Pokémon Legends: Arceus Nintendo Switch Review - Is It Worth It?

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 25, 2022
  • Could this really be the moment we've all been waiting for?
    Review Written by Jordan Middler:
    www.nintendolife.com/reviews/...
    Narration and Video by Zion Grassl
    Check out our full site: www.nintendolife.com
    Like us on Facebook: nintendolife
    Follow us on Twitter: nintendolife
  • GamingGaming

Comments • 2 408

  • John Branch IV Photography
    John Branch IV Photography 4 months ago +827

    I'm really thinking about jumping on this one. I've never really played any of the past Pokemon games. But this looks like my jam (I love open-world games)

    • Mello Lonergan
      Mello Lonergan 3 months ago

      @Neku totally agree, it also feels very idk clunky and kinda like Pokemon snap.

    • Neku
      Neku 3 months ago

      spoiler alert its not open world, go I wish it is, the traveling between maps is so tedious.

    • Mello Lonergan
      Mello Lonergan 3 months ago

      terrible game to start with, play sword or shield first then play this to see how bad it really is

    • J J
      J J 3 months ago

      @isimi kehinde surely you did not just say “mainline Pokémon games are well thought out”…

    • Dakota Makaryk
      Dakota Makaryk 3 months ago

      @Bastian also known as a goddamn mess well yeah that's like any Nintendo game. They get prettier and more fun as you fight stronger enemies and gain new abilities.

  • MatlockMaloneX
    MatlockMaloneX 3 months ago +219

    The most exciting part about this game is that if it sells well, which it looks it is, then a lot of the elements and mechanics in this game are going to be staples for the more “traditional” games going forward. Pokémon is finally taking risks and evolving.

    • Gregory Fuller
      Gregory Fuller 3 months ago

      This games sold over 3 billion it first week just in Japan itself it on pace to be the best selling game and is way better game then sword and shield.

    • MuffinNova
      MuffinNova 3 months ago +2

      Literally every game they make will always sell well, no matter quality

    • en bonj
      en bonj 3 months ago +3

      Bit sad how pokemon fans have to get excited about prototypes like this in the hope a decent game will be made down the road. Been for same for decades "this is a step in the right direction". That's how low the bar is set

    • Mattwn ö
      Mattwn ö 3 months ago +3

      @UrM8 Matt Because nowadays quality doesn't equals sales, but some people can't go along with that idea

    • UrM8 Matt
      UrM8 Matt 3 months ago +3

      @MatlockMaloneX Why would people think that? Pokémon is the most successful video game franchise in the world. The games will always sell well.

  • elf_child9
    elf_child9 3 months ago +178

    I just played 9 hours or so, and I'm really enjoying this game. It still feels like a Pokemon game, but with enough new strategy and details to make it fresh. I really hope they continue in this vein for other games as well.

    • D H
      D H 3 months ago +1

      @Brandon Drangel Thanks for sharing ur experience dude! No I know this game’s a hard pass

    • Brandon Drangel
      Brandon Drangel 3 months ago +2

      @D H it's empty and boring. I had a nostalgia trip for the first hour after getting through the bloated menu and tutorial intro. OMG this game sucks! I have no idea how it got rave reviews from everyone. I guess when Sword and Shield are your only comparison this game is good, errrrr? The world is lifeless and dull, animations are horrid, textures & shading seem straight out of an N64 game. You have to read a books worth of text every few minutes. The menu and navigation systems are bloated and tedious. What a waste of $50 at Walmart.

    • Lenny
      Lenny 3 months ago +1

      @D H The world is plain and boring, you have nothing to explore except to catch 1000x the same Pokemon to complete the Pokédex.

    • ImaginaryJ 3590
      ImaginaryJ 3590 3 months ago +1

      @D H not sure, I’m about to get the game soon, so I will let you know once I start playing it.

    • Jonathan Rendza
      Jonathan Rendza 3 months ago +1

      @Neku 20+ hours, and nothing is bloated yet

  • Jordan Conklin
    Jordan Conklin 3 months ago +12

    I started off with cyndaquil and I’m loving it 🥰 as a kid I couldn’t really understand the game and I couldn’t beat the Pokémon league but now I’m a lot older and to see the new Pokémon altogether it’s awesome I even think legends is the toughest Pokémon game of them all! 9/10 sounds good to me.. I’m honestly happy and can’t wait to see what the rest of the game has in store 🕺🏽😌

  • Jordan House
    Jordan House 3 months ago +114

    I hope this sells extremely well and shows Game Freak that they've been leaving money on the table all these years by refusing to change. I'm sure they've been happy with the sales and that's why they kept the game as it was, but they could easily appeal to both kids and adults by altering the format and skill levels.

    • Too poo
      Too poo 3 months ago +1

      @Jordan House Good for you. Totally blue-pilled thinking but that's cool. Not me

    • Jordan House
      Jordan House 3 months ago +4

      @Too poo If graphics are your determining factor then fair enough. I agree they should be able to output a game that looks better than this with how big the series is. I don't agree that it makes sense to have bought Sword/Shield but not this. That game was uninspired and painfully unoriginal. This game is at least doing something new, much different than any game since the originals. It sounds like they've increased difficulty to some degree and lessened the hand-holding.
      Its okay if your criteria is different, but I think mine will be fulfilled and I think we're moving in a positive direction for the first time since Gen 5

    • Jordan House
      Jordan House 3 months ago

      @Huie me neither

    • Too poo
      Too poo 3 months ago +3

      @Jordan House So you want people to buy more of the same? This is the exact same engine as sword and shield. You can tell by the butt ugly trees and the unacceptable windows 95 water. It's terrible. There's no excuse for any platform that's current for a multi billion dollar company to make a game with this quality. I will not be buying this game like I bought sword and shield and I hope many do the same but most likely won't happen like that. With sword and shield at least it made sense for people to buy it because it was the first Pokemon game on a new console, this however will not be and it still looks butt ugly.

    • Huie
      Huie 3 months ago

      @Jordan House i personally didnt like the gen 7 or gen 8 games

  • Andrew Ryan
    Andrew Ryan 4 months ago +293

    One of the weird things that stands out for me with this is how streamlined the gameplay is, and this goes for all jrpgs. You spend so much time mashing the A button to get through pointless boxes of text that you've heard a million times before. "You caught a caterpie" A button "Caterpies details were added to your pokedex" Abutton...mash a button as slow pokedex animation happens "Would you like to name your caterpie" Accidentally hit A button becasue you were mashing it, now have to exit clunky keyboard UI. "Are you sure" FUCKING YES I'M SURE!
    In this, the fact that the pokeballs are fire and forget. Even to collect resources, seems like such a small, but GREAT QOL improvement for the flow of the game.

    • ClassicAdden
      ClassicAdden 3 months ago

      @Mr. FoxHat And that's why you don't read reviews. If everyone gave one complaint each, everyone would realise something is bad. Subjectivity is going to absolute hell and games and movies are going to suuuuuuuuuuuuck

    • TKsuperturbo
      TKsuperturbo 3 months ago +3

      finally someone points this out. I am so sick of the "text-based progression" that battles have. "Pokemon uses Ember. Critical Hit! Pokemon fainted!" there's literally a specific sound for critical hits, either use the sound effect or add a visual effect and have everything happen faster without narrating every single damn thing through text

    • Danny
      Danny 3 months ago +6

      Infernape is confused!
      Infernape used Flame Wheel!
      It was a super effective hit!
      Infernape landed a critical hit wishing to be praised!
      Steelix hung on with of it's Sturdy Ability!
      Steelix used Earthquake!
      It was Super Effective!
      Infernape hung on for it's trainer!
      Infernape looks like it could cry.
      Steelix is burned!
      Infernape is buffeted by the Sandstorm! Infernape fainted!
      Steelix is hurt by its burn!
      Steelix fainted!

