An UNPOPULAR Opinion - Huawei P30 Pro Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 22, 2019
  • Get yourself a Dbrand skin at dbrand.com/LinusDropTips
    Sign up for Private Internet Access VPN at lmg.gg/pialinus1
    Is Huawei becoming a real player in the mobile space? Well, one way or the other, I don't feel like I can ignore them anymore...
    Buy Huawei P30 Pro on Amazon: geni.us/xrkw
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1057216-an-unpopular-opinion-huawei-p30-pro-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: thexvid.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High thexvid.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 4 636

  • Diego Linde
    Diego Linde 11 hours ago

    I need a Linux phone

  • Graham D
    Graham D 12 hours ago

    (In England) For an £800 phone it's a shit idea to buy it. When you watch the advertising for the phone where it specifically states hardly anything else other than how much of a perfect photo taking experience the phone has, then why don't you just buy a proper Digital Camera for £200 instead (Compact or even Bridge). Phones do far more than take pictures and need to have everything stable within them in order to be a good one to have. If a company isn't going to explain in detail (within their Advertising) how perfectly balanced, powerful, how reliable their product is, and all the other things it does then there's something seriously wrong with the other non focused functions. Basically, it's NOT worth £800 and Never will be. Even if they halved the price, it still wouldn't be worth the investment.

  • Kashyap Chonekar
    Kashyap Chonekar 12 hours ago

    11:39 Internet in a statement

  • Rorz
    Rorz 16 hours ago

    My p smart 2019 has great battery life. I was on a road trip with 6 hours travelling (streaming Netflix on LTE for 6 hours) I got home with 68% battery witch lasted the whole next day. I left my charger in the car and didn't even need it until 2 days later

  • CharlesOffdensen
    CharlesOffdensen 2 days ago

    So Linus hates on P30 because no jack and wants to go back to the Note... what will he says about the new Note then?

  • cloj
    cloj 2 days ago

    last few minutes made me not want this phone.

  • Starscream761
    Starscream761 3 days ago

    How much does the samsung pay you to promote their crappy phones?

  • Cymatic
    Cymatic 4 days ago

    Hey, I've got the P30 (non pro version) and there is a headphone jack. But not wireless charging and some other features.
    -Long live headphone jack!
    Anyways, I'm still using bluetooth headphones though...

  • South ßeirut
    South ßeirut 5 days ago

    This ugly mfer has to be jewish. There's no way someone of such ugliness can become successful in front of a camera if he is not jewish.

  • David Millard
    David Millard 5 days ago

    Great video. Watching on my Note 9.

  • LadBooboo
    LadBooboo 5 days ago

    4:31 goddamnit Linus, you got me.

  • Tallon IV
    Tallon IV 5 days ago

    The 5x optical zoom is the most significant smartphone innovation in a very long time. Phones haven't done anything that significant in a long time. I just want to see other companies takes on it, like the rumored samsung 10x.

  • Vasyl Zhydun
    Vasyl Zhydun 6 days ago +16

    Linus at the end of the video: "I want my Note 9 back, f*** the notch and long life to headphone jack!"
    Couple months later, Samsung: "Here you go, our Note 10, lol."

  • Violet Huang
    Violet Huang 6 days ago

    Am I the only one that doesn't really deal with the camera lagging with video too?

  • Violet Huang
    Violet Huang 6 days ago

    I find that the headphone jack isn't a problem because the phone charges so fast you can make it charge while you're doing something and its fully charged in minutes, it lasts for very long so u don't need a headphone jack and charger

  • Nathan Jimenez
    Nathan Jimenez 6 days ago

    At 7:11 you dont even have your finger positioned right on the sensor

  • R. Sasso
    R. Sasso 7 days ago

    Wow 9 million

  • Hanutabluta
    Hanutabluta 7 days ago

    there were many reasons I prefer the non-pro p30

  • Toma Todorov
    Toma Todorov 7 days ago

    What is that moaning from everybody about the headphones jack. Nobody cares about it anymore except just a bunch of youtubers....

  • OG CJM
    OG CJM 9 days ago

    4:32 white power hand gesture 😂

  • S Gill
    S Gill 9 days ago +1

    Try the Mate 20x. Way better than Note 9. And Note 10.

  • S Gill
    S Gill 9 days ago

    Huawei phones just last longer.

  • Shane P.
    Shane P. 9 days ago

    4:35
    wtf is wrong w/ your hand?
    look at 3rd slot.


    GOT YA !

    BTW THAT GUY IS FINE AS HELL !

