A WRINKLE IN TIME MOVIE REVIEW - Double Toasted

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 8, 2018
  • A WRINKLE IN TIME MOVIE REVIEW - Double Toasted -The Double Toasted podcast review a new Disney movie called A Wrinkle In Time. Yeah, A wrinkle in time the old novel, Disney is adapting it for a second time. Without getting to much into the plot, this Disney film follows a young girl as she goes on an adventure to different worlds, with funny characters. Some of the main actors in this family film are Chris Pine, Oprah Winfrey, Reese Witherspoon and starring a young girl called Storm Reid . The film is directed by Ava DuVernay. In this movie review for a wrinkle in time the double toasted crew discuss the actors, the visual effects and the confusing story. We also try to make this a funny video, as much as we possible can. Let us know your thoughts on this Disney movie, was it funny? Did you enjoy the adventure film? It it a family film or more for young children? Let us know in the comments below before you get swopped off to another world of drug-induced insanity!
    And for more funny videos head on over to Doubletoasted..com for funny movie reviews and movie trailer reactions to official movie trailers and trailer teasers all throughout the week!
    LISTEN TO AND WATCH THE FULL SHOW HERE:
    soundcloud.com/kcoolman/the-movie-review-extravaganza-3-7-18
    doubletoasted.com/show/a-wrinkle-in-time-and-gringo-movie-reviews/
    Support us by visiting our fine sponsors. GAMEFLY has over 8,000 new releases and classics available to rent for Xbox One, Xbox 360, PS4, PS3, PS Vita, Wii U, Wii, and 3DS, as well as older systems. Try Gamely.com for 30 days free and get the latest games delivered right to your mailbox by clicking on the link below.
    gameflyoffer.com/doubletoasted
    LOOTCRATE offers you great gaming and geek gear all in a fun monthly mystery box. Hit the link below and enter bridge10 for a 10% discount.
    trylootcrate.com/doubletoasted
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 797

  • Natural Born Film Critic

    I don't think AWIT is impossible to adapt to the screen, it's just Ave DuVernay and Disney obviously did not have much if any in the way of understanding or even appreciation for the source material. Pretty much every change made from the book resulted in a weaker, more incoherent and muddled storyline and an insultingly un-imaginitive children's adventure.
    And don't get me started on how they deleted all references to Christianity. Madeleine L'Engle was a devout Christian and Christian themes were very much weaved into AWIT narrative. To go as far as to remove the even the mention of Jesus Christ as one of the many historical figures who fought The Black Thing, which is what the movie did, is just plain insulting to the author.
    Was Disney seriously that afraid people would get offended at references to Christianity, that they will go as far as to not even give a tiny mention of Jesus?
    Personally for me, AWIT needs to be an animated mini-series. Given the book has a episodic structure to it anyway, I feel it's the best approach and will allow for healthy expansion of the narrative. Have it be a combination of a Grimm Fairy Tale and Doctor Who. That's how I see it anyway.

  • Kramsey R
    Kramsey R 6 days ago

    I don't understand why people don't just make unfilmable movies into anime. That's why anime exists.

  • dulcimerrafi
    dulcimerrafi 26 days ago

    I, too, thought that Ava DuVernay's foreword sounded pretty defensive.

  • TheArtist JF
    TheArtist JF Month ago

    Merged zamasu?

  • Bri Bri
    Bri Bri Month ago

    The jokes are killing me lmao

  • loraleiful
    loraleiful 2 months ago

    mycomments always get shifted. youtube hates me. Oprah lol I knew it would tank. Forehead sequins??? Really? and she looks like she was auditioning for a black ABBA group. And........ Oceans 8 is going to TANK.

  • Lyndsey Allen
    Lyndsey Allen 2 months ago

    Damn, now I need a Powerline tshirt!

  • Solqueen86
    Solqueen86 2 months ago

    Hundreds of years later people will be looking at Oprah the First Female President of the USA's pic in the history books.....And this will be it

  • Friendship
    Friendship 2 months ago +1

    *Pennywise* must have been an embodied brain once in his life before _IT_ took place.

