Samsung Galaxy S10E review: smaller, cheaper, better

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 13, 2019
  • The Samsung Galaxy S10E is the smaller variant of the S10 and S10 Plus released this month. It’s 5.8” screen spans edge-to-edge with a hole-punch camera that we’ve seen across this year’s Galaxy S10 lineup. Samsung claims the “e” stands for “essentials,” but there's a lot more to this phone than just that. In an era of giant phones getting larger, the S10E shows that smaller doesn’t have to mean worse.
    Read more here: bit.ly/2u4s2jp
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Listen to our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TheXvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 920

  • The Verge
    The Verge  3 months ago +250

    What phone size is perfect for you?

  • LeoBoss_Gameros YT

    I got galaxy j5 (2017) and it has 3000mah like its 2 yrs older model and has 3000mah so s10e has only 100 mah more but s10e is normally better much better than mine

  • Guillermo Ortiz
    Guillermo Ortiz 3 days ago

    Nah, the standard S10 is the 'goldilocks'. Small enough for one hand use and big enough for fantastic multimedia. The fact that it's 18.5/9 means that its compact enough.

  • phycadelic pikachu
    phycadelic pikachu 15 days ago

    Well now that i see they dont have "powersupply will short out" guy doing the review i might actually believe what is being said

  • Melissa Vásquez
    Melissa Vásquez 17 days ago +2

    So true about size. I want to hold the phone with one hand and love that it fits in my pocket. Most phones out there are too big, halfway to iPad.

  • harald søvik
    harald søvik 19 days ago

    She sounds drunk at 0.5x speed. Try it.

  • Jd Abellano
    Jd Abellano 20 days ago

    I like how you explain the s10e, you are natural!

  • Almost God
    Almost God 23 days ago

    In noway it's cheap

  • the_boon
    the_boon 25 days ago +3

    4:04 I have a BlackBerry KEYone and KEY2 LE and virtually no typos at all, for obvious reasons.
    But if you are gonna type on glass, I suggest SwiftKey

  • Drake 816
    Drake 816 27 days ago +3

    I got my S10e on April and do not regret it, comfortable, light, it is fast and have great memory. Love the fingerprint, Bixby function, the sound and cameras.

  • God
    God 27 days ago

    Thats because you have midget hands lol.

    • King E.
      King E. 27 days ago

      Stfu yo mother is a midget

  • ᴏᴜᴛsɪᴅᴇʀ
    ᴏᴜᴛsɪᴅᴇʀ 29 days ago

    i really really really want to buy this phone soooo bad 😣

  • MykeGaming H.
    MykeGaming H. Month ago

    My $400 asus max m2 pro has 5000mah

  • Jožino Škultéty
    Jožino Škultéty Month ago

    “Same Qualcomm processor“.
    Me: *Cries in Europe*

  • Marlin Tocariuc
    Marlin Tocariuc Month ago

    This one, i have it

  • Marlin Tocariuc
    Marlin Tocariuc Month ago

    Yes yes and yes

  • Tyler Barron
    Tyler Barron Month ago

    I'm left handed... Pixel 3 for me

  • joshua francis
    joshua francis Month ago +1

    5 inches and bellow is my definition of small and compact.

  • dragon in winter
    dragon in winter Month ago

    Real men need a one-handed phone so they can beat on their chest with the other.

  • Edwien Gusmantara
    Edwien Gusmantara Month ago

    I always love The Verge phone wallpaper

  • felson renz
    felson renz Month ago

    so true! small hands need small phones. thanks Samsung!!

  • Uchiha Madara
    Uchiha Madara Month ago

    *Best review ever!!!*
    The Samsung S10e is the best I've ever used

  • Fredrik Bengtsson
    Fredrik Bengtsson Month ago

    S10e

  • T C
    T C Month ago +1

    So far, I love this phone. I've had it for a few days. It's such an up grade from the J3. She is right about the price dropping. Verizon is having a buy one and get one free through Mother's Day if you add a fourth line.

  • Aahhh!!
    Aahhh!! Month ago

    Small is not always bad. Lol

  • lloyd A.
    lloyd A. Month ago

    Is there an edge lighting in this phone?
    I hope you answer.

  • fnersch
    fnersch Month ago +21

    My phone cost $800. In the year 1900 my great grandfather built a small hotel for $1100. How times have changed.

