Huawei Mate 20 Pro Review: The People's Choice!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Dec 15, 2018
  • Mate 20 Pro won the blind camera test. How good is the rest of the phone?
    The blind smartphone camera test: thexvid.com/video/_5-bo8a4zU0/video.html
    Mate 20 Pro skins: dbrand.com/huawei
    MKBHD Merch: shop.MKBHD.com
    Video Gear I use: kit.com/MKBHD/video-gear#recommendation17959
    Tech I'm using right now: www.amazon.com/shop/MKBHD
    Intro Track: Muggsy Bogues by Alltta
    ~
    MKBHD
    snapchat.com/add/MKBHD
    google.com/+MarquesBrownlee
    MKBHD
    MKBHD
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 7 704

  • TheTuubster
    TheTuubster 3 days ago

    7:00 Surprised that the RAW functionality for photos is almost never mentioned. The produced JPGs lose a lot of the details and sharpness due to heavy denoising. You can load up the RAW files into Lightroom or RawTherapee and get photos with all the details in surfaces and sharpness right down to the single pixels. I never use the JPGs produced, they are shit against what you can do with the RAW image data.

  • Bull Dozzah
    Bull Dozzah 8 days ago

    OK fine il as, is that your McLaren?

  • Sebastian_Wheeler_96

    Normally, on Huawei, if you double tap the open tabs button it goes to the second newest app, that's easier and faster 😊

  • chumpy
    chumpy 11 days ago

    Is the internal microphone really bad? I'm a musician and use my phone a lot for recording ideas (guitar and vocals mostly) and a bad sounding mic would be a deal breaker. Is that the case?

  • chumpy
    chumpy 11 days ago

    Is the internal microphone really bad? I'm a musician and use my phone a lot for recording ideas (guitar and vocals mostly) and a bad sounding mic would be a deal breaker. Is that the case?

  • chumpy
    chumpy 11 days ago

    Is the internal microphone really bad? I'm a musician and use my phone a lot for recording ideas (guitar and vocals mostly) and a bad sounding mic would be a deal breaker. Is that the case?

  • john francis Valiente
    john francis Valiente 15 days ago

    I hope to have that huawei mate 20pro 😓😔

  • RockCatGamerYT
    RockCatGamerYT 15 days ago +2

    my mum just bought it today lol

    • Set Gaming
      Set Gaming 14 days ago

      You like it?? which color?

  • Arjun Singh
    Arjun Singh 15 days ago

    Notch with curved display is my favroit

  • Bibijn Jami
    Bibijn Jami 16 days ago

    Review the huawei mate 30 pro

  • Hirameku
    Hirameku 16 days ago

    Now that the price has gone down, should i buy mate 20 pro($520) or mi 9t pro($405)?

  • Ricardo Andrade
    Ricardo Andrade 21 day ago +3

    Hey! I have my mate 20 pro for more than 8 months and I never had that bug when I tried to open the most recent app with one tap. If it was a bug, it was corrected early one...
    Ps. I am waiting for the mate 30 pro review 😉

    • BattleScones
      BattleScones 11 days ago

      It wont have GAPPS. It's probably going to be somewhat unusable in western markets.

  • Mofassel Hossain
    Mofassel Hossain 22 days ago +1

    Just subscribed your channel. Good deep reviews. Thanks.

  • Matt
    Matt 23 days ago

    Hi there. Question for those who are more experienced in this area. I can get a new Mate Pro for like 480 bucks. Do you think, it's still worth it, especially at this price? Greets.

    • n m
      n m 9 days ago

      Yes. And yes you do get Google apps on it

    • 96 i
      96 i 23 days ago

      Yeah but do u get Google services on mate 20 pro

  • jb brilata
    jb brilata Month ago

    Marques BrownLee
    Thank you for getting me into tech
    i love you
    virtually❤️

  • Lalboi Manlun
    Lalboi Manlun Month ago +2

    Reverse wireless
    He said it's a gimmick and now Samsung is copying that.