  • BrontoSmilodon1
    BrontoSmilodon1 2 months ago

    loving how girts and Goodwin are wearing cartoon character shirts

  • Soo Kute
    Soo Kute 2 months ago

    thank you for this review

  • Soo Kute
    Soo Kute 2 months ago

    my friend said it was good but she also said that she always support black movies. sorry I dont fo because its black I go because I want to see it or not.

  • Peyman's Life
    Peyman's Life 2 months ago

    13:28
    "you better sell this"

  • Miles Trombley
    Miles Trombley 2 months ago

    It was cringing to watch, but my sister liked it.

  • Jonah Fuerstenberg
    Jonah Fuerstenberg 2 months ago

    Aye yo if you ain't with this movie you racist. Lol had to go see this with my gf and her son, shit was wack af. Like i feel like they knew how fucking weak this was when they was making it so like they did the whole diversity thing to like take away from how fucking awful, and I mean awful the movie is. Nawh man, Black Panther for the whole diversity thing, that shit went hard and had a fire soundtrack.

  • Azoo Cola
    Azoo Cola 2 months ago

    The guy with the samuai jack shirt and the guy with the beard are really hot

  • Nathan Higgins
    Nathan Higgins 3 months ago

    The problem with eccentric characters is that there comes a point where they must become serious, where they show investment in the conflict of the story. This paradigm shift is a great subversion that endears us to the character and provides depth. This must be done if the eccentric is meant to be an important character.

  • Nathan Higgins
    Nathan Higgins 3 months ago

    Diversity could be so easily fixed if creators would simply focus on making compelling characters.

  • Dennis Lee
    Dennis Lee 3 months ago

    It is important because of diversity and Negros, it is the year 2018.

  • Sukhbir Sekhon
    Sukhbir Sekhon 3 months ago

    It'll make its 103 million dollars back due to the power of Disney. Who else can make a TV movie and spend so much on it?

  • Sukhbir Sekhon
    Sukhbir Sekhon 3 months ago

    Love? Did the same in the matrix and interstellar.

  • King Greed
    King Greed 3 months ago

    Big ol flop this movie is...

  • X3DN
    X3DN 3 months ago

    U nigger can’t speak clear

  • Denise Simpson
    Denise Simpson 3 months ago

    Thank you. And my further problem is that darkness and blackness=evil. Nothing new.

  • Cliff Alexander
    Cliff Alexander 3 months ago

    Martin, after all the years listening to you, and all the times you said something funny, this video is the first that made me stop and everything I was doing, laughing and had to write and say thank you, that was funny. At 9:48 of this video and hearing you say that rethinking the Hollywood diversity just made me laugh. Thank you sir!

  • Heather Daughtry
    Heather Daughtry 3 months ago

    check out our video review guys!! thexvid.com/video/dhjoclHc7Bw/video.html&t=59s

  • lipstickngore
    lipstickngore 3 months ago +1

    You guys make my early mornings and nights! Love you guys 😃❤

  • WhatistheMatrix?
    WhatistheMatrix? 3 months ago

    Rental? really?

  • randombro89
    randombro89 3 months ago

    Fuck fuck diversity I want quality . stop thinking about race and gender all the time holy shit I’m not gonna watch the rest of the review I paused it at nine minutes. Identity politics is cancer

  • trexguy
    trexguy 3 months ago

    Best review I’ve seen of this awful movie.

  • PinkiePool GamerBrony9
    PinkiePool GamerBrony9 3 months ago

    this movie is some Old BullShit

  • Smokey McJoint
    Smokey McJoint 3 months ago

    Maybe if they were more worried about making a good movie and not manufacturing diversity, it would have turned out better.
    You guys are a bit hung up on the "representation" in media when black people are over represented.