    • niter43
      niter43 Month ago +11

      Except that $1100 of 1900 are equal to 34.5k of 2019

    • Omar H
      Omar H Month ago +3

      inflaaaation. Yeah its crazy though

  • Platinum
    Platinum Month ago

    What's the wallpaper

  • B R
    B R Month ago

    Yes it is a nice phone. Smaller phone factor is very good. I installed awesome blackberry virtual keyboard and blackberry hub. It almost feels like my old blackberry z10. Yes it is a very good phone from all screen phones.

  • 9,999damage
    9,999damage Month ago

    I'm using the s10e atm but I'm not sure I'm on board with it. the way fullscreen works on YT, you have to pinch and zoom to get truly fullscreen, which cuts out a noticeable amount of the display. Also, bluelight filters don't make up for this so the edge of the screen is not protected and you can see the bluelight bleeding out, which also makes viewing slightly uncomfortable. In addition, the phone gets hot pretty easily/battery has no problem depleting quickly..

    • 9,999damage
      9,999damage Month ago

      @K you could get all day battery if you're not a heavy user

    • K
      K Month ago

      I thought Samsung advertised all day battery life, what went wrong

  • Sung Yoon
    Sung Yoon Month ago

    I got mine for $500 w/ $200 trade-in (10 yr old LG) & student discount. And I got DeX cable for $22 + wireless charger for $15. $587 for all with tax. DeX got rid of my notebook need (use only for presentation anyway) & will not go back to wired charging again. Excellent bargain. And can't think of a better phone for me & I totally agree with you. Oh, remapped Bixby button with adb & ButtonMapper App. Terminus & LinuxOnDeX = Close to perfection as I can imagine. Bye iPhone.

  • Nathan McMahon
    Nathan McMahon Month ago

    My work bought this phone. I actually think this is one of the best phones, ever. Snappy, vibrant, simple and without gimmicks. Be cautious of what phone case you get. The one on ours makes it VERY tricky to get the fingerprint sensor to work.

  • pinkfreud62
    pinkfreud62 Month ago

    I don't like big phones. I had an iPhone 4 and I thought that was a good size for my pocket. I have a 7s Edge and that's plenty big for me. I already have a laptop and I don't need one in my pocket.

  • David Geld
    David Geld Month ago

    Watching on a s10e :) it's a really awesome phone, got it for 550$

  • constantin58
    constantin58 Month ago

    I wish Samsung made a no selfie, edged S10e version.

  • Simanta Dutta
    Simanta Dutta Month ago

    She's so homely chill ... One of the best review

  • Creative Inc
    Creative Inc 2 months ago

    Well can you explain the tab s5e

  • Mr Marcus
    Mr Marcus 2 months ago

    I think it's a badass phone I bought the S9 Galaxy last year because of the size and I want this phone because of the size also I'm always sticking it in and out of my pocket constantly and I used to have an S7 Galaxy before the last night so 5.8 it's not that small to me, I found a phone for $600 on eBay, international model I'm probably going to wait another two months to get it for 550 bucks because right now I'm still enjoying my S9 Galaxy since I just got that one URI update how about 2 months ago sincerely mr. Marcus

  • Juvani Aaron
    Juvani Aaron 2 months ago

    I really enjoyed this review and I'm glad all other comments reflect this as well. Please get her to do more reviews, they're really good for those that want a real review without going to much into the specs of the phone

  • Dev Kumar
    Dev Kumar 2 months ago

    She is only worried for her one hand use. A phone is more than that madam.

  • Gin Tomino
    Gin Tomino 2 months ago

    I like her review!!!

  • E bon
    E bon 2 months ago

    I’ve only meet one person that has a pixel. One over hyped junk.

  • Wasib Tk
    Wasib Tk 2 months ago +5

    Wow!! Seriously amazing review. Comparing Android to Android! Well done, Verge!

  • Nik
    Nik 2 months ago

    you are so sweet and knowledge

  • SooMuchMore
    SooMuchMore 2 months ago

    Finally, someone else with small hands reviewing phones!

  • Daniel Bemis
    Daniel Bemis 2 months ago

    its already showing up on swappa for 580 to 650 for mint or new.

  • Justin Moyer
    Justin Moyer 2 months ago

    Thanks for addressing the gigantic smartphone problem. I am considering the S10e and the smaller Pixel 3 after being sick of my old large Moto Z.