  • Thunder Spikepaw
    Thunder Spikepaw 10 days ago

    the Samsung Note 10 will be a beast... with a glory hole and without headphone jack.... nice evolution Samsung, but the design... i love it XD
    To the P30... i really prefer the Note 9... the Note 9 is not the best on the market, but the speakers, the notchless desgin, Samsung´s One UI... it´s a much better phone in my opinion

  • Gersy
    Gersy 10 days ago

    Now this is a real review. You take pictures mostly of yourself and other people. Where this phone fails. And the UI is really annoying. Overall Huawei makes good phones for the average user who doesn't care about all that jazz and they can thank the good battery life for that.

  • peterpeterpeter101
    peterpeterpeter101 10 days ago

    Sebt back my P30 Pro the screen gave me a headache.the camera is overf hyped as well. edge detection could not pick out the wing mirror on my car,

  • JROQZ
    JROQZ 10 days ago

    actually u dont know how to use it #CAMERA

  • nomad 59
    nomad 59 10 days ago

    huawei full of spyware. Chinese govt watching you.

  • AI_GHOST
    AI_GHOST 10 days ago +3

    I don't why you got annoyed by the usage notification. It's the best idea for Android. It tells me if apps running in the background and using my microphone, even the app is from Google. But I want to know. Android apps simply have too much permission. I really appreciate this functionality.
    Killing background apps is not only good for the battery life, also for your privacy concern. I also really appreciate that. You have option to stop it like you discribed. The reason it didn't work for you because you have removed the app from the multi task menu by swiping it off the screen. The app didn't implement auto restart or notification long life method. It's not the OS problem. You also have option to lock the app in the multi task menu which you must have not done.
    Sent from Mate20Pro

  • Mr Peco
    Mr Peco 10 days ago

    (he's racist,
    but smart enough to mask it,
    and take what he can get)

  • Sander den Breejen
    Sander den Breejen 11 days ago +1

    Huawei is Tech stolen from the dutch.

  • Roohith Reddy
    Roohith Reddy 11 days ago +3

    Long live headphone jacks 🤩

  • Nathaniel12345678910
    Nathaniel12345678910 11 days ago

    This was one of the best reviews of the P30 Pro. Thank you for showing us that video recording problem

  • jofre uruena
    jofre uruena 11 days ago

    Wait Apple doesn't make their own CPUs, they only "design" them...

    • ska hu
      ska hu 11 days ago

      No they only design the case

  • Sten Prostyle
    Sten Prostyle 12 days ago

    i really want the look and screen of the s10+ with the p30 plus camera under 1000 dollars

  • Eisenwind
    Eisenwind 12 days ago

    Well, i think the software part is kinda not right. The Phone has in my opinion one of the best control centers. You dicede wich app is allowed to run or not. I hated it when apps start them self in the background.

  • Ivan Prskalo
    Ivan Prskalo 12 days ago +1

    Hands down, this is worst video I saw on this channel.

  • Jason Li
    Jason Li 12 days ago

    u know that the phone can photograph the moon,right?

  • Some Dude
    Some Dude 13 days ago

    Yes, buy that premium phone with the pretty glass back and then slap a shitty plastic sticker on the back. Ya mook.

  • vento danny
    vento danny 13 days ago +2

    I OWN P30 PRO AND IS THE BEST PHONE YOU CAN BUY

  • FB 1ali1996
    FB 1ali1996 13 days ago +1

    God damn where is 3.3 for this great Mfkn cool phone

  • Karen Alison
    Karen Alison 13 days ago +7

    Samsungs battery life always suck :( even if its 4000 mah

  • LIQUID SNAKE
    LIQUID SNAKE 15 days ago +5

    9:12
    from
    @Nathan
    to stop killing background app, you need 2 steps. you have only done one, the second step: setting-> search "special access"->"battery opimisation"-> turn off opimise on the app you want it running at background. you need to do both steps.

  • EarthTraveller1992
    EarthTraveller1992 15 days ago

    You have seriously good reviews! Thanks!

  • ballsofrock
    ballsofrock 15 days ago

    4:31 damn you got me

  • Alexandru Badic
    Alexandru Badic 16 days ago

    Note 9 is a better phone? For having a jack and not having a notch. Wow what a complex thinking. P30 pro is faster, has twice the charging speed of the note 9, the camera trashes samsung. Battery life better. I have a p30 and it s already miles better than the note 9, cuz i had that too, i had every single samsung and sorry but since p20 pro huawei beats them at almost everything.

  • Karen More
    Karen More 16 days ago

    华吹手机

  • Karen More
    Karen More 16 days ago

    !!!

  • Kinann Long
    Kinann Long 17 days ago

    You’ve got a very cuteeeee daughter.

