New iPad Pro review: can it replace your laptop?

Share
Embed

Comments • 5 816

  • Aiman khan
    Aiman khan Day ago

    U saved me bro..✌ peace

  • Fazli Halim
    Fazli Halim Day ago

    You can only transfer photo from sd card. Not video. Come on apple

  • Namu Cuddles
    Namu Cuddles 2 days ago

    wait what YOU CANT HAVE GMAIL IN IPAD????? LMFAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  • Sugar™ Blackcurrant

    Why all the iPad cant using magic mouse 😔

  • VirtuaMe
    VirtuaMe 5 days ago

    Next one hopefully to be OLED, waterproof and the newer iOS opening up more essential functions

  • Gregory Pierce
    Gregory Pierce 5 days ago

    I echo this sentiment. The iPad Pro is excellent hardware that is severely limited by iOS. Yes the hardware is going to keep getting faster and faster, but unless the OS gains and the software stack gains a lot of capability to exploit it - it's almost pointless.

  • Nicole Ibáñez
    Nicole Ibáñez 5 days ago

    This is the best review! Got so excited about this new iPad got it and found myself cut off by the limited apps and the way iOS limits how you can transfer files. Wish I had seen this before

  • Hello, is there anybody out There?

    I want it so badly for gaming and drawing!

  • Jedi 511
    Jedi 511 7 days ago

    Great review as always. $2200 is a lot for iOS powered device with the limitations iOS has. I wonder if Apple fragments iOS in to two groups: PadOS and PhoneOS. With the performance and price point the iPad Pros have (really since 2017), they need to be flexible enough to replace a laptop fully. Off topic, but one thing I don’t understand is the iPhone XR screen is bashed, yet has higher PPI than the iPad Pro screen which is praised. I have both the 10.5 iPad Pro and the iPhone XR and I can see vitrually no difference.

  • Eng Leong Kong
    Eng Leong Kong 8 days ago

    thats the thing bout apple...they dont get it...and well said, i would like it to adapt to me and not me adapt to it

  • Michael Paul
    Michael Paul 8 days ago

    Great music playing in the background

  • darron pattel
    darron pattel 9 days ago

    good thing you guys didnt have to put much together for this video

  • damberson4698
    damberson4698 9 days ago

    The reason I haven’t purchased an iPad is because of iOS
    I have an iPhone
    And the limitations of apps on iOS are purposeful. The whole reason I need a MacBook is iOS. The mobile OS gets in the way of some things
    I can do a lot of things on my phone, but sometimes you just need full desktop browsing etc. Apple will never allow the iPad Pro to have those functions.
    If they did, with the specs and performance that the iPad Pro has right now, it would destroy the MacBook Pro line, and honestly, some of the iMac sales would drop as well.

  • Kalvin Kiema
    Kalvin Kiema 9 days ago

    Maybe I’d be interested if there was a boot camp app for this iPad.

  • Max Maximovich
    Max Maximovich 9 days ago

    i love this review

  • Panache Automotive
    Panache Automotive 10 days ago

    No, but the Tab S4 can...

  • Arup Deb
    Arup Deb 10 days ago

    Is this an answer or something else??
    If you're tired then leave it, stop winning
    It just frustrates 🤐😥

  • Malcolm H
    Malcolm H 10 days ago

    Really great review thanks! I was considering possible the iPad pro but, man, too frustrating.. too many exclusivities Apple won't budge on. Your comment, "the iPad pro is just an accessory to my laptop, not a replacement for it" How true, and that's what Apple seems to want...for people who have a lot of money to buy BOTH vs one that can do both. I can't make my Gmail my default email?! nope. I can't watch higher HD/4k on TheXvid?! nope. Too much exclusivity. dam. So frustrating.

  • Christopher DiCesare
    Christopher DiCesare 11 days ago +2

    The iPad doesn’t even have a 4K display...why the hell are you upset about TheXvid not playing in 4K?

    • Lom me
      Lom me 4 days ago

      Because of a 2200$ device? Why would you pay that price and not have 4K?

