Game of Thrones "The Long Night" of Disappointment | Season 8 Episode 3 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 30, 2019
  • We hardly knew the Night King, and now he is gone. Well, we didn't know him at all actually. The promise of epic battles or a battle with Jon Snow dashed with only a sky skirmish that you could barley see. Expectations were subverted we are told. No, expectations are met and writing is right where we hoped it would not be, but is. In the crapper. Yet another shaggy dog story in Game of Thrones
    Game of Thrones: The Long Night live stream: thexvid.com/video/83UqnbtIwC0/video.html
    #GameofThrones #TheLongNight #GoT
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 7 709

  • TheLiquidPepper
    TheLiquidPepper 11 days ago +1

    The people I feel really bad for are the ones who were named after people in GoT, mainly those who were named Daenerys or Khaleesi (which is a title, not a name, like maester, or king). The name of a strong female hero, they thought. What they got was a weakly written maniac massmurderer. And the others were named after characters in a show that did not live forever, in 10 years no one will remember this show, active forgetfulness is a powerful thing. People will be going "Arya, how quaint, where's that from?" "Khaleesi, is that indian? Pakistani? I didn't know you were asian?"

  • TheLiquidPepper
    TheLiquidPepper 11 days ago +1

    The mere fact that the episode is titled "The Long Night" is a sign the writers did not read the books. In the very first book of the series, we are told by Old Nan that "THE LONG NIGHT" was a "night that lasted a generation", when the white walkers first came: A long drawn out war that lasted a LONG ASS TIME -- A GENERATION. And the writers just say "Hey, cool name, mind if we borrow it to mean SOMETHING COMPLETELY DIFFERENT?" It's just dumb. Just make up your own fkn name on the episode. It's as if someone wanted to put a title on the war in Syria and decided to call it "THE SECOND WORLD WAR".. I mean, wtf, get your own name, for fks sake. If you do a stupid thing like this, it is either of two things: Sheer stupidity, not knowing the source material, not having it tested with a group of people who DO know the source material. Or, you want to troll a dedicated fan base, like I am becoming more and more convinced they are doing. They even use the same phrase for it, "subvert expectations", and they promise D&D nice fat bribes of directing Star Wars if they just kill off this one show for them. "Make it really bad. Make the fans really hate you. The more videos of fans ranting about the details, the better. Make it so the numbnuts and non-fans don't really notice, but spit in the face of the diehard fans. Only then will you be strong enough in the force to save Padme."

  • George R
    George R 17 days ago

    Worst thing was, you dont need to know the books or be a fan of the show, the whole episode was terrible because was trash tv, as simple as that. But again, i dont like that much this show since season 3, so, i guess im probably the only one who actually saw through all the hype and propaganda.

  • ShadeRunner
    ShadeRunner 25 days ago

    love your content broski.

  • Eli McBeth
    Eli McBeth Month ago

    I thought that besides the fact that you couldn't see, and didn't know who was still alive, it was pretty good but thats just me

  • Blue tinkerbell
    Blue tinkerbell Month ago

    What I wanna know is how did Arya even know what the knight king looked like ! Did she stalk him on Facebook first ?

    • MetalThroneMalc
      MetalThroneMalc 28 days ago

      My 'even worse ending' for the Night King was a crossbow bolt from a Weirwood Tree, Bronne climbing down and saying 'Who The F*ck was that?'

  • Elemental-Phoenix-Dragon 711749

    "Lame Of Thrones"
    不不不不不不不

  • J Mace
    J Mace Month ago

    Oh heres a theory: the whole thing is a dream while Bran is dying after being pushed out of the window.

