Chefs Review 'EXPENSIVE' Easter Eggs

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 14, 2019
  • This week the chefs review a bunch of expensive Easter Eggs so you can find out whether they're worth the money before splashing out! Which ones are gonna be an eggcellent purchase... and which will be a rotten waste of money?
    Listen to our latest podcast on 'Have our taste standards been ruined by mass produced food?' here: sorted.club/s5e3/
    These are the Easter Eggs we tried...
    Thorntons Marvelously Magnificent Egg: amzn.to/2OYPPuF
    Fortnum & Mason 6 Golden Eggs: www.fortnumandmason.com/products/six-golden-praline-eggs
    Hotel Chocolat Rocky Road to Caramel Egg: amzn.to/2KpP4fA
    Venchi Chocolate & Pistachio Egg: amzn.to/2WYtJvg
    Lindt Giant Gold Easter Bunny: amzn.to/2WXCo12
    Montezuma White, Milk & Dark Chocolate Marbled Egg with Honeycomb: www.montezumas.co.uk/gifts-c3/easter-gifts-c35/enormous-chocolate-honeycomb-egg-p225
    Montezuma Eco Egg: amzn.to/2KnndfV
    You can find out more about the gadgets/ingredients we've reviewed in the links below. Just so you know, these are likely to be affiliate links, which means if you buy something from the store after clicking on them, the store will pay us a percentage of your basket... This doesn't cost or change anything else for you! *Prices in this video are correct for when we bought them but may since have changed!
    WANT TO SUPPORT SORTED?? Here's how to get involved...
    SUBSCRIBE to the channel and press the bell button to get notifications every time we post: goo.gl/pqaw14
    Join the Sorted club for EXCLUSIVE podcasts and video specials: goo.gl/otD6NF
    Find out about our BRAND NEW cookbook A.M. Menu: bit.ly/buyAM
    Grab a copy of our AWESOME cookbook Bucket List: sorted.club/product/thebucketlistbook/
    Create and account and carry on the conversation with other foodies on our forum: goo.gl/P73eMr
  • Howto & StyleHowto & Style

Comments • 1 102

  • SORTEDfood
    SORTEDfood  8 days ago +114

    Listen to our latest podcast on 'Have our taste standards been ruined by mass produced food?' here: sorted.club/s5e3/

    • Robert Stephenson
      Robert Stephenson 2 days ago

      Ha! you guy couldn't afford one from Betty's

    • J Sharp
      J Sharp 6 days ago

      I'd love to see you guys taste test some army and space MRE's. Could be funny to see the chef's react :D

    • Rana Burroughs
      Rana Burroughs 7 days ago +1

      I listened to the podcast and did have one question... does sorted consider vegan food a trend or a movement?

    • Micheal John
      Micheal John 7 days ago +1

      You guys should've made them try the Ruby chocolate egg by kitkat, think it would have been interesting to see them try it

    • Tammy Winters
      Tammy Winters 7 days ago +1

      Pooh! You have to subscribe to hear the podcasts. I can't afford it right now.

  • perfectly imperfect
    perfectly imperfect 5 hours ago

    Maybe I'm missing something but you said the Lindt Easter Bunny costs £55.89, while the link you gave us sells it for £39.99, plus free delivery, so I'm wondering why there is such a big difference?

  • MichiCommander
    MichiCommander 7 hours ago

    Just the whole section for the chocolate bunny was funny moment after funny moment. Who knew chocolate bunnies could be so funny.

  • Lauriti
    Lauriti 8 hours ago

    What kind of heartless son of a b*** makes a gigantic "magnificent" 20p easter egg and puts NOTHING in it?

  • UsernamesForDummies
    UsernamesForDummies 11 hours ago

    ‘...the Swiss make good cuckoo clocks...’ NO THEY DON’T! They’re not Swiss! They are from Germany (Black Forest). Total exasperation.

  • tom wingrove
    tom wingrove 11 hours ago

    “Your family, you can share with your mouth”
    Oh terrible wording

  • That Curious Artist
    That Curious Artist 14 hours ago

    love the video, was on the fence about getting my Mum a Hotel Chocolate egg but this convinced me.

