Star Command Angry Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 519

  • harikili
    harikili 3 months ago

    Totally agree with this review, 100% very good Joe!

  • Huy khang
    Huy khang 10 months ago

    Hey joe! Star command pc ver has come out Beta 1 for Pc on steam, you should check it out man :) happy hollyday

  • 33melonpaws77
    33melonpaws77 Year ago

    Why does this remind me of Star Trek Trexels?

  • Frank Castle Is Dead

    I can tell in the first twenty seconds by Joe's tone of voice that they fucked it up....

  • Mario G Hernandez

    This just blatantly steals from Star Control.

  • Filthy Filter
    Filthy Filter Year ago

    My God Star command to be played only on toilet :'D

  • Filthy Filter
    Filthy Filter Year ago

    Angry joe show for the wiiiiiiiin xDDD
    U r funny ^_^ ^_^ ^_^
    and i am a spammer

  • Filthy Filter
    Filthy Filter Year ago

    5/10? only the potencial... not the game!!!
    3/10 maybe... 5 being tetris xDDD

  • Filthy Filter
    Filthy Filter Year ago

    So? All Wrong huh? Yeah great game to avoid :P

  • Filthy Filter
    Filthy Filter Year ago

    gj saying the truth FTL FTW ^_^

  • Jason Gaming
    Jason Gaming Year ago

    angryjoe:why wont you let me go to your anus 😂

  • Maldus Alver
    Maldus Alver Year ago

    What about Halcyon 6?

  • Apollyon
    Apollyon Year ago

    AngryJoeShow Im Sorry To Say BUT YOU HATE EVERY FAKING GAME COD SNAKES!!!

  • Tyler Knowles
    Tyler Knowles Year ago

    i think for 3 bucks it was good. i really enjoyed it

  • Arthur Dotson
    Arthur Dotson Year ago

    How's the game now though??? Any updates that made it better???

    • Tianran Liu
      Tianran Liu Year ago

      Arthur Dotson it was last updated nov 19, 2013 on the App Store. I bought it in 2014 cause it looks ok and was labeled editor's choice. After two play throughs, the only problem I had with it is the lack of replayability. I remember being very disappointed realizing that no new contents would be available with the game. I don't really remember encountering any of the problems Joe mentioned in the video, and find it strange that our experience are so different. They probably fixed some of the problems mentioned.

  • KonoFinnaSmash
    KonoFinnaSmash 2 years ago

    0:37 Sounds like no mans sky oh wait....

  • NightSniper2
    NightSniper2 2 years ago

    Reminds me of Starbound honestly

  • Sonic3691 Awesome
    Sonic3691 Awesome 2 years ago +2

    ...now ftl is on the App Store. rip star command.

  • Across Earth
    Across Earth 2 years ago +2

    I had started playing it a while ago, a free roam science fiction game is that what I could have gotten? I would have chosen getting it four years latter for better game play, u know?

  • Creator Link
    Creator Link 2 years ago +1

    And We Didn't Learn Our Lesson.... NMS!!

  • Wj11jam
    Wj11jam 2 years ago +2

    Just get FTl instead.

  • Kim Jensen
    Kim Jensen 2 years ago

    Looks like "Star Command Galaxies" is going to become the game, "Star Command" was supposed to be. I hope it rocks. Love the concept. I want to explore the galaxy in a completely freedom based sand box game with with addictive tactic game play!

  • hex farmer
    hex farmer 2 years ago +3

    Lol Ive never heard Joe talk so softly and so.... pacified?
    He must be stoned or just got laid

    • mhz esent
      mhz esent 5 months ago

      Or doing it sarcastically. It would work well with the corny background music.

  • A Physics Professor
    A Physics Professor 2 years ago

    What really makes me mad about this game and it's kickstarter? The people. The gamers. Zero idea on how much time and money it takes to develop a game. I also believe the developers were inexperienced and bit off too much.

  • Xpzilla
    Xpzilla 2 years ago

    Happy Joe

  • Анатолий Шпалин

    goddammit Joe never stand on the right side of the screen again! it looks weird and unnatural and wrong!

  • Foxtrot 977
    Foxtrot 977 2 years ago

    some times it feels like I'm not doing any damage to the ships

  • Joel Greentree
    Joel Greentree 2 years ago

    Are they still updating the game?

  • Slyguy threeonetwonine

    "Why won't you let me to Uranus!"- Angry Joe 2013

  • AFoxInAviators
    AFoxInAviators 2 years ago

    Did you really just say there would be both Diplomacy AND Derelict ship exploration and then savagely rip those things away? Damn you Star Command!!!

