openSUSE Tumbleweed vs Gecko Linux Rolling - Linux Distro Reviews

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 19, 2019
  • A much requested look at the desktop friendly version of openSUSE Tumbleweed known as Gecko Linux Rolling. The first half of the video, I talk about what's unique to Gecko Rolling before going into Tumbleweed in a little more depth.
    Curated picks of best Linux-ready laptops: kit.com/ingalactic/linux-laptop-picks
    Check out the gear I use:
    kit.com/ingalactic/gear-i-use-to-create-videos
    Links:
    Donate here...thanks: bit.ly/MOO4KG
    Sign up to Dropbox: db.tt/Qg1VIS9T
    Facebook: ingalactic
    Blog: infinitelygalactic.blogspot.com
    Twitter: #!/ingalactic
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 78

  • S. B.
    S. B. 18 days ago +19

    Hi there! GeckoLinux creator here. Sorry about the delay with the updated ISOs, I've been crazy busy with other stuff, but still very committed to GeckoLinux since it's my own daily driver and I install it for all my friends. And as you noted, the openSUSE / zypper update process is so amazingly reliable that I haven't been all that motivated to update the ISOs. :-) Pretty amazing work by the openSUSE team eh? But thanks a lot for the GeckoLinux coverage, and I'm thrilled that you liked it. Cheers!

    • S. B.
      S. B. 15 days ago +2

      @Mark Budgie is no longer well maintained for openSUSE, so it's on hiatus until that situation changes.

    • Mark
      Mark 15 days ago

      What about the missing Budgie release?

    • WolfRites
      WolfRites 18 days ago

      Good to know. I'll definitely try out Gecko rolling once you get around to updating the isos, just to avoid any issues.

  • My Reviews
    My Reviews 15 days ago

    I'm installing this tonight. I just want to mention one thing that I was told here by a TheXvid viewer and it made a bit of sense to me and I hope that gecko doesn't have it, he said that opensuse messes up the hardware on the laptop even after you remove it and install another distro. It would cause freezes (which something I had complained about on another video). I don't know if that is true or not. Just wanted your opinion on it.

  • Red Robbo's Workshop
    Red Robbo's Workshop 16 days ago +3

    I'm approaching 12 months on Tumbleweed and not a single glitch - it's perfect, and thats with updating 2-3 times a week.
    Rolling done right.

  • cool water
    cool water 17 days ago

    I tried the official kde tumbleweed version. Overall, I liked it. The only issue I got is I can't get the third party codecs to work. I'll try the Gecko version.

  • Tyler's Tech
    Tyler's Tech 18 days ago

    I really quite like Tumbleweed

  • Danny Lampron
    Danny Lampron 19 days ago +2

    Im one of the victims of the last manjaro update :P

    • Danny Lampron
      Danny Lampron 16 days ago +1

      @S V I just returned to an old lts distro... And Im testing tumbleweed in virtual box to see when it will crash

    • S V
      S V 17 days ago

      It always crash sddm every update 😂 and now pamac freez while using AUR i don't know why..

  • Florin
    Florin 19 days ago +1

    Update that broke my Manjaro after 2 years is what made me move completely to Tumbleweed, Deuche qualitat!
    Calamares is very good but not as good as OpenSUSE installer which is the best out there.
    You're right about universal packages (fkatpak, appimage), this is why I install a small footprint OS and the rest in flatpack. Appimage seems to be better because you can firejail easier, but how the f**k you update appimages?

  • Charlike Mike Reagent
    Charlike Mike Reagent 19 days ago

    Is there any reason you are always saying the minor relase numbers like "one seven" or in XFCE case "one four" instead of seventeen and fourteen? It's annoying me sooooooooooo much.

  • WolfRites
    WolfRites 19 days ago +1

    I honestly thought GeckoLinux was dead?
    Edit: Seems like if the ISO's are that old, it's probably sort of dead. :p

    • S. B.
      S. B. 15 days ago

      It's not dead until I declare it dead. I just need to update the ISOs, but meanwhile it works perfectly to install the current ones and then `sudo zypper dup` to update the system.

  • Michał Dybczak
    Michał Dybczak 19 days ago

    My experience between Manjaro and Open Suse was the opposite. I run Manjaro for years without installing - that says a lot. Open Suse? It broke hours during the process of installing basic apps. Tried two times and the same happened. I also got error after errors, issues with finding out packages, etc. In a nutshell, Opensuse was a massive pain. I saw also a lot of discussions on Manjaro forum with people who had exactly the same experience. Manajaro is solid, Open Suse is much harder and easier to break. Of course, you also need to know your way around Manjaro too, otherwise it will break too, however, it's easy to fix and most breakages are nothing major.
    As to Gecko Linux, it was poorly localized as many other distros. If you review distros in English, you missed a whole layer of the work that goes into localization. 90% distros fail at it miserably even the popular ones. So MX Linux? Not good in non-English language, otherwise excellent... My experience is, Ubuntus and Manjaro are the top localized distros - just install it and everything is done and correctly in your native language. This is what I call a professionalism.

