LG Gram 17 Review: Too Light To Be True

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 13, 2019
  • Sponsored by Surfshark VPN. Get Surfshark VPN at surfshark.com/r/mrmobile - enter promo code MRMOBILE for 83% off and 1 FREE month!

    [LG GRAM 17 REVIEW]
    The last time I used a 17-inch laptop in real life, it was the HP zd8000, a genuine monster I bought when I was still in college. Together with its power adapter and suitcase-sized carrying satchel, the zd8000 weighed a spine-bending twelve pounds when slung across my torso. The LG gram 17's net weight? A featherweight 2.95 pounds - light enough that everyone I've allowed to hold it has responded with the same incredulous reaction: "Noooo." That makes the LG gram 17 one of the lightest laptops of 2019 ... even though it's also one of the largest!
    But how much is too much to pay for the privilege of carrying such a delightful contradiction? Join me for MrMobile's LG gram 17 Review to find out!

    [SUBSCRIBE TO MRMOBILE]
    thexvid.com/channel/UCSOpcUkE-is7u7c4AkLgqTw

    [ABOUT MRMOBILE'S LG GRAM 17 REVIEW]
    MrMobile's LG gram 17 Review was produced following two weeks with an LG gram 17 review device provided by LG. The device was shipped after retail availability and at presstime was running the latest Windows 10 software.

    [LINKS]
    LG gram 17 [Amazon]:
    mrmobile.tech/52b
    LG gram 17 [LG]:
    bit.ly/2KjSpMc
    LG gram 17 Review [Windows Central]:
    www.windowscentral.com/lg-gram-17

    [MUSIC]
    “Avatars” by Yan Perchuk, available at Premium Beat:
    www.premiumbeat.com/royalty-free-tracks/avatars
    “Escapade” by Vincent Tone, available at Premium Beat:
    www.premiumbeat.com/royalty-free-tracks/escapade

    [SOCIALIZE]
    facebook.com/themrmobile
    instagram.com/themrmobile
    twitter.com/themrmobile
    mrmobile.tech

    [DISCLOSURE]
    This post may contain affiliate links. See Mobile Nations' disclosure policy for more details: www.mobilenations.com/external-links
    #lggram17 #lggram #gram #laptops #windows10 #pc #tech
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 370

  • Natan Facchin
    Natan Facchin 7 days ago

    Great video and review, as usual. But this laptop seems pointless or very niche at best. Expensive, bad graphics (even though is huge), old charger, bad speakers... Unless you really want 17" laptop, which I guess very few people do. The way I see it: save some money and get a 13/15 better laptop instead, there's a lot of good ones.

  • ជៀម ចាន់ណារី_ Chiem ChanNaRy

    can cut video in 4K right?

  • David M
    David M 10 days ago

    On some level your review feels like a wasted opportunity ;)

  • Filip Jovanovic
    Filip Jovanovic 17 days ago

    I love this thing. While I wish it had dedicated graphics, all the 17-inch laptops that do are way heavier and have abysmal battery life. I think my best option is to get this laptop plus a cloud gaming service like Shadow (eventually I'd build a custom gaming pc and use remote desktop when I'm away from it, but the laptop itself is expensive enough as is right now). That way I'd get the best of both worlds. Now I just need this thing to run well under Linux and life will be perfect lol

  • Roy Hartanto
    Roy Hartanto 20 days ago

    Just wondering if anyone else is having issue with Michael's video when casting, the volume/sound is very choppy specially the first 1min of the video. Dont have issues with other TheXvid vids, just finished watching a whole bunch of MKBHDs videos. Thanks

  • Thompter S. Hunson
    Thompter S. Hunson 25 days ago +2

    1700 of those green papers with dead presidents on them for an Intel graphics card, 16gb of RAM and an IPS screen? Y'all in LG must be trippin'!