  • Psychedelic BluesMan
    Psychedelic BluesMan 3 months ago

    The younger kid annoyed the living shit out of me

  • Watch-It Ralph
    Watch-It Ralph 3 months ago

    Hey guys, long shot time: please take a moment to check out my movie review for A Wrinkle in Time and let me know your thoughts on my thoughts of the film. Any feedback is much appreciated!
    thexvid.com/video/SQk4wWZWbH0/video.html

  • loraleiful
    loraleiful 3 months ago

    oh how boring you won't make it unless it takes on porn

  • loraleiful
    loraleiful 3 months ago

    YES...ttank....and all those sequins..lol

  • loraleiful
    loraleiful 3 months ago

    bad hustler....get on with it

  • Harold Hart
    Harold Hart 3 months ago

    WITCHCRAFT - 3 WITCHES OF ENDORE - SATANIC LIES SAYING THAT THE FATHER IS NOT COMING BACK .- HOW COULD OPRAH BE ASSOCIATED WITH THIS GARBAGE.

  • is33you01
    is33you01 3 months ago

    You guys are sooooooo wrong. The movie was very well executed and true to the novel. It is a shame that these misinformed reviews will disallow so many people to experience the beauty and life lessons shared. The original book was just as abstract as the movie. It is a difficult movie to film, but Ava managed to create a wonderful representation. I'm a long time fan of you guys but this review is vey sloppy and narrow.

  • loraleiful
    loraleiful 3 months ago

    movie as I predicted tank..................people.....fucking forehead sequins???? tank

  • loraleiful
    loraleiful 3 months ago

    will anyone want to buy which clothing line??? if you are the master of the universe size 18

  • loraleiful
    loraleiful 3 months ago

    or a black version of ABBA as I have pointed OUT 9 month ago...fool

  • newv newv
    newv newv 3 months ago

    This movie is a high rental for me.

  • Luino Hargraves
    Luino Hargraves 3 months ago

    I searched and finally found the original Movie A Wrinkle in Time Full Movie
    Go to the links : dotiny.com/ho4v8a

    Genre : Adventure, Science Fiction, Family, Fantasy
    Stars : Oprah Winfrey, Reese Witherspoon, Mindy Kaling, Gugu Mbatha-Raw,
    Michael Peña, Storm Reid
    Release : 2018-03-08
    Runtime : 109 min.
    Movie Synopsis :
    After the disappearance of her scientist father, three peculiar beings
    send Meg, her brother, and her friend to space in order to find him.

  • cellmate1
    cellmate1 3 months ago

    Chris Pine is that girls dad??? So is her Mom black? Is she adopted? Does logic not matter anymore?

  • Tyler Knowles
    Tyler Knowles 3 months ago

    This movie look like it was gonna fail from the start

  • William Veatch
    William Veatch 3 months ago

    Maybe because it was based on a children's book.

  • endplanets
    endplanets 3 months ago

    So its like "Mac & Devin Go to High School".
    Where Snoop Dog finds out the catalyst for advanced electrochemical conductant is bags of pot (no really).

  • Leman Russ
    Leman Russ 3 months ago

    Putting people in a film just because of their race or sex is going to produce many terrible films. Just cast whoever is best for the role. Simple.
    I do not agree with the “white wash” hollywood. All my favourite actors are black and have won many awards over the years like denzel washington. Just a society of being offended. Same for black panther. It was not a great film!!

  • ang 85
    ang 85 3 months ago

    “Why am I trapped in a Drake video?” Hell naw lol

  • harrison jananto
    harrison jananto 3 months ago

    These type of movies is proof that disney has too much money to spend

  • Tim Taylor
    Tim Taylor 3 months ago

    #SAVEGIRTS

  • CommanderCody
    CommanderCody 3 months ago

    I don't think it's unfilmable. Disney just gave the movie to the wrong people. No disrespect to Ava DuVernay, she's a fantastic director, but a story like A Wrinkle in Time, a movie that was meant to be something huge, it's a little out of her league, I think. Ava is great when it comes to smaller, more practical films like Salma, 13th, or documentaries.
    A movie like this should've gone to someone like Guillermo De Toro, Spielberg, Peter Jackson, or maybe even Jon Favreau. Somebody used to working on massive movies. This movies failure is mostly the screen writer's fault, though.

  • Spanky Harland
    Spanky Harland 3 months ago

    oprah for president..........not !

