Reviewing Celeb Men's Nail Polish Brands: Harry Styles & MGK

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 7, 2022
  • Finally celebrity men have come to sell you nail polish💅
    Come hang out live on my second channel: thexvid.com/user/simplynotlo...
    I stream every SATURDAY 11AM ET / 8AM PT
    WEDNESDAY 5PM ET / 2PM PT
    Got boring nails? Just add a Holo Taco 💿🌮 Sign up for email updates to be notified about restocks ➡️ holota.co/holothere1
    ♡ Subscribe to never miss n̶e̶w̶ ̶n̶a̶i̶l̶ ̶a̶r̶t̶ ̶t̶u̶t̶o̶r̶i̶a̶l̶s̶! bit.ly/subsimply
    ♡ Subscribe to Holo Taco (for nail videos lol): bit.ly/SubHoloTaco
    ♡ Subscribe to the Podcast to hear me have adult conversations: bit.ly/SubSimplyPodLogical
    _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
    Stalk me on all the social medias!
    simplynailogical
    www.snapchat.com/add/simplyna...
    nailogical
    simplynailog...
    www.tiktok.com/@simplynailogical
    discord.gg/simplynailogical
    www.simplynailogical.com (archival materials)
    My other TheXvid channels:
    thexvid.com/user/simplypodlogical
    thexvid.com/user/holotaco
    thexvid.com/user/simplynotlogical
    thexvid.com/user/simplypodlogi...
    _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
    I film my nail videos with this camera: amzn.to/1Mgznht
    This 105mm macro lens: amzn.to/1Pi8PM3
    I filmed my face in this video with this camera: amzn.to/327OB7b
    This lens: amzn.to/38HnBgU
    Voiceover mic: amzn.to/3nrlIgH
    Audio recorder: amzn.to/3dbtg1w
    External mic: amzn.to/32AnO3g
    Ring light for face-cams: amzn.to/2cU7cNO
    Check out my personalized Amazon page with stuff I like! www.amazon.com/shop/simplynai...
    Music: share.epidemicsound.com/SIMPLY
    _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
    Disclaimer cause I love you guys: This video was not sponsored by any of the brands mentioned. All opinions are my own. Some links above are affiliate links.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 4 675

  • Simply Nailogical
    Simply Nailogical  4 months ago +2689

    SEE YOU STYLERS ON WEDNESDAY 5PM ET/2PM PT DON'T BE LATE (hit 'Set a reminder' at this link to be notified when we're live) thexvid.com/video/VxohlHfWxSo/video.html

    • Galaxy Rose
      Galaxy Rose 4 days ago +1

      I was wondering what your opinion on pop arazzi nail polish is

    • Rachel Martin
      Rachel Martin 6 days ago +1

      Dot stop

    • Vivian Kensington
      Vivian Kensington 17 days ago +2

      Read some random Amazon review where a chik recommended watching your video. So here I am. Dont ever really "watch" TheXvid except for random music or snl. BUT...I 🖤 nail polish. I 🖤d your video. You're smart, hilarious, obviously know your shit, and definitely will give Adele a run for her money. (Quad-threat?) Excellent review without laughing, which im sure was challenging to say the least. I've liked, subscribed, and am off to a morning of bingeing more of your videos. Thanks, and good luck keeping a straight face while addressing "Harries" when he inevitably comes out with more pearl themed polishes. ✌🏼

    • Alaina
      Alaina Month ago +1

      HOLO

    • Olad Beauty
      Olad Beauty Month ago +1

      WOW. I love using them

  • JamJam
    JamJam 4 months ago +8619

    If this were wattpad Harry would contact you about how no girl has ever fairly critiqued his nail polish before and he would invite you backstage to his next concert

  • nieooj gotoy
    nieooj gotoy 4 months ago +4487

    I am SO GLAD she mentioned the "using people's insecurities as a marketing angle" thing, even if only briefly. It never sits quite right with me either tbh

    • Scm Report
      Scm Report 18 days ago

      Do any of you know if Cristine has a nail polish that doesn't stink? I haven't tried any of her line. I am just tired of my niece using traditional smelly nail polish

    • Kikiricki Kira
      Kikiricki Kira Month ago

      @M That's a bot. Usually recognizable by a fake tick next to their name or sexual pictures as their profile pic - as is here the case.

    • Krizben
      Krizben Month ago

      @larangelz still doesnt sit right hun

    • larangelz
      larangelz Month ago

      Uhmm they‘re references to his songs

    • colorbar.s
      colorbar.s Month ago

      @M it's a bot

  • BROOKE NOWAK
    BROOKE NOWAK 4 months ago +2133

    I love Harry but these are the most boring overpriced nail polishes I’ve ever seen. If I’m spending more than $15 on a nail polish I expect it to either last weeks or be a unique color or formula. I will say Kathleenlights has her own nail brand and the branding + quality + price is amazing

    • Hannah
      Hannah 3 days ago +1

      @One direction screaming potatoes he doesn't know you exist. Get help

    • Lava cake
      Lava cake Month ago

      @Bambi c: he doesn't price them sherlock

    • k x r i s s x
      k x r i s s x Month ago

      Same, if it was really affordable I'd be totally down with purchasing and supporting

    • One direction screaming potatoes
      One direction screaming potatoes  Month ago

      Sis, I’m totally fine with buying it because Harry styles is my husband so I will do anything for him

    • Akilah Nicki
      Akilah Nicki Month ago

      @Dženeta Fejzović- where you live????? Lol

  • s t e v I e s
    s t e v I e s 4 months ago +1157

    "Does harry really like pearls or something?" Yes. Yes he does.

    • Emily Jane Oldham
      Emily Jane Oldham Month ago +2

      He wears pearls and looks stunning!

    • Hanna Stockdale
      Hanna Stockdale 2 months ago +17

      @pvic he just wears a pearl necklace all the time

    • irrelevaant idiot
      irrelevaant idiot 3 months ago +4

      Some stupid bot thing stole this and got more likes :(

    • pvic
      pvic 4 months ago +23

      @Jaysuitey whats the inside joke/context for this? or is it something that cant be explained really?

