Maybe VR isn't dead after all... - Valve Index Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Aug 12, 2019
  • Get an unrestricted 30-day free trial of FreshBooks at www.freshbooks.com/techtips
    Get iFixit's Marlin Screwdriver set today for only $24.99 USD at www.ifixit.com/linus
    We had almost completely lost faith in the progress of consumer VR products... until the Valve Index arrived at our office.
    Buy Valve Index on Amazon: geni.us/b9sad0
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1093318-maybe-vr-isnt-dead-after-all/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: thexvid.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High thexvid.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 8 828

  • Phillipe
    Phillipe 5 months ago +5137

    Oculus Rift S, anyone? Linus forgot to mention it entirely!!!!!!! No need for extra cameras at all, for $ 400, it’s a good VR headset...

    • Reed
      Reed 11 hours ago

      @FlyingFree333 how exactly?

    • Everett
      Everett Day ago

      You can't compare the rift s to the index lmfao

    • Gamer Prestige
      Gamer Prestige 5 days ago

      LOCURA! Lmao A joke said 5 months ago about other cheap VR units are for peasants. Fine I take it back lol. Now VR contact lens are king and any other trash head units are for peasants like you.

    • LOCURA!
      LOCURA! 5 days ago

      @Gamer Prestige people like you are why the VR community fails. You are trying to divide two different headset owners that all have love for VR but why? shame on you.

    • LOCURA!
      LOCURA! 5 days ago

      @FlyingFree333 you have nothing to back up this statement. my quest is AMAZING

  • MET
    MET 2 hours ago

    cries in a 1000€

  • Adiack
    Adiack 4 hours ago

    Cat

  • shadowdugify
    shadowdugify 19 hours ago

    "strap on experience" - ha

  • Logan Perez
    Logan Perez 19 hours ago

    Fuck cats

  • Tasteless TV
    Tasteless TV Day ago +1

    I'll just buy the rift s, a few games, upgrade my monitor to 144hz, and then keep the other £400

  • Steven Williams
    Steven Williams Day ago

    1:14
    Is that a VR Troopers reference

  • hayden cuffy
    hayden cuffy Day ago

    just cuz ur best mate can barely walk lol

  • hayden cuffy
    hayden cuffy Day ago

    f u linus vr was never dead only for lazy couch potatoes. just clicked on this to say that ,not even interested in ur opinion of the index after that click bait and totally nieve title

  • toxikcronik
    toxikcronik Day ago

    Never felt a Linus video more than when Shadow did his thing.

  • PS1 Hagrid
    PS1 Hagrid Day ago

    *I'm watching this happily.. then I realised I'm poor*

  • DashingCruz
    DashingCruz 2 days ago

    I did three weeks of door dash and Uber to get well over $1000 just to realize the damn thing isn’t in stock smh

  • Brian Burdett
    Brian Burdett 2 days ago

    Linus wants a strap-on experience, lol.

  • catfree
    catfree 2 days ago

    Forgot to blur the reflection, Good job Taran !

  • king corson cult
    king corson cult 2 days ago

    13:12 wait, he climbs in front of his tv and knocks over stuff to?

  • JammyGuns
    JammyGuns 2 days ago

    It'll be fantastic when these things are completely wireless. I still love my original Rift (really enjoying Boneworks at the moment) but the cables ARE a total pain in the ass imo, and tbh it does sometimes put me off from using it occasionally. The stock mounted headphones also bit the dust on my unit so now I have my ordinary headphones standing in and thus _another_ cable in the mix. And while I'm moaning a couple of times over the yrs Iv'e dropped the sensors when moving the PC for cleaning, again pulling on a cable at the wrong moment. Adore VR otherwise and I'm a firm believer in it even as is. But that's the side I'm most looking forward to getting streamlined one day.

  • Kris Pamphilon
    Kris Pamphilon 3 days ago

    Anyone tell me what the VR pc case is? :)

  • PocketOfPlenty
    PocketOfPlenty 3 days ago

    4:36
    The cat is what you acually came here for

    Edit: ... and this 13:05

  • NoBrainah
    NoBrainah 3 days ago

    I have the original rift and have since day one. Should I wait a bit for the valve Index (price drop and or hardware/software improvements) or just get the rift s or one of the Vive products?

