New iPad Pro review: can it replace your laptop?

Share
Embed

Comments • 5 724

  • Robert Christopulos

    I could be excited about the new IPad Pro, however, after listening to your review/rant, I find that with the exception of the newer hardware, my 4 year old Samsung Galaxy Note Pro 12.2 has almost all of the features that you've complained about the 2018 IPad Pro still lacking! Using the cloud, and an SDcard, my tablet still screams with near bleeding edge performance and still gives me incredible performance capabilities as a prosumer device. Thanks so much for your honest review/rant of the IPad Pro.

  • T. Wills
    T. Wills 2 hours ago

    Great review! Many of the limitations Apple has in place are to force you to adapt to their proprietary eco system. Buy more and spend more. I have always liked their innovation but I am done with their limitations. Arrogance and greed have taken over. When my iphone 6 or my first gen ipad pro die, I’m gone.

  • MrZiffos
    MrZiffos 3 hours ago

    Excellent review - thank you. I have now cancelled my order for an iPad Pro.

  • AV8R Tom
    AV8R Tom 8 hours ago

    One of the biggest downsides for me is apples iOS continues to limit the usability of the hardware. Their constant refusal to support external drives and various 4K video codecs is infuriating. I can import and edit a 4K GoPro video, but not a 4K DJI drone video. This is stupid. Why go nuts on hardware specs when the software is intentionally designed to choke the life out of it?

  • Carlos Vega
    Carlos Vega 8 hours ago

    Muscle car. Benchmarks faster than God. $2,200!!! Can you open 3 word documents at the same time? No. 🤣 BTW, you know they were taking a giant piss when they told you Liquid Retina meant "rounded corners". They're now openly making fun of their customers. I love it 🤣

  • Poet Guide
    Poet Guide 13 hours ago

    Another pro, the iPad keyboard is nicer then the MacBook Pros butterfly keyboard.

  • Me rovinb
    Me rovinb 15 hours ago

    Should i buy this ipad or any other laptop ?

  • Rafael Nunez
    Rafael Nunez 20 hours ago

    How can apple say it can replace a laptop you can’t plug a mouse you can’t put a external hard drive. It’s more for watching video and movies so apple need to stop talking smack and stop saying this could replace your computer

  • Waluigi
    Waluigi 20 hours ago

    Do NOT use anything other than Nintendo official chargers to charge the Switch. The Switch doesn't use the common USB-C regulations. So theirs a chance anything that isn't Nintendo sanctioned may brick your switch or the charging port.

  • Raj Dhuri
    Raj Dhuri 22 hours ago

    8:12 true dat

  • Terra Shot
    Terra Shot Day ago

    Whats up with you and apple? Did ur relationship got stronger

  • Mohan Sasanka Muthyala

    Only shittiest thing with iPad pro 2018 is face ID which causes even MKBHD also frustrated. Coming to this video, hatsoff, it is an unbiased review.. you did a good job man

  • Murad Talibov
    Murad Talibov Day ago

    Absolutely useless - for any purpose you have a better alternative

  • Lollee Sparklez
    Lollee Sparklez Day ago

    Absolutely this iPad is Amazing 🍏🥰

  • Rex
    Rex Day ago

    seems like a great drawing tablet

  • Narciso Ottis
    Narciso Ottis Day ago

    Fantastic review, i'm an Apple fan, but i always prefered neutral reviews

  • Nicola Sammarco
    Nicola Sammarco Day ago

    This new generation of iPad Pro I so damn powerful that they can think to use OSX on it. Why don't they use it?

  • Chris Dornan
    Chris Dornan 2 days ago

    Genius at wprk. The end.

  • diablo777
    diablo777 2 days ago +11

    New iPad Pro 15% Off here: *vdіgіtаl. іnfо*

  • Reed Markowitz
    Reed Markowitz 2 days ago

    Microsoft Surface for the win

  • Enrico de Martinis
    Enrico de Martinis 2 days ago

    which case are you using ?

  • Crash Lander
    Crash Lander 2 days ago

    this is Apple still wanting you to buy an iPad PLUS a laptop.
    Simple... simple greed.

  • Noble Obodum
    Noble Obodum 2 days ago

    Wait...the iPad Mini works with the 1st gen Apple pencil?!?!? How did I not know about this?!?!?

  • Manuel Perez
    Manuel Perez 2 days ago

    No f that love to DJcity

  • Chrisbeckus
    Chrisbeckus 2 days ago

    Does anyone know the brand of the shirt he is wearing?

