Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Aug 9, 2019
  • Chris Stuckmann reviews Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark, starring Zoe Colletti, Michael Garza, Gabriel Rush, Austin Abrams, Dean Norris, Gil Bellows, Lorraine Toussaint, Austin Zajur, Natalie Ganzhorn. Directed by André Øvredal.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 2 368

  • Gun Runner
    Gun Runner Day ago

    The movie was alright and never left me bored. The ending is set up for a sequel...

  • William Myers
    William Myers 3 days ago

    This movie suuuuuucks

  • sinacide11
    sinacide11 4 days ago

    Never felt like I’ve wasted time watching a movie as much as this one. Gave it about a half hour to 45 minutes and it never picked up. Despite I knew it could only get better I had no problem shutting it off knowing it could still take another 15-20 minutes. I can’t imagine a lot of people actually still had interest at that point.

  • LOGIC !
    LOGIC ! 4 days ago

    This movie is basically what happens when you take a beloved children's book and shit all over it.
    I loved these books as a little kid this movie doesn't do these books justice

  • Ryan Slater
    Ryan Slater 5 days ago

    Holy fuck this movie was so bad, and so isn't this review.... the acting was good???? Wtf it was atrocious. Wtf is this dude talking about????????

  • autumn bella
    autumn bella 5 days ago

    Me and my friends in elementary school were horrified but also laughing hysterically and it also kind of ruined our lives because they were so hunting

  • Cutelatinguy2
    Cutelatinguy2 6 days ago

    Just watched it last night and I liked it for what it was. Since I knew the books were geared towards young adults I knew the movie would be the same. I hope there will be a part 2.

  • Ryan Sewell
    Ryan Sewell 7 days ago

    Actually really enjoyed this film. Mostly the monster designs and how they were handled.

  • MrLeonardino
    MrLeonardino 8 days ago

    If comments are more related to a t-shirt, trust me, this movie is not worth your hard earned penny.

  • JacobOlli
    JacobOlli 9 days ago

    Loved it, hope they make a sequel

  • Splash Fire Films
    Splash Fire Films 10 days ago +1

    watched it today loved it, well made and great tension

  • Elroy Dennison
    Elroy Dennison 10 days ago

    Jane Dough Great Movie

  • Wari
    Wari 12 days ago

    I just finished watching this movie. OMG that was the longest 111mins of my life. Nodded off twice.

  • Muffled Noise
    Muffled Noise 12 days ago

    This was the first horror movie me and my friends saw in the cinema and it was a great experience for the spooks, I definitely want to get into horror more now!

  • CobraFeelTheHeat
    CobraFeelTheHeat 13 days ago

    Honest review : Movie is shit dont spend 1:47 hours on this, watch hereditary , or something else

  • Stephii Loveless
    Stephii Loveless 14 days ago

    Those books were my jam as a kid. Obsessed, had the stories memorized lol. Always loved horror also as a young kid. I love your shirt. I need it!! That was my fave show too!! I still watch it!

  • Jaqen H'ghar
    Jaqen H'ghar 15 days ago

    I'm late to the party. I just watched it but the red room wasn't shoehorned in. He saw a red room with pale lady in it when he first went in the house at the beginning

  • TGBplays •
    TGBplays • 17 days ago

    I’m 13. Just watched this with my bff, no adults. Fight me. But, I’ve seen some scary movies and even brutal stuff that’s real videos. Not too creepy but I did find myself caring about the characters that made it farther into the movie and I think the special effects and makeup were great. The movie was able to make me feel a bit uncomfortable at times but not too scary since it’s a movie. I give it 7.5/10.

  • Gabriel el tipo ese
    Gabriel el tipo ese 17 days ago

    Yeah, B for bland.

  • gonscla92
    gonscla92 18 days ago

    Never have I ever seen such bad performances, it's annoying. The only good thing about this crap are the monsters.

  • antifa fan account
    antifa fan account 20 days ago

    breh i remember being in like 3rd grade and they like. fucked me up. bad. but i liked it a tiny bit. i think a lot of people who read them really young all have the same kinda like... thoughts and feelings about it

  • Dough Garcia
    Dough Garcia 23 days ago

    I waited so long to see this movie and i was not disappointed...
    Like you said i love tha way this movie started off with suspense and kept it going,,, i just hate movies that get slow... I want to be expected to be jumping every scene...

  • moimo1281
    moimo1281 23 days ago

    Watching it at night made me feel terrified and going to sleep made me want to not sleep until I told myself that i have not read the book and that my page is not there until I fell asleep

  • Acrostreet JA
    Acrostreet JA 24 days ago +1

    Maybe it’s because I’ve never heard of those books but this movie was boring asf for me I couldn’t wait for it to finish

  • Dekuscrubbb
    Dekuscrubbb 24 days ago

    I just felt bad for my boy Chuck. The pale lady is a no-no for me.

  • Mango juice
    Mango juice 27 days ago +5

    The monsters were cool but the characters and overall movie sucked

  • hi
    hi 28 days ago

    Nice t-shirt

  • Shadow daffy
    Shadow daffy 28 days ago

    My gateway horror movie was child’s play.