    • Zero001
      Zero001 2 days ago

      If you get Vive, you can upgrade to an Index (not sure about cosmos, but we don't talk about that one).

  • RandomOl Zavitous
    RandomOl Zavitous 3 days ago +1

    Nobody
    The cat chilling in the box:

  • earl raglin
    earl raglin 3 days ago

    Shits Higher than a giraffes ass right now $$$

  • Shane Mitchell
    Shane Mitchell 3 days ago +1

    We just gonna act like that car wasn’t in the box when he opened it

  • RaySoft
    RaySoft 3 days ago

    VR motion sickness has more to do with datatransfer rates. On a Quest, or even a Samsung Gear VR, you're much less prone to motion sickness simply because the gyro, screen and render hardware is inside the same unit, i.e. no need to send movement data to a PC and then wait for a rendered picture to get back.

  • Thomas Wade
    Thomas Wade 3 days ago

    I may or may not be running my index with a 580, hehe

  • Angel Lopez
    Angel Lopez 3 days ago

    3:37 huh 🤔 ... so that’s what happened to schrodinger cat

  • 7BitTrip
    7BitTrip 3 days ago

    Linus is wishing for a strap-on experience.
    Anyone in the comments willing to oblige?

  • Ares
    Ares 3 days ago

    Does the Valve Index ship with a cat?

  • Billy West
    Billy West 3 days ago

    Everyone who says VR is dead is stupid. VR is waiting on real games and software. Devs don't make enough of it because no one owns VR yet. Thus slow development. VR is awesome, not close to being dead. Maybe don't say dumb things.

  • Gary Lau
    Gary Lau 4 days ago

    That wire hurts! I would rather pick the Oculus Quest!

  • Gustav the Chespin λ

    Fixed title: - Half Life Alyx Machine Review

  • Savage Stuff
    Savage Stuff 4 days ago

    7:40 the VIVE index!

  • Ford Entertainment Group FEG

    Rift s is better overall. And cheaper.

  • Spino Gaming
    Spino Gaming 4 days ago

    3:32 Ah i see the Valve Index comes with a Cat. Interesting

  • SENJU
    SENJU 5 days ago

    and now....open ups the box and a cat appears!!! LOL

  • TCMOREIRA
    TCMOREIRA 5 days ago

    (3:32) Is the Kitty included in all versions of the set?

  • Michael Paulsen
    Michael Paulsen 5 days ago

    4:42 Did he say smell accessory?!

  • Alexander Fields
    Alexander Fields 5 days ago

    kitty! more vr content sir!

  • Guillermo Ortiz
    Guillermo Ortiz 5 days ago

    22:18 Who's operating the camera?

  • David Karlsson
    David Karlsson 5 days ago

    YE NOSE IS HUGE OFC IT HURTS EVERYTIME

  • GG GG
    GG GG 5 days ago +1

    Actually.. let's talk about the cat in the box lol! 🤣

  • MP
    MP 5 days ago +1

    3:33 typical cat move

  • Friedrich Wilhelm
    Friedrich Wilhelm 6 days ago

    i expect the answer to be no but will this all run with a gtx 1060?

    • Zero001
      Zero001 5 days ago

      I think it will, but not perfectly.

  • adamklam1
    adamklam1 6 days ago

    3:33 Finally a Pre-order perk I'd actually want.

  • Derek Gowans
    Derek Gowans 6 days ago

    Did the cat say help

  • PratyushGaming
    PratyushGaming 6 days ago

    I waited for decades and got Valve Index and Half-Life: Alyx...who thought it would be Portal 3 or Half-Life 3?

  • High Ground Zero Tolerance

    By far the best review ive watched!

  • Ka KAKAKAMILLLO
    Ka KAKAKAMILLLO 7 days ago

    I think vr is boring if you don't have your own room where nobody disturbs you otherwise you don't even have time to play parents want to watch TV BTW
    to play you need lot of money for equipment and games

    • Ka KAKAKAMILLLO
      Ka KAKAKAMILLLO 5 days ago

      @Zero001 or "KAT loco"

    • Zero001
      Zero001 5 days ago

      @Ka KAKAKAMILLLO Well, you should have been prepared to do so then.