  • Captainconkerboy1
    Captainconkerboy1 2 years ago

    Joe's on the wrong side of the screen!

  • Cabbage
    Cabbage 2 years ago

    I LOVE THIS GAME can not wait geting the pop corn

  • Dardan M
    Dardan M 2 years ago

    Tbh for $3 and as an ios game that is more than enough content

  • Mark P
    Mark P 2 years ago

    I think people should shut the hell up because this game had so much potential but lacking creativity

  • Ilya Kuryakin
    Ilya Kuryakin 2 years ago

    figures joe would put his finger up uranus

  • Suncho
    Suncho 2 years ago

    any change on the game?
    i mean the android/ios game. is it still the same? linear and so on?

    • Setamkas
      Setamkas 2 years ago

      Well now it has more planets and its less linear than before

  • Ian McNeely
    Ian McNeely 2 years ago

    It's pronounced Urine is

  • xeagaort
    xeagaort 2 years ago +19

    I think devs should be liable to refunding Kickstarter money when they don't deliver.

    • 2Scribble
      2Scribble 2 years ago +5

      While that would be nice - you take the risk when you invest in a project. There's even disclaimers on the site. You KNOW what you're getting into.
      Am I saying you deserve to be shafted? No - no I am not. Seriously. I'm not making fun... but you roll your dice - you move your mice. Kickstarter is - and always will be - a risky venture.

    • Justin Yatsko
      Justin Yatsko 2 years ago +7

      Agreed. Because this shit "Welp thanks for funding this project, but for such and such reasons we couldn't finish it sorry, keeping the cash tho thx!" happens way, way too often, usually with zero repercussions to the company/guys receiving the money. Bullshit.

  • LunarServant
    LunarServant 2 years ago

    I actually enjoyed the game in my opinion :P

  • StoneTheMason Music
    StoneTheMason Music 2 years ago

    6:40 HAHA I GET IT....

  • Panda Cakes
    Panda Cakes 2 years ago

    Omg I love this game

  • The Randomvidskid
    The Randomvidskid 2 years ago

    I love this game

  • PHeMoX
    PHeMoX 2 years ago

    .....aaaaaand one year later after FTL, crowd funding started to become messed up big time. Fast forward to 2015 and just about every game made by it fails. /end of nostalgia moment

  • MeldThe Steel
    MeldThe Steel 2 years ago

    there's a pc version which is much better and has everything that was removed

    • MeldThe Steel
      MeldThe Steel 2 years ago

      +walmartian oh

    • walmartian
      walmartian 2 years ago

      +MeldThe Steel that shits in alpha bro.. theres not even planets yet

    • An Onymous
      An Onymous 2 years ago

      nothing was "removed". it just wasn't made

    • An Onymous
      An Onymous 2 years ago

      nothing was "removed". it just wasn't made

  • DarkFantasyGamerHD
    DarkFantasyGamerHD 2 years ago +1

    star command's name sounds like Buzz Lightyear tv series and the game looks like a rip off to Star Trek ?

  • X - K
    X - K 3 years ago

    ftl is a pc and ios game

  • The_greenbastord
    The_greenbastord 3 years ago

    your my first subcription. love the show. anyone wanna help out my small growning channel. The_greenbastord. Its all about games aswell.

  • Rift Shredder
    Rift Shredder 3 years ago +28

    Star Command? Wait, where's Buzz Lightyear?

    • kwadwo baidoo
      kwadwo baidoo 2 years ago

      +That Guy With A TheXvid Account go get yourself a cookie! you deserve it

  • Alex Adamson
    Alex Adamson 3 years ago

    Star Command have released an alpha for a PC version (Not a port, completely new game, just same base mechanics, sort of) called Star Command Galaxies. Would love to see an Angry Review on it, when full release comes out, it's broken now.

  • xIpodTouchGoeroex
    xIpodTouchGoeroex 3 years ago

    ..................……………………….…._¸„„„„_
    …………………….…………...„--~*'¯….….'\
    ………….…………………… („-~~--„¸_….,/ì'Ì
    …….…………………….¸„-^"¯ : : : : :¸-¯"¯/'
    ……………………¸„„-^"¯ : : : : : : : '\¸„„,-"
    **¯¯¯'^^~-„„„----~^*'"¯ : : : : : : : : : :¸-"
    .:.:.:.:.„-^" : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : :„-"
    :.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.: : : : : : : : : : ¸„-^¯
    .::.:.:.:.:.:.:.:. : : : : : : : ¸„„-^¯
    :.' : : '\ : : : : : : : ;¸„„-~"¯
    :.:.:: :"-„""***/*'ì¸'¯
    :.': : : : :"-„ : : :"\
    .:.:.: : : : :" : : : : \,
    :.: : : : : : : : : : : : 'Ì
    : : : : : : :, : : : : : :/
    "-„_::::_„-*__„„~"

  • Cheeki Breeki
    Cheeki Breeki 3 years ago

    i think the lack of element is because the kickstarter doesnt have much money to fulfill the promise

  • Daniel Fuller
    Daniel Fuller 3 years ago +6

    star command galaxies is basically the game Joe wanted the original to be

    • Star Command
      Star Command 3 years ago

      +Daniel Fuller (Starksteel) Agreed.

