  • Lorenzo
    Lorenzo 3 days ago

    Hey Linus, I sadly had to experience this myself with an crucial p1 in an icy box with usb c (so when its lit, it delivers 900MB/s). I edit video so for the editing itself its ok, but when i tried to copy an 150gb prores file, it dropped to 90MB/s at 120GB... so you can imagine... not so nice.
    BUT: is this 3d nand technology the problem? cause i would take a sandisk ultra 3d ssd (sata connection) which promises 550MB/s but can I suppose they are stable? or will it also crash cause of that 3d nand tech??? thanks in advance, ive been ordering from amazon and sending back quite some times now,...so annoying. first i thought its the enclosure cause of the temperature...but then i saw your video...

  • Wuety06
    Wuety06 3 days ago

    Has anyone looked into modded firmware to either make dead drives into slc cache, new qlc into half capacity mlc? I'd have to imagine the heart of their operation is switching each cell or group of to an adc to read voltage... If it's not possible I'd be interested in why

  • Wuety06
    Wuety06 3 days ago +2

    100gigs a day.. Give a horn ball on Adderall a 4k monitor and non Comcast wired connection....

  • Sarthak Panda
    Sarthak Panda 4 days ago

    Entire video is a lot more negative than what your final vertict is.

  • LEGnewTube
    LEGnewTube 6 days ago

    Rip, just bought a 1T model of this...

    • Dark Arrow
      Dark Arrow 4 days ago

      Same lmao. But for the stuff I'll be using it for it'll be fine it seems.

  • dosduros
    dosduros 6 days ago

    SSDs slower than HDDs.
    Lovely.

  • Blake Cartwright
    Blake Cartwright 6 days ago

    Go from bashing a product to promoting it. Linus you've done it again. I had a feeling 10 seconds in with a thumbnail popping up saying "buy this"

  • GuillermoQc Gulivert

    I have a situation i need help with.... i bought a nvme drive with a pci-e adapter since my motherboard don't support it for booting... its a asus Z77 intel chipset...wondering if i could place the boot loader on a normal disk on my system (cauz i can boot on a pci-e slot)but install windows files on my nvme m.2 drive so it could be fast ???

  • Z T
    Z T 6 days ago

    Is there any software wich can diagnose in which worn state the ssd on my galaxy s5 is?
    Would be good to know when i should at least replace my ssd

  • suliman khayyat
    suliman khayyat 7 days ago

    There's gotta be a conspiracy theory here, all the reviews are good about this product.

    • Sarthak Panda
      Sarthak Panda 4 days ago

      Watch the end. This video's kinda clickbaity. Very few real world use cases cause the slowdown

  • akska10
    akska10 7 days ago

    Its just a old school strategy to recover product value..
    By making new low quality product , push it to the market ... And then reproduce old product under high quality term then sell for the desired price.

  • Tim Rowe
    Tim Rowe 8 days ago

    Yeah, I bought a 660p to replace a 840EVO my games were on - thinking "it's NVMe, even if it's a slow NVMe drive, it'll be faster than a SATA SSD". Nope. It's slower nearly every time loading from the 660p than it was on a 840EVO.

  • Jani
    Jani 10 days ago

    i just ordered this drive, wtf did i do ?

    • Jani
      Jani 8 days ago

      @Frankie Scheuermann yes true i was thinking the same before spending extra 20 eur on evo.... i dont think it would make a lot difference for normal use....

    • Frankie Scheuermann
      Frankie Scheuermann 8 days ago

      An SSD is still going to WELL outperform any hard drive. The only time you’ll really not experience the “full speed feel” is when you’re transferring huge files

  • Neth BT
    Neth BT 10 days ago +1

    It's called cost cutting. People will assume all SSDs are equal. Win Win for the manufacturers

  • dusty dex
    dusty dex 11 days ago

    What we really need is a certifiable way to destroy data on SSDs before disposal/reselling.

  • Daniel Horne
    Daniel Horne 12 days ago

    i have a Toshiba ssd that starts about 1.2gbps then drops to 65mbps lol and thats my os drive

  • KenyoMurabu
    KenyoMurabu 13 days ago

    I dun get why people claim that SSD is not Consumer expense oky…
    I've got one from your Description but at a 500 GB size, I think...
    & I paid barely anything costly for it at all, oO
    But yours in the Description for 1TB costs almost $200... At $167 or something? oO
    First, besides the whole M.2 Drives being a thing & a few other Drives out there...
    if you have an SSD in the Computer... What do you need it to be 1TB for?
    I thought we only need Windows on it, & some basic things, or at least just used for the Cache it's self? o_@
    So why 1TB? Is that not too much Space for an SSD? I'm new to this, & was just curious...

