iPhone XS and XS Max review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 18, 2018
  • Apple's new iPhone XS and XS Max are familiar territory with two key updates: a faster processor and an upgraded camera. Oh, and the XS Max has the largest screen ever found on an iPhone. But is that enough to justify the very high cost of the best iPhones you can buy?
    Correction: Nilay misspoke! The iPhone XS Max has a 6.5-inch display, not 6.8. The XS has a 5.8, and the XR has a 6.1.
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Here's a link to buy Apple's new iPhone XS and XS Max: fave.co/2X5r1oj
    Note: we sometimes place affiliate links directly to the best deals in our video descriptions, so we may earn a commission if you buy something.
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TheXvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 6 515

  • The Verge
    The Verge  9 months ago +1866

    I misspoke! The iPhone XS Max has a 6.5-inch display, not 6.8. The XS has a 5.8, and the XR has a 6.1. - Nilay

    • akshay anilkumar
      akshay anilkumar 9 days ago

      Miguel Reyna i hope they fix the screen break issue too

    • tafara chisoro
      tafara chisoro 16 days ago

      Hahahha broo i think you do not know what you talking about

    • C00l5c0rpi0n
      C00l5c0rpi0n Month ago

      @Galaxy Koala Agreed but they can easily do a quality check before uploading the video right especially with them being so popular

    • Galaxy Koala
      Galaxy Koala Month ago

      @C00l5c0rpi0n im assuming they realised this after they posted the video. Btw you cant really add in clips after its uploaded so

    • Apple Fans Giveaway iPhone Xs
      Apple Fans Giveaway iPhone Xs 2 months ago

      Hi good video ⭐ 4086958

  • Rafael Gazetov
    Rafael Gazetov Day ago

    MAX

  • Gamerboyrules 11
    Gamerboyrules 11 4 days ago

    Who else is getting the max?

    • John
      John Day ago

      Already did

  • Eang YT
    Eang YT 6 days ago

    Does iPhone X is oled display??

  • Joshmakey12
    Joshmakey12 8 days ago

    iPhone XS or XS max which should I buy? I currently have 8 plus

  • ishwak sharda
    ishwak sharda 9 days ago

    I am getting the same camera heat insulation problem as HTC phone did with my Iphone XS max: it turns the camera photo pink in dark but works perfectly in portrait mode. PLEASE HELP!!!!

  • Brooke Collins
    Brooke Collins 9 days ago

    Why does the XS Max have to be $2100 in my country 😭 still gonna buy it tho, rip to my bank account

    • Sgt Jack Halifax
      Sgt Jack Halifax 2 days ago

      Brooke Collins where do you live? Why is it so expensive though

  • N0ir i am N0ir
    N0ir i am N0ir 9 days ago

    I became a jigolo in order to afford this phone💀

  • Darang Gumin
    Darang Gumin 10 days ago

    He don't have a neck

  • idk8329472
    idk8329472 12 days ago

    Why is The Verge a thing?

  • Shan P.
    Shan P. 12 days ago

    Can we ever get a link for that wallpaper?

  • Michael Angelo Quintero

    Hi. May I know where can I possibly download your awesome wallpaper sir? Thanks.

  • Aysha Muakarrim
    Aysha Muakarrim 19 days ago

    the worlds getting lazy youguys

  • Infinity Thanos
    Infinity Thanos 19 days ago +2

    “Just do something , I’m begging you “😂😂😂😂😂

  • Really Queen
    Really Queen 20 days ago

    Who’d call their child
    iPhone XS Max

  • RedJoseph2382
    RedJoseph2382 21 day ago

    What's you background/wall paper! it's so cool!!!!

  • E-Ma
    E-Ma 21 day ago

    lmao, the iphone x is $650 rn. this is why they aren't selling it anymore

  • Shark
    Shark 23 days ago

    Huge respect for apple and Steve Jobs, but not for the apple of today, would rather have an android 9 phone with same specs at a much cheaper price. I could trow it in the air the phone and even if it falls of my hands i wouldn't care because it costs much less for the same performance an beauty.