  • Acy - Conseils
    Acy - Conseils 12 days ago

    smh, Liquid Retina doesn't mean rounded corners, it's LCD (Liquid Crystal Display) and Retina. It's just a fancy name for good LCD screens, as opposed to the iPhone XS's OLED technology

  • dennis aquino
    dennis aquino 12 days ago

    Same question when the first IPad Pro came out......and the answer is the same....NO!

  • Ahsan Arshad
    Ahsan Arshad 13 days ago

    I am android fan boy knowing that Apple's hardware and software is way better than Android's but these are the reasons why I hate Apple... I am willing to pay for a device that you made but it's mine now so let me decide what i will do with it.... Why i have to follow your rules even after paying you so heavily? Why there are so many roadblocks in my way?
    Look at this ipad now, it's way faster than their own laptop but still it can't take place of my laptop
    PS: 'New phone can't fit the old charger, that's your hero?' Bill Burr
    Now new pencil won't work with old iPad

  • JaeIsAsleep
    JaeIsAsleep 13 days ago

    What no! what kinda question is that! I gotta give them credit tho, better than the pixel slate.

  • Constance JJ
    Constance JJ 13 days ago

    THANK YOU! I stumbled into your video after watching several others who spent the first several minutes talking about aesthetics and the "unwrapping experience" of opening a new iPad Pro. I mean, really? I just wanted to know how it works, is it worth the price, can it do what I want it to do. You delivered that information to me in a concise manner. I'll be back in the future!

  • Kevin Burrell
    Kevin Burrell 14 days ago

    Lol this is so funny

  • Kidon Bae
    Kidon Bae 14 days ago

    What’s that drawing app they are using in the video???

  • Super John64
    Super John64 17 days ago

    It can not be a laptop replacement...



    But it is the first flexible iPad ever

  • Braulio Diaz
    Braulio Diaz 18 days ago

    Thank you for the review man. I was planning on buying the new model but I was thinking of choosing the older model because of the price. I have an iPad Air (original) since it came out and it still works like a charm but the problems I had with it were the size of the screen (its kinda clumsy reading pdf files when you have to zoom and look around what youre looking for) and the memory (16GB). The additions are neats especially the Apple Pencil, but I think the older model is enough for my needs. Thank you!

  • Pablo Martí
    Pablo Martí 21 day ago

    Where can I buy the black carpet over the table to standing the Ipad?

  • Trex Mystery
    Trex Mystery 22 days ago

    Im getting that for christmas tommarrow

  • Adrianna Jackson
    Adrianna Jackson 23 days ago

    I need to be able to use USBs!

  • Kazumi Shi
    Kazumi Shi 23 days ago

    Watching this from my destroyed ipad

  • Mike
    Mike 23 days ago

    No.
    It can not.

  • Ezekiel Constantine
    Ezekiel Constantine 23 days ago

    Any good suggestions on a good cases for the iPad Pro 11”

  • Ezekiel Constantine
    Ezekiel Constantine 23 days ago

    I just bought my iPad Pro and just trying to get used to it

  • mitch jenkins
    mitch jenkins 24 days ago

    now I know what I pad I want to upgrade to I have the original I pad mini

  • Hassan Hassan
    Hassan Hassan 26 days ago

    Nice review Nilay, you made me realise that I should just keep using my MacBook Pro rather than this expensive gadget with limitations. I'll stick with my Macbook pro and iPad air until OSX comes on the pro.

  • darkbrian '
    darkbrian ' 26 days ago

    turns out i don't need it

  • Cory Niu
    Cory Niu 27 days ago

    @theverge What is that black grid pad you guys use for review and where can I get one???

  • Sturmwind05
    Sturmwind05 28 days ago

    *I NEED 4K TheXvid!!*

  • Diane Milligan
    Diane Milligan 28 days ago

    I use Outlook and Gmail on my older iPad Pro via the mail app.

  • Dorzey Magar
    Dorzey Magar 28 days ago

    Wtf Can I use my dj controller ?

  • Marlize Holtzhauzen
    Marlize Holtzhauzen 29 days ago

    It would a very powerful device but you cannot connect a mouse. Which makes it really frustrating

  • rainwolf034
    rainwolf034 Month ago

    Mine will be here in 3 days but could only get an 11in but got it anyway..