  • nguyon knight
    nguyon knight 3 days ago

    It doesn’t even amaze me anymore that they haven’t made the “pro” to support flash drive. I’ve tried to imagine it replacing my MacBook Pro...but sadly can not

  • harenk
    harenk 3 days ago

    Excellent point made here. Apple can make the worlds most power computer but their “walled garden” approach is the ultimate road block for many consumers. It’s the very reason I switched to the Microsoft Surface Go for my duel purpose tablet-computer. What a shame...

  • hellsohot x
    hellsohot x 3 days ago

    Apple needs to re-enginner the iOS and MacOS to be more adaptive and versatile. They keep thinking they "invented" a lot of things by shoving things that the OS wasn't able to do before into it. Unless they want to take the downfall of being in their own bubbles for eternity, which is most likely.

  • Ralf Strauch
    Ralf Strauch 3 days ago

    Good review 👍 Besides i'd expect growing features with iOS13. Finally this new iPad Pro is just f*** overpriced but a gorgeous piece though...

  • varun gupta
    varun gupta 3 days ago

    Please do one for tab s4, since it has an oled display it will be interesting to see how it stacks up

  • MouOu
    MouOu 3 days ago

    screw it i am ditching my laptop and going to the ipad bc of the multitask lol
    edit: i changed iphone to laptop

  • νικος γιώργος

    If you touch it it will bend!

  • p1xelp
    p1xelp 3 days ago

    The iPad Pro has a serious problem playing audio. I have two of these and they both 'click' when playing audio files.

  • D. Brown
    D. Brown 3 days ago

    honestly IMO i really think buying an ipad is a pretty silly purchase, if you already have an iphone and a macbook, theres no point to an ipad. The only thing apple should do is finally combine mac os and a ipad like device instead of a giant iphone os 🤔

  • Aqua Purificotta
    Aqua Purificotta 4 days ago

    in my honest opinion I think it depends on what you're doing. if you're just the average consumer (web browsing, emails, media consumption, etc) this sounds great...but you could still do all that for way, _way_ cheaper.
    if you're the kind of person who draws, sure! i can see how this would be great for someone who uses apps like procreate or Photoshop (support for that is coming in 2019 tho) or is just used to iOS but still needs something to get their work done. still though, i do think you could do it for cheaper, like last year's Pro, but I digress.
    if you're the person who say, uses heavier applications, or someone who isn't really familiar with the cloud or the limitations of iOS, then personally I don't think this could replace your laptop. It low-key feels like an accessory to a laptop/desktop, or a souped up iPhone X. basically what I'm trying to say is that this thing is great, I love it, it just doesn't seem to be something that could replace your main computer, mostly 'cause the OS is lacking. it's nice iPad, but...it's still an iPad.

  • Jousboxx
    Jousboxx 4 days ago

    "swipe up to go home"
    "swipe up a little bit more to open the app launcher"
    "swipe up just a little bit to open the dock"
    jee whiz this seems like a reliable system that would be very difficult to make mistakes on

  • Karl Rühl
    Karl Rühl 4 days ago +1

    It’s bends like a paper and it breaks like a paper
    - Jerry rig

  • chelsea
    chelsea 4 days ago

    I have the first ever iPad Mini and I’ve been looking for a replacement for a while now. Would you recommend buying the new iPad Pro? Is it worth the money or should I just buy a laptop

    • Amos Batto
      Amos Batto 2 days ago

      It totally depends on what you want to do with the device. If you just want a tablet and you don't mind the high price, then this might be worth it. If you want a laptop replacement, then this probably will disappoint you, but it depends on how you use your laptop.
      Note: I don't buy Apple products due to the price and their promotion of planned obsolescence, but my experience with the Galaxy Note 10.1 is that I constantly run into limitations with the software, where it can't replace my laptop, and this review says that same thing happens with the iPad Pro.

  • CARS 3
    CARS 3 4 days ago +2

    iOS 13 wishlist
    Split screen multi tasking on the iPhone
    Having Window on the iPad
    Locking individual apps
    Clear all option in multitasking
    Camera settings in the camera app
    Make Siri smarter + faster
    Moving apps in the home screen
    Convine contacts + Imessage + facetime
    Weather + calculator app on iPad
    Allow NFC to thirp parties
    Naming Bluetooth devices
    Turning flash on and of when recording
    Movingwallpapers
    support for external harddrives on ipad
    Support for flash drives on iPad
    Support for Googles VP9 video codex
    A version of finalcut Pro for iPad

    • The Grinch
      The Grinch 4 days ago

      you can already toggle low power mode, dark mode and others in control centre... you just need to customise what's on it in settings lol

  • Atul Kaushik
    Atul Kaushik 4 days ago

    what's the use of USB -C port, when you cannot use it for it's full potential, also, There is no file management system, etc.. etc..., for these shortcomings, this hardware is overkill...may be iOS 13 will be able to address , what Apple is intentially restricting at the moment....good hardware though....