    • lsuarez
      lsuarez 4 months ago +17

      Even the bottles had pearls (balls)

  • Weird Wally
    Weird Wally 4 months ago +1131

    i think it’s very important to note that when she said “i don’t like this” or “this isn’t right” she gives a very detailed explanation as to why she feels that way

  • Mina Hellfire
    Mina Hellfire 4 months ago +8862

    "once the balls are off, there's nothing special about it." - Cristine 2022

  • Aero Nalex
    Aero Nalex 4 months ago +587

    The one “celeb” brand that is not clout is Fenty. Fenty is affordable, quality, and inclusive without pandering. Rihanna did right.

    • Ayushi Roy
      Ayushi Roy 5 days ago

      didnt fenty get accused of employing child labours or using materials taken from indian factories that do?

    • rosé all day
      rosé all day 6 days ago

      I think rare beauty too but I could be wrong

    • PinkBombshellcasing
      PinkBombshellcasing 18 days ago +2

      I agree that Fentys branding and marking team is very good. And the parent company has helped produce very pigmented products. Obviously, they are not without criticism, like everything else. For example, the non-governmental organization (NGO) called Legal Rights Observatory (LRO) has filed a complaint with the National Commission for Protection of Child Rights (NCPCR) against Fenty due to the source of the mica used, which may be from child labor in India.

    • yoyoyo
      yoyoyo 25 days ago +11

      @jaysee Fenty is not cheap, but it's not as ridiculously expensive as some celebrity brands are either. Like the price of most fenty products feels more or less reasonable for their quality

    • CreoleFaerie
      CreoleFaerie Month ago +3

      @Chelsea Norman savage Fenty is terrible. Always sold out in my size to the point that I think it wasn't even stocked in my size to begin with.

  • Dia GDT
    Dia GDT 4 months ago +691

    Cristine; “I get that people buy my nail polish because they like me”
    Girl, nope. I bought your nail polish because I knew you’d turn some decent shit out. Period.

    • Kitten Mimi
      Kitten Mimi 29 days ago +2

      All that does is make me aware of the existence of holo taco, then the reason I'm actually interested to buy is because everything is so freaking beautiful, and good quality

    • X̷s̷m̷a̷r̷t̷ ̷b̷o̷y̷ ̷ Yadav
      X̷s̷m̷a̷r̷t̷ ̷b̷o̷y̷ ̷ Yadav Month ago

      @Jamey Weintraub I am also agree

    • Dia GDT
      Dia GDT 4 months ago +17

      @Jamey Weintraub 100% agree with you on that one my friend ☺️☺️

    • Jamey Weintraub
      Jamey Weintraub 4 months ago +104

      Right? Like I definitely adore her, Beyn, and the fur babies but we all knew she’d throw her whole nail artussy into her brand and boy has she lol

  • Ceara Bostick
    Ceara Bostick 4 months ago +853

    The fact that those nail polishes are probably worth $5 each, but they know that their fans will pay way more if they slap their name on it… Kind of messed up.

    • Elisabeth Bug-Wiltse
      Elisabeth Bug-Wiltse 3 months ago +17

      Harry's polishes are sustainably and ethically made, so I'd say the price is pretty fair. I think a lot of people are used to stuff not being made in a sustainable or ethical way so the price seems steep, but all things considered, I think its a solid price.

    • Pecko☆
      Pecko☆ 4 months ago +10

      it's really messed up but that's the profit of being a celeb. you gotta get the money back from the people who harass you i guess lmao

    • Dia GDT
      Dia GDT 4 months ago +21

      Honestly I wouldn’t waste even $5 on them tbh

    • Jordi Marie
      Jordi Marie 4 months ago +27

      Exactly. They are cheap looking.

  • Josefa Tejeda Jadrievic
    Josefa Tejeda Jadrievic 4 months ago +611

    I've always thought about what Cristine said at the end about the Glass Escalator Effect, like why are male beauty gurus more successful than women beauty gurus, when makeup is supposed to be a "women" thing. obviously i agree that men can do makeup and be beauty gurus, but they are more successful at everything just because they are men. women are always left behind even in feminine lines of work.
    same with cooking and chefs, i only know famous male chefs when cooking has always been seen as a woman's job

    • Umi
      Umi 9 days ago

      yeah but cooking isnt a "womans job" necessarily. its a pretty bad stereotype that its just for women to do that when its a basic human skill everyone should know

    • Mystic Peace
      Mystic Peace 17 days ago

      Maybe because WE supported them 😭. In every industry, I only see men leading. And if it's a woman then she's gonna be a bad one in other women's mouths. Like I think, sure women support each other but we do support men more 🙃

    • Jenna Katz
      Jenna Katz Month ago +1

      💯💯 Women's work is only women's work of they're not getting paid for it

    • Serpentarrius
      Serpentarrius 2 months ago

      And beer making and tailoring and cooking...

    • Chelsea Norman
      Chelsea Norman 3 months ago +15

      @J G they’re not saying there isn’t female representation in the field, just that males have the opportunity to make more money in fields deemed “women’s work”

  • lestrange
    lestrange 4 months ago +3188

    "Nail polish for men" reminds me of those "tools for women" that are just normal tools with pink handles and higher price tags. All tools are for all people. All nail polish is for all people with nails.

    • Bookwormscififan
      Bookwormscififan 25 days ago

      Yes exactly! I’m a woman and I use my dad’s tools just as competently as he does. The “for women” branding just annoys me

    • Hazel Patterson
      Hazel Patterson 3 months ago +1

      If I get so-called tools for women, they'd better be made for my tiny little hands and not just sprayed pink.

    • lestrange
      lestrange 3 months ago +2

      @raven collins but there is no difference between genders as far as using tools, other than (sometimes) hand size. In which case they could just make small and large tools rather than gendered tools. Because there are also plenty of men with smaller hands and they shouldn't be forced to buying pink tools just because they have smaller than average hands. I mean it should not matter, but men of small stature are already bullied enough without a hardware store shaming them. There's also women with larger hands but there would be less stigma about them buying 'mens tools' aka just standard normal tools.

