iPod touch (7th Gen) unboxing + review: is it worth it?

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 31, 2019
  • Subscribe now ► bit.ly/9to5YT | Special thanks to iFixit for sponsoring 9to5Mac on TheXvid. Get your iFixit Repair Kits today: bit.ly/2Mg73pw
    We go hands-on with the Apple iPod touch 7th generation. How does it stack up to the previous 6th generation iPod touch? Should you buy it over a similar sized device like the iPhone SE?
    Buy new iPod touch 7 from Amazon: amzn.to/2Z6TScr
    Written review: 9to5mac.com/2019/05/31/ipod-touch-2019-7th-generation-review/
    WATCH MORE VIDS... 👀
    Review: 2019 MacBook Pro
    thexvid.com/video/eDReOiywJ20/video.html
    Review: 23.7-inch LG UltraFine Display!
    thexvid.com/video/5akdc_bA2FA/video.html
    Review: Synology MR2200ac mesh router
    thexvid.com/video/Dz73Y3t6azU/video.html
    Review: 2019 5K iMac
    thexvid.com/video/jYUKj42UT8Q/video.html
    Review: Powerbeats Pro
    thexvid.com/video/sJRH11zSMOY/video.html
    Review: Arlo Ultra 4K wireless security camera
    thexvid.com/video/rtoYDZx4YGI/video.html
    Review: $399 Razer Core X Chroma eGPU
    thexvid.com/video/xKWEYjW40kE/video.html
    How to build a Thunderbolt 3 dual 4K ProRes video capture box with Sonnet x Blackmagic hardware!
    thexvid.com/video/BCQtHszy7nw/video.html
    Review: Wireless Charging Case for AirPods
    thexvid.com/video/403UhZZoT-0/video.html
    Which iPad Should You Buy? iPad 6, iPad mini 5, iPad Air 3, or iPad Pro?
    thexvid.com/video/BQuTUk4YQD0/video.html
    Review: Logitech Slim Folio Pro
    thexvid.com/video/7OTol7k6uD8/video.html
    Review: Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Pro Dock
    thexvid.com/video/MxR8opsw5D0/video.html
    How to: 27-inch 5K iMac (2019) 128GB RAM Upgrade - Save $$$!
    thexvid.com/video/WK0Oyt5JCOg/video.html
    Review: iPad Air 3
    thexvid.com/video/4U10wG_GNvg/video.html
    AirPower is DEAD. Apple cancels its wireless charging mat!
    thexvid.com/video/K2pVRVOfldo/video.html
    iOS 12.3 beta 1 changes / features - redesigned TV app!
    thexvid.com/video/5btd7Awr_cg/video.html
    Review: AirPods 2
    thexvid.com/video/UTgtPCFNnH0/video.html
    iOS 12.2 - new Apple News+, new AirPlay features, AirPods support, and more!
    thexvid.com/video/kNm7Pdd12s4/video.html
    Review: LG UltraFine 4K Display with Thunderbolt 3
    thexvid.com/video/kNm7Pdd12s4/video.html
    Galaxy Buds from an AirPods user's perspective
    thexvid.com/video/W2GUCjd5Qy4/video.html
    Galaxy S10+ from an iPhone user's perspective
    thexvid.com/video/5jvw7gUeds4/video.html
    Review: Satechi stand for iMac
    thexvid.com/video/ocBFkRt7XYk/video.html
    iOS 12.2 beta 4 - new changes / features!
    thexvid.com/video/2DXEZYJTwBo/video.html
    My 🎥🎙🖥gear:
    - Sony A7 III: bhpho.to/2nmIRTk
    - Sony FE 16-35mm f/2.8 GM: bhpho.to/2vF0QsI
    - Sony FE 85mm f/1.4 GM: bhpho.to/2M3nKUL
    - Sony FE 90mm f/2.8 Macro G OSS: bhpho.to/2MgKCjN
    - Sony RX100 VA: bhpho.to/2Jeyz5g
    - Atomos Ninja V: bhpho.to/2N8sdCN
    - Sennheiser MKH-416: bhpho.to/2NqYAMu
    - Audio Technica ATH-M50x: bhpho.to/2J5pZpJ
    - Universal Audio Arrow: bhpho.to/2okSa6D
    - Fotodiox 18-inch Flapjack: bhpho.to/2LCjrLc
    - iMac Pro: amzn.to/2UuhOUZ
    - MacBook Air: amzn.to/2NX0XYp
    - iPad Pro: amzn.to/2u0wIXy
    Follow:
    9to5Mac/
    9to5Mac
    JeffBenjam/
    JeffBenjam
    FCPX Plugins by MotionVFX: www.motionvfx.com
    FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links: 9to5mac.com/about/#affiliate
    #ipodtouch #ipod #apple
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 390

  • 9to5Mac
    9to5Mac  6 months ago +275

    What do you think about the new iPod touch 7? Is an A10 Fusion + 2GB of RAM and 256GB of storage enough of an upgrade?