  • sultanabran1
    sultanabran1 4 days ago

    short answer before you even watch the video? no, it can't. because it's still an ipad, same as the previous model. it might look different but it still works the same.

  • Mk ._. queen22
    Mk ._. queen22 4 days ago

    Nah it will never defeat the microsoft surface pro 🙂

  • Dan Galman
    Dan Galman 4 days ago

    Great content! This is definitely one of the most articulate reviews you guys have done! Thank you, The Verge!

  • Another gamer
    Another gamer 4 days ago

    Here I am typing my comment using the Samsung Galaxy tab s4 running full linux thanks to Dextop. Sorry apple but for me it is NO!

  • Alan Hughes
    Alan Hughes 4 days ago +1

    Awesome new speakers, but what good do they do when it is basically impossible to listen to music on iOS. As soon as you do something else, it automatically pauses the music. Awesome new song, want to open that mp3 in the music app? Sorry. Want to view a website? Let us compulsive redirect you to some mobile version or to the app store. Want to click on a text box? Let us arbitrarily scroll the page a little bit to confuse you and make you forget what you were going to type or so can't read the message you are replying to. Want to indent a paragraph? Sorry we removed that button. Want to do anything at all? Nope, we tell you what to do.

  • its sareX
    its sareX 4 days ago

    Simple answer: No.

  • xXIllGetYouXx
    xXIllGetYouXx 4 days ago

    Can it replace your laptop? Hell no.

  • M. Louis Photography

    THANK YOU FOR AN HONEST REVIEW! Someday over the rainbow Apple my wake up and let users REALLY leverage their gear. Again, thanks!

  • SAFUVAN ZAF
    SAFUVAN ZAF 5 days ago

    This review made me subscribe you 😀 ❤️

  • Krill Siluroid
    Krill Siluroid 5 days ago

    IPads were never meant to replace your MacBook or laptop Apple wants you to buy both. That's why there are always seems to be something holding back each iteration.

  • Bryan Ferrer
    Bryan Ferrer 5 days ago

    Not all usb-c dongle supports daisy chain ... Also , flashdrive and external hdd should work if there is a usb-c adapter with power source

  • Javeria Zulfqar
    Javeria Zulfqar 5 days ago

    i dont think apple is trying to replace laptops with this ipad because they're trying to sell the entire ecosystem ((iphone, mac, ipad). i doubt it'll ever be able to replace a laptop entirely simply because apple wants to push macbook sales too.

  • Chino Designs NYC.com

    I just purchased it, FYI guys remember Photoshop will have a version in 2019...can't wait!!

  • Alden Clarke
    Alden Clarke 5 days ago +1

    You're trying to force your dated laptop ways onto the iPad Pro. Remember, we've been doing our Mac laptop thing since the 90s. This is a paradigm shift in how a computer fits into life. Evolve or go extinct!

  • robotechfans
    robotechfans 5 days ago

    "it's more expensive than my laptop"
    "I should love it....."

  • Tracee Lopez
    Tracee Lopez 5 days ago

    It’s like you’re really really trying to find every bad thing. Lol
    Overall, pretty decent review :p

  • Nathanael Hoffman
    Nathanael Hoffman 5 days ago

    This guy low key annoys me lol

  • Cristiano Maestro
    Cristiano Maestro 5 days ago

    Really. Could on my laptop Fortnite runs 1 FPS on my tablet 30

  • KWAN Francis
    KWAN Francis 6 days ago

    Cannot tell how much I agree with the critic from the Verge about the new iPad Pro in 2018.
    In 2018 when apple is showing off how powerful the new generation iPad Pro could be , apple at the same time shipping the by-product that how obvious the limitations of an iPad (or iOS) are . With all these amazingly powerful hardware in the new iPad Pro 2018, it's the first time we see the iOS is holding the hardware back from reaching its full potential while forcing consumers to pay the bills for the hardware. All of these marketing doesn't make sense at all when we're talking about an iPad more expensive than a capable laptop computer. Eventually, if you're paying a price as much as for a powerful laptop , you're demanding for getting serious things done efficiently , rather than appearing to be aesthetically cool casually.
    Lastly, Well, having no real file/folder management capability in such mature iOS is really an immature behavior .