  • swekz
    swekz 13 days ago

    But hey.. you know.. for under $200 for 2tb "1800 mb/s" compared to a regular ssd ~550 mb/s for $250 this is the best ssd you can get for the money for regular use

  • Brennen Cox
    Brennen Cox 13 days ago +3

    Yeah, when you mentioned device life being lower.... first thing I thought was "yeah, but what is it for a real user?"

  • Brennen Cox
    Brennen Cox 13 days ago

    Can it run Crysis?

  • Don Downer
    Don Downer 13 days ago +2

    Linus: "So the more layers, th-"
    Me: "The more onions!"
    Linus: :-|
    Me: :-|
    Shrek: :-D

  • joefromspace
    joefromspace 15 days ago +5

    My crusty old MLC drives are looking pretty good these days.

  • Zack Schmiesing
    Zack Schmiesing 16 days ago +2

    The 1 TB version of that drive was on sale for $90.99 on NewEgg today and I almost bought it. Then I remembered this review, and decided no.

    • Rafael Mejia
      Rafael Mejia 9 days ago

      Oscar Shen I went for it just came in yesterday waiting for my heat sink to come today so I can get this build going

    • Rafael Mejia
      Rafael Mejia 9 days ago

      Zack Schmiesing Im building a itx system i5 9600k with xpg 500 m2mnv for windows and this drive will be for games and storage I’m trying not to use cables keeping a clean look in the system on asrock itx z390 itx

    • Oscar Shen
      Oscar Shen 15 days ago +1

      You should buy it, as he mentioned, despite all this compromise, there is no difference for day to day usage. When do you really need 3GB/s reading speed? Other hardwares in you system can't handle it. That what they are aiming for, cut the cost while most consumers can't tell the difference. Storage speed really doesn't mattar, for me any drive that doesn't break is a good drive becasue there are so many other bottlenecks in the system like CPU, GPU, memory, they make real difference. It's not like you are going to move 100GB of files everyday. The way I see it, it's a good product with unbeatable value.

    • Zack Schmiesing
      Zack Schmiesing 15 days ago

      @Rafael Mejia I already have a 500GB WD Blue SATA3 SSD in my desktop and it's nowhere near full. Didn't see the need to go bigger or faster.

    • Rafael Mejia
      Rafael Mejia 15 days ago

      I just picked one up lol got a newegg email saw it jumped on it

  • Christopher Decker
    Christopher Decker 16 days ago

    I wound up buying a Crucial P1 1TB in stead of this drive and so far really like it for the price. I am just an average user/gamer who is budget/use oriented, anyway. Would like to see 2TB SSD prices drop like the 1TB have, though, and see this as a bigger issue for the average user/enthusiast/gamer than the QLC vs other NAND issue...

  • mel Su
    mel Su 16 days ago +1

    $90.99 @ NewEgg

  • TacoMeat FijiWater
    TacoMeat FijiWater 16 days ago +3

    My sata MLC drive is faster lmao

  • Danijel Cerin
    Danijel Cerin 17 days ago

    One word: SAMSUNG !!!

  • Jake Hix
    Jake Hix 20 days ago

    6:25 why wouldnt it go backwards, aren't you just refilling the cache you're attempting to clear?

  • Taro
    Taro 20 days ago

    dadada

  • Dion Starfire
    Dion Starfire 23 days ago +9

    Just for kicks, they should have included a magnetic HDD for comparison. He keeps saying "slower than a hard drive". I want to see how much slower.

    • Michael
      Michael 13 days ago +1

      You can look closely at the benchmarks when he's talking about cache flush he shows the drop from 1210 MB/s max read speed to 64 minimum, so slower than a hard drive which would likely be 100+ (150-200 for enthusiast: "Seagate has branded the new actuator technology as "Mach.2" and set a new record for a single hard drive with 480 MB/s of sequential throughput, which is more than twice the standard 235 MB/s of the speediest 7,200-RPM enterprise HDDs.")

  • lantisgaribaldi
    lantisgaribaldi 24 days ago

    No buenos y no me gusta XD

  • Levy Roth
    Levy Roth 24 days ago

    Never, absolutely NEVER, buy a QLC SSD as these are the worst performing and less reliable types around. Go for TLC or better, always!

