The Manliest Laptop Ever - Dell Rugged Extreme Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 22, 2019
  • Get your first audiobook and 2 Audible Originals free when you try Audible for 30 days. Visit www.audible.com/linus or text linus to 500500
    Save 10% at Ridge Wallets by using offer code LINUS at www.ridgewallet.com/LTT
    The Dell Rugged Extreme is basically indestructible, but why would anyone need that?
    Buy : The Dell Rugged Extreme
    On Amazon: geni.us/EITkq
    On Newegg: geni.us/Zhe5jc
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1066097-the-manliest-laptop-ever-%E2%80%93-dell-rugged-extreme-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: thexvid.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High thexvid.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 3 796

  • Linus Tech Tips
    Linus Tech Tips  Month ago +226

    Get your first audiobook and 2 Audible Originals free when you try Audible for 30 days. Visit www.audible.com/linus or text linus to 500500

    Save 10% at Ridge Wallets by using offer code LINUS at www.ridgewallet.com/LTT

    • warlock040269
      warlock040269 Month ago

      Funny that dells calls it rugged since Toughbook has been calling their laptop that for many years. I believe I first saw it call rugged over 12 years ago. By the way their 14" toughbook 54 lite is only 1500

    • Paul Piatt
      Paul Piatt Month ago

      Linus Tech Tips got a ridge wallet. And I love it.

    • Nathan Millsap
      Nathan Millsap Month ago

      thexvid.com/video/JvltzwkUEEA/video.html
      nice reference, Love those guys

    • Hari Molla
      Hari Molla Month ago

      @Max Painnope

    • 你喜欢囧菌么
      你喜欢囧菌么 Month ago

      虽然听不懂但我觉得很棒

  • pleappleappleap
    pleappleappleap Day ago

    **cough*ToughBook*cough**

  • nick bould
    nick bould 2 days ago

    perfect for loading tech tools on it for field service mechanics.

  • THE ONE
    THE ONE 5 days ago

    This laptop was made for Lara Croft...duuuh

  • Alex Carrillo
    Alex Carrillo 5 days ago

    And why would you THROW your baby to the Ground? This is a toy tech geek toy that hangs around at Coffee Bars, Oh I'm a Lumberjack and I work all day with my Dell and Throw it away, I cut down trees, and skip and jump, date a Beaver too. Com on people Do You really THINK your really Fucking Stupid to throw this Dell at a Beaver Dam? Yea? Yea if you Smoke a Pound of WEED! And drink a Six pack of Coors-yech! (You know that Bears Pee, and Shit on that lake that Coors is made right?)Then suprised you gave A Gift Card from Target to your lady which is really a real Beaver because your so stoke from the weed you smoke.

  • Mike Dg
    Mike Dg 6 days ago

    Is this the nerd equivalent of a lifted pickup truck?

  • Dhananjayan senthikumar

    Hey I want gta 5 original version please how to install Grand Theft Auto 5 please make this video

  • BIG BOSS
    BIG BOSS 7 days ago

    its the bees knees fellas

  • justin zhao
    justin zhao 7 days ago +1

    I don't dream to own this laptop, I dream to have a job where I need to own this laptop

  • Gerry Hernandez
    Gerry Hernandez 7 days ago

    Thiccomputer

  • Rex rex
    Rex rex 7 days ago

    Omg nice intro

  • Xavier Montgomery Britt

    T H I C C

  • Bluetongue
    Bluetongue 10 days ago

    2k for the laptop, 3k for the hazardous areas certification...

  • Stavros K
    Stavros K 11 days ago

    Why does David act like a tool in all the videos??

  • ustio
    ustio 11 days ago

    "Predator missile ready for launch"

  • JonnyInfinite
    JonnyInfinite 11 days ago

    But, is it better than the Panasonic Toughbook?

  • Scott Hidlebaugh
    Scott Hidlebaugh 13 days ago

    Panasonic Toughbooks are the standard that all rugged laptops are held to. All of the features that Dell has on this laptop were on Toughbooks years ago. It would be interesting to do a comparison of the CF-31 and this laptop to see who makes the better machine.