    • sven 3232
      sven 3232 3 months ago

      Definitely gotta agree with you on this one 😭 my thumb used to go soar 💀😂

    • UserX-1099
      UserX-1099 3 months ago

      maybe JRPG is just not for you.

  • Heroic Hitsuji
    Heroic Hitsuji 3 months ago +240

    Dunno when, but whenever it’s time for Pokemon Legends: Zygarde, we need Mega Evolution back. I also want to witness that war. I suppose that would put that before the events of this, and in another timeline.

    • Gregory Fuller
      Gregory Fuller 3 months ago

      Jhoto will next region to get a lenged series.

    • Wonder Cat
      Wonder Cat 3 months ago

      @Bounty Rogue Cinemax that would be really cool if in the next game there would be a war and Hoopa would stop it

    • Bounty Rogue Cinemax
      Bounty Rogue Cinemax 3 months ago

      @Wonder Cat hoopa was used to end a war so that would be good. Hoopa is strong enough to stop palkia, dialga, Kyogre and groundon

    • Wes Releases
      Wes Releases 3 months ago

      Man that would be so sick. Other than Sinnoh, Kalos probably has the deepest lore of any region

    • Esteban Figueroa
      Esteban Figueroa 3 months ago

      Zygarde trash bro 🤣

  • Jon Baker
    Jon Baker 4 months ago +44

    I love how they're going back in time and telling Pokemon stories from a more primitive time

    • JENNITA B.O
      JENNITA B.O 3 months ago +1

      💘 Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la Laamor.Uno
      Megan: "Hotter"
      Hopi: "Sweeter"
      Joonie: "Cooler"
      Yoongi: "Butter"
      Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la lease que escriba bien mamon hay nomas pa ra reirse un rato y no estar triste y estresado.por la vida dura que se vive hoy .
      Köz karaş: ''Taŋ kaldım''
      Erinder: ''Sezimdüü''
      Jılmayuu: ''Tattuuraak''
      Dene: ''Muzdak''
      Jizn, kak krasivaya melodiya, tolko pesni pereputalis.
      Aç köz arstan
      Bul ukmuştuuday ısık kün bolçu, jana arstan abdan açka bolgon.
      Uyunan çıgıp, tigi jer-jerdi izdedi. Al kiçinekey koyondu gana taba algan. Al bir az oylonboy koyondu karmadı. ''Bul koyon menin kursagımdı toyguza albayt'' dep oylodu arstan.
      Arstan koyondu öltüröyün dep jatkanda, bir kiyik tigi tarapka çurkadı. Arstan aç köz bolup kaldı. Kiçine koyondu emes, çoŋ kiyikti jegen jakşı dep oylodu.#垃圾

  • P Killjoy
    P Killjoy 4 months ago +99

    I am so hyped for this ;_;
    Been playing since gen1, this looks to be exactly what i wanted minus multiplayer and higher quality across the board. Gamefreak is improving and I love to see it!
    I love the idea of needing more than just catching the pokemon to complete its entry. Every single pokemon gets more time in the sun, its more surprising that it took this long!

    • mitchell avontuur
      mitchell avontuur 3 months ago +1

      @VectorAlpha 🗸 eh looks good enough to me, but I don't play switch for graphics, that is where pc is for.
      Also didn't het mad, you just don't make sense to me....

    • VectorAlpha 🗸
      VectorAlpha 🗸 3 months ago +3

      @mitchell avontuur Lol please don't get mad. hahaha. But this game doesn't look good.

    • VectorAlpha 🗸
      VectorAlpha 🗸 3 months ago +2

      @mitchell avontuur No they don't lol. That's a minority. We want something different.

    • mitchell avontuur
      mitchell avontuur 3 months ago +6

      @VectorAlpha 🗸 welp sorry to break it to you, but the majority wants more like this

  • By-the Way
    By-the Way 3 months ago +28

    I'm really looking forward to this one. I'm also looking forward to how they implement what they learnt from the development into the future mainstream Pokemon titles. I've never been the "I want every single Pokemon in the game" person, so I wouldn't mind if they limited the number of Pokemon to balance things out and give us a full experience.

  • G Money
    G Money 3 months ago +42

    Can't wait to play! Hopefully next year we'll have trainer battles though. I think that would make it a near perfect game along with online battles.

    • Ayslastro Betta
      Ayslastro Betta Month ago

      @Cinnamon what is wrong with you it is different stop complaining.

    • Mario Quintero
      Mario Quintero 3 months ago

      @Cinnamon ???

    • Mario Quintero
      Mario Quintero 3 months ago

      @Alexander Riku ???

    • Cinnamon
      Cinnamon 3 months ago +1

      If this is all it takes for a near perfect game then oh god have mercy on the gaming industry

    • Jeevan Michael
      Jeevan Michael 3 months ago +4

      It’s a step in the right direction for Pokémon and people are happy Game Freak is finally listening to the fans. That’s why they called it a near perfect game as this is a Pokémon fan’s dream. :)

  • stevo1354
    stevo1354 3 months ago +11

    Can't wait for the next generation of legends games with hopefully updated hardware. This is the beginning of a new era of pokemon imo. We'll see them push this style of game more into the future now

  • Johnny Rider
    Johnny Rider 3 months ago +3

    Pretty cool new spin-off, I'd like something similar to this style in the next mainline game but if not I'd also welcome a Legends game set before Gen 8 based on medieval Europe

    • SgCy
      SgCy 3 months ago +2

      It's actually not a spin-off according to the developer. GameFreak/The Pokèmon Company have stated that they consider this to be part of the main series.

  • 1HP
    1HP 4 months ago +23

    This is a first step. A step in a new direction for the franchise and I couldn't be more happy.

    • Peter von Feldt
      Peter von Feldt 3 months ago

      I'll drink to that.

    • JENNITA B.O
      JENNITA B.O 3 months ago

      💘 Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la Laamor.Uno
      Megan: "Hotter"
      Hopi: "Sweeter"
      Joonie: "Cooler"
      Yoongi: "Butter"
      Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la lease que escriba bien mamon hay nomas pa ra reirse un rato y no estar triste y estresado.por la vida dura que se vive hoy .
      Köz karaş: ''Taŋ kaldım''
      Erinder: ''Sezimdüü''
      Jılmayuu: ''Tattuuraak''
      Dene: ''Muzdak''
      Jizn, kak krasivaya melodiya, tolko pesni pereputalis.
      Aç köz arstan
      Bul ukmuştuuday ısık kün bolçu, jana arstan abdan açka bolgon.
      Uyunan çıgıp, tigi jer-jerdi izdedi. Al kiçinekey koyondu gana taba algan. Al bir az oylonboy koyondu karmadı. ''Bul koyon menin kursagımdı toyguza albayt'' dep oylodu arstan.
      Arstan koyondu öltüröyün dep jatkanda, bir kiyik tigi tarapka çurkadı. Arstan aç köz bolup kaldı. Kiçine koyondu emes, çoŋ kiyikti jegen jakşı dep oylodu.#垃圾

  • Karasaywah
    Karasaywah 4 months ago +257

    It feels nice to finally get something alittle different and refreshing from Pokemon. All these remakes of games we all played as kids/teens at first had me excited but I found myself quickly getting bored of the same old formula game after game. Between not being able to find/buy actual cards due to scalpers and ridiculous inflation to the same old games I felt in the last few years my love of Pokemon really take a hit. Will be nice to finally have something alittle bit new and fresh to reinvigorate the series.