  • murali S
    murali S Month ago

    This is yet another attempt of apple to market Ipad as a surface pro competitor. Its time apple realized that surface pro does a better job of functioning as a laptop/tablet than iPad .

  • Chris Docchio
    Chris Docchio Month ago

    Great review

  • Tionanima
    Tionanima Month ago

    7:17 Now i'm waiting for the Pixel Pad Pro

  • Anderson C
    Anderson C Month ago

    The ONLY reason to buy an Apple iPad Pro or any iPad is if you MUST buy into the Apple app ecosystem. If you KNOW you will be using THOSE apps.
    I think the Samsung Tab S4 is more powerful in what you can do. More stylus support. GETTER support. Android is more customize-able. Or their UI. Apple also makes you pay for everything (e.g. pen). No Micro SD slot.
    And if any was truly serious about photo or video editing they wouldn't be using a tablet or a laptop. Tablets are for casual computer users. For the average joe FIRST. Even if there are some "professionals" insisting on using a tablet. In the end one should use "...the right tool for the job...".

  • BritishWitwicky
    BritishWitwicky Month ago

    Returning my iPad after this review, Thank you. Isn't just worth it.

  • Bronze Brett
    Bronze Brett Month ago

    Brutally honest, I love this guy!

  • DonVirgiValle
    DonVirgiValle Month ago

    My 2012 Macbook Pro Retina is quickly starting to age. I want to replace it with an iPad, but not being able to use external hard drives is the deal breaker for me. Not to mention how expensive iPads are.

  • Luis Sanchez
    Luis Sanchez Month ago

    Very informative video. Amazing how fast the darn thing is and depressing how iOS (or as I call it "toyOS") holds it back. Like a Ferrari with shopping cart wheels. And to think that the top model with all the goodies costs 2200 bone! Run macOS on them and I will certainly consider it. Until then, when I want to walk away from my Mac and use a tablet, I will use my Surface Book.

  • YYC
    YYC Month ago

    Apple should start listening to it's customers as they've wanted a full blown macos version of the iPad for quite some time now. While the Surface Pro isn't perfect either, you can do everything and anything (aside from high end gaming and CAD work) with it.

  • WhosIbrahim YT
    WhosIbrahim YT Month ago

    No headphone jacks... 🙄 I’ll stick with my normal iPad Pro...

  • Liam Dale
    Liam Dale Month ago

    It's nice the iPad Pro includes USB C, but it's way too limited to replace a computer. Although it is nice you can charge other devices from it such as your phone.

  • CRISPY CHRISO'S
    CRISPY CHRISO'S Month ago

    "Huge camera bump"
    *holds Moto Z*
    YOU THINK THAT'S A BIG CAMERA BUMP?

  • Frank Ragetti
    Frank Ragetti Month ago

    Yes. It can. If you consume more than you produce.

  • Kenneth Torres II
    Kenneth Torres II Month ago

    Creating a perfect product is no the main focus of their brand. Their main focus is to -continue- creating >supporting the future world “peace” scenario, by ‘hanging-in-their’ and accepting what their able to create, because they want to be the future-look (aesthetic) that we use as a reference for how we want the world to look and feel by being the other option and not the only option, staying relevant and making things look like how we want them to look. It’s their brand “apple” that makes our world look more closely at what we want. Giving us the option to support ourselves with a newer more refreshing concept and feel, because apparently we/people/humans don’t normally know what we want (based-off what Jobs has stated) and so challenging folks on levels that most don’t realize right away even their product names shape our reality and effects how we decide in our ever changing polarity to continue. In a sense pushing us, poking at us, forcing us to decide, here or there, left or right, forward or back, theirs no wrong way just a way and ultimately maybe an easier way. If they changed their phones name to another name think about the affect it would have on their brand.....................

  • Adam Shah
    Adam Shah Month ago

    Psyduck!