    • Cat Poke
      Cat Poke 4 months ago +9

      @lestrange Men's skin is generally thicker, and women's skin usually has a higher fat content.
      Neither of these things make as big of a difference as marketing companies want you to think, though! Skin products only treat the top layer, anyways. The biggest difference I could see is you might need something a bit less abrasive for most (and only most) women since the fat content makes their skin softer and thus a bit more fragile. Again... only a bit. And honestly, I seriously doubt that the gendered products actually make differences like that. Pretty sure it's entirely marketing and that all the products do the same dang things and are just as abrasive or just as gentle as others.

  • Pink_Star_Fish
    Pink_Star_Fish Month ago +41

    Who else has become clinically depressed since Cristine hasn’t posted on this channel for months-

    • 150 Sneha K
      150 Sneha K Month ago +5

      Yahhhh I'm waiting for her videoooooooo

  • Singing Sammy
    Singing Sammy 4 months ago +131

    I love Harry with all my heart and have been a fan since I was 8 years old but I genuinely could never see myself buying anything from his new brand. The prices are just ridiculous when I could get the same thing somewhere else for a lot cheaper. Maybe later on if he adds more to the brand like makeup and more skincare I could consider it more

    • Cay lol
      Cay lol 4 months ago +20

      I bought the polishes and believe me, it was NOT worth it, I don’t ever use them, the quality is just not it

  • Mikey W
    Mikey W 25 days ago +12

    I wish we got more simply videos. I know she livestreams every week, which is awesome! I just wish I enjoyed livestreams 😩

  • Paula 빠울라
    Paula 빠울라 3 months ago +33

    I know I'm late af but I really liked Cristine's explanation at the end. When a celebrity comes out with a new brand or smth, you have to be able to separate the celebrity from the actual product. I remember back when I was a HUGE fan of Ariana Grande and she came out with her first perfume. I really wanted to get it but the price stopped me (plus I was like 15-16 so I didn't have any money). After thinking about it some more, I realized buying it wouldn't make sense for me because I rarely wore perfume so I never bought it. Then the same thing happened with BTS. The only affordable things they have on the official merch site are the albums and books. I'd love to have one of the tour shirts but they're like $300 each and I'm not about to drop that much money on a shirt. Later on I discovered fan made pins and clothes that were much more affordable so I bought those instead. I've since come to the conclusion that it's more accessible to buy from indie creators and small business owners who don't already have millions of dollars. That's not to say that you shouldn't support your favorite artists, but you should seek to support them in ways that won't have you spending half your paycheck on their stuff, and instead support them by buying their songs or just streaming their music

  • M
    M 4 months ago +7379

    I am SO GLAD she mentioned the "using people's insecurities as a marketing angle" thing, even if only briefly. It never sits quite right with me either tbh

    • larangelz
      larangelz Month ago

      @meggo it is a reference to his song title track

    • larangelz
      larangelz Month ago

      @Genevieve Roy ´depressionistˋ is a reference to his song “title track“

    • larangelz
      larangelz Month ago

      Most of them are references to his songs

    • Erin Dsouza
      Erin Dsouza 4 months ago +2

      @Eden Jay Collins You missed the point for the branding. There's no way an edgy soft of marketing caters to the product being unisex. Also, even if the other drug store nail polishes cater to women, men can still buy them online. Just like how men can buy mgk's nail polish online. I don't even think mgk sells it at a store.
      Moreover, you heard what Simply nailogical said about some of the pictures being so random and not even showcasing the product.

    • Eden Jay Collins
      Eden Jay Collins 4 months ago

      @Erin Dsouza Idk, cause on one half i'm like yeah its just nail polish the same as any other nail polish which can be used by anyone, but at the same time the branding on them is targeted towards woman and a lot of people aren't comfortable going into a shop and buying them due to anything from toxic masculinity to just feeling like it isn't for them. Using depression and stuff like 20-life yup thats bad got it now, but I think just making the branding edgy and ~different~ and more unisex in marketing approach to attract people who might not otherwise buy nail polish, I don't really see much of a problem with that

  • M Q
    M Q 4 months ago +137

    Business thoughts
    MGK:
    - Brand image is terrible. His team tried to tie in concerns such as unisex, and it is illogical. It’s flat out their attempt at a positive accepting brand.
    - Polish label tells me the company just added their label onto an existing factory polish and that way they can save on starter costs.
    Harry:
    - The ball cap is misleading. I thought of Selena’s beauty products and her reasoning behind the cap.
    - same thing with manufacturing, seems like they slapped a brand and cap on it to sell at 3x profit margins. Even more as they don’t have start up costs
    Damn as I wrote this, I got to Christine’s end of the video. I’m glad we agree lol 😂

    • Orion The Chaotic
      Orion The Chaotic Month ago +2

      @Preeti Yadav the majority of her products are designed with disabilities in mind, especially those that affect fine motor functions, as she herself has lupus which has severely weakened her hands to the point that using standard makeup and nail products can cause her debilitating pain

    • Grace
      Grace 2 months ago +4

      Mgks labels just say the colour and not the title so colourblind people don’t have to go back to the website to know what they’re looking at.

    • El
      El 2 months ago +14

      @Preeti Yadav to help people with arthritis i’m pretty sure! it was a really considerate release and it gained a lot of support for that reason

    • Preeti Yadav
      Preeti Yadav 3 months ago +4

      What was the reason behind the cap design in Selena’s brand?

  • Aaliyah Mireles
    Aaliyah Mireles 4 months ago +77

    The most honest and respectful review I’ve ever seen. The new knowledge that she has gained from owning her own polish brand will make these reviews just that much better.

  • Cupid Me
    Cupid Me Month ago +14

    Thank u for staying an unproblematic queen all these years

  • Jay
    Jay 4 months ago +62

    I love Harry, but if I’m gonna buy nail polish, I’d rather buy yours. I’m always impressed by the quality of it. And yes to more men wearing nail polish 👏

  • Safiya Nygaard
    Safiya Nygaard 4 months ago +32558

    but cristine... what about the pop hit single "HOLO, ITS ME"?!??! edit: lol just got to that part of the video, i'm glad it is not forgotten!!

    • Gabriella Royale
      Gabriella Royale 3 days ago

      AHHH Safiya I love you! Also I love how supportive you are ❤️☺️

    • franks ocean
      franks ocean 8 days ago

      What about the absolute bop raindrops keep falling on the nails? Cristine is the pop star of a generation

    • Agility Spark
      Agility Spark 16 days ago +1

      Hi saf!