    • Just a cunt
      Just a cunt 3 months ago +1

      @Dance Dustin Dance I mean, that's true for literally any game or even movie franchise tho. There's a reason people say you can't please everyone. There's 7 (probably closer to 8 at this point) billion of us on the planet. That's a lot of differing opinions.
      You can't tell me that those games wouldn't be more amazing or have their price justified if gamefreak actually did what a lot of people are "crying" about, e.g. new animations, better stories that actually treat you with respect etc. Like bro, my 9 year old brother understood the harry potter and the philosophers stone story. Pokemon doesn't need to be braindead for kids to understand it.

    • Karasaywah
      Karasaywah 3 months ago +1

      @Dance Dustin Dance I mean I definitely agree with that. People always find ways to complain, however I think everyone can also see where Pokemon over time could have come up with alittle bit more or changed things up. Up until this point most games have felt very cookie cutterish (this is just my opinion. I've played most of the games since red and blue)

    • Dance Dustin Dance
      Dance Dustin Dance 3 months ago +1

      The perfect game with the perfect price could exist and pokemon fans would still cry sadly. Even the worst pokemon games are amazing.

    • Zay9xx
      Zay9xx 3 months ago +1

      What we need are more spinoff games away from the main formula to keep Pokémon feeling fresh. I think that’s why the Pokémon games peaked during the DS era with all those different kinds of games.

    • Zay9xx
      Zay9xx 3 months ago

      @royalrejects oh man my arms will hurt like hell if we get a ranger game

  • Sebastian Trost
    Sebastian Trost 4 months ago +16

    If this is actually challenging in some way, I'd be delighted! Maybe I'll give it a try (despite Shining Pearl wasting my time with the power of love against completely underleveled opponents). But this does sound amazing. I don't even care about technical problems (to a degree, obviously) - those can be patched.

    • Rex
      Rex 3 months ago

      Definitely already see the challenge. I kinda just went with the story and only catch/battled a bit. I think 3rd actual trainer battle? Went against a munchlax i had to cheese by letting my weaker party die to potion spam my starter lol. Definitely never had to do that that early.

    • JENNITA B.O
      JENNITA B.O 3 months ago

      💘 Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la Laamor.Uno
      Megan: "Hotter"
      Hopi: "Sweeter"
      Joonie: "Cooler"
      Yoongi: "Butter"
      Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la lease que escriba bien mamon hay nomas pa ra reirse un rato y no estar triste y estresado.por la vida dura que se vive hoy .
      Köz karaş: ''Taŋ kaldım''
      Erinder: ''Sezimdüü''
      Jılmayuu: ''Tattuuraak''
      Dene: ''Muzdak''
      Jizn, kak krasivaya melodiya, tolko pesni pereputalis.
      Aç köz arstan
      Bul ukmuştuuday ısık kün bolçu, jana arstan abdan açka bolgon.
      Uyunan çıgıp, tigi jer-jerdi izdedi. Al kiçinekey koyondu gana taba algan. Al bir az oylonboy koyondu karmadı. ''Bul koyon menin kursagımdı toyguza albayt'' dep oylodu arstan.
      Arstan koyondu öltüröyün dep jatkanda, bir kiyik tigi tarapka çurkadı. Arstan aç köz bolup kaldı. Kiçine koyondu emes, çoŋ kiyikti jegen jakşı dep oylodu.#垃圾

    • Holacom
      Holacom 3 months ago +1

      It is definitely hard, you will get one shotted on a regular basis and resource management is a big deal.

    • RatedZeus
      RatedZeus 3 months ago +1

      Just buy it so they start building off this formuma instead of the one you mention. Imagine if shining pearl ends up selling better than this one.

  • matthew thomson
    matthew thomson 3 months ago +7

    The concept and execution is excellent. There's a few buggy things but they'll get ironed out in the coming weeks. You can go at your own pace but if you rush too much you are gonna get your arse handed to you by wild pokemon.

  • Xtranathor
    Xtranathor 3 months ago +3

    Glad to hear that my preorder wasn't wasted! Really happy to see Pokémon move in this direction; I've been wanting Pokémon to move closer to a real time RPG for over 10 years now, and this is pretty close to what I wanted 10 years ago (and kind of looks like it's from 10 years ago too)!

  • Leo M
    Leo M 3 months ago +2

    I hope the next games would follow this direction
    (Or imagine if they remake Pokemon BW similar to this hmm). Either way I am definitely excited to play this game!

  • Come Fast To Get Into My Body

    I can’t wait for this game. Hopefully this is the blueprint for Pokémon games going forward! The future looks bright!

    • Mr l3g3nd
      Mr l3g3nd 3 months ago

      @Hobo Joe Bruh you just responded to a response for a bot

    • Hobo Joe
      Hobo Joe 3 months ago +4

      @Mr. Awesome Bruh you just responded to a bot lmao

    • Mr. Awesome
      Mr. Awesome 3 months ago +1

      Likely a separate leg of the gaming franchise. If Sword and Shield taught us anything it's that Game Freak and The Pokémon Company will not abandon the low cost/high return of the dual version, generation introducing games. Plus there's still the inevitable gen 5 and onward remakes and the potential Let's Go Johto and onward revamps.

  • mewdreamer
    mewdreamer 4 months ago +11

    I'm going to choose Cyndaquil as my starter. It was my very first Pokemon back in the day with Silver, so getting a chance to choose it again in such a new kind of Pokemon game is way too good to pass up. I was not expecting the game to be so highly praised after your last video on it. I know that people have plenty of complaints about recent Pokemon games and I can understand that to a point, but to be quite honest, I've enjoyed the vast majority of main series of Pokemon games, including the recent BD/SP. That being said, Legends Arceus taking the series in a new direction is still really good too. It's kind weird to call this a spin-off. It isn't the typical kind of mainseries game, but it is still developed by Game Freak and will probably be featured whenever they showcase the line of mainseries titles.

    • grandi
      grandi 3 months ago +1

      You will not be disappointed with cindaquil

    • MCheesesushi
      MCheesesushi 3 months ago +1

      From one long-time fan to another: I am just sad/angry they don't use the full potential of the series. It's getting really hard for me these days to defend or enjoy the mainseries.

  • David Medina
    David Medina 3 months ago +14

    I can’t wait! I haven’t been excited for a Pokemon game in many years. I hope this new direction continues in the next main games.

  • statixFEAR
    statixFEAR 3 months ago +9

    It kinda looks like Sword and Shield was the sacrificial lamb in their experimentation with the open world implementation of Pokemon. At least this one looks more polished (Sword and Shield was probably the only Pokemon game I never played). Might actually give this one a try after they sort out some of the technical issues with patch fixes... I'm not usually a fan of day one releases as more often than not there are technical issues to be expected.

