Google Pixel 3a review: It's plastic, and it's fantastic

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 5, 2019
  • Thanks to dbrand for supporting the channel: dbrand.com/AP
    Want to sponsor the next Android Police video? Get in touch: videosponsor@androidpolice.com.
    Google's Pixel 3a is a couple different things. For one, it undercuts the competition by offering a phone with the bare essentials and one of the best, if not the best camera in a smartphone, for just $399. And two, it fixes some of the issues we had with the Pixel 3 XL. Oh, and it has a headphone jack. It's very good, and you should buy it.
    ▶ Visit us at www.androidpolice.com
    ▶ Circle us on Google+ plus.google.com/+AndroidPolice
    ▶ Follow us on Twitter at AndroidPolice
    ▶ Like us on Facebook at AndroidPolice
    ▶ Subscribe to the RSS feed at www.androidpolice.com/feed




    Background tracks by:
    DJ Grumble - bit.ly/2hShtN1
    LAKEY INSPIRED - bit.ly/1OAApVv
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 626

  • Himanshu Gera
    Himanshu Gera 12 days ago

    White or black colour varient
    Pls choose one, I can't decide 😌

    • Arjya Das
      Arjya Das 5 days ago

      I went with the white one. The power button looks dope :P

  • david tran
    david tran 13 days ago

    Do I need a screen protector?

  • PretentiousBrownie
    PretentiousBrownie 14 days ago +1

    This is such an exciting device! I'm getting ready to move on from my iPhone 8 Plus and right now, the 3a and 3a XL just seem like a wonderful move for me!

  • Kuttan Kuttan
    Kuttan Kuttan 14 days ago +1

    Actually none of the flag ships all around the globe worth more than 499$.. Can you guys from 90's and before do believe that a phone costs several hundred bucks.. Just a waste of money lol

  • One
    One 15 days ago

    I wonder if Nokia 7.2 is better than this !

  • chad murphy
    chad murphy 17 days ago

    Thanks for the review! Is the video quality of the pixel 3 a equivalent to the video quality of the pixel 3?

  • Rune Brændgaard
    Rune Brændgaard 19 days ago

    Had my 3a for about a month and everything this guy is saying is legit - this phone should be a game changer! Only reason why majority of people don't own this phone is ignorance. Stop throwing +1000 dollars after Apple and other greedy companies that deliver mediocre phones for absurd amount of money! Kudos to Google for getting back to the Nexus-mindset...the old Pixels were overpriced like the rest of them "flagship" phones but the 3a is a marvel of tech for more than reasonable price - can't recommend it enough!!

  • sanisterr
    sanisterr 21 day ago

    BROO it looks so ugly

  • Paul H
    Paul H 26 days ago

    A shit phone a high price - not bad

  • Scott R
    Scott R 26 days ago

    Google can make a price like that because they make billions every where else.

  • Luke Thompson
    Luke Thompson Month ago

    You should at least get a screen protector for it. The dragontail glass doesn't protect it from cracks/scratches very well at all. I've already scratched and cracked my pixel. :'(

  • Paolo Ariedo
    Paolo Ariedo Month ago

    How's this compare against the Mi 9T Pro, though?
    $399 for a flagship camera, or $399 for flagship CPU? What would be better for the long-term?

  • Deelon Musk
    Deelon Musk Month ago +3

    I think me and your dad have a lot in common

  • Nolan Robertson
    Nolan Robertson Month ago

    no mention of video?

  • Steven Penny
    Steven Penny Month ago

    3a is EPIC...

  • 「ᴋᴏʀᴇᴋᴏ」

    Why are people paying 1000$ for phones I can play frickin game cube games on this phone that's amazing why would you need more most people don't need that much power frick I bet most people could use a s4 in 2019

  • neil hetherington
    neil hetherington Month ago

    The bezels look like a phone from a couple of years ago

  • gphillimo
    gphillimo Month ago +1

    Gigantic bezels, no SD card, plastic, 1080p, ugly. Strong pass 🤮

    • gphillimo
      gphillimo Month ago

      @-- I just got a brand new unlocked G8 Thinq for $295. Much better deal to me than $349 for a great camera but everything else is below average.