  • Gooblyful
    Gooblyful 14 hours ago

    4:06 made my Easter.

  • belgianaptb2010
    belgianaptb2010 17 hours ago

    Kinda sad they stopped making their normal recipe videos. Now everything is battles, reviews and just a lot of madness surrounding food. It's become impossible to use SortedFood as a reference for new recipes, because there's almost no such videos left. Big Night In was amazing, or even recipe's with secret ingredients (like mayonnaise in cake!) please bring back more videos like those please.

  • swizeus
    swizeus 23 hours ago

    EGGSPENSIVE...

  • Ruby Dynamite
    Ruby Dynamite Day ago

    I totally agree with Ben - for some companies, they call it done at 'chocolate' and 'egg-shaped', whether that chocolate is good or NOT. Like - I'm just gonna say it - Kinder Eggs are grosssss and taste like cardboard. I think the reason most people like them is because they're illegal here so it's illicit or whatever but - the candy freaking sucks lol

  • Jaden Bellerby
    Jaden Bellerby Day ago

    Who else is up at 11pm on Easter Sunday watching this feeling sick.

  • Philipp Smythe
    Philipp Smythe Day ago

    A few years ago my dad got one of the 1kg lindt bunnies for £25 just after Easter, so that makes it pretty much worth it

  • Resov Prochentska

    You should get gordon ramsay on the show

  • Dan Brit
    Dan Brit Day ago

    Who in the name of God thinks lint chocolet is good...are we sure they are chefs...

  • Czarki
    Czarki Day ago +1

    i enjoyed that one very much. happy easter guys

  • Emilie Karlsen
    Emilie Karlsen Day ago

    About the dadjoke. My grandma once knew a poor lady who actually experienced that exact scenario with a patient she cared for 😫🤢🥜🍫

  • TheMrWillje
    TheMrWillje Day ago

    8:55
    Who's blowing into their mic? Come on, own up

  • Anton Gully
    Anton Gully Day ago

    Those Lindt bunnies are thirty quid via the link and RRP is £40, so not sure where that price came from. Keep'em in your wishlist for a couple of months and they'll be about £25. Still WAY too much but then again I do want everything for a quid.

  • Alice Edwards
    Alice Edwards Day ago

    Is it possible to get old sorted books?

  • Karin Cope
    Karin Cope 2 days ago

    Now I want to run out and buy some chocolate....

  • Trickius
    Trickius 2 days ago

    Are quid and pounds the same thing?

  • aussiefaraday
    aussiefaraday 2 days ago

    I once spent Easter Sunday in Brugge. Had the pleasure of going to a few chocolate shops and get the 'discounted' Belgian easter eggs. They were of such a high standard, I haven't been able to compare or eat anything mass produced since then.

  • MrC4ctu5
    MrC4ctu5 2 days ago

    Jesus how expensive is the Lindt bunny? I'd pay 36€ for that here in Austria damnit.

  • Robert Stephenson
    Robert Stephenson 2 days ago

    Ha! you guy couldn't afford one from Betty's

  • Angus Hall
    Angus Hall 2 days ago

    I would love to see you guys take on some calorie-friendly dishes!!

  • Bawono Budi
    Bawono Budi 3 days ago

    I miss Mike

  • Gnomechewer
    Gnomechewer 3 days ago

    Is Ben describing that Easter egg as "MORE-ISH" or "MOORISH"? Help my yankee ears.

  • Jennifer Ryan
    Jennifer Ryan 3 days ago +1

    I think ill stick to the £1 easter eggs at morrisons

  • Leanne C
    Leanne C 3 days ago

    07:13: Insert *You're doing great sweetie meme* 😂

  • fovika
    fovika 3 days ago

    I prefer dark chocolate, so only the eco egg would be something I might get. Although to buy something egg-shaped (or rabbit-shaped) during Easter JUST because it's Easter is a waste of money.