    • Johnny Rider
      Johnny Rider 3 months ago

      Whilst they completely failed to make use of the huge increase in power from 3DS to Switch the 8th gen titles were pretty decent. Probably the best mainline titles since gen 4!

    • hessunator
      hessunator 3 months ago +4

      Sword and Shield really isn't that bad at all. Especially with the DLC's, I liked it a lot. Even when compared to the previous gens.

  • Raiyuk
    Raiyuk 4 months ago +847

    I hope this "spin-off" does so well they continue in this direction for the future games. Looks great.

    • Obsessive Compulsive Gamer
      Obsessive Compulsive Gamer 2 months ago

      I wonder if some of these fools just watched the actual Mainline gen 9 that just got announced yesterday... It must suck to be sooooooo fucking wrong 😭

    • occam saturnson
      occam saturnson 3 months ago

      @Philipp Ferkaluk ...? what? why would being a fanboy have anything to do with it? idgaf about pokemon, this is the most promising title in years. But it's pretty clearly a massive deviation from the traditional formula, with a new title... I don't know how you would call that anything but a spinoff

    • Philipp Ferkaluk
      Philipp Ferkaluk 3 months ago

      Fanboys say it’s a spin-off or test

    • occam saturnson
      occam saturnson 3 months ago

      @Tyler Fischer this just seems like an arbitrary word we're using
      like, okay, it's mainline
      but it has its own subtitle and its own setting and style of gameplay and deviates from traditional Pokémon is just about every way
      so... it's functionally a spinoff

    • Mello Lonergan
      Mello Lonergan 3 months ago

      @XL B the Demigod im ok with some of the stuff in this game but I want more of the entire Pokédex and all the badges from all games like give us one big massive game plz with better graphics...

  • Brownie_EXE
    Brownie_EXE 3 months ago +1

    To me, not having a multiplayer is actually a positive. Don't get me run it is fun to battle other people and set up teams but i have been saying that they should focus on single player more for years
    btw, as someone who skipped Sun & Moon, I'm going with Rowlet

  • Wowzern8r
    Wowzern8r 4 months ago +19

    I've been a pretty big Pokemon fan for quite awhile but I feel like compared to the other franchises Pokemon isn't really keeping up. I discovered Dragonquest and was amazed at how much more fun I was having playing that then Pokemon. I was planning on getting this at launch but after hearing all the rumors I decided to get Skyrim for switch instead since I know that'll be a fun experience. Hopefully this game ends up being fun as well. I'm sure I'll play it later on

    • Jaretco
      Jaretco 3 months ago

      And that is amazing considering DQ were the foundation of JRPG'S and still did really well to this day. Not even Final Fantasy hasn't been lived up it's expectations after the PS1 ended.

    • Wowzern8r
      Wowzern8r 3 months ago +2

      Yeah it's becoming more and more apparent. I just hope more people find Dragonquest like I did.

    • SagaciousScallop
      SagaciousScallop 3 months ago +7

      DQ games are developed by people who deeply care about DQ. They never rush

  • bouytt guyt
    bouytt guyt 3 months ago

    I have fallen in love with this game and I’ve only been playing for 6 hours. Such a treat to play.

  • DarkHaven
    DarkHaven 3 months ago

    I also hope that for the next game like this they can improve the graphics even more. Now that they have the skeleton for this system they can improve it even more next time

  • Darkmoon250
    Darkmoon250 4 months ago +287

    It’s a good day for Pokémon fans when Nintendo Life says they had a good time with a new Pokémon title.
    You guys are more critical than most on Pokémon (which is a good thing), so to see such a positive review from this channel has me hyped.

    • Cinnamon
      Cinnamon 3 months ago +1

      @MCheesesushi The score based on players is around 77%, I think that’s a very fair score indeed

    • Cinnamon
      Cinnamon 3 months ago +1

      @IonSquared Arlo will never be bought by companies, that makes his opinions so reliable and trustworthy

    • MCheesesushi
      MCheesesushi 3 months ago

      I was wondering if the score was a little too high but this comment has me convinced!

    • Ultimate 905
      Ultimate 905 3 months ago +6

      @TheLenbax oh don't get me wrong poken is great, I just didn't get why Arlo was so against turn based combat, calling it "outdated".

    • TheLenbax
      TheLenbax 3 months ago

      @Ultimate 905 you call it strange, i call it genius, at least as a spin-off title

  • Sugma Digg
    Sugma Digg 3 months ago +18

    I can’t wait for this game. Hopefully this is the blueprint for Pokémon games going forward! The future looks bright!

  • Blxz
    Blxz 3 months ago

    Haven't played since original Blue and Gen 2 Gold. This might be enough to bring me back to the series seeing as there is actually the first genuinely new take on it in what feels like 20 years.

  • Slim Skink
    Slim Skink 3 months ago

    Going with Cyndaquil as my starter. I’ve already chosen Rowlet and Oshawott in previous games, so I want to give someone else a chance to shine.

  • Trevor Elia
    Trevor Elia 4 months ago +59

    As someone that’s loved Pokémon when it first came out when I was a kid (I’m 33 now) this is what I’ve been waiting for 😊 It doesn’t have to have Breath of the Wild graphics to put a huge grin on my face, because the joy for me is being able to catch and enjoy Pokémon in their natural habitats. I can’t wait to see what direction future main titles of the series are going to take, and I’ll be there for the adventure just like I was when I was a kid. This truly brings joy to my heart and I can’t wait to play it in just a few days 😁😭❤️

    • The Average Man
      The Average Man 3 months ago +1

      As someone of the same age whose played all.of them since then, I have to say i was a little disappointed by the game. I agree it is cool that you can run around and that it's newer with the opener world (it's not really open though), but some tasks feel really repetitive and unrewarding, throwing doesn't work well in the water, sometimes you need to catch the same pokemon multiple times which after 20 catches gets annoying. It's an ok game, but I'm not blown away

    • VectorAlpha 🗸
      VectorAlpha 🗸 3 months ago +1

      really? This looks boring and lame. This is not what I wanted. I'll wait for the next mainline games instead.

    • JENNITA B.O
      JENNITA B.O 3 months ago

      💘 Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la Laamor.Uno
      Megan: "Hotter"
      Hopi: "Sweeter"
      Joonie: "Cooler"
      Yoongi: "Butter"
      Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la lease que escriba bien mamon hay nomas pa ra reirse un rato y no estar triste y estresado.por la vida dura que se vive hoy .
      Köz karaş: ''Taŋ kaldım''
      Erinder: ''Sezimdüü''
      Jılmayuu: ''Tattuuraak''
      Dene: ''Muzdak''
      Jizn, kak krasivaya melodiya, tolko pesni pereputalis.
      Aç köz arstan
      Bul ukmuştuuday ısık kün bolçu, jana arstan abdan açka bolgon.
      Uyunan çıgıp, tigi jer-jerdi izdedi. Al kiçinekey koyondu gana taba algan. Al bir az oylonboy koyondu karmadı. ''Bul koyon menin kursagımdı toyguza albayt'' dep oylodu arstan.
      Arstan koyondu öltüröyün dep jatkanda, bir kiyik tigi tarapka çurkadı. Arstan aç köz bolup kaldı. Kiçine koyondu emes, çoŋ kiyikti jegen jakşı dep oylodu.#垃圾

    • apg313
      apg313 3 months ago +2

      As someone who have been here since the beginning (30yr old) I feel the exact same way. This is the type of Pokémon game we’ve all fantasized about as children. Can’t wait to play this! 😄

  • Vailskibum94
    Vailskibum94 4 months ago +1820

    I have so many problems with the Pokémon franchise, but I truly hope this is a step in a new direction

    • Mello Lonergan
      Mello Lonergan 3 months ago

      its new but bad, sadly its boring, "go here catch 15 of this guy unlock new area repeat, its essentially a monster hunter ripoff and a bad one

    • Yusei255
      Yusei255 3 months ago

      PLA is it's own thing, so games moving forward aren't gonna be in the same style or be just like PLA.