    • That Crackhead
      That Crackhead 21 day ago

      Go home safiya...just go home 💀🖐️😭

    • Antonyyy
      Antonyyy 2 months ago

      Yessss I love Todd Rundgren!

  • ZukiTV
    ZukiTV 4 months ago +38

    This review is actually like... super helpful! They're missing out on a lot if they don't watch these observations! Loved it! Great work!

  • Myles
    Myles 4 months ago +69

    man i remember watching christine when i was younger and i heard that she hasn't been making content much anymore a while back, and to see her doing it again and enjoying it makes my heart so happy i hope you're doing well

  • Durpy_ Meowth
    Durpy_ Meowth 4 months ago +22

    Simply out here unintentionally showing how her brand is priced so well.

  • Cal Reynolds
    Cal Reynolds 3 months ago +12

    My first order of Holo Taco was because I like your content, but subsequent orders were because it is a great product.

  • Christian Kirbo
    Christian Kirbo 4 months ago +3217

    And then when the world needed her most, she came back.

    • ruserious?
      ruserious? 4 months ago +2

      @Greatest Ever lol i feel like i am now obliged to watch it, imma start it todayy

    • Greatest Ever
      Greatest Ever 4 months ago +3

      @ruserious? yes!! You should def watch it! I didn’t think I’d like it, but caught myself not being able to stop watching lol

    • ruserious?
      ruserious? 4 months ago +1

      @AshleyD yh like in genesis or something

    • ruserious?
      ruserious? 4 months ago +2

      @AshleyD i think i might have to give it a watch tbh

    • AshleyD
      AshleyD 4 months ago +2

      @ruserious? but like honestly you’re not wrong about it sounding like its from a bible, for some reason i feel like it would fit in lol

  • Kayla Michelle
    Kayla Michelle Month ago +6

    You know it’s been a while when she has an actual bag for her peelies instead of a ziploc 😂😂

  • Mireya Jarick
    Mireya Jarick 4 months ago +27

    i dont think the brush length was too short probably average sized or maybe above average. it probably has a good personality

    • uncreativebitch
      uncreativebitch 3 months ago +1

      @Mireya Jarick
      Are you sure about that?

    • uncreativebitch
      uncreativebitch 3 months ago +6

      No no. It was small. Really small, like.. too small.

  • Amanda Kristine
    Amanda Kristine 2 months ago +6

    I'm confident the MGK brand is simply custom packaging from a cheap wholesaler. It would explain the generic color names printed on the labels, the odd brush, and the generic black and white topper (which I totally have too from SH). Especially because slapping your name on a product made by a wholesaler is nothing new.

  • Lucy Paton
    Lucy Paton 4 months ago +15

    This was such a thorough review and the fact you have formulated your own polish adds quality and knowledge to the review, I don't think you were biased but thank you for calling it out!

  • Demi Jones
    Demi Jones 4 months ago +3956

    She painted Harry’s white polish and I immediately knew what she was thinking 🥛🥛

    • millie
      millie  4 months ago

      You’re done lol

    • Natalie B
      Natalie B 4 months ago +2

      Same

    • TychoPanda
      TychoPanda 4 months ago +22

      @no ugh The reason why drug stores are mentioned is because they're known to be cheap. But these big brands are selling polishes at ridiculously high prices, even though the same quality and colors can be found in the drug store or other places, for a much cheaper price! No one is implying that drug stores are bad, it's the fact that these nail polishes are said to be unique when they clearly aren't. Why should I dish out $20 dollars for something I can find for less?

    • TychoPanda
      TychoPanda 4 months ago +13

      @no ugh just read the description for the perfect pearl polish and nowhere is it described as sheer 🥰
      I also watched the clip of the polish being applied and it didn't look anything like when Cristine applied the first coat!

    • Djilana
      Djilana 4 months ago +25

      @no ugh just want to say the Not Milky White's formula has been updated and is a lot easier to work with than the original. She does use her own product, is personally involved in production and hears feedback from the community. IMO, that's a lot more than many celebs/influencers with a brand do and I appreciate it. Her product is solid and the (1st formula) white is the only one I had complaints about.

  • CarerOfGoblins
    CarerOfGoblins 4 months ago +69

    Well Harry knows he should collab with the taco. He could make one WATERMELON TACO 😱

  • PikaWolf
    PikaWolf 4 months ago +30

    I've been wanting to buy your polish but still haven't been able to afford it, so I'm so excited to see a genuine review of other things I still can't buy cause the pandemonium sucks. 😅

  • HannaCast
    HannaCast 4 months ago +14

    The UNDN nail polish is pretty damn good. Good consistency, the main thing they need to work on is the brush length and the bristles. And price.
    18$ is high why not make it 12$ or 15$

  • Keri Stone
    Keri Stone 4 months ago +19

    “Wait a minute! Are they insulting Harry’s granny?!“ I lost it 😂

  • Probably Lasly
    Probably Lasly 12 days ago +1

    Just got my first Holo Taco order and loved everything when using it and now after seeing those prices I feel even better about what I spent!

  • Sweet Cookie
    Sweet Cookie 4 months ago +15

    I do know that yes, Harry does use his own polish and had been using it before he even announced he was selling it. Obviously it’s not just something you can tell by looking at his nails and knowing that he made the polish. But I do see what you mean in terms of celebrity’s not actually using the products they make.

  • Unclassified_Name
    Unclassified_Name 4 months ago +12

    It's interesting to see two brands with different target audiences.

  • Nora
    Nora 4 months ago +10

    You’re such a queen for being this honest

  • TsubakiiHime
    TsubakiiHime 4 months ago +2819

    "This looks like something I got at the grocery store 20 years ago," *goes to the shelf and finds the exact same polish* "Found it!"

    • coolgirl312
      coolgirl312 4 months ago +6

      I saw the polish and was like "I have that exact one by Sally Hansen!" and then Cristine goes and pulls the same bottle xD

    • Sirina Heart
      Sirina Heart 4 months ago +4

      I still have that polish omg I love it

    • Rey Squadron
      Rey Squadron 4 months ago +7

      Yup, I had almost the same but slightly different black and white polka dots topper.