  • Hazel Eclar
    Hazel Eclar Month ago

    Planning to get one soon so I'm here for reviews

  • SuperJuvent
    SuperJuvent Month ago

    How about the mate 20 ?

  • David Daniel
    David Daniel Month ago

    Intro of the year

  • Joyjeet Paul
    Joyjeet Paul Month ago

    What's the current price of it ?

  • Matts Koldewijn
    Matts Koldewijn Month ago +1

    Maybe youtubers don't consider the influence their reviews have for buyers everywhere else from the US. It really helps me as a European

  • Allan Atwell
    Allan Atwell Month ago

    Does it have 5g?

    • D -Tox
      D -Tox Month ago

      No but there is the Mate 20 X 5G which have it

  • Abdal
    Abdal Month ago

    i dont care about camera, ill go for it because nice design and good battery + 40W turbo charge

  • Anak Mehuspas
    Anak Mehuspas Month ago

    That intro was dope

  • Elias Bader
    Elias Bader Month ago

    I have the Note 9 now but am so tempted to get a mate 20 pro now, gonna go for it as 2nd phone as long as i have a 2nd sim to plug in, thx for the honest review, loved it!

    • Jeon Ryouta
      Jeon Ryouta 27 days ago

      @Mugiwara Luffy 1440p screen is much better than 1080p
      Crispy af , but i know it will drain the battery faster than luffy becomes the king of pirates :p

    • Mugiwara Luffy
      Mugiwara Luffy Month ago

      Just wait for mate 30 pro bruh

  • Trisha Vibal
    Trisha Vibal Month ago

    i love it! i will have one definitely!

  • Albert Junior Mhaka
    Albert Junior Mhaka 2 months ago

    Why the Samsung comparison? All phone companies copy each other

  • Wayne Vaughan
    Wayne Vaughan 2 months ago

    Who actually listens to music on their phone speaker?

    • Wayne Vaughan
      Wayne Vaughan 20 days ago

      Maybe I'm the odd one out then. If I don't have a Bluetooth speaker or my Sonos available I'd rather not listen to music.

    • D -Tox
      D -Tox Month ago

      Me ✋🏼 sometimes in the background a video or some music

    • nBasterd
      nBasterd 2 months ago +2

      We do. It is important.

  • Ronnie Uy
    Ronnie Uy 2 months ago

    How's the phone 3d scanning capability?

  • l3L4CKY
    l3L4CKY 2 months ago +1

    But Batterypercentage in the Batterysymbol, than you have one more place on the left side of the notch.

  • gd ess
    gd ess 2 months ago

    Idc about the software, I use Huawei for about 5 years so🤷🏻‍♂️

  • Diamantis _2026
    Diamantis _2026 2 months ago

    Should I buy this phone in 2019

    • Andrei Reginatto
      Andrei Reginatto 2 months ago

      @Rasmus B it has 40mp camera. Even if it had lower resolution, it's not important, resolution is kinda useless

    • Rasmus B
      Rasmus B 2 months ago

      @Andrei Reginatto the p30 pro has lower resolution then the mate 20 pro.

    • Andrei Reginatto
      Andrei Reginatto 2 months ago

      With you are OK with importing it, with you find for a lower price than p30 pro, go with it. Otherwise, go with p30 pro

  • Ali Zaidi
    Ali Zaidi 2 months ago +1

    MARKASS BROWNLEE

  • Soccer90 Tem
    Soccer90 Tem 2 months ago

    This or p30?

  • GOSSIPKIDER TECH
    GOSSIPKIDER TECH 2 months ago +4

    MCU marques cinematic universe as the video was continued from camera test 😂😂

  • Richard Sestoso
    Richard Sestoso 2 months ago

    Its samusng

  • Chris Ayres
    Chris Ayres 2 months ago

    Apple fucked up by not having their camera in the middle on iPhone 11

  • c9mih
    c9mih 2 months ago +2

    you know what makes mkbhd better than most reviewers? it's he focuses the video on the object he reviews, NOT his face.

