New iPad Pro review: can it replace your laptop?

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 5, 2018
  • Apple’s new iPad Pro is a beast of a tablet, and Nilay Patel reviews it -- everything from its new design and screen to plugging in several devices to the new USB-C port. Dami Lee and William Joel, professional creatives at The Verge, also give their insight into the new iPad and Apple Pencil.
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Here's a link to buy the iPad Pro: amzn.to/2E8BDeV
    Note: we sometimes place affiliate links directly to the best deals in our video descriptions, so we may earn a commission if you buy something.
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TheXvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 5 746

  • David Luna
    David Luna 2 days ago

    Snapchat on the iPad might be nice

  • MrDomestosWC
    MrDomestosWC 2 days ago

    This review is an eye opener. I was thinking about replacing my mbp late 2013 with the new iPad pro. This is the only review that told me the reality, which is don't. Thank you.

  • Oxi Clean
    Oxi Clean 2 days ago +1

    I think I'll wait for iPad pro to come out with a oled screen. Not worth paying all that for a LCD screen.

    • AwesomeBreakfast
      AwesomeBreakfast 2 days ago +1

      It's still an amazing screen with 120Hz ProMotion, has amazing colours and gets really bright at 600 nits of brightness

  • David Vishnu Kumar
    David Vishnu Kumar 2 days ago +1

    Excellent thorough review.

  • Nilabh Umredkar
    Nilabh Umredkar 3 days ago

    Best review I have seen so far!

  • Knight 11692
    Knight 11692 5 days ago

    A lot of this is BS everything that I connected to my iPad pro through the USB type C worked just fine. The only thing that he's saying that's half way true is you need iTunes to upload files to the iPad pro other than that the rest of this video is a waste of time.

  • Syed Jawad Shah
    Syed Jawad Shah 7 days ago

    GREAT REVIEW AND GREATLY TO THE POINT.

  • co0kii
    co0kii 9 days ago

    Wait, THE dami lee?!

  • Omer Alam
    Omer Alam 9 days ago

    iPad pro needs mac os

  • Gilby R
    Gilby R 9 days ago

    Thank You! Great review.

  • JJ gang
    JJ gang 10 days ago

    I want it but my mom won't even give me a tablet

  • Aluel Mayen
    Aluel Mayen 11 days ago

    Ummm maybe you can give it away to the subscribers 👀

  • Anty855
    Anty855 12 days ago

    You, can it replace a macbook?

  • 网相声
    网相声 13 days ago

    My main questions for this to replace laptop is, whether it can run ox system and HDMI possible for this.

  • Cuomo257
    Cuomo257 13 days ago +1

    How about ipad pro running macOS... ? Well done

  • Leti Bonnin
    Leti Bonnin 14 days ago

    were you able to plug in a mouse?

  • Makai.
    Makai. 17 days ago +1

    A laptop is better for work and literally everything but drawing and if you draw then buy the iPad 6th gen for $330 or last years iPad Pro. They work really well and unless your rich there’s no point of buying this iPad.

  • UTHSCSA School of Medicine - CIRCLE Curriculum

    THANK YOU for giving an authentic review acknowledging that this is a supplement to a MacBook, not a replacement for one.

  • Tracy Krznar
    Tracy Krznar 22 days ago

    ABSOLUTELY LOVE YOUR COMMENTARY! I FEEL THE SAME WAY ABOUT THE iPad Pro. I bought one but, really wish it was all you wish for.

  • clevername333
    clevername333 24 days ago

    spoiler alert, NO.... NOOOOO..... the ipad cannot replace your laptop if you do any actual work on your laptop. If you just use your laptop to watch netflix and youtube and you read emails.. then you can use an ipad..

  • Alex Thurner
    Alex Thurner 24 days ago

    4366 emails... ouch

  • Paul Dotz
    Paul Dotz 26 days ago

    you cant (and wont be able to use it as a laptop sub -- i think). endowing ipad pro with laptop-like features would cannibalize their macbook lineup.

  • TJ Wilkins
    TJ Wilkins 26 days ago

    Awesome review - seriously informative and helped me make the right decision for me...

  • 张朔
    张朔 28 days ago

    Am I the only one noticing the 4000+ unread email???

  • Jason
    Jason Month ago

    Solution to the problem: Microsoft Surface. I have the iPad Pro 11 and several of the other iPads for the kiddies. It’s a great consumption device with some productivity, but it can’t replace a laptop like the Surface. Microsoft is expected to reveal the new Surface 7 this year. I’m hopeful.

