Us - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 20, 2019
  • Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Us, starring Lupita Nyong’o, Winston Duke, Elisabeth Moss, Tim Heidecker, Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, Anna Diop, Evan Alex, Shahadi Wright Joseph, Madison Curry, Cali Sheldon, Noelle Sheldon. Directed by Jordan Peele.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 5 600

  • Lisa Brown
    Lisa Brown 17 hours ago

    You look a bit like a young Jason Issacs

  • Lisa Brown
    Lisa Brown 17 hours ago

    Watched it again last night as I purchased the movie on Sky Store . Noticed more this time (knowing what I now know). Adelaide was hyper tense from the mention of Santa Cruz Beach onward .

  • Star
    Star 18 hours ago

    i watched good movies,this aint it......

  • Eklypised
    Eklypised 23 hours ago

    I had high hopes for this movie. I thought it sucked ass

  • dganz1
    dganz1 Day ago

    A-? this movie was not very good. Could have been a 1 hour episode of the twilight zone or black mirror.

  • smart guy in a hoodie

    Get out was good, riiiiight, aside from that incorrect statement how was us?

  • goodguynow
    goodguynow Day ago

    I f***ing loved the twist ending

  • Koen Altena
    Koen Altena 2 days ago

    Who created the underground base

  • AMS_Cult _
    AMS_Cult _ 3 days ago +1

    This film was pure shit

  • William Bilyou
    William Bilyou 4 days ago +1

    Movie was trash, and the way the doubles talked was corny asf, I couldn't help but get annoyed.

  • Undercity Games
    Undercity Games 4 days ago

    I got 5 on it is 100% about drugs... just sayin

  • Riri Airi
    Riri Airi 4 days ago

    I hated this movie.

  • Allah Turbo
    Allah Turbo 5 days ago

    worst movie i seen in 2019 so far
    look guys, we don't have to give fake praise just because they had bunch of blacks

    • JB 1996
      JB 1996 4 days ago

      It’s not fake praise because they’re black it’s getting praise for it good cinematography great performances and a pretty good plot twists it’s not amazing by any means but it’s not awful either I’ll give it a 6/10 and I’m sticking to it

  • Allen Jun Genoraga
    Allen Jun Genoraga 5 days ago

    SHIT MOVIE

  • Alex Ramirez
    Alex Ramirez 5 days ago

    I did not like this movie... Wasnt scary.

  • Deidre Arnoldin
    Deidre Arnoldin 6 days ago

    This movie sucked

  • Ijaz Mailbox
    Ijaz Mailbox 6 days ago

    I loved this movie.

  • Scott Wilson
    Scott Wilson 6 days ago

    US sucked dude wtf 😂

  • Kakada Tuot
    Kakada Tuot 6 days ago

    just watch the movie. did i like the story? i felt it was done before. Did i enjoy it? it was okay. Would i recommended watching it? Prolly not.

  • John P.
    John P. 6 days ago

    This is by far one of the most clever scripts for horror film the last 20 years! Amazing movie!

  • Cherry Soda
    Cherry Soda 9 days ago

    this one doesn't even come close to GET OUT

  • Sagesauce
    Sagesauce 9 days ago

    *just saw this film* Get Out was a 7/10 for me, sadly no replayability. Us had me invested in the beginning, I was eager to find out what happened to the little girl. Copies were introduced and I was ehhh ok I guess? let's continue. Another 10-15 minutes I was bored out of my eyes. This film literally went from 100 to 0 after the copies were revealed. A painful sit through of the family's one on one ordeal with each other, what the fuck was I watching? A bad Zombieland? No sense of dread, atmosphere, heck even the kids weren't scared after a while. Go rewatch the intro and tell me that's the same movie, I dare you. A complete. change. of. tone. NOT ONE scene, moment or line of dialogue came close to even winning me back slightly. Props to the ending though because you had me gobsmacked. My mouth was literally open for the entire final sequence, that's not a compliment, I was gobsmacked at how the movie just catapulted its already dogshit state and splattered it all over a wall & called it art.

    I don't care how deep, or how many underlying themes or messages this film tries to portray, directors need to prioritise a good movie before drowning it with pretentious ideologies. 2/10

  • Me Me
    Me Me 9 days ago +2

    I tried watching the film, but couldn't even watch half of it.
    It's overrated.