    • LawLibertyCompassion Justice
      LawLibertyCompassion Justice 23 days ago +1

      You're funny. I just installed two in RAID 0 for a 4TB game/video drive. The read performance is equal or better than my 970 evo 1TB boot nvme. The write performance sucks BUT if you are just going to fill the drive up once with games and keep them there, who cares? So $399 for a descent performing 4TB nvme SSD. It has a use case. It's four times faster than a 4TB 860 EVO and nearly half the price.

  • zweck4629
    zweck4629 24 days ago

    2 tb for 200 bucks, enough that I dont have to care about swapping games and videos around.
    Probably ideal for most consumers, they have no reason to transfer huge files around, so speed and
    rewrite cycles pretty much dont matter. For editing 4k videos all day maybe not.

  • Patrick B.
    Patrick B. 24 days ago +9

    "this is intel(...) they are not generally known for their aggressive pricing" xD ahahahahaha

  • Alexander Huddleston
    Alexander Huddleston 25 days ago

    I actually installed one of these recently in my gaming laptop. I'll come back with any bad experiences later.

    • Caleb Chavez
      Caleb Chavez 23 days ago

      Alexander Huddleston bro how are u liking the ssd is it as bad as he's making it seem?

  • Vicious Bizza
    Vicious Bizza 25 days ago

    idk why I find him really annoying probably why I prefer jays two cents over this channel but great explanation.

  • Simon Chapman
    Simon Chapman 25 days ago

    Perfect subject to complain about.
    NO comment can instruct a Research and Development Engineer on how to do the subject.

  • Malcolm Southworth
    Malcolm Southworth 26 days ago

    And here I thought my Kingston a400 SATA ssd was slow, even though it is a TLC ssd. 80 TBW isn't too bad for a 240 GB ssd either considering that I've only written about 13 TB (lifetime writes) to my 2 and a half year old Seagate Baracuda. Was considering a QLC ssd, but I think Linus saved my neck with this video. I'd rather invest in optane memory when the storage options become more realistic.

  • Tiho
    Tiho 26 days ago

    Can someone summarise his point in a understandable language?

  • Tiho
    Tiho 26 days ago +1

    don't understand half of things he said

    • s baxter
      s baxter 23 days ago

      @Tiho true. lol

    • Tiho
      Tiho 23 days ago

      @s baxter or he may think I'm crazy geeky guy to stay away.

    • s baxter
      s baxter 25 days ago +1

      If you watch the video maybe 10 -20 times you can learn all the words and your friends will think you a genius : )

  • Matthew Lea
    Matthew Lea 26 days ago

    Tender Loving Care!

  • The Madfranklin Show
    The Madfranklin Show 26 days ago

    Installed in an Aurora R7, it’s okay. Was cheap for 2 TB. Samsung 970 Pro beside it much faster. But pricier.

  • vampiresRsolame
    vampiresRsolame 26 days ago

    Samsung QVO: Am I a joke to you?

  • Jackie Chan
    Jackie Chan 26 days ago +3

    I want to know if it's better at smaller transactions like while a program is running.

  • THE PRINCE
    THE PRINCE 26 days ago

    It's science time with pictures....



    I feel retarded.

  • TreeMobile.
    TreeMobile. 26 days ago

    what about DLC ssds?

  • Pete Kastner
    Pete Kastner 26 days ago

    Real life retro encabulator

  • South Hemi TV 5
    South Hemi TV 5 27 days ago

    the video title should be. 'how linus's attempts on reaching puberty, being taking seriously and not being a idiot getting WORSE!

  • Graxxor Anandro Vidhelssen

    Thank you Linus. The way you put things into perspective in the second half of the video really demonstrated how easy it is to become a "stats snob" while forgetting the majority of use cases.

  • Prescott Majette
    Prescott Majette 27 days ago

    but those fortnite updates amirite?

    • Prescott Majette
      Prescott Majette 27 days ago

      forreal though, its damn near as cheap as 2.5" sata ssd's, its not that bad

  • Alex Pimentel
    Alex Pimentel 28 days ago

    Would running 2 QLC SSDs in RAID 0 double your cache capacity?

    • mason
      mason 23 days ago +1

      @LawLibertyCompassion Justice thanks good to know

    • LawLibertyCompassion Justice
      LawLibertyCompassion Justice 23 days ago +2

      Hi, I actually have a pair of 660p in a 4TB RAID 0. Yes it doubles the cache. The cache is handled at the drive level so two drives = two caches.