  • david mead
    david mead 3 years ago

    at this point in time the devs have said that they are at the home strech of an update that will include most of the features that was in the original kickstarter pitch as well as a version for andriod and pc

    • david mead
      david mead 3 years ago

      +Harry Swinchin cut them a bit of slack, they were going to update in 2014 and 15 but they decided not to in order to get thier game out to android users, that alone caused them to practically remake the game and therefore made them go back and fix any bugs they found were common in both versions of the games.

    • Harry Swinchin
      Harry Swinchin 3 years ago

      After two years? A bit late for an update don't they think?

  • Nam Kha
    Nam Kha 3 years ago

    *HEY JOE THERE'S A SEQUEL COMMING UP, AND IT'S BASICALLY FTL+STAR COMMAND! AND IT SUPPORTS MODDING LIKE NOBODY"S BUSINESS! ALSO, IT'S AVAILABLE ON PC AND MAC! ALSO IT GOT STEAM SUPPORT OR SOME SHIT LIKE THAT*

  • Communist Satan
    Communist Satan 3 years ago

    this game was a disappointing time waste for me. I would have been far harsher on this.

  • Mod3no
    Mod3no 3 years ago +5

    Why does Joe sound so happy in this review?

    • chillin bruh
      chillin bruh 2 years ago +1

      +XLR8 prolly just got banged

    • To be forgotten
      To be forgotten 3 years ago +2

      Because it probably doesn't make him so angry that he wants to punch a hole in his screen

  • DisPandafy
    DisPandafy 3 years ago +5

    Worse than Destiny. Yeah right

  • TheGreatRakatan
    TheGreatRakatan 3 years ago +1

    Common mistake of a rookie developer, promising stuff that they can't possibly accomplish in the amount of time they are promising it in. They went crazy on the scope.

  • FPrimusUnicron
    FPrimusUnicron 3 years ago

    i wish they took a look at ftl(taster than light) for some ideas, until a new dlc or version or sequel, im still waiting for a good fast exploration game(ftl wasnt perfect either, just it did some things right)

    • An Onymous
      An Onymous 2 years ago

      theres star command galaxies, which does that

  • Theop75
    Theop75 3 years ago

    Where is Corporate Commander?

  • Kenjav
    Kenjav 3 years ago

    first time here. you don't seem very angry. But you do sound a lot like cleveland on family guy

  • Olek
    Olek 3 years ago

    I hope they make an update to the game. Fixing it up a bit.

  • Jon Tobin
    Jon Tobin 3 years ago

    diggin the outro

  • diapason89
    diapason89 3 years ago +41

    Why won't you let me go to URANUS?!
    I lost it at that part lmao.

  • Cedric Doguiles
    Cedric Doguiles 3 years ago

    Guys girls stop fighting about which game is better than the other just stick to your own favorite games and stuff (by the way they updated star command and the crew is bigger there is more planets available to you now e.c.t. Plus there is going to be a contraband button soon! So you probably haven't read all of this crap by now and gave up half way but if your still reading congrats! What was I saying again? Oh ya so all you need to be is patient and wait for the new updates and/DLC I the future.

  • Lexx Alolia
    Lexx Alolia 3 years ago

    well since you asked about it I'm working on a game, a fantasy rpg, though I have no kickstarter so it's going much slower but I have the alpha up on steam and anyone can download it

  • Peterowsky
    Peterowsky 3 years ago +1

    It's not a bad mobile game, and the locations are based on your choices on the story.
    But it is essentially, a slow micromanagement game with reflex-based minigames, and almost every step being a battle.
    The higher difficulties are challenging, if only because each enemy hit will take most of your ship's shields down and they recharge their weapons faster than you recharge yours, or your shields, or shield boost, or dodge... then they'll teleport in a few invaders to make sure your crew isn't manning the rooms.

  • Rylan Trautman
    Rylan Trautman 3 years ago

    In the PC game coming out of alpha called star command galaxies, it is following on the promises for the mobile game. BUT DONT YOU FUCKING REVIEW IT IN ITS APLHA STAGE!