    • Ka KAKAKAMILLLO
      Ka KAKAKAMILLLO 5 days ago

      ​@Zero001 I have enough space but I need to rearrange the furniture something like "Cyberith Virtualizer"

    • Zero001
      Zero001 5 days ago

      @Ka KAKAKAMILLLO Why should they reduce the game zone? It's the games that set this, it is very clearly stated with "seated play", "standing play" and "roomscale play". It's you just being a dumbass not paying attention to warnings and checking everything before buying.

    • Ka KAKAKAMILLLO
      Ka KAKAKAMILLLO 5 days ago

      @jarrod1937 I'm not happy because I got bored vr there is nothing to do for it would pay off to put on a head set. I can start the VRchat pc version

      other games on vr are short 1-3-5h

      I have too small a room to play when I want to and I rarely do it because you have to move the furniture
      Vive should reduce the game zone

  • Kevin VH
    Kevin VH 7 days ago

    Dude I love your videos and the sponsorships you take on but come on the valve bs is over priced and the rift s has it beat hands down. Must be nice to get review copy's of items. without having to spend all the money just to get the company more sales. But then again you get a kick back from that which im not mad about but I honestly do feel like this is soooooooooo bias its sickening just because they sponsored your video your gonna speak great about this product give me an effing break.

    • jarrod1937
      jarrod1937 4 days ago

      @Magnus Lööv, even the most demanding game I have, Skyrim, I am able to play at 100% resolution and heavily modded (main reason for needing 120Hz instead of 144Hz). Unmodded Skyrim I am able to do 144Hz in. However, super sampling does not bring a headset with a lower resolution to be more comparable to a higher one. SS merely helps with severe aliasing and text legibility below a certain resolution threshold, my point is that the native resolution of the Index is high enough to not need super sampling. Similar to how you normally don't hear about super sampling for non-VR games anymore. I haven't tried "the climb" since it is an Oculus store exclusive, I suppose I could at some point with reVive. However, if it can run on the Oculus Quest, I have no doubt I can run it at full resolution at 144Hz. Again, be happy with your current headset, but you're underestimating what current headsets and current computers can push.

    • Magnus Lööv
      Magnus Lööv 4 days ago

      @jarrod1937 I never called you biased. That was another person.
      It's way, way to expensive to even compare it to anything else, if, and I say if, you don't already own the super expensive 2080ti.

      And even then you say yourself you have to turn down things.
      By the way, have you tried "The climb with it"? At 120 Hz?
      The numbers tells it all with the total resolution X refresh rate (yes turn it down and you lose yet another advantage of it).
      Same with "Don't need to use super sampling". That will definitely put the orig closer in the more demanding games. In the same setup (with super sampling) where the resolution and refresh rate are the real big difference, it won't make the cut for demanding games.
      I'm sure it is a big upgrade otherwize for most other things and also feels better for the demanding games. Not just 144 Hz activated better. Anf not the full advantage of resolution and super sampling better.
      The total price of that takes it into the price category of professional enterprise systems, still being a home unit.
      But, if money is of absolutely of no concern with the required 2080ti and the index, then it is an option.

      I stay put with my orig. Vive and 1080ti. Maybe will by the index controller. Won't make any upgrades until 2 generations further down the line. Something like an 4080 or whatever it will be. With the power to handle the high res headsets.