  • Julio Ramirez
    Julio Ramirez 18 days ago

    On your Huawei ID settings you can find the code of your phone to unlock the bootloader, now its displayed in settings, I just compared the code of my old Mate 8 obtained with the old method and was the same as the shown in the device list on Huawei ID settings

  • nash sanadiki
    nash sanadiki 20 days ago

    It's a cross dressing OnePlus 6T

  • Gediminas Jesinas
    Gediminas Jesinas 20 days ago

    Video ISO?

  • Paladin Templar
    Paladin Templar 20 days ago

    Great advertising glitch. Let's promote DBand products at the end of a p30 Pro review. Guess what. They don't seem to sell p30 products period. Was that a dig at Huawei or a Booboo?

  • asnfhtm lzxsje
    asnfhtm lzxsje 21 day ago

    Y did u blurred that black women's face . U racist 😂

  • Spinkey
    Spinkey 22 days ago +1

    4:51 id probably cry if i woke up to him at the foot of my bed

  • CRz多 DeadShøt
    CRz多 DeadShøt 23 days ago

    2k19 huawei introduces 50x zoom 2k29 huawei introduces 100x zoom

  • Nouman ali
    Nouman ali 23 days ago

    👌👌👌🏼

  • Nawar Matti
    Nawar Matti 23 days ago

    i like this phone only for the battery

  • ali baba
    ali baba 24 days ago

    fuck off white shit

  • Techie Time With GD Three
    Techie Time With GD Three 26 days ago +12

    Anybody else notice that every phone he reviews is super slippery and needs a dbrand skin 🤣😂

  • combathotdog
    combathotdog 26 days ago

    All the bulk went into the camera’s power of this phone which I am very impressed. I ended up having to look at the s10plus because of the bulk and weight of this phone. Too much for me.

  • Shashank Bhardwaj
    Shashank Bhardwaj 26 days ago +2

    9:35 It's exactly dealbreakers like these that I need to know about before making a purchase. Thank you! Great video.

    • Danny Shi
      Danny Shi 26 days ago

      @Shashank Bhardwaj trueee

    • Shashank Bhardwaj
      Shashank Bhardwaj 26 days ago

      @Danny Shi yes bro. At flagship prices, I can't stand inconveniences. Plus small features like these are ones I use on a daily basis. Would pick a different flagship if stuff like this is missing in one.

    • Danny Shi
      Danny Shi 26 days ago +1

      bruh dats a deal breaker for u?

  • Shadows Within
    Shadows Within 27 days ago

    I have just got a p30 pro, got no issues with it. Yes the sound issue is fair, it's not that loud. The phone slipping out of my hand, not happened to me. And not getting my messages, not had that either. Some of your criticisms are personal to you, but not everybody needs the same applications.

  • Paul Munro
    Paul Munro 28 days ago +4

    The P30 Pro is a superb mobile. Camera, battery, performance, and aesthetics. All good.

  • 4fish
    4fish 28 days ago +1

    no matter what huawei does i will not buy their phones because of the locked bootloader. i would rather buy an iphone.

  • Facundo Abella
    Facundo Abella 29 days ago +7

    P30 (non pro) has the 3,5 mm headphone jack

    • FB 1ali1996
      FB 1ali1996 13 days ago

      But it's fuckd up ...I go with poco f1 butter

  • Nairn Crawford
    Nairn Crawford Month ago

    Hate Huawei. Not because of the spying speculation, just the bad products they make.

  • Ibrahim Parvej
    Ibrahim Parvej Month ago

    Huawei P30 Pro
    BUY NOW: amzn.to/2YjmFgW
    MORE REVIEW & SPECIFICATION: urlzs.com/xBG7K

  • Nier Ghost
    Nier Ghost Month ago +1

    Finally somebody to say the truth. Overpriced and less features. All phones in this price range have got atleast 2K display and stereo speakers whereas this crap dont. Wtf huawei? I wanted to buy this before just for a zoom camera but not anymore. Will go with note 9 or s10+ or even 1+7. Thanks Linus for speaking out truth unlike other asshole reviewers.

  • Darwin Cruz
    Darwin Cruz Month ago

    What watch are you using?

  • Kripaal Pradeep
    Kripaal Pradeep Month ago +1

    Bruh l, the reason u were born is because ur dad couldn't afford a condom.

  • RSV4 Rider
    RSV4 Rider Month ago +1

    @4.33 - that hand sign ?

  • JSmith
    JSmith Month ago

    Did P30 pro explode in your pocket?

  • DSMC
    DSMC Month ago

    Closed Caption please

  • ABO TURKI
    ABO TURKI Month ago

    Fuck you Linus, I can't disagree with everything you've said about the phone but at least give it a little smile at the end of the conclusion, you made me feel like I've an Okay flagship phone that not as good as the others or at least compete with the others. 😢