  • Dan M OG
    Dan M OG Month ago

    can’t wait to see this now👻

  • Frankie Cuellar
    Frankie Cuellar Month ago

    I'm surprised the word "stranger things" or "it" wasn't throwing around? I thought for sure you would bring something like that up. I haven't seen the movie I'm about to see it that's why I'm watching this review. But from the trailers it looks a lot like it or stranger things type of feel to it?

  • Donquixote Rosinante

    AUGGIE IS SO FUCKING DUMB JESUS FUCKING CHRIST

  • xxaleenazxx
    xxaleenazxx Month ago

    The fat white monster though..

  • Skye Halmarick
    Skye Halmarick Month ago

    I watched this today and I I’m 11 there are a few jump scares but love it so great movie

  • frank rodriguez
    frank rodriguez Month ago

    New to your channel. Love your reviews of the horror genre. I noticed this is your 7th year of Halloween special and I was wondering if you can make a Horror Playlist. Thanks.

  • MzNaeture π
    MzNaeture π Month ago

    Hey, check out what horror can do for you 😆

  • Mike Best
    Mike Best Month ago

    Ya they totally ruined goosebumps with the movie lol

  • vyraz
    vyraz Month ago

    Really like ur t-shirt

  • chanel henderson
    chanel henderson Month ago

    This was honestly dissapointing because it wasnt what i thought. Didnt know it was PG 13 til i went to see it. That was a downside i expected more of an R rated Stranger Things/Goosebumps/ Darkness Falls/Woman in Black type thing. I like the Sara Bellows part cuz imma backstory horrific experiences exposition type person. Like the story behind the woman in black. Overall ill give it a B- i did cringe at some horror & thought the acting was great.

  • Declan Moore
    Declan Moore Month ago

    I loved most of the movie, but the jangly man was kinda shit

  • Otto Hennig
    Otto Hennig Month ago

    love ur stuff

  • Jordan Robinson
    Jordan Robinson Month ago

    chris where did you get that courage shirt ?

  • NitroCrypt
    NitroCrypt Month ago

    I really liked this movie. I watched it today

  • Allan Alberts
    Allan Alberts Month ago

    I liked it. Want a sequel now!

  • Ray Tek
    Ray Tek Month ago

    I love the movie because the way it builds each character. The screenplay pace is very good. And the jumpscare tension build up is so long I almost thought it was impossible to pulled it and yet it delivered so well.

  • Ashleigh Leeann
    Ashleigh Leeann Month ago

    This had an R16 rating in New Zealand. The movie has nothing in it to warrant such a rating and made it more disappointing to sit through. More like an annoying kiddy movie that followed very boring protagonists.

  • Don't Trend On Me
    Don't Trend On Me Month ago

    666 views

  • Fabian Lelo
    Fabian Lelo Month ago

    Hmm, might see this in a 4DX cinema. First time experience, it shall be...

  • heyitsrabiatul
    heyitsrabiatul Month ago

    imo the movie kinda sucks but the book is amazing

  • Stoner Pothead Mongoose

    I actually got into these book series when I was in elementary school they had the books and computer audio books with pictures that you can follow along but I love these book series and the movie was great 👍

  • Cassandra Snyder
    Cassandra Snyder Month ago

    Your review of this is perfect. From the description of why you were worried about the movie running your childhood memory of this series.i ignored this because of goosebumps but I'm now excited to see this.

  • Adrianna Marie
    Adrianna Marie Month ago +1

    I’ve seen the autopsy of Jane Doe. Good movie. When my friend Elizabeth and I went and saw this in theaters we really liked it. I was amazed how they made the monsters or whatever you want to call them look exactly like the ones from the books. Wow!

  • Natalia Quiroga
    Natalia Quiroga Month ago

    I just watched this movie yesterday and I really like it. Guillermo did a great job with the suspense and those monsters were really well done

  • agochoa
    agochoa Month ago

    Goosebumps on steroids??

  • STEREO_RESERVOIR
    STEREO_RESERVOIR Month ago

    dope shirts mcgee over here lookin fresh asf

  • tklandess
    tklandess Month ago

    As far as an annual Halloween movie to watch I'd say skip this meh movie and watch the easily superior Trick r Treat! Or Halloween 1978 and 2018!

  • Ned Vega
    Ned Vega Month ago

    Just finished watching it and honestly gagged at the big toe scene. I had to cover my eyes like a child. I'm 33

  • Tecno 12
    Tecno 12 Month ago

    There doing the same plot with Are You Afraid od the dark

  • Miss Jackson
    Miss Jackson Month ago +1

    I hated the movie.....am I the only one??

  • rockinchimp
    rockinchimp Month ago

    Watched this and Crawl on the same day, loved both.

  • darkprince56
    darkprince56 2 months ago

    Does anyone remember a large orange book with black letters that was full of scary stories? Anyone know the name? The only story I remember was of a girl dancing with a man at a party and it turns out it was the devil and he danced her to death.