  • Kurt Wallander
    Kurt Wallander Month ago

    haters gonna hate. dont try to shape apple products to you. you have to shape to apple, then everything works out.

  • Gabriel Leung
    Gabriel Leung Month ago

    Basically, I'll say that this iPad Pro and all the other iPads by Apple is just like a mad cow. They're really powerful, but they never get the job done.

  • ScreamingLlamas
    ScreamingLlamas Month ago

    Apple should make this good enough to be a laptop replacement for people who need a laptop AND a desktop

  • Nitin Sawant
    Nitin Sawant Month ago

    Can we use wireless mouse in iPad Pro 11..

  • Zrinko Maloseja
    Zrinko Maloseja Month ago

    So incredible yet so stupid. Great review.

  • elvyra Elph
    elvyra Elph Month ago

    Thank youuuu for the review!!! Im going to mbp 2018!!!

  • Rafael Storch
    Rafael Storch Month ago

    Excellent ending

  • Martyn Gasson
    Martyn Gasson Month ago

    I couldn’t give an arse if it replaces a laptop. It compliments my desktop nicely. iOS is perfectly fine for me. I save my files (Clip/Affinity) to “Files” or Dropbox, reopen on my Mac, and no probs. The Files system is only a problem if you make it a problem.

  • Daniel B.
    Daniel B. Month ago

    Yep not replacement... cause if it is then imac wont sells anymore... will be a doom for the company income!!!!

  • Gavin Playz
    Gavin Playz Month ago

    Plays Roblox at 15fps. Garbage

  • Morgan Walden
    Morgan Walden Month ago

    The first unbiased Apple review I've ever seen.

  • Morgan Walden
    Morgan Walden Month ago

    The first unbiased Apple review I've ever seen.

  • Tutankhamun KING
    Tutankhamun KING Month ago

    It’s a tablet just go out and buy a laptop stop complaining

  • Michael Dust
    Michael Dust Month ago

    The plugging the pencil into the ipad was apple trolling😂😂😂

  • Ashlyvett Figueroa
    Ashlyvett Figueroa Month ago

    Im a full time student and have my own brand so I need to do everything online, school work, shipping labels, print... I don’t know which one should I get!

  • Geek Jawaid
    Geek Jawaid Month ago

    I don't want to adopt to my computer. I want my computer to adopt me. Golden words sir. 👍🤗

  • Arun Iyer
    Arun Iyer Month ago

    Great video! Apple keeps saying it wants the iPad to become user's laptop replacement, but they always seem to conveniently forget those key aspects that bring people back to their laptops. Hope they learn. This tablet isn't cheap.

  • Davie Chen
    Davie Chen Month ago

    You're absolutely correct! It has been really painful to see a buddy who's an Android fanatic to tell me not to buy this because of "reasons" and I've experienced the same with every Android user that's in my circles. Bought it and loving it. Have never been so happy using an iPad!

  • Praneeth Reddy
    Praneeth Reddy Month ago

    Can we use this for Adobe CC, editing of videos and photos...?

    • David Rapant
      David Rapant 2 days ago

      You can use the CC mobile app versions, not the full desktop apps. You can upload your photos using a lightning USB card reader then do edits in lightroom CC mobile and then sync to all your other devices like your desktop. At least that's my understanding.

  • ishootgopro
    ishootgopro Month ago

    I have iPad Pro 12.9 2017. and I love it. it's really nice and fast and very productive using it, and mine has 4G lte. I always use Apple products, I prolly owned every product they have, but I'm no artist, I don't draw or designs stuffs, I do photography and I use it to edit some photos to lightroom cc. but honestly I enjoyed using my Samsung Chromebook Plus v2. it has 4glte as well so I can take it anywhere. And I love using keyboard and the mouse. but I love my iPad so much. But I am not thinking about upgrading to a new one.

  • M 310
    M 310 Month ago

    I’m using it right now! Love it

  • Doodle Daily
    Doodle Daily Month ago

    Can’t we all just wait till iOS 13 god danit

  • Ghost Davis
    Ghost Davis Month ago

    So I have a question. I have the10.5 version is it worth the 165 to upgrade to the 11?

  • Sasori
    Sasori Month ago

    I’m gunna take a guess no that doesn’t come in a bundle u gotta pay for the iPad Pro, keyboard and Apple Pencil 😭😭

  • Why Not
    Why Not Month ago

    oh yeah yeah

  • NAND KISHORE
    NAND KISHORE Month ago

    Honest Review.. 👏👏

  • Will T
    Will T Month ago

    You greedy bastard why would you want external storage on something with a freaking terabyte inside it

  • M1ke_07
    M1ke_07 Month ago

    GREAT!