    • Zarif6 Zara
      Zarif6 Zara 19 days ago

      You won't get a phone with same specs or better at a lower price.

  • rotimi kayode
    rotimi kayode 23 days ago

    I have both pixle 2 and the iPhone xs max and I would to say the pixle hype is a little too much I take a lot of photosnof everything and I see the pixle can take some great shots but I have pic out a lot more to have right one not to talk about thr blue tint in all pixle photos when I use the iPhone photos there a lot easier to edit and more true to life vs the pixle photos and the past pixle 3 is not that different from the 2 I feel Google used their scores to get noticed but now they don't talk about it and videos on the pixel are not that great

  • Djappa
    Djappa 24 days ago

    How can I get the wallpaper?

  • gtrmusic69
    gtrmusic69 25 days ago

    Wrong title.
    Most of this is a comparison between iphone X and iphone XS.

  • Mariella .T
    Mariella .T 25 days ago

    Auch deutsche hier ??

  • Asiphe Fadane
    Asiphe Fadane 25 days ago

    You sooooooooo strict😂😂😂😂😂😂

  • Angel Pongrakthai
    Angel Pongrakthai 29 days ago

    I have this phone it’s irritating because I accidentally screen shot stuff all the time. The buttons are aligned... it screen shots all the time idk why they didn’t have someone carry it around and use it a few days before releasing it. So they could fix this stupid problem.

  • Vincent Andrews
    Vincent Andrews Month ago

    I have this phone and I can tell you the front facing camera is not the same as the X

  • Interview with the Prince

    Good information! I made an impulse buy to celebrate my quickly approaching birthday. (May 20th, wish me a happy birthday! 🎉😁🍻🥴). That buy was the totally expensive iPhone XS @ 256g. I’m not a phone nerd but I plan to maximize this tiny computer that allows me to hear people that are nowhere around whom of which I can speak back to. “Hello? Hellllo.”
    Tips are welcomed. Thanks smart people! 👍🏽

    • Interview with the Prince
      Interview with the Prince Month ago

      Twisted Melody Thanks for the tip!

    • Twisted Melody
      Twisted Melody Month ago +1

      Happy early birthday my guy. Mine was on the 2nd lol. As far as tips, the best tip I could give you is to watch some vids. Just type in “iPhone XS tips” and you’ll get videos with 30+ tips crammed into one video lol. Although one thing I can explain briefly is creating folders for your apps. Since I have literally over 1000 apps I have to create folder lol. Usually subject then as “games”, “work”, “coding”, “productivity”, and so on and so forth. If you have a bunch of games just hold them till all the apps start to shake and then drag one game onto another. Then it’ll create a folder in which you can name the app “games” or specific games like “RTS Strat games” or something like that. Hope this helps a bit.

  • Akil Adeshwar
    Akil Adeshwar Month ago

    Insanely Cool Wallpaper!

  • cainen
    cainen Month ago

    if anyone could help get the wallpaper he is using to hide thr notch please

  • Kartik Rane
    Kartik Rane Month ago

    I want the phone wallpaper!

  • ZackScott Fan
    ZackScott Fan Month ago +2

    Apple: Just go bigger and the people will like it

  • Young Greedy
    Young Greedy Month ago

    Just upgraded from iPhone 6 Plus to the iPhone XS Max so far it’s been great.

  • Dayle
    Dayle Month ago

    pixel 2= poo

  • B Nav
    B Nav Month ago

    How do the intel modems perform? I heard the XS doesn’t get good cell and WiFi reception.

    • Dylan Power
      Dylan Power 26 days ago

      I have one and the cell and wifi r fine. The xs is amazing and the camera is great.

  • Murph
    Murph Month ago

    this guy is amazing,honest

  • Josh Bakkum Imagery
    Josh Bakkum Imagery 2 months ago +3

    2 swipes for 1 thing makes you sad, wtf has happened to people.