  • Matt Reed
    Matt Reed 26 days ago

    Last 17 i had was the Mac book

  • Strikye B
    Strikye B 27 days ago

    you will better battery life with Opera (support chrome extensions) when battery saver is enable

  • Ace
    Ace 28 days ago

    Just a few things could have made this laptop nearly perfect for a lightweight mid-power laptop.
    The lack of dedicated GPU and lack of at least 3K if not 4K display. If you see the inside of this thing you can see they had lots of empty space for cooling and even a bigger battery. I would have no problem bumping the weight up to 3.5 pounds max.
    What would make this laptop nearly perfect is adding at least an MX250 GPU, 3k or 4k resolution, 17-inches is fine but maybe 16 inches like the new rumored MBP could be the sweet spot. And one last thing aside from changing that tacky looking chrome LG logo, would be to use one piece of glass that extends the entire length rather than just up to the inner bezel edge. Take a look at the Dell XPS and HP Spectre lines. The glass to edge looks very clean, modern and attractive.

  • Ace
    Ace 28 days ago

    So, links to everything but the bag. What is the name of the backpack?

    • Ace
      Ace 28 days ago

      NL0Gwenster 👍 Thanks!

    • NL0Gwenster
      NL0Gwenster 28 days ago +1

      Peak design everyday backpack, 30l version.

  • Dzlyesful
    Dzlyesful 28 days ago

    Tchernobyl....

  • ingusmant
    ingusmant 29 days ago

    GOT A PROBLEM WITH CHONKERS?

  • Buffdaddy
    Buffdaddy 29 days ago

    We're getting it for my wife this Fall. Thank you!

  • Robert Cooper
    Robert Cooper 29 days ago

    Why??? This laptop is pointless

  • Dip Dey
    Dip Dey 29 days ago

    review vivo v15

  • ami noyon
    ami noyon Month ago

    #mrmobile show a review of #dell (nose that show looking at) which u said in the video.

  • Osamah Shaker
    Osamah Shaker Month ago

    I think a video about something like best 5-10 last year's flagship phones or comparing them with current flagships since they've gone down in price would be a great

  • Paweł Fotek
    Paweł Fotek Month ago

    I think that when this get's a 10th gen i7 chip with decent on board graphics that these chips offer then this would be the time to get one, like you said 17 inches and not a true performer is meh. They could've put mx 150 i there at least.

  • Blc ME
    Blc ME Month ago

    Wasted opportunity surely

  • Steven Hambleton
    Steven Hambleton Month ago

    Why didn't LG use a few chassis struts to stop that top deck from flexing so much!
    Also we don't need a num pad, just give us a centred backlit keyboard with a larger trackpad.
    I hope they switch to Ice Lake for v2!

  • E-Ma
    E-Ma Month ago

    I mean with thunderbolt 3, I'm fine with not having that GPU. Just hook it up at home

  • H_opexx
    H_opexx Month ago +8

    Hey dude, this guy has been stealing your thumbnails, like this comment so MrMobile can see
    thexvid.com/user/xianglin0222

    • CodeOnce
      CodeOnce 25 days ago

      How is that stealing you jelous fuck hes still making it on his own and its a diff colour aswell maybe inspirate but its not stealing

  • Gimin Oyye
    Gimin Oyye Month ago +6

    $1699.99 without dedicated GPU? Thanks, looking cheapest option with built-in *windows movie maker* for youtube video 😜🤣😂😁😜

    • Jay G
      Jay G 29 days ago

      At that price just get the cheapest Mac. I don't like apple but i have to admit their video processing and editing software is better

  • pspslimicesilver
    pspslimicesilver Month ago

    I still use a 2009 17" MacBook Pro the main reason I still use it because of the 17" display

  • Mark Silla
    Mark Silla Month ago

    When my backpack feels too light I assume I've been robbed

  • mena seven
    mena seven Month ago

    Beautiful light laptop with a lot of port. In the age of the cell phone laptops suppose to be light. The only bad thing the price is to high.

  • Kwan Seung Lee
    Kwan Seung Lee Month ago

    It is an atrractive laptop if it is on sale for less than maybe $1,200?

