A REALLY Weird PC… - System76 Thelio Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 16, 2019
  • Join the Club for only $5 at www.dollarshaveclub.com/linus
    Thanks to our sponsor Dollar Shave Club, new members get their 1st month of the Daily Essentials Starter Set including trial-sized versions of their Body Cleanser, One Wipe Charlies’ Butt Wipes, and Shave Butter along with their Executive Razor for ONLY $5 with FREE shipping
    Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4
    There’s more than one company that makes its own operating system and hardware, and today, we’re taking a look at System76’s Thelio, an open source design you can build yourself.
    Buy Thelio from System76: lmg.gg/8KVR5
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1073407-a-really-weird-pc%E2%80%A6-system76-thelio-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: thexvid.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High thexvid.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 4 241

  • Linus Tech Tips
    Linus Tech Tips  Month ago +309

    Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4

    • Kian Moore
      Kian Moore 3 days ago

      Do a review on SuperTuxKart. Just so you can be confused

    • midnightwolf
      midnightwolf 14 days ago

      Still not big enough to replace my old Targus built for 2 very thick laptops, and tons of accessories.

    • alysdexia
      alysdexia 19 days ago

      @lazypizzaguy gibberish

    • pxc
      pxc 27 days ago

      @alysdexia is the pricing actually that tilted in Apple's favor?

  • Jeffrey Allen
    Jeffrey Allen 23 hours ago

    I just ordered a new Dell Laptop with Windows 10. I wanted a System 76 but could not afford one of their systems. They are sleek and beautiful. And ready to go with linux installed. No muss, no fuss. But, I am looking forward to wiping out the Windows 10 and installing linux mint when it arrives. That will be very satisfying. After support for Windows 7 goes away, Microsoft Windows will no longer reside in my home on any of my pc's...

  • I C
    I C Day ago

    Does it come with a duffel bag?

  • Maggie M
    Maggie M Day ago +1

    Very good review. Shows good and needs improvement areas.

  • techmouse1101
    techmouse1101 2 days ago

    "Compile your own kernel"? "Hunt down repos"?
    Jesus tapdancing christ what year is it??

    If you think you still have to compile your own kernel for any ubuntu based distro, then please stop making videos about Linux. You're obviously not prepared for it. To my knowledge, Gentoo is the only distro where you have to do this. This misinformation is exactly why so many windows users have the completely wrong idea about Linux. Please stop spreading 2004 Linux memes. You're only creating more work for us to undo.

  • Sarah Lanier
    Sarah Lanier 3 days ago

    You had me at us made

  • Keith Olson
    Keith Olson 3 days ago

    Huh. So, as the design is OS, there is nothing stopping anyone from creating a 3d-printable base that the computer can sit on which incorporates a filter and noise suppression of some sort. Neat!

  • MacroWaveDude
    MacroWaveDude 4 days ago

    Watching on the 19in system 76 laptop XD

  • Dave Snigier
    Dave Snigier 4 days ago

    Great video! Love what system76 is doing

  • Michael Cloutier
    Michael Cloutier 4 days ago

    Where the hell have you been for the last 20 years. There have been Linux Vendors making prebuild and installed desktop and laptop Linux systems for a long time, and including support contracts for those systems. What are you on about? I have purchased Linux systems for some of my customers as fare 18 years ago.

  • blizzardjesus
    blizzardjesus 4 days ago

    I love that case... if i could hackintosh it, it would be the ultimate computer.

    • JackRedstonia
      JackRedstonia 4 days ago

      Well, okay, though I'd prefer just keeping Pop!_OS on the machine since it's a superior choice compared to Windows and MacOS

    • blizzardjesus
      blizzardjesus 4 days ago

      because i hate windows and linux...

    • JackRedstonia
      JackRedstonia 4 days ago

      Why would you use something as locked down as MacOS?

  • Anonymous Linux Nerd

    Didn’t Linus code Linux.

  • nooboobtoob
    nooboobtoob 5 days ago

    I use PopOS as my second partition. Love it so far.

  • carringbushpet
    carringbushpet 6 days ago

    There is a lot of dislikes about the 'seizure inducing' B-Roll footage. I think the concept of it was simple and brilliant, it was aesthetically great. Probably just needed a little less strobe type footage.