    • --
      -- Month ago

      349 budget phone best camera in the world and all day battery

  • Kate N
    Kate N Month ago

    :) :) :) Get $50 to spend in the Google Store when you buy a Pixel 3a/3a XL from Google Store. use code :
    B-YV9E3YQHTUYTNTSDHWDOJ73

  • Pacific Ocean
    Pacific Ocean Month ago +1

    it is plastic just like man united fans

  • Eike Muller
    Eike Muller Month ago

    E-sim option??? (dual sim feature by "downloading" the second sim data from the network server!) Nobody is explaining anything about this bloody hidden e-sim option! First of all, I've never ever heard of this before, like many others. Second, for me this hidden e-sim makes this telephone much more interesting because I'm always looking for dual sim devices. Technically spoken I really like this Pixel 3a, but since nobody is explaining this completely hidden dualsim option I was changing my mind about this great phone. Sometimes I really dont understand why certain features are left aside by many reviewers. This way people might not make the right decision because we actually don't know what phones are truely capable of. Please review this hidden e-sim option as well! For me it makes a huge difference! Thank you!

  • TooFly4ASiuMai
    TooFly4ASiuMai Month ago

    Watching this with my 4 week old 3a. I've gone from XR, to Pocophone F1, to Note 9 and now to 3a and I've not looked back since. No lag, great camera, does what it says it'll do and what I ask it to do, battery life is insane. Goodbye Apple and Samsung lmao

  • TheCoffeeAddict
    TheCoffeeAddict 2 months ago

    The 3a is far from a device lacking. The experience left me wanting or missing nothing! Then factor in price...can't speak badly about 3a at all. Never said this about any flagship phone. Every $800+ phone I've owned fell short in several places at least. Any non-positive reviews are biased or sponsored by Apple.

  • Jesus Chatham
    Jesus Chatham 2 months ago +2

    I love to see Pixel 3a reviews videos on my Pixel 3a. The phone is really great.

  • Laura Rodriguez
    Laura Rodriguez 2 months ago

    Nice video! I want the 3a!!!!

  • David Martrano
    David Martrano 2 months ago

    These phones were designed for the average Tom, Dick & Mary. OLED display, stereo speakers, the camera which is definitely the best in the classroom. 399.00, not to shabby. They are both worth the money. The Nexus6p & 5x had a baby, the 3a!

  • Lazaretto boi 3
    Lazaretto boi 3 2 months ago

    This phone is epic

  • Khritikal
    Khritikal 2 months ago

    Just bought white pixel 3a and honesty it's all you need in a phone but the one thing that makes this phone is the camera it takes just stunning pictures and I mean stunning the detail and life like colours u get are unreal

  • Danielle Voiculescu
    Danielle Voiculescu 2 months ago

    Google gave me a code to share with a friend. I got my Pixel 3a XL a month ago and I am very happy. Longer battery life than Samsung S8 and S9 and I think the camera is better, too. Good for everything except intense gaming or if you need a ton of storage on your phone. It comes with 64GB and you get unlimited high quality photo storage on Google photos. Just thought I would share.
    I love my Pixel 3a and I think you will too, so here’s an exclusive $50 to spend in the Google Store when you buy a Pixel 3a.
    Just enter code B-XK2MBK0THXOLF2QZS8S9QYO at checkout, valid through August 31, 2019.

  • LEEDAQ
    LEEDAQ 2 months ago

    majority people buys case... i hate glass back it's just asking to break one day

  • Skunky Stinkerson
    Skunky Stinkerson 2 months ago +1

    in my opinion, Sony's mid-range phone, the Xperia xa2 ultra, is a way better phone in every aspect, after switching from Sony to the Google pixel, the pixel makes me feel like I'm on a low-end phone again (equivalent to that of my former $100 Alcatel), the pixel screen brightness is horrendous, the sound quality is horrible, the colors are not good.. and despite the xa2 ultra and the pixel being made out of plastic, the pixel feels like a cheap phone. I would recommend the Sony line over the pixel any day, Sony makes the best mid-range phones you can get from my own experience, and I regret buying this damn Pixel. and I hate it when videos like this compare mid-range phones and high end phones and then they rant about how the mid-range isn't up to par spec wise as the high end...people need to buy a phone based on their specific use and needs, don't buy a mid-range phone and then complain that spects are not up to par as the high-end phone... if you want a phone that has high-end spec's, then buy one.

  • Yevgen Grygorovych
    Yevgen Grygorovych 2 months ago +1

    The only thing I want to have in this phone is IP67/68 water/dust protection.

  • sayan sarkar
    sayan sarkar 2 months ago

    Your so called "higher end model" like: Pixel 3 sucks in terms of performance after few months (so laggy), pixel lives only because of camera.

  • Nathan C Studios
    Nathan C Studios 2 months ago

    I just lost my LG G5 in a battle and I'm thinking about getting this one. It sounds great but the software looks ugly, especially the app drawer...

  • xtension xward
    xtension xward 2 months ago

    The phone is great but this isn't a review this is straight up advertising !

    enjoy googles money Android Police

  • M R
    M R 2 months ago

    Got a Pixel 3a, and would like to like it. Bigger than expected. Too big. Seriously considering sending it back unused.