  • Chimmy1981
    Chimmy1981 3 years ago

    1. Go on kickstarter and promise to create the best game ever....i swear !
    2. Develop shitty phone app and and keep all the money from sales and backers.
    3. Appologize that you couldn't do it. Who would have thought? I know: gullible backer idiots.
    4. Move to the Bahamas and party for the rest of your life.

  • Generations Dubstep
    Generations Dubstep 3 years ago

    It looks like spacebase DF-9

  • James George
    James George 3 years ago

    "Angry" Joe sounds so calm.

  • Thoranzalar Vhazen
    Thoranzalar Vhazen 3 years ago +1

    6:42
    THAT'S WHAT- Shee...said...?

  • sc0pl355
    sc0pl355 3 years ago

    Funny thing is that FTL was ported over to mobile with improvements over the original.

  • David Pogue
    David Pogue 3 years ago

    FTL is out on IPad just saying..........

  • Slevin Reviews
    Slevin Reviews 3 years ago +7

    They simply didn't have the money to expand the game. It wasn't like they cut everything out to maximize profits... like some major game companies I know. Is it really fair to grade them based on the neglect of gamers? What they were able to make with their limited resources was actually impressive. That's why I gave it a high score. Gamers say they're sick of repetitive shooters and they want better games? Put your money where your mouth is. Instead of making Activision/Infinity Ward and EA rich continuously buying whatever crap they push out, put some of that money on companies that actually deserve it. Everyone made Destiny the most pre-ordered game in history... why?

    • Fred Max
      Fred Max Year ago

      The game was horrible, no you shouldnt have given it a high score.

    • An Onymous
      An Onymous 2 years ago

      +Patrick Short give me an example of that

    • An Onymous
      An Onymous 2 years ago

      +Patrick Short give me an example of that

    • 419chris419
      419chris419 3 years ago +1

      +dontmind me beer

    • Patrick Short
      Patrick Short 3 years ago +1

      Yea for real. They had a ton of money and they still made shit. I have know many companies that have had less and made something so much better.

  • Michael McLaughlin
    Michael McLaughlin 3 years ago +1

    the way they described it is alot like the new game, star command galaxies

  • Kindlesmith80
    Kindlesmith80 3 years ago

    Try Astrobase Command. PC game. Still in development. May have better appeal Joe.

  • Geahk Burchill
    Geahk Burchill 3 years ago

    X-com and FTL have now been ported to the ipad so....
    In all seriousness, I bought this game on ipad and fully agree with Joe's review. It just didn't really deliver and felt shallow. It was certainly worth the $3 but I would have paid ten for a game that had all the features Joe talks about it lacking.

    • Geahk Burchill
      Geahk Burchill 3 years ago

      I know, I thought about giving a buck to the potato-salad kid. (I didn't)
      Here's the reason the potato salad thing happened. Everyone knew, intuitively, that Kickstarter was kind of broken. (Not awfully broken, just a little bit) and the potato-salad resonated with that understanding. It was proving one of the big flaws with Kickstarter and the extent that people participated in it was the extent that they saw it as satire.
      The potato Salad was kind of a Warhol stunt. (Though I don't think that kid was self aware enough to have done it deliberately) people supporting it were voting, they were showing this flaw and protesting it, all in the most absurd way possible. Many did it unconsciously but just enjoyed the fact that the potato salad was a big middle finger to a system with no real quality control.
      I may have mentioned, I ran a kickstarter that was successful. I frequently felt frustrated with the way people respond to projects. I'm also very sympathetic to the developers of Star Command because I know it's difficult to manage resources and produce a project on the time-line and budget that results from a Kickstarter campaign. I see also that they caved to the pressure of people who felt that two years was too long a dev-cycle for an indie game. (Which is the kind of preposterous idea that fans get who have never actually tried to create anything complicated)
      They ultimately had two choices (to create a really great game):
      1) Recognize at the 1/4 - 1/3 mark of production that they didn't have the resources to make the make the full picture and scale back the scope of the project. Tighten the experience so it was great within the constraints.
      2) Ignore the demands to "get it done NAOW!" from backers and spend more time on the development to complete the project the way they had originally envisioned. Perhaps even run a second Kickstarter for more funding or look for other backing. Make the game they wanted and take all the time they needed.
      The route they took was the middle ground and is ultimately the least satisfying. (As reviews have pointed out)

    • Slevin Reviews
      Slevin Reviews 3 years ago

      +Geahk Burchill They could have done things differently yeah. But I still think a lot of this falls on lack of interest for something worthwhile on Kickstarter. There was a Kickstarter for, I shit you not, a person to make a bowl of potato salad. The goal was $25 and he said "never made potato salad before, I've always wanted to try it" his "project" received over $60,000.