  • SeriousNonsense
    SeriousNonsense 9 days ago

    I had to comment about this stuff in the comments, you can dislike the movie, that’s fine. But it’s a little too much when people bring racism into the conversation. If you dislike the movie you don’t have to be rude as fuck about it either. The movie was fantastic and I agree with Chris completely

  • Literal Scumbag
    Literal Scumbag 9 days ago

    The first Act was incredible. But the movie fell out by the 2nd, and went to shit in the 3rd. Lupita was amazing, but if the movie was better then her preformance would have been better.

  • JDoGGYDiZZLE
    JDoGGYDiZZLE 9 days ago

    OK. Here's the real review.
    1. The story was original.
    2. The acting was phenomenal.
    3. The plot twist at the end was great.
    But...
    They're the only good points about this hugely cliché movie. Not once was I scared, not once did it make me jump. I could read every scene like a book. There's 100 loose ends that need tidying up.
    Oh but wait, the cast was black!! Oh well here, take my token vote for an Oscar... No. It was average at best. It wasn't horror. It wasn't scary. It was just a fresh idea executed averagely... I found it garbage personally if I'm honest. I was like... "is that it?" by the end...
    Move 3/10
    Story 8/10
    Acting 10/10
    Everything else 4/10
    Overall 5/10
    Honest opinion.
    BTW. Blade trilogy is one of my favourite trilogies so don't call me a racist you 2019 cucks.

  • Milka Warouw
    Milka Warouw 10 days ago

    this movie Sucks...

  • Sky M
    Sky M 10 days ago

    movie was boring and stupid

  • Sky Tyler
    Sky Tyler 10 days ago

    Watched yesterday, movie was dumb ass fuck.

  • Austin Martin
    Austin Martin 10 days ago

    OH MY GOD HE LOOKS LIKE JOSH GATES!

  • Kristal Price
    Kristal Price 12 days ago +1

    I checked these out at the library .. today .. I'm watching it in the dark my house is quit . So I watching it

  • Patrick Tilsley
    Patrick Tilsley 13 days ago

    I was really disappointed with this movie, if it’s a horror movie, make it scary! Don’t fill it with Jokes by trying to make it a comedy horror. That’s for a separate movie. And it has littrally no violence or gore!! It’s MA your allowed to put a bit of violence in!! I absolutely hated this movie, worst movie of 2018. And also it was too confusing to enjoy it. The whole time your trying tho think about what’s happening, rather just watching it

  • JoeyDoesStuff
    JoeyDoesStuff 13 days ago +2

    Rotten tomatoes audience score: 62%
    Are you serious?!

  • Take 21 Productions
    Take 21 Productions 13 days ago +1

    Toni Collette was the best damn actress of last year in Hereditary!!! like what the hell! No oscar or golden globe nod!!! ugh I hate to love Hollywood.

  • Ultra CNC
    Ultra CNC 14 days ago

    I just don't understand why this film gets the praise it does. The acting was OK, the plot was just retarded on so many levels and just a super letdown that had me "all in" right up to the part where they went back to...that place (IDR what it was that's how memorable it was).
    What a shame, it had so much potential to just BE A GOOD MOVIE.

  • corpus FUSION
    corpus FUSION 14 days ago

    This movie is the most "overcompensation" reviewed film ever. Really? The writing didn't tell why, what, and how these "underground people" exist. The treat was so WEAK, I never felt the family was in any real danger or any harm for coming to them. Stop overcompensation this trash and point out the writing flaws as you do with every horror film you review.

  • Sam Forderer
    Sam Forderer 15 days ago

    Awful, awful film. Objectively awful. I don’t even buy that these are chris’ true thoughts. I have a feeling anyone who criticizes this film would be deemed anti-black

  • Whip-Smart Outlook
    Whip-Smart Outlook 15 days ago +1

    Could someone tell me how they manufactured 300 million correctly-sized, color-matched, cotton-combed, high function (working zippers and all) red coveralls with leather half-gloves?
    Less importantly, “Red” claims they are human in every way (they even shared a soul) so where were all the infants, toddlers, kids, teens, etc. from all the boinking going on with The Tethered down there?
    Oh, and where were the tens/hundreds of millions of rotting shadow corpses kept. Last thing; the dookie and rivers of urine ... did anyone see toilets down there? That digested bunny had to go somewhere!