    • mason
      mason 26 days ago

      so literally it doesnt double your cache. But since it writes in equal sizes. In theory it will keep the cache going longer. Thats as long as the virtual cache doesnt fuck up when placed in raid 0

    • mason
      mason 26 days ago

      raid 0 splits the data and writes from both drives at the same time. It does not give a 100% more performance as it does not scale lineraly it scales more logarithmicly with reduced gains with each added drive. I am explaining this to lay a foundation. Ssds dont have a physical cache like hard drivesm. they have a virtual cache that takes up some of the space on the drive. not all ssds have that cache if i remember correctly. So your question does it doublr your cache? idk. it probally just caches the half data it gets like any other data.

  • Edward Sessum
    Edward Sessum 28 days ago

    Do you still have this around to rebenchmark? They supposedly solved a lot of issues in some firmware updates.

  • Loren Husky
    Loren Husky 28 days ago

    I am not sold on QLC whatsoever.

  • emdea
    emdea 29 days ago

    "SSD Technology Keeps Getting WORSE" yep, thats why i don't jump on these latest "deals"

  • Aaron Schilling
    Aaron Schilling 29 days ago

    I have the 1tb in use as a boot drive upgrade in a laptop, and while it did just die during the initial cloning, I have had zero issue with it. $120 for 1tb of ssd outweighs any caveat for a budget oriented purchase. The 760p will be top on my list for a workstation ssd because of it. Only the new optane H10 would make more sense...

  • Larry Gall
    Larry Gall Month ago +1

    I love my SM-961. Best drive I ever owned. They're selling the 256 GB version for $50 on Newegg right now. Tempted to buy another but have nowhere to put it.

  • redicalic1
    redicalic1 Month ago

    OSes write more to storage than just what is downloaded and "saved." An example is swap memory, where the OS temporarily writes data to storage when it runs out of RAM.

  • dika2saja
    dika2saja Month ago +1

    Because Intel... Intel create innovation to make product worse over time and cash grabbing clueless customer.

  • Animation Love
    Animation Love Month ago +1

    at those speeds might as well get a ssd hdd hybird drive

  • (((Yohan)))
    (((Yohan))) Month ago

    tl;dr: Please stick to the rivers and the lakes that you're used to... Use SLC for speed, TLC for cost, and MLC for compromise?

  • Fuck Boy69
    Fuck Boy69 Month ago

    I didnt understand shit is this worth buying or just buy a sn750 black

  • Louisiana Native
    Louisiana Native Month ago

    I was pretty disappointing when I recently tested my PNY Sata ssd and OCZ trion 100 SSD against an old OCZ Vertex 2 Sata 2. Both the newer drives were much slower on large write test. It seems like they downgraded the Nand and Loaded the newer drives with a crap load of Cache to make the illusion of a faster drive.

  • Jericho Perez
    Jericho Perez Month ago

    So what should I buy?

  • Terry Jackson
    Terry Jackson Month ago +1

    for real world use ignore this video, its lightning quick and cheap

  • John Tamarri
    John Tamarri Month ago

    I like his honesty and Canadian accent

  • AnotherFineSith
    AnotherFineSith Month ago

    I bought a laptop with the 660p a few days ago and performance has already tanked, even with running the optimizer. I had to stop the 1660Ti from caching shaders to disk or else it was scoring lower than the integrated video in 3DMark.

    • AnotherFineSith
      AnotherFineSith Month ago

      i also started unzipping a 500 MB zip file on the laptop and an old laptop and the older, slower laptop with a Samsung SATA SSD finished in 1/4 of the time that it took the laptop with the 660p.

  • TheMoon
    TheMoon Month ago

    if they made shit better and better alll the time, how are they supposed to suck out the money from all our pockets? they wont have any justifiable reason to raise the price every year, they would have to wait untill someone invented something better and that takes longer so they intentionally make shit shittier so they can slowly make it better over time, raising costs, they make more money, we get poorer. they just dont see too far into the future when no one makes enough money to be able to buy their overpriced garbage.

  • Hoystein
    Hoystein Month ago +1

    "Intel is not known for their agressive pricing" I'm sorry what?

  • Nolan Thomas
    Nolan Thomas Month ago +1

    What about if you paired a optane drive with this?

  • Ryan Caputo
    Ryan Caputo Month ago

    Question, Would having the 2tb version with 4 NAND chips (is that right) help in caching and also could future drivers help? Or is this thing just screwed when it comes to huge files?