  • Boss Jinn
    Boss Jinn 13 days ago

    Who the is that guy

  • Wafi Ghani
    Wafi Ghani 13 days ago

    Please review also the Toughbook LTT.

  • hkistreet
    hkistreet 14 days ago

    He gave it a solid eh

  • Arco Mxxnxn
    Arco Mxxnxn 14 days ago +1

    tim cook, that's how I want laptop from apple

  • Mihnea Lazăr
    Mihnea Lazăr 16 days ago +1

    I’ve seen this laptop in Mission Impossible Fallout, in the beginning scene where they get the phone from Dr. Delbruk. I thought it’s fake, or a special model, but it looks like it’s real. Cool either way.

  • Zes Jerome
    Zes Jerome 18 days ago

    no such thing asmanx or not about it, squarex etc doens't matter, cepix, any be infixn any manlyx nmw

  • elktaro
    elktaro 18 days ago

    I want this

  • Wai logobank Ben
    Wai logobank Ben 18 days ago

    It should inside server rack.

  • TigerChuu
    TigerChuu 18 days ago

    Watching videos about indestructible laptops...
    Just sits at home all day.

  • Saanvi Sharma
    Saanvi Sharma 18 days ago

    I'd prefer prefer Panasonic CF-33 than Dell. Cuz, we can use it as tablet or laptop!!!!

  • justkidding
    justkidding 19 days ago +3

    Missed chance to fully remake darude sandstorm

  • Cristian Valdes
    Cristian Valdes 19 days ago

    Is this the best pc ever

  • Baggy Trousers
    Baggy Trousers 19 days ago

    *EXTRA THICK!*

  • blackjackcountry
    blackjackcountry 19 days ago

    nice work thad was a pro advertisement

  • Mike Hawk
    Mike Hawk 20 days ago

    It has the G I R T H

  • Rolfathan
    Rolfathan 20 days ago

    It's thick, but I feel like most people carry a gaming laptop in a thick enough bag that it's probably about the same. So if you look at it as "the bag is built in" the thickness is rather justified.

  • froopy070
    froopy070 20 days ago

    this laptop mad THICK dawg

  • Joe Diamond
    Joe Diamond 21 day ago

    I work in a factory and these are the laptops that we use. Despite how strong these laptops are, they aren't invincible. Keys break off, LCD panels break, touch pads get all wonky...

  • Miss17 Black
    Miss17 Black 21 day ago

    When the guy in the thumbnail looks like Felix, I clicked real fast!!!!!!!

  • 4c1dr3fl3x
    4c1dr3fl3x 21 day ago

    The Military. Yes, we use Toughbooks, and the US Government buys us Dell shit. We live on 2 things: Coffee and Paperwork.
    And that digital paperwork has to go in the back of an armored vehicle that's about to bounce around the training areas of Fort Irwin, California. Otherwise known as Death Valley.

  • MrToilet
    MrToilet 21 day ago

    1:40 - 1:50
    T H I C C

  • joebear80
    joebear80 21 day ago

    Thicc! Alex is good at narrating!

  • Garry Superales
    Garry Superales 21 day ago

    I need Linus near that laptop so i can scale the size. Lol.

  • Marc Fuchs
    Marc Fuchs 22 days ago

    I hate it, that people are usually hating on resistive touch displays. While I'm not saying, that smartphones should use those, the often used argument, that those are bad and have awful precision is just bullshit. Take the WiiU gamepad display as an example. Definately resistive, but you could easily draw pixel perfect on this thing. Far better than most smartphone screens, and I can tell as an experienced artist (though I have also successfully drawn pictures on a Samsung Galaxy Note 4).
    Anyway, it's pretty obvious, this laptop isn't meant for the average user. And even though I like to take my gear out into the woods, it's not even for me. It's for heavy duty jobs for people, who do heavy duty jobs. If you took this beast to your friends, first they would be amazed, but then they would laugh at you. It's like if a soccer mom, whose trips are basically to school and back and to the store and back would get a 4x4 lifted pickup truck with a lifted, water proofed exhaust system.