  • Milos Stojanovic
    Milos Stojanovic 16 days ago

    mehh, it was barely average movie, did not like it, people are stupid, they just got murdered easily, cops should have shot them as soon as they started invading people. This deserve barely C-

  • jorgeconj
    jorgeconj 17 days ago +2

    Classic millenials praising something just for trying.
    Loooooooooooooottttttssssss of plot holes 😑

  • magnetictheory
    magnetictheory 17 days ago

    I'm 42. I've been watching horror much longer than Chris. This movie sucked massive ass and Jordan Peele is enormously overrated. This was not a horror. It wasn't even a thriller. It was somewhere between Sesame Street and fuck off. Not scary. Just huge piles of dumb.

  • Dat Pill
    Dat Pill 17 days ago

    Does he spoil the movie in these videos?

  • Matthew Keyes
    Matthew Keyes 17 days ago

    More of a twright zone episode .music great. Ending eh 3.5 of 5.

  • Fistous Mc'Cleveland
    Fistous Mc'Cleveland 17 days ago

    Turned this movie off at 1 hour 11 minutes. What a disappointment.

  • Richard Andrews
    Richard Andrews 17 days ago +1

    Movie was Hot Garbage. Most of you reviewers are all over Peels balls. For fuck sake he made one alright movie.

  • papi jojo
    papi jojo 18 days ago

    I think us was so good, really makes you think and connect the dots afterwards. Which is what Jordan does so well

  • Yanis Kaps
    Yanis Kaps 18 days ago

    I would give Us - B-

  • WeLikeSportz
    WeLikeSportz 18 days ago

    It's actually insane the amount of reviewers that like this trash movie. Seems more like a scared political position.
    Get Out was my favourite movie of 2017 so maybe I was just expecting too much, but it was honestly a 3/10 at most. The amount of tropes and comedic moments made it seem like a rip on horror movies. And when I say comedic moments I mean laughing at, not with.

  • blazin871
    blazin871 18 days ago

    Definitely do not agree with this review I thought it was more of a comedy than horror a good movie just couldn’t find much horror in it a lot of suspense but nothing that was what I would consider scary

  • Ashley Lynn
    Ashley Lynn 18 days ago

    I hope James of AVGN makes a movie before you man.

  • El Jefe
    El Jefe 19 days ago

    Pure fantasy and unrealistic leaving you with many questions. Acting was good but I hated it. I found myself asking how and why so many times.

  • Phantomdaze
    Phantomdaze 19 days ago +7

    You will definately have a new perspective the second time you watch this movie.
    Edit: Really don't get why people don't like the movie. I thought it was really good. It's more of a thriller than horror tho.

    • Mario Garcia
      Mario Garcia 12 days ago +1

      I think that’s why people didn’t really like it. They went in expecting a movie that was very straightforward and (probably) full of cliche “horror” moments. And I agree with Chris; I’m wanting more ambiguity from it. I think it’s a very well written movie overall tho, it definitely works better as a thriller.

  • Kyle Grimes
    Kyle Grimes 19 days ago

    This is the review that made me unsub. Bye Chris

  • Jay Sony
    Jay Sony 19 days ago +1

    I fucking adore Get Out. The atmosphere and creep factor in that is unparalleled. US extremely disappointed me. I even gave it another shot last night to see if my mind would change and not one bit. I get the ambition but the execution was just piss poor. Probably more comedic than was intended. With the doppelgängers shouting out nonsense like a caveman, the burned kid walking on fours like a monkey, and Red’s raspy voice monologue.....no ma’am. Oh and let’s not forget the Tylers’ stupid facial expressions, especially when Kitty was putting on lipgloss. The “twist” also didn’t really work for me. It felt like a twist just for the fuck of there being a twist but without some context that made sense.