  • m1ngo101
    m1ngo101 Month ago +4

    was considering this for my laptop's empty second nvme slot
    I thought "oh no, back to searching"
    but after watching the whole video, i think it'll be just fine for my steam folder

  • 07wrxtr1
    07wrxtr1 Month ago

    So basically stick with Samsung 860's which still have MLC

  • Everything Tech
    Everything Tech Month ago

    "A typical LTT video of 7,5 minutes takes 24Gigs", in what manner? To upload to TheXvid? To process to a smaller degree? Let's make this more simplified, if your goal, Linus, is to inform people about whatever new type of hardware or a general issue with existing hardware, it does not need to be at 4K resolution. 1080p at 60fps is normally fine enough. Because we don't watch these video's to ENJOY the scenery, but rather to learn something from what you have to say. Video quality is then totally irrelevant. Take that as a hint to save yourself a lot of space on your own server, that not all your video's need to be 4K60fps.

  • Frendh
    Frendh Month ago +1

    I bought a samsung QVO recently and it took forever to move my steam folder (~400GB) from a hdd to it. HDD1 to HDD2 has been much faster for me in comparison. Hindsight 20/20

  • Marian Kis
    Marian Kis Month ago

    660p 1tb vs samsung 970 evo plus 500gb.
    Same price, but which one? I currently have 960 evo 250gb.

    • Dao Quang
      Dao Quang Month ago

      Marian Kis if u care more abt storage then go for 1TB, if u want better speed and endurance, go for the 500gb one

  • Rock&Roll
    Rock&Roll Month ago

    Bought mine PC without SSD and 1tb hard disk drive and save money.

  • WR3ND
    WR3ND Month ago

    Pfft, give me a 10+ TB SSD to throw money at and I'll only fill half of it... for the time being. Until then, I'm good with my 1TB 840 and 850 EVOs. Hey, I'd even settle for an M.2 PCIe NVMe 2242 1TB SSD..... Well, no I wouldn't. -.-'

  • ullekh bodhanker
    ullekh bodhanker Month ago

    I have a 7year old Laptop Dell Inspiron 15R N5110, and I don't have any additional SSD slot. However the laptop does have a WLAN card slot. Can I fit the M.2 NVMe SSD? I want to add additional SSD instead of replace traditional HDD with the SATA SSD.
    Please help me.

  • Piyush Ochani
    Piyush Ochani Month ago

    This video should have included the new Samsung 860 QVO drives aswell

  • deep dig
    deep dig Month ago +1

    Ok i will buy an MLC SSD and never a QLC one, thank you ,good friend.

  • Danny Schoofs
    Danny Schoofs Month ago

    We didn't see anything falling down today... Closest was the plant Linus brushed with his hand, @ the end advert ;)

  • Connor Quinn
    Connor Quinn Month ago

    Says the time goes up exponentially with layers. Shows the linear graph of time vs layers. 4:38

    • JoeAceJR
      JoeAceJR Month ago

      I watched the video twice and didnt hear him say exponentially at all.

  • utp216
    utp216 Month ago

    Awesome video! I’ve got a few 760p drives in various systems and they’ve been great. Microcenter has a 512gb on sale right now and might pick up a few more.

  • Paul Hopwood
    Paul Hopwood Month ago

    No SSD expert here so don't give me grief if I am wrong etc please. Just educate me instead :)
    Wondering if the read speed of the SSD the data is coming FROM is limiting how fast the SSD being tested to WRITE can write, like even just at times, not all the time.
    I know reads are faster than writes but still there must be some delays finding the next file etc.....Coming from a raid would be better as the read speed is far greater (theoretically 2 times the speed of a single drive) so far less chance that any read delays are affecting the write speed of the SSD being tested for writes. Wondering if you could take this on board and do another test?

  • Ralph Kowalski
    Ralph Kowalski Month ago

    I only use Samsung ssds they're the best value the most reliable never ever that I have a problem with the Samsung SSD and that says a lot

  • JAG 0937 EB
    JAG 0937 EB Month ago

    your mama was right

  • dodgerfreak0834
    dodgerfreak0834 Month ago +1

    No one should keep all data on main OS drive anyway. Either keep extra non OS drive and back up with cloud. So technically 2 backups.

  • David Mcguire
    David Mcguire 2 months ago +1

    So basically I should stick with my 850 Evo.

    • zero vizible
      zero vizible Month ago

      i have 840 evo and i love it.. will keep it forever and also have MLC intel 1500 series :D

  • usaf040604
    usaf040604 2 months ago

    Soooo all that said. I want to dump my current 2x HDDs and pick up a 2TB 660P. All I do is game and and work on homework. My OS is sitting on a standard 2.5 SSD and will remain there. For me the 660P should be alright right? I would prefer paying double the price for a 1TB and am trying to get the most bang for my buck.