  • Kyla Unicorn
    Kyla Unicorn Month ago +2

    £2200 😱
    I GOT MY IPAD PRO AND NEW PENCIL FOR £930

    • Sam
      Sam Month ago

      $2200 smh

  • Ray
    Ray Month ago

    iPad Mini from 2018. 🤔

  • Kingsley Zissou
    Kingsley Zissou Month ago

    Audio is a mess...recorded too hot

  • MoonPlayz
    MoonPlayz Month ago

    I have a iPad Pro in my hands

  • DonBergas
    DonBergas Month ago

    This is a max out iPad.
    That sums up to me everything and nope, it won't replace your laptop.

  • Tips & Tricks
    Tips & Tricks Month ago

    Lol I’m watching this on my new iPad Pro

  • Carlos Anaya
    Carlos Anaya Month ago

    Too god damn expensive. But I still want it.

  • wildcheekymonkey
    wildcheekymonkey Month ago

    ty

  • Parichay Bhowmik
    Parichay Bhowmik Month ago

    let me make it simple-
    "Its a big iphone with usb C which doesn't support hard drives"

  • TheBolt45
    TheBolt45 Month ago +2

    Me : well guess who's watching this on a Amoled display on Samsung's tab s4

  • tears
    tears Month ago

    But can It game?

  • G.B.O.M .&.T.F
    G.B.O.M .&.T.F Month ago

    very nice iPad walk through. man I like your video

  • Sahil Sawalkar
    Sahil Sawalkar Month ago

    Brutal :)

  • Dee Pak
    Dee Pak Month ago

    why he looks so tensed

  • P Patel
    P Patel Month ago

    Fantastic Review! You covered all the important points and questions I wanted to learn about. Thank you.

  • f96
    f96 Month ago

    I use the iPhone X gestures in an iPad 6th gen, so getting used to the gestures are a snap.


    *just like thanos*

  • Clifford Henson
    Clifford Henson Month ago

    Just put MacOS on the damn thing already and name it something stupid like "MacPadPro" so we can all go buy it and stop complaining.

  • dan di
    dan di Month ago

    Dont buy gllas very week if is brokin apple say to you buy new we do not fix

  • Erick Cisneros
    Erick Cisneros Month ago

    Money all those accessories should be for free! And it should work as well as a laptop,,.....
    I have a question, Is the iPad Pro smaller one worth the money and can you edit videos pretty well on it? I think it’s the 11 inch

  • Erick Cisneros
    Erick Cisneros Month ago

    Got the 2018 iPad Pro 10.5 it’s expensive I paid 700 bucks for it. So basically the 12.9 inch one is way too much money and it is super luxury item! Everybody should have an iPad though but they are two times way too much meaning they are twice as much as they should be if they were half as much I would buy it

  • LEROY LEROO
    LEROY LEROO Month ago

    6:57 RoBlOx

  • Hunter Nucera
    Hunter Nucera Month ago

    Love this ipad

  • roppoqi
    roppoqi Month ago

    the thing is i have a laptop that i'm going to sell because it's outdated and worn out, i might consider this because i don't need to setup wacom everytime i need to draw, but this cost 3 times my old laptop lol

  • harry smyth
    harry smyth Month ago

    What is liquid crystal;will it leak like a battery

  • Jan Griffiths
    Jan Griffiths Month ago

    If they weren't so expensive more people could enjoy one

  • Cameron Lazzari
    Cameron Lazzari Month ago

    I hope Apple hears this. They need to change the iPad Pro to use mojave or use desktop apps like FXP, Logic, all of the Adobe CS apps. This is the biggest issue. Steve Jobs would have jumped on this along time ago to be the first to do it. Apple is so scared of cannibalizing there macbook pro's when they could make something so much better. Apple will suffer as the result of there greed. It is happening as we speak.
    Be the company Steve Jobs created instead some money green machine!!!

  • Jen QT
    Jen QT Month ago

    Def one of the best reviews I've watched

  • GamingMan247
    GamingMan247 Month ago

    I’m thinking of upgrading from my 9.7 inch iPad pro to either the 11 inch or the 12.9 inch. Which would be more recommendable?