  • Hunter Trevathan
    Hunter Trevathan 19 days ago

    Originality doesn’t mean good. This movie is an example of that. It was a bit pretentious with its social message and style, I know I’m not supposed to take everything literally but the characters and the execution just wasn’t there for me. The way they would react to the situation they were in was not relatable at all. Obviously I know the movie is meant to be outrageous and campy in some ways but I found myself feeling nothing throughout the movie.
    I wasn’t scared, I wasn’t intrigued, and I wasn’t even interested in what was going on despite knowing what was happening. The characters had weird and distracting accents, the acting felt off despite some nicely executed emotional moments. I didn’t identify with the family because they weren’t reacting accordingly to how most people would react in a situation that makes no sense to them at first. We all fear what we don’t understand and that fear didn’t translate for me on screen. They seemed way too subdued especially the dad. He was really fucking weird and felt disconnected from the situation they were dealing with.

  • AngryLittleGnome
    AngryLittleGnome 20 days ago

    What's "the other lens" that Chris talks about? I've seen the movie once so feel free to tell me.

  • Chaizin
    Chaizin 20 days ago

    And when Jim Carrey took the role in Sonic the Hedgehog movie. Or at least the trailer.


    (...hopefully)

  • skooly nugenator
    skooly nugenator 20 days ago

    I was completely underwhelmed by this movie. And the "twist" ending was not plausible.

  • Zerox
    Zerox 20 days ago

    Im really disapppinted with your review of this movie. Are you just jumping the hype train when the movie is popular?

  • MetroCC
    MetroCC 20 days ago

    A-? Predicted C or C+ from Chris, but meh...

  • Danny Hustle
    Danny Hustle 20 days ago

    Overrated it not scary at all jordan peele is the most overrated director of all time just because he black absolutely bullshit as horror movie fan that movie shit he just copy so many classic movie so unoriginal.

  • redskins3724
    redskins3724 20 days ago

    Terrible movie compared to Get Out

  • Charlie Walker
    Charlie Walker 21 day ago

    Just saw this movie. Knew nothing about it before seeing it. It was hilarious, was it meant to be a comedy? 😂 not scary, poor dialogue throughout, fun but plays on the twist at the end too much. All round meh.
    6/10

  • Noelle-Spades
    Noelle-Spades 21 day ago

    I wish I had a good first viewing of the movie. I loved it but the theatre was filled with assholes that laughed and spoke through the important *quiet* scenes. There was also some dude next to my sister who had the phone out for half the movie who then, while we were leaving the theatre had the audacity to say, "I didn't like it, I didn't understand half of what was going on."
    I bit my tongue, but I wanted to say "if you had half a brain you'd have kept your phone off throughout it." Guess I'll just have to enjoy a second viewing once I get a DVD or something. I never want to go to a packed theatre again.

  • Erika Figueroa
    Erika Figueroa 21 day ago

    I think this entire movie is being taken too literal especially the ending. Yes there were flaws no doubt, but this wasn' t trash. The entire movie was metaphor on a lot of social problems in the US, which are swept under the rug especially mental health. Especially when they asked, who are you people, and she said we're Americans. But maybe it's just me.

  • Colin Searle
    Colin Searle 21 day ago

    I think that Get Out was a far better film, this was absolute crap. It was only slightly original and so very boring and tedious. There were a few good moments but this shows that modern horror is really in a bad way. I thought that Hereditary was superb and gives me a glimmer of hope but horror really needs a make-over and this surely isn't it. If you think that this was a good horror film, then that just shows how low the standards have dropped.

  • Rolands Gēgermanis
    Rolands Gēgermanis 21 day ago +1

    Absolute trash! Couldn't even finish watching it.

  • Kaze Vongola
    Kaze Vongola 21 day ago

    Chris: People need to make good horror.
    Also Chris: Gives A- to Us...This is why we have so much shit in this genre.

  • Essie S
    Essie S 21 day ago

    This movie was shit.

  • Monokuma
    Monokuma 22 days ago

    The movie evolves as you watch it. The plot in itself wasn't as good, but the underlying messages and the subliminal messages with even simple objects was amazing! Not as good as Get Out, but I'm can still appreciate it for what it is.

  • Fahad Qader
    Fahad Qader 22 days ago

    Where was all the police, i thought USA police like shooting black ppl,and no police in the whole movie wtf

  • oscar meraz
    oscar meraz 22 days ago

    This movie BOMBED BIG TIME!!!if u liked this you are super wierd!!