  • JON Gergeceff
    JON Gergeceff 6 days ago

    Awesome review Mr Patel

  • Sonia
    Sonia 6 days ago

    I LOOVE MY I PAD PRO 2018

  • Declan Sharp
    Declan Sharp 6 days ago

    Lol better then apples laptops i7 cpus hahaha apple is straight garabage for what you pay for. People waste so much money its funny af

  • Dilan Stubbins
    Dilan Stubbins 6 days ago

    For a college student who just uses this for notes, writing essays and basic use is this fine or should one get a MacBook Pro?

  • Phanitej Kanchu
    Phanitej Kanchu 6 days ago +7

    $2200 for tablet! , no thank you.

  • Biggie Phil
    Biggie Phil 6 days ago

    I wish Apple would install Mac OS on the iPad Pros.

  • hotmojo1
    hotmojo1 6 days ago

    I use the fan. What more do you need?

  • Thayer Vahan
    Thayer Vahan 6 days ago

    I wish to use this iPad pro for school work and drawing. Would this be good for school work such as, Google classroom, Google docs, Google slides, etc?

  • Chris Lynch
    Chris Lynch 6 days ago

    I’d wait for the pro 2020 before buying into this. Kudos costs..

  • Rafael Freitas
    Rafael Freitas 6 days ago

    Mossberg certainly disagrees.

  • Muneeb Chaudhry
    Muneeb Chaudhry 6 days ago

    I have the previous gen 12.9 inch iPad Pro, and I love it for what it is. However, I agree with everything you said in this review. If you know what you’re using it for and its limits - its a great machine. I’m a student, and for me its a paperless option for note taking with apps like Notability. And I have the added convenience of having a computer for pretty much anything I need. I’ve used a laptop for school work, and it’s nowhere near as engaging and versatile for note-taking in lectures. That being said - the iPad can’t be a computer for people that need a full computer and full-strength programs... Maybe someday, but it’s not there yet.

  • Eric Pellegrini
    Eric Pellegrini 7 days ago

    A reviewer who thinks a GeekBench means an iPad is as fast as a laptop.
    Not impressed.

  • Encanto India
    Encanto India 7 days ago

    I am planning to buy a new portable device. I am confused between Surface Pro and this iPad pro. Budget is not an issue. Can all you people please help me decide. Till now I have been using Samsung Tab s3, iPad 3 and HP x360. HP is basically a laptop but its small and i can use it as a tab though heavy.

    • Amos Batto
      Amos Batto 2 days ago

      If you want a full laptop replacement, you are better off with the Surface Pro as long as you use the normal version of Windows, at least that is what I gather from the reviews. By the way, Linux runs nicely on the Surface Pro, which is the deciding factor for me, although it might not be for you.

  • SlowRide
    SlowRide 7 days ago

    I don't want iOS at that price. At that price just give it OSX. then and on;y then will it truly replace a laptop.

  • Cult Snarez
    Cult Snarez 7 days ago +1

    Pro DJ gear works with Surface Pro 6. Just saying....

  • Grady White
    Grady White 7 days ago

    You said Adobe wrote a Siri app that imports photos from the camera roll into Lightroom CC and then automatically deletes the imported photos from the camera roll. What is it called and ow do I get this app? I cannot find it anywhere.

  • R Snr
    R Snr 7 days ago

    I’ve felt that dockand app switcher gesture has been difficult for quite some time.

  • Angelo V.
    Angelo V. 7 days ago

    Nice review overall. Despite being critical of the iPad Pro, I’ll still, probably get one compared to the new MacBook Air. I mainly use my computer to type documents, to create slides using google drive and to surf the web for news and entertainment like a normal tablet. It can probably replace my laptop, especially when Apple fixes the Files feature. The one thing that I heard no one talk about at all is the iPad Pro’s future proofness.
    The A12X chip is so powerful that it could probably handle future iOS updates for the next decade at most. Overtime, Apple will develop iOS to be more optimized with more iPad specific apps and third party apps that take advantage of the A12X. So if I do buy one as a laptop replacement, I should be fine based on what I need for now. However, if I do need more pro apps later down the road, the iPad will probably have those apps by the time I need them. Either way, I think it’s a good purchase for me.

  • Mainak Roy
    Mainak Roy 7 days ago

    Damn

  • Taylor Albaugh
    Taylor Albaugh 7 days ago

    Omg just bring MacOS to the iPad Pro dear lord so many people want this!

  • icephoenix88
    icephoenix88 7 days ago

    The next iteration will have the full OS. Next thing you know everyone will be rallying behind apple saying they are so innovative & changing the game - _-. Until they actually do something signicant I'll stary away.

