Hereditary Angry Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 8, 2018
  • AngryJoe, OtherJoe & Alex review the latest Horror Film Hereditary, billed as this generations Exorcist, is this film truly that scary? Find out!
    Shirts/Stuff ► kottonzoo.com/angryjoe/
    Twitch ► twitch.tv/angryjoeshow
    Twitter ► twitter.com/AJSADelrith
    Twitter ► twitter.com/otherjoe_AJSA
    AJSA Community ► ajsagaming.com
  • GamingGaming

Comments • 2 309

  • Zac Irvin
    Zac Irvin 2 days ago

    This video review was so fucking embarrassing that I unsubscribed from them. This is the best horror movie of the past 20 years.

  • Tech Priest
    Tech Priest 3 days ago

    This movie was unsettling as hell I’ve never felt so uncomfortable by a movie in my life I actually had to pray after I feel like the movie is actually evil but damn is it not one of the best horror movies I have ever seen. You guys are fucking dumb

  • Reaching Higher
    Reaching Higher 4 days ago

    Loved Hereditary. Hated The Witch. They are very different movies. Hereditary actually turned into what I wanted it to be. The Witch continued to be ‘a day in the life of paranoid hyper-religious freaks who are alone in the woods’ right up until 10 seconds before the end credits, and those 10 seconds did NOT feel relevant, necessary, or consistent with the rest of the film. It was THE WORST horror movie I was ever made to sit through.

  • EternalCreator
    EternalCreator 4 days ago +1

    Impatience is not a good quality for film critics.

  • Miles Trombley
    Miles Trombley 5 days ago

    I think it is better than the Witch. Super creepy, mysterious, and awesome!

  • FlyingSyrup
    FlyingSyrup 7 days ago

    Funniest movie of 2018

  • DrasticBread
    DrasticBread 7 days ago

    This movie to me is like a litmus test for bad taste, and you guys failed miserably. Do any of you even like horror movies? Seriously it’s frustrating how many things have seemed to fly over your heads watching this one. Maybe next time instead of checking watches try sitting back and just enjoying it?

  • rupman27isback
    rupman27isback 7 days ago

    Nothing is wrong with a slow burn horror movie. I think Hereditary is a masterpiece

  • Alchemist1330
    Alchemist1330 7 days ago +1

    The VVitch > The Babadook > Hereditary.

  • Grumpy Kitten
    Grumpy Kitten 8 days ago

    Had nightmares about this one

  • Beecho Nut
    Beecho Nut 8 days ago

    Loved this movie. Probably the best horror movie i've seen in a long time. Didn't feel the length of it and I thought the slow beginning was essential to the story telling of the movie.

  • Daniel
    Daniel 8 days ago

    The best horror movie ever.

  • Ariel Ramos
    Ariel Ramos 8 days ago

    Worst review ever. These guys don't know shit of what they're talking about. I'm not claiming to be Steven fucking Spielberg when it comes to film making, but this movie was great from start to finish...

  • MrGhettobunny96
    MrGhettobunny96 13 days ago

    Yeah I dont think you guys get it hah

  • MrGhettobunny96
    MrGhettobunny96 13 days ago

    The director basically said all the characters in the movie were the dolls in the doll house, because of their lack of control in their own lives

  • MrGhettobunny96
    MrGhettobunny96 13 days ago

    Yeah loved the movie but it did feel long as shit

  • Incisive
    Incisive 13 days ago

    This guy is beyond dense.

  • Luis Morales
    Luis Morales 14 days ago

    The movie started out really tense. The first thing you find out is that the grandmother is sketchy and she hid so much from her family and her daughter specifically. And then at the funeral one of the first things you see is that extremely creepy guy staring at Charlie for some reason. From then on I was on edge.
    SPOILERS
    That same dude showed up in the end. You see the grandmother's ghost in the beginning. You see so many creepy things throughout the movie. And by the end you realize that all that creepy stuff was actually the cult manipulating the family. Grandma had been working every since before they were all born. Maybe some of the cult members are demons. That's why they focused on the minitures. It was a metaphor for the cult manipulating the family. Charlie dying wasn't an accident. Nothing was an accident. That's what made everything so scary. There was nothing the family could do. The movie started with the family, specifically Peter, already in the model. The daughter manipulated/made models of the real world. The grandmother manipulated the real world as if they were her models. The the granddaughter was obsessed with making a model that would create an imagined reality into the real world.