    • Pamela Sawyer
      Pamela Sawyer 4 months ago +3

      I have it, too!

    • Jane Doe
      Jane Doe 4 months ago +12

      I literally had that one too lol

  • Veronica
    Veronica 3 months ago +5

    I love it when celebrities "break the toxic norms" I'm like how about breaking the rich people norm by cooking and cleaning for once in your privileged life!?

  • Jm19
    Jm19 4 months ago +7

    Should we tell Ben what “Watermelon Sugar” is really about 💀💀👀👀

  • Neitan
    Neitan Month ago +1

    It makes me so mad how celebrities can get away with charging so much for an inferior product and inferior packaging. It just doesn't make sense. It's all about the "lifestyle" or "brand" and not the product at that point. Mgk's looked better quality to me (besides the brush).

  • Faith Chou
    Faith Chou 4 months ago +8

    I’m honestly surprised how opaque they were. I was expecting it to be cheaper

    • Laila Royster
      Laila Royster Month ago

      They are made with environmentally friendly and vegan ingredients

  • Juliaiscoolia
    Juliaiscoolia 4 months ago +5647

    The mgk brand where they just wrote the colors is actually soo helpful because I’m colorblind and when brands make fun cute names for the shades it’s hard to tell what the actual color is sometimes so when they actually use the name of the actual color it’s refreshing

    • kägi
      kägi 2 months ago

      but how would u know what f.e orange looks like

    • Kennedy’s Church
      Kennedy’s Church 3 months ago +1

      I love your pfp of mayhem LOL

    • neko
      neko 4 months ago +3

      I’m colour blind too and I agree 100%

    • Jon Won
      Jon Won 4 months ago +1

      But for that purpose the names aren't helpful that much either though.
      Since it's just the general hue and nothing else.
      So if you want to use colors and match them to outfits etc, you'll have to label them yourself anyways with more accurate color names.
      But I do agree that it'd be cool if the bottom included the shade and not just the fun name!

  • skiesBlue 17
    skiesBlue 17 25 days ago +2

    These celebs just piss me off when they come out with this stuff. You see their videos even reviewing their own product and its almost like you can tell they don't know what they're doing lol.
    You've taught us all how to not only paint our nails but to care for them in ways we really would have never known. You came out with bomb ass nail polish and even use it and make tutorials on how to use it. You're basically a mentor, Christine. A teacher with a passion.
    These celebs are just trying to make a quick buck and its a bit annoying tbh.

  • Nohemi Nicolosi
    Nohemi Nicolosi 3 months ago +2

    I absolutely appreciate Cristine's 2 cents 😂 She always brings up good points and reminds us WHY we buy things. I honestly never bought a nail polish more than $5 until I tried her polish. I saw a difference in my manicure immediately. $18/20 polish tho? Way too much hype. Even Cristine's polish is higher quality and still at least $5 cheaper. 💅🍵

  • EdgarSketches
    EdgarSketches 3 months ago +2

    Look, I LOVE celebrities breaking the gender stereotypes, and that needs to continue to happen!! I understand, that clothing and nail polish is not the perfect example of breaking gender norms, but it is also still very necessary in our society!
    HOWEVER, when they come out with their own products (I am speaking about men who usually don't wear makeup or nail polish etc. and are generally clueless as to what's happening) it gets fishy. Because there is no way, that by himself he will be able to develop a good prouct as such a newbie into the actual market.
    If htey would collab with a person or a brand of the market, it would be a totally different story though! He would just use his name and let the brand produce good quality products, while also normalizing men wearing nail polish.
    I am not against male celebrities getting money through nail polish, but I _am_ against them not collabing or hiring professionals in the market to produce the goods, so the pricing is ACCURATE. The pricing is basically in the realms of Apple products: 60% name and 40% actual quality.

  • Mia - Sᴇx Cʜᴀɴɴᴇʟ 18+🅥

    "Does harry really like pearls or something?" Yes. Yes he does.

  • Blue
    Blue 4 months ago +5412

    i know (as she mentioned) that some people don't trust her reviews now that she has a nail polish line but I actually trust her reviews even more. before, to me, she was only a person who painted her nails regularly and knew nail polish from an experienced consumer's perspective. now, she actually has developed her own (very good quality) brand and her reviews include an even more detailed developer's point of view. and she really did and still values honesty in all her reviews.
    keep reviewing things, Cristine, i value your opinion 🖤

    • Kitten Mimi
      Kitten Mimi 29 days ago

      @pvic amazing nail polish, both holo and non holo in every color you can imagine... yep definitely created to make people's dreams come true

    • Kitten Mimi
      Kitten Mimi 29 days ago

      I think the harry or whatever nail polish are just using the celebrity's name as a brand and they aren't actually involved in making the nail polish...
      So yeah I won't hold them responsible for quality of the nail polish
      Cristine tho is highly involved in every step of creating her nail polish brand so yea I agree with you. This to me just means she now speaks as someone who actually has legit experience making nail polish and knows what she's talking about
      And cristine being cristine her reviews will always be honest and fun to watch lol

    • Rain Remnant
      Rain Remnant 4 months ago +3

      She's never been misleading and she built a brand that makes sense since she's always been doing nails, unlike those other "celebs" (idk them lol idc). She didn't even need to point that out to anyone who's been following her, I love how she's real 💯

    • pvic
      pvic 4 months ago +6

      plus if i understand shes said many times that her brand is there because she wants it to be. she clearly wants to make people happy. if theres a product out there better than hers, im sure she would say so. but also try to make hers better

    • potatopouf
      potatopouf 4 months ago +2

      yee i agree. i have a bias though and I only like holo taco. i have sparingly used other nail polish in the past but cristine inspired me to start growing out my nails (which is helping with my skin picking disorder) and to paint my nails. i really love her nail polish and so does my mom (and my mom has no bias as she does not watch cristine but she geniunly loves the nail polish)

  • heyheyhey
    heyheyhey 4 months ago +2

    Holo Taco is where it’s at! 110% I’m going to trust your reviews, look at all those polish bottles behind you!