    • Fernando E. de León de Alba
      Fernando E. de León de Alba 21 day ago

      Thanks Apple. For those of us that need music in a dedicated device for being using in the car that can be filled (downloaded for off line playing) with songs on the go through Apple Music, this is heaven. I don’t want to have fiscally downloaded music in my phone for offline music, my phone is for streaming. iPod is for having your music (big collections with some tracks never found in streaming services) every where you go.

    • JP Green
      JP Green Month ago

      I think a big mistake Is this device lacking the ability to take Live Photo’s :(

    • unicorns and rainbows
      unicorns and rainbows Month ago

      Can somebody please get me an iPhone

    • unicorns and rainbows
      unicorns and rainbows Month ago

      Can I please have an eye pod never really had an Apple product before because my mom couldn't afford one 😭

    • Wild Kid
      Wild Kid 2 months ago

      9to5Mac okay

  • GT
    GT 19 hours ago

    It’s overpriced. You can get a used iPhone cheaper that has more specs.

  • phucket01
    phucket01 Day ago

    Who has a ipod first generation and only for music and is musician

  • Daphne Jackson
    Daphne Jackson Day ago

    But what can you say about the sound quality with headphones?

  • Onggi Yeo
    Onggi Yeo 2 days ago

    5:02 what is that game??

  • Khizar Jamadar
    Khizar Jamadar 3 days ago

    I love it

  • XHxneyBeex
    XHxneyBeex 4 days ago

    I’m getting an iPod touch bc my parents say I’m not old enough for a phone but I’m worried that it will be too small

  • Sup Its Kimberly
    Sup Its Kimberly 4 days ago +1

    Ahhh I cant believe apple made a 7th gen ipod!!😂😂😍😍😍😍😍

  • Cherry
    Cherry 7 days ago

    Now it’s the 11 pro max 2019

  • Jayfe Maglinte
    Jayfe Maglinte 7 days ago

    9to5mac can i have your previous ipod touch?ty

  • Bruh Wii
    Bruh Wii 8 days ago

    I’m watching this on an iPod touch

  • sage
    sage 9 days ago

    am i the only one just finding out that there’s a 7th generation ipod touch? i thought 6th was the newest

  • Diego Chávez
    Diego Chávez 10 days ago

    I will miss the wrist strap port from the iPod Touch 5th gen (my current iPod Touch) and btw I CAN'T get and iPhone SE because my mum doesn't let me get a mobile phone until I'm 12 (This is ridiculous, im 11 turning 12 in a week and my mum will not let me have the iPhone 5s my grandpa had since he upgraded to a Samsung Galaxy A20s)

  • Sashank N
    Sashank N 11 days ago

    I got mine today

  • Gacha Girly
    Gacha Girly 11 days ago

    Why buy an IPhone Instead of IPod Touch?

  • Kcravens5413
    Kcravens5413 12 days ago

    I have a iPod 7

  • KISHORE KUMAR ANANDAN
    KISHORE KUMAR ANANDAN 13 days ago

    So ppl still buy these?

  • Jessie James
    Jessie James 14 days ago

    It has a head phone jack the other ones don't

  • Vito Volarevic
    Vito Volarevic 14 days ago

    trash

  • Kelly Spagnuolo
    Kelly Spagnuolo 15 days ago

    i dont even have a phone so i want to get this for chrismas

  • TrueLovesKiss01 slime
    TrueLovesKiss01 slime 17 days ago

    Just got this Phone for my kid (64gbs) she was very happy!

  • Dushyant Grewal
    Dushyant Grewal 17 days ago

    Can we use apps like WhatsApp, PayPal etc on it

  • Bring My Wallet
    Bring My Wallet 18 days ago +3

    iPhone 5s from 2013 has Touch ID, 2019 iPod touch doesn’t

  • Brianna The Wolf
    Brianna The Wolf 18 days ago +1

    Eh, do 11 year olds still need a iPod?

    • Mozzarella_
      Mozzarella_ 10 days ago

      Brianna The Wolf I had an iPod at 11 but that was like 4 years ago

  • Lordmoki
    Lordmoki 21 day ago +1

    In short, no.