  • JKnifeXXX
    JKnifeXXX 15 days ago

    It’s all about CGI and over the top action nowadays no character build up I love the slow beginning

  • Lacy Chinchilla
    Lacy Chinchilla 15 days ago

    It didn't feel slow at all to me, but I had watched some review videos on it beforehand so I guess I kind of knew what I was getting into and what to be looking for. I really loved all the extended scenes in this because it made every occurance feel real and that much more intense.

  • The Shape Kills
    The Shape Kills 16 days ago

    It was good/alright my biggest gripe with the film was the ending being so uneventful Paimon is brought back but yeah that's it the cult succeeds but that's it... they were awarded riches and then what... nothing... remember children opinions are okay to have even if not everyone agrees with your elitist cinematic opinion (awaits the defensive hive mind to tell me to go watch the nun and how I didn't understand this magnum opus of cinema)

  • Aggelos Georgiopoulos
    Aggelos Georgiopoulos 16 days ago

    Fantastic horror drama - u got bored huh? Speaks of your ability to review a movie

  • Casey Resch
    Casey Resch 17 days ago

    This was the only scary movie in a long time to really get to me. Idk about y’all but I definitely liked it

  • Triedge The Gamer
    Triedge The Gamer 17 days ago

    The movie is fucking boring

  • Lucian Badoi
    Lucian Badoi 18 days ago

    Yup the movie seems to be to slow but by the end you realize that there was no wasted frame in this movie, its like a puzzle and every frame is a piece of that puzzle, just make me want to see the uncut version. Masterpiece.

  • Keith Hunt
    Keith Hunt 18 days ago

    Think these guys will appreciate this movie more, a few years from now, when they watch it again.

  • Keith Hunt
    Keith Hunt 18 days ago

    Loved this movie. Don't feel it dragging at all. Tension just kept building to a completely f'd up ending.

  • Damien Nijssen
    Damien Nijssen 18 days ago

    Terrible reviewers. Couldn’t even remember Toni Colette’s name...

  • J Gunzler
    J Gunzler 19 days ago +2

    2:30 in and Im done with you guys. I wasn’t “waiting... and waiting... and waiting” for shit bro! This ain’t some crowd pleaser popcorn thrasher movie. This was a horror film for people with brains. People who love QUALITY over quantity. People who appreciate a film with a compelling narrative and fascinating characters. People who will diagnose this movie the entire ride home and then some.

  • Max Brecher
    Max Brecher 19 days ago

    You guys are so negative about everything, you guys don’t have the mentality for a sophisticated film like this! It was supposed to be 3 hours long and he cut a whole hour of boring content and kept ALL THE HORROR Scenes.... psychological horror this is , you in the middle ARE SOOOO ANNOYING! EVERYONE LOVED IT

  • NotReallyABlessing
    NotReallyABlessing 20 days ago

    This movie was fucking awesome!

  • Ryan Montgomery
    Ryan Montgomery 21 day ago

    No one in the comments agrees with him on this one

  • Ryan Montgomery
    Ryan Montgomery 21 day ago

    I normally love joes reviews, but he is not seeing this movie how it is supposed to be seen. This movie was close to genius, and there is no credit where credit is due here.

  • Lucas Stokes
    Lucas Stokes 21 day ago

    I don't know what they're talking about when it comes to the first hour and a half. That was more tense and scary to me than the final act.

  • Brekner Catalin
    Brekner Catalin 21 day ago

    1) Title of the movie is very fucking misleading.
    2) The first part makes it look like a nice, psychological movie.
    3) Somehow, the director thought turning it into yet another ghost movie made sense? What....? So basically the whole interesting first part had no fucking meaning, and towards the end we get all the fucking horror flick tropes in the world....
    -Flying/wall climbing possessed demon-woman? Checked!
    -Character walking slower than a fucking turtle for no other reason than "suspense" in HIS OWN FUCKING HOUSE? Checked!
    -Idiotic character running PAST THE FUCKING DOOR THAT LEADS OUTSIDE AND IS INSTEAD GOING INTO THE ATTIC? Checked!
    Sure, it's a fucking masterpiece of a movie. Give me a fucking break, whoever thinks this movie should be in top 50 movies of the year is, WITHOUT A DOUBT, an idiot.

  • Basho
    Basho 21 day ago

    Spoiler Alert: Movie got real after Charlie's death. I rather wait for the movie to build up to the scary stuff than getting cheap scares every 5 minute.