  • Free Giveaway iPhone XS

    fantastic Video ❤️

  • Clone clutz
    Clone clutz 2 months ago +2

    i think i am going to find an xs with a non working battery for cheap and just replace the battery

  • Guess 123
    Guess 123 2 months ago

    Great video review

  • ABO TOYAB
    ABO TOYAB 2 months ago

    hello bro can you give me one iphone xs please

  • Vincent August
    Vincent August 2 months ago

    Iphone tennis

  • Poh Dd
    Poh Dd 2 months ago +1

    Buy a cheaper mid tier phone Spend the money on a good professional camera instead....

  • BMW R1200 RT
    BMW R1200 RT 2 months ago

    Its 'x' not ten.

  • UniPlays 101
    UniPlays 101 2 months ago

    I wish I could afford a new phone I only have the 5c which is fine

  • Bella m
    Bella m 2 months ago

    *iphone tennis*

  • Marauder G
    Marauder G 2 months ago

    Apple Bad
    Give likes

    • Rudy Rodriguez
      Rudy Rodriguez Month ago

      apple is not bad, you just can't afford their products. so why don't you go get a job, and make some money instead of being a sad loser on here trying to get likes that won't help you in life.

  • Mehdi GR
    Mehdi GR 2 months ago +1

    I WANT AN IPHONE XS... OKAY 😡

  • mario
    mario 2 months ago

    Best iPhone Review out there !

  • Pelumi Olowolayemo
    Pelumi Olowolayemo 2 months ago

    I know a real professional hacker who as worked for me once in this past month. He's very good at hacking Facebook,Instagram,WhatsApp, emails ,Twitter, bank accounts, fixes credit reports, track calls , he offers legit services such as clearing of bad records online without it being traced backed to you he also helps to retrieve account that have been blocked or overtaken by hackers.His charges are affordable reliable 100% safe contact him WHATSAPP: +1 (831) 246-6210 you can also send an email to cyberhacking001@gmailcom

  • Christian Rodriguez
    Christian Rodriguez 3 months ago

    Iphone is modern day racism your concidered poor or lesser then if u dont got apple . Apple technology doesnt work well or at all with other technology groups. Apple cost more even tho its an inferior product

  • Chill With Xavier
    Chill With Xavier 3 months ago

    iPhone tennis 😂😂

  • tommy d u b b s
    tommy d u b b s 3 months ago +2

    I call it eX not ten lol

  • Shirley Bauman
    Shirley Bauman 3 months ago

    I tried upgrading my phone so many times but was not able to. Had so many issues with this. Then I met a friend that works as a broadband communication Rep for both Verizon and Amazon. He helped me get whatever upgrades I need for my phone. Now I can swap my phone for whatever I want it for. I’m so happy. You can contact him to help you too here’s his number 9802639361. Text him and see your communication dreams come true.

  • Anthony Maestas
    Anthony Maestas 3 months ago +1

    The IPHONE XS MAX Bigger screen better display better picture and speaker sound quality💯 by FAR THEN PREVIOUS IPHONES IVE HAD 6+ 7+ and 8+ and this phone is by far the best

  • JB WILLIAMSON
    JB WILLIAMSON 3 months ago

    Great review EXCEPT for the music & beat, very distracting & sometimes drowns out a word or two that could/might be important. Most have music louder than the material/speaker, fancy, but unnecessary!

  • Kobe Stordiau
    Kobe Stordiau 3 months ago

    Does anyone has also problems with the “tap to wake” or “raise to wake” feature? I sold my iPhone xs just because of that. It’s just too sensitive when using the iPhone. I like to grab my phone without the screen turning on all the time. I think i just gonna buy the samsung galaxy s10 with fingerprint reading. I used iPhone for a couple of years now, but just those two features are holding me back to use the xs.

  • Aleksander Hoff
    Aleksander Hoff 3 months ago

    The fact that Apple can't release this in an iPhone 6, or even better.. iPhone 5 size. It makes me sad. I want small phones, but to get a fast phone today.. it apparently has to be a big pe**s enlarger.