  • Stop Being An A-hole
    Stop Being An A-hole 4 months ago +2

    Thank you for informing me about the top coat thing…the bed imprint thing happened to me recently…and I ruined my fake nails.

  • Casty
    Casty 2 months ago +1

    I would definitely trust buying Cristine’s product I’m happy you finally posted a new video 😭

  • Gabriella Royale
    Gabriella Royale 3 days ago

    You’re my fave and you always remind me that it’s okay to be myself! LOVE YOU!!! ❤️☺️

  • Bella Belles
    Bella Belles 4 months ago +3874

    I saw a tweet that said "Tell your boyfriends to break gender norms by cooking and cleaning, not by painting their nails."
    And it's true. A lot of the time, cooking, cleaning, doing laundry is still seen as a "female" chore.

    • Ali
      Ali Month ago +1

      @RxseDust hope you and your family are ok ♥️

    • Chikiru Uchiha
      Chikiru Uchiha Month ago +2

      Now if they do all that though, that’s means we gotta take out the garbage, do the yard work and fix the car/plumbing. Fair is fair 😎

    • Creamie Milk
      Creamie Milk 2 months ago +1

      @RxseDust god bless your father!! i hope your mother gets well and you, your father and your brother and mother all have a fantastic amazing day!!

    • Dannielle
      Dannielle 3 months ago +8

      In Sociology, we study the fact that even though men are allowing their societal boxes to expand, they are still relying on their partner/wives to do majority of the housework. I dont care how you accessorize, help me with the chores or get out

    • Blossom :3
      Blossom :3 3 months ago +5

      True, in my opinion every adult should know how to do those things, because those are like the basics- I mean unless they had a good reason they couldn't. I also think having basic sewing skills (like sewing a button or being able to fix a small hole) is something more people should have.

  • lauren Cordova
    lauren Cordova 3 months ago +1

    I finally broke my nail biting habit and growing my nails. I wanna buy most of her nail polish line. I'm so happy

  • Ruby Yesenia
    Ruby Yesenia 4 months ago +1

    I am so happy for all her success. I wish she would still post more on this channel. I miss it alot.

  • Lizbeth Magana
    Lizbeth Magana 4 months ago +2

    i am a fan of harry styles but i completely trust your reviews- I've been watching you for many years and I know you are just passionate about cuticle art. thanks for the review (:

  • Madison M
    Madison M 4 months ago +1

    Hi first time viewer! Great review!!
    It’s such a shame (& annoying) when celebs release products that don’t live up to the price tag. I understand Harry’s range is biodegradable which naturally makes it more expensive but if you’re not 100% satisfied with the product then why spend the money?
    Also I agree with your comments about MGK branding capitalising on insecurities. It’s not a range I would buy based on some of those names.

  • Angie M
    Angie M 4 months ago +2684

    "Celebrity Surcharge" is the most important thing for people to remember when they're pulling out their debit cards.

    • Lubos Šimko
      Lubos Šimko 4 months ago +66

      reminds me of TheOddsoneout talking about same thing on T-shirts - with just Supreme words - and price just skyrocketing because of that

  • Oscar Macintyre
    Oscar Macintyre 10 days ago +3

    Just sited this video in my final essay about gendered marketing in the beauty industry.

  • Friendlyperson250
    Friendlyperson250 4 months ago +1

    I mean the first time I bought holo taco was because I like you, so I thought I would give it a shot. I _keep_ buying Holo Taco (a lot) because it’s honestly a lot better than what I used to get, and it’s a really good price.

  • t y
    t y 4 months ago +2

    I literally knew which nail polish she was talking about when she mentioned the drugstore nail polish. I’ve been watching her too much man

  • Christel Game
    Christel Game 4 months ago +12

    I like her comments at the end when she shower us with her sociology knowledge 🤣

  • Jax
    Jax 4 months ago +5145

    When a celebrity brand is super overpriced, that’s almost always a sure fire way to know that the celebrity isn’t actually involved in the brand and is just being paid for the use of their name.

    • Hayley Sullivan
      Hayley Sullivan 3 months ago +3

      @Daniela LMFAOOO yikes, you mean for how long he’s been in the public eye? You act like you’ve known the guy throughout his life without even pausing to think that an X Factor winner-turned-celebrity solo artist could be manipulating his image for financial benefit 💀

    • OceanChild7
      OceanChild7 4 months ago

      @ju ​ where the f did I say you stan him lmao? I was talking about myself. If you're not a fan I don't know why you even mention it, you clearly don't plan to buy or support either of the artists. Everybody knows celebs/bloggers beauty/fashion lines are mostly for their fans, this yt channel author included. You might think you talk righteous but you're just bitter, there's nothing aware about that. And before you attack me, I'm not from the first world country as well, I don't have shitloads of money too, I just don't get jealous of those who does.

    • sadreiq𓆩♡𓆪
      sadreiq𓆩♡𓆪 4 months ago

      "pleasing"

    • gummie
      gummie 4 months ago +2

      Don’t mind me just replying to this comment so it gets boosted and stays at the top of the comment section 👀

  • boobelladams
    boobelladams 4 months ago +2

    We begged for you to make a polish brand. You have high standards & I love that. I haven't been disappointed with a polish release yet! Love all my Holo Taco!💘❤🧡💛💚💙💜🤎🖤🤍

  • Casper Rabbit
    Casper Rabbit 4 months ago +9

    Ngl I'd love a Simply reflection segment on brands profiting off insecurities or depression now, it irks me to no end too 😭

  • Kimbo Slice
    Kimbo Slice 3 months ago

    this was the most in-depth product review video i have ever seen in my entire life

  • Ashley Kelley
    Ashley Kelley 2 months ago

    So, I just got my shipment of the work/life bundle and it's literally the first time my husband picked up a polish and said he really liked it - Bored Meeting. He's had his nails painted many, many times because he has broad, flat nails which are amazing for practice 😅 but that color caught his eyes. Thanks Cristine!!!

