OnePlus 7 Pro review: amazing screen, solid camera

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 14, 2019
  • The OnePlus 7 Pro is a really large Android phone with one of the best displays. The selfie camera pops up from the top, the fingerprint sensor is way faster, and the camera is solid. Oxygen OS is really well thought out. Battery life and performance are all very impressive. That’s a lot of checked boxes, which means the OnePlus 7 Pro proves that great phones don’t need to cost a thousand dollars.
    Correction: At 3:24, the graphic shows the incorrect PPI. This should say 516 PPI instead of 561.
    Learn more: bit.ly/2HogDkC
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    The Vergecast Podcast: pod.link/430333725
    Why'd You Push That Button Podcast: pod.link/1295289748
    More about our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TheXvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 362

  • The Verge
    The Verge  5 months ago +300

    Which is more important to you: the screen or the camera?

  • Ashi Stark
    Ashi Stark 10 days ago +1

    3:24 its 516 ppi not 561 ppi ... Paid review

  • Malikon
    Malikon 27 days ago +1

    finally a phone with zero notch and no front facing camera, just all screen! That's exciting to me. I'm a dude, I don't take selfies. I just want 100% screen. This alone has me considering switching from my galaxy s10 to the 1+Pro

  • Nithin Thomas
    Nithin Thomas 28 days ago

    Dieter is the closest we mortals can have to techie Morgan Freeman. I can listen to him read out a dictionary!

  • dustinh2
    dustinh2 29 days ago

    Nobody reviewing this phone has addressed 4G LTE vs 5G with this phone. Does the antenna on the pro support the coming of 5G at the end of this year and next year in the USA?

  • Aniv Khawaunju
    Aniv Khawaunju Month ago

    I don't get wireless charging. The pad itself is still connected to a wire. You place it down and then you can't use it anymore while charging. It's extremely slow. Like extremely. It's just a step backwards for charging imo. I'll never ever use it unless they make it super fast. And I'll only be using it to charge overnight.

  • Don Schroeder
    Don Schroeder Month ago

    thanks for your opinions on this versus the other competition. I would like to buy this but just saw the Axon 10 pro...

  • Utkarssh B
    Utkarssh B Month ago +1

    In India we have the K20 pro for $360
    So, you can save up even more

  • Pikachu
    Pikachu 2 months ago +1

    Why in the world would you want to charge wirelessly when you have Warp charge... just why

  • Edwin Au Yeung
    Edwin Au Yeung 2 months ago

    Gaming phones aren't "weird"............

  • Jay8stefan
    Jay8stefan 2 months ago

    Every case for OP7pro had a ear bump which accualy hurts. I don't know if you guys have the same problem but OP has it's top speaker so high that every case is uncomfortable to hold by the ear. I'm still looking for something which doesn't cover the beatiful blue color of OP7pro and something which doesn't have bump on the top of the phone - the best will be something like "mod-3" or "radius X cases" for iphone but noone maks such cases for OP:(

  • Bruce Yeh
    Bruce Yeh 2 months ago

    Does it have NFC?

  • QualityQontent
    QualityQontent 2 months ago

    But can you text gifs tho?

  • Mohd Helmy
    Mohd Helmy 2 months ago

    Like everything about this phone

  • Stefan Smuts
    Stefan Smuts 2 months ago

    Great review!

  • Ja Lee
    Ja Lee 2 months ago

    Ufs 3 storage is the first in any production phone. The fold was never released to the public remember

  • Ja Lee
    Ja Lee 2 months ago

    Its not any larger than iPhone xs max

  • emailpr
    emailpr 3 months ago

    How can you not talk about the much superior haptic feedback? Single most important reason why I prefer this phone over the Samsungs. The typing experience is incredible thanks to that haptic engine. I hear Pixels have a great haptic engine too.

  • manideep bokka
    manideep bokka 3 months ago +1

    Need Redmi K20 Pro review

  • William Winson
    William Winson 3 months ago +2

    Watching this video on a OnePlus 7 Pro

  • anup rao
    anup rao 3 months ago

    Everything is good but speaker is slightly averge

  • Kaelys 硝子心
    Kaelys 硝子心 3 months ago

    It's too goddamn big for me

  • Walter Maddox
    Walter Maddox 3 months ago

    I like it looking to get one. Size is not an issue

  • Chip Dawg
    Chip Dawg 3 months ago

    Love your reviews

  • Raffaele Fossa
    Raffaele Fossa 3 months ago

    Dieter, you're amazing!!!

  • Lalit Sehgal
    Lalit Sehgal 3 months ago

    Compared to crappy s10 plus exynos...op7 pro hands down beat it in camera and battery...specially when samsung is not bothered to fix battery drain issue

  • Pathum Tharindu
    Pathum Tharindu 4 months ago

    please i want a answer from anyone,,is this edge display is damege when phone will fall small gap.

  • Johnny Aingel
    Johnny Aingel 4 months ago

    What no headphone

  • NIVEDITA MK
    NIVEDITA MK 4 months ago

    How to make selfies in OnePlus camera a better one....can u give me tips...I got OnePlus 7

  • Brent van Durme
    Brent van Durme 4 months ago

    Oh, you forgot to mention that this phone has liquid-cooling. That's a BIG dealbreaker for me. You don't want your phone to be broken after 1 drop, even with a case.