  • Bob Jacobson
    Bob Jacobson Month ago

    My wife bought me the 11” iPad Pro. I already have a built up MBP - mid-2012, but it wails! - so I have my basic productivity platform. Maybe I’ll replace it with w a new MBP for the next OS after Mojave. For me, the IPP is basically an entertainment platform. The graphics and sound are incomparable in such a small package. And it’s easy to get around with simple gestures or the pencil, which I declined to purchase, liking much better for my writing profession the flip cover keyboard, which in my experience is a whole lot faster to work with, despite its small form factor, than any Mac keyboard before it. While waiting for more applications to arrive or Apple to totally replace the foolish iPhone interface with one that’s better for all the things we do with mobile devices and computers besides making phone calls - about 95% of how most of us use them - I’m considering this a learning experience. Perhaps by the time I tire of the current iPad Pro, or consign it to travel use, there will be some new hybrid computer/tablet/VR-engine that will in a way amortize my wife’s fiscal and my temporal investments. Besides, we’re having fun!

    • Bob Jacobson
      Bob Jacobson Month ago

      PS I recommend Blue Mail as an alternative to Apple Mail. Even on my MBP, I prefer Blue Mail, especially as it morphs to acquire Apple Mail’s capabilities, only better, and new ones of its own.

  • Cameron Schmit
    Cameron Schmit Month ago

    Can you move that dock to a different side?

  • C. Patrick Sadowski

    Why would you ever buy the 1TB just for a review? Review over review have said this is NOT an iPad replacement. Like others, I too would like this iPad to be “more”, but alas, it’s IOS 12. When Apple gets serious about creating an IOS/Mac OS hybrid to run this machine, then it will be in contention as an laptop replacement. Apple’s resistance to move into this system, while still building a machine that runs an A12X bionic chip is crazy. The marketing hype gets people to purchase this 1TB model, which you will probably never use, unless you run it to import raw pics/movies, etc. Time will tell.

  • M Y
    M Y Month ago +2

    That iPad is literally just the old one with a new design.

  • Vasanthan Nalinasegrem

    Pretty sure the Pencil was not meant to be used as a mouse substitute like all these ppl are doing when editing videos. Looks painful. It's quite possible that Apple has designed a product that people are just not capable of adapting to.

  • Ems
    Ems Month ago

    What else can we use that overwhelming power? Kinda useless.

  • Тор Один
    Тор Один Month ago +1

    The iPad is the best on the market, but it’s erroneous in the operating system and constant updates that try to make it worse over time. Apple did not think anything, it stupidly squeezes money from technologies that have long been used on all devices. It is like trying to return eggs to a castrated cat, it seems that they were sewn, but what to do with them is unclear.

  • Hung Nguyen
    Hung Nguyen Month ago

    What I really wish apple would do is to create a new hybrid system where it combines a MacBook with a iPad. This idea comes from using the Duet App. In the app it allows the iPad to act like a external monitor to the attached device all the while still have it full functionality of the iPad and it also adds touch support to the attached device. So what I would LOVE to see is apple to create a MacBook based keyboard base similar to the surface book. This would house the processor, storage, eGPU and all the ports basically the bottom part of a regular MacBook. The screen is where the iPad comes in. The iPad would attach via a dock on the base . Once connected you can use the iPad to to view the OSX operating system but you would also have full functionality of iOS apps that are installed on the iPad. Essentially meshing the two operating system. That really would be a better solution then trying to port iOS apps to OSX. You can access both iOS and OSX via SplitScreen or even have the apps hover like you can do now on iOS.

  • Hugo Nobre
    Hugo Nobre Month ago

    Pencil for 100$ lel

  • Tianmin Lau
    Tianmin Lau Month ago

    I think the apple will add new features from iOS 13 case of iPad software are not adapted for this times

  • Grant Vergottini
    Grant Vergottini Month ago

    You lost all credibility when you grumbled that you can't set Google Mail to be the default. What are you talking about? I set Google Mail as my default mail tool on iOS years ago. I literally haven't seen Apple Mail on my iPhone of iPad in several years.

  • Qhay May
    Qhay May Month ago

    $2200 damn