  • xaGe
    xaGe 6 days ago +5

    Listening to you speak about Linux in the 1st few minutes you can definitely tell you are not familiar with anything Linux from the last 3+ years. I cringed when you start talking about having to compile kernels or finding the necessary repos.

    • Wsdag Saesrgt
      Wsdag Saesrgt 5 days ago +2

      I agree. These days Linux will install and run just as simply and reliably for most users as either Windows of MacOS. The most likely fail case would be wifi cards, arising from selecting one of those distros that requires you to add a repo for "non-free" drivers. Even a small amount of research should help you avoid this problem. Since Windows users sometimes have to spend a lot of time finding and installing drivers, it' would be disingenuous to suggest that's a "Linux problem".

  • homelessEh
    homelessEh 6 days ago

    The ultimate Hipster Compy!!!! its nostalgic looking free open source os bra and its expencive..social signal for both hey im frugal look i use a free os but paid the same or more for a shillputer.

  • homelessEh
    homelessEh 6 days ago

    pop os has me sold i refuse to Pay for winblows 10 .. once 7 becomes Deader then vista.. its pop os by then it will be super mature and fully fleshed out by then.

  • Zi&D
    Zi&D 6 days ago

    I always thought Linus was for Linux

  • Dave
    Dave 6 days ago

    Rossmann quote: Dont Delay, Buy Today

  • Sai Nai
    Sai Nai 6 days ago

    bullshit content

  • Daniel Rios
    Daniel Rios 6 days ago

    "Normals" manufacturers should use Linux in their products as well, Linux has a lot of preconception, it is much better than the normal user ever thought

  • nope
    nope 6 days ago

    {interviewing the thelio parts and quality chart} ....thats a ali express button .

  • George B
    George B 6 days ago

    Theleos is Greek for perfect

  • Littletweeter
    Littletweeter 6 days ago

    this pc company is for people that have fuck you money lmao

  • Nick Slouka
    Nick Slouka 6 days ago +1

    *LGR signal appears in the sky*

  • Christopher Council
    Christopher Council 6 days ago

    Did you guys call there support?

  • Lanngreen
    Lanngreen 6 days ago

    had to stop halfway the video because my eyes started hurting from the footage ._.

  • Mikael Kiviniemi
    Mikael Kiviniemi 6 days ago +1

    Roses are red
    Violets are blue
    Help me
    I deleted system32

  • skillzorz101
    skillzorz101 6 days ago

    I think you put the wrong sponsor link in the bio. I'm actually interested in those laptop bags, but Dollar Shave Club is listed.

  • Chrash
    Chrash 6 days ago +17

    A couple years ago I was at my grandma's house to use her printer and I got on her PC and it had Linux on it. I couldn't figure out how to navigate it so my grandma had to teach me how to use Linux...

    • Hexality
      Hexality 3 days ago +1

      your grandma is a proud woman

  • sinni800
    sinni800 7 days ago +1

    "No motherboard upgrade", but can the BIOS be upgraded to use Ryzen 3? If yes, could probably pop a 3900X in and upgrade the perf a lot?

  • Diego Linde
    Diego Linde 7 days ago

    Sorry, System76 is too expensive.

  • Leslie Savege
    Leslie Savege 9 days ago +1

    I didn't like the website either for the same reasons Linus mentioned.

    Linus shows his ignorance of Linux, when he talks about it, like the way software is loaded, which is pretty standard now. 2:35

    It runs faster and leaner than Windoze, who likes to look over your shoulder.

  • peabody
    peabody 10 days ago

    I bought a thelio and its very stylish very powerful and DESIGNED to run Linux 0 compatibility issues. Yes i could have built my own, then you are stuck with individual parts that you need to rma if something goes wrong AND may not be compatible with Linux. You see, Ive been running Linux for 3 yrs and will NOT go back to windows........EVER! Hell, windows will not even install on this machine at all. Trust me Ive tried multiple ways and times! IMO it's money well spent!

  • Force
    Force 10 days ago +1

    I don't like that 76!

  • Vaijanath Madugolkar
    Vaijanath Madugolkar 10 days ago

    I installed POP on my dell XPS 12. Since POP OS have enforced the disc encryption most of the time when i start my computer it just sits on auth page without response.
    When i install ubuntu i have choice to not encrypt my disc.