  • quinevere²
    quinevere² 4 months ago +3296

    "why did i go to bed and wake up with bed sheet imprints in my nails" THIS HITS HOME CRISTINE T-T

    • Kathy Kinsey
      Kathy Kinsey 4 months ago +3

      This is one of the biggest reasons why I only wear gel Polish now. I know there are products now that are regular Polish that work well, but I can’t do it. Especially if I’m trying to do a design. I’m getting anxious just thinking about it right now lol

    • On hold
      On hold 4 months ago +3

      Haseul crying at her first win hits home...

    • Simplicia
      Simplicia 4 months ago +6

      @Tiré A buying seche vite was the best thing I've ever done. Fully dried nails in minutes, saves me from messing up wet polish too 😭

    • alolisa113
      alolisa113 4 months ago +4

      "sheety" im whEEZING

    • rudeminnesotan
      rudeminnesotan 4 months ago +5

      Omigosh same. I usually paint my nails late at night and I've woken with a terribly smushed nail before ㅠㅠ

  • Matt Dorris
    Matt Dorris 2 months ago

    These brands were the final push I needed to try painting my nails BUT I still bought mine from Holo Taco. Been watching your vids for a couple years now so I know I can trust you 😂👏👏👏👏

  • Shayna Tooma
    Shayna Tooma 3 months ago +1

    i came here to have a laugh and now i know what the glass escalator effect is. thanks cristine💜

  • Saulė Blaževičiūtė
    Saulė Blaževičiūtė 4 months ago +1

    We're called not stylers but harries lmao I lived your reaction and yes he loves pearls and wears them a lot

  • Kass Creative
    Kass Creative 4 months ago +4

    I like the black/navy with the topper from Harry’s brand it looked nice

    • Rain Remnant
      Rain Remnant 4 months ago

      I have it, from over 10 years ago for 1.99 🤭

  • Sydney Bytes
    Sydney Bytes 4 months ago +2998

    I can’t believe Cristine opened with a joke about releasing a pop hit single as if she didn’t release a pop hit parody a few years ago 💅💅💅

    • hannah brown
      hannah brown 4 months ago

      @AxxL omg dude your STILL AT THIS with the weird comments? How long has it been

    • Hannah Bloom
      Hannah Bloom 4 months ago +2

      @ꨄ•anna•ꨄ just report for spam. this account has been commenting like this for years.

    • ꨄ•anna•ꨄ
      ꨄ•anna•ꨄ 4 months ago +3

      @AxxL wth, are you talking abt?

    • sunflowerdogs
      sunflowerdogs 4 months ago +10

      @AxxL
      tf

    • AxxL
      AxxL 4 months ago

      Let me get this straight: You comment something that is unrelated to the fact that I have two HEAVENLY HANDSOME girlfriends? Considering that I am the unprettiest TheXvidr ever, having two handsome girlfriends is really incredible. Yet you did not mention that at all. I am quite disappointed, dear sys

  • Casey Marie
    Casey Marie 4 months ago

    I love watching you review products regardless of who makes it

  • Cleo De Leo
    Cleo De Leo 4 months ago +1

    As a person who's been watching since before you showed your face.... This was a great episode to introduce new fans as an all around intro..... I missed the "what do you think". As a yellow nail girl I agree with your review

  • Cristea
    Cristea 4 months ago

    i love your reviews cristine!!!! really enjoy it especially when im trying to do my homework hahaha
    not so stress anymore

  • wooo
    wooo Month ago

    us stylers really appreciate your constructive criticism! it helps us to be educated to have some sort of standard. we really appreciate your review, and will be telling harry your tips. thanks girl. -stylers

  • Becca Lynn
    Becca Lynn 4 months ago +1817

    The only 3 celebrities products I genuinely like: 1.) Rihanna’s Fenty Beauty and Fenty Skin is phenomenal and I’d recommend it to anyone even if you don’t like her music. It breaks boundaries with diversity and having darker skin tones for people of color. 2.) Selena Gomez rare beauty. I think this line is clean and modern and timeless. I can see people of all ages getting into this line even if they don’t keep up with Selena. 3.) Holo Taco. Seriously I never buy “TheXvidr merch or products” but your nail polishs are amazing and aren’t something I can find in the drug store. I also love your transparency and kindness as a person. That makes me want to support your brand. You also don’t over charge for products when you could. I respect that.

    • Becca Lynn
      Becca Lynn 4 months ago +1

      @bee ooh I’ve wanted to try that brand! I love it’s vibe. Edgy 90’s grunge with glitter ✨

    • bee
      bee 4 months ago +1

      halsey's about face is also in my opinion a worthy suggestion!

    • Brent Wolff
      Brent Wolff 4 months ago +3

      You GOTTA try Haus Labs by Lady Gaga. I’ve never been disappointed by a product and am a huge fan of the “Glam Attack” liquid eyeshadows

    • Alexandre Saint-Martin
      Alexandre Saint-Martin 4 months ago +1

      100% agreed

    • Missy Gardiner
      Missy Gardiner 4 months ago +3

      Agreed. You can see the passion they’ve put into their brands and not just slapped their names on it.

  • Stereo banana
    Stereo banana 20 days ago +2

    The way I’ve been hearing cristine talk about her yellow nails since I was 12

  • NyAppyMiku22
    NyAppyMiku22 4 months ago

    I love simply's honest reviews

  • Tajmahal Smith
    Tajmahal Smith 4 months ago +1

    not stylers, we’re harries! loved the video 👏🏾

  • TheJessicaIda
    TheJessicaIda 3 months ago

    I admit. I love your videos, love nailpolishes and different designs you can do with it. Yet I never paint my nails....lol I have never been able to keep my nails long, ever. Great video!

  • Rani Coppens
    Rani Coppens 4 months ago +2944

    Me seeing Harry Styles released nail polish: “I wonder how long it will take before Christine reviews this?”
    Christine: *about 2 months later* HOLLO!!