  • Xesisgood
    Xesisgood Month ago

    Whats the theme that always plays at the end of your videos? Please I need to know that shit is 休休休

  • Franky Lee
    Franky Lee Month ago

    The ending gave us so many NO reasons that I am wondering if it is meant as a BIG joke;
    John being the heir to the throne for no reason
    John ending up as a nightswatch for no reason
    The nightswatch still existing for no reason
    The free folk going back to the north of the wall for no reason
    Danarys going mad for no reason
    Danarys 2 dragons killed for no reason
    Melisandre committing suicide for no reason
    The Dothraki committing suicide for no reason
    Bran becoming the third eye raven for no reason
    Bran becoming the king for no reason
    Arya becoming a faceless for no reason
    Tyrian going IQ 0 for no reason
    The nightsking haunting us for 7 seasons for no reason
    The nightsking getting killed more easy than the mountain for no reason
    Winter was coming for 7 seasons for no reason.
    Varys openly betrayed Danarys and admit it for no reason
    Cercei wanting to kill Jamie for no reason
    Jaimy slowly becoming a good man for 7 seasons for no reason
    Sansa becoming queen of the north because she refuses to bend her knee to her brother, for no reason
    Bronn becoming master of coins for no reason
    Sam ( father and husband )becoming maister in the small counsel for no reason.

  • saking91 Kingsley
    saking91 Kingsley Month ago

    Special effects were amazing

  • Lindsay Gillard
    Lindsay Gillard Month ago

    WHY IS EVERYBODY OK WITH ARYA KILLING THE NIGHT KING??? I love Arya as a character and think she needs a Badass moment like gee I dont know KILLING CERSI you know the thing she has been building! The ONLY reason people are OK with it is because they love Arya. Its as dumb as Luke Skywalker having his battle with Darth Vader then Chewbecca runs up and stabs Vader! A character who has NEVER had an arc or story or fight with Night King stealing valor! And did she do the hand switch thing??? She had a the dagger TWO INCHES from his head!!!

  • Rustam Wijaya Djaja
    Rustam Wijaya Djaja 2 months ago

    I know you people don't want me to give u hope

  • Rustam Wijaya Djaja
    Rustam Wijaya Djaja 2 months ago

    If I was the director GoT, night king should have won at winterfell and then all the houses join in king's landing and then fight the night king.

  • Fishslap 33
    Fishslap 33 2 months ago

    I actually thought the darkness was the one redeeming thing about E3. Not sure why people are so worked up about that, given all the endless problems with this show in the hands of D&D. Seriously, it's dark as shit in winter. This is what it would be like to take part in a battle in the middle of winter, minus the nonsensical battle tactics, incomprehensible plot holes, absurd in-the-machine contrivances and moments of random, idiotic subversion. This one thing was realistic and people still complain about it.

    Maybe it's your fault that there was suddenly desert outside King's Landing in the next episode.

  • mechwarrior13
    mechwarrior13 2 months ago +1

    I keep telling myself it is what it is, it's just a tv show. But I can't stop watching these vids and go on reddit because I've never felt this "robbed" in my life and I didnt lose any money or possessions

    • wascally wabbit
      wascally wabbit Month ago

      All the time and energy invested for no payoff feels like I got robbed in the back alley on the way to an amazing final season. ... crap

  • Sin City Quinn
    Sin City Quinn 2 months ago

    I just thought about this. The reason the Night King ending sucked so bad is because there is no Night King in the books. The Nights King is not the Night King. Dan and Dave are good at adapting but they suck at writing.

  • Milf Man
    Milf Man 2 months ago

    I just wish they would have let Captain Marvel come swooping in and kill the Night King. Then they could have made her queen.

  • stupidusername
    stupidusername 2 months ago

    Ha! You thought Cersei would be the big bad. Expectations subverted... and crushed by a few bricks.

  • William Munny
    William Munny 2 months ago

    Hater much? Fuck dude GoT was never meant to be what YOU want or expected it to be

  • Random YouTuber
    Random YouTuber 2 months ago

    U just hope book is better

  • Anthony Schell
    Anthony Schell 2 months ago +1

    The whole goddamn story is a song of fire and ice. Do you know how stupid it is that Arya killed him and not a Targaryen. Melesdadre basically said that Jon was the one. That makes sense. He was the fire. Suddenly Melisandre shows up and is like oh youre the chosen one Arya .