  • ballerina2rockerchik

    The only thing that could make Lindt chocolate bunnies better is if they were filled with their truffle filling.

  • Rich Seaver
    Rich Seaver 4 days ago

    You british fucks. Give me the old intro music back.

  • John Hackett
    John Hackett 4 days ago +1

    Come for James dressed as an Easter bunny; stay for Barry getting irrationally angry at Ben for eating chocolate with a knife

  • Nicola Todhunter
    Nicola Todhunter 4 days ago

    Once my parents brought me a hotel chocolat easter egg, but I was away for Easter and they got drunk and ate it - I only found out years later when we were walking past one of the shops and my dad was like "oh remember when we got you an egg from there?" Then silence as he realised what he'd done 😂 I couldn't even be mad because honestly I'd have done exactly the same 😂

  • UlaGreyWolf
    UlaGreyWolf 4 days ago

    Glad to hear the hotel chocolate egg is super :D got a voucher for there on my birthday and saved it for my own Easter egg, can’t wait to try it! 🤤

  • Pipe Shokan
    Pipe Shokan 4 days ago

    Im from Brazil and, in a few days, i'll be going to London for the first time, do you guys (from Sorted) have a favorite restaurant to reccomend? (I really wish i could meet any of you)

  • lliisann
    lliisann 4 days ago

    “I’m all for cutting back on plastic” Ben says, whilst sitting in a big, plastic chicken suit

  • Ken Goldenberg
    Ken Goldenberg 5 days ago

    I would probably not get any of these mainly because they are all so big (except the last one) that they would go stale before we finished them. I prefer bite-sized chocolates.

  • EJ Monjaras
    EJ Monjaras 5 days ago

    Odd question, what's the song that is played when the Venchi egg is reviewed??

  • Beverley Nunes
    Beverley Nunes 5 days ago

    I've used a knife to cut a Hotel Chocolat egg 😂 pretentious or not, you decide..

  • bookwyrm18
    bookwyrm18 5 days ago

    I love James' teeth. He looks so mischievous when he grins.

  • Martha Forman
    Martha Forman 5 days ago

    montezuma is penggggg and they do a lot of dairy free options which is fab! and i think they do student discount which is always a bonus

  • KYE Blog
    KYE Blog 5 days ago

    You should review the Ambiano kitchen equipment stuff from Aldi! It’s all quite cheap but I’ve no idea what the quality is like. It’s so tempting on special buy, would love to know if it’s worth it!

  • rdizzy1
    rdizzy1 5 days ago

    For egg number 4, how is it possible that one person thinks that it is so salty that he can't taste the chocolate, and the other says that it's too sweet (for chocolate, which is supposed to be sweet).

  • Jan Uzzell
    Jan Uzzell 5 days ago

    Used to be a chocolate taster for Hotel Chocolat - it was an interesting time - mostly gorgeous but there were some fails! (for me - others loved them) so maybe you could continue the Easter chocolate theme and either make your own chocolates (interesting combinations) OR taste test some filled chocolates

  • Natasha Swamy
    Natasha Swamy 5 days ago

    Chef vs chef Indian food battle.. No saag or curry pls

  • Niallicius
    Niallicius 5 days ago

    Could not have asked for better timing. "I like lindt... roadkill" suddenly an ad pops up: for that lindt rabbit.

  • Mgooy
    Mgooy 5 days ago

    Yo I just buy my kids regular eggs and dip them in chocolate it's better for you and I'm not wasting money like all you FOOLS

  • Se Kirk
    Se Kirk 5 days ago

    I think if someone gave me that Lindt bunny i'd cry

  • CratesOfPlates
    CratesOfPlates 5 days ago

    I bought some chocolate from venchi and was equally disappointed. Very bland and overly sweet, especially considering how much they charge!