  • Nalie Cooke
    Nalie Cooke 3 months ago

    I searched and finally found the original Movie A Wrinkle in Time Full Movie Go to the links : en.opizo.com/dem

  • MrMoneyclips
    MrMoneyclips 3 months ago

    Goprah

  • Wolf Lord Bradley
    Wolf Lord Bradley 3 months ago

    Wtf is this, that lil girl is not pretty and she's the lead?!

  • Andrew Forbes
    Andrew Forbes 3 months ago

    Check out my thoughts on A Wrinkle in Time:
    screeningspectacles.blogspot.com/2018/03/a-wrinkle-in-time.html

  • TheCandymusiclover
    TheCandymusiclover 3 months ago

    I really want to see this movie now. Their criticisms make me curious. I tend to enjoy certain films that others don't.

  • shakezilla29
    shakezilla29 3 months ago +1

    r.i.p. gritz

  • Alain Brice
    Alain Brice 3 months ago

    She could make part 1 and part 2

  • C.K. Brooke
    C.K. Brooke 3 months ago

    Was excepting Girts to be wearing his “NO.” shirt

  • Boss Umbra
    Boss Umbra 3 months ago +2

    Coleman, everything you said about the diversity is what people who critisized the Last Jedi been dealing with for months.

  • Sam Jones
    Sam Jones 3 months ago

    This Director reminds me of how they hyped up John Singleton in the 80's after he did Boys in the hood. They were calling him the next great director of our time. He faded away after a few bad movies. But this time we have a woman of color they are calling the next great director and she has Miss O backing her up. She is not worth the hype.

  • TheDoomer
    TheDoomer 3 months ago +1

    Checked the movie out with my lady, she loved it and I was miserable the whole time watching it. I respect Ava Duvernay, I'm always gonna root for that sistah, but holy hell Wrinkle in time was a chore.
    It's almost if Duvernay has never seen a genre film in her entire life. As if she just discovered this thing called "Fantasy" and tripped over every cliché or tired troupe. If this is the extent of her imagination? I don't want her near a Star Wars movie and we all dodged a bullet when she passed on Black Panther. I can't believe the director of Selma made this movie. It's bewildering!

  • Randomfools
    Randomfools 3 months ago +1

    "Jupiter Ascending for kids" - I already knew it looked terrible and I was never going to watch it...but never in a thousand years would I subject myself to Jupiter Ascending again.

  • Teddy Skywalker
    Teddy Skywalker 3 months ago

    lol

  • Melissa Henriques
    Melissa Henriques 3 months ago

    You guys are awfully stupid

  • DontTaze MeBro
    DontTaze MeBro 3 months ago

    Return to Oz is great!!!! Especially compared to this piece of garbage

  • Maria Rodriguez
    Maria Rodriguez 3 months ago

    Oprah as Supreme Kai ! LOL !!!

  • Patrick D
    Patrick D 3 months ago

    I feel like this movie was made for launching Oprah’s presidential campaign 😑 this movie was being hailed as a landmark achievement for women so she made sure she attached herself to this project to earn herself favor with the mass audiences

  • King Divine Master
    King Divine Master 3 months ago

    Well, they haven’t tried to adapt “Blood Meridian “ because the violence the book depicts literally runs every director off, me personally I think it should be a miniseries to tell the story correctly but nobody has the balls to do it.

  • KungFuChess
    KungFuChess 3 months ago

    Why does Oprah looks like Naruto in drag?

  • Marcos Munoz
    Marcos Munoz 3 months ago

    It’s kinda obvious movies will try to recreate these Black Excellence movies after the success of Black Panther. And we are going to see more of these movies.

  • Alwi N
    Alwi N 3 months ago +1

    ★ A Wrinkle in Time 2018 »» tinyurl.com/ydfrrxpc
    ★ Runtime : 1h 49min (HD quality)
    ★ Release : 9 March 2018 (USA)
    ★ Storyline :

  • Myke Tunnicliff
    Myke Tunnicliff 3 months ago

    Hey guys, for an interesting comparison, try watching the 2003 Disney TV-Movie: a reasonable coherent film made for a fraction of the cost. It's also more faithful to the book. They've yet to make a film that's completely faithful but that one come s closer. Id like a critique ofthat one

  • Jheri Curl Jonez
    Jheri Curl Jonez 3 months ago +1

    Might go watch it high 💨

  • Jillian Brunelli
    Jillian Brunelli 3 months ago

    "y'all see the pegasus?!?"