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 9 days ago +1

      @Vaijanath Madugolkar :) yeah cool, but you probably want to make yourself one anyway for security.
      sudo passwd username
      Just to be on the safe side.

    • Vaijanath Madugolkar
      Vaijanath Madugolkar 9 days ago

      gilkesisking I just tried installing solution is simply " Simply select to not set a password, and you don't have encryption"

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 9 days ago

      Disc encryption is done by default during the PopOS install. Its not "enforced", if you don't want that ( say you're a storing game files on the same disk ) then you can select the advanced install option and set it up how you want, with or without encryption.

  • Jan Enemark
    Jan Enemark 10 days ago

    Linus, you should watch destinationlinux.org, and then join the program once. These guys will make you much wiser on the posibilities using Linux OS.

  • Snypa007
    Snypa007 16 days ago

    the 80's background interference is more annoying than the review! I literally can not watch this because of it!

  • Defunct Lizard
    Defunct Lizard 19 days ago

    You don't need to compile a kernel to install linux, Not everything is gentoo. Jeez linux is super easy to install, learn, and use.

  • Clovet Music
    Clovet Music 20 days ago

    Expensive done right

  • Lindsay
    Lindsay 21 day ago

    Proprietary case with open source software thats been unpopular for decades?

  • Vinicio Coelho
    Vinicio Coelho 22 days ago

    They are awesome bit expensive.

  • Generic Eric
    Generic Eric 22 days ago

    It's imperative to mention Lutris as well as Proton.

  • Eli Santana
    Eli Santana 22 days ago

    I know System 76 has to make money but their mark-up on hardware is unacceptably high. They charge RTX 2080 price for a 2070. Come on now. Sell the cards at cost at least.

  • Kagyu Breigh
    Kagyu Breigh 22 days ago

    OMG, this song is from a game or sounds super similar to one! It's on the tip of my brain... uggghh .. I can't even hear what Linus is saying anymore. This.. is killing me

  • bean stalker
    bean stalker 22 days ago

    Let me introduce your IO to my Dremel.

  • Captain Comrade
    Captain Comrade 23 days ago

    When are you going to bring back 16:9 videos?

  • greg roberts
    greg roberts 23 days ago

    I love seeing people building a machine like this, great review linus

  • Anil Gulati
    Anil Gulati 24 days ago +1

    Better than a cheese grater

  • Mike M
    Mike M 25 days ago +4

    I'm watching this on Pop OS 19.04 on my W3690 Dell Workstation with an RX 560. And it runs fast!

    • J 984
      J 984 23 days ago

      I'm watching this on Windows xp and it runs..... NOSTALGIC!

  • MaDoTPG
    MaDoTPG 25 days ago

    linux tech tips

  • Bon Bonjovi
    Bon Bonjovi 25 days ago

    Linus is the type of guy who drinks soda out a can

  • kakaido
    kakaido 26 days ago

    Just disable telemetry and use Windows 10

  • Anton Zadorozhniy
    Anton Zadorozhniy 26 days ago

    System76 is great but you should really check out Raptor Talos systems, that’s way more OSS friendly (no hidden microcode or firmwares)

  • Gd moo5555
    Gd moo5555 26 days ago

    Who else cringed when it said counter strike go

  • Assbender666
    Assbender666 26 days ago +1

    Overboard with the effects, who thought that looked good?

  • 05Matz
    05Matz 26 days ago

    I've been using Linux Mint (Cinnamon) for years now -- I find it somewhat easier to install, maintain, and install/uninstall software on than the Windows 7 I used to use (Why, oh WHY doesn't Windows have a package manager?), and FAR less of a chore than the Windows 10 computers I'm occasionally forced to struggle with for family. My laptop is from System76, and I pretty much couldn't be happier with the product or service (it came with Ubuntu when shipped, but I installed Mint on it later) but I built my desktop myself -- and I'd do it again, since I can't justify the premium price over commodity hardware. PopOS sounds interesting, and I've been casually looking at it every now and then, but I think I'll stick with Mint for now. The 'classic' Mint-X interface style is basically the Windows 7 replacement I wanted in the beginning, and I've become very used to it by now.