    • Deltath Riylaan
      Deltath Riylaan 3 months ago

      @ExZed Good choice.

    • ExZed
      ExZed 3 months ago +1

      Went to the store to pick it up, left with Monster Hunter Rise instead.

    • Jaretco
      Jaretco 3 months ago

      If this gets an sequel, than I just hope we get something similar but in Unova and improved on. I rather had that instead of just having an actual Gen. 5 remake if I'm being 100% honest.

  • Ben The Digger
    Ben The Digger 3 months ago

    It’s the first Pokémon game in a long time that I have genuinely been excited for. Really glad to here all the reviews are positive!

  • Amir Garcia
    Amir Garcia 3 months ago

    Even if I quite enjoyed BD/SP and Sword/Shield despite their shortcomings, they clearly lacked something that was in the previous Pokémon games and just felt rushed out the door to meet an arbitrary deadline. Whereas this game feels like the first Pokémon game to truly make use of its new hardware, instead of feeling like a DS/3DS game but with 3D visuals. I’m glad that it seems to be reviewing well among people, including yourself, since this game took a big risk that seems to be paying off well after 25 years of more or less the same formula. And I entirely can’t wait to play it in only two days BABEY!👌🏽

  • NoobieSnake
    NoobieSnake 3 months ago +1

    Thanks for the awesome review! And finally! Someone pronouncing Arceus’ name the way it is in Japanese. 👍🏻

  • o_k
    o_k 3 months ago

    I have fallen in love with this game and I’ve only been playing for 6 hours. Such a treat to play.

  • Martin
    Martin 4 months ago +410

    I haven't been super excited for a Pokemon game in a while, but I preordered this not too long back as it seemed very unique. Having watched this review, Friday can't come soon enough!

    • Talirar
      Talirar 3 months ago

      So whats your first thoughts? I'm quite enjoying it so far. I've already put probably 5 hrs or so into it

    • Charles Roberts-Moses
      Charles Roberts-Moses 3 months ago

      @Blake McCracken you sometimes get bonuses and it ensures you will get a copy. If you pre-order a digital copy, it will download as soon as it releases so you can play it as soon as possible

    • Blake McCracken
      Blake McCracken 3 months ago

      What’s the point of preordering?

    • Charles Roberts-Moses
      Charles Roberts-Moses 3 months ago +1

      Right? I’ve never really been interested in the Pokémon video games but I just preordered this one. It will be my first!

    • JENNITA B.O
      JENNITA B.O 3 months ago +1

      💘 Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la Laamor.Uno
      Megan: "Hotter"
      Hopi: "Sweeter"
      Joonie: "Cooler"
      Yoongi: "Butter"
      Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la lease que escriba bien mamon hay nomas pa ra reirse un rato y no estar triste y estresado.por la vida dura que se vive hoy .
      Köz karaş: ''Taŋ kaldım''
      Erinder: ''Sezimdüü''
      Jılmayuu: ''Tattuuraak''
      Dene: ''Muzdak''
      Jizn, kak krasivaya melodiya, tolko pesni pereputalis.
      Aç köz arstan
      Bul ukmuştuuday ısık kün bolçu, jana arstan abdan açka bolgon.
      Uyunan çıgıp, tigi jer-jerdi izdedi. Al kiçinekey koyondu gana taba algan. Al bir az oylonboy koyondu karmadı. ''Bul koyon menin kursagımdı toyguza albayt'' dep oylodu arstan.
      Arstan koyondu öltüröyün dep jatkanda, bir kiyik tigi tarapka çurkadı. Arstan aç köz bolup kaldı. Kiçine koyondu emes, çoŋ kiyikti jegen jakşı dep oylodu.#垃圾

  • JunkyVirus
    JunkyVirus 3 months ago

    This the only game I've gotten really hyped about for years. And I was very sceptic until the game was leaked and I could see more gameplay and how it looks and plays. This is going to be a great game.

  • Jacob Denver
    Jacob Denver 3 months ago

    I’m 4 hours in and an absolutely loving the game so far! I bought sword and shield and all the other Pokémon games that have come out for the switch and was worried Pokémon was just not going to be fun anymore.
    This game has seriously changed my mind on that and I couldn’t be happier to be in love with Pokémon all over again!

    • John Gat
      John Gat 3 months ago

      Its very repetitive i beat the game the game is a new take but gamefreak makes the same mistakes and kills the enjoyment of the game

  • DaddyGamer Fred
    DaddyGamer Fred 3 months ago +1

    Correction: Gamefreak said that Pokémon Legends Arceus is a mainline series game. Not a spin off.
    Hopefully they continue to work on this style and build upon this and add more multipleplayer like battles and ways to run around in the world with other players like sword and sheld

  • Timothy Farley of Armbar Audio

    I love this game so far, I hope we get more legend games

  • The Somber Gamer
    The Somber Gamer 4 months ago +377

    I can’t wait for this game. Hopefully this is the blueprint for Pokémon games going forward! The future looks bright!

    • Rm Rm
      Rm Rm 3 months ago +1

      I agree, been waiting for pokemon to go more real time action animations on the fight scenes. It's a huge step forward.

    • Jeolban
      Jeolban 3 months ago +1

      @kaoticiron513 Yeah, tell me the last time you heard about Pokémon Ranger, Pokémon Mystery Dungeon, and the other spin-off titles selling so well.

    • SagaciousScallop
      SagaciousScallop 3 months ago +1

      @ThomastheDankEngine8900 only Redditors care about Redditors' opinions

    • VectorAlpha 🗸
      VectorAlpha 🗸 3 months ago

      God I hope not. This looks boring and lame. I hope they don't make the mainline games like this.

    • kaoticiron513
      kaoticiron513 3 months ago

      @Jeolban lol it's going to sell well its a pokemon game..

  • IcelotX
    IcelotX 3 months ago

    This just reminds me how fast time goes, and indeed it just gets better and better, soon it will be just more than we expected.

  • thatguyecoli
    thatguyecoli 4 months ago +6

    The gameplay seems super exciting. Hopefully they keep improving their visuals.

    • Mega Million
      Mega Million 3 months ago +4

      Honestly! I'm especially tired of fans forgiving bad visuals with the notion that Pokémon has never "been about graphics." Whatever that even means, it's a franchise that has always attempted to look beautiful on whatever system it occupied. I'd just like for it to stay that way!

