How The Verge produces a review video

Share
Embed
  • Published on Dec 13, 2018
  • Here at The Verge, we’ve been at this video production thing for over seven years now. From first looks of new devices to full fledge, in-depth product reviews. Kind of like that parent who not only attended every school event but made cupcakes for it too - The Verge video team is everywhere. But how do we decide what stories to tell? (And...why don’t we shoot it in 4K?)
    Read more about how we do it here: bit.ly/2zWUvuR
    The Verge’s sponsors play an imortant role in funding our journalism, but do not influence editorial content. For more information about our ethics policy, visit www.theverge.com/ethics-statement.
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Listen to our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TheXvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 412

  • The Verge
    The Verge  9 months ago +91

    What was your favorite Verge review?

  • The Dudelino
    The Dudelino 4 months ago

    Interesting. Actually always wondered if Vice editors live in these giant, fancy lofts they shoot their reviews in.

  • Shane Willbur
    Shane Willbur 7 months ago

    LOW KEEEEEEEY

  • Jerry Thres
    Jerry Thres 7 months ago

    What is your audio setup? What microphones are you using to get that crisp audio?

  • Image lush
    Image lush 8 months ago

    This vid made me subscribe and I officially started dreaming about working at the Verge!!!

  • Aimer
    Aimer 8 months ago +1

    That sick sounds like big hero six

  • danial tahir
    danial tahir 8 months ago

    Low-key : Shailene Woodley.

  • Andrew O'Sullivan
    Andrew O'Sullivan 8 months ago

    You guys are editing in premiere pro, that’s why you can’t do 4K in 24 hours

  • whatcan welearn
    whatcan welearn 8 months ago

    Love from India.

  • shiva kiran reddy
    shiva kiran reddy 8 months ago

    should have told about how you guys choose your background score too..

  • TM
    TM 8 months ago

    what about lens? what lens?

  • Anonymous
    Anonymous 8 months ago

    boring

  • Victor Muthoka
    Victor Muthoka 8 months ago

    We want Lauren Goode back, she's got unique vibe for her videos.

  • Sean C.
    Sean C. 8 months ago

    I really like the Verge particulary Dieter and Nilay on Verge Cast. this host doesn’t even look old enough to have a job.

  • Siddharth Kumar
    Siddharth Kumar 8 months ago

    I'm in 10th grade. But, God, I really wanna work at the Verge, as a reviewer or a journalist cause I'm good at that. I really wish my dream comes true in or after college ♥️

  • simplexity24
    simplexity24 8 months ago

    Overwhelming marketing pitch from different companies? I bet I know how you decide...who pays the most. Same old model from a vanilla review channel

  • Dave Ryan
    Dave Ryan 8 months ago

    Love this. Becca is a great presenter!

  • Swapneel Golapkar
    Swapneel Golapkar 9 months ago

    reviews by twin was my favourite

  • Gregg Re
    Gregg Re 9 months ago

    Find you someone who loves you as much as The Verge loves The Verge. Low key.

  • mklawson83
    mklawson83 9 months ago +1

    Saw a Capital One advert before viewing. Where does the allen wrench go?

  • Music Planet Studios
    Music Planet Studios 9 months ago

    I have one suggestion since phones screens have come with notches i think your contents should too. Please upgrade from 16:9 to 21:9 ratio. You have 2M+ subscribers i m sure many might expect this

  • Arbaaz Khan
    Arbaaz Khan 9 months ago

    Is The Verge owned by Vox?

  • KoZee
    KoZee 9 months ago

    "The amount of you guys watching grew and grew"


    Has 84,665 views compared to the subscribers

  • Elon Musk
    Elon Musk 9 months ago

    The Verge...

  • Vincent Aubry
    Vincent Aubry 9 months ago

    Keep on the good work guys!! I've been reading you for the last 6 years and will definitely continue to do so :)

  • Behy 1995
    Behy 1995 9 months ago +34

    meanwhile *MKBHD* shooting 8K.

  • Juno Gaius Caesar
    Juno Gaius Caesar 9 months ago +19

    The verge is like buzzfeed but then lies even more

    • nitty frog
      nitty frog 8 months ago +1

      DynamicaL at least buzzfeed dont pretend to be specialists in any given subject unlike these “game journalists”

  • Sam5n0w
    Sam5n0w 9 months ago

    That incredible the amount of details you have to think of!

  • Sam Mjolnir
    Sam Mjolnir 9 months ago +1

    Why is there a little white boy hosting this vid? Where is the diversity The Verge is so profound to point out in this glass house?

    • Online Aler
      Online Aler 8 months ago

      Sam Mjolnir that is most definitely a women. And another host was a non-white women. And another host was non-white man

  • Brandon Tan
    Brandon Tan 9 months ago +130

    You guys remembered the time they tried to teach us how to make a gaming computer but utterly failed

    • MustermannAnybody
      MustermannAnybody 6 months ago

      I am still stuck with a useless allen wrench because of these guys! I want my money back!

    • ArshKFilms
      ArshKFilms 8 months ago +1

      How can one forget that

    • Gwen Coonen
      Gwen Coonen 8 months ago +3

      That one was actually the best of all their videos... Had loads of fun watching reviews about that video..

    • gerald
      gerald 9 months ago +5

      Yes haha

  • captainmarvel69
    captainmarvel69 9 months ago

    Guys, as a french person, i have to ask this : have you ever tried to translate "verge" from french to english ?.. ok go for it...
    ...
    you're back ? Yes i think about this word everytime i click on a verge video ! Like this o_O

  • franco cruz
    franco cruz 9 months ago

    Well good bye verge im leaving

  • Andre
    Andre 9 months ago

    I like your production value but I'm never going to trust the opinion of someone who sells her FULLY WORKING S7 for 10 USD.
    Sincerely,
    People from the third world.