  • blekfut
    blekfut 2 months ago +1

    GoT series has always been a shit for the people who don't read books, but the last season was the Mother of All Shit.

  • Dobre Ion
    Dobre Ion 2 months ago

    I really wanted the Night King to win... and that would be a way better ending... THE Hell every ending is better than original ending SMH SMH

  • Teddy Mc Vey
    Teddy Mc Vey 2 months ago

    When you realize that the biggest threating was not the " Night Kingt" but The Writters instead. Septa Unella pls Shame them!

  • Alpha Omega
    Alpha Omega 2 months ago

    Season 8 is just a long commercial for GRRM book release.

  • falaflani
    falaflani 2 months ago +1

    it's like the writers never got the story all along. expectations subverted I guess

  • zad08
    zad08 2 months ago +2

    Preparing for thousands of years to destroy the human realm. Died stepping out the front door.

  • Lars Kolst繪
    Lars Kolst繪 2 months ago

    Why all the hate torwards Star Trek : Discovery ? I enjoy the show alot ( could be that i'm not a Star Trek fan though ).
    Yeah i know about the lawsuit and so on - but the theft of property shouldn't affect your opinion of the quality of the show. When it comes to Game of Thrones - i've never been so disappointed in my entire life, i knew it would fuck up when they took 2 FUCKING EPISODES with talking about nothing and arya getting laid to get to the long night, i could go on forever - all in all, dumb & dumber shouldn't even be considered for writing porn

  • Aye Naw
    Aye Naw 2 months ago

    why does bronn still get high garden?
    tyrion is a prisoner and has no power to give it to him
    jaime is dead
    and nobody else on the council would ever give it to him????

  • Dartagnan Magic
    Dartagnan Magic 2 months ago

    Yep, Night King was wasted

  • Galen Hill
    Galen Hill 2 months ago

    Before Dany and the night King died,they should have had one of those Benny Hill chase scenes with all the characters

  • Aulis Rintala
    Aulis Rintala 2 months ago

    This is like critisizing LOTR like this: "WTF the Witchking dies so fast and not even by one of the main characters, so bad writing." "The big bad Dark Lord Sauron doesnt even appear and Him and all his armies just defeated by tossing one little ring into a firepit".
    GOT isnt some Marvel flick where superheroes beat the crap out of each other for 30 mins. Night King was defeated by joint effort. Bran got him into the same place he was created and gave Arya the dagger. The 7 gods are represented in the heroes: The Mother (Daenerys), The Father (Sam or Jaime), The Warrior (Jon), The Smith (Gendry) The Maiden (Brienne), The Crone (Melisandre) and finally The Stranger, Arya. She has a deep connection with death and the Night King is a personification of it.This is her contribution.

  • Alyne Pustanio
    Alyne Pustanio 2 months ago

    Listening to you list all the threads and sub-plots that were left at loose ends makes me realize one thing: there were TOO MANY threads and subplots. Think back now, now that we see how valuable all that wasted time actually was, and consider what kind of series this might actually have been if they had concentrated on the THREAT in the North and the people involved who actually had a chance at coming close to sitting on the throne. I can see a LOT of waste where the heart of the story could have been expanded to make for a more sensible ending. All the sub-plots and threads? Sequels and prequels. The heavy front-loading made the end suffer. And the legacy pays the price. Stupidity.
    Also, fans should have been less keen on just taking on subverted outcomes and plot twists across the life of the show, when all the while they knew theyd want the standard heroic ending. Fans gave D&D a blank check by liking that shock-for-shocks-sake bullshit. Accepting anything the clowns threw out there contributed to their defaulting to such crap when they ran out of ideas and wrote themselves into colossal failure. Even a minimum amount of fan grumbling about such overweening as the Red Wedding or the High Sparrow bullshit might have kept the show on the rails.
    And Bronn. What a dog ball. I hated every moment he was on screen. And for all the use he ended up being afterwards, Drogon should have burned him with the Scorpion. Ugh.