  • Mario Ahner
    Mario Ahner 19 days ago

    Manjaro is better 🤷🏼‍♂️

    • Cosmic Cleric
      Cosmic Cleric 17 days ago

      @Mario Ahner I honestly don't know who to believe. I hear some people saying openSUSE is bad/buggy use Manjaro instead, then I hear other people saying Manjaro is bad/buggy use openSUSE instead. I also hear that both can be software-bricked (from a non-experts 'able to restore' point of view). Can't help wondering if people's preference of Linux spin is getting in the way of facts, when they express opinions on the matter (last comment not directed at just you).

    • Mario Ahner
      Mario Ahner 19 days ago

      @Cosmic Cleric opensuse is slow and unstable, I had tried it for 2 days again. Opensuse tumbleweed! Never again.

    • Cosmic Cleric
      Cosmic Cleric 19 days ago

      How so?

  • Scotland Photo Girl
    Scotland Photo Girl 20 days ago

    Nice Vid. Must admit, had not heard of Gecko. But, been playing with it for 2 days now. I like it. I ‘dumped’ Ubuntu and Ubuntu Based Distro’s months ago. My ‘main’ distro of choice is currently Debian with the Mate DE. My ‘lightweight’ distro is MX. GR8 channel. I am Sub’d. Oh, BTW, What’s the ‘deal’ with your channel name ? Please explain in a future video.

  • CubicleNate
    CubicleNate 21 day ago +2

    Great review. I appreciate the fair review of Tumbleweed. I can tell you from personal experience that breakage is very rare. I have had to roll back a few times most of which was due to VirtualBox breaking. Now that I am using Libvirt / QEMU, this hasn't been necessary. I have used the snapshot feature when my fiddling about needed to be undone. I now run Tumbleweed on nearly all of my machines, including my server. Stability is just not a problem. If you are unsure as to whether or not to run updates, you can navigate to the snapshot reviewer site where it will tell you, very transparently, any issues that may exist.

  • Keyboard G
    Keyboard G 21 day ago +1

    When you say font rendering is better, it would be helpful if you said how they did it. Otherwise its just subjective.

  • Michael Pujos
    Michael Pujos 21 day ago

    Disappointing that you did not go with stock TW... font rendering is top notch in stock. There's also the net installer not requiring to download the full ISO. Been using TW for 1 year on my work laptop, with weekly zypper dup without breakage.

  • Hitomu Hibiki
    Hitomu Hibiki 21 day ago

    hello i like to pentest my devices will gecko linux / opensuse tumbleweed work with for example metasploit?

  • Bill Nguyen
    Bill Nguyen 21 day ago

    Been using Tumbleweed for about 6 months and it's been solid. The only time I had an issue was when I installed a beta version of Windscribe VPN for Linux and it worked great but disconnecting permanently kept the kill switch on so I couldn't reconnect to the internet. Just had to reboot and select a previous Btrfs snapshot and it's back up and running again.

  • cryptearth
    cryptearth 21 day ago +3

    about the broken boot config after updating: that's a base issue of opensuse tumbleweed itself - nothing to do with gecko
    reason: when you use a stable realse (like current leap 15.1) and run the normal update via yast the last step the update script does is refresh the bootconfig
    by using zypper directly with DUP command required in tumbleweed this last step isn't executed the way it should basicly breaking the boot config
    TLDR: when using tumbleweed and update with zypper dup just run mkinitrd afterwards to refresh bootconfig (you just can use "mkinitrd" instead of your grub command - fits the eco system better than tinker yourself with grub)

    • cryptearth
      cryptearth 16 days ago

      @Cultist of Gyarloth it depends on the current version and how long ago the last dup was
      as in the video it seems the base version from install was a few months ago - could be the reason
      also - linux is like lego: with 10 pieces 10 poeple come up with 10 different things - so it always depend on the system and its config
      its possible that something's different on your system than mine makes the difference
      I just threw in some info happend to me

    • Cultist of Gyarloth
      Cultist of Gyarloth 16 days ago

      That was never necessary for me, zypper dup seems to include this (even with nice colored output).

  • p trindx
    p trindx 21 day ago +2

    Gecko iso images are from 2018 this is a rolling distro do I have to update thousands of packages?!