  • Mailo Y PORKY
    Mailo Y PORKY 22 days ago

    This movie was terrible

  • sinshenlong
    sinshenlong 23 days ago

    so the family's descent into madness is ...boring?
    thats the best part

  • J It
    J It 25 days ago

    Seriously suggesting that they should've cut down the movie EVEN MORE!? The only thing I agreed with was that the movie needed more meat on it's bones during the third act, which is exactly where it could've used an extra hour or half to establish the lore of king Paimon.
    I really hope that they'll release an extended version of the movie.

  • Rowdy 555
    Rowdy 555 25 days ago

    Wow, did I miss something? A kid high on grass kills sis in an auto accident, leaves the scene and goes to bed with her corpse in the family wagon. No police, no investigation just back to school, life goes on. Then the rest of the movie with nil scare factor just an incoherent snail pace storyline

    • Incisive
      Incisive 12 days ago

      Sounds good

    • Rowdy 555
      Rowdy 555 13 days ago

      +Incisive Cheers, still not seeing it.

    • Incisive
      Incisive 13 days ago

      Yes, you did.

  • Douglas Monterroso
    Douglas Monterroso 27 days ago

    wow joe you really done fucked it up this time, stick to game reviews, this movie is a fucking master piece

  • Dencio Mancilla
    Dencio Mancilla 27 days ago +1

    Hereditary is the standard by which intellectual movie reviewers are distinguished from the shallow blabbermouths.

  • G -Watch
    G -Watch 29 days ago

    Says the guy who praised suicide squad... go watch the movie people

  • Soccercrazyigboman
    Soccercrazyigboman 29 days ago

    I'm with them. Great plot, acting, not scary

  • Mr. Tooki
    Mr. Tooki Month ago

    I actually enjoyed the drama family stuff, The ending with the horror was really lame, not scary at all.

  • Derekus Maximus
    Derekus Maximus Month ago +1

    short attention span theatre

  • grizzlywhisker
    grizzlywhisker Month ago +1

    Seriously I have no idea how you could be bored. This movie was way better than you guys give it credit for. It was great.

  • Xavier Gomez
    Xavier Gomez Month ago +2

    Wasn’t bored for a second. But also wasn’t terrified as people were saying. There were some shots that got to me though. I’m sure everyone knows which shots.

    • Xavier Gomez
      Xavier Gomez Month ago +1

      James Price I don’t either but to each their own I guess.

    • James Price
      James Price Month ago +3

      Xavier Gomez those shots towards the end were horrifying, I loved seeing it in the cinema and spotting things in the background. I have no clue how joe was bored or hated the family aspects of this film

  • Kandi Twirl Koshka
    Kandi Twirl Koshka Month ago

    This movie is 9/10 at LEAST. That's my opinion. The character work was nothing short of stellar.
    Just one question though... how would have gone without the road accident?

  • Zed Lim
    Zed Lim Month ago

    The boring part is your review, just cut all of your unnecessary complaints and go straight to the score.

  • judrt
    judrt Month ago

    The movie wasn't boring because it was slow, it was boring because it wasn't scary and the story wasnt good at all. It could have used that extra hour

  • deadgirl82
    deadgirl82 Month ago

    If you didn't like this film, you are a simpleton.

  • george eskiadis
    george eskiadis Month ago

    it s not Paigon . it's Paimon

  • Shadowking914
    Shadowking914 2 months ago

    Oh also it was charlie trying to kill him so that he wouldn't become the prince of hell. That's why his mother kept attempting to kill him as well.

  • Scope Out Horror Reviews

    Excorcist isnt really payoff payoff payoff
    It takes about 45 minutes for anything supernatural in the slightest to happen
    I mean aside from the bleeding statue at the beginning
    The excorcist is extremly slow

  • S A D - E G G
    S A D - E G G 2 months ago

    how the hell does this channel have 2.9 million subscribers. this was literally such a waste of time

  • Spriggz
    Spriggz 2 months ago

    Paegon's like, "Where's the bitches?"

  • Ingrownt0enail
    Ingrownt0enail 2 months ago +1

    You guys are fuckin retarded lol

  • Devin Wilson
    Devin Wilson 2 months ago

    The movie would have been better if the entire plot wasn't stolen from paranormal activity. Which wasn't even a good horror movie either haha. And some people here are calling it original?

  • Charlie Sinne
    Charlie Sinne 2 months ago

    I didn't think I liked this film but I watched it over a week ago and I can't stop thinking about it.