  • Robert Paszka
    Robert Paszka Month ago

    Are you going to review the xperia 1? c:

  • Blind
    Blind Month ago +7

    imagine LG makes a gaming laptop and names it 'VRAM' LOL



    I accept paypal LG ;)

  • wolfranger
    wolfranger Month ago

    I have no interest in using laptops anymore (my Pixelbook doesn't count)
    but I still enjoyed this review.
    Your great videos keep me up to speed and aware of tech I don't normally see.

  • Anindya Ghosh
    Anindya Ghosh Month ago +1

    @1:19 song name?

  • Jimmy Jenns
    Jimmy Jenns Month ago

    I wait for next year model, maybe they will add better speakers and hdr to the display. Excellent laptop though but expensive

  • IntelHDGaming
    IntelHDGaming Month ago

    WOW EVEN DOOM LOOKS GORGEOUS IN THAT SCREEN.

  • LA Clippers
    LA Clippers Month ago +2

    That wallpaper is beautiful. 🖖

  • Yousef Orgari
    Yousef Orgari Month ago

    lil apple watch at 1:35

  • Ashraf Shaikh
    Ashraf Shaikh Month ago

    4:33 That smile at the "private data" 🤣

  • Matt Hargraves
    Matt Hargraves Month ago

    This is everything wrong with most 17" monitors in one laptop. But hey, they made it light, right?
    Crappy video card
    Bad sound
    1080p instead of 4k on a 15".... seriously, there's a mountain of 4k 15" screens, but almost none at 17"?!?! Don't they understand how that works?
    There's about zero laptops that are what I want.
    Moderately light (I'd be happy with 5 pounds)
    Dedicated graphics card (2060 is fine - don't need 2080)
    4k screen (touch would be great)
    2x 1TB SSD in RAID 0 (why are people still putting 1.8" drives in laptops?)
    32GB RAM (my normal computing eats 24GB pretty regularly)
    Decent CPU

    Interestingly, I can almost exactly match this on a 15" monitor, but I don't like losing my numpad (which I do use) or the physical real estate that a 17" monitor gives me.

  • 5 T 5
    5 T 5 Month ago

    Closed the video just after knowing its price.

  • Kevin Anderson
    Kevin Anderson Month ago +1

    0:56 Chernobyl -2019

  • Abhisek Singh
    Abhisek Singh Month ago

    Do a video on Redmi K20 pro

  • SNK Corp.
    SNK Corp. Month ago +1

    your sound sample compared to the macbook pro is a very good idea. Never seen this on another channel. Keep going.

  • Prakash gupta
    Prakash gupta Month ago

    glad I found your own channel !! was looking for you on pocketnow!

  • Timothy McSwain
    Timothy McSwain Month ago

    This video made me very excited. I don’t need another laptop (I have a 2018 MacBook Pro and iPad Pro) but I’ve been interested in buying a cheap, non-powerhouse Windows PC for the few tasks my work has that need it (90% of which is Microsoft Publisher, and the other 10% is all because my work uses exclusively Windows 10 so I do more file conversions than I’d like in order to do things like using Pages and avoiding Word) and I just so happen to really like LG. Oh well... the search continues. Lenovo is probably going to end up getting that money if I spend any at all.

  • Eddy Alvaross
    Eddy Alvaross Month ago

    Not worth its price. I can't believe it doesn't have a GTX gpu with max-Q design...

  • Gen Zyannd
    Gen Zyannd Month ago

    what back pack is Mr. Mobile carrying?

  • Rusu Florin
    Rusu Florin Month ago

    Pounds? Kilograms??? Not only Americans watch these videos!

  • 999CATZ
    999CATZ Month ago

    AT LEAST IT HAS THUNDERBOLT AS STANDARD OMFG Why couldn't premium laptop brands include this as standard

  • mrk107
    mrk107 Month ago

    But with a heavy price!

  • Nathan L
    Nathan L Month ago

    Wish you lead with the price, to damn expensive!

  • kobby brown
    kobby brown Month ago

    Mr mobile. Which smart phone are you using in the video???

