OnePlus 7 Pro review: amazing screen, solid camera

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 14, 2019
  • The OnePlus 7 Pro is a really large Android phone with one of the best displays. The selfie camera pops up from the top, the fingerprint sensor is way faster, and the camera is solid. Oxygen OS is really well thought out. Battery life and performance are all very impressive. That’s a lot of checked boxes, which means the OnePlus 7 Pro proves that great phones don’t need to cost a thousand dollars.
    Correction: At 3:24, the graphic shows the incorrect PPI. This should say 516 PPI instead of 561.
    Learn more: bit.ly/2HogDkC
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    The Vergecast Podcast: pod.link/430333725
    Why'd You Push That Button Podcast: pod.link/1295289748
    More about our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TheXvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 330

  • The Verge
    The Verge  Month ago +267

    Which is more important to you: the screen or the camera?

    • Draethar
      Draethar 2 days ago

      Screen! I’ll take the odd selfie and use fingerprint sign in. So the selfie camera motor won’t be overused.

    • thanoj jagannati
      thanoj jagannati 6 days ago

      Battery

    • Jason Rodriguez
      Jason Rodriguez 7 days ago

      Camera

    • karthik raj
      karthik raj 7 days ago

      Money ! Because middle class people can't afford it due to price . Moreover it's my favourite mobile which I want to capture priceless pictures...

    • Javier Treviño
      Javier Treviño 10 days ago

      Screen

  • Pathum Tharindu
    Pathum Tharindu 7 days ago

    please i want a answer from anyone,,is this edge display is damege when phone will fall small gap.

  • Johnny Aingel
    Johnny Aingel 8 days ago

    What no headphone

  • NIVEDITA MK
    NIVEDITA MK 9 days ago

    How to make selfies in OnePlus camera a better one....can u give me tips...I got OnePlus 7

  • Brent van Durme
    Brent van Durme 10 days ago

    Oh, you forgot to mention that this phone has liquid-cooling. That's a BIG dealbreaker for me. You don't want your phone to be broken after 1 drop, even with a case.

  • Javier Treviño
    Javier Treviño 10 days ago

    Now I know I will get this instead of the iPhone XR... it's much more powerful and a better deal. I still love Mac computers but I like good deals.

  • 1985cactus
    1985cactus 11 days ago

    This isn't a phone, it's a tablet.

  • bL33d77
    bL33d77 11 days ago

    Damn I want this phone

  • Habs H
    Habs H 12 days ago

    It costs 750€ here... s10 is 659€.... no chance

  • StonedNoob
    StonedNoob 12 days ago

    IP ratings are useless, useless things like these is why phones are above 1000 usd

  • Dimitri Lukashuk
    Dimitri Lukashuk 16 days ago

    Screen

  • Gus Hay
    Gus Hay 22 days ago

    Anyone have any idea how I could get the one plus 7 (not the pro) in new-zealand?

  • Tjay123 Shm
    Tjay123 Shm 25 days ago

    The screen is too big :(

  • Tek Minion
    Tek Minion 26 days ago

    Looking at you hold the device, the device just looks long and not easy to hold in the hand.

  • Amar Kadenic
    Amar Kadenic 27 days ago

    Great phone but it made me keep my S10. Why?
    Because I could not use the edge-to-edge display when filming (in any mode), the screen was alyways crippled to 4:3 format. Why make such a great display when you can't utilize it fully? Or even worse, according to my opinion, you can't even VIEW your filmed content in fullscreen, edge-to-edge, mode!
    Anyone else irritated by this? Or has a solution?..

  • Gaston
    Gaston 27 days ago

    sony xperia 1 !!

  • ApeZone Entertainment
    ApeZone Entertainment 28 days ago

    Every year I wish for wireless charging. EVERY YEAR ONE PLUS DISAPPOINTS ME! I will NEVER buy a OnePlus until they get wireless charging. Er, the screen is nice though.