  • Felix T-Rex
    Felix T-Rex 2 months ago

    if you dont want to watch slow movies watch some marvel comic book crap

  • ketz
    ketz 2 months ago

    good movie

  • Alfred Kalolo
    Alfred Kalolo 2 months ago

    This is a terrible review.

  • Cdan
    Cdan 2 months ago

    Attention! Click read more!




    Movie reviews can be opinions, nothing gives you the right to review nor does anything take away your right to review. Fucking calm down and accept that they didnt find it as "amazing" as everyone else.

  • Irene Hydos
    Irene Hydos 2 months ago

    I really can’t believe you were all bored

  • Jayr WalkingstickShinyknife

    i liked the movie. And the final act was a perfect end and a big "WHAT?! WAIT, DID THAT JUST HAPPEN?!" the moment when the mother discovered those pictures .. oh shit

  • Hnzuu
    Hnzuu 2 months ago

    This was an amazing movie. Not once did I feel bored or like I was waiting for something (more) to happen. It was intense the whole time.

  • Neags
    Neags 2 months ago

    IMO the film was really good until the last 10 mins when loads of plot holes came into it and they tried to cram too much in and try to explain

  • Blue241
    Blue241 2 months ago

    Easily the worst film I've seen in a while. Just watched it earlier and shit this was boring. I wasn't expecting the paranormal plot point but it's so cliche and the plot overall feels weak. Nothing about it was scary either, you have this ambience but it's just undermined by these snail paced scenes. I love horror movies but this felt far more like a drama and again the paranormal is just uninteresting. Good acting is one thing but with the poor pacing and the plot being overall boring it is no saving grace.

  • DommY CS
    DommY CS 2 months ago

    Existential dread. I am fucking traumatized. First half was a 10/10 perfect. Second half after the SCENE (you know which one) was more 8/10.

  • Steven DuCharme
    Steven DuCharme 2 months ago

    Why didn't she ask if the cake had nuts in it?

  • Lluma Nadii
    Lluma Nadii 2 months ago

    You guys suck at reviews. You really dont understand horror, terror and dred. If you want shitty jump scares watch and review paranormal activity..... You guys probably think thats a good movie.....

  • jakegetscake
    jakegetscake 3 months ago

    Other joe is right the demon took Anne over when her husband is being burned that’s when the demon can take you is when your most vulnerable and scared, that’s why the demon was able to do it to peter as well

  • jakegetscake
    jakegetscake 3 months ago

    The grandmas husband starved himself because of the grandma trying to put the demon in him as well as her son he killed himself for the same reason. Then she basically made Anne have a kid but she wouldn’t let her near peter, but when she had Charlie she did cause she wasn’t a boy, idk if the breast feeding had to do with her getting in the demon but I think the demon can’t get in your body unless your very vulnerable hence when the grandma died Charlie was sad so the demon got in her and same with Anne when the husband was burning the demon got in her and same with peter when he sees his mom killing her self and he jumps out the window and hurts himself

  • jakegetscake
    jakegetscake 3 months ago

    On the pole that Charlie’s head gets decapitated from there that sign from the cult. How could they possibly know that Charlie would have her head out the window. But at the party it seems as if someone from the cult maybe had there son or daughter there and had hem bring all the nuts, all the art in the party House was odd as well. The ending was scary as shit when the mom is behind peter

  • LilTune SGC[SquadGoCrazy]

    The mother tried to kill her son so the demon would not possess him

  • Itam x
    Itam x 3 months ago

    Good movie but the plot was a little too predictable. It was obvious that Joanie was friends w the grandmother and they were both into evil ritualistic shit

  • Kenneth Desmond Mosley
    Kenneth Desmond Mosley 3 months ago

    Hated it. HATED IT. slow. Not terrifying. Long and plodding. Toni Collette is always amazing. However she was better in the sixth sense. There’s one jump scare. I wasn’t invested at all

  • The Opal Fox Channel
    The Opal Fox Channel 3 months ago +22

    "...And her husband was very cold to her"

    Well, not for long

  • Jason Spidey Ferguson
    Jason Spidey Ferguson 3 months ago

    I thought this movie sucked all hype

  • Niko Bellic
    Niko Bellic 3 months ago +1

    Does this guy on the left ever have anything remotely interesting or positively to say? I really hope you are not paying him for his opinion Joe.

  • Rekkn_
    Rekkn_ 3 months ago +5

    I personally disagree, the pacing was spot on... In fact everything was spot on, one of the best (horror) movie since years.