  • Paul Urmston
    Paul Urmston Month ago

    Couldn't agree more. I'm rocking the 15" and think it's right in the sweet spot. For a 17" I'd be looking for more graphics power for sure. Although I'm lucky if I get 4hrs work between charges.

  • Timmy P
    Timmy P Month ago

    I like a little weight to my devices. Not too much, but its adds a feeling of durability.

  • Joshua Agaba
    Joshua Agaba Month ago

    Anyone else miss those tunnel bear ads?

  • Rakesh Roy
    Rakesh Roy Month ago +1

    where do you get those awesome musics 0:34

  • MAZINGER Z
    MAZINGER Z Month ago

    LG makes the best laptops in the world.

  • Frank Hua
    Frank Hua Month ago

    so to be sure, it will fit my peak design backpack (20L) right?

  • Maverick Madison
    Maverick Madison Month ago

    any laptop above 1kg is not lightweight, they can't even fulfil their name "gram" to begin with, macbook weight less than 1kg, yeah we are not suppose to talk about size here, we are talking about "weight" because they named it as "gram" and they are pushing so hard to advertise it as lightweight as feather

  • OldPossum
    OldPossum Month ago

    Complaining that an ultra light laptop doesn't have a touch screen, discrete graphics and huge speakers. I don't think I'll give much weight to your reviews because you don't seem to understand trade-offs and the limitations of physics in designing hardware.

  • HE4DSH0T
    HE4DSH0T Month ago

    I never felt boring in mrmobile ad.

  • Mohammad Alsaihati
    Mohammad Alsaihati Month ago

    anki is baik

  • Tech Hints
    Tech Hints Month ago

    Your narration makes me CRAZY!!

  • Lubsoing2011
    Lubsoing2011 Month ago

    I forgot my laptop.
    YOU DIDN'T!!!!

  • Eddie Jones
    Eddie Jones Month ago

    I just come here listen to mikes voice. Also why isnt this man narrating audio books. Its a crying shame . lol

  • waquzy
    waquzy Month ago

    3:50 - That flex is horrible... and so are the speakers, I definitely would not spend $1700 for that tinny sound, awful laptop.

  • Mihir Chandna
    Mihir Chandna Month ago

    That's the reboot into darkness wallpaper
    TRAITOR
    URWL(U'L KNOW IF YOU KNOW KLIGON)

  • NYQWZN
    NYQWZN Month ago

    💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚

  • Manly Generation
    Manly Generation Month ago +1

    How much gRAM does it have?

    No one? OK bye

    • Glow Berth
      Glow Berth Month ago

      I do believe it's 16 gb but I'm not sure if there is more SKUs. The 17" gram I saw was at costco and that's how much that one had.

  • Rajitha Seneviratne

    The absolute best production quality, presentation and writing out there on youtube. You can't find a better review than Mr.Mobile's

  • Carlos Kim
    Carlos Kim Month ago

    tng!!!

  • James Fernihough
    James Fernihough Month ago

    Hey what's the backpack you're using?

  • HuntaKiller
    HuntaKiller Month ago

    Im gonna wait till the icelake rendition is inside this..need a beefier igpu to play some f2p games

  • psgrimm64
    psgrimm64 Month ago

    Great review. What would be helpful with your conclusion is what 17" laptop you WOULD recommend as a solid purchase, to give us a point of reference

  • AwesoMarron
    AwesoMarron Month ago

    5:49 this is the part where it all falls apart 😱

  • Gábor Szabó
    Gábor Szabó Month ago

    Yeah as a big-screen ultraportable it's neat and all, but you get so little for so much in my opinion.

    • gerentex43
      gerentex43 Month ago

      I know right, like no dedicated gpu and it's $1700? give me a break

  • Monkey D Luffy
    Monkey D Luffy Month ago

    Could MrMobile share his music playlist? I feel like we could benefit a lot from it.

  • Cryengine_X
    Cryengine_X Month ago

    how did you bring yourself to possibly like something that does have wireless charging? ya moron. After all we know in your phone reviews if the best phone in the world doesn't have wireless charging then it's obviously trash.