  • Theodore Yamada-Dessert

    *"Yet"* or *"...for now"* should be included after every one of his complaints. People forget that this thing can improve greatly fast. For this reason, I found this video slightly misleading, but for the most part I really liked this product review.

  • Gerhard Wunderler
    Gerhard Wunderler 7 days ago

    Excellent review... you really nailed it! Was a big Apple fan years ago, but they lost me with this stupid compatibility issues like not playing Googles 4K vids, not allowing my 1st gen. MacPro to run an OS beyond Lion even though it is capable of etc...

  • TheLouis9720
    TheLouis9720 7 days ago

    I’ve got an 800€ bonus to spend in electronic shopping for the school but I’m actually in doubt between the new IPad Pro , the old MacBook Air or the base model of the MacBook Pro. What would you suggest to me ? Consider I have a mid 2012 MacBook Air 11” which fits a lot with my daily use (web browsing normal stuff ), the most important thing for me it’s MATLAB using, that is not still available for iPad . Thank you for your attention.

  • # TooMuchScotty
    # TooMuchScotty 8 days ago

    The pen being magnetic should’ve been on the first iPad pro. Why don’t they make a iPad Pro that can do everything a laptop can do, the tech is already in there hands but they don’t because they will put those features in the next iPad pro

  • Kaito Hamada
    Kaito Hamada 8 days ago

    Hooold up! iPad Mini from late 2018? What's that? And it shouldn't be the iPad he placed next to the iPad Pro 2018 the scene after he said that...

  • Sean Mather
    Sean Mather 8 days ago

    Apple can do hardware so well.... they really need to focus on software and compatibility. The walled garden is no longer useful in keeping people in the apple ecosystem, it’s keeping the company from growing bigger. If it more seamlessly fit in with my other devices then it would be great, but right now my phone and iPad feel like they’re on their own little island. At this point I think 3 things need to happen. One is apple needs to go all in on it’s own chips, as clearly it can take full advantage of it. Secondly they need to bake in great x86 compatibly into OS X once they move to be all A series processors. Finally OS X needs to be on every pro machine and optimized for touch, while iOS should be the non pro system.

  • corsegerspwnd
    corsegerspwnd 8 days ago

    No

  • Art Online
    Art Online 8 days ago

    Thanks! Welcome to my channel!)

  • Arya1999
    Arya1999 8 days ago

    No proper keyboard, no replacement. If you're a touch typer who has to type all day, chicklet keys are a frigging nightmare. I've had to buy a gaming machine.

  • thinlycuta4paper no lastname

    With osx yes

  • gene978
    gene978 8 days ago

    Not a fan of the Price of the pencil after using a normal Stylus from Dollar Tree waiting for the pencil to come in. The new Pencil cannot open HOME SCREEN of Shift side to side to the next Application. The Keyboard Bores me to pieces and $200 is outrageous for this No frills Keyboard with No Home Button or short cuts and Can’t full protect the device when closed. I was hoping Logitech or someone else had something out for this 12.9 Pro so I can bring back this horrible plain keyboard. The IPad is nice but miss the Touch sensitive home button for unlocking and it’s features. I still have my other IPAD PRO that is still like NEW condition and I am asking myself do I need this new one? The screen is beautiful and the depth is amazing but not $1200 worth.

  • Aegon Aram
    Aegon Aram 8 days ago

    I would rather a yoga C930

  • jujuju222333444
    jujuju222333444 8 days ago

    conclusion: im not buying one. btw, GREAT REVIEW! : )

  • Jega Surian
    Jega Surian 8 days ago

    i can use headphone adapter for 3.5mm jack cable? and we can export photos , videos & some files to memorycard using card reader?

  • Phil
    Phil 8 days ago

    Love iOS as a mobile OS but this is like strapping a Ferrari engine on a horse.

  • Tijmen Brozius
    Tijmen Brozius 8 days ago

    I only have the last version of the 12,9 version to draw in Photoshop - on my Mac. I use the Astropad app to do that, it does a great job of turning the iPad Pro into a graphics tablet. I did this to avoid having to buy an expensive Wacom Cintiq. So for that it works. I absolutely hate the roadblocks mentioned in the video, and use an android phone - I would never use iOS daily.

  • Orelion
    Orelion 8 days ago

    "I don't want to adapt to my computer..." But that's the entire mantra of Apple in all long their products...

  • sdq sdq
    sdq sdq 8 days ago

    Folding screen is the future

  • AbdulMajid H Jaffar Ali

    Then what is the best unit that replaces your laptop?

  • Axel Fischer
    Axel Fischer 8 days ago

    I can’t use Rosetta Stone on this beautiful but USELESS IPAD without a FLASHDRIVE!!!!