    • jarrod1937
      jarrod1937 4 days ago

      @Magnus Lööv, you are trying your best to make a case against it, but you're not doing very well. I have both an OG Vive and the new Index, and the Index is a very large upgrade over the Vive. SDE, resolution, brightness, pixel response time (may just be me but it appears to have less ghosting), along with being a higher refresh rate. I have a 2080 ti and can run a lot of games at 144Hz at 100% resolution (no down or super sampling). For more demanding games (like Skyrim VR) I set the Index to 120Hz. However, it also supports 90Hz (for compatibility), but I haven't had a need to use it yet. I am honestly confused by the talk about the black levels on the Index. Comparing the OG Vive to the Index, the black levels are a little worse, but not that large of an amount, and out of the two choices, I choose to use my Index over my Vive by far. The Vive's pixel layout definitely made the SDE worse, but it also has a definite issue with resolution compared to the Index. With the Index, I actually haven't felt the need to super sample like I did with the Vive. Again, it's fine to want and like the Rift S, it gives an offering at a lower cost. Nothing wrong with that. However, it's illogical to say the Index is worse simply because it's pricier, even though it's superior in every other stat. I assume you have the Rift S and are wanting to justify it. You don't need to justify it, just go and enjoy it, and stop calling others biased without proper reasoning.

    • Magnus Lööv
      Magnus Lööv 4 days ago

      @jarrod1937 But you won't be able to use the Index on any demanding games with any of even the most current high end 2080 Titan or whatever GPU:s if it's both significantly higher in resolution and have 144 Hz instead of 90 Hz in refresh rate.
      Even at 90 hz, the much higher resolution will be a clear problem in things like "The Climb".
      We only saw really, really light games demonstrated here by Linus.
      So in reallity, many will have to even turn down the graphics settings for the index to make it playable in demanding games compared to the original Vive, making the graphics worse on it!
      Then there is also the point of it being non-oled. There was a test of a beta version of Half LIfe : Alyx done by some other youtubers where they compared different VR-headsets and they mentioned how good it looked in the original Vive due to the Oled. Darkness and shadows plays a big part of that game.The resolution wasn't a problem when actually playing the game but the quality due to OLed was a good thing according to them.

    • Mahoxy
      Mahoxy 4 days ago

      This video wasn't sponsored by valve you spaz seems like you're the bias one here...

  • 1968 Ford Mustang California Special

    Can’t focus, the cat is in the box

  • AboveAverage Sir
    AboveAverage Sir 7 days ago

    Remove the Shadow. Who likes cats anymore? 😂

  • Chuloferso
    Chuloferso 8 days ago

    Nah i pass. Dont want to look like an idiot playing.

    • Zero001
      Zero001 6 days ago

      Then just close yourself in your room.

  • Callum Hurley
    Callum Hurley 8 days ago

    Linus: VR is dead
    Linus (with Index): Woah 144Hz?! VR isn't dead at all it's alive and well thank god for 144Hz that was the only barrier

  • gammy gaming
    gammy gaming 8 days ago

    Vr was never dead

  • Immunogoblin
    Immunogoblin 8 days ago

    you named your black cat shadow?...

  • Atomic Skull
    Atomic Skull 8 days ago

    12:01 strap on experience ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

  • Ed Wilson
    Ed Wilson 8 days ago

    Can anyone tell me if the game and / or the Valve Index will support a true left handed mode? Was this tested by any lefties inside or outside Valve? Before I drop $3k on an Index and a serious PC upgrade I need to get a concrete answer to this. The Index controllers look asymmetrical / side specific which is fine from an ergonomic stand point BUT can I flip controller sides in the support software or the game?

    • jarrod1937
      jarrod1937 5 days ago

      My dad is left handed and it's more of a game/software question. Depends if the particular game you want to play supports it or now. The controllers themselves are symmetrical, so it's more of a matter of if the game supports swapping which hand is the dominant one. Though, in some games my dad was able to adjust easily enough even without any left/right hand options. So, the best I can say is research what games you're interested in playing and make sure, though in general a lot of games have it as a standard option, it's just not guaranteed to exist.

  • OOF Gaming
    OOF Gaming 8 days ago +1

    I came here for the video stayed because the cat

  • Slick Robot
    Slick Robot 9 days ago

    Getting this in 2 weeks for my 2080ti build I cant wait

  • Brunswick Eagle
    Brunswick Eagle 9 days ago

    12:44
    *Blurs out middle finger*
    *Doesn't blur out second middle finger*

  • Anders Howmann
    Anders Howmann 9 days ago

    Anybody else notice the cat fortress just off screen?