  • WeedNot Speed
    WeedNot Speed 2 months ago

    Really who the hell did not want to see giant spiders lmao

  • Satya Graha
    Satya Graha 2 months ago

    arya killing cercei like that would have been awesome!once again,fan theories,better than the series!

  • BEmagiK
    BEmagiK 2 months ago

    You nerds are pathetic wow its just a show

  • Jack Handy
    Jack Handy 2 months ago

    I love all these cross-eyed thumbnails, LOL

  • Amirah Mohamadou
    Amirah Mohamadou 3 months ago

    A very long disappointment

  • Mr. Sentinel
    Mr. Sentinel 3 months ago

    The show really went shit, specially the finale. The show's success went to the heads of their creaters and they terribly fucked up the last season. They thought to create something different and it all went to shit. What was the point anyway.

  • Horny Toads
    Horny Toads 3 months ago

    wasn't all that bad

  • Marcelo Dominguez
    Marcelo Dominguez 3 months ago

    I would have liked to see A better ending to the night King then Anya stabbing him one time I would have liked to see a final battle with him and Jon Snow where their army is still going at it and Jon Snow finds him in the battlefield and the night King is just killing people as well and he charges to him and they have a fight to the death and John kills him I would have found that much better ending to the night King

  • souljaboyisbad
    souljaboyisbad 3 months ago

    Idk if it was in this video,but somewhere you said you wouldn't recommend GoT to anyone anymore. That's the dumbest shit I heard. Fucking drama queen

  • Transcendent HD
    Transcendent HD 3 months ago

    Heh John stuck dany with his point end

  • K M
    K M 3 months ago

    @3:20 Don't feel too badly. GoT has always had good acting, excellent dialog, good direction, photography and effects. It has also ALWAYS had a shaky story.

  • TataMataAkrobata
    TataMataAkrobata 3 months ago

    The world goes on, hence the need for politicking. Either the Night King destroys humanity, or he losses and politicking begins immediately.

  • N礙bilon FRANCE
    N礙bilon FRANCE 3 months ago

    Gendry is the only man that saw Arya coming haha

  • N礙bilon FRANCE
    N礙bilon FRANCE 3 months ago +1

    Winter is coming they said... well summer is coming on king's landing beach tho

  • N礙bilon FRANCE
    N礙bilon FRANCE 3 months ago +1

    RIAN JOHNSON WILL SIT ON THE IRON THRONE !

  • Nick Corvello
    Nick Corvello 3 months ago +2

    Absolutely agreed on the lame victories of the Night King.
    The winterfell army should have lost and gone full retreat to kings landing to once again try to appeal to Cersei, while the Night King's army takes the rest of the North and the Riverlands and the Vale.
    At the very LEAST the Riverlands and the Vale should have been taken. We needed more stakes for the conflict for the amount of hype the White Walkers got

  • Furry the Fox
    Furry the Fox 3 months ago

    I know I'm late to the party and this is kind of unrelated, but as a woman I can asure you, that we don't want this "girl power" crap. The "female avengers assemble" scene in Endgame almost made me gag. We don't want to be special or stand out. We want to be integrated as valuable characters and stand alongside the male characters in movies, TV-shows and books. We want a part to play, not be super badass, infallible know-it-alls as movie makers these days seem to think.

  • Christopher Smith
    Christopher Smith 3 months ago

    People are really salty about this Ep and I understand why. I could been so much better . The long night Ep was meh for me. Perhaps GRRM could get off his ass finish the damn series or at least have creative input with creation of season.8

  • Vuk Payn
    Vuk Payn 3 months ago +1

    thank you for this vid

  • Ashish Sharma
    Ashish Sharma 3 months ago +1

    Danial Brian also reviews GOT, I didnt know !

  • J Ski
    J Ski 3 months ago

    Looking at those fuckin glasses you have on your face I'm not surprised you didnt see anything.

  • john doe
    john doe 3 months ago

    Her spear is literally not long enough to decapitate two people at once.