  • y26op
    y26op 3 months ago +1

    Other Joe is right... She was possessed by a demon. They went out of their way to demonstrate demonic possession... But, some how this eluded you. Listening to you folks... You guys really did not comprehend this film. I'll give credit to other Joe, for understanding a little more than you other two. Yes, all that stuff in the first half, actually happened. The first half was done the way it was done, to show you that the family was under demonic influence, the whole time, and didn't know it.

  • y26op
    y26op 3 months ago

    Watching it right now. About a hour in. No... It's not loosing my attention... I'm not getting bored... The events taking place, thus far... Hold my attention. Just wondering what direction this movie is going to go. Hopefully, it's not another "Mother". Like that movie... The trailer is presented as a horror flick, and it's not... That's the vibe I got from this movie's trailer, and still feel that way, an hour in.

    • y26op
      y26op 3 months ago +1

      Alright... Finished it. Crap. Typical Luciferian crap. Sadly, most will not be aware of all the subliminal messaging in this film, nor all the truth that's being put in front of their faces. Never the less... Crap.

  • Consequence No. 62
    Consequence No. 62 3 months ago

    Idk anything about horror movies, currently looking for a 10/10 horror movie

  • Vegan Dolls
    Vegan Dolls 3 months ago

    An hour in and NOTHING happened???!!! Are you a fucking mouth breathing retard? Did you want there to be guts and tits within 2 seconds and for every 5 minutes for a max of 60 minutes so your dumb ass jersey shore brains can handle it? It reminds you of the witch because it was produced by the same person. Both of the films are absolute masterpieces. They'll both go down as some of the best horror movies of all time. Horror and Slasher are NOT the same thing. Maybe you should just masturbate to green lantern or some other garbage your little fetal alcohol minds can grasp

  • Vegan Dolls
    Vegan Dolls 3 months ago +10

    you guys are so average it's painful.

  • Sagacious Assessor
    Sagacious Assessor 3 months ago +1

    This movie is perfect. That’s all that needs to be said

  • BloodyBatons
    BloodyBatons 3 months ago

    This movie was crap and there was 1 jumpscare at the end when the mom chases the son in the house

  • J Witherspoon
    J Witherspoon 3 months ago +1

    The mother isn't flying/floating to the treehouse, her body is being summoned.

  • CubicSpider6
    CubicSpider6 3 months ago

    I dont know about anyone else but this felt like a comedy to me

  • Not Important
    Not Important 3 months ago +1

    i see dumb and dumber.... and dumberer

  • Misha Vish
    Misha Vish 3 months ago

    I disagree guys the exorcist was an hour burn slow ... I cannot complain and the car scene was in the first 20 min which was enough to scare u for the next 15 min which was burning slow

  • fairytail naruto
    fairytail naruto 3 months ago

    This movie is garbage

  • Robin
    Robin 3 months ago

    Why the fuck are there so many "ending explained" vids for this movie? It's not Inception lmao. Great horror movie. Pacing and story telling was on point. Would be cool if this was in the same universe as The VVitch.

    • Dirk Berkis
      Dirk Berkis 3 months ago

      if you couldnt tell by the three stooges here, people these days refuse to pay attention to anything so they need it explained to them.

  • john sanchez
    john sanchez 3 months ago

    This isn’t a goosebumps episode where everything happens super fast, is clearly explained and plenty of jump scares built in. If that’s what you were expecting or if that’s your only caliber of appreciation then yes I could totally see how you won’t like this film. But if you appreciate symbolism, character development and attention to detail then you’ll love it.

  • john sanchez
    john sanchez 3 months ago +1

    How did the dollhouses not play into the movie? The first scene was a foreshowing that the movie was about peters awaking. Jesus Christ guys get it together.

  • Brandon Westbrook
    Brandon Westbrook 3 months ago

    I tried to get into this one I truly did. After the decapitation scene, I figured , “alright! Here we go!!!” And it just never ever took off. I like slow burners. LOVED THE WITCH, but this one just didn’t do it for me. To each his own, tho. Definitely a must see for long time horror fans.

  • El Chico
    El Chico 3 months ago

    I didn’t feel like the build up was long it all felt connected from the beginning like I wasn’t bored at all It was very engaging

  • Hunter Boyd
    Hunter Boyd 3 months ago

    I saw it recently and I regret not seeing it in theaters. This movie is slow burning but in a entertaining way. The set up is so interesting that when the “action” begins you are completely zoned into the characters well being. Who knows?.... I might’ve lost my head if I saw it in theaters 😂