  • Dran5
    Dran5 22 days ago

    Coyote Peterson needs this for brave wilderness shooting lel XD

  • nexxusty
    nexxusty 22 days ago

    The same exact people Panasonics CF series was for.
    I know you need to appeal to tha masses, who are incredibly dumb.... however come on....

  • CovertCoder01
    CovertCoder01 22 days ago

    0:33 BRAH

  • MiguelPpM
    MiguelPpM 22 days ago

    Cool.

  • Pontus Ferm
    Pontus Ferm 22 days ago

    Love the Mantage reference.

  • Amplufyed
    Amplufyed 23 days ago

    The intro reminded me of a certain Barats and Bereta skit.

  • Adrian R
    Adrian R 23 days ago +1

    "If you're a scientist or such crap." That line had me laughing out loud. LOL.

  • Sanan
    Sanan 23 days ago

    *THICC*

  • grah55
    grah55 23 days ago +1

    So a review that would be perfect for Linus. He can drop it as much as he wants without worry.

  • Ayush Bakshi
    Ayush Bakshi 24 days ago

    I want one but with best possible specs.. Even though I don't have money to buy sandals. :\

  • Neptria
    Neptria 24 days ago

    when will we get a man-sized laptop

  • human
    human 24 days ago

    I wanted it to be my next laptop until he said $4500 😱

  • Jia Kang
    Jia Kang 24 days ago

    Meanwhile my Dell G7 7588 has no RGB keyboard lol

  • speedracer123222
    speedracer123222 25 days ago

    So does this mean I can sky dive with this and drop it and it survives?


    Jk I don’t do extreme activities

  • Vs. MLG
    Vs. MLG 25 days ago

    nobody really cares about the thumbnail?

  • randall smith
    randall smith 25 days ago +1

    They finally get a product that Linus can't drop without worry. Linus not in the vid. wtf

  • Afro Bob
    Afro Bob 25 days ago

    Since the fan is in a separate chamber, and probably waterproof for the IP rating, can you submerge is just a bit to get watercooling?

  • Jon Wit
    Jon Wit 25 days ago

    RGB keyboard what a weird feature to include in an ultra touch laptop.

  • Robert Clark
    Robert Clark 26 days ago

    Sounds like the perfect laptop for me :)

  • Rockman
    Rockman 26 days ago

    Dude, let others review this, maybe linux or rikey, you looks like youre in pain.

  • Anirudh Ashok
    Anirudh Ashok 27 days ago +1

    You lowkey look like PewDiePie in the thumbnail

  • RockstarBruski
    RockstarBruski 27 days ago

    Love the intro on review! Such a cool laptop! Glad they're still making these ruggid beasts!

  • Techivax
    Techivax 27 days ago

    i thought it was finally a Video whithout Linus, but *then"...

  • eF Ka
    eF Ka 27 days ago

    Wow. This makes my Toughbook look like a skinny teenage geek. Nice. Great for technicians who have to work outdoors or in very humid or dusty indoor conditions. And it has an RGB keyboard!

  • Valnar Darnus
    Valnar Darnus 27 days ago

    In germany I only can buy a four year old two device in new or used ones with the same age. Is there a new one with updated hardware planned to come even to germany or only to the us?

  • أحمد حميدان
    أحمد حميدان 28 days ago

    that looks like an engineer's design that he sneaked past the fashion department

  • Sparki Thepony
    Sparki Thepony 28 days ago

    I've worked on a lot of these. The handle is absolutely garbage. The Highway Patrol break theirs all the time. Otherwise it's a solid laptop.

  • Makaveli -
    Makaveli - 28 days ago

    holly shit it has an rx 540

  • X Razorsz X
    X Razorsz X 28 days ago

    Dell Rugged Extreme: Im Thicc as fuuuuck!
    1990s laptops: Am i a joke to you?