  • Ruth Skinner
    Ruth Skinner 5 days ago

    So... James said he doesn't know much about chocolate, maybe a lot of people don't, but would like to... there's a place in the new Coal Drops Yard in Kings Cross, where you can try (and buy at pretentious prices...) loads of different sorts, from different origins and types. (And a similar coffee place next door to it... the guy who runs that, owns both, and is quite passionate about it).
    It strikes me that so many people travel through Kings Cross/St Pancras every day, that it would be really great to see some kind of review of what you guys think the best places (in terms of quality for budget) are there, to eat or drink. So many great restaurants, and so many really new ones, plus oyster bar, vermoutheria etc...

  • Pierce Anderson
    Pierce Anderson 5 days ago

    Maybe a Spring inspired meal or relay challenge?

  • Pierce Anderson
    Pierce Anderson 5 days ago

    I’d try the Eco egg!

  • Eduard Zeldin
    Eduard Zeldin 5 days ago

    Hey! Where is “I’m gooey in the middle, babe let me bake”? Bring it back please! 😂😊😜😂

  • Joseph B
    Joseph B 5 days ago

    A suggestion: I'm assuming you have it in London. Go to a bar/brewery and brew your own beer. Then when it's ready decide on who made the best beer. Its quite fun though the quality of the beer changes depending on how much you drink during the process.

  • Vollyv
    Vollyv 5 days ago

    Wait till Easter sales...buy all the reduced chocolate...quantity is a quality all its own

  • Prabhanjan Kulkarni
    Prabhanjan Kulkarni 5 days ago

    Suggestion: A food road trip. around Uk or Europe.

  • Rubi - Roe
    Rubi - Roe 5 days ago

    Luckily here in Australia, people feel the same about spending $80 au $ on the Lindt bunnies.
    So I can usually find them marked down after Easter. About $50 or (guess) £30-£35

  • Lily Z
    Lily Z 6 days ago

    The animation is between each segments are very GMM like. Those collabs have paid off 😂

  • Keet Randling
    Keet Randling 6 days ago

    nope.
    but when they go on sale afterward, might pick up a small bit.
    can't have the sugar :-(

  • MagamisZon
    MagamisZon 6 days ago

    What was that noise at 8:55

  • Morgan Saenger
    Morgan Saenger 6 days ago

    I would love to see the chefs review American food/treats.

  • Out of The Hat
    Out of The Hat 6 days ago

    Am I overdramatic for thinking only a monster would use a knife on chocolates when clearly you should bite in? Yes. Doesn't mean I'm wrong though.

  • Sara P
    Sara P 6 days ago

    This was an eggcellent choice of outfits. Well done!

  • Mister thief
    Mister thief 6 days ago

    Every purchase is a rotten waste of money, companies make profits from our rotten waste of money, if it was an eggcellent bargain for us then the companies would go bankrupt

  • Adcro Ash
    Adcro Ash 6 days ago

    Where are you getting your prices? I saw the giant Lindt bunny in Tesco tonight and it's £35

  • Andii Edits
    Andii Edits 6 days ago

    Great video lads! 👍👍I may treat myself to the Hotel Chocolat egg!😋

  • kura-chan 13
    kura-chan 13 6 days ago

    Easter traditions from around the world. HOT CROSS BUNS FROM SOUTH AFRICA!!

  • Lorenzo Pagani
    Lorenzo Pagani 6 days ago

    I like the aesthetics of Barry eating a 2ft tall chocolate egg while a storm tries to bring the building down. Very comfy.

  • Metali Sarkar
    Metali Sarkar 6 days ago

    ohhh..my ... james

  • Issy S
    Issy S 6 days ago

    Come to York and get an egg from Betty's!

  • RIXRADvidz
    RIXRADvidz 6 days ago

    mass produced foods are intentionally flavourless so the general masses can and will eat them. it's only in the last 40 years that we've started to diversify into seasonings, spices and ethnic flavours, if you eat industrial foods you get that industrial food bland level flavour, if you want good tastes and flavours you need to do it yourself or seek an artist.

  • VixReviews
    VixReviews 6 days ago

    That was *Adorable*

  • Sherrie Looper
    Sherrie Looper 6 days ago

    Giant Lindt Bunny?!!!!! I would buy that in a minute but we live in Florida and getting *anything* melty in the mail is such a bad idea. :(

  • Rissas Gold
    Rissas Gold 6 days ago

    Everytime they cut to ben and you hear air 😂😂 I can't breathe.