    Oh wait because it costs 1500 and you're an elitist snob, of course you like the laptop for wealthy people! Surprise!

  • Omar Salam
    Omar Salam Month ago +1

    Chernobyl 💔💔

  • Minioslaw Rybak
    Minioslaw Rybak Month ago

    I watch you even when not going to buy any gadgets soon , just to get enterteined . Are you English living in US ?

  • Purab Seth
    Purab Seth Month ago

    Beyond the competition!


    Some will understand :)

  • Anugrah Mathew Prasad

    I keep saying this but your articulation is so good!

  • Sean Vosler
    Sean Vosler Month ago +1

    give it a go with an external GPU since it has thunderbolt

    • larssmithsf
      larssmithsf Month ago

      Yeah, an egpu with any good card will shread a MX150/250. And you're not going to get a powerful laptop you without huge weight or heat problems. Sure, you can't game on the go without dedicated graphics, but that seems like a reasonable sacrifice since you avoid the weight of a low-end dedicated graphics cooler. Or haul the egpu 😁

  • Pawel Dziekonski
    Pawel Dziekonski Month ago

    two details missed in this review: 1/ 16:10 display, which is not only wide but also tall! 2/ centered touchpad - very handy and very unusual in big laptops.

  • hotgod
    hotgod Month ago

    LG is seeing you drop their review unit at the same time we do.

  • Fadi Abdi
    Fadi Abdi Month ago

    Love your videos MR. Mobile keep up the good work

  • Shashank Bhardwaj
    Shashank Bhardwaj Month ago

    Great videos as always, but pls also use metric units! Hate having to convert manually

  • Prashu Radha
    Prashu Radha Month ago

    Wallpaper link pls

  • will 1
    will 1 Month ago +1

    3:03 accoutre-what? XD

  • akrav1983
    akrav1983 Month ago +1

    You dont have to be stuck on Doom though. Some great strategy games such as Rome total war, Dawn of war 1 are playable with integrated graphics. Loved the review.

  • tom swan
    tom swan Month ago

    The lg gram has that feature, the bag is lighter with laptop in the bag than without laptop.
    When heavy wind u must carry a couple of stones in the backpack to not be blown away (or a thinkpad instead of the stones).

  • PixelSheep - Wissenschaft & Technik

    I love how you always mention other reviews - it just helps gettig a better overview and also has quite a community vibe to IT! 👍

  • Bobby Van Gilder
    Bobby Van Gilder Month ago

    If it could support 32GB of RAM and run Linux, this would be perfect.

  • The Investors Mind
    The Investors Mind Month ago

    Will it Bend in your back pocket if you sit on it?

  • Will Wunsche
    Will Wunsche Month ago

    Seems like the kind of laptop that if you got an external GPU and a an external speaker set-up would be killer for casual use for the niche of people who need it.

  • Empedance
    Empedance Month ago

    Sounds like a good machine to do a hackintosh with, and because it has thunderbolt 3, you do have the option of using an external GPU if you really need the horsepower to render a video or game

  • ucity metalhead
    ucity metalhead Month ago

    I am used to crap speakers but that flimsy design and lack of a graphics card combined with price is a no go for me.

  • Minh Nguyen
    Minh Nguyen Month ago

    Anyone who wants a 16:10 aspect ratio, this laptop is for you.

  • Vaibhav Chopra
    Vaibhav Chopra Month ago

    My potato has a better inbuilt speaker tho

  • sisir360 || TheLoneGun101

    Didn’t know you could drop test review units lol

  • Genrole June Caspe
    Genrole June Caspe Month ago

    Just a constructive criticism, I noticed that some of the text in the specs sheet at 5:56 are unreadable because of the Mr. Mobile Logo.
    Even so, great video as always! Cheers!

    • Danieloncarevic
      Danieloncarevic Month ago

      The logo does distract when reading the specs but it's definitely not unreadable.

  • Paul Matthew
    Paul Matthew Month ago

    check asus chrombook flip xd not even a pound and touchscreen... using it nowadays!