  • TechTale-3T4
    TechTale-3T4 Month ago

    Nice video

  • GameFailures
    GameFailures Month ago

    So they just gonna keep copying features off the surface aren't they

  • johny wijaya
    johny wijaya Month ago

    Can you install mac os on ipad pro 2018?

  • Puppy Eyes
    Puppy Eyes Month ago

    I want this I am 12 and I want this so bad my mom I buying it for me but I am still confused how much it is

  • jn3456
    jn3456 Month ago

    spot on

  • Jason Tao
    Jason Tao Month ago +1

    That is not ipad mini from early 2018, that is the original ipad size.

  • Maninderpal Mannan
    Maninderpal Mannan Month ago

    Good review my man.. really informative

  • Thien Pham
    Thien Pham 2 months ago

    Imagine an iPad Pro that can switch from MacOS to IOS and vice versa whenever the user feels like it.

  • Liew Hong Yi
    Liew Hong Yi 2 months ago

    2200 dollars? What

  • MrEmanthedrummer
    MrEmanthedrummer 2 months ago

    iPad isn’t meant to be a computer. It’s meant to be a tablet. If you want a computer, but a MacBook or an iMac.

  • mikamiga
    mikamiga 2 months ago

    The iPad can't replace a laptop so long as it keeps using an OS designed for a mobile phone. You just can't replace a desktop OS with a mobile OS. There's too much you can't do. For the average person the iPad will be fine, but for people who need their computers for work, like programmers and web devs, the iPad Pro isn't useful at all!

  • Canosis Plays
    Canosis Plays 2 months ago

    All that power and yet still no Xcode.... still waiting to upgrade. Apple needs more pro software support and a more accommodating OS.

  • Stringbean
    Stringbean 2 months ago

    wow, great review and thanks for saving me a lot of money!

  • kemicalromanc15
    kemicalromanc15 2 months ago

    I basically bought it as a glorified sketch pad bc Procreate is so amazing. I know I'll need a computer for Photoshop and text for comics but the "On-the-go" and mobility is just what I need. Luckily....I don't have a pervious iPad Pro.

  • black magic753
    black magic753 2 months ago

    its detachable why would you ever use tablet with keyboard behind it???

  • Aiman khan
    Aiman khan 2 months ago

    U saved me bro..✌ peace

  • Namu Cuddles
    Namu Cuddles 2 months ago

    wait what YOU CANT HAVE GMAIL IN IPAD????? LMFAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  • Sugar™ Blackcurrant
    Sugar™ Blackcurrant 2 months ago

    Why all the iPad cant using magic mouse 😔

  • VirtuaMe
    VirtuaMe 2 months ago

    Next one hopefully to be OLED, waterproof and the newer iOS opening up more essential functions

  • Gregory Pierce
    Gregory Pierce 2 months ago

    I echo this sentiment. The iPad Pro is excellent hardware that is severely limited by iOS. Yes the hardware is going to keep getting faster and faster, but unless the OS gains and the software stack gains a lot of capability to exploit it - it's almost pointless.

  • Nicole Ibáñez
    Nicole Ibáñez 2 months ago

    This is the best review! Got so excited about this new iPad got it and found myself cut off by the limited apps and the way iOS limits how you can transfer files. Wish I had seen this before

  • Jedi 511
    Jedi 511 2 months ago

    Great review as always. $2200 is a lot for iOS powered device with the limitations iOS has. I wonder if Apple fragments iOS in to two groups: PadOS and PhoneOS. With the performance and price point the iPad Pros have (really since 2017), they need to be flexible enough to replace a laptop fully. Off topic, but one thing I don’t understand is the iPhone XR screen is bashed, yet has higher PPI than the iPad Pro screen which is praised. I have both the 10.5 iPad Pro and the iPhone XR and I can see vitrually no difference.

  • Eng Leong Kong
    Eng Leong Kong 2 months ago

    thats the thing bout apple...they dont get it...and well said, i would like it to adapt to me and not me adapt to it

  • Michael Paul
    Michael Paul 2 months ago

    Great music playing in the background

  • darron pattel
    darron pattel 2 months ago

    good thing you guys didnt have to put much together for this video

  • damberson4698
    damberson4698 2 months ago +2

    The reason I haven’t purchased an iPad is because of iOS
    I have an iPhone
    And the limitations of apps on iOS are purposeful. The whole reason I need a MacBook is iOS. The mobile OS gets in the way of some things
    I can do a lot of things on my phone, but sometimes you just need full desktop browsing etc. Apple will never allow the iPad Pro to have those functions.
    If they did, with the specs and performance that the iPad Pro has right now, it would destroy the MacBook Pro line, and honestly, some of the iMac sales would drop as well.