  • wompshmack
    wompshmack 27 days ago

    I was a hardware nerd even as a little kid, didn't get into linux until I was a teenager. When I met linux nerds I assumed they'd know things about hardware, but that really wasn't my experience. I had to install for them, in different situations, a power supply and a CD drive. I think it's even worse now. Hardware is much easier, but there's even fewer people into it.

  • Deryk Lister
    Deryk Lister 27 days ago

    NVidia GPU is an interesting choice on a Linux machine

  • Reprisal
    Reprisal 27 days ago

    Down vote for trash 18:9 aspect ratio.

  • Holret
    Holret 27 days ago

    I would love to see more Linux systems being introduced in one complete package. I have been wanting to get into it for a while because well, Windows 10 isnt the most ideal OS I have ever used.

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 27 days ago

      thexvid.com/video/yZpmlRam6KY/video.html

  • Tom Ruff
    Tom Ruff 28 days ago

    Normies is a furry term

  • knotsandcrosses1
    knotsandcrosses1 28 days ago

    I don't use Pop!_OS with any System76 computer, rather an old laptop I have. It manages to shave most of the rough edges off of Ubuntu (and after Canonical's 32-bit library fail, they'll keep making sure Steam works). Pretty decent OS.

  • Techboy235 FK8
    Techboy235 FK8 28 days ago +1

    Chill music 0:00

  • Andrea Mitchell
    Andrea Mitchell 28 days ago +1

    10:52
    >selling shaving products to neckbeards

  • Waylen
    Waylen 28 days ago

    Matching hardware specs to a comparable Imac, System76 is priced about the same on hardware.

  • Jozef Plata
    Jozef Plata 29 days ago +1

    I switched from windows to Pop!_OS few months back... And I just love it. I dont think I will ever go back to windows

  • Wild Tangent
    Wild Tangent 29 days ago

    I used to be a diehard Linux tinkerer. I didn't mind spending hours or days or weeks, however long it took, getting everything about every new computer I had perfect and just the way I wanted it. That was a long time ago though, nowadays I want a system that does enough of the important things well enough without my intervention that I don't feel a need to really mess with it too much right away.

    So I've been a Mac user for the last 5 years or so, after *HATING* them for so long. I just happened to come into a deal too good to pass up for an '11 MBP 13-in and didn't have any other working computer at the time so I started using it out of necessity and lack of anything else to use and now I'm on my third one (they all work still). Not the outcome I would have expected way back then.

    Now there are a lot more choices in distros and window managers, and everything from the pros only, everything is a config file to extremely newbie-friendly ones that are just as drama-free as Windows or MacOS. I don't think the 'Linux on the desktop' revolution everyone has been hoping for for the last couple decades is ever going to happen, but for those that are inclined to Penguins, you've got more options than ever before, and a few of them can provide that easy, hand holding experience you may want if you don't have the time to tinker and just want to work.

  • David
    David 29 days ago

    Second hard drives are usually 'hidden away' in Linux. You don't access Linux drives by letter like in windows, you access them as a directory in the file tree. The rub is that your drive will be mounted somewhere like /home.

  • Ray Bitton
    Ray Bitton 29 days ago +2

    A few days ago I took my father's old laptop and installed Arch Linux on it.
    He is a Mechanical Engineer and he was in need for a SolidWorks/CAD software alternative so I did a simple search in the command line and found a very similar software - freeCAD.
    So now... My father leaves his Windows computer on the shelf and his daily driver is a Linux machine.
    He is proudly saying: "I use arch, btw".

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 28 days ago

      Here's another CAD program for Linux if you're interested www.bricsys.com/en-intl/

  • swordkorn
    swordkorn 29 days ago

    Had to stop less than 50 seconds in...
    Where do you get your Linux information from Linus? Most of us Linux users didn’t compile our own Kernel or choose our own repos...
    Most I’ve ever done is configure vanilla Arch and even THAT doesn’t go as in depth as you talk about!
    I love the channel but get your facts straight before presenting Linux to the masses.

  • Tuii
    Tuii 29 days ago

    Hold my bear

  • Bitchass McGee
    Bitchass McGee 29 days ago

    I think that this is a great idea, in theory. But honestly someone who needs those kinds of specs are probably using programs that aren't on Linux

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 29 days ago

      Well, gaming for a start, DaVinci Resolve, Light-works... coders wanting to compile, rendering... Blender, virtualisation. This is pretty under powered for Linux users, we like and need pretty beefy machines. Lots of cores. This is Windows spec to be honest, why system76 offer much more powerful options.