  • Richard Wright
    Richard Wright 21 day ago

    didnt say a damn thing about music playing or sound .

  • jeebus022
    jeebus022 22 days ago

    Apple needs to quit with these types of ipods. I'd kill to have a music only ipod that has the HD sound that other DAP's have. Doesn't need a camera or games or other useless crap.

  • tipico809
    tipico809 22 days ago +1

    I will get it just for music combined with the beats studio 3 headphones it's on sales now for black Friday

  • GooglaINTEallsPåMig UtanEfternamn

    iPod: hey here i am!
    iPhone: AM I A JOKE TO YOU?

  • Lenny
    Lenny 25 days ago

    Wanting to get my daughter one of these for Christmas, don’t necessarily want her having a phone just yet.

  • Amy williams
    Amy williams 25 days ago +2

    I had that for 6 years , only this year I cracked it :(

  • Jj crazyxd yt
    Jj crazyxd yt 25 days ago

    I never had it before but I'm saving up for it to make videos on roblox the only device I'm using is my laptop hp I just got a flash drive for my hp so now it's very op

  • M B
    M B 27 days ago

    Conclusion
    Just get a used iPhone SE

  • Jacob Scott
    Jacob Scott 27 days ago

    Why are they still making these. We have iphones for this.

  • arul varman634
    arul varman634 28 days ago

    We can call in iPod

  • Cole Robarts
    Cole Robarts 28 days ago

    I like the blue too (because my favorite color is blue

  • marcus romero
    marcus romero 29 days ago

    I think the blue one looks the best to 😄

  • Dcwest 0616
    Dcwest 0616 29 days ago

    my parents wont let me get iphones so ill just get that


    (history of my ipod touches)
    my first was a 4th gen then i got a 5th gen so someone stole that so im back the the 4th gen now i want the 7th gen

  • Nigel Thompson
    Nigel Thompson Month ago

    What's the game at 4:53

  • Taj Callender
    Taj Callender Month ago

    Apple Arcade is released now, and I’ll tell you this. Arcade is absolute garbage on the SE, it simply isn’t powerful enough!

  • Juhlycely carbajal
    Juhlycely carbajal Month ago

    Hola soy el comentario en español

  • Ben Simon
    Ben Simon Month ago

    i have a 6th gen i just want a bigger screen and longer battery.

  • Skelet Nation
    Skelet Nation Month ago

    it can play fortnite

  • ClairePlays -Gaming

    I have an iPhone SE

  • Anonymous 253
    Anonymous 253 Month ago +1

    They Best iPod.

  • vinyl kween
    vinyl kween Month ago +1

    there are people who care about quality of the camera and a12 or a10 blah blah but I'm just someone who wants to use insta and imessage. I really don't understand why a small device with a lesser camera is soo bad. And cmon, its literally 200 bucks, like, do you really expect the f***ing iPhone 100,000? Personally, I think it's pretty good for its price.

  • RO-J
    RO-J Month ago

    No charging brick?

  • Manny
    Manny Month ago

    I love these for business use.

  • Mary Jacqueline Joanino

    I hope they upgrade the look for ipod touch.something looks like iphone 7 plus

  • Keke Kay
    Keke Kay Month ago +1

    4:53 which game is that

  • Ganithstar12 Kodagoda

    Please give me the kit

  • sanjoy ningthouja
    sanjoy ningthouja Month ago

    Trust me..iPod are way more beautiful than iPhone back there....and more slim ..lighter...simpler... cheaper.,

  • Bukan Vanessa Angel

    An iPod Touch 7th-gen is a broke's iPhone.

  • Vonn Palagud
    Vonn Palagud Month ago

    Who’s watching this with an ipod 6th generation?

  • Ashikur Rahman Tusar

    What is the different between iPhone and iPod???

  • Michail Kornilov
    Michail Kornilov Month ago

    Is it good for apple arcade?

  • The Missing Couch Potato

    I’m watching this on my iPod seventh gen XD

  • Dizzy Mapping
    Dizzy Mapping Month ago

    I forgot what model i had but my iPod touch had only 2gb I couldn’t do anything lol

  • Colleen McDonnell
    Colleen McDonnell Month ago

    The only thing you forgot to show was how to use the iPod for its intended use, listening to music. How about an Apple Music demo or how to sync a device with iTunes?

  • Park Jimin
    Park Jimin Month ago

    okay I forgot ipods existed