  • Alexander Windh
    Alexander Windh 2 months ago

    i get like 8-9 hours if im lucky of battery time. And 4-5 hours of screen on time. don't play any games or heavy usage :S

  • Jack
    Jack 2 months ago

    7:50 mine never does this and nothing is glitchy

  • S B
    S B 2 months ago +2

    Samclown, apple are over price, got my mate 20 pro for 650.

  • Stamp Nattapee
    Stamp Nattapee 2 months ago +1

    what is his android launcher? That's so nice. Pls tell me

  • J TOEICer
    J TOEICer 2 months ago +3

    emui9.1 is really good on the Mate 20 Pro. It now has 30x zoom, gestures are very useful compared with Samsung ONE UI.
    The only part I don't like is the Game launcher not being able to record only the game sound when I use earphones.

  • Aleksandre Mzhavia
    Aleksandre Mzhavia 2 months ago +1

    This handsome bastard knows how to pick a great intro music.

  • Chouaib Mouatassim
    Chouaib Mouatassim 2 months ago +3

    What is price of mate 20 pro ?
    And what is better note 9 or mate 20 pro ?

  • Justyburger
    Justyburger 2 months ago

    I actually like the speaker under the charge port, because it makes dual use of the same space. Also most of the time, the phone is not on charge anyway. I think my next phone is going to be a Huawei. They are just too good for the price.

  • akeee
    akeee 2 months ago

    What's the best wireless charger for the Mate 20 Pro? Just bought one :)

  • Mishter KHALID
    Mishter KHALID 3 months ago +2

    wait what? was that a pewdiepie's headphone at 3:03 !!!

  • KiDs Toys Channel
    KiDs Toys Channel 3 months ago

    I do love this phone, it is really damp good

  • DuckAlert Beats
    DuckAlert Beats 3 months ago

    What IS up guys...
    Now, generally the phrase is what's up. Obviously. Everyone knows this.
    Until TheXvid!!!!
    Then, to cap things off, a piece of inanimate tech is a 'guy'

    All within a couple of seconds.

    This is unacceptable really. Is there an unwritten law of annoying vocal tics that every TheXvidr must subscribe to or something???

  • Pretty Nwamba
    Pretty Nwamba 3 months ago

    I can't wait to use Choogle :'D

  • Pretty Nwamba
    Pretty Nwamba 3 months ago

    Very informative. Thanks for sharing.

  • Michael Reed
    Michael Reed 3 months ago

    I just bought one of these on Amazon about 3 minutes ago then found this video :)
    Do you happen to know if there's been any software update to resolve the multitasking thing etc?

    • D -Tox
      D -Tox Month ago

      I would recommend to use the gesture control instead of the 3 buttons

    • Michael Reed
      Michael Reed 2 months ago

      @Chris Cac thanks !

    • Chris Cac
      Chris Cac 2 months ago +2

      They have had lots of updates, all resolved, mine now runs emui 9.1 with extra features and bug fixes..

  • TBD Drawing
    TBD Drawing 3 months ago

    2:52
    Are those literally pewds headphones

  • Faiyaz Hasan
    Faiyaz Hasan 3 months ago +1

    Why he is so sad?

  • Shashank Sastry
    Shashank Sastry 3 months ago

    For the multitasking bug, I would recommend double tapping the multitasking button to switch to ur second most-recently-used app. Works on my LG v20 running Android 8.0.0

  • Musa Madha
    Musa Madha 3 months ago

    Ho

  • steamy tree
    steamy tree 3 months ago +2

    3:03 the the right you can see Signatur Pewdiepie headphones

    ------ VERY NICE 👍 👋😁

  • zac morris
    zac morris 3 months ago +1

    Sponsored by Samsung ?

  • manpreet Singh
    manpreet Singh 3 months ago

    3:02.. Sorry u don't exist (3.5mm headphone) 😂👍