  • Douglas Sirk
    Douglas Sirk 3 months ago

    boy they really subverted my expectation of a good final season

  • Nameless Ghost
    Nameless Ghost 3 months ago +1

    Some people will laugh.
    Some people will cry.
    Some night king was built for 8 seasons to die.

    • Nick Corvello
      Nick Corvello 3 months ago

      Lol you were beginning to sound a lot like Negan from TWD with your comment
      D&D: "you can breathe, you can you can cry. Hell, all of you are gonna be doing that in a moment"
      *they proceed to smash the entire series over the head with Lucille*

  • Rational Orc
    Rational Orc 3 months ago

    The Night's King should have won this battle, and forced everyone to pack their shit and run like hell.
    Follow that up with the Night's King laying the smackdown on King's Landing, killing Cersei who underestimated the peril, and who is most responsible for weakening the realm of the living.
    Follow that up with a Last desperate battle at Storm's End, the home of Robert and Stannis Baratheon. If the heroes lose here, there's no other fortress where the can hope to defeat him.

  • Francisco Medina
    Francisco Medina 3 months ago

    More like "The long disappointment"

  • Teg Tactics
    Teg Tactics 3 months ago

    Feminism, gynocentrism, and misandry ruined GOT, Vikings, The Walking Dead, Marvel and Star Wars. Don't give your money to elitist pieces of shit who want to use Horrywood and series to impose political correctness and gender ideology. Fuck SJWs

  • almostagod
    almostagod 3 months ago

    Well the visuals are great no complaints there...but where's the great dialogue? The intrigues? All gone...

  • Tomek chan
    Tomek chan 3 months ago

    nerd level 10000000000000000000

  • Kaitlyn Fajilan
    Kaitlyn Fajilan 3 months ago +1

    TO ALL THE PEOPLE BITCHING ABOUT PEOPLE BITCHING ABOUT THE FACT THAT ARYA KILLED THE NIGHT KING:
    I'd like to preface this comment by stating what is generally considered a rule in good fiction writing. That can be distilled into the following simple phrase:
    What vs. How and Why
    When a show gets caught up in the "what" and fails to address the "how" and "why", it becomes cheap entertainment (i.e. a soap opera) because it only cares about the shock factor, and not underlying theme or message.
    Allow me to explain. Many fans defend Arya's killing of the Night King because it apparently successfully subverts our expectations about how the Night King was supposed to die. This is not successfully subverting expectations, and I will show this by breaking down a pivotal moment from Season 1 that solidified GoT as a legitimate trope-toppler/game changer: Ned's beheading.
    To have Ned Stark be beheaded by Joffrey at the end of Season 1 is, indeed, subverting expectations. Generally the lead of a fantasy story is intended to live to the very end, or at least till near the very end. What made Ned Stark's death utterly heartbreaking, satisfying, and *earned* (key word here is earned) is that the foreshadowing and themes built up until that point led to his inevitable demise. What do I mean by that? Again and again Ned chose to uplift the concept of honor rather than engage in more "dishonorable" realpolitik maneuvers that would have saved his own life. He refused to order Daenerys to be killed. He chose to warn Cersei about how he was going to reveal her secret. He trusted Littlefinger. His honor is equated with foolishness that could get him killed again and again in Season 1. His death by virtue of his being honorable is ultimately what makes the act--no matter how shocking and unpleasant---earned. That is why people generally accept Ned's death by Joffrey as a brilliant writing choice.
    WHAT happened (Ned getting killed--dun, dun, DUUNN!!!!) is not so laudable and praiseworthy from the standpoint of a consumer as WHY (see above paragraph.) (The HOW is also extremely interesting considering it was Joffrey who killed him in a display of sadistic, sociopathic power, but that's for another discussion).
    Now. Compare that with Arya killing the Night King. To be fair, one may argue that Arya's kill is foreshadowed by her training to become an assassin over the past several seasons. But WHY does Arya become an assassin? Not because she cares (or indeed, for the majority of the show) knows about the Night King. It's because she wants revenge for the death of her father. Her arc is about putting aside her strong sense of self in favor of becoming No One, all in the name of revenge (which, ironically, is the result of still clinging to a strong sense of self).
    Arya's arc is not tied in to the Night King. I do not mind if she slays the Night King, but give me a decent WHY. Then I'll accept her being his killer. I also beg for a more believable and realistic HOW she got past that entourage of White Walker lieutenants other than "she's got mad assassin skills."
    In good fiction, answering the WHY is much, much more important than subverting expectations. Expectations are established tropes for a reason---because they generally work.
    Ned's death was brilliant in that it answered both the why AND subverted expectations. That's why it's good writing.
    In the case of "The Long Night," it would have made more sense (and ultimately been much more satisfying from an objective narrative standpoint) if someone--perhaps Jon or even Dany---killed the Night King because they'd earned it.