  • David G
    David G 22 days ago

    Wow I did not know about gecko, I will try it out. Nice.

  • Raizer Crow
    Raizer Crow 22 days ago +3

    that wallpaper reminds me of linux mint gloria..
    yeah the good old days.

  • TheUnknown67
    TheUnknown67 22 days ago +2

    To get your 3D acceleration and whatnot in GNOME Boxes, you need to install the Spice tools inside the VM. You're using openSUSE, so you would need to run the command below to install the VM support (don't forget to reboot):
    sudo zypper in spice-vdagent

  • Mark
    Mark 22 days ago

    Gecko does not have the damn patterns... This is a must.

    • Mark
      Mark 15 days ago

      @Da Critter How Is Gecko Different From openSUSE?
      GeckoLinux offers customized editions optimized for different desktop environments, whereas openSUSE requires the user to know how to install patterns and packages for different desktop environments.
      GeckoLinux does not force the installation of additional recommended packages after system installation, whereas openSUSE pre-installs patterns and automatically installs recommended package dependencies, thus causing many additional and possibly unwanted packages to be installed the first time the package manager is used.
      GeckoLinux's desktop programs can be uninstalled with all their dependencies, whereas openSUSE's patterns often cause uninstalled packages to be automatically re-installed.
      This is what I hate about openSUSE and Gecko changed completely.

    • Da Critter
      Da Critter 17 days ago

      Patterns in YaST Software? They're there for me in Gecko - click upper left "view" then "patterns"

  • skogenburzum
    skogenburzum 22 days ago

    I'm gonna pretend I didn't see "open suse" in the title.

  • BrokenKanuck
    BrokenKanuck 22 days ago

    Excellent presentation, audio and content. Back to your original level of quality after the move! Great work!

  • Fubar AlAkbar
    Fubar AlAkbar 22 days ago

    Latest packages out of the box is what delights me about Manjaro Deepin--Thunderbird and Wine installed with a single command each, and without a hitch.
    PS: OpenSUSE is SatanOS. It ate two of my computers and nearly ate a third before I ripped it out of there (I still had some minor problems with that third machine even after replacing OpenSUSE with Kubuntu).
    I think it does something really bad to your hardware, and I'm not the only person to notice this. I'd advise you to rip it out of there while you still can.

  • mdjey2
    mdjey2 22 days ago +2

    Yet another distro review? Just why? How is that usefull?

    • BrokenKanuck
      BrokenKanuck 22 days ago +3

      @Human Being Nothing? So RAM consumption, grub configuration, use cases, updating paths, etc etc is nothing? You're being a drama queen.

    • Human Being
      Human Being 22 days ago +2

      it's called a review but they tell you NOTHING!!

    • BrokenKanuck
      BrokenKanuck 22 days ago +2

      mdjey2 you really haven’t got a handle on this channel, have you..

  • Patrick Lang
    Patrick Lang 22 days ago

    Hmm intriguing.

  • Michael Cowman
    Michael Cowman 22 days ago

    Really good info re grub. I tried Gecko just to try their Cinnamon at one stage and it was forever on kernel 4.16 and Cinnamon 3.8 lol. Just out of interest, IG, what mirror were you using? For me, with SUSE, the mirrors gave quite slow download rates. I did notice recently that there is now an Aussie Tier 2 mirror - is that safe to use? I had a couple of issues with SUSE (apart from download rates). For some reason, I kept getting 'elo errors' in my email app (usually Thunderbird) with my Telstra/Bigpond email provider and secondly, a couple of times there were updates of over 3000 items which took me forever to download (I suspect full pattern updates?) Apart from that, I think SUSE is an amazingly polished distro and I am a real Plasma fan, but I just couldn't get a stable email environment and those huge updates eventually broke me. Thanks for this video though, it was good to go over those two distros again :)

  • Zen on
    Zen on 22 days ago +1

    Solus

  • Anzan Hoshin Roshi
    Anzan Hoshin Roshi 22 days ago +1

    Thank you, IG. I haven't used openSUSE in many many years. I am still fond of it though.

  • Garth
    Garth 22 days ago +2

    Arch there is NO OTHER.. Open Suse is behind even the kernel

    • Red Robbo's Workshop
      Red Robbo's Workshop 16 days ago

      Behind for a few days, a small price for being rock solid.