  • Kalvin Kiema
    Kalvin Kiema 2 months ago

    Maybe I’d be interested if there was a boot camp app for this iPad.

  • Max Maximovich
    Max Maximovich 2 months ago

    i love this review

  • Panache Automotive
    Panache Automotive 2 months ago

    No, but the Tab S4 can...

  • Arup Deb
    Arup Deb 2 months ago

    Is this an answer or something else??
    If you're tired then leave it, stop winning
    It just frustrates 🤐😥

  • Malcolm H
    Malcolm H 2 months ago

    Really great review thanks! I was considering possible the iPad pro but, man, too frustrating.. too many exclusivities Apple won't budge on. Your comment, "the iPad pro is just an accessory to my laptop, not a replacement for it" How true, and that's what Apple seems to want...for people who have a lot of money to buy BOTH vs one that can do both. I can't make my Gmail my default email?! nope. I can't watch higher HD/4k on TheXvid?! nope. Too much exclusivity. dam. So frustrating.

  • Topher Caesar
    Topher Caesar 2 months ago +4

    The iPad doesn’t even have a 4K display...why the hell are you upset about TheXvid not playing in 4K?

    • Lom me
      Lom me 2 months ago

      Because of a 2200$ device? Why would you pay that price and not have 4K?

  • Acy - Singing & Composing

    smh, Liquid Retina doesn't mean rounded corners, it's LCD (Liquid Crystal Display) and Retina. It's just a fancy name for good LCD screens, as opposed to the iPhone XS's OLED technology

  • dennis aquino
    dennis aquino 2 months ago

    Same question when the first IPad Pro came out......and the answer is the same....NO!

  • Ahsan Arshad
    Ahsan Arshad 2 months ago

    I am android fan boy knowing that Apple's hardware and software is way better than Android's but these are the reasons why I hate Apple... I am willing to pay for a device that you made but it's mine now so let me decide what i will do with it.... Why i have to follow your rules even after paying you so heavily? Why there are so many roadblocks in my way?
    Look at this ipad now, it's way faster than their own laptop but still it can't take place of my laptop
    PS: 'New phone can't fit the old charger, that's your hero?' Bill Burr
    Now new pencil won't work with old iPad

  • JaeIsAsleep
    JaeIsAsleep 2 months ago

    What no! what kinda question is that! I gotta give them credit tho, better than the pixel slate.

  • Rebecca JJ
    Rebecca JJ 2 months ago

    THANK YOU! I stumbled into your video after watching several others who spent the first several minutes talking about aesthetics and the "unwrapping experience" of opening a new iPad Pro. I mean, really? I just wanted to know how it works, is it worth the price, can it do what I want it to do. You delivered that information to me in a concise manner. I'll be back in the future!

  • Kevin Burrell
    Kevin Burrell 2 months ago

    Lol this is so funny

  • Kidon Bae
    Kidon Bae 2 months ago

    What’s that drawing app they are using in the video???

  • Super John64
    Super John64 2 months ago

    It can not be a laptop replacement...



    But it is the first flexible iPad ever

  • Braulio Diaz
    Braulio Diaz 2 months ago

    Thank you for the review man. I was planning on buying the new model but I was thinking of choosing the older model because of the price. I have an iPad Air (original) since it came out and it still works like a charm but the problems I had with it were the size of the screen (its kinda clumsy reading pdf files when you have to zoom and look around what youre looking for) and the memory (16GB). The additions are neats especially the Apple Pencil, but I think the older model is enough for my needs. Thank you!

  • Pablo Martí
    Pablo Martí 2 months ago

    Where can I buy the black carpet over the table to standing the Ipad?

  • Trex Mystery
    Trex Mystery 2 months ago

    Im getting that for christmas tommarrow

  • Adrianna Jackson
    Adrianna Jackson 2 months ago

    I need to be able to use USBs!

  • Kazumi Shi
    Kazumi Shi 2 months ago

    Watching this from my destroyed ipad

  • Mike
    Mike 2 months ago

    No.
    It can not.

  • Ezekiel Constantine
    Ezekiel Constantine 2 months ago

    Any good suggestions on a good cases for the iPad Pro 11”