  • Setu Pandey
    Setu Pandey 28 days ago

    People say one plus is getting more expensive each year have them seen how much iPhones and Samsung increases price each year

  • GLTSA
    GLTSA 29 days ago

    Happy with OnePlus 5T.

  • Richard Schnatterly

    The camera IS important, especially if you travel a lot, but for me it's the screen. I would say that the average consumer looks at their screen approximately 40 times a day, whereas they may only take 2-3 dozen photos a month. Of course that can vary greatly depending on the age/mindset of the user. Either way, I think that OnePlus has done an outstanding job here and they should get the award for the cell phone of the year. I currently use an iPhone, but when this sucker dies, I may have to seriously consider the OnePlus 7 Pro. Thanks for the superior review. You rock!

  • Isa
    Isa Month ago

    I GOT IT!!! ITS BEAUTIFUL !!!

  • Jason  George
    Jason George Month ago

    Did you ever test how it does in water?

  • SD1ONE
    SD1ONE Month ago

    It's not cheap anymore...camara is not as great as other phones...so it's kinda justifying it's price...it's not undercutting anything now....It's big and bulky and that's why I am not buying it...they shlould've done dot notch on this one or at-least on regular oneplus 7 and lower the price to a reasonable level.

  • Khandar William
    Khandar William Month ago

    No headphone jack = dealbreaker

  • beemerguy
    beemerguy Month ago

    This is one great phone. It's a premium phone that competes right up with the rest. Note 10 will probably be almost double the price. For what? Fast, smooth, great screen.

  • MisterBigMack
    MisterBigMack Month ago

    What watch is dieter using? Is it a smart watch of some kind?

  • James Peebles
    James Peebles Month ago +1

    It would be great if we could get 4K or 1440p videos, but otherwise great work Dieter :)

  • Vincent Rubino
    Vincent Rubino Month ago

    The fingerprint sensor BETTER BE faster than the samsung s10+. Takes me several several tries to get it to scan my finger, mostly fails, and takes way too long. It's a horrendous experience

  • Vincent Rubino
    Vincent Rubino Month ago

    beautiful phone. Love the camera and screen. BUT WHY DO COMPANIES KEEP USING CURVED SCREENS?! I hate the curves on my Samsung S10+
    a) they distort the display and create a discoloration/blue tint
    b) makes holding the phone without a case near impossible without a ton of accidental touches, WHY DON'T THEY HAVE accidental touch protection on the sides if they're going to make the side of a phone a screen
    c) LITERALLY no advantage to just having no bezel, why add a curve?! just makes the phone harder to use and IMPOSSIBLE to type on

  • BluD
    BluD Month ago

    oneplus chooses tmobile as its carrier of choice. worst decision about this phone.

  • Aniket Bhanderi
    Aniket Bhanderi Month ago

    Why even Vivo add in OnePlus 7 pro video ..
    It is not even close 🤔😅

  • besan mhameed
    besan mhameed Month ago

    S 10 plus is the besttttttt♥️♥️♥️♥️💯

  • Dary Satyanegara
    Dary Satyanegara Month ago

    The maxed out Oneplus 7 Pro has tge same price as the basic XR. Excellent.

  • Manohar Chauhan
    Manohar Chauhan Month ago

    Higher SAR Value Damage head 1+7Pro
    1.187 (*#07#

  • Nicholas Jeffery
    Nicholas Jeffery Month ago

    "spooked prairie dog". I'm gonna refer all OnePlus 7 Pro's like that now.

  • Joey W.
    Joey W. Month ago

    Is it just me or does this look like the kid from a Christmas story

  • Don Schroeder
    Don Schroeder Month ago

    Doesn't have wireless charging... Common one plus, what are you waiting for?

  • momoxh
    momoxh Month ago

    the only other thing in this video is as good as the phone is the painting on the back

  • Makeshift Gentleman

    yes actually. I did think there would be a headphone jack. I was actually looking at the purchase page and exactly at 8:11 I closed the page.

  • Captain Styles
    Captain Styles Month ago

    when does it come out for purchase?