  • okapi
    okapi 3 months ago

    I love Pokémon, even the recent entries. This might be the most excited I’ve been for any game in over a decade. Friday cannot come soon enough!

  • Sebby
    Sebby 3 months ago +1

    I haven’t played a Pokémon game in 5 years, just because of how stale and cheap the games have been getting. I’m glad that this seems like a breath of fresh air! Looking forward to copping it in a couple days.

  • Kerry Gligorovic
    Kerry Gligorovic 3 months ago +1

    Pokémon Legends: Arceus is very different from the other past Pokemon games because sometime a trainer need to dodge a wild Pokemon's attack instead the usual Pokemon battle to weaken a wild Pokemon before catching it. Watch some of the video on TheXvid of how to dodge even the legendary Pokemon like Palkia, Dialga, Giratina and Arceus is really hard as it reminds me one of Nintendo sitch games like Zelda and Mario.

  • Christiano Silva
    Christiano Silva 3 months ago

    I really hope it is good!
    I'm waiting for some more reviews.
    The last great game (and best pokemon game still to this day, imo) was Silver.

  • Being Dad
    Being Dad 3 months ago

    This just made me more excited and pumped!! Hoping Pokemon and Nintendo continue with this direction of games and just build upon it

  • DragoonMyuutsu
    DragoonMyuutsu 3 months ago

    I can't wait to get my copy very soon and I can already predict I'll play it more than my copy of BoTW. My starter is definitely going to be Cyndaquil.

  • Devan Olson
    Devan Olson 3 months ago

    I don’t think this will be the next botw (or even close), but I do think it’s a massive step in the right direction for the franchise. Now if only they could add another year between releases and the development team could take their time and make sure they get things right.

  • JuThrone
    JuThrone 3 months ago

    I am so damn excited for this game and I think this will grow to be my most played switch game, really looking forward to tomorrow

  • mas8705
    mas8705 3 months ago

    Definitely a nice first take on mixing up the overall formula of Pokémon. Not perfect by any means, but if we were to see a legends sequel, I might actually consider it.

  • Ryan Lei
    Ryan Lei 4 months ago

    I am so ridiculously excited for this game. Around 4 months ago I was addicted to breath of the wild and after finishing botw, i am addicted to pokemon unite now. This is perfect.

  • DraftsNCrafts
    DraftsNCrafts 4 months ago +162

    Honestly, I'm more than happy that they've ditched any multiplayer components if it would've come at the cost of watering down the game's single player mechanics. Let this be a solely single player game that they can double down on.

    • Vanderbam
      Vanderbam 3 months ago

      Yep always hated all the random multi-player add-ins with a passion. Immersion-breaking and annoying.

    • Dustin Martell
      Dustin Martell 3 months ago

      Yeah if they wanted to do like a multiplayer safari zone kind of thing where you can hang out with your friends and catch stuff together that would be cool to add but definitely not necessary glad they focused on single player

    • JENNITA B.O
      JENNITA B.O 3 months ago

      💘 Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la Laamor.Uno
      Megan: "Hotter"
      Hopi: "Sweeter"
      Joonie: "Cooler"
      Yoongi: "Butter"
      Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la lease que escriba bien mamon hay nomas pa ra reirse un rato y no estar triste y estresado.por la vida dura que se vive hoy .
      Köz karaş: ''Taŋ kaldım''
      Erinder: ''Sezimdüü''
      Jılmayuu: ''Tattuuraak''
      Dene: ''Muzdak''
      Jizn, kak krasivaya melodiya, tolko pesni pereputalis.
      Aç köz arstan
      Bul ukmuştuuday ısık kün bolçu, jana arstan abdan açka bolgon.
      Uyunan çıgıp, tigi jer-jerdi izdedi. Al kiçinekey koyondu gana taba algan. Al bir az oylonboy koyondu karmadı. ''Bul koyon menin kursagımdı toyguza albayt'' dep oylodu arstan.
      Arstan koyondu öltüröyün dep jatkanda, bir kiyik tigi tarapka çurkadı. Arstan aç köz bolup kaldı. Kiçine koyondu emes, çoŋ kiyikti jegen jakşı dep oylodu.#垃圾

    • XDarkEcho
      XDarkEcho 3 months ago +5

      I second this thought. If they wanna add multiplayer as DLC or for a sequel, let's hopefully they do it around what they've set up for how the game operates. Instead of typical regular 1v1 battles, make it a PvEvP type challenge, relying on teams and tackling challenges to accumulate points, or something.

  • Ruby47
    Ruby47 3 months ago

    i love the new system, hoping they still use this in the future with other system added.
    and graphics ( ik it doesnt matter but... why not )

  • TheMorbidHobo
    TheMorbidHobo 3 months ago +26

    Played it for about 6 hours so far, having throughly explored the first two areas, and all but the volcano in the third area.
    The game explored a lot of interesting ideas, but ultimately the gameplay is grindy and stale, and it really does not feel rewarding to evolve most mons yourself as most evolutions can be found in the wild pretty commonly. The lack of progress-stopping battles should have been replaced by puzzles, but it just isn't. Ride mons are introduced way too quick, especially with wyndeer's jump that can be easilly used to mountain climb which reveals a sad truth: there is very little reward for exploration. See that mountain? You can climb it... But you have absolutely no reason to as there is nothing there. It's just such a waste of opprotunity to do something like New Pokemon Snap where you complete psudopuzzles to find new pokemon to expand your research notes.
    Update: I played through the rest of the game. My opinion has not changed. It is still very much a bunch of interesting ideas that just aren't explored very well/much.

    • Kyle
      Kyle 3 months ago

      @Jim Parker Why on earth does it matter?

    • Jim Parker
      Jim Parker 3 months ago

      @TheMorbidHobo just ‘Pokémon’ will do thanks

    • Nuper
      Nuper 3 months ago

      I was hoping they would have other things to do in the game to flesh the world out. This would be the perfect game for the Pokemon snap idea.

    • TheMorbidHobo
      TheMorbidHobo 3 months ago

      @Jim Parker is "mon" more accurate, then?

    • Jim Parker
      Jim Parker 3 months ago

      Don’t ever say ‘mons’ again please. Thank you

  • The Nailsage Of Geo
    The Nailsage Of Geo 3 months ago +7

    Glad to hear that you all liked the game. I am still hesitant and plan on waiting for reviews from more familiar sources, but this makes me more optimistic than I was an hour ago. I think that the real determining factor for me will be how strong the story is, and how strong the characters are in this game, as well as how you interact with them. If it’s just normal “talk to named NPC to get one of a handful of lines”, I will definitely be disappointed, as I really want the world to feel… well, real. Anyway, that’s my two brain cells’ thoughts on the matter.

    • Darío Kalen
      Darío Kalen 3 months ago

      @angeldude101 which review was it? Could you link it so I can watch it as well? If you don't mind.

    • angeldude101
      angeldude101 3 months ago +1

      I can definitely say that this review is the polar opposite of the previous one I watched.

    • Darío Kalen
      Darío Kalen 3 months ago

      Same

  • Andrew Wilson
    Andrew Wilson 4 months ago +1

    WOH did not expect such a great review, this is promising!

  • Chaserbeastofblades
    Chaserbeastofblades 4 months ago +298

    I swear I'm going to be playing this everyday until Pokemon Day. I hear the shiny rates in this game are great so I'll be catching as many as I can.