  • Mike Hogan
    Mike Hogan 3 months ago

    You complained that Captain Marvel was all woman power...and was going to overshadow...the OG Avengers...which did NOT happen in either movie.....this show has been literally men suck and are stupid women in power in every aspect...and no one said shit about that.

  • Kyle Beckley
    Kyle Beckley 3 months ago

    Love you dude but this rant is kind of silly. The advice given wouldn't add to the series. White walkers lasting longer would have lead to a long drawn out series of episodes not nearly as intense. And of course we wouldn't be able to experience Danny's fall. Also Jon fighting the knight king in a 1v1 is a trope. If you wanted them to avoid tropes you would be fine with the episode. Also killing nearly everyone would probably make everyone hate the show. I get it. It is the end of a series and it is hard to make it satisfying with characters all which fall between moral and their self interest or pride. And only 6 episodes to end these arcs aren't going to satisfy everyone.

  • Uveni
    Uveni 3 months ago +2

    "Spent a lot of money--on what? I don't know?" The phrase "Hookers and Blow" comes to mind.

  • Flomar P
    Flomar P 3 months ago

    Hipster nerds are cry babies.

  • Eric
    Eric 3 months ago

    I just had to turn off the lights...plus, the soundtrack for the episode was phenomenal. You probably think star wars is better than blade runner too. Smh.

  • sid srivastava
    sid srivastava 3 months ago

    LMAOOO he called the Arya wearing Jamie's face

  • Magusi
    Magusi 3 months ago

    Meh... the episode was fine. We had plenty of the night king. It wasnt the first battle with him and we are at the end of the show. Aria was also built to be an assassin ... so I felt it fit well with her character.
    The only issue was there should have been a lot more prominent character deaths in the episode.
    I feel people are being to upset over something that is extremely minor. Plot armor is a bigger issue of late with the series.

  • Chris Brown
    Chris Brown 3 months ago

    I stopped watching GOT in Season 2 maybe 3, I dont remember the show was pretty crap

  • TheLiquidPepper
    TheLiquidPepper 3 months ago

    I'm with The Critical Drinker on this one, D&D are just trolling us. Just like Rian Johnson. There really is no other explanation that fits better. For some reason, someone got paid a lot of money to "subvert our expectations" (read: troll us) and make us all rage. They even threw in a little "girl power", so people have more things to flame each other about, like half the Star Wars rants nowadays have the added tag "SJW" to it.

  • Nicolette Miller
    Nicolette Miller 3 months ago

    They could at least have Bran explain why the White Walkers returned after 1000's of years.

  • Sarah Tonin
    Sarah Tonin 3 months ago

    One of my favorite details about game of thrones was that the female characters were so diverse in their stories and dont have to fit into one specific mold of Im not like other girls. Now it seems like theyve pushed the idea of female empowerment to the point where its not good anymore- Dany, Sansa, and Cersei now all three give off the same attitude when it comes down to their motivations and its BORING.
    D&D are trying so hard to please female audiences that theyre losing what made the women great to begin with- the fact that they dont have to actually be great all the time.