  • Rexex Gamer
    Rexex Gamer 3 months ago +1

    im getting one and airpods

  • Taveyon Bloomer
    Taveyon Bloomer 3 months ago

    Get me one

  • Victoria England
    Victoria England 3 months ago

    I like the video

  • rudy2ndjr
    rudy2ndjr 3 months ago

    Its not the 10s its xs.
    They never release a 9

    • rudy2ndjr
      rudy2ndjr 22 days ago

      @Dylan Power i nevwr said you were stupid. But if you consider youreself one its up to you. Cause we dont use roman numerals from who knows when and not in america.

    • Dylan Power
      Dylan Power 26 days ago

      U do know x mean 10 in Roman numerals so its xs meaning 10s. U r the stupid one here

  • Darren Lawrance
    Darren Lawrance 3 months ago +1

    Great review I’ve just ordered my XS MAX picking it up this week I’ve got the 7plus at the moment and I do like it so I’m looking really forward to my new phone 👍👍

    • Cameron Clark
      Cameron Clark 3 months ago

      Darren Lawrance yeah it did I think I’m goin with the xs max. Thanks!

    • Darren Lawrance
      Darren Lawrance 3 months ago

      Cameron Clark the size of the XS Max is slightly bigger but what makes it bigger is that it’s a full screen operating system and I think the sound is better so overall I do prefer the XS MAX, I hope this helps 👍👍

    • Cameron Clark
      Cameron Clark 3 months ago

      Darren Lawrance how's the size compared to the 7 plus

  • D G
    D G 3 months ago

    My wife and I have gone from 6s to Xs... their good, but not nearly $2000aud good. Apple is too over priced and generic now. Might try Samsung next

  • AppleWorld
    AppleWorld 3 months ago

    What’s the link to the background you have on the iPhone home screen

  • Shane Spagnola
    Shane Spagnola 3 months ago

    You can tap the screen to wake up the device. I don’t take any accidental screenshots

  • Jaylon Hale
    Jaylon Hale 3 months ago +2

    How are you accidentally screenshotting💀💀

    • Quit3Cut3
      Quit3Cut3 13 hours ago

      Yeah I have a max and I’m wondering too

    • Dylan Power
      Dylan Power 3 months ago +2

      Jaylon Hale that’s what I’m wondering. I have a Xs max and that never happens

  • Curwin Hutson
    Curwin Hutson 3 months ago

    What's the game he's playing in the video ?

  • onanidaily
    onanidaily 3 months ago

    How do you pronounce the name of this phone - iphone ten seven or iphone ten seventy ?

  • Conradtaylorhaugh
    Conradtaylorhaugh 3 months ago

    FlEx OlD aNd NeW pHoNe OoOoOoFfF

  • solarzz
    solarzz 3 months ago

    But is the iphone xs smaller than the x

    • Bahamakazi
      Bahamakazi 18 days ago

      Dylan Power that was I was saying the XR is a bit bigger than the Xs

    • Dylan Power
      Dylan Power 18 days ago

      @Bahamakazi no. The xs is the smallest. Then the xr. Then there is the xs max which is the biggest with a 6.5inch screen

    • Bahamakazi
      Bahamakazi 18 days ago

      Dylan Power actually the XR is a little bit bigger, found that out the hard way

    • Dylan Power
      Dylan Power 26 days ago

      The xs and x r thr same size and the max is bigger

  • Jeff Sanorjo
    Jeff Sanorjo 3 months ago

    Your statment about the face id of iphone xs is faster than the x is true but the video showed in 4:27, the reason why the xs is faster to unlock the lock icon than the x because you're looking on the xs display first then next to the x's so you're thinking that xs unlocks faster than the x... well, you can't unlock iphone xs and x at the same time 'coz face id requires you to look on the screen that tou wanted to unlock. Hope that yo get my point.

  • Asa Moni
    Asa Moni 3 months ago

    wow i want to bye iphone x

  • Tyler Broome
    Tyler Broome 3 months ago

  • Avery Armas
    Avery Armas 4 months ago +1

    Lol in Canada the most expensive price for each model is our starting price :(

  • Βασίλειος Μπεσλεμές

    I farted at an apple store and everyone was mad not my fault they didn’t have windows

    • Rudy Rodriguez
      Rudy Rodriguez Month ago

      everyone was mad because you can't come up with an original joke

    • AceOfCubs
      AceOfCubs 3 months ago

      That’s cuz you’re a bad apple.