    • Darkaria668
      Darkaria668 3 months ago

      @Philip Sparks nah i would have been just as pisses off too mustve been confusing af and gg keep up the grind

    • Philip Sparks
      Philip Sparks 3 months ago

      @Darkaria668 youre good, I got hostile too so I apologize. Btw I caught a shiny roselia yesterday and i was beyond hype

    • Darkaria668
      Darkaria668 3 months ago

      @Philip Sparks i think your names might have been similar so i kept thinking originally you were the one pissed off about it im sorry

    • Darkaria668
      Darkaria668 3 months ago

      @Philip Sparks ok so i was arguing sort of with the wrong person there was originally a person pisses off about there being given a free shiny in this game i meant to prove a point that they have done this in three of the past games so why would they be mad about this one and ignore the other one sorry 😞 pretty sure they deleted their comment

    • Eemeli Ehrnrooth
      Eemeli Ehrnrooth 3 months ago

      After 7 hours I've found 0 shinys :D so not sure how high the rate is

  • Philminator
    Philminator 3 months ago +1

    Wish there was an option to have enemies scale to your level. I have roaming a world where everything can be 1 shotted.

  • Christoffer Nordborg
    Christoffer Nordborg 3 months ago

    I can’t wait for this game. Hopefully this is the blueprint for Pokémon games going forward! The future looks bright!

  • DarkHaven
    DarkHaven 3 months ago

    I hope from now on we have a mix of this and the classic Pokémon games. So after this we get gen 9 then we get another legends game set in a different region or they could make gen 9 similar to this but with online battles

  • Thine own mother
    Thine own mother 3 months ago +1

    My best way of describing the pokemon series is that they always seem to be making games that would be amazing had they been made 5 years ago for a previous console.
    It's half way there to being a switch game.

  • The Least Likely Gents
    The Least Likely Gents 3 months ago

    This is the Pokemon game I've been waiting for for 10 years. I'd be happy if they left the old archaic menu based designs behind and continued forward in this style as the mainline series

  • Donte Francis
    Donte Francis 3 months ago +1

    This game literally looks like the Pokémon game I dreamed of one day having when I was younger

  • gregor clegane
    gregor clegane 3 months ago

    in terms of graphics i think its gonna look perfectly fine on the portable version. But on docked version especially on bigger Tvs the texture quality and graphics probably not gonna look as good.

  • Marcus Randolph
    Marcus Randolph 3 months ago

    I was excited when this was announced, glad it turned out excellent. I'll definitely be picking this up and dusting off my Switch, which we had more powerful hardware to make up for the performance issues. But Nintendo gonna Nintendo 🤷🏾‍♂️

  • ua
    ua 3 months ago

    I'm started playing it and I love it finally a open world with alot to do. Finally pokemon has gone much better, I haven't finish this one and I'm already can't wait for the next one

  • Markspc
    Markspc 3 months ago +2

    Played the game 7HRS STRAIGHT it's fun and you forget about the graphics really quickly it's an amazing game with interesting characters, fun and entertaining side quests and addicting pokemon hunting

  • bubblyeo
    bubblyeo 4 months ago +3

    Choosing Oshawott as the starter! Although I've had it pre-ordered for a long time, I was admittedly a little nervous. But from the review I feel a lot better! Thank you for being so in-depth, I didn't even think about some of the things you mentioned until now. Roll on Friday!

    • Rosy
      Rosy 3 months ago +1

      I also choose oshawott too!

  • Jorge
    Jorge 3 months ago

    Finally a fresh game from ge freak. I really hope it does well, this could change everything for the main line Pokemon games!

  • Hinatsu
    Hinatsu 4 months ago +100

    the new mechanics are what we needed in the series decades ago, talking about the combat system, it is the right direction in my opinion.
    and the most important, this is the hardest pokemon game since black and white and i am glad (it is not an insanely hard pokemon, just not as easy as the other 3d games) , the strategy component is more present here.
    complete the pokedex is challenging and rewarding, i am sure this is not for everyone, but for those that enjoy doing this can say it is one of the best implemented until now

    • Aaron Juntilla
      Aaron Juntilla 3 months ago

      jus giving my opinion but the combat system kinda sucks. it's really boring because it's almost exactly the same as the mainline games. it slows down the game really hard and strong style and agile style are so uninteresting.

    • JENNITA B.O
      JENNITA B.O 3 months ago

      💘 Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la Laamor.Uno
      Megan: "Hotter"
      Hopi: "Sweeter"
      Joonie: "Cooler"
      Yoongi: "Butter"
      Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la lease que escriba bien mamon hay nomas pa ra reirse un rato y no estar triste y estresado.por la vida dura que se vive hoy .
      Köz karaş: ''Taŋ kaldım''
      Erinder: ''Sezimdüü''
      Jılmayuu: ''Tattuuraak''
      Dene: ''Muzdak''
      Jizn, kak krasivaya melodiya, tolko pesni pereputalis.
      Aç köz arstan
      Bul ukmuştuuday ısık kün bolçu, jana arstan abdan açka bolgon.
      Uyunan çıgıp, tigi jer-jerdi izdedi. Al kiçinekey koyondu gana taba algan. Al bir az oylonboy koyondu karmadı. ''Bul koyon menin kursagımdı toyguza albayt'' dep oylodu arstan.
      Arstan koyondu öltüröyün dep jatkanda, bir kiyik tigi tarapka çurkadı. Arstan aç köz bolup kaldı. Kiçine koyondu emes, çoŋ kiyikti jegen jakşı dep oylodu.#垃圾

    • Andrew L
      Andrew L 3 months ago +2

      @Hinatsu that’s just a popular misconception. All of the Pokémon games have been easy. Especially the first few. The reason you feel like it was harder, is because at the time you played it the internet probably wasn’t a big thing, and you didn’t have a guide to explain anything to you, or know where to go or what the items are. If you replayed it now then it would be easier than ultra sun/moon, black and white 2 and some others

    • Josh Allen the GOAT
      Josh Allen the GOAT 3 months ago +1

      @Hinatsu I mean, Pokémon has never really been challenging. Some rpgs if you're struggling on a fight you may decide to formulate a new strategy, Pokémon is pretty much just go level up some more for the 99% of us casuals.

  • TomTheTruckdriver
    TomTheTruckdriver 3 months ago

    Loving the game so far! What a concept

  • SSilverJJ
    SSilverJJ 3 months ago

    A great and honest review ! Well played

  • Tyson Manley
    Tyson Manley 3 months ago +1

    I have put 20 hours into this game and my wife has done 12. The feeling of discovery and accomplishment in this game is phenomenal, fresh, and exciting

    • Julian Tijerina
      Julian Tijerina 3 months ago

      Who cares if it looks ugly as long as it’s fun!

  • Lyks Zyxer
    Lyks Zyxer 3 months ago

    I have to admit, that style of gameplay looks like what I imagined pokemon games to be like before I ever played one in 1999 when I only knew the anime. Does that mean I will like it more than the games from that period of time? Probably not, but it will probably be great fun.

  • Andre Thinks
    Andre Thinks 3 months ago

    I hope in the next game they go further in this direction and have more animations during battles like Pokémon dodging attacks causing yours to miss

  • Wurzelbert84 Wucher
    Wurzelbert84 Wucher 3 months ago

    When I saw the first trailer I somehow knew, that this game will be great. I am really excited for it.