  • notstarboard
    notstarboard 2 months ago

    This phone scratches easily, so you slap on a dbrand skin that looks a first glance like broken glass ;)

  • Ankush Choudhary
    Ankush Choudhary 2 months ago

    Wallpaper??

  • David Martrano
    David Martrano 3 months ago

    Why spend a g-whizz when you can buy this. Best in class camera, OLED display, the return of the headphone jack, stereo speakers & the purist of stock android. The average consumers rejoice, this phone was made for the average Tom, Dick & Mary. Yep, Google will sell boatloads of this model?

  • Manjil Xettri
    Manjil Xettri 3 months ago

    Is this phone good for gaming for games like PUBG and PES

  • Gianna Burden
    Gianna Burden 3 months ago +1

    Came out on ny bd

  • 蔡易芳
    蔡易芳 3 months ago

    Is p3 better or p3a....?

  • alcoholic Link
    alcoholic Link 3 months ago

    wow thx I currently have a lg sp200 and my parents say that I can get a mid range phone, you really helped me make my decision on what to get!

  • F ST
    F ST 3 months ago +8

    This is perfecr for me - a stay at home who doesnt really do anything techie or gaming on her phone. My kids love to watch YTKids, Netflix shows and I simply take a ton of pics for photobooks. I dont do wireless charging since I charge at night. I need a headphone jack for my kids' headphones. I simply need something simple but durable! For 400-500? Yes please!

  • Muqri Musa
    Muqri Musa 3 months ago

    The exynos variant is being sold in my country for less. And its the same price as the pixel 3a.

  • Hashim Iqbal
    Hashim Iqbal 3 months ago +1

    what happens after 3 years to these Google smartphones? google stops releasing Android updates to these phones?

  • Leo St.Corsa
    Leo St.Corsa 3 months ago

    My Moto 4e is $50 bucks

  • Jonathan Lopez
    Jonathan Lopez 3 months ago

    Watching this on my screen burn Pixel 2. Might actually have a phone willing to go to. The essentials I love for a great price.

  • dphcMMD
    dphcMMD 3 months ago

    I just replaced my LG G5 with the Google Pixel 3a today. I love it!

    • dphcMMD
      dphcMMD 3 months ago

      @KageManden No, not at the moment

    • KageManden
      KageManden 3 months ago

      Hey thats cool, have you seen or experienced any lag/bugs? or something that is bad about it. Im curious.

  • ARCHER
    ARCHER 3 months ago +1

    POCO PHONE IS A MUCH BETTER DEAL JUST DROP A CUSTOM ROM

    • Real Cyphox
      Real Cyphox 3 months ago

      im sick of trying custom roms, no updates (if you cant go for offical lineage os or alike) and small annoying bugs in every single one of them. ugh.

  • Harry Banda
    Harry Banda 3 months ago +2

    5:55 weird flex but ok

  • Scott Swarbrick
    Scott Swarbrick 3 months ago +1

    Hey guys. Get £40 to spend in the Google store when you buy the new pixel 3a with this new code : B-CARZQ6VDBLEO3CHTW58CKIF

  • 2 D
    2 D 3 months ago

    I put my 3a in a ziploc bag for waterproofing

  • MrOnesession BLa BLUb
    MrOnesession BLa BLUb 3 months ago

    From where you get the wallpapers.they Look good

  • Robert Ramos
    Robert Ramos 3 months ago +1

    Getting my pixel 3a today, my 1st foray into the Google pixel family. I'm so excited for the true google experience

  • Behold The Yeets
    Behold The Yeets 3 months ago +2

    I’m saving up money to buy the 3a! Wish me luck!

  • Behold The Yeets
    Behold The Yeets 3 months ago

    I’m saving up money to buy the 3a! Wish me luck!

  • Explore with Rick Gaming

    I’m a Barbie girl in a Barbie world. You can brush my hair and take me everywhere. I’m made of plastic, it’s fantastic.

  • a guy who has no idea on how to make videos

    And at best buy its only freaking 299$ in my country absolute steal

  • kevin smith
    kevin smith 3 months ago

    im looking to get a new phone, ive had apple phones only and the pixel caught my attention. the 3a looks good to me but what is the actual memory size of the phone? i see they say 64gb on the website but they also so thats before installation. ive been putting off getting a new phone for years, just cant justify the price of new phones that have very little differences from the last one. i think like most people its talk text photos web browsing and facelook i mean book. the onlything holding me back on pulling the trigger is i dont know the actual memory.