  • Sergio Díaz Nila
    Sergio Díaz Nila 29 days ago

    you said it right, you assumptions about the Linux community. Because the Linux community likes System76 for the simple reason they can buy a Linux machine without having to own Microsoft crap.

    • swordkorn
      swordkorn 29 days ago

      Sergio Díaz Nila doesn’t mean I’m willing to pay through the nose for hardware though... and sure as heck not the operating system... or the software provided...

  • Gesichtskrapfen
    Gesichtskrapfen 29 days ago

    Tuxedo is nice, too

  • Jaosn Fuller
    Jaosn Fuller 29 days ago

    Wrong: Using Linux

  • Michael Cruz
    Michael Cruz 29 days ago

    This sub woofer look like pc is better budget for my 1000$ than apple pro stand

  • Tony Lewis
    Tony Lewis 29 days ago

    woodgrain. as it should be ( tho rather it not be fake.. but hey, its 2019, nothing is real )

  • thingyee1118
    thingyee1118 29 days ago

    Flashing background is distracting.

  • pump up da hype
    pump up da hype 29 days ago

    where is linuses 30 second hair do and gel

  • Lance Hirdler
    Lance Hirdler 29 days ago

    looks like a speaker box kind of cool

  • First_NameBasis_TT
    First_NameBasis_TT 29 days ago

    I loved the vibe in this video. Cool and calm, very informative. Nice visuals. Hot damn

  • miguel silva
    miguel silva Month ago +3

    This is making me want to go fetch a hard drive and install Linux.
    The games are there. The performance is there. The user experience is definitely there.
    I wouldn't be considering this if MS wasn't killing Win7.

    • miguel silva
      miguel silva 27 days ago

      @hbt hbt I don't need, but if I start using it regularly, I can just find a spare HDD to use it in.

    • hbt hbt
      hbt hbt 27 days ago

      you dont need a 3rd hard drive. most will run from a USB, and debian/ubuntu have "persistence" which means your settings, downloads, and installs will "persist" after rebooting.
      aka LIVE-USB-TEST.

    • swordkorn
      swordkorn 29 days ago

      Just do your research. Don’t go distro hop mad like most of us do. Find the base you prefer and rip out everything you don’t want or need and put what you do want in its place. Don’t like GNOME? LXDE, XFCE, KDE. Don’t like floating desktops anymore? qtile, xmonad, i3wm, awesome. And that’s just what draws window containers for your GUI applications!

    • Ray Bitton
      Ray Bitton 29 days ago

      Go do it. GNU/Linux will not disappoint you.
      The only thing you need to know is -> READING. Don't worry.. not much reading.
      My go-to reading source for almost any problem I face with regards to Linux is archlinux wiki.
      Choose whichever distribution you fancy and you can follow archlinux wiki for all configurations you want to apply to your system.

  • Lil Ramen
    Lil Ramen Month ago

    Linus, what if you installed windows on it? Would it be possible? if so, would it perform well?

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking Month ago

      He clearly shows Windows is installed on the machine look at timestamp 3.25 and he also gives you comparisons between the two systems. Linux machines are open, you can do what you like. This is what most people do, run Linux and Windows on the same PC.

  • END Of DAYS VIDEO
    END Of DAYS VIDEO Month ago

    Could work as a hackentosh

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 29 days ago

      @END Of DAYS VIDEO aye

    • END Of DAYS VIDEO
      END Of DAYS VIDEO Month ago

      I'm not a fan of neither one nor the other I would not waste money on a pre built

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking Month ago

      Why? Its a Linux machine, just buy a MAC.

  • silverpill
    silverpill Month ago

    Great gift for a parent, but the woodgrain is inadequate and a "retina" AIOwould be like, so right

  • pippo spano
    pippo spano Month ago

    used to compile kernels tailored for my own system and tinkering around, I'm a long term linux geek, but once i bought an HP laptop with preinstalled SUSE linux. Yuck. Everything was damn wrong, they even installed a 32-bit os on a 64-bit machine BUT with PAE (wtf?), video acceleration for some reason couldn't work and ram was simply not enough to use it. after installing Debian and all the ram it could take, it became a fine workhorse. what were they thinking ?