    • David Mcguire
      David Mcguire 2 months ago

      For the money honestly the best thing to do is to get a regular good quality SSD like the Samsung Evo series and just have everything that doesn't require the speed and efficiency of an SSD on a regular hard drive

  • RomaTul
    RomaTul 2 months ago

    Next step in tech = Defraging aka cleaning electrons from gates lol.

  • Kjell Beilman
    Kjell Beilman 2 months ago +1

    I've worked with much faster SSD's in various PCs but run a 660p in my gaming rig. Honestly for day to day use its not noticeably different, and the bang for your buck coupled with a 5yr warranty and it being intel (known for excellent quality SSDs) I'd recommend it for most consumers using a rig for gaming or web browsing, but not if you're doing super heavy and intensive work that requires tons of data transfer.

  • HifiCentret
    HifiCentret 2 months ago

    Yeah. I'm not a fan of QLC either. It's beyond me they should be so much cheaper than the already borderline TLC. For the same amount of data with 4 TLC chips you can have the same amount with 3 QLC chips. It's not that impressive. Beside just add some extra layers to a 3D Flash or increase chip area to get same result.
    I'll stay on TLC at max for now. Beside Samsungs QVO is just about same price as for their EVO - why buy inferior for the same price?
    Then the matter of charge decay. If left without power - how long before the charge levels decays beyond readable? When powered on most drives have patrol read and cells will be refreshed with wearleveling also. With todays small cell size it's not that insignificant as it once were. The game cartridge from your Commodore 64 which is also a kind of flash (but relies on UV for erase) can be stored 200+ years and your favorite game will still load fine - not so with the small cell sizes of today. Charge will decay much faster.

  • Mark Peterson
    Mark Peterson 2 months ago +1

    Personally I am using the 1tb 970 EVO plus for for my main drive in systems, and the 2tb 660p as a media/file backup drive in my systems. Both work incredibly well in their intended use case. With about 500gb of space for the main and 1tb for the media drive as realistic usable space.

  • HuntaKiller
    HuntaKiller 2 months ago +58

    $200 in amazon for the 2tb now is insane value though

    • 1NMOT1ON
      1NMOT1ON 12 days ago

      @Will that would be great for your boot and primary m.2 slot. Keep in mind many mobo with 2 m.2. Slots offer one at pcie gen3x4 while the second one is only pcie gen2x4. The evo would be largely bottlenecked in the second slot if you plan on running/populating both m.2 slots.

    • Will
      Will 12 days ago

      You can get a 2Tb Samsung 970 Evo Plus for $499. Much better performance (3,500MB/s Reads 3300 MB/s Writes), much better durability (1200 TBW + 5 year warranty), and its TLC (or 3bit MLC) which is better than QLC. Yeah it's a little bit more expensive but I think it's worth it.

    • Mr. Riös
      Mr. Riös 12 days ago

      Today 116€ for Samsung QVO 2tb

    • 1NMOT1ON
      1NMOT1ON 23 days ago

      This and the crucial p1 make great steam library storage cards. They wont experience high writes, wont over use the slc cache and even if it does die you wont lose anything of value that you cant replace. I used it to populate my second m.2 slot on my x370 and was on sale, 107 dolars for the 1tb p1. 5 year warrantee too! Solid deal! Boot drive is a 970 evo.

    • HuntaKiller
      HuntaKiller 27 days ago +2

      @Richard Zhang ok then..how many years did u use your for qlc and do u mind sharing which particular model?

  • Tomas A
    Tomas A 2 months ago

    Can you suggest any current not very expensive MLC ssd (also not DRAM-less) that would also have a decent controller? I am looking to buy something but they all seem to have flaws these days so I can't decide...

  • Michael Russo
    Michael Russo 2 months ago +1

    Rip, just bought one of these as my main Games drive. Will have about 1.5TB of data on it. (2TB Model). Should have got two 1TB SATAs.

    • Coldfireice8044
      Coldfireice8044 2 months ago

      You should be fine as you most likely won't be constantly reading and writing things at a hardcore level for super long extended periods of time the way Linus did. I just ordered mine and for brief loading of games and launching files, this will be beast beat out alot of competitors. How often do you install programs? If you install large files on the daily then sure, this might not be the drive for you. But if you want fast brief launching and loading, you're above the competition.