    • TheDrunkenAlcoholic
      TheDrunkenAlcoholic 17 days ago

      @Da Critter Solus OS is a rolling release and gremlins are unheard of. well atleast I have never heard of a Solus update braking the system

    • Da Critter
      Da Critter 17 days ago

      I like both Arch and Tumbleweed. I've definitely spent my share of time fixing broken shit in both from time to time -- stock Arch more frequently than Arco, Manjaro, or TW - but any "rolling" release will gremlin you from time to time.

    • WolfRites
      WolfRites 18 days ago +2

      TW isn't behind by much, and I'll take that tiny bit of delay over broken ass systems anyday.

    • Mykola Krachkovsky
      Mykola Krachkovsky 22 days ago +1

      behind for a little time, that doesn't matter, but instead we have pretty fine tested snapshots.

  • Willdrick
    Willdrick 22 days ago +6

    Oh my god, I had to pause the video and go download Tumbleweed. I had already given up and went debian buster for my old T60 laptop (x86 only).
    Thanks a lot for the spotlight, I've used OpenSuse before they started going crazy with the version numbers, and indeed it's rock solid. If you're a tinkerer, you might want to avoid this one, it literally gets boring being unable to break anything on it

  • Wietse de Jong
    Wietse de Jong 22 days ago +4

    After a year on arch and after that tumbleweed is say that tumbleweed is more stable and lets you get more work done. Arch is more like a hobby..

  • Fake name
    Fake name 22 days ago

    Still no support for RTL8821CE out of the box, just like not in any other at this point.

  • saleh mohamed
    saleh mohamed 22 days ago +8

    Opensuse tumbleweed is a debian.
    (Stability wise )

  • Scytale
    Scytale 22 days ago +2

    Two things:
    - Last time I checked, Gecko Linux didn't provide a proper partition layout with btrfs and snapper preconfigured. Some may not want to use the features of btrfs and it's a main feature of openSUSE and it's incredible ability to fix the worst upgrade and user sudo -somethingstupid- with just a reboot.

    - I'm almost a year on TW on 2 Gaming PCs. None of Gecko Linux additional features are really great. They may save you 15 minutes of configuration. Packman/Nvidia etc. can be added via GUI in YAST. Font Rendering is already at the level of the other Linux distros. TLP can be installed during the installation (and I think it will be automatically selected if using a notebook).

    • Scytale
      Scytale 22 days ago

      @Med BH I don't know. But it's not recommended for Nvidia users to use Tumbleweed as the drivers reguralry doesn't keep up with the kernel. At least you should be aware of it and know how to handle that.

    • Med BH
      Med BH 22 days ago

      are nvidia optimus video cards supported out of the box? Do upgrades break optimus/bumblebee support?

  • Hendrix Smith
    Hendrix Smith 22 days ago +12

    I've been using Tumbleweed almost daily for about 7 years. Maybe like once per 3 months some application may have a problem, usually failing to start. it's usually fixed in next update so in matter of days. you can also rollback if you use btrfs or use older snapshot (TW updates are snapshots). TW has never failed to boot or anything serious like that for me. great distro overall.

  • lemler 3
    lemler 3 22 days ago +4

    arch, there are no other options

    • Scupake
      Scupake 22 days ago

      @lemler 3 dnf is slow but it's reliable, eopkg is the fastest pkg manager I ever used but it fails from time to time

    • lemler 3
      lemler 3 22 days ago

      ​@Scupake DNF is slow if you ask me, I know they are trying to port it to C to make it faster but I don't know how that's going. and I've never use eopkg personally

    • Scupake
      Scupake 22 days ago

      @lemler 3 pcaman is okay dnf is better eopkg is too (just saying but people thing that eopkg is bad but it's great)

    • Mykola Krachkovsky
      Mykola Krachkovsky 22 days ago +1

      @Kevin Klement yeah, ArchWiki is legendary, I'm an openSUSE user but used ArchWiki a lot. openSUSE wiki is quite lame tbh.

    • Mykola Krachkovsky
      Mykola Krachkovsky 22 days ago

      @Scupake and openSUSE has OBS, maybe it's not so full as AUR, but still.

  • Ashish Patel
    Ashish Patel 22 days ago +7

    Love Fedora.

    • Justin Lamp
      Justin Lamp 21 day ago +1

      Me2 But I think that I'll give this one a go as I'm also a fan of Arch

    • Imperfect Servant
      Imperfect Servant 22 days ago +1

      For the win.

  • Jace Nelson
    Jace Nelson 22 days ago +3

    Manjaro

    • Falk M
      Falk M 22 days ago

      @Fubar AlAkbar deepin jokes never get old. One of the little des that are worse than gnome.

    • Fubar AlAkbar
      Fubar AlAkbar 22 days ago +1

      Manjaro Deepin. Two days into a one-week challenge, and loving it :D