  • bob rose
    bob rose Month ago +1

    Pop os eats around 1.2-1.1gb of ram. I wish gnome eats less ram

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking Month ago

      Just install another desktop environment and kill gnome in systemd. I actually use KDE on Pop because you can launch steam AND completely kill all other process including the desktop. Basically just running xorg, required services and Steam, 200mb Ram usage at idle.

  • Dread Naught
    Dread Naught Month ago

    Linux just looks so exhausting to deal with on a day to day basis.

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking Month ago

      @Dread Naught Well, all I will say is this. If you want to actually, really, learn about computers and have the confidence to not worry about "bricking" no other system will give you that knowledge. Windows, Mac's ChromeOS are just toy's for the masses. I bet you thought Windows was "too difficult" when you started learning that too.

    • Dread Naught
      Dread Naught Month ago

      @gilkesisking You're right. I've never used it because it looks too difficult and I don't want to brick a computer because I pressed the wrong button. I had to teach myself Windows and I don't know either Mac nor Linux.

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking Month ago

      I guess you've never used it before then? As a user of both Windows and Linux I can tell you its not the latter that's exhausting. Windows, at times, is utterly infuriating. You'll never understand how much until you take the time to use and learn Linux and I have no allegiance to either system.

  • Sam Vimes
    Sam Vimes Month ago

    God, I _love_ the look of that thing. Woodgrain designs need to make a comeback.

  • Pieter Rossouw
    Pieter Rossouw Month ago

    Linux gaming is the future, mostly because game streaming services will run Linux. If a game developer/house wants their game on Stadia (or any inevitable competitor except Microsoft's), it needs to work with Linux. If they're going to the effort to do this, they'll also most probably release it on Linux via Steam. I couldn't care less about Stadia, but Linux gaming is about to really take off.

  • Cody Schleiger
    Cody Schleiger Month ago

    Flat hair! Holy Crap!

  • Jasper
    Jasper Month ago

    Linux tech tips

  • Rakesh Malik
    Rakesh Malik Month ago

    This is for people who want to use Linux, but would prefer to spend their time getting work done rather than tinkering with their computers -- the same people who would be shopping for HP Z
    series workstations instead of building their own systems.

    • Bean Bean
      Bean Bean Month ago

      Rakesh Malik how are you verified with only 60 subs?

  • horizonbrave
    horizonbrave Month ago

    Happy to pay the premium, not happy to pay for Nvidia. This is not a step in the right direction, the keep stepping in the proprietary direction. Not a product for me.

  • AJ Thompson
    AJ Thompson Month ago

    (Notes picture of dog on System 76 website) With that Lead Dog you know that product will be done right!

  • billrclarity
    billrclarity Month ago

    I already have the Sys76 Gazelle laptop, and love it. There was a small problem when I started, but their support staff helped me clear it up. I would like to upgrade my current desktop, and have a version of the Theilo intro model pimped out to what I want for about $800 more. What is holding me back is that there is no front panel I/O. I want to be able to plug in USB sticks an portable drives without climbing behind the case or taking up additional desk space with a USB port hub. Second problem, I don't particularly like the Ubuntu system and prefer KDE as my GUI. I have installed openSUSE with KDE on my Gazelle, and am quite happy with the system.

  • Taha Zubair
    Taha Zubair Month ago

    wait... 2 cpu's
    edit: xeon even

  • Bob Zenbits
    Bob Zenbits Month ago

    I wish this guy would actually learn more about Linux before he hits record on the next Linux video. It's a little bit like watching a Catholic trying to explain Buddhism after just reading a Wikipedia article five minutes earlier.

  • Charlike Mike Reagent

    It's already "accessible" for the fucking "normies", for a loooooooooooong long time.
    I hate such talking. Throw some fucking Ubuntu or one of its millions of variants and you are ready, if you are "normy".
    The only hard stuff is when you choose Gentoo or FreeBSD(-based). Even ArchLinux isn't hard or "compiling" or whatever.
    Stop this fucking mantra that Linux is hard or I don't know what other shit. If it wasn't linux this world would not be in the current state. It won't be exaggeration if we say that the whole world is depending on Linux, or even the "normies" with their shit (smart) phones.