  • Ben M
    Ben M 3 months ago

    Yes! So glad it got such a great review!!! Bring on Friday and cyndaquil 🙌🏼

  • Dragonator
    Dragonator 3 months ago +1

    If we do get another legends game it should have Zekrom, reshiram and kyrurem in their completed form

  • Willy G
    Willy G 3 months ago

    This is the first Pokémon I’m going to play since Emerald. They finally took the risk and changed up the formula, my body is ready!!

  • Wolfbandit
    Wolfbandit 3 months ago +1

    I’m hearing so much great things about this game. I’ll be buying my hard copy soon on payday :3

  • Luliby
    Luliby 3 months ago

    I knew that this review would be coming. I was waiting for it.
    So I'm happy to see this review find the game to be good. I was hoping that I'd be going out and picking it up on Friday, and it looks like I shall be. :D

  • dcoog anml
    dcoog anml 3 months ago

    This is a first step. A step in a new direction for the franchise and I couldn't be more happy.

  • Hinatsu
    Hinatsu 4 months ago +71

    what blowed my mind is that if a pokemon can use only 4 moves like always, your pokemon never forgets the other moves, is like having moves in background that are not used and you can swap easily with the main moves
    my thyplosion has like 20 moves and i can swap them when i am checking the stats

    • Kirin
      Kirin 3 months ago

      @supercool cakes Interesting idea I hadn't considered yet. I think your idea definitely could work if executed correctly, however I personally am fine with the 4 move limit. However, the last thing I want is Pokemon to be further stagnated, so perhaps it would be better to change the system further in the future. Thanks for sharing your opinion.

    • supercool cakes
      supercool cakes 3 months ago

      @Kirin maybe. but the battle system never evolves, and as stupid as the anime is, it doesnt limit the pokemon to 4 moves, thereby letting even relatively weaker unevolved pokemon do better in battle. And if they let you have more moves, it doesnt mean you'd have to use all of them. It would just be nice to use a pokemons full moveset rather than have to decide if a pokemon gets solar beam or hyper beam.

    • Kirin
      Kirin 3 months ago

      @supercool cakes Uhh, no. I'm normally never someone to defend gamefreak, but the 4 move limit isn't because of laziness. It's a gameplay decision. So you can't have dozens of moves at your disposal at once.

    • supercool cakes
      supercool cakes 3 months ago

      Pokemon can only have 4 moves because gamefreak are too stupid to design a menu that allows you to click or scroll down and select other moves.

    • Baniknik
      Baniknik 3 months ago +6

      They don't forget moves? You can change the loadout of the moves? That is definitely something to consider!

  • Dame
    Dame 3 months ago +1

    This was a perfect opportunity for voice acting and a great story

  • Quyen Tran
    Quyen Tran 3 months ago +2

    I hope this "spin-off" does so well they continue in this direction for the future games. Looks great.

  • Mark T
    Mark T 3 months ago

    Great review. So excited for this game

  • roy king
    roy king 3 months ago

    Pre-ordered it a while ago without a second thought and I knew I made the right choice. I'm super excited to see what this game has to show !

  • Valmar
    Valmar 4 months ago +36

    I'm playing through it now. It's been pretty great. Not perfect or anything, but definitely the best since Gen 5

    • Totally Late
      Totally Late 3 months ago

      same it's fun

    • JENNITA B.O
      JENNITA B.O 3 months ago

      💘 Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la Laamor.Uno
      Megan: "Hotter"
      Hopi: "Sweeter"
      Joonie: "Cooler"
      Yoongi: "Butter"
      Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la lease que escriba bien mamon hay nomas pa ra reirse un rato y no estar triste y estresado.por la vida dura que se vive hoy .
      Köz karaş: ''Taŋ kaldım''
      Erinder: ''Sezimdüü''
      Jılmayuu: ''Tattuuraak''
      Dene: ''Muzdak''
      Jizn, kak krasivaya melodiya, tolko pesni pereputalis.
      Aç köz arstan
      Bul ukmuştuuday ısık kün bolçu, jana arstan abdan açka bolgon.
      Uyunan çıgıp, tigi jer-jerdi izdedi. Al kiçinekey koyondu gana taba algan. Al bir az oylonboy koyondu karmadı. ''Bul koyon menin kursagımdı toyguza albayt'' dep oylodu arstan.
      Arstan koyondu öltüröyün dep jatkanda, bir kiyik tigi tarapka çurkadı. Arstan aç köz bolup kaldı. Kiçine koyondu emes, çoŋ kiyikti jegen jakşı dep oylodu.#垃圾

  • CHITUS💙⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻

    I swear I'm going to be playing this everyday until Pokemon Day. I hear the shiny rates in this game are great so I'll be catching as many as I can.

  • CiscoTho
    CiscoTho 3 months ago

    Whoa that’s some high praise! If the game is this well-received from other reviews I’m swoopin it up asap!

  • LetniM
    LetniM 3 months ago

    Im really curious about this game but also conflicted .
    I love the new ideas and features , a great breath of fresh air from the old format , but I know that Game freak could have done way better with technical stuff if they JUST GAVE IT ANOTHER YEAR !!!!

  • SeaMarie
    SeaMarie 3 months ago

    I'm actually looking forward to this! I'm not getting it yet, because I just got into the series a month ago, terrible for a 90s kid. I'm still working on Sword at the moment, which is plenty for me for now!

  • razzlejazzled
    razzlejazzled 3 months ago +2

    The early reviews are very positive, and that's encouraging. I'll be waiting a couple of weeks to get the general consensus of players before deciding if I purchase or not, but I'm cautiously optimistic thus far.

  • Kathryn M.
    Kathryn M. 3 months ago

    These press reviews I've seen seem mostly positive, I may set aside some money for this game. Like that Ponyta is an early encounter, want it on my team.

  • JayKnight93
    JayKnight93 3 months ago +1

    I just worry if there will be enough meaningful battles. Either way, could be a great stepping stone for future games

    • JENNITA B.O
      JENNITA B.O 3 months ago

      💘 Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la Laamor.Uno
      Megan: "Hotter"
      Hopi: "Sweeter"
      Joonie: "Cooler"
      Yoongi: "Butter"
      Asi con toy y sus mañas no se la lease que escriba bien mamon hay nomas pa ra reirse un rato y no estar triste y estresado.por la vida dura que se vive hoy .
      Köz karaş: ''Taŋ kaldım''
      Erinder: ''Sezimdüü''
      Jılmayuu: ''Tattuuraak''
      Dene: ''Muzdak''
      Jizn, kak krasivaya melodiya, tolko pesni pereputalis.
      Aç köz arstan
      Bul ukmuştuuday ısık kün bolçu, jana arstan abdan açka bolgon.
      Uyunan çıgıp, tigi jer-jerdi izdedi. Al kiçinekey koyondu gana taba algan. Al bir az oylonboy koyondu karmadı. ''Bul koyon menin kursagımdı toyguza albayt'' dep oylodu arstan.
      Arstan koyondu öltüröyün dep jatkanda, bir kiyik tigi tarapka çurkadı. Arstan aç köz bolup kaldı. Kiçine koyondu emes, çoŋ kiyikti jegen jakşı dep oylodu.#垃圾