  • alikhan2655
    alikhan2655 Month ago

    Zenphone 6. Please review

  • . yohannes
    . yohannes Month ago

    Without the curved display, I'd take it

  • Karl Axel
    Karl Axel Month ago

    But can it blend?!

  • Nathan Budd
    Nathan Budd Month ago

    Review the 6gb and then tell us it's "super fast"

  • Terri Fic
    Terri Fic Month ago

    SAVE ME FROM NOTCHES!!!

  • somaskanda
    somaskanda Month ago

    For me the deal breaker is the lack of headphone jack.i believe my current phone oneplus6 will be my last one plus. Sad, but gotta have the 3.5mm jack

  • Urvin Savla
    Urvin Savla Month ago

    Your videos look dope !
    You guys just need a better selection of phone wallpapers

  • RobertofTroy
    RobertofTroy Month ago +1

    No headphone jack - No buy

  • JERRY KOVIS
    JERRY KOVIS Month ago

    curious if have the screen "roll" over the edge isn't a hindrance when it comes to watching videos that fill the screen. seems like you'd actually be losing a bit of viewable real estate in those scenarios. just a thought about wrap around designs like this.

  • Eric V
    Eric V Month ago

    4:38 😂

  • Farhan Tanveer
    Farhan Tanveer Month ago

    *516 ppi

  • Elesh Patel
    Elesh Patel Month ago

    The screen because I like to watch movie a lot on my smartphone. So for me obviously screen

  • bizmonkey007
    bizmonkey007 Month ago

    I really wish OnePlus would've had two different sizes. The 7 Pro shits on the iPhone XS Max, but some of us want a device we can actually fit in our pockets.

  • Constipated Carrot
    Constipated Carrot Month ago +2

    MKBHD said it had not great battery life and The Verge said it had great battery life
    🤔

    • Dax Frost
      Dax Frost Month ago

      Different folks having different views with different experiences, it makes sense. Dave2D also said the batt life was solid.

  • Roger McIntosh
    Roger McIntosh Month ago

    Never a mention of radio modem specs or mobile carrier fit.

  • Simon czesak
    Simon czesak Month ago

    Love his reviews
    But someone get this guy a sandwich lol

  • Janh Kian Halasan
    Janh Kian Halasan Month ago

    Xiaomi just released the K20. They said it's a "Flasgship killer 2.0". You should check it out

  • Jeff L
    Jeff L Month ago

    Made in China

  • TheRussianLondoner
    TheRussianLondoner Month ago

    Amazing phone

  • Luther David A Hall

    I know lots of people talk about the audio on the OnePlus...but with my 1+"6 the speaker works itself in much like high-end Audio drivers.I noticed that after 6months the audio was louder and much clearer. Its like a new tight fit that will sort itself out and should then last pretty long as a result

  • Alex To go
    Alex To go Month ago

    I'm sticking to my samsung. For 1 reason. Head phone jack. That was a deal breaker for me

  • The Amazing Guyulnevrb

    This ENTIRE time I've been calling this guy Dieter, when it turns out his name is Dieter.

  • Frankie !
    Frankie ! Month ago

    An android phone that I like? What the hell?

  • Deep Dand
    Deep Dand Month ago +1

    People crying over - OP7Pro camera is not so good as competition or just average, wait until OP7Pro releases an OTA update and then sooner XDA will have Gcam port and boom, you are looking at way better camera in any phone segment!

  • Deep Dand
    Deep Dand Month ago

    Okay, 3:39 - way fewer app restarts than normal?! hmmm.....

  • Osvaldo Gil
    Osvaldo Gil Month ago

    Oh ok, but is not Apple. And is android , I’m really sorry.

  • Josh Locash
    Josh Locash Month ago

    2:22 LOL

  • Critical Mindset
    Critical Mindset Month ago +24

    This is THE smartphone of 2019. Big. Fast. The screen. Plus, it's big. You keep wireless charging. I'll take UFS 3.0 12GB RAM and 256GB HD for $750

  • Ron Wolf
    Ron Wolf Month ago

    What you say doesn’t make any sense. How can a 1440p display decrease its resolution to 1080p when 1,080 doesn’t divide 1,440 evenly?