  • Kryštof Dzoba
    Kryštof Dzoba 28 days ago

    I have to confess I have a man-crush on Alex

  • jekanyika
    jekanyika 28 days ago +1

    I'm glad they called it soil rather than dirt.

  • Israel Lai
    Israel Lai 28 days ago

    can we talk about that human organ tho

  • AtmasOne
    AtmasOne 28 days ago

    thexvid.com/video/IhCjScSagpM/video.html buy it if you're a scientist OR SOME CRAP. lol

  • Javi G.
    Javi G. 29 days ago

    Indiana Jone's laptop

  • ISM
    ISM 29 days ago

    is Alex single?

  • Demonslayer20111
    Demonslayer20111 29 days ago

    our t.o. manuals were on these in the airforce. well the panasonic ones but same idea

  • Tikay
    Tikay 29 days ago

    These are liked in quite a few different industries.
    Love mine in any case, but is an older version.

  • Rory Morris
    Rory Morris 29 days ago

    Its like three time thicker than a thick laptop lol

  • SimpleGamingF2P
    SimpleGamingF2P 29 days ago

    military will use it

  • tonnentonie
    tonnentonie 29 days ago

    Ohh so you found out that the military has its own rigs? That took you sometime

  • 宋欣睿
    宋欣睿 29 days ago

    真,健身器材(习武之人必备)must have for a man who can fight

  • Howard Zhao
    Howard Zhao Month ago +1

    bruh why tf does this thing have a RGB keyboard?!

  • Rory Savage
    Rory Savage Month ago

    Hotel room keys, and spent gift cars? Hmm... LOL.

  • Abby Normal
    Abby Normal Month ago

    This is for EMS, we break our laptops/tablets all the time.

  • Scripture Examined
    Scripture Examined Month ago

    But can it djent?

  • michael newell
    michael newell Month ago

    These are primarily marketed towards police and military big way you can tell is the smart card reader

  • Zaldhy Darwin
    Zaldhy Darwin Month ago

    Woah this is perfect for me :) as a forest patrol rescue unit who spend 24/7 in the wild it would be realy useful to have a rugged portable machine.

    just kiding i live in my mom basement.

  • Evgeniy Pizza
    Evgeniy Pizza Month ago

    Why is he talking with closed mouth

  • Charles Farrant
    Charles Farrant Month ago

    THIS IS LITERALLY PERFECT FOR TAKING CAMPING :)))))))

  • Cody
    Cody Month ago

    I promise you, give this to some soldiers and it will get beat up more than you could ever imagine.

  • Reality
    Reality Month ago

    Why are there hammers?

  • pward17
    pward17 Month ago

    Hi I'm the 4 hour response personnel. :)

  • Mike Soda
    Mike Soda Month ago

    All tech inept parents need this laptop.

  • Mickel Ntek
    Mickel Ntek Month ago

    spies and black ops people will love this thing.

  • Roger Barachita
    Roger Barachita Month ago

    looks like you could launch nukes with that

  • Collin Black
    Collin Black Month ago

    PLEASE stop using that shaggy haired douchebag in videos. Alex is fine, but his douche level is a .1, whereas that guy is an alarming 12 on a scale of 1-10.

  • FordPower5288
    FordPower5288 Month ago

    "Who is this beast actually for?"
    I can answer that. My shop for "Big engines manufacturer Inc. uses these throughout the shop. Considering we are working with thousands of pounds of 30-78L Diesel engines. It helps. Also, throw in the fact that many of the people I work with are either completely tech illiterate or don't seem to understand that electronics can be a little weak.

  • JoyTheGeek
    JoyTheGeek Month ago

    I had a Dell rugged at one point as a kid
    It was p legit

  • Goalatio
    Goalatio Month ago

    We use these in my job in the military, they still get broken lol. Specifically the tabs for the ports on the back/sides, and we had problems with screws working their way out and ended up removing a bunch of them with the entire rear frame and putting glue over the essential ones.