    Sent from my S7

  • Sidy
    Sidy 9 months ago

    My favorite is Dan Seifert 😂😀😀😁😁

  • Fancy McDoodle
    Fancy McDoodle 9 months ago

    @4:28 Can you guys review your hiring process? That might be a good thing to do.

  • SDG Danny
    SDG Danny 9 months ago +3

    This is the kind of content that I follow The Verge for; awesome tech videos!

  • otto otto
    otto otto 9 months ago +55

    719 dislikes?
    gotta pump those numbers up
    Those are rookie numbers

    • philbama
      philbama 9 months ago +3

      long live the 9 yo army

  • Olaf Gillot
    Olaf Gillot 9 months ago +31

    Stop using bots to comment "GREAT VIDEO" it's super obvious.

    • hammypie
      hammypie 9 months ago +8

      Olaf Gillot - I also noticed how cheesy the comments are, I mean who talks like that?
      “Your videos are SO. COOL.” Lol sure

    • XAIKUN
      XAIKUN 9 months ago +9

      They can't handle criticism so they hired the bots to sooth their pain lmao

  • David Humphries
    David Humphries 9 months ago

    LTT videos look better and take less time...

  • Bram de Vogel
    Bram de Vogel 9 months ago

    It’s amazing how many people here complain about The Verge not being shot in 4K or even 8K, comparing it to MKBHD or Linus Techtips. The Verge offers way more complex videos (more shots, angles, transitions, different places etc.) and condense it in a shorter timeframe, compared to a fairly static talking head with less things going on in the video. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy those other youtubers as well, but if you can’t see the different levels of production involved, you shouldn’t complain about 4K missing.

  • Imsick Iguess
    Imsick Iguess 9 months ago

    I wanna work for the verge one day

  • Billy Wood
    Billy Wood 9 months ago

    Amazing ❤️

  • Auto Pedia
    Auto Pedia 9 months ago

    The Verge
    If you read this comment ,give it a ❤️ heart

  • Joe K
    Joe K 9 months ago

    I would give one of my nuts to work at Verge.. Like Honestly..

  • Conor Furlong
    Conor Furlong 9 months ago

    The style of this video is oddly very Apple. "Look at how great we are."
    You're better than this, The Verge!

  • Ankit Rai
    Ankit Rai 9 months ago +1

    The Verge is NOT exactly reaping what it sowed. It is obvious that the (TheXvid) numbers don't reflect the consistency and quality of their content.

  • Hayden Buchanan
    Hayden Buchanan 9 months ago +1

    I love that you guys made this video, all I can say is where do I send my resume ? Haha keep killing it

  • François Pérennès
    François Pérennès 9 months ago +1

    Becca, where did you buy this perfect sweater?

  • Samuel Clarke
    Samuel Clarke 9 months ago +3

    Nice one! The Verge would have to be in the top 3 tech channels for quality and style of review. Keep on rocking it! :)

  • Raul Barrera
    Raul Barrera 9 months ago +9

    7 years and still have 1 person of color on their videos...

    • Internet troll
      Internet troll 9 months ago

      Well the person in charge of the verge is brown.

    • Adam Cofield
      Adam Cofield 9 months ago +1

      Excuse me, did you just assume everyone’s ethnicity?

    • Mistah Sesy
      Mistah Sesy 9 months ago +1

      Raul Barrera why does it matter? Do you not like white people? Why do you want to kick these white people out of the video so they can have another race? Can you quit being racist?

    • Thomas
      Thomas 9 months ago +5

      Does that even matter?

    • Ahmed Yanaal
      Ahmed Yanaal 9 months ago +3

      Raul Barrera stop 🛑

  • Anurag Khargharia
    Anurag Khargharia 9 months ago +2

    I love The Verge. I really enjoy the content and Get to learn a lot. Thanks for making such amazing videos.

  • Rakesh Ashok
    Rakesh Ashok 9 months ago +1

    A really sad answer for not being 4K. You guys are not as tech savvy as you want everyone to believe.

  • Daniel Sunmugavail
    Daniel Sunmugavail 9 months ago

    Awesome video guys, thanks for peeling back the curtain a little for us to take a look under the hood. Lowkey jealous of nilay and dieter for all their reviews and insight they bring, plus all the back office Verge staff who make the videos possible!

  • Arno
    Arno 9 months ago

    God I’m old.

  • FoodTechLife
    FoodTechLife 9 months ago +2

    Thanks for a behind the scenes! ^_^

  • saf〈fg〈sgsg
    saf〈fg〈sgsg 9 months ago +2

    Hmm only positive comments

    • rowlekS
      rowlekS 7 months ago

      saf〈fg〈sgsg shhh

  • Sambit Biswas
    Sambit Biswas 9 months ago

    More videos with Becca, please!!

  • Isaac Alonzo
    Isaac Alonzo 9 months ago +6

    MKBHD shoots 6k and 8k with just a couple people helping and The Verge can't process 4k files? If editing its heavy create proxies and edit with it. No excuse.

  • ericcartmansh
    ericcartmansh 9 months ago

    high-key millennial?

  • Ad FLoRiN
    Ad FLoRiN 9 months ago

    and how do you earn your money ? for all this, if no company pays you 🤨