  • Benjamin Hess
    Benjamin Hess 6 days ago

    I miss cooking videos... recipes..

  • Camarila
    Camarila 6 days ago

    Upvote purely cause of the puns and costumes!

  • Thomas Koren
    Thomas Koren 6 days ago

    You missed the amazing Fazer mignon easter egg, it's an amazing chocolate, almond, hazelnut egg inside a real eggshell

  • Laura Taylor
    Laura Taylor 6 days ago

    So violent. Those poor chocolate bunnies. 🐇

  • Markus Wallin
    Markus Wallin 6 days ago

    Why is Ben in a hurricane in the latter half of the video?

  • Em Reese
    Em Reese 6 days ago

    Why do you love Prosecco much?

  • Ryan Brown
    Ryan Brown 6 days ago

    The sound of the air leaking from bens costume 😂

  • Courtney Rowe
    Courtney Rowe 6 days ago

    James starting with the bunny's butt

  • khuang96
    khuang96 6 days ago

    "hmm, what notes am I getting here?" 😂🤣

  • J Sharp
    J Sharp 6 days ago

    I'd love to see you guys taste test some army and space MRE's. Could be funny to see the chef's react :D

  • Kaysler
    Kaysler 6 days ago

    SORTED team - I really need an episode or segment about handling leftover ingredients ie. Buttermilk, egg whites or yolks etc. I absolutely love trying new things but hate blatant waste. I don't know what to use left over common ingredients, i made a quiche earlier this week with buttermilk, now i have a quart sitting in my fridge where do i substitute it into my everyday cooking? When i cook something that leaves me with extra separated yolks or whites where do i use them besides just cooking them up .

  • Katja Fantastishk
    Katja Fantastishk 6 days ago

    Honestly the only egg I'd concider is the eco egg, and not because it's eco! Dark chocolate is my favourite, and milk chocolate tends to get nauseating and too sweet really fast.

  • David
    David 6 days ago

    I bought the mini lindt bunny.

  • Aimee Scott
    Aimee Scott 6 days ago

    I was in the shops yesterday and seen a gin and tonic cake flavoring for cakes and instantly thought of ben

  • Sesugawa Aruno
    Sesugawa Aruno 6 days ago

    @sortedfood just wanted to thank you. I learned more about cooking than the school i learned cooking at. Goes to show how much you learn in just a single location.

  • Lauren Green
    Lauren Green 6 days ago

    Review food from Australia!

  • Arnaud Ménard
    Arnaud Ménard 6 days ago

    Lhint bunny’s are really common in Canada! Well...in Outaouais anyway.
    We had the small 15cm tall for years! And I can actually buy some at my gas-station.

  • xXxBlueLuluxXx
    xXxBlueLuluxXx 6 days ago

    Ridiculous. These are london prices, absolute scam, and these guys seem to think there alright prices, their senses have beeb distorted by the abnormally high price in the capital.

  • Ingrid Olsen98
    Ingrid Olsen98 6 days ago +3

    9:17 jamie has the last egg
    9:22 the egg is gone
    9:26 they hand him the last egg😂
    Nice job👌🏼😂

  • LiteralZombae
    LiteralZombae 7 days ago

    "you're family you can share with your mouth". Never a truer phrase has been uttered by our dearest Barry

  • sidekickdumpling
    sidekickdumpling 7 days ago

    I want to see recipes on what to do with all the leftover chocolate!

  • Jess B
    Jess B 7 days ago

    More pass it on please

  • swampykeane
    swampykeane 7 days ago

    I'm disappointed to hear anyone say that they think Montezuma is good quality chocolate. Pick up literally any other craft chocolate bar.

  • Sarah_48_Miller
    Sarah_48_Miller 7 days ago +1

    Right after they opened the Lindt Gold Bunny, I got an exact ad for it!