  • Javier Treviño
    Javier Treviño 4 months ago

    Now I know I will get this instead of the iPhone XR... it's much more powerful and a better deal. I still love Mac computers but I like good deals.

  • 1985cactus
    1985cactus 4 months ago

    This isn't a phone, it's a tablet.

  • bL33d77
    bL33d77 4 months ago

    Damn I want this phone

  • Habs H
    Habs H 4 months ago

    It costs 750€ here... s10 is 659€.... no chance

  • StonedNoob
    StonedNoob 4 months ago

    IP ratings are useless, useless things like these is why phones are above 1000 usd

  • Dimitri Lukashuk
    Dimitri Lukashuk 4 months ago

    Screen

  • Gus Hay
    Gus Hay 4 months ago

    Anyone have any idea how I could get the one plus 7 (not the pro) in new-zealand?

  • Tjay123 Shm
    Tjay123 Shm 4 months ago

    The screen is too big :(

  • Tek Minion
    Tek Minion 4 months ago

    Looking at you hold the device, the device just looks long and not easy to hold in the hand.

  • Amar Kadenic
    Amar Kadenic 4 months ago

    Great phone but it made me keep my S10. Why?
    Because I could not use the edge-to-edge display when filming (in any mode), the screen was alyways crippled to 4:3 format. Why make such a great display when you can't utilize it fully? Or even worse, according to my opinion, you can't even VIEW your filmed content in fullscreen, edge-to-edge, mode!
    Anyone else irritated by this? Or has a solution?..

  • Gaston
    Gaston 4 months ago

    sony xperia 1 !!

  • ApeZone Entertainment
    ApeZone Entertainment 4 months ago

    Every year I wish for wireless charging. EVERY YEAR ONE PLUS DISAPPOINTS ME! I will NEVER buy a OnePlus until they get wireless charging. Er, the screen is nice though.

  • Setu Pandey
    Setu Pandey 4 months ago

    People say one plus is getting more expensive each year have them seen how much iPhones and Samsung increases price each year

  • GLTSA
    GLTSA 4 months ago

    Happy with OnePlus 5T.

  • Richard Schnatterly
    Richard Schnatterly 4 months ago

    The camera IS important, especially if you travel a lot, but for me it's the screen. I would say that the average consumer looks at their screen approximately 40 times a day, whereas they may only take 2-3 dozen photos a month. Of course that can vary greatly depending on the age/mindset of the user. Either way, I think that OnePlus has done an outstanding job here and they should get the award for the cell phone of the year. I currently use an iPhone, but when this sucker dies, I may have to seriously consider the OnePlus 7 Pro. Thanks for the superior review. You rock!

  • Isaac
    Isaac 4 months ago

    I GOT IT!!! ITS BEAUTIFUL !!!

  • Jason  George
    Jason George 5 months ago

    Did you ever test how it does in water?

  • SD1ONE
    SD1ONE 5 months ago

    It's not cheap anymore...camara is not as great as other phones...so it's kinda justifying it's price...it's not undercutting anything now....It's big and bulky and that's why I am not buying it...they shlould've done dot notch on this one or at-least on regular oneplus 7 and lower the price to a reasonable level.

  • Khandar William
    Khandar William 5 months ago

    No headphone jack = dealbreaker

  • beemerguy
    beemerguy 5 months ago

    This is one great phone. It's a premium phone that competes right up with the rest. Note 10 will probably be almost double the price. For what? Fast, smooth, great screen.

  • MisterBigMack
    MisterBigMack 5 months ago

    What watch is dieter using? Is it a smart watch of some kind?

  • James Peebles
    James Peebles 5 months ago +1

    It would be great if we could get 4K or 1440p videos, but otherwise great work Dieter :)

  • Vincent Rubino
    Vincent Rubino 5 months ago

    The fingerprint sensor BETTER BE faster than the samsung s10+. Takes me several several tries to get it to scan my finger, mostly fails, and takes way too long. It's a horrendous experience

  • Vincent Rubino
    Vincent Rubino 5 months ago

    beautiful phone. Love the camera and screen. BUT WHY DO COMPANIES KEEP USING CURVED SCREENS?! I hate the curves on my Samsung S10+
    a) they distort the display and create a discoloration/blue tint
    b) makes holding the phone without a case near impossible without a ton of accidental touches, WHY DON'T THEY HAVE accidental touch protection on the sides if they're going to make the side of a phone a screen
    c) LITERALLY no advantage to just having no bezel, why add a curve?! just makes the phone harder to use and IMPOSSIBLE to type on

  • BluD
    BluD 5 months ago

    oneplus chooses tmobile as its carrier of choice. worst decision about this phone.

  • Aniket Bhanderi
    Aniket Bhanderi 5 months ago

    Why even Vivo add in OnePlus 7 pro video ..
    It is not even close 🤔😅

  • besan mhameed
    besan mhameed 5 months ago

    S 10 plus is the besttttttt♥️♥️♥️♥️💯

  • Dary Satyanegara
    Dary Satyanegara 5 months ago

    The maxed out Oneplus 7 Pro has tge same price as the basic XR. Excellent.

  • Manohar Chauhan
    Manohar Chauhan 5 months ago

    Higher SAR Value Damage head 1+7Pro
    1.187 (*#07#

  • Nicholas Jeffery
    Nicholas Jeffery 5 months ago

    "spooked prairie dog". I'm gonna refer all OnePlus 7 Pro's like that now.