  • barnakl
    barnakl 22 days ago

    mannnnn....just saw it and it blew my mind. i was annoyed with all the subtlety you used in your review but im glad you did. this movie makes me excited for other movies hes gonna make. dude clearly had a mind for the unexpected and i cant wait to see what else he makes...even though he doesnt like to cast white people for whatever reason...

  • Tim Shannon
    Tim Shannon 22 days ago

    I dont understand what everyone saw in this movie but it was horrible I couldn't even watch to the end it was soo bad, I loved Get Out! Watched it numerous times, dont get the good reviews on this one

  • daniel dunbar
    daniel dunbar 23 days ago

    Ha what are you talking about, this movie sucked butt

  • Trey Atkins
    Trey Atkins 23 days ago

    2019, for me, has been an extremely lousy year for movies. Glass didn't make any sense, Pet Sematary was the most embarrassing Steven King Adaptation I have ever seen, and Avengers Endgame IMO is just plain overrated. Even though have seen a fair share of shit come out this year, Jordan Peele's Us gave me break and entertained me in the best ways possible. Lupita Nyong'o does an excellent job in this film, and the rest of the cast are really enjoyable to watch on screen. And of course, the Oscars will ignore her because that's their job, to ignore great performances.

  • Xlover NewmanPro
    Xlover NewmanPro 23 days ago

    3:54 - 4:11 Is the exact reason why i love Chris Stuckmann!

  • Jenna can snap
    Jenna can snap 23 days ago

    I absolutely loved this movie. It was so god damn amazing and it really made me think, I haven't liked a horror movie in a long time, but Jesus fucking Christ that is amazing.

  • Special _Efex
    Special _Efex 24 days ago

    The people that don’t like this movie are desensitized and don’t remember what horror was meant to be.. it’s not meant to be in your face violence and forced reaction. The movie throws you into its world. First 50 percent of the movie I was thinking how it wasn’t really that scary at all, I didn’t feel the tension and it felt like I was missing somethin. Why is she so afraid of her dopy? Not just afraid but petrified! That’s what I kept asking myself. Then when you get to the end and it comes full circle....the realization of the human her being forced into literally a form of hell and becoming the monster itself was so far beyond “scary “ it hits your most personal fears, or mine anyway, and laughs in your face when you go from being happy the villain is dead to realizing you don’t even know who the villain is. And why don’t they deserve the same chance? So many thought provoking things come from it if your a book reader or deep thinker. People who need face value scary wont really pick up on its subtlety. Not saying your dumb if you don’t like it, but I think it takes a certain person to pick up what he’s putting out

  • botch316
    botch316 24 days ago

    @Chris Stuckmann , I was wondering, now that we are way past spoiler territory, what was the aspect that you wanted to remain ambiguous in the film? Was it the Tethered explaining that they were a failed government experiment? I was just curious. If you have the time, I would love to hear your thoughts.

  • james staggs
    james staggs 24 days ago

    At least they didn't play the race card in this film like they did Get Out.

    • Huey Knew
      Huey Knew 22 days ago

      What race card in get out ?

  • Lion Sin Escanor
    Lion Sin Escanor 24 days ago

    Just felt like there were so many flaws. So many opportunities to kill the main characters. Instead they
    -handcuff mother and decided not kill her
    -just knocked the dad out didn’t stab him at all
    -Gave the daughter the chance to run away
    Only logical escape was the little boy
    The reds planned this so many years and that was their plan?
    Unlike the other reds that successfully killed their friends
    Just so many flaws