  • Derek Olson
    Derek Olson 3 months ago

    The only "unfilmable" book that is an incredible movie that I can think of is Lord of the rings

  • Laila Fitzsimmons
    Laila Fitzsimmons 3 months ago

    A Wrinkle in Time 2018 M O V I E is Available Click to Watch [ nerdy.bid/Sj2gG ]

  • JohnBlack2345
    JohnBlack2345 3 months ago

    I haven't read anything about Girts leaving. which show did they say he left?

  • Jet-set sam
    Jet-set sam 3 months ago

    @2:17 to skip to review and past the DT merch stuff.

  • Zer0Hour17
    Zer0Hour17 3 months ago

    I don't give a fuck about the movie at hand, but Martin, the 5th element wasn't love. She lost her will to live and to save people and him telling her that made her want to live so she activated her power.

  • Staedler Staedlerr
    Staedler Staedlerr 3 months ago

    My god is Oprah is not gonna get an Oscar for it I smell riots on the streets , black lives matter will smash everything etc

  • Cy The Olympian
    Cy The Olympian 3 months ago

    100,000K!!! Congrats, DT Crew, and here's to the next Hunnid!!

  • Playwood Videos
    Playwood Videos 3 months ago

    Disney does wrinkle in time, nobody panics. Sony does all female ghostbusters reboot, everyone loses their shit!!!

  • N.
    N. 3 months ago

    They clearly had no idea, and now 4 generations who are in their prime who were raised on this story are united in saying, "you fucking idiots."

  • Kobe Wild
    Kobe Wild 3 months ago

    Why does Reese Witherspoon turn into a flying lettuce wrap... (I almost choked to death on that joke)

  • Chuka Kaelo
    Chuka Kaelo 3 months ago +2

    Oprahs outfit and makeup alone gave this movie a 2/1000

  • Mitchell G
    Mitchell G 3 months ago

    6 subs away from 100k !!!!!

  • C. Pettway
    C. Pettway 3 months ago

    Ava is a good director; just look at Selma. But even with her in the director's chair, a bunch of big selling names and the Disney logo stamped on it, this movie was still doomed to fail from the start. Like they said, mostly because of the books. I remember reading only a portion of the book in 5th grade, but from what I hear I don't think you can make a good movie or adaptation from the novels.

  • The Reviewing Network
    The Reviewing Network 3 months ago +1

    There is no reason with the talented cast and crew that they had on this movie that it should've been as bad as it was.

  • John R
    John R 3 months ago

    i dont think the original character was actually black. So this whole diversity thing was tacked on. It IS a hard book to film since it deals with a lot of Physics and science. (and christianity) They seemed to have replace THAT with the diversity push.

  • lili ks
    lili ks 3 months ago

    nice video , i like your animated presentation , very cool

  • Sans The Skeleton
    Sans The Skeleton 3 months ago +1

    Oprah has mastered Ultra Instinct

  • Big Guy617
    Big Guy617 3 months ago +1

    I bet the main actress was named after the X-men Storm

  • Big Guy617
    Big Guy617 3 months ago +2

    This version was nothing like the book. No where in the book does it say that Reese's character is suppose to change into a flying cabbage. Say what you want about the 2003 version, at least that version is closer to the book.

  • 2004mojo
    2004mojo 3 months ago +10

    Oprah looks like the mother of Chris Tucker's character from 'The Fifth Element' .

  • Andy Bernard
    Andy Bernard 3 months ago +1

    "If you do not support the movie then you are not supporting diversity"
    Me: No, this movie is just a piece of shit. Don't expect me to like a weird ass movie if it has black people in it. Plus Hollywood had diversity before you were born. F U

  • Doug Unfunny
    Doug Unfunny 3 months ago +1

    i'm glad martn didn't hold back. i hate seeing all these other critics holding back just because the director is a black woman.