    • Meda Koles
      Meda Koles 4 months ago +1

      Only for fans over 18 years old YOUNGMOM.TOKYO/PIIT
      mañas no se la
      Megan: "Hotter"
      Hopi: "Sweeter"
      Joonie: "Cooler"
      Yoongi: "Butter
      Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la lease que escriba bien mamon hay nomas pa ra reirse un rato y no estar triste y estresado.por la vida dura que se vive hoy .
      Köz karaş: ''Taŋ kaldım''
      Erinder: ''Sezimdüü''
      Jılmayuu: ''Tattuuraak''
      Dene: ''Muzdak''
      Jizn, kak krasivaya melodiya, tolko pesni pereputalis.
      Aç köz arstan
      Bul ukmuştuuday ısık kün bolçu, jana arstan abdan açka bolgon.
      Uyunan çıgıp, tigi jer-jerdi izdedi. Al kiçinekey koyondu gana taba algan. Al bir az oylonboy koyondu karmadı. ''Bul koyon menin kursagımdı toyguza albayt'' dep oylodu arstan.
      Arstan koyondu öltüröyün dep jatkanda, bir kiyik tigi tarapka çurkadı. Arstan aç köz bolup kaldı. Kiçine koyondu emes, çoŋ kiyikti jegen jakşı dep oylodu.#垃圾
      Son unos de los mejores conciertos , no puede ir pero de tan solo verlos desde pantalla, se que estuvo sorprendente
      :yt::ytg::yt::ytg::yt:

    • Volterra
      Volterra 4 months ago +6

      I just heard about this nail polish, a few days ago, because of TikTok

  • staytiny♡
    staytiny♡ 4 months ago +2

    "shout out to all the men that has been painting their nails for years"
    the first person i thought of was Hongjoong from Ateez 💀🫂 (basically alot of other male kpop idols paint their nails but as a devoted Atiny, ofc hongjoong is the first person i think of when it comes to nail polish-)

  • Luana Assis
    Luana Assis 3 months ago

    this video is gold, I love the reviews and all the thoughts I can’t believe it’s been up for three weeks and I haven’t seen it yet

  • Amethyst003
    Amethyst003 Month ago +2

    Hey Cristine, I think you might never see this but I would like to explain the reason why you have yellow nails
    I'm studying chemistry, and a professor used this example in a class: what makes you nails yellow isn’t the pigments staining your nails, it is the UV lamp ! What happens is that your lamp might be too strong or of a wavelength that isn’t the safest for you, and it actually affects your nails. (I don't remember exactly how, but I think this is more or less radioactivity)
    Anyway, if you wanna make more research to know if your lamp is actually "badly-made" go ahead, I just don't want your nails dying because of your lamp 😂

  • Kimberly Lunk
    Kimberly Lunk 4 months ago +1

    "Cant say I was pleased...but it did meet my expectations." I lost it

  • itsonlylajla
    itsonlylajla 4 months ago +1364

    I just appreciate how she erases their celebrity value and tells her honest opinion

  • Rat Nap
    Rat Nap 4 months ago +1

    Me forgetting Ben brings you tea, and getting SUPER EXCITED hearing him

  • sunny
    sunny 4 months ago

    i would love to see you do female celeb's nail polish brands!!

  • Kwankwan Srihachan
    Kwankwan Srihachan 4 months ago +4

    When it comes to nail products, we've got to trust Cristine!😺

  • Corina
    Corina 4 months ago +3

    You should do a dupes video for those that want the same colors but with quality lol

  • darci
    darci 4 months ago +2060

    Cristines discussion about celebrity brands was actually really nuanced and intellectual & so refreshing to hear. Huge applause

    • Meda Koles
      Meda Koles 4 months ago

      Only for fans over 18 years old YOUNGMOM.TOKYO/PIIT
      mañas no se la
      Megan: "Hotter"
      Hopi: "Sweeter"
      Joonie: "Cooler"
      Yoongi: "Butter
      Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la lease que escriba bien mamon hay nomas pa ra reirse un rato y no estar triste y estresado.por la vida dura que se vive hoy .
      Köz karaş: ''Taŋ kaldım''
      Erinder: ''Sezimdüü''
      Jılmayuu: ''Tattuuraak''
      Dene: ''Muzdak''
      Jizn, kak krasivaya melodiya, tolko pesni pereputalis.
      Aç köz arstan
      Bul ukmuştuuday ısık kün bolçu, jana arstan abdan açka bolgon.
      Uyunan çıgıp, tigi jer-jerdi izdedi. Al kiçinekey koyondu gana taba algan. Al bir az oylonboy koyondu karmadı. ''Bul koyon menin kursagımdı toyguza albayt'' dep oylodu arstan.
      Arstan koyondu öltüröyün dep jatkanda, bir kiyik tigi tarapka çurkadı. Arstan aç köz bolup kaldı. Kiçine koyondu emes, çoŋ kiyikti jegen jakşı dep oylodu.#垃圾
      Son unos de los mejores conciertos , no puede ir pero de tan solo verlos desde pantalla, se que estuvo sorprendente
      :yt::ytg::yt::ytg::yt:

    • tabularasa
      tabularasa 4 months ago +13

      Much like Cristine's other recent video about luxury brands! I like that she is diving into the economic implications of these products. Shining a light on it and offering social commentary is needed and necessary. I imagine it's probably creatively satisfying for her, too. Her perspective as a producer of polish, being intimately aware of the details of what it takes to make a truly good product, makes her views here valuable. I'm not even much of a nail polish person, but I have great respect for Cristine.

    • Dizzy
      Dizzy 4 months ago +2

      i honestly dont like the idea but i love florence by mills and the message

    • parry otter
      parry otter 4 months ago +46

      Are you really surprised? Cristine has always been nuanced and intellectual.

  • Mia - Sᴇx Cʜᴀɴɴᴇʟ 18+🅥

    i stan harry and when he came out with pleasing, i was really mad about the prices and overall everything. i can totally not afford it and i even said i can buy these exact shades for way cheaper in my nearest drugstore but i guess people don't like hearing the truth so i instead got cancelled (on twitter like actually not even kidding)

  • Mia - Sᴇx Cʜᴀɴɴᴇʟ 18+🅥

    i stan harry and when he came out with pleasing, i was really mad about the prices and overall everything. i can totally not afford it and i even said i can buy these exact shades for way cheaper in my nearest drugstore but i guess people don't like hearing the truth so i instead got cancelled (on twitter like actually not even kidding)

  • blimp
    blimp 4 months ago +1

    i love how you called us STYLERS 😂

  • Blayze Plays
    Blayze Plays 4 months ago

    Hilarious and brutally honest. Love it!!! Lol