  • χχχ -VIBE-
    χχχ -VIBE- 24 days ago

    5/10 movie, so dissapointing as i am dissapointed in your review. They made so much hype out of it but the movie wasn't good as i hope it to be. Don't get me wrong i also love horror genre movies but this one didn't make the cut.
    At the start they showed a bunch of rabbits in a cage for probably 2 min straight for no reason at all. and im not exgadderating, i wanted to skip it but i felt like i would miss something because it already has been long enough and boy was i wrong. The pacing was really slow, it honestly doesn't take long to get to the part we want to see than a family doing their own thing while we sit there for 30 min till we see what we came for. The *"dobble ganger family"* as ima call them because i dont know how else to call them, are not creepy or scary at all as they try to be. For example the boy's dobble ganger tried to be creepy by twisting his head in a curious motion and crawling when at some times he can walk on his two legs at some point in the movie which makes no sense. Another ex. Is when the girl's dobble ganger keep giving her a toxic smile non stop.
    Another problem was being able to hear what the mother's dobble ganger has to say sometimes because to be "creepy" she has to sound like she has athsma.
    I know they came from the sewers but where did they actually come from?? So much of the story didnt make sense. They could at least turn on the tv to see how others dealt with the problem and what is going to happen next too.
    Theres more complaints but like small ones like how did the crazy family enter the neighbors home without an alarm going off or anything since he looks rich he should at least have some security and maybe a weapon to protect himself but nope he dies quick.

  • Christopher Miller
    Christopher Miller 25 days ago

    You always have the best shirts

  • aera Hoover
    aera Hoover 25 days ago

    This was so bad i had to comment online about it

  • Samuel Jackson
    Samuel Jackson 25 days ago

    Am I missing something? I just watched Us for the first time the other night and I dont get it. I really enjoyed Get Out; it was mysterious, creepy and had a clear message but Us was so fucking confusing. It felt like it was made from an incomplete script. I just have so many questions. I think just that scene where clones underground are mimicing everything the originals are doing at the amusement park makes Us a hilariocity. I mean did you not see those people standing in the hallway pretending to ride a roller coaster? That was fucking hilarious and it was obviosly meant to be an intense dramatic scene. Also the twist was very dumb and made no sense at all. The score was amazing though.

  • Jessica R Newhook
    Jessica R Newhook 26 days ago

    The concept of the tunnels messed with me do bad O.o

  • SIR1U5
    SIR1U5 26 days ago +1

    This film had depressing undertones but I won't get into why since this is not the spoiler review... where is the spoiler review ... lol

  • Tahirie Tahiry
    Tahirie Tahiry 26 days ago

    What was funny about Get Out???

  • James Wellington
    James Wellington 26 days ago +1

    Is he joking? He's gotta be joking or got paid to say all this. Movie was devastatingly dull.

  • gauge kelley
    gauge kelley 26 days ago

    My favorite horror movie ever. Ik a lot of people disliked it but i thought it was great

  • Elmeromerobarbero
    Elmeromerobarbero 26 days ago

    This movie was not good.

  • Sullyhogs
    Sullyhogs 27 days ago

    Idc what people say, i fucking love this movie. Jordan Peele is a new master of horror.

  • Tom
    Tom 27 days ago

    The movie sucked

  • MADDAWG MIKE
    MADDAWG MIKE 27 days ago +1

    That last fight scene was just jaw dropping

  • BabyDemonStudio
    BabyDemonStudio 27 days ago

    I loved Get Out, but to me this feeling lacked content and meaning, the humour was out of place, and the twists didnt land for me. Didn't like it at all. Lead actress was great tho,

  • AshenOne61 6
    AshenOne61 6 27 days ago

    Everyone who thinks this movie is bad is wrong and you know nothing of movies. Im always right so you cant disagree with me. My opinion is correct. Fact. 🤷‍♂️

  • Neil M
    Neil M 27 days ago

    Excellent first act. Dumb third act. Would have played a lot stronger as a much simpler horror plot.

    • Brett Wilson
      Brett Wilson 26 days ago

      Neil M It got better once they fled the first house

  • Andrew Gonsalves
    Andrew Gonsalves 27 days ago

    A good concept is there but it's plot holes galore. How can you recommend this honestly...

    • Andrew Gonsalves
      Andrew Gonsalves 26 days ago

      @Brett Wilson 🤫

    • Brett Wilson
      Brett Wilson 26 days ago

      You lie

    • Andrew Gonsalves
      Andrew Gonsalves 26 days ago

      @Brett Wilson Really?... Google or TheXvid them cause I don't have all day to go over this mess. This movie was a waste of a good concept.

    • Brett Wilson
      Brett Wilson 26 days ago

      Andrew Gonsalves List them

  • snowpig007
    snowpig007 27 days ago

    It wasnt scary...