    • Geahk Burchill
      Geahk Burchill 3 years ago

      I respect that they tried but I also have the fact that I went through the game a couple of times and then never went back to it whereas i played Bastion and papers Please dozens of times through.
      Building a game that is scaled to your resources is a better experience than one that appears to promise more than it's capable of delivering. If Star Command had abandoned some of the initial scale and focussed down on a few small branching story threads it could have felt a lot tighter and more complete.

    • Slevin Reviews
      Slevin Reviews 3 years ago

      +Geahk Burchill Yeah but they genuinely tried, it wasn't like Star Trek: Trexels.

    • Geahk Burchill
      Geahk Burchill 3 years ago

      I missed it when it was on Kickstarter. I didn't know about it until it was over. I don't blame them for not having enough resources to do the larger project. I think what doesn't work, and what Joe mentions, is that the version released doesn't feel satisfying or complete. I didn't even know about the history of the game and played it and noticed that it seemed to be missing elements. The chopped off pieces were tangible.
      What I mean by that is; resolving the truncated work within the budget means making what is available, feel sufficient--apart from what it might have been with expanded content.
      If you make 30% of the game you expected to make, do your best to make that 30% feel like a complete game.
      Obviously I understand the pressure to release the game. And the pressure caused by a small budget. In my opinion they should have spent another few months on it and resisted the release pressure. They should have removed every way-point that didn't end up being made into a mission and tightened the experience to what they *were* able to release.

  • Hexagonal_Squares
    Hexagonal_Squares 3 years ago

    Oh

  • Butcher Denis
    Butcher Denis 3 years ago

    Get FTL its so much better

  • Dominic Guevarra
    Dominic Guevarra 3 years ago

    Hey joe. Can you review summoner's war? it's a great IOS game :)). Im lvl 27 add me if your planning to play. IGN: Crucifynico

  • Kingster 14
    Kingster 14 3 years ago

    this game might have been better on a good console or pc.

    • Chimmy1981
      Chimmy1981 3 years ago

      +ssj4goko4
      Yeah milk it some more.

  • Caspian Grabowski
    Caspian Grabowski 3 years ago +1

    A year later, is it better?

  • Akuda Fox
    Akuda Fox 3 years ago

    ahahahahahahahahahh!!!!!!

  • Skullface360
    Skullface360 3 years ago

    TANIA LOPEEEEEZ NOOOOO!

  • calebboy16
    calebboy16 4 years ago

    has potential but dev are too hasty and didn't keep their word

  • Steve Jobs
    Steve Jobs 4 years ago

    I gave up on the game when I finished it and it threw the déjà vu thing.

  • Jake Taliaferro
    Jake Taliaferro 4 years ago

    is there any walking around in panties and bare foot

  • Darth Panzer
    Darth Panzer 4 years ago +2

    FTL is much more worth it..

  • whyme777x
    whyme777x 4 years ago

    I did a quick skim of the comments and didn't see anyone else mention this, so I will. Engineers = Yellow shirts guy, not orange

  • msan3001
    msan3001 4 years ago

    i like the music in the game

  • numaTruehome 100
    numaTruehome 100 4 years ago

    TO INFINITY but NOT BEYOND

  • bworover
    bworover 4 years ago

    Joe, if you want to do a review on a GREAT (IMO) Game on the app store, go check out Star Base Orion! That kept me on my phone for like...j-just a very long time haha.

  • BD TinTin
    BD TinTin 4 years ago

    I think that it would be cool if you could have one of your crew members lead the invaders off into a cornered area, then intentionally blow up the wall, sending him/her to his/her death as well as the aliens

  • A VERY horny Mr.Dinosaur

    thought you were a douche, but your reviews seem solid.

  • ManOutofTime913
    ManOutofTime913 4 years ago

    Thankfully, Star Command: Galaxies will appease the desire for a Star Trek homage.

  • Sagit1998
    Sagit1998 4 years ago +9

    6:41 Why won't you let me go to YOUR ANUS. Lol

  • Aurora Solaris
    Aurora Solaris 4 years ago

    I still waiting for mobile FTL game or something similar. Read "mobile" as "Android", cuz i do not lost my mind to purchase istuff.

  • Diamond Warrior
    Diamond Warrior 4 years ago +1

    if you have an ipad, get FTL for it instead, maybe even XCOM.

  • Thirsty Nibba
    Thirsty Nibba 4 years ago

    Eat my d! FTL FTW!!!