  • Omar Hussain
    Omar Hussain Month ago

    So far the only review that's lauded the camera

  • TripleShot
    TripleShot Month ago

    No headphone jack? *walks away* ✌️

  • Avkay
    Avkay Month ago +1

    Solid review tbh

  • hudstad
    hudstad Month ago +2

    Only phone nerds complain about the lack of wireless charging

  • dalton wildes
    dalton wildes Month ago

    The 90 FPS is locked in and doesn't adjust unless you adjust it.

  • Armando Salgado
    Armando Salgado Month ago

    wow, the Xanax and opiates is strong in this one

  • Jim Langley
    Jim Langley Month ago

    Great review Dieter. First time I have watched one of your reviews. I guess I'll spend less time with MKBHD now... :)

  • Saifur Rahman Mohsin

    I don't think they can do a successful. The issue with moving parts isn't only that it gets damaged sooner but also that water can get in and get trapped.

  • Imaad Zaffar
    Imaad Zaffar Month ago

    We NEED a video on the ASUS ZenFone 6!!

  • danali22
    danali22 Month ago

    screen is most important and thats the best!

  • Sriram Natarajan
    Sriram Natarajan Month ago

    Oneplus has been that always "almost pulled it off" when it comes to being a flagship killer!

  • Adi Asmawi Adanan
    Adi Asmawi Adanan Month ago

    You did not mention the Huawei P30 Pro on the camera department 😏

  • Falcon YT
    Falcon YT Month ago +1

    If more phone creators worked more on their own ui and succeeded on making it good, everyone would buy it. The UI is legit the only reason why apple is doing so good.

  • Obie Y
    Obie Y Month ago

    look like a pocophone

  • TheSharkmanforever
    TheSharkmanforever Month ago +1

    ok. oneplus, you have my money.

  • Improvisable
    Improvisable Month ago

    wait, "Weird gaming phones" give me a break

  • Akhil Lad
    Akhil Lad Month ago

    Does netflix support hdr on oneplus 7??

  • Pro720HyperMaster720

    But it has no MicroSD, if would have one and IP rating would be the perfect phone for me

  • Trey King
    Trey King Month ago +28

    The Verge gets a lot of hate, but something should be said about this Dieter guy and how he structures his reviews. He's a really intriguing host. Keep it up, Verge.

  • Luis Colon
    Luis Colon Month ago

    Love your review! Very honest and fun

  • riozero96
    riozero96 Month ago

    Oxygen OS

  • Thomas L
    Thomas L Month ago

    What watch is that?

  • Andrew Wight
    Andrew Wight Month ago

    Too expensive in Canada.

  • Bo Vorachack
    Bo Vorachack Month ago +2

    Why get an iPhone XS Max when you can get his for half the price?

  • Vishal Gandhi
    Vishal Gandhi Month ago

    Samsung and apple has best after sales service. One plus doesn't even know what is after sales service. That is reason Samsung and apple products are costly. These reviewers doesn't speak about after sales service at all.

  • knight Elite
    knight Elite Month ago

    8:40 😂😂 epic fail

  • Marrow Merch
    Marrow Merch Month ago

    How serious should I consider this phone? I was going to wait for the new iPhone later this year.

  • Another Person From Norfolk

    A OnePlus 7 Pro ad on a Oneplus 7 Pro video?

  • Francisc Rimoti
    Francisc Rimoti Month ago

    IDGAF about wireless charging or IP rating, I've got a GoPro for underwater filming! But I want that headphone jack back!

  • Vivek Paul
    Vivek Paul Month ago

    Anyone else saw the Xiaomi ad of flagship killer 2.0 😂

  • FollowTheSun
    FollowTheSun Month ago

    This one's a very good review, thumbs up!