  • zebble ganubi
    zebble ganubi 2 months ago

    its great to hear a tech channel pointing out that phone manufacturers don't need to make huge phones. I get the feeling that tech reviewers played a big part in this trend in the first place

  • D. Brandtair
    D. Brandtair 2 months ago

    Yes make the small form factor come back

  • mirisker ganesh
    mirisker ganesh 2 months ago

    also saves money to buy Samsung galaxy earpods as well as wire less charger too

  • NewFlamenco
    NewFlamenco 2 months ago

    I guess the Verge does not know Sony makes flagship level compact phones.

    • NewFlamenco
      NewFlamenco 2 months ago

      @zebble ganubi Indeed, but that phone is still a bit large for one handed use. Imagine if apple put out an all screen iphone se2 though? Or Samsung brought back the mini series, with an all screen display and flagship specs? But in general, I was commenting more on how when I tell people I own a sony phone in general the response is "What? Sony makes phones? weird." ...Doubly sad if techreviewers don't know.

    • zebble ganubi
      zebble ganubi 2 months ago

      I read some comments from someone at sony that they might be dropping the compact line. hopefully they will change their mind when they see how much phones like the s10e sell

  • Johann Pascual
    Johann Pascual 2 months ago

    Use Ungrip on that phone!

  • GrumpSession
    GrumpSession 2 months ago

    1:49 - s10 is already starting to lag. lul not a surprise

  • 만들기선진국
    만들기선진국 2 months ago

    Pixel 3 - good photos but horrible in terms of video and audio

  • Bluelight5587
    Bluelight5587 2 months ago

    $750 is a much better price then the $1125 it costs here in Canada

  • Lashan
    Lashan 2 months ago +5

    Everyone keeps talking about how the Pixel has the best camera and while that might be true for photos, the Galaxy phones have way better performance for video, super crisp and the audio on them is incredible even during loud concerts. Needs to be mentioned more

  • Seung Choe
    Seung Choe 2 months ago

    I concur. A smarter price point may be better if I want to invest into a SamSung ecosystem, which could still be better fleshed out imo.
    Things like reverse wireless charging on a SmartWatch to function as an emergency battery source. Or better integration of (a better) Bixby with smart home appliances or my car would be amazin.

  • 危ないかわいい
    危ないかわいい 2 months ago

    Fingerprint in power button.... hell nah chief

  • jubitolik
    jubitolik 2 months ago

    That is medium size phone. Samsung a3 is small phone and it could fit at least 5.2 inches.

  • 2. 9
    2. 9 2 months ago

    I still cant afford it 😂

  • jazmyn wilkins
    jazmyn wilkins 2 months ago

    if i had this in school they would YEET it and run off with it

  • Lucas Fernando Rodrigues

    Funny... I have The 2gn iPod Touch And O remember thinking that It was HUUUUUGE. Now look what we think as Small

  • Anonymous Person
    Anonymous Person 3 months ago

    YES POWER BUTTON WITH FINGERPRINTTTTTTTT

  • Bryan U
    Bryan U 3 months ago +4

    This is how you make an unbiased proper review. Unlike the S10+ review.

  • Victor Farah
    Victor Farah 3 months ago

    What about the music? Have hou tried to play hi res music on it? Is it good or even comparable to LG's quad dac?

  • Slavick Alexeeff
    Slavick Alexeeff 3 months ago

    S10

  • samuel rodriguez
    samuel rodriguez 3 months ago

    Don't know if I want to go from a Pixel to a Galaxy S10e...

  • Mark Reden Barcenas
    Mark Reden Barcenas 3 months ago

    watching from my s10e

  • moviemuncher1982
    moviemuncher1982 3 months ago +1

    The verge follow the trends.. since there is so much hate against iphone and their prices (which there SHOULD be) they now compare to the Pixel instead of the iphone. I saw you sidestepping that landmine, Verge 🤣😉

  • Luca Dario Bützberger
    Luca Dario Bützberger 3 months ago

    I always hate it when the fingerprint scanner is in the power button on the left.
    I am right handed but god damn it seems like I am the only one on this planet that holds the phone with the left hand. Why do people hold it with the right hand when thy are right handed? Isn't the strong hand supposed to hold and do the important things? I always hold my phone with my weak hand because the weak hand is still good enough to completely use the phone. WIth the right hand I do all the other stuff like writing, working, cooking or whatever. Just things you can only do good with your main hand. I hate this inefficient behaviour.