  • SuccSalt
    SuccSalt 4 months ago

    Watching on a Iphone xs

  • Annie D.
    Annie D. 4 months ago

    I’m constantly taking screen shots too lol 🙄🙄

  • Little Billy
    Little Billy 4 months ago

    you shouldn't be behind the camera

  • JoJoJosara Banana
    JoJoJosara Banana 4 months ago

    0:24

  • YB Rides
    YB Rides 4 months ago

    Wallpaper?

  • Coco deh XI
    Coco deh XI 4 months ago

    Fam I want that wallpaper

  • Wolf S
    Wolf S 4 months ago

    Amazon just told my mom she can get a free IPhone X’s and it’s coming

  • Zubair Ahmad
    Zubair Ahmad 4 months ago

    Need that wallpaper

  • EJFinn
    EJFinn 4 months ago +1

    iPhone XS: It's what the iPhone X should've been because we actually included a larger option

  • Ali
    Ali 4 months ago +3

    I upgraded to 10S from 7 plus ✌🏼

  • Justin Hoskins
    Justin Hoskins 4 months ago +3

    After watching SEVERAL reviews and side by side comparisons I just don’t see how someone could think the pixel 2 has a better camera than the iPhone XS. Speaking objectively BESIDES night shot the pixel 3 doesn’t even have a better camera than the iPhone 🤷🏾‍♂️

  • Abigail McDonald
    Abigail McDonald 4 months ago

    I REALLY REALLY WANT AN IPHONE XS MAX!!!!!!

  • Hikaaru NNO
    Hikaaru NNO 4 months ago

    Hopefully i can buy it..😁

  • Jo rin
    Jo rin 4 months ago

    Where do I find this wallpaper?

    • Alice Loveth
      Alice Loveth 4 months ago

      Hello after I fall into the trip of scam getting an iPhone X max at last I found hackerjeff844@gmail he got me mine

  • wake me up later
    wake me up later 4 months ago

    Low key the new iPhone just portrays how Apple stole LGG7thinQ's whole design, it came out before it and is pretty much looked over thanks to Apple and it's "Original" XR

  • Wait What
    Wait What 4 months ago

    I have a XS and it’s amazing, best phone that I had

  • Sergei Bouche
    Sergei Bouche 4 months ago

    I still got my 4s lol. Saving so much money without having to worry about apple robbing my bank account lmfao.

  • Angel Selegna
    Angel Selegna 4 months ago

    the idiots phone

  • Nam Tran
    Nam Tran 4 months ago

    he sounds like he hates iphone or something

  • lovelle Williams
    lovelle Williams 4 months ago

    Why is it I cant I change the background to the keyboard and the txt background

  • Yen Gonzaga
    Yen Gonzaga 4 months ago +2

    People always change their phone.
    Me : always changing battery.
    Nokia user here 😀😀😀😀😀

  • Midnight’s Galaxy
    Midnight’s Galaxy 5 months ago

    I have small hands but I can still reach the notification or control center, my hand is also a little higher then where people will normally put it unless I’m typing.


    My experience with the iPhone XS Max, the time I’m writing this, I have this phone for less then 2 weeks. It’s my first phone and I’m already used to it and the home button.

  • Martin Jönsson
    Martin Jönsson 5 months ago

    EVERYONE PLEASE START COMPLAINING TO APPLE TO GET RID OF THE SIM CARD!
    SIM CARDS ARE OLD AND MECHANICAL SIM TAKES MORE SPACE THEN DIGITAL SOFTWARE TO REPLACE THE SIM CARDS

  • Jonathan M
    Jonathan M 5 months ago

    When I watch videos on my Mac on here, they don’t take up the full screen, around the top notch, why is this

  • Taufik Efendi
    Taufik Efendi 5 months ago

    If you can say bad things about iPhone, you'll look cool.

  • mjsla
    mjsla 5 months ago

    So where's the Dual Sim review?