  • Carl Haupt
    Carl Haupt 3 months ago

    Gonna buy this when my Note 4 dies.

  • Patrick Clark Jr
    Patrick Clark Jr 3 months ago +1

    Great video and review, very honest and refreshing

  • Yeezy westy
    Yeezy westy 3 months ago

    Whoah you don't swipe type... gnarlz

  • Brent Hill
    Brent Hill 3 months ago

    5.8 inches may be smaller, but it's not small.

  • LFC markeb
    LFC markeb 3 months ago

    took the middle Lane and purchased the S10 prism white.😉

  • Heinrich-Joseph Speer
    Heinrich-Joseph Speer 3 months ago

    Get used to use ur right hand Lefties. Fckng weirdos :)

  • David Tonsing
    David Tonsing 3 months ago +1

    Time to buy a new Galaxy S8

  • WILL -I-AMZ
    WILL -I-AMZ 3 months ago +2

    You hear that gurls, smaller doesn't mean worst 😏😏😏

  • Wahid Khan
    Wahid Khan 3 months ago +1

    Excellent review... As like you, I'm a compact phone lover. So, you've already figured out that S10e is my favourite...💗

  • Leigh Rich
    Leigh Rich 3 months ago

    HOT presenter!!

  • Christian Mendoza
    Christian Mendoza 3 months ago

    The Edge Lighting is kinda buggy for me. Am I alone?

  • Jari Fuller
    Jari Fuller 3 months ago

    great review

  • Griz Ssi
    Griz Ssi 3 months ago

    Why the heck it was so big in ur hand?

  • Akshay Gupta
    Akshay Gupta 3 months ago

    Wallpaper?😥😶😢

  • 报刊亭大爷
    报刊亭大爷 3 months ago

    Samsung S10r

  • Noah On 5G
    Noah On 5G 3 months ago

    Who else thought the thumbnail said “SIDE”?

  • O.G.H
    O.G.H 3 months ago

    My hype for highend smartphones is over. I paid 420 Euros for my current smartphone (Galaxy S7) and I intend to keep it until it is broken. When the time comes, where I need a new smartphone, I will spend even less than 400 Euros for a phone. Less than 200 Euros also do that for me. Refurbished phones are way cheaper and still in great condition. I don't use 95% of the highend features of my phone anyway, so I will have even more money to save.

  • Josh Rice
    Josh Rice 3 months ago +1

    S10e for sure. I'm a pretty big guy and I still struggle holding most phones comfortably.

  • Lofi-Shogun
    Lofi-Shogun 3 months ago

    I don't like the verge so yea

  • McD5791
    McD5791 3 months ago

    So the "e" is to the Galaxy S10 range, what the "Mini" was to the Galaxy S5 range?

  • greg smith
    greg smith 3 months ago

    I'll pass ...still not a bargain in my books... I'll stay with my trusty 6t.

  • Siyanda Makhathini
    Siyanda Makhathini 3 months ago +2

    She must and has to do all the reviews.

  • Shreyas Gowda
    Shreyas Gowda 3 months ago

    s8 is of same size

  • FAUguy23
    FAUguy23 3 months ago +1

    Since the S10e doesn't have the heart rate sensor, what is that small black square on the right side of the LED flash?

  • shashank bond
    shashank bond 3 months ago

    If Samsung uses night mode ...imagine

  • Marcus
    Marcus 3 months ago +1

    Excellent review! Need more reviews like this

  • Phrix Del Valle
    Phrix Del Valle 3 months ago

    It is less expensive but not cheaper

  • Nikola Vujović
    Nikola Vujović 3 months ago

    I dont like it.

  • Metatron Men
    Metatron Men 3 months ago

    If you have a S9 dont buy this phone, most carriers in the US already released the latest OS for S9 and S9+ witch is the same OS using the S10 series, the memory and performance is not noticeable. I returned this phone, looks cheap and feels cheap, is not a match for a S9 or s9 plus and it dont worth $750 dollars.

  • Psycho Play
    Psycho Play 3 months ago

    I would go with S10e because I love a phone that fit my pocket. My iPhone 8 Plus just roll on the ground around 10 times because of their gigantic size and if I haven’t put my case on it. I think I have to throw another buck to fix their glass. So, the S10e would fine even without a wide angle camera.